Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2551 to 2600 of 2902


Melanie Cawkwell
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 13/09/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Lovely location, well equipped and very comfortable. Superb scenery and lots to do in the area. We had a relaxing and enjoyable time and our two dogs had a good holiday too.
Very peaceful with loads of wildlife including many birds, deer and we saw a red squirrel !
Thank you

Mr & Mrs Harrison
Reviewed Charleston on 13/09/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Probably one of the best views in Scotland,stayed in Abriachan last year but this location has finally made up our mind to move North so we are now looking for land/accomodation in Scotland to relocate.

This cottage is superb peace and quiet is the theme here with wild deer roaming all around,the cottage is superbly equipped,would I return.........absolutly!!

Mr & Mrs Whigham
Reviewed Lianachan on 11/09/2008
And awarded it

Lianachan

Sarah Chattaway
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/09/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Very beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage in fantastic location. Ideal for exploring the area and relaxing afterwards. Variety of walks nearby including to secret beach. Fantastic beaches further afield too, [white sand, turquoise water.] Kayaking lessons available in Applecross Bay all helped to keep children happy despite changeable weather. Great food locally too, Applecross Inn, Walled Garden and Kishorn Seafood Bar. Didn’t want to leave and hope to return soon!

Vicki Goodwin
Reviewed Lianachan on 05/09/2008
And awarded it

Lianachan

David Kelly
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 04/09/2008
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Mortimer Family
Reviewed Timber House on 01/09/2008
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a wonderful time at the Timber House at Skinidin. The house was immaculate, really comfortable, with lovely bed linen on made beds which was fantastic, and the housekeeper had left us a bottle of wine, biscuits and fruit which were very much appreciated. We have rented many cottages over the years and this was definately the best we have found.

Karen Evans
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 31/08/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Stephen Risker
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 31/08/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

What a fantastic cottage, it had everything we needed for a relaxing two weeks away, plenty of walks right on our doorstep to keep the dogs happy.
Would consider using Wilderness Cottages again the website is easy to use and found the cottage to be just like the description, anyone considering a holiday in the Highlands would not go far wrong renting from this website especially if the have four legged friends.

Sarah Farmer
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 28/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Bayside Cottage- the best holiday we have had for a few years. The standard of accommodation was outstanding and excellent value. I was anxious about how my ’urban’ offspring (particularly the teenager) would adapt to such a remote and unspoilt area, but they were totally charmed by the beauty of the sunsets, loved racing down the large dune at Sand Beach, kayaking and rock climbing with the Sea and Mountain Guides, eating delicious pizza in the Flower Tunnel Cafe, and watching the local raft race. On the dull days we took a trip from Plockton to see the seal colony and visited the Eilean Donan Castle. When it was really wet We made homemade bread, cosied up to watch TV and played board games. My daughter commented that it was easier to make new friends as there were so few children around everyone was really friendly. Would really love to come again.

Mrs Jean Gregory
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/08/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We had a fantastic week here, the lodge is surrounded by so much beautiful scenery and wildlife.It was such a tranquill place to unwind and relax.The lodge was very clean, with all the appliances you would use at home. The added bonus was we could take our dog. We had so much pleasure watching all the little birds, the mice and of course the star The Pine Martin. Hopefully we will all be going back next year.

Alex Baird
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 26/08/2008
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

John
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 26/08/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely immaculate cottage and very comfortable. Mixed weather but thankfully no midges. Wish you had pointed out that the last part of the road is like a cart track and wish we had a 4x4! Had we known just how rough it was would have chosen a different cottage.
The steam train ride from Fort William to Mallaig was the highlight of our holiday. Stunning views and no driving that day just relaxed.
The owners of Fersit Log Cottage and Wilderness Cottages would like to say in response to this comment that the cottage has been booked by over 70 clients and this is the first time we have received any negative feedback regarding the road. The road is not tarmac, but if driven with care is suitable for cars, a 4x4 is not necessary.

Damon Mitchell
Reviewed Mealishal on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Mealishal

Lena Mills
Reviewed Charleston on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

This is the best self catering cottage that we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The ever changing views from every window were breathtaking. The sheep and the cows in the fields next to the cottage, along with the occasional visit from the deer, wild Hares and birds were a welcome addition to the the views. We wanted a ’get away from it all’ experience and Charleston certainly gave us just that.
Charleston is a credit to its owners who have gone far beyond the needs of a holiday cottage. The beautifull fresh flowers in every room, the complimentary bottle of wine and the Scottish Shortbread biscuits. These along with all the other extras made this holiday extra special.
Any regrets ? yes, just one and that is that we couldn’t stay longer.

Caroline Joe James Rosie & Harry Klement
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Wow!!! if you are looking for the wow factor then this Croft certainly has it. Fantastic ever changing views across the loch to greet you each day. Tranquility and peace. Great walks close to the croft and an exellent base for accessing other areas. Even our three teenagers said this was a brilliant place. The croft was VERY comfortable and spacious, very well equipped with cosy beds (thank you). Great local horse riding, friendly staff at the farm.
Our family is looking forward to a return visit.

Linda Doctor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

we spent a week in this cottage, and it felt like home from the moment we entered. A lovely clean modern cottage set in beautiful surroundings, every need catered for and more....
(even the dog didnt want to leave) .......looking forward to returning next year. Linda Doctor

Mairi
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 18/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Jackie & Rob Sewell
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Corinne
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Allan McGee & Rosanne Deas & Tye The Dog.
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Absolutely superb! Such a warm welcome awaited us on our arrival with chilled wine, fresh flowers and even biscuits for the dog. The cottage was truly charming with evey possible amenity provided - not a thing was missing. Immaculately clean and tidy with towels and linen included. For a small cottage it is deceptively spacious with plenty room to spread out. The cottage is positioned in the very heart of Applecross surrounded by breathtaking scenery and panoramic views which take in the Cuillin Mountains. The front porch and benches outside provide an ideal viewing point for observing the local wildlife and taking in the magnificent sunsets. The location of the cottage is excellent for those who enjoy walking, wildlife and outdoor activities; at the same time providing a peaceful break. Quiet but not too remote, the village has a local Inn which is always busy serving a top class menu. Very friendly neighbours and a warm welcome from all the locals. Without doubt, Bayside Cottage can be very highly recommended, and we will be sure to return.

Paul
Reviewed Wildwood on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

A very nice spot full of lovely walks. The cabin is very well equipped. I was very surprised to see three Pine Martins helping themselves to food that we had set out.

David Allan
Reviewed Giusaichean on 16/08/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Alan & Jan Foreman & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 14/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Certainly the best-equipped cottage we have stayed at in over 20 years of self-catering holidays, and such a spacious proprty. Even my teenage boys were impressed and want to come here again next year. The views from just about every window were breath-taking and the red-deer coming into the garden to munch on the grass was something special. Even the mixed weather couldn’t spoil such a splendid property. This was our first experience of Wilderness Cottages, and will not be our last !

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A super week in a great cottage and location. Once again we have been treated well with the weather and had plenty of walks and opportunities for wildlife spotting. Although you don’t need to travel for this. Within the first 24 hours of our stay we spotted 20 different species of birds from the house. Also had fun watching the vole in the garden. Thank you again, John and Dorothy, for such a warm welcome. We are sorry to be leaving but look forward to our next visit.

Pam & Graham Firth
Reviewed Callakille on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

John & Jackie Cowell
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 11/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in, well equipped and the "hosts" were so helpful. We?ll be back! Thanks a million!
John & Jackie Cowell, Lincolnshire

David Curley
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 10/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Sally and John, they think of everything, it was a home from home but with stunning scenery, very unusual visitors to the garden, Pine Martins, Buzzard Wrens, siskins the list goes on, The sea food cabin at Kishorn is very good, Oh, nearly forgot to mention Sally?s free range eggs are loverly !!

Mary Atkinson
Reviewed Wildwood on 07/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Wonderfully QUIET place with beautiful walks from the front door. Can pick up the Great Glen Way by going to Fort Augustus. I would agree with the comment of the previous reviewer re. curtains. Really need to change the upstairs bedrooms window dressing - the velux has NO blind. I have veluxes at home, and couldn’t function without blinds. This is a problem in the single room when it stays light in the summer until midnight - never really gets dark. Other than that though, a fantastic house, spotlessly clean. Corinne at Wilderness Cottages very helpful and efficient.

Peaceful holiday - recommended.

Bill Westbrook
Reviewed Homewood on 06/08/2008
And awarded it

Homewood

John Oakhill
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 05/08/2008
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

P Russell
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/08/2008
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Lovely well equipped apartment on the shores of loch Ness with great views, ongoing building work was not intrusive and the complex will be even better when complete. Just a 2 minute walk to Fort Augustus where there are a number of good places to eat.

Hanni & Kevin Gossage
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 04/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We had a lovely week! The cottage is fantastic and well located to see all the beauty Scotland has to offer!
My mum loved it. We will come back and bring Barney(our Jack Russell). Thanks again.

Julia & Ron Cowley
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Anne & Pete
Reviewed Don Cottage on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Not long returned from 2 weeks in Scotland, the 2nd of which was spent in Don Cottage. Lovely little cottage, very well equipped and the perfect welcome pack (single malt, wine & shortbread - what more could you ask for !!) - thanks !!!

Easy access to nearby mountains & glens - iand of course only a short stroll to the Fiddlers Malt Whisky Bar with the expert John on hand to guide you through the array of rare & wonderful whiskeys - a must after a days walking !!

Claire Connelly
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Myself and my family had a wonderful weeks holiday at Owl Cottage in Fort Augustus.The cottage has everything a family needed and more,it was immaculately clean well laid out and very spacious.The location is excellent in that it is very quiet but only about five minutes walk to all the local shops restaurants and of course Loch Ness. If I had anything negative to say it would be the photos on this site do not do the cottage justice as it is a beautiful well maintained lovely place to stay with your family.Should the weather not be on side it is a comfortable place to be in with games,DVDs,Music Cd’s and books to keep all members and age groups content.Highly recommend the cottage and area to anyone.

Julie
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

McCarthy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Excellent cottage and facilities, lots of extras including bread maker, wine and flowers. A great place to relax. Good food at the pub. Good walking in the area.

Vikki Armstrong
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 02/08/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Linda Morrison
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/07/2008
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

The Jenkinson Family 5th July - 12th July
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/07/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We adored this perfect cottage. It has an idyllic position in Applecross with amazing panoramic views. The journey is certainly worth it. The owners have thought of everything to ensure that your holiday is all you have dreamed off. Highly recommended for anyone wishing to chill out!

David CHANGLENG
Reviewed Campbell House on 18/07/2008
And awarded it

Campbell House

Shieldaig is an amazing venue offering a fantastic family holiday. Campbell House is well located and a very comfortable and well appointed house.
A real value for money holiday and Wilderness Cottages were very professional to deal with. We will use their cottages again.

Hazel & Stan Leeming + Ruby The Boxer
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/07/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Graeme & Lyn Lawrie
Reviewed The Granary on 14/07/2008
And awarded it

The Granary

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Granary.
Wonderful accomodation, beautiful scenery, and a delightful place to visit.

Our two daughters (2 and 7) had a great time.
Thank you,
The Lawrie Family

Nicola & Ben Ballard
Reviewed Log House on 04/07/2008
And awarded it

Log House

We had a fantastic week, even the weather couldn’t spoil it! The Log House is gorgeous, well equipped and in a fab location. There seemed to be wildlife everywhere you looked and the scenery is right out the window! We really couldn’t have chosen better- definitely recommend *****

Bertie & Jan Theunissen
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 03/07/2008
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Pat & Bill Simons
Reviewed Homewood on 01/07/2008
And awarded it

Homewood

Elizabeth Ferne Stokes
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 23/06/2008
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

A beautiful apartment in a lovely location. Very well furnished and equiped, we were so comfortable and relaxed. Fort Augustus is a lovely village with plenty of interesting locations to visit nearby. We would love to stay there again one day.

Maureen Ann Webber
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 22/06/2008
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Lesley Craddock
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 20/06/2008
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge