Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 301 to 350 of 2966


Dan & Anne & Bailey(springer Spaniel)
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape cottage was what we wanted, isolated but within reach (15 min approx) from Stranraer, the owners Chas & Jane have catered for just about everything you'll need. From the cottage to the shore line you have a 2 or 3 minute down hill walk which on the way back you have a slight rise to climb. There are good walks along the shore (bring walking boots). The cottage has no wifi and you need to a short distance by car for a signal, but that's part of the attraction to get away from it all and chill out! Perfect.

Mark Boyd
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This place is stunning. Cosy wee cottage surrounded by stunning scenery. Lots to do in this part of the world, or just kick back and relax in the cottage's conservatory and let the hours drift by. Loved it!

Ann Hadland
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage was a great base for our holiday. It was well equipped, warm, comfortable and immaculately clean. The enclosed garden was brilliant for the dogs and there are lovely walks right from the door. The red squirrels and birds visiting the garden were a real treat.

Gareth Carrol
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. Applecross is an absolute treat to visit, and staying in Bayside made for a wonderful experience. The cottage is superbly positioned - literally a few doors down from the Applecross Inn (also lovely!) and a 30 minute or so walk (or 5 minute drive) the other way to the local shop. Everything inside the cottage made us feel so welcome, from the tea and biscuits on the table when we arrived, to the selection of games to the open fire that we enjoyed on more than one night. Amazing blackout curtains in the bedrooms also meant that we slept as well as we've ever done. The decking out the front was a delight and we enjoyed breakfast and late night drinks on there (in our coats!) and marvelled at the view. Genuinely one of the nicest places I've ever visited, and the entire booking process was so straightforward. Just be aware of drive into Applecross - stunning but not for the faint-hearted!

Andrew Howes
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Stayed at Mathesons Croft House in Nostie. Amazing cottage great location total isolation. 5 *

Michael & Jeff
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage has been thoughtfully renovated to a high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and have no hesitation in recommending it. The location is great - in the wilderness - yet suitable for exploring nearby lochs, castles, distilleries, and for climbing munros!

Sarah White
Reviewed Ardrannach on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This is a comfortable, cosy cottage in a spectacular location with incredible views from windows. Warm and has everything needed and owners welcoming and helpful. Fantastic walks from the front door and easy access to all the places on Skye you want to visit. Not modern or glamorous but everything you need is there and makes for a home from home. Dogs loved it but would have been able to get out of garden at livestock on farm if we hadn't kept them on lead (not a problem though). Thank you for a brilliant, relaxing week in a lovely cottage.

Caroline Mcconnell
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

We were all really disappointed to find out on our arrival that the swimming pool was closed even though in your confirmation letter to us, stated that the pool was now open to all guests. The pool was a big attraction to us as we have an 8 and 9 year old. Although it wasn't a huge problem to us we did feel that there were a few things in the cottage that did need some attention. The IPod docking station did not work, the children wanted a bath one night after deciding to paddle in Loch ness but unfortunately the water wasn't hot enough even though there was plenty of hot water from the sinks. The main shower when adjusting the height the attachment was very loose and we were concerned that it could come off at anytime. The cottage itself was lovely and the surroundings are beautiful and we would recommend the cottage to friends and family and also consider coming back if the pool was open again.

Rebecca Hill
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 17/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect peaceful rural retreat. We loved that it was away from it all. Beautifully located on the edge of a beautiful forest with great walks from your doorstep. Amazing wildlife & no people to be seen or heard. Bliss

Craig D
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

We enjoyed a relaxing weeks holiday at Gracie's Cottage, the cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed having breakfast with the the view over Loch Kishorn and exploring the local area where there are lots of lovely walks and places to explore. We wanted a relaxing break and Gracie's cottage didn't disappoint, we will definitely return.

Matthew
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Excellent property in a lovely location, lots of wildlife around and plenty of activities to do locally.

Cerys1
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

The Beech Lodge was amazing! There are only positive comments to make about it. The lodge was well kept with lots of amenities and was very clean. It contained everything you needed and is situated in a great location with wonderful views. I will definitely be going back.

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Lovely house with amazing views. Ideal location for a get away from it all holiday. Wilderness Holiday staff very friendly and helpful.

Julia.b
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 14/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This is such a lovely, well appointed house in the perfect location for some of the most incredible walks and scenery. From booking it to the morning we left, everything went smoothly. We had a fantastic family holiday and can't recommend it enough!

Debbie & Paul
Reviewed The Granary on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary is a beautiful cottage in a stunning setting. We immediately felt at home and we were both very impressed with the cleanliness and the attention to detail. Kirsty, the owner, had thought of everything and the cottage was really well equipped. Kirsty even left us some beautiful roses and a bottle of wine. It's in an ideal location for Drumnadrochit village, just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants, and is also perfect for touring the Highlands by car, as there are many stunning places to see, such as Urquhart Castle, Fort Augustus, Eilean Donan castle, Fort George to spot the dolphins (we did!) and Plockton, to name a few. We really enjoyed our stay at the Granary and we loved waking up to the sound of the wee burn at the side of the cottage. It's a lovely , very comfortable place to relax and unwind in, as everything you need is there.

Claire Murdy
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean, good furniture, amazing position, perfect location for visiting distilleries. Friendly landlords, welcome pack, wine and flowers very much appreciated, we're sure to return.

Graham Stokes
Reviewed Wee Dram on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Marian Lister
Reviewed Christies on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Lovely old cottage, very cosy too. Beautiful situation overlooking the bay, the dog absolutely loved it! Plumbing noise in the bathroom was a bit strange, but we got used to it. Neighbour very nice and helpful too. We will go back, once we have explored some of your other lovely properties.

Santha -- Oxford
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This is a spacious, comfortable, warm and beautifully equipped cottage. The owners could not do more to ensure one's enjoyment! The cottage is in a truly breathtaking, undisturbed setting, with wonderful views of the mountains and sea, with the Outer Hebrides visible on the horizon. The cottage is also conveniently situated for getting around to other parts Skye, and a bus-service passes the gate. This is my third visit to this cottage. Highly recommended.

Laura B
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had truly a phenomenal stay at White-Tail Croft. The croft itself is to the highest standard, with stunning views; we saw many birds of prey hunting outside the croft, and with deer and rabbits making use of the fields surrounding us. Absolutely loved our time here, and are aiming to come back in the future!

Chris & Sharon
Reviewed Aros Beag on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Excellent cottage tempted to keep it a secret, very quiet and peaceful with nice walks in the area . cottage is very well appointed and owners are welcoming

Neil Cooper
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

Our break at South Lodge was excellent, we arrived to find freshly baked shortbread waiting for us. The Lodge itself was very clean and very comfortable, the kitchen and living area were perfect and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a lovely surprise. The remote position of the Lodge was one of the reasons we chose it, with a great woodland walk within 200 metres. On the first morning i made a coffee and sat outside on the bench, i noticed some movement at the edge of the Loch which turned out to be two Otters feeding, we also saw many Common Seals within a few miles of the Lodge. The whole area was perfect for a nice 'chilled out' break, and the local people were very friendly indeed, everyone waved to us as we drove into Tarbert. Leaving to return home was the only downside of this break, we are definitely going to return here, as it was one of the best breaks i have had in over 40 years. our dogs absolutely loved it too. I wish i could put some of my photos on this review.

The Gray's
Reviewed Sealight on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

We had a fabulous time at Sealight, the weather was very good, apart from the last 2 days, but did not stop us going out walking/ climbing. The house is amazing...everything you could need and cosy, we would defiantly stay again... lots to do if you like the outdoors. Don't know why we had to phone the caretakers as we did twice, but no answer on both occasions!

Elen Sentier
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Such a beautiful place! The cottage is deep in the woods and with no immediate neighbours but still part of the community of Tomich. It's very well appointed, the furnishings are attractive and the two main rooms are large. The window seats are a grerat place to stretch out with a cuppa after a walk and watch the birds who flock around the house. There are several excellent walks directly from the house, indeed we only took the car out one day to go to Glen Affric, and to shop in the local town of Beauly. Beauly has an excellent deli/cafe next door to a very good old fashioned greengrocer - his veg are super - and across the road from a good butcher. There's a Co-Op for basics too, and a bakery. The kitchen is well appointed, lots of useful pots and pans, a good oven and hob, and really good washing machine (Bosch) which is such an advantage for walkers like ourselves. We - Fiona and me - went at the end of March and the one thing we found is that the cottage is cold, we needed the heating! You really noticed when you went out into the corridor as we kept the heating on in the rooms we used. The wood-burner was vital for comfort but the cold meant we didn't use the other very attractive front room. Also the wifi is close to nonexistent. Never mind about not being able to stream videos - we had to split an email with 3 small attachments into 3 separate emails and it still too half an hour to go! As we're both writers with contract deadlines to complete this was something of a blow! But overall we had a delightful week of walking and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed it too :-). It's a wonderful hideaway, peace, quiet and beuty all around you.

Cazamaranda
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Three old friends and one dog for a week - peace and relaxation in a cosy home with uninterrupted views of the sea. The location couldn't have been more perfect, and being right on the beach was a dream come true for us. The cottage itself was well-equipped and spotlessly clean with beautifully laundered bedding and towels (whoever does the cleaning does an excellent job!). We did intend travelling around the area, but ended up spending almost the whole week in the cottage - it was such a lovely place to be. The wood burner in the conservatory was such a fantastic idea and we spent most of the week in there when the weather was wet, staying cosy whilst feeling surrounded by the outdoors. We're already planning our next stay and can't recommend it highly enough.

Ray & Jennifer
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A charming cottage in a pleasant location . The high standard of decoration, available equipment and garden made for an outstanding week .

Sarah, James & JRTs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Cottage was lovely - clean, everything you need for your stay. All mod cons. Spacious and very cosy. Log burner was great, didn't need the heating at all. Jacuzzi bath was an fantastic after long walks. Big porch for all your outdoor gear and loved the decking for watching the wildlife. Garden is dog proof (even for small terriers) - our dogs loved it! Owners were very helpful. And the location - well.....we loved it! Munroes on your doorstep combined with loads of low level walks. Could easily walk each day from cottage and not have to drive anywhere. Great mountain biking too. 15 mins to Spean Bridge - nearest supermarket. 30 mins to Fort William. Loads to do in the area for outdoor enthusiasts, families and elderly parents. In-laws came with us and loved it! Recommend - Glen Roy and the parallel roads; gondola trip and mountain bike trails at Nevis range and the coffee shop in Roy Bridge - Darwin's Rest, awesome home baking, friendly staff ???? Would we book again - def yes!

D.Grundy
Reviewed The Orchids on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had a problem with our booking which Wilderness resolved promptly and efficiently and we enjoyed a great holiday at The Orchids, which is a well equipped property situated overlooking the Loch.

Pauline Currie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a fantastic stay at Beach Lodge. It is so secluded and is located in a beautiful setting set back from the beach. Our 2 dalmatians were in their element and loved the beach. We saw our neighbours who were staying at Shore Cottage a few times other than that we saw no one else. We had the beach to ourselves. Check the tide times before you go. There were only 2 of us staying so we closed the doors of the rooms that we weren't using. On a clear night the stars are amazing. We saw such an abundance of wild life, deer, foxes, hares and of course the farm animals. We had 4 deer in the garden the day we left. The only negative comments that I would make are that some of the furnishings are a bit tired and could be doing with being updated, settee covers could be doing with a wash and it also wasn't as clean as I expected (bathrooms and bedrooms spotless) but none of this would stop me from returning we had a great time. The track down to the cottage isn't suitable for low suspension cars as we found out but with slow careful driving its managable.

Crate Scotland
Reviewed Cuilfail on 02/04/2017
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Very comfortable cottage, clean and reasonably well equipped. The log fire was welcome though we could have done with more logs and kindling.The wheelchair access would be useful to those who required it, though there was no handrail and potentially dangerous. The dogs were welcome and the garden area was made safe for them. Altogether, a good experience in a delightful part of the world.

John & Janet
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a fantastic stay at Seascape Cottage. The cottage is very well appointed and finished to an excellent standard, second to none we have stayed in to date. We received a warm welcome from the hosts, Jane and Chas, including a complimentary bottle of wine. Our hosts have thought of everything including providing dog bowls and towels if you need them. A very peaceful spot with lovely walks from the door and also a short car ride away. We will certainly return.

John Dobbie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Beautiful cottage everything in it you could need. Location amazing,beach was fantastic,did not meet anyone for a week. Peace and quiet brilliant!!

Lorraine Jennie & Abbie
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

My niece and I flew from Michigan, USA to Aberdeen to meet up with our friend, Lorraine, who gave us an amazing tour around the Highlands of Scotland, during which time our home base was at Fort Augustus and the Abbey. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious, clean, well equipped and perfect for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd return to both Scotland and The Abbey in a heartbeat! We never did find Nessie the Loch Ness Monster, but the views were amazing and our time at the Abbey was wonderful. Thank you.

Nev Poole
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Yet again a lovely place to stay. Accommodation excellent and location outstanding. If you want relaxation and being away from the rat race this is the place.

Andy Leicester
Reviewed Rhundunan on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Fantastic place, really relaxing away from it all break. Enjoyed the seals on the rocks, and the rabbits in the garden. House has everything you could possibly need, and more besides. Lovely.

Jason Pickles
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Nice house in secluded location with great walking

Emma
Reviewed Log House on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Log House

Had a lovely time even though it rained nearly the whole time didn't stop us going walking. Lovely log house we enjoyed our relaxing break

Charles & Jenni
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

We had an amazing week in that cottage which is really beautiful, cosy and clean. It is well-equiped (washer/dryer, dishwaher, bathtub, fireplace...), the location is perfect for visiting the Highlands and the view on the loch is gorgeous. Alastair and Carol are really kind and available if we have any questions. We really enjoyed our time there and we will definitely come back in this accommodation.

Linda Mullin
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Perfect location Attention to detail spot on. Very special place.

Dave J
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location and the owners very generous with welcome pack.

Kate & George
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

I looked hard for our perfect cottage and I think ii found it at fersit. Safe secure garden for our dogs, well kitted out kitchen, extremely comfortable and efficient heating without the fire but the log fire was fabulous too. A beautiful big view through the big window lots if Highland walks from our doorstep both low level and into the hills. All in all a fabulous place to rest and recharge with your dogs. Would love to return one day.

Mr A Nash
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely stay at Red Kite Cottage in March. Being fairly close to the A9 it is easy to find and very convenient for touring around. The cottage was just as it says in the brochure upon arrival we where met by the owner who was very pleasant and offered advice on the local area. We chose this cottage due to it being dog friendly and was really pleased to see the huge size of the enclosed garden.Within 30 to 60 minutes drive you have historic sites, beautiful beaches country walks and loads of waterfalls not to mention Inverness. We will definitely be returning here in the future.Finally just a mention on the friendly service from the staff at wilderness cottages a delight to deal with.

Lorraine Haswell
Reviewed Glenara on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely well appointed cottage in a quiet spot but very close to all amenities. Welcomed by Mr Lee and shown how to use the facilities. Fantastic view of the river, cosy and warm as snowing while we were there. I would highly recommend this cottage as a base to explore Loch Ness and the surrounding area

Neil Smith
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 20/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

This was our first visit to the Highlands and what a visit it was! The Lodge is beautiful; first impressions were amazement at how much more spacious the place is than the photos depict on here. The Lodge is tastefully decorated, very comfortable and you have everything in terms of kitchen and facilities that you could possibly need for your stay. Jenny provides a warm welcome and is such a great host (thanks again for the cake!). The scenery is obviously amazing and this place is truly in the wilderness, it provided a real get-away-from-it-all week for us (party of three and two dogs). The grounds of the Lodge are great with three completely fenced in areas which is perfect for the dogs. Whilst our four legged friends are generally very good, one has youth on her side and to have that added security was really helpful for us to relax knowing she was secure when being let out at night. We unfortunately did have a bad experience with the younger dog when we were there whereby we lost her for five hours about four miles from the Lodge (blaming her youth and sheer excitement at being completely in the wild up there!); obviously a scary and sobering experience for us (and her!) but Jenny was unbelievably helpful and couldn't do enough to help at what was quite a stressful time, we were so grateful to have that network there which she obviously has for situations like that. There is a real nice atmosphere in the area, very much a community and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anybody who wants that true wilderness experience but still likes the luxury of a cosy (large!) cottage at the end of the day, A day trip to Beauly and walk to Dog Falls (across the river, recommend walking to the View Point) was as far as we ventured the entire week; with such amazing walks on your doorstep there really is no need to venture much further!

Niels Leadholm
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Absolutely fantastic place, Jeff and Jacqui made us feel extremely welcome, and the beauty of both the cottage and the surrounding area is hard to put into words.

Dr Tanja & Dr Chris
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

An absolutely stunning property in a fantastic location. The cottage itself has been renovated to an exceptional standard and was luxurious to say the least. We were lucky to be only the second set of guests to Arrivain cottage. We were very comfortable during our stay and the cottage had room-specific heating and under-floor heating. The log burner in the lounge added to the ambience and felt very cosy. The kitchen was very well kitted out and Jacqui and Jeff were more than happy to supplement it with any minor addition we asked for. Jeff was on hand to provide more wood for the fire any time we asked and was also a treasure trove of knowledge about the local area, which was fantastic. We had rental bikes delivered to the cottage, which we could store securely in the "wee" shed, which was great. Having a washing machine and tumble dryer was also a nice addition after going out walking and cycling in the local area. We also enjoyed some drives though the spectacular scenery of Glen Orchy, Glen Etive and Glen Coe, all well within an hour of the cottage. All in all, it was a fantastic trip away and felt like a home from home. We very much intend to return. Jacqui and Jeff are passionate about the cottage and were keen to make our stay the best experience they could.

Alex.R.King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 18/03/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our stay at the Old Lock Keepers Cottage was wonderful, it's such a lovely peaceful setting. A place you visit, and wish you didn't have to leave. We'll definitely be adding it to our places to revisit, there's still more to see and experience.

Harry H
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 15/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Stayed in November, with family and two dogs. It was such a lovely break, I can't stop thinking about it. The snow came down on the third day and the skies remained clear for the rest of the stay. Wonderful long, wild walks in all directions. The house is comfortable, as you would expect of a Victorian lodge, and perfect for dogs. I shall return soon.

Maggie & Mike Adkins
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. So clean and fresh. Very well equipped. Lovely quiet area to sit in the garden and take in the surrounding countryside. We barely left the Black Isle and the lovely villages nearby were a treat to visit especially Rosemarkie beach. Great for walks with the dog. A treat also to see 7 actual red kite birds of prey just along from the cottage. Thank you to Margaret & Paul.

Francois E.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Absolutely marvelous, such a peaceful place! Great facilities by the way. An improvement would be a better wi-fi, because the connection can be low sometimes.