Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 301 to 350 of 3293


Caroline
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 17/01/2018
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

This is a really comfortable cosy cottage in a beautiful area. We spent a lovely Christmas here with the family and would highly recommend it.

Daniel (Switzerland)
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 17/01/2018
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We enjoyed the time very much in the house and would like to come back. It was clean, cozy and well equipped. (some of the frying pans should be replaced). We had everything we needed and can highly recommend the place and the house. Best regards.

Russell
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 12/01/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Just as advertised. Great property, great isolated location, great access to the beach. Conservatory is great. Note, there isn't internet and there is no mobile telephone signal. Extra logs for fires is available at Home & Garden in Stranrear. There is a Tesco and Aldi there too.

Lisa, Chris & Smudge
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 12/01/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Well it's hard to know where to start. We arrived to lots of snow and a very warm welcome from Jenny. Not only had she lit the fire but gave us gifts of Christmas cake, chocolate and a beautiful scented candle from Beauly. Jenny is a very kind lady who clearly takes pride in Plodda Falls Lodge and her commitment to her guests is second to none. The lodge is beautiful and the master room bed is sublime. Jenny doesn't scrimp on the comfort items. Whilst here we travelled a lot, visiting Ben Nevis, Arisaig, Skye, Glenfinnan, Fort Augustus, Invergarry, and the Cairngorms, plus many other places. The scenery we saw was mind blowing and the weather has been amazing. I think we have seen just about all types except wind and rain!!! We even walked all of Plodda Falls with it entirely to ourselves! The wildlife has been amazing, almost as good Jenny's cranberry flapjacks! Stags, deer, red squirrels, endless birds of prey and the lovely woodpecker that visits the garden. If you have clear skies on your holiday don't forget to take a look at the stars! Myself, Chris and or old dog Smudge have had a wonderful Christmas and given how lovely the surrounding are is, we would like to come back in a different season to benefit from longer day light hours. I'm sure if you are reading this you will already know just how lovely this place is! Thanks to Jenny for allowing us to have such a lovely place to spend our Christmas.

Mark 23
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/01/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

This cottage exceeded our expectations, we arrived to heavy snow and the drive was cleared and the cottage cosy warm. The log burner was a welcome addition but not really required due to the central heating. Due to location no mobile phone signal but WiFi available. A landline was in the cottage via a pay phone. A wonderful part of our country to visit the wildlife is amazing.

MollyC
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 11/01/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

The Mill at Glenlivet is a piece of peaceful paradise tucked away in a quiet, beautiful and isolated corner of the Cairngorms. I cannot imagine a more perfect place to escape from it all. We spent a week here over New Year's and it was the best holiday we've ever had. Lack of wifi and mobile signal was a huge plus for us as it felt completely isolated from the stresses of daily life. The cottage is immaculate, cozy, tastefully decorated and with breathtaking views over the surrounding hills. The library nook is the perfect place to spend a rainy afternoon and the big fireplace welcome after a day walking in the hills. The kitchen is extraordinarily well equipped for cooking (be sure to do a big food shop before you come as there is nowhere nearby to eat out or buy groceries). There is a seemingly endless variety of hill and valley walks that are accessible right from the front door - we only used our car twice the whole week. Gorgeous views on the walks, with mostly well marked trails and abundant wildlife (deer, rabbit, hawks, pheasants, grouse...) and aside from once on New Year's Day we didn't see a soul all week on the walks, the trails were completely isolated. All of the nearby distilleries were closed in winter but we found a brilliant whiskey shop (The Whiskey Castle) in nearby Tomintoul which was open and featured more than 500 whiskeys, well worth a visit! The hosts Bill and Marjory are so lovely, they left a delightful welcome basket and Bill picked us up at the bottom of the hill in his 4x4 as it was too icy to drive up. We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat, ever since getting back we have been wishing we were still there!

Jill Pellett
Reviewed Toberaie on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Toberaie

A truly stunning position for a lovely cosy cottage very well equipped and comfortable. All you need available in Nethybridge with an excellent stores and farm shop and cafe. The cottage is presented in a very sympathetic style and has lots of interesting and useful maps and books.. Despite having no WiFi we had 3G and 4G coverage most of the time. A great week with the views the absolute star.. As well as our 4x4 which was essential as stated for the snow and ice. Thank you

Family Humphreys
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

What can I say about Carn Loch Cottage........AMAZING!!! We had one of the best Christmas's ever. The cottage is amazing and we would love to go back. Everything has been thought of and the cottage is perfect. Would thoroughly recommend.

Mr & Mrs Holtom
Reviewed Highland Coach House on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Highland Coach House

Thank you for the hospitality that was provided at the coach House for our chubreak. Wonderful facilities provided, dishwasher washing machine tumble dryer and included a lovely complimentary basket of Christmas goodies. The cottage was well equipped with beautiful log fires in most rooms. Clean and very welcoming. I would definitely stay again. The perfect home from home at any time of year especially at Christmas. With it's beautiful lochs mountains and stunning scenery all on its doorstep. Highly recommend

Jane Hertforshire
Reviewed Highland Coach House on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Highland Coach House

We booked the coach house for the Christmas Break with our dog, it lived up to our expectations, the house is situated in a very remote and isolated spot which was exactly what we wanted to be able to relax and get away from it all. The house is lovely and especially so at Christmas with log burning fires in every room, which made it very festive. The kitchen is really equipped and the bedrooms are very spacious and luxurious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the welcome hamper and festive tree was a very nice touch. we would come again.....

Marion
Reviewed Don Cottage on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Would highly recommend Don Cottage for a relaxing break in a beautiful part of Scotland. We were so happy to spend Christmas there and were surprised by the welcome gifts with the Christmas tree making our stay complete. A holiday to remember and we would love to return there someday.

Colin & Sue Kelly
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Phil & Sylvia
Reviewed Upper Folds on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Our fourth stay at Upper Folds in twenty months. We cannot really say more than has already been said in the previous reviews. Spotlessly clean in every manner, well thought out, cosy, warm, away from all the hustle and bustle. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is faultless. The owners are superb in every way too. Wilderness cottages have been a top class booking agent. 100% satisfied in every aspect. Well done Wilderness Cottages and well done and thank you to Richard and Leigh-Anne the owners of this truly fabulous cottage.

Sandra Graham
Reviewed An Sealladh on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

The cottage was clean, warm and in a great situation for walking to and around the village. It was also great for access to longer walks without having to get in the car - for example the beautiful track over to Achmelvich, the one from just over the one way bridge up the River Inver, and the walk in towards Suilven. Drive in any direction and the scenery is spectacular, and not far to the Quinag path........Conival, Ben More Assynt etc if you are a walker. Nice garden though it was pretty much an ice rink for the whole or our stay!

Peter Watson
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Booked Camerons Cottage for the Hogmanay week with several family members. Was very pleased with the facilities and warmth, especially as there had been a smackering of snow before we arrived and low temperatures throughout the week. The Cottage was roomy enough for us 5 adults with accommodation well thought out and presented in a clean and tidy way. The owners, who live next door, were very welcoming and helpful. Ideal centre for forest and loch walking. A car is really a necessity to get to the many places to visit in the area. Very enjoyable time.

CPedersen
Reviewed Sealight on 09/01/2018
And awarded it

Sealight

Had an amazing stay it definitely had the WOW factor and will return such an amazing house and stunning location

Doris Chan
Reviewed Balnacraig on 07/01/2018
And awarded it

Balnacraig

Sylvia Sexton
Reviewed River Cottage on 03/01/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

The cottage was fabulous! Everything you could possibly need was provided, from a very welcome bottle of wine! to a fully fitted kitchen, lovely bathroom with electric heater, very comfy beds (we requested an extra bed which was happily and speedily provided). Very welcoming hosts and a lovely garden, which our border collie enjoyed. Overall an excellent cottage.

Glyn & Sarah
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 25/12/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Wonderful place to stay. Everything you need.. It was a snowy dream and an experience we wont ever forget. Practically perfect for those wanting to get away from it.

Jackie & Jim Best
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 24/12/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a really lovely time. The cabin was a delight. Lovely and warm even without using the log burner. The cottage had everything you would want or need. Set in lovely grounds just a short walk from the village. Gordon the owner was on hand for anything you wanted to ask. He is very friendly but not intrusive. We even had lots of snow on our last 3 days which made it look like 'Narnia'. We'll definitely be back!

John Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 22/12/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Stayed in December 2017 our 5th visit and despite having the worst weather ever snow and ice and minus 10 temps the property was so warm and cosy day and night. With sky TV (full package) loads of books and games, and the views great at any time were even better with all the hills etc covered in snow. the owners were brilliant and helped us out with supplies when we could not get to the shops, WE WILL RETURN

Kay & Ade Starkey
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 22/12/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We loved our stay at Plodda Falls in August, wished we could of stayed longer. The Lodge is very well equipped, very comfortable and we loved the log burning stove. Nothing nicer than relaxing on a night after walking the dogs. The setting of the cottage is stunning. We loved that we were amongst the trees and we could just walk our dogs straight out of the cottage. Lots of wildlife around too. If you get a clear night the stars are amazing. Jenny & Paul the owners are so friendly and are not far away should you need any advice of where to go exploring. Glen Afric and Glen Cannich are great places to just go walking. Stunning views too. This was our second stay in this area and we will be back. Thank you for a lovely holiday

Marc & Leen - Belgium
Reviewed Sixgeary on 14/12/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Beautiful, quiet location in a hamlet, near a nature reserve. View of the sea, mountains, sheep ... Cozy, cozy cottage, tastefully decorated and equipped with every comfort. Strikingly neat and perfectly maintained to perfection. Nice selection of crockery and kitchen utensils. It is unfortunate that previous tenants carelessly dealt with the (new) cooking pans, so that they were all damaged. Fiona told us that they would soon be replaced. Welcoming welcome with burning light, bottle of wine, cookies and eggs. The heating was also turned on. Sixgeary exceeded our expectations. We left with regret, after a wonderful week.

Marc & Leen - Belgium
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 14/12/2017
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Beautifully located, only on a hill. The sea, the pebble beach, the old cemetery, the tiny village nearby. Wonderful starting point for long trips. Charming, old house, refurbished with love and a great sense of beauty. Spacious, light and cozy. Every room, every corner a picture. Each window gives a different view of the beautiful surroundings. A house to love. A bit of a shame that, on arrival, the whole house was pitch dark and freezing cold. The kitchen is due for renovation, the kitchen cabinets were messy. Dinnerware is in order. Stoer Lodge exceeded our expectations. We left with regret, after a wonderful week.

Josh White
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 06/12/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Wonderful stay.The views from the property were amazing and the house was very well presented, equipped & furnished. Wish we'd been able to stay longer.

Dave Barker
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/11/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Really enjoyed our stay it was totally relaxing, the owner is so kind and welcoming. I would recommend to anyone.

Stephen Cassidy
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 30/11/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

This is the second year we have been to Beach Lodge in November and once again we had a very enjoyable 'chill' break. We love the isolation and the almost 'private beach' on which we take the dog 3 or 4 times per day come rain, shine or even snow. The accommodation is excellent with ample room for everyone to relax, on this occasion we were 4 with another couple joining us for 3 days, plenty of room. Plenty of wildlife to see, deer in front of the house, sea otters, rabbits and the odd fox. I would thoroughly recommend the lodge to people who want to get away from it all and really chill out.

Julie
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 27/11/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Relaxing stay in stunning surroundings. Stayed for 4 nights with my husband and two dogs, fantastic location and plenty of walks from the doorstep. Cottage was spotlessly clean and felt like home from home, photos do not do it justice. A perfect escape from it all. Look forward to returning in the Newyear.

Mr & Mrs Heaven, Cheshire
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 27/11/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We were delighted to return to this delightful cottage again. This secluded cottage has everything to offer those wishing to get away from it all. It is only 3 miles off the main Broadford/Portree road on a poorly maintained road but it still feels isolated. This was our second visit to this well equipped cottage by the shore. We noted the little 'extras', handmade soap, warm curtains and matching cushions/bedspread. Very tasteful and cosy, especially with the fire lit. We liked the new sofa and found it very comfortable. It is perfect base from which to explore the island. The highlight was hearing the stags calling at night across the water from the Island of Scalpay opposite. Will definitely return again, it's a hidden gem!

Gina Gainey
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 26/11/2017
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Compact but very cosy and comfortable accommodation with stunning views across Loch Kishorn to the Bealach na Ba and the mountains of Applecross. A great base for local walks and wildlife spotting, even in November. In fact the autumn colours, rainbows, and first dusting of snow on the tops ensured a most enjoyable 'off season' holiday. Regular visits from the local pine marten contributed to the evening entertainment. Free range eggs available from the croft were also much enjoyed.

Amanda Snowdon
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/11/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Another lovely week at Plodda Falls Lodge we had a very relaxing time in this very comfortable cottage. With great walks on your doorstep this is an ideal holiday destination.

Judith, David & Riley The Border Collie
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 25/11/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We had a wonderful week at Leachachan Barn in October 2017. The barn is situated in a fabulous spot along the shores of Loch Duich with amazing views across the loch and towards The Five Sisters of Kintail. We enjoyed exploring the immediate area with walks from the door and found the barn to be ideally placed for travelling to lots of places of interest including The Isle of Skye. The barn itself is a great example of a stunningly sympathetic conversion with a clean, contemporary yet homely finish. We enjoyed being in the barn, choosing to cook at home in the evenings and while away the nights in front of the log burner. We thought Wilderness Cottages were very helpful and efficient in all elements of the booking process and aftercare and we wouldn't hesitate to book either Leachanan Barn or another property through them in the future.

Denise Barrett & Danny Feakins
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 24/11/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Just returned from Plodda Falls and had a wonderful holiday. The cottage is beautiful. We arrived to a warm welcome from Jenny and homemade lemon drizzle cake. The cottage looks even better than photographs are able to show. We enjoyed sitting by the log burner all cosy having coffee and cake in the afternoon and a wee glass of wine/cider at night. Jenny is a genuinely lovely person and has provided a very authentic experience. There's lots of information in the cottage about the history of the estate and all the best walking routes ( we did them all) around Plodda falls and Glen Affric. Very relaxing break. We had our two dogs with us and they absolutely loved it. Not only is Plodda lodge steeped in history with VIP's such as Winston Churchill connected to the estate (And he learned to drive there) it's also the ancestral home of the golden retriever ( they were first bred here) and there is a statue in the village (Tomich) in their honour. The scenery is breathtaking. Lots of wildlife ...We heard a golden eagle on the Dog Falls walk. Wi-Fi works well. There are plenty of Dvds'available to watch but it certainly did feel like getting away from it all. Highly recommended. Thank you Jenny we will definitely be back.

Alan Dowler
Reviewed Charleston on 24/11/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

This is a lovely property in excellent condition. It is also good value but a few replacements such as the toaster needs to be made to maintain it's luxury status. Overall it is a property we would like to return to in the future.

Mrs S Fox
Reviewed Fhaireag on 23/11/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Our 4th stay at this beautiful house, set in the most magical glen. We hope to return again next year.

Lou & Paul Olvhoj
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This lovely, cosy cottage is a delightful spot for a tranquil holiday. With a very well laid out interior the croft house is perfect to while away the hours with a good book in front of a roaring fire. The local wildlife include seal, deer and a myriad of birds.

Hugues
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Nice cottage with a wonderful view. Central location to visit Lewis and Harris. You feel like home, nothing amiss in Tor Cottage. Great week!!!!

Jason & Larry
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

We loved the privacy, seclusion and space this property offers. The long private drive leading to the house feels as if you are miles away from everyone. The views of Dunvegan Head and its waterfall with the sea was truly amazing. The bed in the master bedroom was so cosy and the open fire created a wonderful atmosphere in the lounge. The property was always lovely and warm with plenty of hot water to take a bath after long days out walking around the island. There were only two of us and it was great having so much space within the property. It was very sad to leave but we would like to return to Fon Tobar another year. Only suggestion, as mentioned by a previous guest would be attention by the owner to the controls on the double ovens - it is very difficult to know which functions and temperatures one is using as these have worn away.

Brian & Stephanie
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had an amazing stay at Poulary Cottage, this is our 3rd visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The property is well laid out, beautifully maintained and very comfortable - especially with the new sofa and fireplace in the living room. The area around is spectacular with a variety of walks right on the doorstep. There are also Hairy Coos about 2 miles down the road, they are very friendly and make for some great photos!

Dorothy & Ronnie
Reviewed Fhaireag on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just returned from this wonderful house. Only negativity was having to leave! Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a truly relaxed break, loads to do nearby & lots of walking done with our dog Oscar. Loved this house & the owners have thought of everything. Thank you for a wonderful break.

Suzanne & Brian
Reviewed Sealight on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

The house was perfect in every way. The owners have thought of everything. It was very relaxing and comfortable with lots of space, and the view from the lounge was great, We enjoyed the lovely beach through the garden gate which opens out to the left for a longer walk when the tide is out, it was great to see the pine marten and all the birds so close to the house. We look forward to returning in the future.

Malcolm ,Charlie & Toby (the Dog)
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 16/11/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Sometimes holidays do not deliver,however this break delivered .The Agents (Wilderness Cottages ) were very helpful and professional, Tor cottage lovely location, the property itself high standard. Modern but cosy.The owners helpful (if needed).With lovely islands of Harris and Lewis to explore .Even the weather pretty good for Oct./Nov

Sandra & Mark Hennessey & Skye
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 14/11/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Our 2nd visit to Fersit Log Cottage 28/10/17 and yet again a fantastic holiday,we love this place so much we have booked again for next year. Our golden retriever had the best time at fersit,none of us wanted to leave,thank you Lynne and Graeme for the procecco waiting for us when we arrived, can't wait to enjoy all of this beautiful place one again,x

Diane & Neil
Reviewed Aros Beag on 13/11/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This is a fantastic place, quite, clean, cosy and very warm with the underfloor heating. A bird feeder in the garden attracting many birds and there are plenty of walks right from the cottage as well as places to visit a short drive away. We really enjoyed our week and wish it could of been longer. Thank you.

Gill & Malc
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 12/11/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fabulous cottage, exceptionally well fitted out - the owners have thought of everything you might need. One of the best we have stayed in. Great position, with views of the Cuillin, feels remote but is only a few miles form Portree. The sauna was much appreciated after a day out walking.

Brenda
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 11/11/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Cottage is perfect everything you need is there and where it is situated couldn't be any better great weekend the weather was kind which made it even better. Views are perfect. This is my third visit to the cottage wouldn't dream of booking a different one it is so perfect.

Willis
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 10/11/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A lovely cottage in a very peaceful and beautiful location. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable and the conservatory was a great place to watch the many birds from, as well as the boats going in and out of the lock. We had many lovely walks and cycle rides along the canal path, as well as kayaking up to Loch Oich. We also saw a pine marten in the garden and heard stags bellowing in the hills! All in all a perfect holiday location.

Emma Hunter
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/11/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. My family and I spent the week here a few years ago and just had to come back. We've been coming to Fort Augustus for the last 23 years and always used to stay at the chalet park so when this no longer became an option we struggled to find somewhere big enough until we found the Old Lock Keepers Cottage. The stair are a bit precarious and not suitable if you struggle up and down stairs at the best of time but its worth it for the beautiful walks along the canal excellent views. We love it.

E Turnbull
Reviewed Rhundunan on 09/11/2017
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Our stay at Rhundunan was very comfortable and it was one of the best houses that we have rented. As a couple we had the house to ourselves and it is well equipped with everything that you need. The utility room came in very handy when we got drenched in a lovely rain storm while on a trip to Coral Beach but that is the beauty of Skye. Great views to keep you mesmerised all day long if you decide to stay in. Will be recommending to all my family and friends and would love to visit again in the future.

Martin
Reviewed The Mill on 09/11/2017
And awarded it

The Mill

7 Days at The Mill were lovely and relaxing. It was clean and tidy, with the most amazing view out of the large front windows. We were up before dawn every day and the sunrises were superb, sat with a coffee as the room gradually lit up. The bed was comfortable and the whole place was warm from under floor heating. So much so we didn't even light the woodburner (Although it was October, it was a very dry and mild week even for Scotland) . The internet is just about good enough for email (not the owners fault) and the TV was lousy all week so we ended up enjoying some early nights and hence, early mornings. The dogs loved it too, with some excellent walks in the area. We normally stay in Aviemore, but this was some 25 miles and 40 minutes away, which did give easier access to the northern coastal towns and beaches than we usually enjoy. As always, the bottom line is would I go back again, is it value for money and would I recommend it? - YES.