Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 181 to 200 of 2651


BARRY
Reviewed Wildwood on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

We rented Wildwood at Fort Augustus for a week and had the best time, our holiday started on 5th November and it was very mild. The wildlife there is amazing. Deer, pine martins, badger and so many birds. We were feeding them 2 pints of seed per day not including fat balls and suet. The property was spotless and there is everything there to make your stay so comfortable. We wish we booked 2 weeks now. If you book this property you won't regret it.

Jane Fletcher
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn looks gorgeous on the website, and doesn't disappoint in real life. It is very well equipped, was spotless on arrival, and is a great base for exploring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our week,and our two Westies loved relaxing in front of the excellent wood burning stove.

Roger & Patricia Scott
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage was extremely well equipped - everything possible in the kitchen from bread maker to food processor! The cottage was very cosy! The bedding was lovely and warm! The welcome pack was a lovely touch as was leaving the fire laid and ready to light. Would readily recommend the cottage!

Mr F Townley
Reviewed Station Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A wonderful week in the cottage, there is nothing else you need for a relaxing and peaceful time. The cottage is well appointed and cosy with the log burner. We will return again in the summer/ autumn. Highly recommended.

Susan H
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/11/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

One Week Holiday
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We very much enjoyed our holiday at Leachahan Barn. It is very clean, tidy and has all the amenities you could wish for. Fantastic views from the windows across the Loch. The Barn is ideally suited for trips to Skye (via Glen Elg in the Summer months is a real treat!), or to the nearby Lochs and Glens. Otherwise plenty of easy and interesting walks just from the front door ( ie the ruined Broch at Totaig).

Christine Entwistle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was delightful, well equipped and very clean. It was wonderful returning home to the warmth and cosiness, at this time of year after a bracing walk in the beautiful, stunning countryside and coastal scenery. The dogs enjoyed lying in front of the wood burning stove or the aga and just fell asleep. The beds were comfortable and at this time of year it was just what the doctor ordered. The beaches nearby were beautiful and not to be missed.

Tove & Pip Knight
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 12/11/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

My Border Collie, Pip, and I spent a few lovely days in Woodside Lodge in October. The weather was brilliant and the views spectacular. The cottage was the best appointed self catering cottage I have ever been to. It was warm, well equipped and the fenced in garden area was brilliant. We toured around the area, but next time (and there will be a next time) we will allow a bit more time to spend a bit more 'chill-out' time in the cottage. I would highly recommend it.

Sally Herbert
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

I cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge highly enough. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in October 2016. The lodge exceeded our expectations, which had been extremely high! It was a characterful house, extremely cosy and comfortable, set in beautiful surroundings. The double bed was divine and the wood burning stove extremely efficient. Jenny was helpful and friendly, she made us feel very welcome, told us to contact her if there was anything or any information we needed and popped to see us twice to make sure we were okay (unfortunately we missed her on both occasions!). She had made a delicious apple and blackberry cake for our arrival. There was wealth of information on what to do in the surrounding areas at the lodge, plus old photos and historical information about the lodge and estate. WiFi was excellent but there was no mobile signal, there was a landline for local calls. We enjoyed the lodge as a couple but it is perfect for families and dogs and would make an excellent Christmas/New Year retreat. The lodge is located down a long drive which needs to be taken carefully and is remote (as advised in the pre-booking information). This suited us as it was just what we were looking for but prospective hirers do need to be aware of this. Plodda Falls are a short walk through the forest which backs onto the lodge and are well worth seeing. We also explored nearby Glen Affric, which must be one of the most beautiful places in Scotland, and Loch Ness and its surrounding areas. There was a wealth of local walks detailed in the information at the lodge. All in all we had one of our best holidays at Plodda Falls Lodge and can see why people go back there time and time again.

Stephen & Susan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a perfect cottage, absolutely spotlessly clean, warm cozy and welcoming. It is very tastefully furnished and so comfortable, we felt relaxed and chilled out from the moment we arrived. The lovely thoughtful touches of fresh flowers, wine etc are the icing on the cake, all the bases and much more are covered here. The surroundings are stunning, when we return to the area we will look no further and definitely rebook. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Colin & Lynn
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Fabulous - House was excellent and great location. The house has everything you need and is great for relaxing with wonderful views. There's so many great things to do on Skye but make sure you get some fresh seafood like Scallops from Sconser. We'll be back.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 4th visit to Charleston, the second time this year! We absolutely love the peace and quiet, fantastic views and the home comforts the cottage has to offer. The owners have provided everything you need for your stay and the cottage itself is immaculate. When the guest book is full of people visiting for their second, third, fourth and more times that speaks for itself!! We will definitely be back, just hope we can get in as it books up fast...

Andrew & Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A lovely location and wonderful accommodation for our stay in the Highlands. A warm and friendly welcome, many thanks.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage...peaceful comfortable and has everything you need. Perfect location. we will definitely be booking again

Richie
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An amazing place to stay and this was our fourth visit there. Tranquil, high quality accommodation that's makes you instantly relaxed. Always great service from Wilderness Cottages and we can't wait for our next stay.

Kayley Holden
Reviewed Sealight on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

We had the most wonderful honeymoon at Sealight. We arrived at the end of October, staying for a week and unfortunately, this is the out of season period where most places are closed. However, Sealight has everything you could possibly need to have a lovely, chilled, warmly stay. From books to every kitchen utensil you can think of and even jigsaw puzzles/games, we were never bored! The log burner was our favourite part of the house and we loved having the fire burning every night whilst watching a movie! We came home very relaxed and refreshed. Exactly what we needed! We are hoping to come back for Christmas next year.

Alan & Alison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was the perfect place for a chill and unwind. Perfect for a couple sharing, excellent facilities and very cosy - the woodburner stove was great but rarely used as the place was so warm. No phone signal and no wifi took about a day to get used to then you remember what life used to be like! Read a couple of books in the total peace of the evenings. Jane was very friendly and helpful. The Byre is well placed for walking and cycling from the door or further afield. We will be back.

Liz Twelves
Reviewed Wishing Well Cottage on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Wishing Well Cottage

The house is in a stunning setting and within a good distance of Portree. The prearrival information was good which made getting there pretty easy. The property is modern, very clean and of a high standard. It offers a great base for Skye. We were fortunate to have some sunshine which made this beautiful place even more special. We hire holiday cottages a lot and there were some mainly small things that would make a big difference to us. The first is a big thing - for a property in this price range, a good quality king size bed with a good mattress is a must, and high quality bedding. Secondly, we like to watch films when we are away, in fact we bought some specifically for our trip, so a TV that is proportionate to the size of the room and a DVD player are also important to us. Finally, and a small thing, some basic provisions for arrival seem to be quite common in holiday properties now - milk, bread and butter maybe, and often a bottle of wine to welcome you. I hope this feedback is useful.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Twelves, thank you for your feedback and review. We are pleased that you found the pre arrival information for the property easy to follow and that the house was clean and to a high standard. The beds provided in the property are brand new with good bed linen and mattresses and are surprised on the comment about these. We have passed on the information regarding the TV and DVD to the owners. They have provided a flat screen TV and satellite with over 1500 channels which guests have enjoyed using, unfortunately a DVD player is not provided. As all our properties are individually owned and it therefore depends on the owner regarding welcome packs etc. However in remote locations it is sometimes difficult to leave fresh produce and we are sorry if the lack of this detracted from your stay.
The Milner Family
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 04/11/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Wonderful cottage full of charm although the property probably is looking a little tired in places but has everything needed for a self catering accommodation. Great location and ideal for exploring the area. Great walks to be had. We would recommend

Fiona Mackenzie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a very relaxing break at shore cottage with our two labradors, cottage was very warm and homely and the beach at the end of the garden was fabulous. The only negatives were that the tv was very old and that the bathroom is in need of upgrading but that would not stop us from returning! Oh and the bush that obscures the view on the decking needs to go!