Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 141 to 160 of 2775


John & Janet
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a fantastic stay at Seascape Cottage. The cottage is very well appointed and finished to an excellent standard, second to none we have stayed in to date. We received a warm welcome from the hosts, Jane and Chas, including a complimentary bottle of wine. Our hosts have thought of everything including providing dog bowls and towels if you need them. A very peaceful spot with lovely walks from the door and also a short car ride away. We will certainly return.

John Dobbie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Beautiful cottage everything in it you could need. Location amazing,beach was fantastic,did not meet anyone for a week. Peace and quiet brilliant!!

Lorraine Jennie & Abbie
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

My niece and I flew from Michigan, USA to Aberdeen to meet up with our friend, Lorraine, who gave us an amazing tour around the Highlands of Scotland, during which time our home base was at Fort Augustus and the Abbey. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious, clean, well equipped and perfect for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd return to both Scotland and The Abbey in a heartbeat! We never did find Nessie the Loch Ness Monster, but the views were amazing and our time at the Abbey was wonderful. Thank you.

Nev Poole
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Yet again a lovely place to stay. Accommodation excellent and location outstanding. If you want relaxation and being away from the rat race this is the place.

Andy Leicester
Reviewed Rhundunan on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Fantastic place, really relaxing away from it all break. Enjoyed the seals on the rocks, and the rabbits in the garden. House has everything you could possibly need, and more besides. Lovely.

Jason Pickles
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Nice house in secluded location with great walking

Emma
Reviewed Log House on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Log House

Had a lovely time even though it rained nearly the whole time didn't stop us going walking. Lovely log house we enjoyed our relaxing break

Charles & Jenni
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

We had an amazing week in that cottage which is really beautiful, cosy and clean. It is well-equiped (washer/dryer, dishwaher, bathtub, fireplace...), the location is perfect for visiting the Highlands and the view on the loch is gorgeous. Alastair and Carol are really kind and available if we have any questions. We really enjoyed our time there and we will definitely come back in this accommodation.

Linda Mullin
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Perfect location Attention to detail spot on. Very special place.

Dave J
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location and the owners very generous with welcome pack.

Kate & George
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

I looked hard for our perfect cottage and I think ii found it at fersit. Safe secure garden for our dogs, well kitted out kitchen, extremely comfortable and efficient heating without the fire but the log fire was fabulous too. A beautiful big view through the big window lots if Highland walks from our doorstep both low level and into the hills. All in all a fabulous place to rest and recharge with your dogs. Would love to return one day.

Mr A Nash
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely stay at Red Kite Cottage in March. Being fairly close to the A9 it is easy to find and very convenient for touring around. The cottage was just as it says in the brochure upon arrival we where met by the owner who was very pleasant and offered advice on the local area. We chose this cottage due to it being dog friendly and was really pleased to see the huge size of the enclosed garden.Within 30 to 60 minutes drive you have historic sites, beautiful beaches country walks and loads of waterfalls not to mention Inverness. We will definitely be returning here in the future.Finally just a mention on the friendly service from the staff at wilderness cottages a delight to deal with.

Lorraine Haswell
Reviewed Glenara on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely well appointed cottage in a quiet spot but very close to all amenities. Welcomed by Mr Lee and shown how to use the facilities. Fantastic view of the river, cosy and warm as snowing while we were there. I would highly recommend this cottage as a base to explore Loch Ness and the surrounding area

Neil Smith
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 20/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

This was our first visit to the Highlands and what a visit it was! The Lodge is beautiful; first impressions were amazement at how much more spacious the place is than the photos depict on here. The Lodge is tastefully decorated, very comfortable and you have everything in terms of kitchen and facilities that you could possibly need for your stay. Jenny provides a warm welcome and is such a great host (thanks again for the cake!). The scenery is obviously amazing and this place is truly in the wilderness, it provided a real get-away-from-it-all week for us (party of three and two dogs). The grounds of the Lodge are great with three completely fenced in areas which is perfect for the dogs. Whilst our four legged friends are generally very good, one has youth on her side and to have that added security was really helpful for us to relax knowing she was secure when being let out at night. We unfortunately did have a bad experience with the younger dog when we were there whereby we lost her for five hours about four miles from the Lodge (blaming her youth and sheer excitement at being completely in the wild up there!); obviously a scary and sobering experience for us (and her!) but Jenny was unbelievably helpful and couldn't do enough to help at what was quite a stressful time, we were so grateful to have that network there which she obviously has for situations like that. There is a real nice atmosphere in the area, very much a community and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anybody who wants that true wilderness experience but still likes the luxury of a cosy (large!) cottage at the end of the day, A day trip to Beauly and walk to Dog Falls (across the river, recommend walking to the View Point) was as far as we ventured the entire week; with such amazing walks on your doorstep there really is no need to venture much further!

Niels Leadholm
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Absolutely fantastic place, Jeff and Jacqui made us feel extremely welcome, and the beauty of both the cottage and the surrounding area is hard to put into words.

Dr Tanja & Dr Chris
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

An absolutely stunning property in a fantastic location. The cottage itself has been renovated to an exceptional standard and was luxurious to say the least. We were lucky to be only the second set of guests to Arrivain cottage. We were very comfortable during our stay and the cottage had room-specific heating and under-floor heating. The log burner in the lounge added to the ambience and felt very cosy. The kitchen was very well kitted out and Jacqui and Jeff were more than happy to supplement it with any minor addition we asked for. Jeff was on hand to provide more wood for the fire any time we asked and was also a treasure trove of knowledge about the local area, which was fantastic. We had rental bikes delivered to the cottage, which we could store securely in the "wee" shed, which was great. Having a washing machine and tumble dryer was also a nice addition after going out walking and cycling in the local area. We also enjoyed some drives though the spectacular scenery of Glen Orchy, Glen Etive and Glen Coe, all well within an hour of the cottage. All in all, it was a fantastic trip away and felt like a home from home. We very much intend to return. Jacqui and Jeff are passionate about the cottage and were keen to make our stay the best experience they could.

Alex.R.King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 18/03/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our stay at the Old Lock Keepers Cottage was wonderful, it's such a lovely peaceful setting. A place you visit, and wish you didn't have to leave. We'll definitely be adding it to our places to revisit, there's still more to see and experience.

Harry H
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 15/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Stayed in November, with family and two dogs. It was such a lovely break, I can't stop thinking about it. The snow came down on the third day and the skies remained clear for the rest of the stay. Wonderful long, wild walks in all directions. The house is comfortable, as you would expect of a Victorian lodge, and perfect for dogs. I shall return soon.

Maggie & Mike Adkins
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. So clean and fresh. Very well equipped. Lovely quiet area to sit in the garden and take in the surrounding countryside. We barely left the Black Isle and the lovely villages nearby were a treat to visit especially Rosemarkie beach. Great for walks with the dog. A treat also to see 7 actual red kite birds of prey just along from the cottage. Thank you to Margaret & Paul.

Francois E.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Absolutely marvelous, such a peaceful place! Great facilities by the way. An improvement would be a better wi-fi, because the connection can be low sometimes.