Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 301 to 350 of 2902


Angela
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

I took my dog to Seaview Cottage on the shore of Lochcarron in Feb. It was a lovely cozy cottage. Great view from the kitchen of the Loch. I really enjoy the coal fire in the evening. Restful holiday and great base for walks

Rebecca
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Lovely house with gorgeous views. The log fire was absolutely perfect for a cosy night in! Would definitely recommend.

Michael Cracknell
Reviewed Gate House on 21/02/2017
And awarded it

Gate House

Absolutely outstanding house, beautiful surroundings and warm. We were all lucky this week as the weather was beautiful, apart from one morning, but that didn't matter. Plenty to do locally and further away, and nice and quiet at this time of the year too!

Jessica Russell
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/02/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

My husband and I came to Skye in January for a brief respite from a hectic year. We loved Moll Cottage! It is in a beautiful and tranquil location. It took us a few nights to get used to the silence and amazing darkness, but it was just what we needed! The cottage was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped. The spacious closet in the bedroom allowed us to unpack and store our suitcases under the bed (which was extremely comfortable), making the two rooms feel quite spacious. The wood-burning stove was excellent and there was plenty of fuel, although we really didn't need much as the cottage is well insulated and a small fire made the cottage very cozy! The television had excellent reception, but we only watched it once because there are fantastic views from the cottage windows. We enjoyed waking up each morning to see the water just at the edge of the lawn and seeing red deer, otters, seals, cormorants, shags, and eagles. The single-track road to the cottage seems to have been patched up and in slightly better condition coming from Broadford rather than Sconser. Moll Cottage was the perfect place to get away from it all! I am sure we will be back! Jessica Russell

Lian Boden
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/02/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had the most wonderful week at the spacious yet cosy Hill Head Croft. We felt instantly at home and we're very impressed with the excellent facilities. We also found the guest book and info shelf incredibly helpful when planning our week. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday and we're thrilled with the number of walks from our doorstep and around the loch area. Stunning scenery and colour changes during our stay which made it extra special. We'd exhausted our two springers by the end of the week which was no mean feat!We would highly recommend Hill Head Croft and would love to return in the future. A big thank you to Wilderness Cottages for their excellent customer service when we needed to change the dates of our booking.

The Ferguson Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

What an amazing cottage/house! We lucked out getting a late cancellation for Guisachan when looking for somewhere for a weeks' holiday with our daughter and our dogs. It's a beautiful, clean, comfortable and warm house with an open fire. It's full of everything you need for the week, including the best equipped holiday cottage kitchen I've experienced, lots of books, games, maps, toys, very comfortable beds and a selection of sofas ( and rooms ) to lounge around on. The garden is huge and gorgeous with a dog proof fence. The owner Jenny lives in the house next door and was the perfect host, being available to answer any questions about the house and area, but never imposing on us. We also had a lovely lemon cake waiting for us on arrival. The area is perfect for exploring with dogs, being next to the woods, Plodda falls and a short drive from Glen Affric. Made use of our bikes mainly for going to the Tomich Hotel for dinner, but could cycle for miles off road if you wanted.. We also went pony trekking nearby at Cougie and went dolphin watching on the Black Isle. We will definitely be returning.

Graeme & Teresa
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in October last year with our two dogs Murphy and Hitch. We all had a wonderful relaxing time. The house is well equipped and spotlessly clean. The garden is dog friendly and you can open the door without fear they can escape onto the road, countless numbers of birds visit the feeders and for the first time in our lives we witnessed BADGERS playing in the next field. Our dogs are not big on walking as they are both getting on a bit but they did manage a walk to the nearby pub which welcomed them with open arms, and there is a coffee shop across from the pub that do lovely home bakes with seats outside so the dogs don't miss out. We have booked to go for New Year but will be visiting again sometime during the year to distress and relax in this lovely quiet part of the country. Well done Jenny (the owner) you have created the perfect home from home, see you again soon.

Chris & Sandra Bonsall
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/02/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A cosy, comfortable and relaxing cottage in a lovely location. Perfect for exploring this fantastic coastline. We wanted for nothing.......even the weather was on our side......

Lena & Friedrich
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 27/01/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We have stayed in many cottages before but none of them was as superb and perfect as Pooltiel House. If you enjoy remoteness, nature and tranquility you will love this house. It is perfectly equipped with everything you could ask for and the view is to die for. We hope we will be able to return!

David & Christine
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/01/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic cottage, beautiful location. Cottage was spotless and tastefully decorated and very cosy. Great walks directly from the cottage. This was a perfect getaway holiday. No wifi, no phone signal and no tv.....just perfect. Great place to relax and enjoy the scenery and wildlife. Dogs loved it too! Already planning our next trip back.

The Barkers
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 12/01/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Our family of 5 stayed here over the Christmas period, and it was a dream location to spend Christmas. The Cottage was perfect, and recently decorated, the location was something else. The cottage is fully equipped with all everyday needs, so our Christmas Dinner was cooked to perfection. We brought our own decorations but some lovely decorations had already been put up before our arrival. Many an evening was spent in front of the fire or sat patiently waiting in the conservatory for that pesky Elusive Pine Martin, who we eventually saw tucking in to some Jam butties...! The kids loved running to wave to the trains that occasionally passed. The Boxing Day snow was a bonus and the kids made a snow man. We got a nice courtesy call off Michael the owner to see if everything was ok, and the wonderful caretakers ensured we got our car started after I flattened the battery packing up to go home...!! It is a wonderful cottage in the best location we've stayed at on our many trips to Scotland....will be back

Leon & Laura
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 08/01/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We stayed in this cottage between Christmas and new year for a very special getaway as a family. It didn't disappoint. The cottage was everything and more than the website described thanks to the careful care, attention to detail and generous hospitality provided by Bill and Marjory. The cottage itself was spotless and homely with lovely elegant Christmas decorations which lit the cottage up beautifully when we first arrived making it feel extremely festive and welcoming. There was also a welcome pack of goodies which was a lovely surprise! The area is beautiful with lots of very accessible and clearly marked out walks. It really was a perfect getaway with fresh air and time to be a family without the distractions of modern day life. All fantastically rounded off with a roaring log fire to relax in front of at the end of each day. We can't recommend this holiday enough. Thank you!!

Phil & Sylvie
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/12/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What more can be said about upper folds than is already noted. Outstanding in every way possible. Beautiful scenery, spotlessly clean. The owner provides everything to make your stay fantastic. Everything provided is top quality. It really is the best out there. A good 4x4 really is needed as the weather can be changeable and the track challenging. Also a mention to Brian and the Wilderness Cottages team. They are a quality, no nonsense booking agent who have given us 100% faultless service every time. Excellent in every area.

Alec Goodhand
Reviewed Grain Store on 21/12/2016
And awarded it

Grain Store

Beautiful Cottage in stunning surroundings. Very warm and comfortable.

London Couple
Reviewed Fhaireag on 20/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We chose Fhaireag for a romantic winter break and we weren't disappointed - it's a beautiful house, in an idyllic setting. There are lovely walks from the house, or a short drive opens up a range of possibilities for exploration. We were also well looked after; our kettle wasn't working and the Wilderness Cottages team came straight out to replace it (they were always easy to contact). There was wine waiting for us on arrival, though sadly no tea (which is what we were craving after a long drive!). The cottage is wonderfully dog friendly, but be warned the surrounding area is full of signs saying they have to be kept on leads. All in all, though, it was an excellent holiday, would thoroughly recommend it.

Dana MacPhee
Reviewed Station Cottage on 14/12/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A very comfortable cottage with a historic background. We had crisp Winter weather during our stay which transformed the surrounding countryside into a magical frosty kingdom. Getting back to the cottage to enjoy the cosy warmth of the wood stove was a real treat. Accept that as an older but beautifully refurbished property some of the rooms take a little longer to heat. This is part of holidaying in Scotland in the Winter with -11 deg C overnight temperatures! Great local butcher just along the road who also stocks veg, cheese, tasty savoury snacks etc, more of a Farm Shop and worth supporting as a local business. Nethy Bridge is an excellent central location as a base for exploring the Cairngorm National Park area, Speyside and even Aberdeenshire. Station Cottage is to be recommended if you like traditional, well-maintained properties with true heritage.

P Carr
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 14/12/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Wow!! Our stay was amazing just what we needed. Our two dogs loved the loch and the views are unreal. My partner and son took our Kayak out and even managed to see seals playing when they were in the bay while I was enjoying the lovely views and roaring fire from the comforts of the cottage. Ceol na Mara is very welcoming, cosy and very well equipped cottage. It is a short drive to local shop which sells all you would need! We were very lucky weather wise and got to go see a lot of the Highlands and Skye, but our favourite sights to visit had to be the Applecross Pass and a little gem of a village called Plockton. Unfortunately the fish bar was closed for the season we did however manage to buy a few very nice items from "Patterns of light" We will most certainly be returning.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 12/12/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This place is fantastic! We stayed a week, only fault is we didn't book for 2 weeks! Gordon, the owner, was an amazing host, coming over the first night to welcome us & again on the Wednesday to empty bins & stock up on logs. The cabin has absolutely everything you need for a comfortable stay, but one word of warning....if you light the wood burner, you will need to open all the doors & windows...the heat off of it is something else. Our dog loved running after sticks, playing in the stream & even watched the deer beside the cabin one morning...he was exhausted when we left. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to staying again next winter, just the tonic before Christmas. My daughter & her boyfriend took a trip on Loch Ness & we had a few trips out to Inverness & Fort William to get shopping, in between long walks & reading.....so relaxing, loved it. Board games provided in the cabin gave us fun at nights while the dog slept in front of the fire, so if you need a relaxing getaway...this is the place.

SAM BEEDELL
Reviewed Cuilfail on 09/12/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

If you are looking for real escape - then this is the place to go - amazing scenery, wildlife and walks and a great place to relax and unwind in the evening with everything you would need from the accommodation for a great stay We had a great time and would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to really experience Scotland at its best

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 02/12/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch Cottage is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage in a quiet and peaceful setting. The views from the front windows are spectacular, especially when the distant mountains are covered in snow. Although the cottage is in a quiet, isolated location, it is only 20 minutes or so from Inverness, the A9 trunk road and Fort Augustus is also easily accessible. The only problem we had was that despite all the water being very hot in the kitchen sink and washbasins, the bath water was only hand warm, and we had to boil kettles and pans in order to get it to temperature. That having been said the property is lovely and warm throughout, the underfloor heating is effective and the wood burner is a welcome source of additional heat when the temperature outside is low. We will definitely stay there again and that is the acid test for any property.

Gus MacLeod
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Stayed a week at The Shed in November with six friends. We all thought the house was exceptional both as architecture but importantly as a beautiful space to occupy. It sits beautifully within the landscape and offers mesmerisingly lovely views out over the sea to the inner isles and the Cuillin. Highly recommended.

Ian Bonner-Evans
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We enjoyed a wonderful few days in Upper Folds. The cottage is set in a beautiful, remote location yet is also accessible to places of interest if you want to tour the area. The owners clearly spend a lot of time and effort in making Upper Folds a comfortable, clean, cozy, welcoming place to stay, with all that you could want from a holiday cottage - and more! We would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a "get away from it all" holiday experience.

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Lindsay Price
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Amazing stay at the cottage!! It was exactly as pictured but the view was even more amazing in person. We stayed for 2 weeks and we were SO sad to leave. Will definitely be coming back! Favorite thing was the local flock of sheep and herd of cows. Also a castle ruin super close that we walked to and the locals were very nice to help us with directions :)

Carols
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful house, fantastic scenery, best place to relax and unwind, love the limited phone signal cos work can't encroach on my break. An upgraded Sky package for those wet and windy nights by the fire would make the house unbeatable. Dogs loved the garden but not the sharp stones to get to the undergrowth

Benjamin & Cherry
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Annual guests to The Bothy and as usual didn't disappoint. perfect setting with the most perfect weather all week.

Elizabeth Little
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 22/11/2016
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Chris & Kirsty
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/11/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Excellent property and location for the ultimate relaxing breaks. Breath taking views, wildlife and ever changing weather to cast your eyes upon, let alone the chance to view aurora in the night skies.

John Gibson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 18/11/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Wonderful place. Highly recommended. Unlike many cottages, the Tree House is modern, beautifully designed and finished to a very high spec throughout. It has a well stocked kitchen, an efficient log burner, a nice TV and speakers to plug your phone into, a massive couch to lounge on. It is altogether extremely comfortable. We visited in November, and it rained most days, but we were happy to be tucked up cosy and warm inside. The location on a tiny little road is also very secluded and quiet. Skye is, of course, beautiful.

Peter Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage is perfect if you crave isolation, utter peace and quiet, rugged scenery and nil light pollution. It's not so good if you are a TV addict and/or you cannot survive without your mobile phone. Administrative aspects faultless.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit. The cottage had been recently painted. Spotlessly clean. Great walks and wonderful weather. Perfect break for us.

BARRY
Reviewed Wildwood on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

We rented Wildwood at Fort Augustus for a week and had the best time, our holiday started on 5th November and it was very mild. The wildlife there is amazing. Deer, pine martins, badger and so many birds. We were feeding them 2 pints of seed per day not including fat balls and suet. The property was spotless and there is everything there to make your stay so comfortable. We wish we booked 2 weeks now. If you book this property you won't regret it.

Jane Fletcher
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn looks gorgeous on the website, and doesn't disappoint in real life. It is very well equipped, was spotless on arrival, and is a great base for exploring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our week,and our two Westies loved relaxing in front of the excellent wood burning stove.

Roger & Patricia Scott
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage was extremely well equipped - everything possible in the kitchen from bread maker to food processor! The cottage was very cosy! The bedding was lovely and warm! The welcome pack was a lovely touch as was leaving the fire laid and ready to light. Would readily recommend the cottage!

Mr F Townley
Reviewed Station Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A wonderful week in the cottage, there is nothing else you need for a relaxing and peaceful time. The cottage is well appointed and cosy with the log burner. We will return again in the summer/ autumn. Highly recommended.

Susan H
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/11/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

One Week Holiday
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We very much enjoyed our holiday at Leachahan Barn. It is very clean, tidy and has all the amenities you could wish for. Fantastic views from the windows across the Loch. The Barn is ideally suited for trips to Skye (via Glen Elg in the Summer months is a real treat!), or to the nearby Lochs and Glens. Otherwise plenty of easy and interesting walks just from the front door ( ie the ruined Broch at Totaig).

Christine Entwistle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was delightful, well equipped and very clean. It was wonderful returning home to the warmth and cosiness, at this time of year after a bracing walk in the beautiful, stunning countryside and coastal scenery. The dogs enjoyed lying in front of the wood burning stove or the aga and just fell asleep. The beds were comfortable and at this time of year it was just what the doctor ordered. The beaches nearby were beautiful and not to be missed.

Tove & Pip Knight
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 12/11/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

My Border Collie, Pip, and I spent a few lovely days in Woodside Lodge in October. The weather was brilliant and the views spectacular. The cottage was the best appointed self catering cottage I have ever been to. It was warm, well equipped and the fenced in garden area was brilliant. We toured around the area, but next time (and there will be a next time) we will allow a bit more time to spend a bit more 'chill-out' time in the cottage. I would highly recommend it.

Sally Herbert
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

I cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge highly enough. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in October 2016. The lodge exceeded our expectations, which had been extremely high! It was a characterful house, extremely cosy and comfortable, set in beautiful surroundings. The double bed was divine and the wood burning stove extremely efficient. Jenny was helpful and friendly, she made us feel very welcome, told us to contact her if there was anything or any information we needed and popped to see us twice to make sure we were okay (unfortunately we missed her on both occasions!). She had made a delicious apple and blackberry cake for our arrival. There was wealth of information on what to do in the surrounding areas at the lodge, plus old photos and historical information about the lodge and estate. WiFi was excellent but there was no mobile signal, there was a landline for local calls. We enjoyed the lodge as a couple but it is perfect for families and dogs and would make an excellent Christmas/New Year retreat. The lodge is located down a long drive which needs to be taken carefully and is remote (as advised in the pre-booking information). This suited us as it was just what we were looking for but prospective hirers do need to be aware of this. Plodda Falls are a short walk through the forest which backs onto the lodge and are well worth seeing. We also explored nearby Glen Affric, which must be one of the most beautiful places in Scotland, and Loch Ness and its surrounding areas. There was a wealth of local walks detailed in the information at the lodge. All in all we had one of our best holidays at Plodda Falls Lodge and can see why people go back there time and time again.

Stephen & Susan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a perfect cottage, absolutely spotlessly clean, warm cozy and welcoming. It is very tastefully furnished and so comfortable, we felt relaxed and chilled out from the moment we arrived. The lovely thoughtful touches of fresh flowers, wine etc are the icing on the cake, all the bases and much more are covered here. The surroundings are stunning, when we return to the area we will look no further and definitely rebook. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Colin & Lynn
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Fabulous - House was excellent and great location. The house has everything you need and is great for relaxing with wonderful views. There's so many great things to do on Skye but make sure you get some fresh seafood like Scallops from Sconser. We'll be back.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 4th visit to Charleston, the second time this year! We absolutely love the peace and quiet, fantastic views and the home comforts the cottage has to offer. The owners have provided everything you need for your stay and the cottage itself is immaculate. When the guest book is full of people visiting for their second, third, fourth and more times that speaks for itself!! We will definitely be back, just hope we can get in as it books up fast...

Andrew & Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A lovely location and wonderful accommodation for our stay in the Highlands. A warm and friendly welcome, many thanks.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage...peaceful comfortable and has everything you need. Perfect location. we will definitely be booking again

Richie
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An amazing place to stay and this was our fourth visit there. Tranquil, high quality accommodation that's makes you instantly relaxed. Always great service from Wilderness Cottages and we can't wait for our next stay.

Kayley Holden
Reviewed Sealight on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

We had the most wonderful honeymoon at Sealight. We arrived at the end of October, staying for a week and unfortunately, this is the out of season period where most places are closed. However, Sealight has everything you could possibly need to have a lovely, chilled, warmly stay. From books to every kitchen utensil you can think of and even jigsaw puzzles/games, we were never bored! The log burner was our favourite part of the house and we loved having the fire burning every night whilst watching a movie! We came home very relaxed and refreshed. Exactly what we needed! We are hoping to come back for Christmas next year.

Alan & Alison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was the perfect place for a chill and unwind. Perfect for a couple sharing, excellent facilities and very cosy - the woodburner stove was great but rarely used as the place was so warm. No phone signal and no wifi took about a day to get used to then you remember what life used to be like! Read a couple of books in the total peace of the evenings. Jane was very friendly and helpful. The Byre is well placed for walking and cycling from the door or further afield. We will be back.

Liz Twelves
Reviewed Wishing Well Cottage on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Wishing Well Cottage

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Twelves, thank you for your feedback and review. We are pleased that you found the pre arrival information for the property easy to follow and that the house was clean and to a high standard. The beds provided in the property are brand new with good bed linen and mattresses and are surprised on the comment about these. We have passed on the information regarding the TV and DVD to the owners. They have provided a flat screen TV and satellite with over 1500 channels which guests have enjoyed using, unfortunately a DVD player is not provided. As all our properties are individually owned and it therefore depends on the owner regarding welcome packs etc. However in remote locations it is sometimes difficult to leave fresh produce and we are sorry if the lack of this detracted from your stay.