Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 301 to 350 of 2798


Lorraine Haswell
Reviewed Glenara on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely well appointed cottage in a quiet spot but very close to all amenities. Welcomed by Mr Lee and shown how to use the facilities. Fantastic view of the river, cosy and warm as snowing while we were there. I would highly recommend this cottage as a base to explore Loch Ness and the surrounding area

Neil Smith
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 20/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

This was our first visit to the Highlands and what a visit it was! The Lodge is beautiful; first impressions were amazement at how much more spacious the place is than the photos depict on here. The Lodge is tastefully decorated, very comfortable and you have everything in terms of kitchen and facilities that you could possibly need for your stay. Jenny provides a warm welcome and is such a great host (thanks again for the cake!). The scenery is obviously amazing and this place is truly in the wilderness, it provided a real get-away-from-it-all week for us (party of three and two dogs). The grounds of the Lodge are great with three completely fenced in areas which is perfect for the dogs. Whilst our four legged friends are generally very good, one has youth on her side and to have that added security was really helpful for us to relax knowing she was secure when being let out at night. We unfortunately did have a bad experience with the younger dog when we were there whereby we lost her for five hours about four miles from the Lodge (blaming her youth and sheer excitement at being completely in the wild up there!); obviously a scary and sobering experience for us (and her!) but Jenny was unbelievably helpful and couldn't do enough to help at what was quite a stressful time, we were so grateful to have that network there which she obviously has for situations like that. There is a real nice atmosphere in the area, very much a community and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anybody who wants that true wilderness experience but still likes the luxury of a cosy (large!) cottage at the end of the day, A day trip to Beauly and walk to Dog Falls (across the river, recommend walking to the View Point) was as far as we ventured the entire week; with such amazing walks on your doorstep there really is no need to venture much further!

Niels Leadholm
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Absolutely fantastic place, Jeff and Jacqui made us feel extremely welcome, and the beauty of both the cottage and the surrounding area is hard to put into words.

Dr Tanja & Dr Chris
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

An absolutely stunning property in a fantastic location. The cottage itself has been renovated to an exceptional standard and was luxurious to say the least. We were lucky to be only the second set of guests to Arrivain cottage. We were very comfortable during our stay and the cottage had room-specific heating and under-floor heating. The log burner in the lounge added to the ambience and felt very cosy. The kitchen was very well kitted out and Jacqui and Jeff were more than happy to supplement it with any minor addition we asked for. Jeff was on hand to provide more wood for the fire any time we asked and was also a treasure trove of knowledge about the local area, which was fantastic. We had rental bikes delivered to the cottage, which we could store securely in the "wee" shed, which was great. Having a washing machine and tumble dryer was also a nice addition after going out walking and cycling in the local area. We also enjoyed some drives though the spectacular scenery of Glen Orchy, Glen Etive and Glen Coe, all well within an hour of the cottage. All in all, it was a fantastic trip away and felt like a home from home. We very much intend to return. Jacqui and Jeff are passionate about the cottage and were keen to make our stay the best experience they could.

Alex.R.King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 18/03/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our stay at the Old Lock Keepers Cottage was wonderful, it's such a lovely peaceful setting. A place you visit, and wish you didn't have to leave. We'll definitely be adding it to our places to revisit, there's still more to see and experience.

Harry H
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 15/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Stayed in November, with family and two dogs. It was such a lovely break, I can't stop thinking about it. The snow came down on the third day and the skies remained clear for the rest of the stay. Wonderful long, wild walks in all directions. The house is comfortable, as you would expect of a Victorian lodge, and perfect for dogs. I shall return soon.

Maggie & Mike Adkins
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. So clean and fresh. Very well equipped. Lovely quiet area to sit in the garden and take in the surrounding countryside. We barely left the Black Isle and the lovely villages nearby were a treat to visit especially Rosemarkie beach. Great for walks with the dog. A treat also to see 7 actual red kite birds of prey just along from the cottage. Thank you to Margaret & Paul.

Francois E.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Absolutely marvelous, such a peaceful place! Great facilities by the way. An improvement would be a better wi-fi, because the connection can be low sometimes.

Lisa & Family
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/03/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is perfectly situated 2 miles down a quiet road. It's remote and wonderfully quiet but there are also a few other homes near enough if you need anything. Equally, you're not too far from Roybridge and Spean Bridge if you want a meal. Entering the cottage, the cottage exceeded our expectations.... everything was thought of and provided.... from the substantial supply of wood for the log burner to the coffee maker to the dishwasher tablets, to the supply of towels and extra bedding. The cottage is well furnished, clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. And the log burner was heavenly each night. It really felt like a home away from home. The owners were easily accessible and very helpful. There's several low-level walks around the area, which were great for our 9 year old and the Jacobite Steam Engine and the famous viaduct from Harry Potter is nearby. We've got our eye on a return trip in warmer weather for some of the Munro's and the obligatory Steam Engine! Can't recommend the cottage enough!

Phillip Ingle
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 07/03/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a fantastic time staying at Cluny Croft. The cottage was absolutely perfect. It had everything we needed. It was lovely and warm when we arrived and had excellent central heating as well as a well stocked wood pile and coal bin. The place was was spotlessly clean when we arrived, we hope we left it as clean. We will definitely be back.

Jan, Tony, Iain & Bertie
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 04/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a fantastic week in February 2017. We avoided the warmer months as we have previous experience of the Scottish midges which seem to love us far more than we love them, but we also wanted to capture crisp, clear winter scenery. We had wondered whether we might be met with snowy winter scenes, but the weather did not oblige. However, the hard, biting frost, the morning mists and the many picturesque icicles more than compensated and there was a covering of snow on the top of the hills. In fact, having Bertie the cocker spaniel, it was a blessing that the weather was cold and frosty, the ground hard and no mud. It made it so much easier to keep the wilderness outside and the cottage its impeccable best We had often passed by travelling further north but had never explored Glens Affric, Urquhart and Cannich. We were not disappointed! It was a truly unique location with lots to explore and photograph, particularly the plentiful deer in Glen Cannich and the early morning visitors to the bird-table! Plodda Falls was amazing, and just a stroll away. The cottage was extremely well-equipped, comfortable and tastefully furnished. There was plentiful literature on the Estate and local history, and had the weather been foul we could quite happily have entertained ourselves in front of the very relaxing wood burner. Relaxing by the fire after a day in the Glens was wonderfully soporific. Given the outside temperatures it was not surprising that we got through quite a bit of wood, but as we are townies, unaccustomed to the rural rigors of wilderness Scotland, that's not surprising. Our only disappointment was that the biomass heating wasn't operational as this would have reached the parts the electric panel heaters didn't! There are so many positives: the magnificently comfortable beds, the care and attention to detail that has gone into renovation and refurbishment, Jenny's warm welcome and wealth of local knowledge and information, not to mention the lemon drizzle cake, fantastic location, stunning scenery and a beautiful cottage.

Steve Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 04/03/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

A dream of a house in a perfect location. We had a wonderful relaxing stay that even Storm Doris couldn't spoil. The property is in the perfect location and is the best equipped we have ever stayed in. We managed to get on the hills and had some wonderful trips further afield. The wildlife is amazing and the nightly visits from the Pine Martens made our holiday. We will definitely be back.

Kay & Adrian Starkey & Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 02/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in August 2016 for a week. Well where shall I start. What an amazing holiday we had, we had the most relaxing week we've ever had. One of the best bits about not having internet or a phone signal for this holiday is that you truly don't miss it and we enjoyed spending real quality family time together, playing games, talking and going for walks with our dog Tia. We had the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. So please don't let the loss of Internet and phone signal put you off staying at this wonderful place with beautiful gardens too. The lodge is beautiful and there's everything you could possibly need. We loved to sit in the sun room in the day and watch the weather change and the wildlife flying around. Abundant with birds, the best was the woodpeckers, something I've never seen before. On a night we loved the open fire very cosy, and if you go outside on a clear night to look at the stars, because of the remoteness of the cottage there's no light pollution and we've never seen so many stars. The location that the lodge is in is lovely for walking from your doorstep, plodda falls is a must and Glen Affric is about 15 mins away by car. Guischan Lodge is set in a Estate with the old house ruins just a short walk away, Jenny the owner told us all about the history of the Estate which was fascinating. Jenny was very friendly and we loved meeting her. There's probably so much more I could write. We loved it that much we've booked for this year. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Jones Family
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 02/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We spent our half term break staying here and it was wonderful. The setting and the location is incredible, the Croft itself is very comfortable, has a great log burner and sauna and is the perfect get away at any time of year. We would love to go back in the Summer time as it was rather wet in February but we were expecting that anyway and we were still able to get out and about regardless of the weather. This is perfect for a young family or couples looking to escape from the realities of the world for a while!

Ashley & Amy Cowx
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 01/03/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We arrived at the cottage in the dark, the directions were spot on... We got to the cottage and walked in to a lovely warm, clean and inviting place. After a little explore we settled down with a glass of wine (provided on arrival which was a nice touch) and watched the stars. The cottage is really spacious and with underfloor heating throughout stays nice a toasty, three children really enjoyed it, high chair, cot etc everything we needed was there, even the log burner was set up for us ready to light with logs provided. The woods surrounding were nice to explore and then just 25minute drive to Inverness it's an ideal location.. would definitely recommend and would revisit.. you won't be disappointed if you visit...

Anthony
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/03/2017
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

This is a wonderful part of Scotland. If you like being out of the way then this is the place to go. Beach on your back door step, the enclosed garden is also much bigger than the pictures make it seem, plenty big enough for an energetic border collie to run around in. All bedding and sofa cushions are feather so if you are allergic I would advise bringing your own bedding/ pillows. The internet is of good enough quality (about 1-2mb) for searching for local attractions/ driving routes etc. The lounge/ dining room is a brilliant size and would easily fit 8 people (we were only in a group of 4). Again the pictures do not show how large this room is. There is a huge dining table that would comfortably fit 8 and probably more. There were basic things like salt, pepper, oil, various spices left there when we arrived which was useful but I would advise doing a decent sized shop at Tesco in Ullapool on your way in, you can get most things though from the Spar in Lochinver There is a bigger beach 5 mins up the road, Clashnessie Bay, perfect for dogs to have a big run, also we saw seals here swimming around close to the shore and also laying on the rocks over to the right of the bay.

Ray Currie
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 28/02/2017
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

The cottage is set in a stunning location. The owners made us extremely welcome, with fresh baking, bread and wine, a lovely touch. Their attention to detail in the cottage is super and you won't be without, they've thought of it all! Although the cottage is a little isolated, the short drives around to villages for shops or eating places are always worth it. We had a really chilled week, ate well, drank well, exercised well and slept well (even when the weather was challenging!) You will be struggling to find better in Skye! *****

The Furnell's
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 26/02/2017
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Excellent cottage, great location, great coffee shop within 2 minutes walk from the front door. Ideal base to explore the area, only disappointment was NO snow you can't have everything. Morag the owner was very friendly and helpful. The nearest supermarket is 20 minutes away but for orders over £40. Tesco deliver for free. A god send but don't forget anything as we did. Will definitely be returning in the future. If you have a spare day go to the Ben Nevis range and go up on a gondola, great experience and views.

Samuel Bedford
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

The Shed is a beautiful building, with lovely social spaces laid out to make the most of the incredible location and views. Our friends and family all loved it, and would very much stay again. The bedrooms, although tucked away at either end, are perfectly sized, and all have easy access to a bathroom close by. Mary, the owner, was helpful prior to and during our stay. Now, if we could do something about that Scottish weather!

Helen Grice
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is the ideal getaway, fantastic location and the cottage has everything you need, The track down to the cottage is a little rugged and care is needed. We have been twice and loved every second of it. For those 4 legged friends they will love the beach , right on the doorstep. This is a secluded property so don't expect to see anyone else, Shops and cafes etc within a few miles. The local deer, squirrels and birds of prey also make a regular appearance.

Merritt
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We spent 3 nights at Seascape Cottage - a perfect 'get away from it all' cottage. The location was just what we wanted - close to the sea with terrific sea views from the living room and main bedroom. The cottage was warm, very well equipped and very comfortable. And the owners were very friendly and helpful. There's no wi-fi or mobile reception at the cottage, which is fine if you are happy to be 'off grid' - but you can get a signal just up the hill from the cottage.

David Burton
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

What a great cottage and location, all excellent facilities, very helpful stewards and friendly. We had a great holiday. P.S. The weather was good too.

Angela
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

I took my dog to Seaview Cottage on the shore of Lochcarron in Feb. It was a lovely cozy cottage. Great view from the kitchen of the Loch. I really enjoy the coal fire in the evening. Restful holiday and great base for walks

Rebecca
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Lovely house with gorgeous views. The log fire was absolutely perfect for a cosy night in! Would definitely recommend.

Michael Cracknell
Reviewed Gate House on 21/02/2017
And awarded it

Gate House

Absolutely outstanding house, beautiful surroundings and warm. We were all lucky this week as the weather was beautiful, apart from one morning, but that didn't matter. Plenty to do locally and further away, and nice and quiet at this time of the year too!

Jessica Russell
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/02/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

My husband and I came to Skye in January for a brief respite from a hectic year. We loved Moll Cottage! It is in a beautiful and tranquil location. It took us a few nights to get used to the silence and amazing darkness, but it was just what we needed! The cottage was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped. The spacious closet in the bedroom allowed us to unpack and store our suitcases under the bed (which was extremely comfortable), making the two rooms feel quite spacious. The wood-burning stove was excellent and there was plenty of fuel, although we really didn't need much as the cottage is well insulated and a small fire made the cottage very cozy! The television had excellent reception, but we only watched it once because there are fantastic views from the cottage windows. We enjoyed waking up each morning to see the water just at the edge of the lawn and seeing red deer, otters, seals, cormorants, shags, and eagles. The single-track road to the cottage seems to have been patched up and in slightly better condition coming from Broadford rather than Sconser. Moll Cottage was the perfect place to get away from it all! I am sure we will be back! Jessica Russell

Lian Boden
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/02/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had the most wonderful week at the spacious yet cosy Hill Head Croft. We felt instantly at home and we're very impressed with the excellent facilities. We also found the guest book and info shelf incredibly helpful when planning our week. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday and we're thrilled with the number of walks from our doorstep and around the loch area. Stunning scenery and colour changes during our stay which made it extra special. We'd exhausted our two springers by the end of the week which was no mean feat!We would highly recommend Hill Head Croft and would love to return in the future. A big thank you to Wilderness Cottages for their excellent customer service when we needed to change the dates of our booking.

The Ferguson Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

What an amazing cottage/house! We lucked out getting a late cancellation for Guisachan when looking for somewhere for a weeks' holiday with our daughter and our dogs. It's a beautiful, clean, comfortable and warm house with an open fire. It's full of everything you need for the week, including the best equipped holiday cottage kitchen I've experienced, lots of books, games, maps, toys, very comfortable beds and a selection of sofas ( and rooms ) to lounge around on. The garden is huge and gorgeous with a dog proof fence. The owner Jenny lives in the house next door and was the perfect host, being available to answer any questions about the house and area, but never imposing on us. We also had a lovely lemon cake waiting for us on arrival. The area is perfect for exploring with dogs, being next to the woods, Plodda falls and a short drive from Glen Affric. Made use of our bikes mainly for going to the Tomich Hotel for dinner, but could cycle for miles off road if you wanted.. We also went pony trekking nearby at Cougie and went dolphin watching on the Black Isle. We will definitely be returning.

Graeme & Teresa
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in October last year with our two dogs Murphy and Hitch. We all had a wonderful relaxing time. The house is well equipped and spotlessly clean. The garden is dog friendly and you can open the door without fear they can escape onto the road, countless numbers of birds visit the feeders and for the first time in our lives we witnessed BADGERS playing in the next field. Our dogs are not big on walking as they are both getting on a bit but they did manage a walk to the nearby pub which welcomed them with open arms, and there is a coffee shop across from the pub that do lovely home bakes with seats outside so the dogs don't miss out. We have booked to go for New Year but will be visiting again sometime during the year to distress and relax in this lovely quiet part of the country. Well done Jenny (the owner) you have created the perfect home from home, see you again soon.

Chris & Sandra Bonsall
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/02/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A cosy, comfortable and relaxing cottage in a lovely location. Perfect for exploring this fantastic coastline. We wanted for nothing.......even the weather was on our side......

Lena & Friedrich
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 27/01/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We have stayed in many cottages before but none of them was as superb and perfect as Pooltiel House. If you enjoy remoteness, nature and tranquility you will love this house. It is perfectly equipped with everything you could ask for and the view is to die for. We hope we will be able to return!

David & Christine
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/01/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic cottage, beautiful location. Cottage was spotless and tastefully decorated and very cosy. Great walks directly from the cottage. This was a perfect getaway holiday. No wifi, no phone signal and no tv.....just perfect. Great place to relax and enjoy the scenery and wildlife. Dogs loved it too! Already planning our next trip back.

The Barkers
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 12/01/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Our family of 5 stayed here over the Christmas period, and it was a dream location to spend Christmas. The Cottage was perfect, and recently decorated, the location was something else. The cottage is fully equipped with all everyday needs, so our Christmas Dinner was cooked to perfection. We brought our own decorations but some lovely decorations had already been put up before our arrival. Many an evening was spent in front of the fire or sat patiently waiting in the conservatory for that pesky Elusive Pine Martin, who we eventually saw tucking in to some Jam butties...! The kids loved running to wave to the trains that occasionally passed. The Boxing Day snow was a bonus and the kids made a snow man. We got a nice courtesy call off Michael the owner to see if everything was ok, and the wonderful caretakers ensured we got our car started after I flattened the battery packing up to go home...!! It is a wonderful cottage in the best location we've stayed at on our many trips to Scotland....will be back

Leon & Laura
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 08/01/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We stayed in this cottage between Christmas and new year for a very special getaway as a family. It didn't disappoint. The cottage was everything and more than the website described thanks to the careful care, attention to detail and generous hospitality provided by Bill and Marjory. The cottage itself was spotless and homely with lovely elegant Christmas decorations which lit the cottage up beautifully when we first arrived making it feel extremely festive and welcoming. There was also a welcome pack of goodies which was a lovely surprise! The area is beautiful with lots of very accessible and clearly marked out walks. It really was a perfect getaway with fresh air and time to be a family without the distractions of modern day life. All fantastically rounded off with a roaring log fire to relax in front of at the end of each day. We can't recommend this holiday enough. Thank you!!

Phil & Sylvie
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/12/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What more can be said about upper folds than is already noted. Outstanding in every way possible. Beautiful scenery, spotlessly clean. The owner provides everything to make your stay fantastic. Everything provided is top quality. It really is the best out there. A good 4x4 really is needed as the weather can be changeable and the track challenging. Also a mention to Brian and the Wilderness Cottages team. They are a quality, no nonsense booking agent who have given us 100% faultless service every time. Excellent in every area.

Alec Goodhand
Reviewed Grain Store on 21/12/2016
And awarded it

Grain Store

Beautiful Cottage in stunning surroundings. Very warm and comfortable.

London Couple
Reviewed Fhaireag on 20/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We chose Fhaireag for a romantic winter break and we weren't disappointed - it's a beautiful house, in an idyllic setting. There are lovely walks from the house, or a short drive opens up a range of possibilities for exploration. We were also well looked after; our kettle wasn't working and the Wilderness Cottages team came straight out to replace it (they were always easy to contact). There was wine waiting for us on arrival, though sadly no tea (which is what we were craving after a long drive!). The cottage is wonderfully dog friendly, but be warned the surrounding area is full of signs saying they have to be kept on leads. All in all, though, it was an excellent holiday, would thoroughly recommend it.

Dana MacPhee
Reviewed Station Cottage on 14/12/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A very comfortable cottage with a historic background. We had crisp Winter weather during our stay which transformed the surrounding countryside into a magical frosty kingdom. Getting back to the cottage to enjoy the cosy warmth of the wood stove was a real treat. Accept that as an older but beautifully refurbished property some of the rooms take a little longer to heat. This is part of holidaying in Scotland in the Winter with -11 deg C overnight temperatures! Great local butcher just along the road who also stocks veg, cheese, tasty savoury snacks etc, more of a Farm Shop and worth supporting as a local business. Nethy Bridge is an excellent central location as a base for exploring the Cairngorm National Park area, Speyside and even Aberdeenshire. Station Cottage is to be recommended if you like traditional, well-maintained properties with true heritage.

P Carr
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 14/12/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Wow!! Our stay was amazing just what we needed. Our two dogs loved the loch and the views are unreal. My partner and son took our Kayak out and even managed to see seals playing when they were in the bay while I was enjoying the lovely views and roaring fire from the comforts of the cottage. Ceol na Mara is very welcoming, cosy and very well equipped cottage. It is a short drive to local shop which sells all you would need! We were very lucky weather wise and got to go see a lot of the Highlands and Skye, but our favourite sights to visit had to be the Applecross Pass and a little gem of a village called Plockton. Unfortunately the fish bar was closed for the season we did however manage to buy a few very nice items from "Patterns of light" We will most certainly be returning.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 12/12/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This place is fantastic! We stayed a week, only fault is we didn't book for 2 weeks! Gordon, the owner, was an amazing host, coming over the first night to welcome us & again on the Wednesday to empty bins & stock up on logs. The cabin has absolutely everything you need for a comfortable stay, but one word of warning....if you light the wood burner, you will need to open all the doors & windows...the heat off of it is something else. Our dog loved running after sticks, playing in the stream & even watched the deer beside the cabin one morning...he was exhausted when we left. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to staying again next winter, just the tonic before Christmas. My daughter & her boyfriend took a trip on Loch Ness & we had a few trips out to Inverness & Fort William to get shopping, in between long walks & reading.....so relaxing, loved it. Board games provided in the cabin gave us fun at nights while the dog slept in front of the fire, so if you need a relaxing getaway...this is the place.

SAM BEEDELL
Reviewed Cuilfail on 09/12/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

If you are looking for real escape - then this is the place to go - amazing scenery, wildlife and walks and a great place to relax and unwind in the evening with everything you would need from the accommodation for a great stay We had a great time and would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to really experience Scotland at its best

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 02/12/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch Cottage is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage in a quiet and peaceful setting. The views from the front windows are spectacular, especially when the distant mountains are covered in snow. Although the cottage is in a quiet, isolated location, it is only 20 minutes or so from Inverness, the A9 trunk road and Fort Augustus is also easily accessible. The only problem we had was that despite all the water being very hot in the kitchen sink and washbasins, the bath water was only hand warm, and we had to boil kettles and pans in order to get it to temperature. That having been said the property is lovely and warm throughout, the underfloor heating is effective and the wood burner is a welcome source of additional heat when the temperature outside is low. We will definitely stay there again and that is the acid test for any property.

Gus MacLeod
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Stayed a week at The Shed in November with six friends. We all thought the house was exceptional both as architecture but importantly as a beautiful space to occupy. It sits beautifully within the landscape and offers mesmerisingly lovely views out over the sea to the inner isles and the Cuillin. Highly recommended.

Ian Bonner-Evans
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We enjoyed a wonderful few days in Upper Folds. The cottage is set in a beautiful, remote location yet is also accessible to places of interest if you want to tour the area. The owners clearly spend a lot of time and effort in making Upper Folds a comfortable, clean, cozy, welcoming place to stay, with all that you could want from a holiday cottage - and more! We would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a "get away from it all" holiday experience.

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Lindsay Price
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Amazing stay at the cottage!! It was exactly as pictured but the view was even more amazing in person. We stayed for 2 weeks and we were SO sad to leave. Will definitely be coming back! Favorite thing was the local flock of sheep and herd of cows. Also a castle ruin super close that we walked to and the locals were very nice to help us with directions :)

Carols
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful house, fantastic scenery, best place to relax and unwind, love the limited phone signal cos work can't encroach on my break. An upgraded Sky package for those wet and windy nights by the fire would make the house unbeatable. Dogs loved the garden but not the sharp stones to get to the undergrowth

Benjamin & Cherry
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Annual guests to The Bothy and as usual didn't disappoint. perfect setting with the most perfect weather all week.

Elizabeth Little
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 22/11/2016
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge