Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2651 to 2700 of 2902


Linda Doctor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

we spent a week in this cottage, and it felt like home from the moment we entered. A lovely clean modern cottage set in beautiful surroundings, every need catered for and more....
(even the dog didnt want to leave) .......looking forward to returning next year. Linda Doctor

Mairi
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 18/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Jackie & Rob Sewell
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Corinne
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Allan McGee & Rosanne Deas & Tye The Dog.
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Absolutely superb! Such a warm welcome awaited us on our arrival with chilled wine, fresh flowers and even biscuits for the dog. The cottage was truly charming with evey possible amenity provided - not a thing was missing. Immaculately clean and tidy with towels and linen included. For a small cottage it is deceptively spacious with plenty room to spread out. The cottage is positioned in the very heart of Applecross surrounded by breathtaking scenery and panoramic views which take in the Cuillin Mountains. The front porch and benches outside provide an ideal viewing point for observing the local wildlife and taking in the magnificent sunsets. The location of the cottage is excellent for those who enjoy walking, wildlife and outdoor activities; at the same time providing a peaceful break. Quiet but not too remote, the village has a local Inn which is always busy serving a top class menu. Very friendly neighbours and a warm welcome from all the locals. Without doubt, Bayside Cottage can be very highly recommended, and we will be sure to return.

Paul
Reviewed Wildwood on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

A very nice spot full of lovely walks. The cabin is very well equipped. I was very surprised to see three Pine Martins helping themselves to food that we had set out.

David Allan
Reviewed Giusaichean on 16/08/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Alan & Jan Foreman & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 14/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Certainly the best-equipped cottage we have stayed at in over 20 years of self-catering holidays, and such a spacious proprty. Even my teenage boys were impressed and want to come here again next year. The views from just about every window were breath-taking and the red-deer coming into the garden to munch on the grass was something special. Even the mixed weather couldn’t spoil such a splendid property. This was our first experience of Wilderness Cottages, and will not be our last !

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A super week in a great cottage and location. Once again we have been treated well with the weather and had plenty of walks and opportunities for wildlife spotting. Although you don’t need to travel for this. Within the first 24 hours of our stay we spotted 20 different species of birds from the house. Also had fun watching the vole in the garden. Thank you again, John and Dorothy, for such a warm welcome. We are sorry to be leaving but look forward to our next visit.

Pam & Graham Firth
Reviewed Callakille on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

John & Jackie Cowell
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 11/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in, well equipped and the "hosts" were so helpful. We?ll be back! Thanks a million!
John & Jackie Cowell, Lincolnshire

David Curley
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 10/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Sally and John, they think of everything, it was a home from home but with stunning scenery, very unusual visitors to the garden, Pine Martins, Buzzard Wrens, siskins the list goes on, The sea food cabin at Kishorn is very good, Oh, nearly forgot to mention Sally?s free range eggs are loverly !!

Mary Atkinson
Reviewed Wildwood on 07/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Wonderfully QUIET place with beautiful walks from the front door. Can pick up the Great Glen Way by going to Fort Augustus. I would agree with the comment of the previous reviewer re. curtains. Really need to change the upstairs bedrooms window dressing - the velux has NO blind. I have veluxes at home, and couldn’t function without blinds. This is a problem in the single room when it stays light in the summer until midnight - never really gets dark. Other than that though, a fantastic house, spotlessly clean. Corinne at Wilderness Cottages very helpful and efficient.

Peaceful holiday - recommended.

Bill Westbrook
Reviewed Homewood on 06/08/2008
And awarded it

Homewood

John Oakhill
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 05/08/2008
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

P Russell
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/08/2008
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Lovely well equipped apartment on the shores of loch Ness with great views, ongoing building work was not intrusive and the complex will be even better when complete. Just a 2 minute walk to Fort Augustus where there are a number of good places to eat.

Hanni & Kevin Gossage
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 04/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We had a lovely week! The cottage is fantastic and well located to see all the beauty Scotland has to offer!
My mum loved it. We will come back and bring Barney(our Jack Russell). Thanks again.

Julia & Ron Cowley
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Anne & Pete
Reviewed Don Cottage on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Not long returned from 2 weeks in Scotland, the 2nd of which was spent in Don Cottage. Lovely little cottage, very well equipped and the perfect welcome pack (single malt, wine & shortbread - what more could you ask for !!) - thanks !!!

Easy access to nearby mountains & glens - iand of course only a short stroll to the Fiddlers Malt Whisky Bar with the expert John on hand to guide you through the array of rare & wonderful whiskeys - a must after a days walking !!

Claire Connelly
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Myself and my family had a wonderful weeks holiday at Owl Cottage in Fort Augustus.The cottage has everything a family needed and more,it was immaculately clean well laid out and very spacious.The location is excellent in that it is very quiet but only about five minutes walk to all the local shops restaurants and of course Loch Ness. If I had anything negative to say it would be the photos on this site do not do the cottage justice as it is a beautiful well maintained lovely place to stay with your family.Should the weather not be on side it is a comfortable place to be in with games,DVDs,Music Cd’s and books to keep all members and age groups content.Highly recommend the cottage and area to anyone.

Julie
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 03/08/2008
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

McCarthy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Excellent cottage and facilities, lots of extras including bread maker, wine and flowers. A great place to relax. Good food at the pub. Good walking in the area.

Vikki Armstrong
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 02/08/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Linda Morrison
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/07/2008
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

The Jenkinson Family 5th July - 12th July
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/07/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We adored this perfect cottage. It has an idyllic position in Applecross with amazing panoramic views. The journey is certainly worth it. The owners have thought of everything to ensure that your holiday is all you have dreamed off. Highly recommended for anyone wishing to chill out!

David CHANGLENG
Reviewed Campbell House on 18/07/2008
And awarded it

Campbell House

Shieldaig is an amazing venue offering a fantastic family holiday. Campbell House is well located and a very comfortable and well appointed house.
A real value for money holiday and Wilderness Cottages were very professional to deal with. We will use their cottages again.

Hazel & Stan Leeming + Ruby The Boxer
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/07/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Graeme & Lyn Lawrie
Reviewed The Granary on 14/07/2008
And awarded it

The Granary

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Granary.
Wonderful accomodation, beautiful scenery, and a delightful place to visit.

Our two daughters (2 and 7) had a great time.
Thank you,
The Lawrie Family

Nicola & Ben Ballard
Reviewed Log House on 04/07/2008
And awarded it

Log House

We had a fantastic week, even the weather couldn’t spoil it! The Log House is gorgeous, well equipped and in a fab location. There seemed to be wildlife everywhere you looked and the scenery is right out the window! We really couldn’t have chosen better- definitely recommend *****

Bertie & Jan Theunissen
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 03/07/2008
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Pat & Bill Simons
Reviewed Homewood on 01/07/2008
And awarded it

Homewood

Elizabeth Ferne Stokes
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 23/06/2008
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

A beautiful apartment in a lovely location. Very well furnished and equiped, we were so comfortable and relaxed. Fort Augustus is a lovely village with plenty of interesting locations to visit nearby. We would love to stay there again one day.

Maureen Ann Webber
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 22/06/2008
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Lesley Craddock
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 20/06/2008
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

Mr. IAN HILTON
Reviewed Campbell House on 19/06/2008
And awarded it

Campbell House

Lovely location and great views. Plenty to see especially if you like wildlife and there are some great walks in the immediate area. Nice pub with good food close by. The cottage was well equiped and comfortable.

Paul & Nicky
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 16/06/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

What a fantastic place this is our first time in Scotland and we loved it. The views were fantastic. The Cottage was lovely and got everything you need in there and also a lovely welcome pack. We are both looking forward to coming back again next year

Alison Forrester & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 11/06/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

My family and I are are still revelling over the time we had together last month and what a wonderful place Charleston is! We are all huge lovers of Scotland and have been coming to the Highlands for years but we’ve never pined so much after a holiday! We’re able to relive lots of moments whilst watching the current series of Springwatch but it’s not the same as being there! My sister and I are so chuffed that we made our Mum’s 60th birthday present something to remember forever. The house was so comfortable and really felt like home (drawing back the curtains in the morning will never be the same again!). The 360 degree panoramic view will stay with us for the rest of our lives and we are already planning a 2-week holiday for 2009!



Elizabeth Pike
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 10/06/2008
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Peace and tranquility surrounds this cottage. This is the ideal getaway. We have just enjoyed the most enjoyable of holidays here over spring bank. The cottage is very well equipped and has plenty of space to acccomodate either a large family or two smaller ones. The location is central for all the highland attractions. Fishing and cycling right outside the door. We’d only been back home 3 days and booked again already for next year. Its easy to see why this cottage is so popular.

Leigh Devin
Reviewed Log House on 07/06/2008
And awarded it

Log House

What a fantastic setting and a great,proper log cabin! So nice to be far from the madding crowd and be wakened by birdsong as opposed to traffic.
The cottage itself was warm,homely and spacious and the stove was very cosy in the evening. The Robin we’d read about in the guest reviews did not disappoint and appeared the moment we arrived,waiting patiently for us to unpack the bread. We were also visited by a blackbird and a swallow which actually flew into the living room!The surrounding area is excellent for cycling and walking but take the insect repellant if you’re out and about mid afternoon onwards to ward off the evil midge.We can recommend the Lovat Arms and The Bothy for good food and drink (Ailsa at The Lovat Arms was really friendly and informative about the area)We’ll definitely be back!!

Christine Plumb
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/06/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Excellent cottage - best we have stayed in. Could not fault. Would hoghly recommend.
Had lovely holiday in Fort Augustus - sun shone all week.

Eva Hermann & Andreas Leibl
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/06/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Beautiful cottage, clean, cosy, very spacious! The phantasic landscaped garden is fully fenced and dog-friendly. Nice walks all around.
Summary: The ideal place for just chilling in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine or for hiking holidays! Or both!

The Mortlock Family
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 06/06/2008
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Dave & Glenis Corbett
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 03/06/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Pearl Field
Reviewed Log House on 30/05/2008
And awarded it

Log House

Just returned from the log house ,turn into the lane and you will fall in love with this beautifuly presented and unique property,it has a warm and inviting feel that we found hard to leave. The location is ideal for seeing the treasures that Scotland has,(but do spend time enjoying the
house and garden )We found lovely walks through the woods down to the river,the village is a delight, good places to eat and lovely people. A boat trip from the village on Loch Ness is interesting with sona images of the Loch, it is so deep ....maybe Nessie does live there .
Nairn has a good beach for a day out,and of course Ben Nevis range is a must, after leaving the gondola take the walk left then the walk right.very scenic.
At the log house look out for deer and many birds also Mr Robin, he visits every day and will come into the kitchen ....almost a pet. We had a wonderful stay at the Log house, just wanted to stay........this is a "must have " holiday

David Pearson & Marie Pearson
Reviewed Wildwood on 27/05/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

We spent a very relaxing week with everything we needed on hand and would certainly use wildwood again.
The only problem were the curtains in the upstairs bedroom need to be heavier and let less light in.

Pat & John Carter
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 25/05/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Superb cosy cottage with all the comforts you could wish for. Walking and cycling from the door. Very easy access to nearby mountains and glens. A perfect situation for an active and / or relaxing holiday.

Bronnie & Adie
Reviewed Callakille on 23/05/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

Iain & Ann Tait
Reviewed Charleston on 19/05/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Yet again the cottage was everything we wanted: spacious, well equiped and peaceful an ideal place to chill out. Lots of places to walk and most important of all Ailsa, our Airedale, loved it. We hope to be back again next year.

Claudia & Eric Bekx
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 07/05/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Sarah & Olie Baumann
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/05/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We were delighted with Fersit Cottage. It was clean, modern, luxurious and isolated. Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful walks. Central enough for day trips across the highlands, or lovely for a relaxing day in to enjoy the views.