Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 341 to 360 of 2459


Annie
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Great holiday house in a fantastic remote setting and very well equipped only did feel as it was advertised as having disabled access and has a wheelchair ramp it would have been good to have a grab handle and non slip mats in the showers

Colin Levey
Reviewed Don Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Well presented, spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a lovely countryside setting - far enough away from the main town of Drumnadrochit nearby, but well located for exploring the surrounding areas. The cottage was cosy, with a great coal fire, and the kitchen was spacious, with a nice area to enjoy meal times. The cottage is decorated to a very good standard, and was very inviting on our arrival. We especially enjoyed the welcome of rose wine, whisky and shortbread - much appreciated, and a great start to our holiday, which helped set the mood for our following week. We were fortunate with warm and sunny weather for most of the week, and had great fun exploring the surrounding areas!

Helen.
Reviewed The Granary on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely cottage. All our pre-ordered shopping was put away which was brilliant and we were left a bottle of wine, a cake and flower. Really thoughtful generous touch. I would just point out that the photos are a little out of date as there is a large hedge now, outside the front door across the drive so it is more enclosed than we thought it would be. It was not a problem. Would recommend staying there.

Gillian Teanby
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a great week at Poulary Cottage in Glen Garry. A comfortable cottage in a fantastic setting. I enjoyed using the Stanley Range! Lots of wildlife to enjoy both around the cottage and in the Glen.

Alex P
Reviewed Lilybank on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

We chose Lilybank at the last minute due to it's location and it being close to other family members also holidaying locally. We were expecting it to be good but it was so much better than we could have hoped for. The location is excellent, perfect as a base for exploring both North and South and the setting of the cottage is perfect, so beautiful and peaceful. The first thing that got me was the silence of an evening, as someone who lives in a busy city and works in London it was simply unreal. The cottage itself was very well equipped and everything we needed could be found with ease. The rooms were spacious and the whole place felt like a home from home. The only slight issue we had was that the cottage can get quite cold however there are supplementary plug-in heaters in each room that can turned on or set on a timer. Of an evening it was a case of firing up the log burner and this created a wonderful warm place to relax. I would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone thinking about a break in the Highlands; we are already planning our return visit for next year and may even take our summer holiday there instead of heading abroad (it really was that good!)

Norah Knox
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 18/10/2015
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous! The Lodge had everything you could want. It was very cosy too. The log burning fire had the whole place toasting. We hope to go back again the next chance we get.

Tom Bartran
Reviewed Wildwood on 16/10/2015
And awarded it

Wildwood

We loved our stay at Wildwood. Peaceful setting, close but not too close to Fort Augustus. Clean and pleasant cabin. Would definitely recommend.

Andrew & Kay
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/10/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic week staying at Leachachan Barn. It's hard to imagine a nicer and more relaxing place to stay. The accomadation was everything we expected it to be from reading previous reviews. A credit to the owners.

Joanne
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/10/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Enjoyable and relaxing cottage in a peaceful loaction. Great facilities and comfortable.

Jane Crichton
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The many bends and dips of a road to nowhere lead you to White-Tail Croft. What awaits you makes every twist and turn worthwhile. The house is furnished and equipped to the highest standards, meeting every need. The focus is on quality and comfort to ensure visitors can enjoy all home comforts while experiencing the raw beauty of the Skye landscape. The croft is indeed located in a wilderness that contains a range of wildlife and scenery that changes almost by the hour. This is the perfect location to unwind and relax and also a good base to explore other places on Skye. We stayed at WTC last summer and were impatient to return this autumn. We enjoyed our visit immensely and our only gripe is that our time there passed by far too quickly.

Jan Brown
Reviewed Balmachree on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

Just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at the property with family and 3 dogs. Balmacree is a home from home with wonderful surrounding countryside. Had a great time. Only criticism is there was no inventory that we could find to report glass damage to glass door and worktop marks on arrival. Would definitely recommend though.

Alison & Terry - Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a wonderful week in Seascape. A beautiful cottage, well kept, with amazing views and coves within minutes away. If you want peace, quiet and a relaxing time in beautiful surroundings, this is the cottage for you, the owner Jane was very welcoming and knows all about the area and surrounding places to take our dogs. We will definitely be back!

Ralph Kirk
Reviewed Lilybank on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

We had a great week Lilybank. The home was better than described on the website and served as a perfect base for exploring the Scottish Highlands. We had a minor problem with a tripped circuit breaker, but were able to get instant help by calling the number provided in the instructions for the house. Highly recommend it!!

D & L Williams
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We loved Katie's cottage! Natural and charming with traditional features. Impeccably clean and had everything required for relaxing break! We were especially grateful for wine, eggs and dog biscuits thoughtfully left for us. Ideal cottage for dog owners - safe enclosed area for dogs to enjoy and practical utility room on entering cottage. This was a cosy haven to return to after daily hikes in the surrounding area.

Sally Muir
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Absolutely gorgeous house in a wonderful position, the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely linen and masses of pillows, the view is sensational, the design of the house, ideal. It's been equipped beautifully so you have everything you need, but it's wonderfully uncluttered. We would very highly recommend it.

Donna & Chris
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

This was our 5th visit to Skye in just over a year and Pooltiel House is the best cottage we have stayed in. The welcome gifts were a lovely touch. We loved everything about this cottage right down to the excess of cups so we could use the dishwasher effectively. The only things I would double check for our next visit and there will be one is that there were pegs but no outside washing line that we could find and there was an ironing board but we couldn't find an iron. If we were there for longer this would have been an issue. Back to the plus side again, we saw 2 auroras from the cottage on the same day, morning and evening. If you are thinking of booking this cottage stop thinking and go for it.

Carucha Schwencke
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at PIne Lodge this summer. The owners gave us a very warm welcome on arrival. The location, accommodation with ample facilities were just perfect, and not to forget the views....simply awesome! Highly recommended.

Irene Hill
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Spent a week with family in this wonderful property. Having two bathrooms was ideal. The house was equipped with everything you could want - it's obvious that the owner is a chef as the kitchen exceeded our expectations. The renovation has been very well done and the overall result is so stylish. As for the views! The harbour, the loch, the mountains all at their best in the autumn sunshine - we even had a display of wildlife from wagtails and hawks. The single-track road had its challenges but had plenty of passing places. The immediate vicinity was extremely hilly and not for anyone with walking difficulty. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our break and definitely recommend Taigh Druim.

Mr M Roper
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 11/10/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely acomodation in beautiful setting. We really appreciated the welcome pack including chilled bottle of wine waiting us in the fridge. The cottage was very clean and well provided. Wood burner and jacuzzi bath were much appreciated after our long walks and climbs. Really enjoyable stay.

David Farquhar
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/10/2015
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We found Cuilfail to be very cosy and comfortable and perfect for anyone with a dog as the large garden was securely fenced. The local hotels and restaurants are well worth a visit for good food and they allow dogs which is a plus .We would certainly be happy to visit again