Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2701 to 2750 of 2902


Chris & Brenda
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/05/2007
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Ewart McSkimming
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 03/05/2007
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place to choose!
Beautiful cottage in a quiet area of Fort Augustus. Lots of places to explore, we walked 21 miles in three days!
Highly recommended.

Sue & Steve Allsop
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 03/05/2007
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We stayed at Hill Cottage in mid April. The weather was unusually mild for spring in Scotland, only rained on one day. The cottage was wonderful, really warm and cosy with everything in it you could possibly need. The location was amazing, peace and quiet was the understatement. The scenery and wildlife were awe-inspiring, some days we saw more deer than people!! Fantastic walks in the area, Faraid Head..Sandwood Bay...Scouriemore..Smoo Cave, to name but a few. On non-walking days we drove down the coast road to Ullapool, and round the entire North Coast. This area of Scotland has to be seen to be believed, it is totally amazing. Don’t take our word for it, go and see!!

The Rooney Family
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 01/05/2007
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Jean Wade
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 17/04/2007
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Erminia E Marcello
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 12/04/2007
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

fantastic experience for us and for the kids.
the cottage atmosphere was delicious and the views are great
the kids were staying all the time outside looking for deers , rabbits, foxes etc..
the place and the cottage are gorgious.
thank you

John & Andrea
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 11/04/2007
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Chirs & Iris McDonald
Reviewed Giusaichean on 09/04/2007
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Phil & Annette Janman
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 08/04/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Smiddy, it was a real relaxing break even though we had the week in March when the snow came down! It was lovely chilling out in the evenings with a bottle of wine in front of the log fire. Excellent base for days out to see so many lovely glens, lochs and all the wildlife. We would thouroughly recommend The Old Smiddy to any couple whether you are on honeymoon or just want to get away and enjoy eachothers company, we did! Thanks Gordon & Corinne at Wilderness Cottages for your brilliant and helpful service and Pat Gardiner for the lovely welcome you gave us. We hope to come and stay again. Phil & Nettz, Nottingham

Tony Cooper
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 04/04/2007
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wow... we were only there for 5 days although we had it booked for the week. It was so lovely, it was a shame we couldn’t stay the remaining couple of days. We stayed mid March and were the lucky so-and-so’s who got the heavy snow. WONDERFUL. Waking up to find the whole place under a blanket of snow - a walk down to the Loch and throwing snowballs - couldn’t have written the script better myself. The cottage was delightful - 3 double rooms (one twin) for 3 couples, all with en suite, it was perfect for the six of us. The kitchen Aga cooker and Lounge wood burning stove made it so cosy in the cold evenings, perfect with a bottle of wine (or two). Ideal location for access for Inverness to the north, Fort William & Ben Nevis to the south and lots more in-between. The local hotel and pub resturants were all lovely and value for money and we were made to feel welcome just about everywhere. Make sure you try the corkscrew... if you have the nerve. Doing it in a seven-seater was not the easiest drive, but we made it.. much to the amusement of a few local highland coo’s. Loch Ness was lovely and I thoroughly recommend a boat trip from The Clansman Hotel down to Urquart Castle and back. All in all a fantastic few days and one that I would seriously consider doing again. Didn’t see Nessie though... perhaps it was a bit too cold for her!

Mike & Anne
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/04/2007
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a week at Bayside cottage Applecross and apart from having wonderful weather it was the one of the best prepared cottages we have ever stayed in , you wanted for absolutely nothing . My parents joined us for part of the week and had never visited scotland before and are complete converts . The village of Applecross is full to the brim of welcoming locals who make you feel as if you have lived there all your lives, Judith at the pub continues to provide wonderful food , the Bealach nam ba is as ever stunning . we will be coming back.

Andrew & Lindsay
Reviewed Homewood on 28/03/2007
And awarded it

Homewood

Barry & Amy
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 12/03/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Grand Designs on a small scale ! Truthfully, we could easily live in the Smiddy, excellent layout and very cosy, everything you could want was provided, even the weather was kind to us in March! A wonderful location to explore the north, Inverness and the surrounding area, with plenty of walks locally and further afield. It was the first time we have used Wilderness Cottages and i have to say the service was second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending them and the Old Smiddy, many thanks. Barry and Amy North Wales

Jim & Wendy Flynn
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 04/03/2007
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

The Pollard Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 01/03/2007
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

a beautiful spacious cottage with stunning views over loch ness, we had some wonderful peaceful walks in the forest behind the croft and a lovely walk down to loch ness, the view of urquat castle at night was amazing thank you the children didnt want to leave

Pam Thompson
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 24/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Neil & Trina Smith
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Mark & Tracy Patterson
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Mrs Aslin
Reviewed Log House on 17/02/2007
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed early Feb, Had an excelant holiday. The Log House is like a chololate box lid, something out of a fairy tale... Kids loved staying here, local walks were great, overlooking the Glen. Highly recommended - Will come back.

Susan Parr
Reviewed Lianachan on 13/02/2007
And awarded it

Lianachan

Donna Davies
Reviewed Charleston on 16/01/2007
And awarded it

Charleston

We arrived at Charleston in the dark, and once we had packed away our Tesco shopping (which we had delivered to the cottage) we settled down with a glass of mulled wine, looking forward to two weeks, Christmas & New Year in a beautiful cottage.
The next day was cold, bright & frosty and we stepped outside to see where we were and Wow! what a view. The surrounding area was equally impressive with walks for Poppy the westie, whichever way we decided to walk that day.
We all agreed this was the best house we had ever stayed in (this being our 8th) so spacious & clean.
Decorated beautifuly for Christmas, with a present under the tree for Jack and even a doggy biscuit for Poppy!
We would certainly book again and can highly recommend the service offered by Wilderness Cottages.

Mr & Mrs Andrews
Reviewed Homewood on 29/12/2006
And awarded it

Homewood

Grant Mundell
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 22/12/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We booked Pine LOdge for October 14-27, 2006 for our honeymoon accommodation. Wow! What a peaceful and stunning location. Very private. The lodge is very well located for exploring North and South on the West coast of Scotland. AND you can see Skye! Go for it. . .you will love it without any regrets!

We found the online booking service and subsequent communication excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our only suggestion would be to improve the quality of the double bed mattress.

David & Michelle
Reviewed Coach House on 12/12/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Charleston on 12/11/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 10th Scottish Cottage holiday, and our 7th with Wilderness. This cottage was without a doubt the best we have stayed in, it was warm, comfortable and very well equipped - a pleasure to come home to after a November day walking the dogs. The view over Loch Mhor was breathtaking and changed by the minute, and there was nothing to disturb the peace and quiet - even the sheep and the cows added to the feeling of tranquility. We will definitely be having another holiday here.

Tracy & Andrew Law
Reviewed Homewood on 12/11/2006
And awarded it

Homewood

Andrew & Vicki
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 06/11/2006
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Meurig, Juliet, Ines & Finn McMillan
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 05/11/2006
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely, homely cottage in a beautiful setting. A recommendation from Corinne as we wanted fires, views and the West Coast. The children loved going onto the beach in their pyjamas and wellies, at 9 in the morning. We could sit in the warmth of the lounge and watch through the huge picture window, very civilised! We saw seals, otters, red deer of course and a couple of eagles in the vicinity. We also had snow - superb. The cottage had every facility required for a very comfortable stay. the only thing I was missing was a hair dryer, and then of course we found one.
In all it is a lovely cottage, very well equipped, and a great place to stay if you want remoteness, scenery, wildlife, and a good base for touring the West Coast.

Paul Butcher
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 05/11/2006
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Words do not bescribe our truly wonderful holiday,
it is one of the best we have had.
see you next year!

Steve, Carolyn & Ellie
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 26/10/2006
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

George & Elspeth
Reviewed Fairhaven on 15/10/2006
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Stephen & Peta Melling
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 03/10/2006
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Helen & Steve
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 01/10/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We stayed for a week in September and would definitely recommend The Old Smiddy. Its location is ideal, and there is so much to do in the area. The cottage itself is beautifully presented and really intelligently designed. Pat and Dave have also equipped it with everything you could possibly need. They have been really thoughtful, and they’re very friendly too. Our dog loved it too, with open fields just around the corner providing plenty of entertainment.

Karen Johnson
Reviewed Callakille on 28/09/2006
And awarded it

Callakille

Linda & John Smith
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 27/09/2006
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Claire & Andy
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/09/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a fantastic week at the Old Smiddy. It was so welcoming when we arrived. It was full of unique features and ideally situated to go off exploring. Pat and Dave are great and there if you need them for anything. Our dog Bella enjoyed her welcoming Bono Biscuit on her mat. The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing romantic break away from all the stresses of everyday life. We hope to visit again in the future, we just loved it!

Andy, Lindsay & Angus Alexander
Reviewed Callakille on 11/09/2006
And awarded it

Callakille

Lynn & Dave McIlhone
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 31/08/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

David & Fiona Brown
Reviewed Coach House on 30/08/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Mathis Martin
Reviewed Gardeners Cottage on 22/08/2006
And awarded it

Gardeners Cottage

Matt & Emily Coltman
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 19/08/2006
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

The Howard Family
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 19/08/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

N Bishop
Reviewed Cuilfail on 09/08/2006
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Lovely new house, with new furniture throughout - very comfortable. Garden had just been seeded, but once there is a lawn, it will make it even better. Fun to watch the rabbits visiting the garden ! Hotel next door very useful, with good food (particularly the curries !), and with internet access.

Local area beautiful, and with a gorge/waterfalls within a few miles. Stunning drive along Loch Ness in both directions to go further afield.

All in all a very quiet spot, ideal for a relaxing break.

Joan Hatfield
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 31/07/2006
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We had a fantastic week in this lovely cottage.
The total seclusion appealed to us and the scenery was stunning. Although it is very secluded its only ten minutes drive from the nearest town at the side of loch ness.We visited some realy superb local beauty spots ie Glen a Affric and Dog Falls as well as some of the busier areas like Fort Augusta and Inverness.t The trip on the Dolphin boat was fab as our boat was surrounded by dolphins, an incredible experience. Other good places to visit are Dornie castle and Dores on the other side of loch ness.
Most mornings and evenings we had deer right outside the cottage
We will definitely book this cottage again



Sue Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 30/07/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Just had a wonderful holiday in Charleston -what a bungalow! Fantastic views, wildlife including two hares feeding in the garden most days not to mention the characterful sheep, and spacious well equipped accommodation with every smallest thing catered for! Such a pleasure to stay there and we hope to come back one year.

Mike & Louise
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/07/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

15th July - 22nd July 2006.

We had the most relaxing time at Pine Lodge with our Boxer dog Molly!! She felt more at home than when she’s at home we think!! The views were lovely and the pictures in the website definitely do not do Pine Lodge justice. We were welcomed by Sally and met John a couple of days later. The Lodge is only 12 miles from Applecross which is definitely worth the trip, although I was a bit nervous driving there but the views were exquisite and the thought of lunch at The Potting Shed kept me going (well worth a visit too). I didn’t feel nervous at all driving back as we were too interested in the views. We spent a day in Skye which is stunning and went up to Gairloch via Shieldaig (a definite suntrap). We willl definitely be booking another Wilderness Cottage as you just cannot fault them in any way. Thank you and see you again.

Werner Lange & Annemarie D?ring
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 17/07/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Lisa & Martin
Reviewed Log House on 13/07/2006
And awarded it

Log House

We had a fantastic time at the Log House from the 10th-17th June. There are many walks straight from the door and in a lovely peaceful setting. Fort Augustus is a 20minute walk away and a lovely little town with good choice of eating places. The Bothy serves lovely food and the staff are very friendly.
The Log House is well equipped - watch out for the Bats at night and you can feed the Robins from the door. Highly recommended.

Chris & Shirley Turner
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 11/07/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We couldn’t have asked for a better base from which to tour the highlands. Immaculately presented cottage with all mod cons but yet a million miles from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Wonderful.

Patrick & Allison
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 10/07/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage