Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2801 to 2798 of 2798


Rob & Jacqueline
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 12/02/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This cottage turned out to be exactly what we were looking for, a fantastic retreat. This part of Scotland in early february, was superb. If it’s peace and quiet, stunning scenery and wildlife you’re after, you can hardly go wrong by choosing Hill Cottage.

Shakera Jinnah
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 10/01/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

This was an absolutely exquisite holiday! The cottage is much lovelier than it looks on the site, the views are spectacular and the surrounding areas are beautiful. There is nothing more the owners could have equipped the cottage with - they have really thought of everything. Definitely worth visiting again, in summer, although it made a lovely Christmas break too!

Andrea Newham
Reviewed Coach House on 07/01/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Doug & Nichola
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/01/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Sandy Knowles
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 02/01/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Patrick & Vanessa Bevan
Reviewed Log House on 19/12/2005
And awarded it

Log House

Perfect cottage in quiet woodland setting. Very friendly and helpful owner, good walks with perfect views over Loch Ness, nice pubs. Will be back with mountain bike for a full week next time.

Mandy & Nigel Kendall
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 29/11/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We have booked through wilderness cottages before,so we had very high expectations ,we were not disappointed.This cottage is first class in every way,we had a very relaxing stay,and our two boys,jack russels,enjoyed the well marked out walks,the only down side from our point was the walks were very restrictive.If you like birdwatching like us you will be in heaven look out for local peregrin,buzzard,and dipper down on the river.And don,t forget your fishing rod, as you will regret it.

Anthony Hart
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 21/11/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

This was our 3rd visit to Rowan Ridge, everything about the place is fantastic, the accomadation thru to the setting, no fault can be found , it’s a real home from home, and no doubt we will be back again soon.

Julie Mills
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 15/11/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

The cottage, the location and the views were all stunning. We sat for a good few hours just looking at the impressive views and looking out for the local deer. We also had a fantastic time visiting Glen Affric and Nairn. The dogs loved it too!! Can’t wait to go back, hopefully in the near future.

Steve & Audrey Butcher
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 08/11/2005
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Peter & Lynn Cairns
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 06/11/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Superb cottage, very well equipped, lovely and warm, great facilities, fantastic location and great after sales service as well. It may be an old cliche but it really was home from home. What more could you ask for!

Steve Batty
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 31/10/2005
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

A beautifully fitted lodge set in a secluded location. Everything we required was on hand, well maintained and presented thanks to John and Sally’s attention to detail. It’s clear they are committed to maintaining that standard as they are keen on feedback and any suggestions guests may have. Kishorn/Lochcarron and the whole of the Wester Ross area are stunning, we love it and look forward to returning.

Once again thanks to John and Sally Parker also Corrine of Wilderness Cottages who arranged everything for us.

Saana
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 31/10/2005
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Jill, Paul & Laura Baillie
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 26/10/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Creag nah Iolaire, we had really great weather which was a bonus for exploring the beautiful surrounding coutryside but we would have been happy to spend all week in the cottage!
Creag nah Iolaire is very spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The open plan style works really well and the huge picture windows frame the stunning views down to and across the loch. The walks in the surrounding woodland were great for the dog. We hope to reurn soon

Jos & Yvonne Pierik
Reviewed Lianachan on 23/10/2005
And awarded it

Lianachan

Neil Brackenridge
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 20/10/2005
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Judith & Leigh
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/10/2005
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Helen Jones (ne English_
Reviewed Larch Cottage on 18/10/2005
And awarded it

Larch Cottage

Kim & Carol Larkin
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 17/10/2005
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

Rachel & Martyn Clayton
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 09/10/2005
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Bing & Martin Davis
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/10/2005
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Harling Family
Reviewed Larch Cottage on 29/09/2005
And awarded it

Larch Cottage

Chris Davis & Ruth Neal
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/09/2005
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

A week in Northwest Scotland in mid September?
Hill Cottage was a great choice! Apart from the scenery, which is stunning and defies all superlatives, this is delightful, warm and fully equipped accomodation. Only a mile away at Tarbet, the Shore Line serves locally caught sea food that surpasses all your expectations (sadly now closed for the season)! The walking all over Sutherland is excellent!
Don’t come! You will hate it - leave it for those of us who really deserve it!

Alan & Pamela Mundy
Reviewed Coach House on 14/09/2005
And awarded it

Coach House

Mark & Alison Partridge
Reviewed Giusaichean on 03/09/2005
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Karl & Kath Swire
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 03/09/2005
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Eileen McNab
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 01/09/2005
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Just back from Hill Cottage and we weren’t disappointed! The cottage was ideal and the setting was absolutely stunning; what else can I say? It was exactly what I had been looking for. The cottage was very well planned and equipped and the vase of flowers and milk in the fridge were a really nice, welcoming touch. It was great.

Marjorie Brown
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 31/08/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Our holiday last week at Creag nah Iolaire was one of the best cottage holidays we have ever had -- superb accommodation in a stunning location. We were even, unexpectedly, lucky with the weather! We certainly intend to book the same cottage again soon for a longer holiday and have told several friends about it. Our only regret was having too little time to do and see everything that was available in the neighbourhood.

Peter & Lucy Snodgrass
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 31/08/2005
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Bayside cottage. The welcome of tea laid out, various foods provided and a heated house was wonderful, and we enjoyed the attention to many details of furnishing and equipment. There was a real sense of generosity at this house which we greatly appreciated. Very many thanks to the owners! We would also like to say how efficient and easy it was to book the cottage.

Anita Irvine
Reviewed Lianachan on 30/08/2005
And awarded it

Lianachan

Roger Smith
Reviewed Fairhaven on 29/08/2005
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Yvonne Sebo
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/08/2005
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We stayed at Pine Lodge Cottage from 13th-21th of August. Such a peacefull place. The pictures on this site do not do the cottage any justice. I guess you just have to ’feel’ it; the view, the unspoiled surroundings, the silence [you only hear a few sheep and a bird now and then]... it was so much more than we expected.
Since we didn’t have a car we were limited to see the surroundings but we made beautiful walks in the area and cycled to Shieldag. We had to return to Glasgow on Saturday [to catch a plane to Holland] and were in complete shock by the noise and the fumes in that city... we wanted to go back immediately!
John [and Sally of course], thanks again for your hospitality!

Burnell Family
Reviewed Larch Cottage on 22/08/2005
And awarded it

Larch Cottage

Carolyn,Gordon, Mark & Dan, Barney & Remus
Reviewed Lianachan on 21/08/2005
And awarded it

Lianachan

Bentley Family
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 09/08/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We were really impressed with Rowan Ridge. The cottage was really well appointed, beautifully clean and it was lovely to see the birds close up on the feeders - great to see siskins in summer as down south they only visit in winter! Super area for birds generally, with Slavonian Grebes and a passing osprey seen at nearby Loch Ruthven.

There are good walks along the Caledonian Canal, worth visiting Nairn and Culloden, and a day trip to Orkney is not out of range - though you may prefer to drop off in Kirkwall rather than do the "highlights" coach tour on top of three hours in the coach to John O’ Groats and three hours back !

Anne Bewick & Family
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 07/08/2005
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

Excellent holiday, the cottage was absolutely wonderful, so well equipped with all mod cons. There were three generations of us and we all had a smashing time in the evenings going for walks, playing cards, swingball,scrabble and not forgetting the table football in the shed! The cottage was lovely and clean.

Lorna Dudley
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 05/08/2005
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Pure peace and relaxation. The cottage is a true delight and really well equipped, clean and homely. The views are simply stunning. This will be our 4th visit to Marnie’s and I don’t think I will ever find such a beautiful place.

Alison Barton
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 05/08/2005
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Fantastic cottage, wonderful views of the loch.
Great for birdwatching, recommend you take some bird peanuts with you.
Can’t wait for next year.

Tracey, Ian, Alexis, Rob & Jesse
Reviewed Coach House on 02/08/2005
And awarded it

Coach House

Andy & Rosemary Holt
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 31/07/2005
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We have looked at many self catering cottages over the years and have not actually been tempted to stay in many but when asked to review Hill cottage we thought we would like to spend some time on the West coast, so decided to spend a few days "working holiday" at Hill cottage. We were so glad we did, the stunning scenery and carpets of wild flowers everywhere we felt privileged to witness this. We live on the shores of Loch Ness in beautiful countryside but even so we were very impressed with the location of Hill cottage, the gleaming sandy beaches and the towering cliffs on Handa Island. We visited Smoo cave and Durness with its spectacular beaches we just couldnt stop clicking away with the camera. And the icing on the cake was that whilst we were enjoying warm sunny weather sitting on beaches and watching Puffins on the cliff tops in the far north it was apparently peeing down in the south!! We have decided that we must return soon to get a few more pictures, you can see some of them on the Hill cottage Extra pictures link.

Joyce Prior & Family
Reviewed Log House on 29/07/2005
And awarded it

Log House

Had two super weeks in this well appointed cabin. Lovely area, lots of walks and well placed for trips. Bob, the owner, was extremely pleasant and helpful. We will certainly return.

Paula Wigg
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 18/07/2005
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

C Jones
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 18/07/2005
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

A fantastic cottage with magnificent views. Beautifully fitted out, with lovely gardens, patio area and a large field / paddock all at your disposal. Some great walks from the house and only a few minutes drive from Drumnadrochit. Children, dogs and adults all had a thoroughly enjoyable time and will be back.

Ros, Tony & Jonathan Lilley
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 12/07/2005
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Helen & John Bradbury
Reviewed Giusaichean on 12/07/2005
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Lemacon Family Paris Barn Cottage
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 08/07/2005
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

Marie & Paul Bedford
Reviewed Coach House on 28/06/2005
And awarded it

Coach House

Bob & Linda Fish
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 26/06/2005
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We’ve previously stayed at a number of self-catering cottages in the UK. Marnie’s Croft ranks right at the top of the list. The website pictures, although lovely, do not do justice to the spectacularly beautiful views. Every room, including each bedroom, has a picture window, and each window overlooks Loch Ness and Uquhart Castle. The cottage perches on a hillside covered with flowers, both planted and wild. The cottage was well equipped very comfortable and spacious enough to accomodate the six of us (four adults and two teenagers). We’d highly recommend Marnie’s Croft to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.

Elaine Franks
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 25/06/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Creag Iolaire Cottage as an absolutely wonderful and very well equipped cottage. It is cosy, relaxing and situated in a most beautiful and peaceful area.
The views are incredible looking high over Loch Ness and to the mountains. You can just relax and take in the scenery.
We also loved the baby grand piano.
We will recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay in the Loch Ness area and hope to make another visit. Thankyou.

Alison Ackerley
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 11/06/2005
And awarded it

Half-seventeen