Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 301 to 350 of 2651


Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second visit to this lovely cottage and we weren't disappointed, still as beautiful as last year. We stayed for 2 weeks and we had amazing changeable weather sun, rain and snow. It was amazing to see in April. We did lots and lots of walking/hiking covered quite a few miles to see out of the world sites. We saw the Pine marten on the first night and loads of deer and some wonderful stags. We thought we wouldn't see the lovely pine marten again, but as we were leaving early on the last day, we saw him again. So thanks again for a brilliant holiday. Hope we can return one day soon.

Steven McGovern
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

This property has a marvellous view of the loch and the ocean. If you enjoy spotting wildlife from an armchair then expect to see golden eagles, red deer, seals, wheatears and we heard cuckoos every day. For dog owners the enclosed garden is great though it does have a tiny brook running through it so you may need to dry your canine off several times a day! Several good walks close to the property including an hour walk from the door which will take you close to a seal colony which has attracted killer whales previously! A slight negative would be the oven control labels have been erased and the key safe to enter the property is so worn it took 15 minutes for me to recover the key on arrival. Both easily rectified- apart from that very good.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr McGovern, Thank you for your review and feedback, just to confirm a new key box has now been installed at the property.
Linda Porter
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Excellent cottage, in a perfect location. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Lou & Andrew
Reviewed Jura on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Jura

What a fantastic week we had. Wall to wall sunshine all week. The view from the cottage is just fantastic. The sunroom is such an asset . Also a fabulous place for our dog with the hill behind the cottage. The neighbours were so friendly and helpful....we will definitely book Jura again.

Keith S
Reviewed Ardrannach on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a fabulous week on Skye thanks to the well nigh perfect weather. The cottage proved a comfortable and well-located base. Although, as some previous reviewers have noted, the cottage is a bit dated, it has everything required for a holiday.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A truly outstanding location with stunning scenery and views. The cottage has everything you need and plan ahead for meals before you come and do a shop or noticed Asda deliveries passing, you should then only need to stock up for basics, garage in Fort Augustus is well stocked. The walks for dogs around this area are brilliant and Murphy had a ball exploring everywhere although I did get blisters but well worth it. The weather has been exceptional sun from dawn till dusk every day (coming from East Scotland, maybe it's true, always sunny in the West!!) The walk to Loch Loyne was well worth it (bear left at red phone box if coming from cottage) and Murphy even swan which is a change from his jumping in the water. Bring bird food as the bird table is mesmerising.

Maggie Pickering
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely well equipped cottage in the most glorious location, we suspect we will never be totally happy at any other cottage we ever book as it would be very hard to beat.

Lesley Healy
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a superb cottage with great views. Was extremely clean on arrival and felt very homely. Would definitely recommend staying and we will definitely return.

J Nicholls
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 08/05/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a quiet remote area, It was set out lovely all on one level and light and airy, beautiful scenery all round with lots of walks around the cottage and not far to 3 beaches. Stoer lighthouse was only 2 miles away and worth visiting I didn't get to see any whales or dolphins but lovely views down to Skye and Hebrides. Jane was close by and very helpful and it is some where I would definitely stay again.

S Allan
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tigh Nighean Bhan, a beautiful crofters cottage combining stylish elegance of its interior design with thoughtful period details balanced with modern comforts - plentiful heating and hot water and nice touches - books and maps to help you decide what you would like to do in your time on the Isle of Skye. Thank You.

Marlon & Tracy Sayle
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic property and location. Very comfortable and warm cottage even when it's snowing outside. Abundance of wildlife around the cottage and on the east ridge behind the cottage (we were lucky enough to watch 2 immature golden eagles catching the thermals early one morning while sitting on the plateau). Would we return?.....Absolutely.

David Ball
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 03/05/2017
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Fabulous location to get away from it all. The property its self was 10/10 we felt at home straight away and had everything we needed and more. The only slight complaint i would of had is the cleanness of the property could of had a bit more attention to detail i.e. hovering and dusting in all places and wiping down things in the bathroom that looked stained in places,,,, but the bedding etc was fresh and comfy. The owner Andrew was around on arrival and was great such a friendly guy but never once did he bother us!! Due to our car breaking down we had to extend our stay where Andrew and the team made it possible for us to stay an extra 3 days at a cost price which was very kind of them. All in all a great place and location where i hope to return with my partner again one day.

Lily & AB
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

It is with the greatest of pleasure that we write this review for Plodda Falls Cottage! From the moment of our arrival at this beautiful location, we feel at home. Jenny's warm welcome is always so looked forward too and, appreciated. The cottage, nestled amongst the trees, is a delight, so very comfortable. The wildlife is wonderful and, on this visit, we were blessed with a sighting of two Pine Matins. The birdsong and the nearby river, are the only sounds to be heard. It would be remiss of me not to mention ..... THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED imaginable, promoting many a good nights sleep! The Great Spotted Woodpecker 'alarm' in the morning always makes us smile. Plodda, a truly magical place. Until the next time......

A, D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 29/04/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

The cottage is outstanding. It is so well designed and built in an amazing location. You can walk straight out the door and start climbing a 780 metre hill (Corryhabbie). There is so much to see and do in the area but the house is so comfortable, warm and provides such scenic views that staying in is always an option. We had snow flurries and bright sun within minutes of each other which added to the enjoyment. The drive in adds in to the experience. We're booking again. The owners have done an excellent job with their vision for the perfect holiday cottage. Many thanks.

Helena Bell
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 27/04/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was the first time that we had taken our 10 months puppy on holiday, so we were apprehensive. We were thrilled with the facilities provided at Katie's Cottage which made it so easy to keep the little fellow happy while at the same time keeping the cottage clean and tidy. The cottage was a wonderful 'home' for our week and we cannot praise it too highly. We were sad to leave.

Rene.carrons@btinternet .com
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Loved the cottage and the view was stunning.Also the deer and the ladies being the sheep who came by the cottage.Enjoyed the peace and quiet.We found the oeople very friendly. We woukd reccomend this cottage to our friends.

Philip Symons
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Very clean and comfortable accommodation. Despite being a few minutes walk from the shops, the cottage was very quiet. We had planned to stay in Aviemore, but are very glad that we found this cottage in our online search as Grantown was far more attractive and had everything we needed (plus an interesting museum). A visit to Craig Bar is a must (the Landlord is very entertaining!). Fantastic walk from the cottage through Anagach woods and along the River Spey. The cottage was an ideal base to tour the area. We visited Balmoral Castle (the drive along the Highland Tourist route is simply stunning), Inverness (dolphin and seal watching from Chanonry Point and Findhorn), Culloden and the RSPB Osprey Hide. Lovely walks on the Glenlivet Estate, up Cairngorm Mountain and around Loch Morlich. We hope to visit the area again very soon and would very happily book this cottage.

Tomkins Family
Reviewed The Orchids on 25/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

Excellent property in beautiful area of Skye. Spacious, clean, warm and comfortable and very well equipped. Great for all the family, including baby. Highly recommended.

Carole Rowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our stay at the cottage was perfect, its beautifully situated right on the loch with the sound of the waves crashing, it has everything you need from a lovely home very welcoming feeling. We are already booking for next year....

Karen F
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 21/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

A lovely cottage in a fabulous location. It was tastefully decorated and just the right size to accommodate our party of 6 adults and one child. The reading area was a gem and given more time I would happily have spent quite some time ploughing my way through the books on offer. The hosts Bill and Marjory were great and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend staying here, it feels nice and remote but is still within a reasonable distance for the excellent sites that Scotland has to offer in the area.

Dan & Anne & Bailey(springer Spaniel)
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape cottage was what we wanted, isolated but within reach (15 min approx) from Stranraer, the owners Chas & Jane have catered for just about everything you'll need. From the cottage to the shore line you have a 2 or 3 minute down hill walk which on the way back you have a slight rise to climb. There are good walks along the shore (bring walking boots). The cottage has no wifi and you need to a short distance by car for a signal, but that's part of the attraction to get away from it all and chill out! Perfect.

Mark Boyd
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This place is stunning. Cosy wee cottage surrounded by stunning scenery. Lots to do in this part of the world, or just kick back and relax in the cottage's conservatory and let the hours drift by. Loved it!

Ann Hadland
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage was a great base for our holiday. It was well equipped, warm, comfortable and immaculately clean. The enclosed garden was brilliant for the dogs and there are lovely walks right from the door. The red squirrels and birds visiting the garden were a real treat.

Gareth Carrol
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. Applecross is an absolute treat to visit, and staying in Bayside made for a wonderful experience. The cottage is superbly positioned - literally a few doors down from the Applecross Inn (also lovely!) and a 30 minute or so walk (or 5 minute drive) the other way to the local shop. Everything inside the cottage made us feel so welcome, from the tea and biscuits on the table when we arrived, to the selection of games to the open fire that we enjoyed on more than one night. Amazing blackout curtains in the bedrooms also meant that we slept as well as we've ever done. The decking out the front was a delight and we enjoyed breakfast and late night drinks on there (in our coats!) and marvelled at the view. Genuinely one of the nicest places I've ever visited, and the entire booking process was so straightforward. Just be aware of drive into Applecross - stunning but not for the faint-hearted!

Andrew Howes
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Stayed at Mathesons Croft House in Nostie. Amazing cottage great location total isolation. 5 *

Michael & Jeff
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage has been thoughtfully renovated to a high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and have no hesitation in recommending it. The location is great - in the wilderness - yet suitable for exploring nearby lochs, castles, distilleries, and for climbing munros!

Sarah White
Reviewed Ardrannach on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This is a comfortable, cosy cottage in a spectacular location with incredible views from windows. Warm and has everything needed and owners welcoming and helpful. Fantastic walks from the front door and easy access to all the places on Skye you want to visit. Not modern or glamorous but everything you need is there and makes for a home from home. Dogs loved it but would have been able to get out of garden at livestock on farm if we hadn't kept them on lead (not a problem though). Thank you for a brilliant, relaxing week in a lovely cottage.

Caroline Mcconnell
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

We were all really disappointed to find out on our arrival that the swimming pool was closed even though in your confirmation letter to us, stated that the pool was now open to all guests. The pool was a big attraction to us as we have an 8 and 9 year old. Although it wasn't a huge problem to us we did feel that there were a few things in the cottage that did need some attention. The IPod docking station did not work, the children wanted a bath one night after deciding to paddle in Loch ness but unfortunately the water wasn't hot enough even though there was plenty of hot water from the sinks. The main shower when adjusting the height the attachment was very loose and we were concerned that it could come off at anytime. The cottage itself was lovely and the surroundings are beautiful and we would recommend the cottage to friends and family and also consider coming back if the pool was open again.

Rebecca Hill
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 17/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect peaceful rural retreat. We loved that it was away from it all. Beautifully located on the edge of a beautiful forest with great walks from your doorstep. Amazing wildlife & no people to be seen or heard. Bliss

Craig D
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

We enjoyed a relaxing weeks holiday at Gracie's Cottage, the cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed having breakfast with the the view over Loch Kishorn and exploring the local area where there are lots of lovely walks and places to explore. We wanted a relaxing break and Gracie's cottage didn't disappoint, we will definitely return.

Matthew
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Excellent property in a lovely location, lots of wildlife around and plenty of activities to do locally.

Cerys1
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

The Beech Lodge was amazing! There are only positive comments to make about it. The lodge was well kept with lots of amenities and was very clean. It contained everything you needed and is situated in a great location with wonderful views. I will definitely be going back.

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Lovely house with amazing views. Ideal location for a get away from it all holiday. Wilderness Holiday staff very friendly and helpful.

Julia.b
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 14/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This is such a lovely, well appointed house in the perfect location for some of the most incredible walks and scenery. From booking it to the morning we left, everything went smoothly. We had a fantastic family holiday and can't recommend it enough!

Debbie & Paul
Reviewed The Granary on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary is a beautiful cottage in a stunning setting. We immediately felt at home and we were both very impressed with the cleanliness and the attention to detail. Kirsty, the owner, had thought of everything and the cottage was really well equipped. Kirsty even left us some beautiful roses and a bottle of wine. It's in an ideal location for Drumnadrochit village, just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants, and is also perfect for touring the Highlands by car, as there are many stunning places to see, such as Urquhart Castle, Fort Augustus, Eilean Donan castle, Fort George to spot the dolphins (we did!) and Plockton, to name a few. We really enjoyed our stay at the Granary and we loved waking up to the sound of the wee burn at the side of the cottage. It's a lovely , very comfortable place to relax and unwind in, as everything you need is there.

Claire Murdy
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean, good furniture, amazing position, perfect location for visiting distilleries. Friendly landlords, welcome pack, wine and flowers very much appreciated, we're sure to return.

Graham Stokes
Reviewed Wee Dram on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Marian Lister
Reviewed Christies on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Lovely old cottage, very cosy too. Beautiful situation overlooking the bay, the dog absolutely loved it! Plumbing noise in the bathroom was a bit strange, but we got used to it. Neighbour very nice and helpful too. We will go back, once we have explored some of your other lovely properties.

Santha -- Oxford
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This is a spacious, comfortable, warm and beautifully equipped cottage. The owners could not do more to ensure one's enjoyment! The cottage is in a truly breathtaking, undisturbed setting, with wonderful views of the mountains and sea, with the Outer Hebrides visible on the horizon. The cottage is also conveniently situated for getting around to other parts Skye, and a bus-service passes the gate. This is my third visit to this cottage. Highly recommended.

Laura B
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had truly a phenomenal stay at White-Tail Croft. The croft itself is to the highest standard, with stunning views; we saw many birds of prey hunting outside the croft, and with deer and rabbits making use of the fields surrounding us. Absolutely loved our time here, and are aiming to come back in the future!

Chris & Sharon
Reviewed Aros Beag on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Excellent cottage tempted to keep it a secret, very quiet and peaceful with nice walks in the area . cottage is very well appointed and owners are welcoming

Neil Cooper
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

Our break at South Lodge was excellent, we arrived to find freshly baked shortbread waiting for us. The Lodge itself was very clean and very comfortable, the kitchen and living area were perfect and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a lovely surprise. The remote position of the Lodge was one of the reasons we chose it, with a great woodland walk within 200 metres. On the first morning i made a coffee and sat outside on the bench, i noticed some movement at the edge of the Loch which turned out to be two Otters feeding, we also saw many Common Seals within a few miles of the Lodge. The whole area was perfect for a nice 'chilled out' break, and the local people were very friendly indeed, everyone waved to us as we drove into Tarbert. Leaving to return home was the only downside of this break, we are definitely going to return here, as it was one of the best breaks i have had in over 40 years. our dogs absolutely loved it too. I wish i could put some of my photos on this review.

The Gray's
Reviewed Sealight on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

We had a fabulous time at Sealight, the weather was very good, apart from the last 2 days, but did not stop us going out walking/ climbing. The house is amazing...everything you could need and cosy, we would defiantly stay again... lots to do if you like the outdoors. Don't know why we had to phone the caretakers as we did twice, but no answer on both occasions!

Elen Sentier
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Such a beautiful place! The cottage is deep in the woods and with no immediate neighbours but still part of the community of Tomich. It's very well appointed, the furnishings are attractive and the two main rooms are large. The window seats are a grerat place to stretch out with a cuppa after a walk and watch the birds who flock around the house. There are several excellent walks directly from the house, indeed we only took the car out one day to go to Glen Affric, and to shop in the local town of Beauly. Beauly has an excellent deli/cafe next door to a very good old fashioned greengrocer - his veg are super - and across the road from a good butcher. There's a Co-Op for basics too, and a bakery. The kitchen is well appointed, lots of useful pots and pans, a good oven and hob, and really good washing machine (Bosch) which is such an advantage for walkers like ourselves. We - Fiona and me - went at the end of March and the one thing we found is that the cottage is cold, we needed the heating! You really noticed when you went out into the corridor as we kept the heating on in the rooms we used. The wood-burner was vital for comfort but the cold meant we didn't use the other very attractive front room. Also the wifi is close to nonexistent. Never mind about not being able to stream videos - we had to split an email with 3 small attachments into 3 separate emails and it still too half an hour to go! As we're both writers with contract deadlines to complete this was something of a blow! But overall we had a delightful week of walking and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed it too :-). It's a wonderful hideaway, peace, quiet and beuty all around you.

Cazamaranda
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Three old friends and one dog for a week - peace and relaxation in a cosy home with uninterrupted views of the sea. The location couldn't have been more perfect, and being right on the beach was a dream come true for us. The cottage itself was well-equipped and spotlessly clean with beautifully laundered bedding and towels (whoever does the cleaning does an excellent job!). We did intend travelling around the area, but ended up spending almost the whole week in the cottage - it was such a lovely place to be. The wood burner in the conservatory was such a fantastic idea and we spent most of the week in there when the weather was wet, staying cosy whilst feeling surrounded by the outdoors. We're already planning our next stay and can't recommend it highly enough.

Ray & Jennifer
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A charming cottage in a pleasant location . The high standard of decoration, available equipment and garden made for an outstanding week .

Sarah, James & JRTs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Cottage was lovely - clean, everything you need for your stay. All mod cons. Spacious and very cosy. Log burner was great, didn't need the heating at all. Jacuzzi bath was an fantastic after long walks. Big porch for all your outdoor gear and loved the decking for watching the wildlife. Garden is dog proof (even for small terriers) - our dogs loved it! Owners were very helpful. And the location - well.....we loved it! Munroes on your doorstep combined with loads of low level walks. Could easily walk each day from cottage and not have to drive anywhere. Great mountain biking too. 15 mins to Spean Bridge - nearest supermarket. 30 mins to Fort William. Loads to do in the area for outdoor enthusiasts, families and elderly parents. In-laws came with us and loved it! Recommend - Glen Roy and the parallel roads; gondola trip and mountain bike trails at Nevis range and the coffee shop in Roy Bridge - Darwin's Rest, awesome home baking, friendly staff ???? Would we book again - def yes!

D.Grundy
Reviewed The Orchids on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had a problem with our booking which Wilderness resolved promptly and efficiently and we enjoyed a great holiday at The Orchids, which is a well equipped property situated overlooking the Loch.

Pauline Currie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a fantastic stay at Beach Lodge. It is so secluded and is located in a beautiful setting set back from the beach. Our 2 dalmatians were in their element and loved the beach. We saw our neighbours who were staying at Shore Cottage a few times other than that we saw no one else. We had the beach to ourselves. Check the tide times before you go. There were only 2 of us staying so we closed the doors of the rooms that we weren't using. On a clear night the stars are amazing. We saw such an abundance of wild life, deer, foxes, hares and of course the farm animals. We had 4 deer in the garden the day we left. The only negative comments that I would make are that some of the furnishings are a bit tired and could be doing with being updated, settee covers could be doing with a wash and it also wasn't as clean as I expected (bathrooms and bedrooms spotless) but none of this would stop me from returning we had a great time. The track down to the cottage isn't suitable for low suspension cars as we found out but with slow careful driving its managable.

Crate Scotland
Reviewed Cuilfail on 02/04/2017
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Very comfortable cottage, clean and reasonably well equipped. The log fire was welcome though we could have done with more logs and kindling.The wheelchair access would be useful to those who required it, though there was no handrail and potentially dangerous. The dogs were welcome and the garden area was made safe for them. Altogether, a good experience in a delightful part of the world.