Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 161 to 180 of 2734


Alec Goodhand
Reviewed Grain Store on 21/12/2016
And awarded it

Grain Store

Beautiful Cottage in stunning surroundings. Very warm and comfortable.

London Couple
Reviewed Fhaireag on 20/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We chose Fhaireag for a romantic winter break and we weren't disappointed - it's a beautiful house, in an idyllic setting. There are lovely walks from the house, or a short drive opens up a range of possibilities for exploration. We were also well looked after; our kettle wasn't working and the Wilderness Cottages team came straight out to replace it (they were always easy to contact). There was wine waiting for us on arrival, though sadly no tea (which is what we were craving after a long drive!). The cottage is wonderfully dog friendly, but be warned the surrounding area is full of signs saying they have to be kept on leads. All in all, though, it was an excellent holiday, would thoroughly recommend it.

Dana MacPhee
Reviewed Station Cottage on 14/12/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A very comfortable cottage with a historic background. We had crisp Winter weather during our stay which transformed the surrounding countryside into a magical frosty kingdom. Getting back to the cottage to enjoy the cosy warmth of the wood stove was a real treat. Accept that as an older but beautifully refurbished property some of the rooms take a little longer to heat. This is part of holidaying in Scotland in the Winter with -11 deg C overnight temperatures! Great local butcher just along the road who also stocks veg, cheese, tasty savoury snacks etc, more of a Farm Shop and worth supporting as a local business. Nethy Bridge is an excellent central location as a base for exploring the Cairngorm National Park area, Speyside and even Aberdeenshire. Station Cottage is to be recommended if you like traditional, well-maintained properties with true heritage.

P Carr
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 14/12/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Wow!! Our stay was amazing just what we needed. Our two dogs loved the loch and the views are unreal. My partner and son took our Kayak out and even managed to see seals playing when they were in the bay while I was enjoying the lovely views and roaring fire from the comforts of the cottage. Ceol na Mara is very welcoming, cosy and very well equipped cottage. It is a short drive to local shop which sells all you would need! We were very lucky weather wise and got to go see a lot of the Highlands and Skye, but our favourite sights to visit had to be the Applecross Pass and a little gem of a village called Plockton. Unfortunately the fish bar was closed for the season we did however manage to buy a few very nice items from "Patterns of light" We will most certainly be returning.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 12/12/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This place is fantastic! We stayed a week, only fault is we didn't book for 2 weeks! Gordon, the owner, was an amazing host, coming over the first night to welcome us & again on the Wednesday to empty bins & stock up on logs. The cabin has absolutely everything you need for a comfortable stay, but one word of warning....if you light the wood burner, you will need to open all the doors & windows...the heat off of it is something else. Our dog loved running after sticks, playing in the stream & even watched the deer beside the cabin one morning...he was exhausted when we left. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to staying again next winter, just the tonic before Christmas. My daughter & her boyfriend took a trip on Loch Ness & we had a few trips out to Inverness & Fort William to get shopping, in between long walks & reading.....so relaxing, loved it. Board games provided in the cabin gave us fun at nights while the dog slept in front of the fire, so if you need a relaxing getaway...this is the place.

SAM BEEDELL
Reviewed Cuilfail on 09/12/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

If you are looking for real escape - then this is the place to go - amazing scenery, wildlife and walks and a great place to relax and unwind in the evening with everything you would need from the accommodation for a great stay We had a great time and would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to really experience Scotland at its best

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 02/12/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch Cottage is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage in a quiet and peaceful setting. The views from the front windows are spectacular, especially when the distant mountains are covered in snow. Although the cottage is in a quiet, isolated location, it is only 20 minutes or so from Inverness, the A9 trunk road and Fort Augustus is also easily accessible. The only problem we had was that despite all the water being very hot in the kitchen sink and washbasins, the bath water was only hand warm, and we had to boil kettles and pans in order to get it to temperature. That having been said the property is lovely and warm throughout, the underfloor heating is effective and the wood burner is a welcome source of additional heat when the temperature outside is low. We will definitely stay there again and that is the acid test for any property.

Gus MacLeod
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Stayed a week at The Shed in November with six friends. We all thought the house was exceptional both as architecture but importantly as a beautiful space to occupy. It sits beautifully within the landscape and offers mesmerisingly lovely views out over the sea to the inner isles and the Cuillin. Highly recommended.

Ian Bonner-Evans
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We enjoyed a wonderful few days in Upper Folds. The cottage is set in a beautiful, remote location yet is also accessible to places of interest if you want to tour the area. The owners clearly spend a lot of time and effort in making Upper Folds a comfortable, clean, cozy, welcoming place to stay, with all that you could want from a holiday cottage - and more! We would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a "get away from it all" holiday experience.

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Maria & Steve
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Absolute paradise for 7 days we absolutely loved it, The cottage was better then better it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed was in this cottage, we are definitely going back next year,The views where breath taking, we wanted a quite peaceful week away and we got more then that, we actually fell in love with the place, 10/10 for the cottage, and 10/10 to Brian & Hannah at wilderness cottages for sorting everything out for us, we have a life time of amazing memories after our 7 days away. Many many thanks see you next year x

Lindsay Price
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Amazing stay at the cottage!! It was exactly as pictured but the view was even more amazing in person. We stayed for 2 weeks and we were SO sad to leave. Will definitely be coming back! Favorite thing was the local flock of sheep and herd of cows. Also a castle ruin super close that we walked to and the locals were very nice to help us with directions :)

Carols
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful house, fantastic scenery, best place to relax and unwind, love the limited phone signal cos work can't encroach on my break. An upgraded Sky package for those wet and windy nights by the fire would make the house unbeatable. Dogs loved the garden but not the sharp stones to get to the undergrowth

Benjamin & Cherry
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 01/12/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Annual guests to The Bothy and as usual didn't disappoint. perfect setting with the most perfect weather all week.

Elizabeth Little
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 22/11/2016
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Chris & Kirsty
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/11/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Excellent property and location for the ultimate relaxing breaks. Breath taking views, wildlife and ever changing weather to cast your eyes upon, let alone the chance to view aurora in the night skies.

John Gibson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 18/11/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Wonderful place. Highly recommended. Unlike many cottages, the Tree House is modern, beautifully designed and finished to a very high spec throughout. It has a well stocked kitchen, an efficient log burner, a nice TV and speakers to plug your phone into, a massive couch to lounge on. It is altogether extremely comfortable. We visited in November, and it rained most days, but we were happy to be tucked up cosy and warm inside. The location on a tiny little road is also very secluded and quiet. Skye is, of course, beautiful.

Peter Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage is perfect if you crave isolation, utter peace and quiet, rugged scenery and nil light pollution. It's not so good if you are a TV addict and/or you cannot survive without your mobile phone. Administrative aspects faultless.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit. The cottage had been recently painted. Spotlessly clean. Great walks and wonderful weather. Perfect break for us.

BARRY
Reviewed Wildwood on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

We rented Wildwood at Fort Augustus for a week and had the best time, our holiday started on 5th November and it was very mild. The wildlife there is amazing. Deer, pine martins, badger and so many birds. We were feeding them 2 pints of seed per day not including fat balls and suet. The property was spotless and there is everything there to make your stay so comfortable. We wish we booked 2 weeks now. If you book this property you won't regret it.