Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 121 to 140 of 2459


Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This cottage is lovely simply one of the best we have stayed in, very well equipped with everything you need. The fridge and freezer is big enough for you weekly shopping, which you will need due to the distance of the shops, but it's not a problem. This is because the views and surrounding certainly make up for it. We saw on two occassions three red deers in the garden, regular visit from a woodpecker and loads of birds. We also saw golden eagles. We did go out a few days and went walking, in the amazing surroundings. We will be back next year but for 2 weeks next time. Thank you so much for a brilliant holiday.

M O'Connor
Reviewed The Orchids on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had an amazing time staying at the Orchids. It is a very very comfortable and well furnished house with lots of facilities for a wonderful self catering holiday. The kitchen is very well equipped for people who like cooking and there is local shell fish from Carbost and meat from Orbost farm , not to mention great bread from the Skye Bakery in Portree. The local shop in Dunvegan was great too. The views from the house are exceptional , perfect for photography, with seals and lots of birdlife, we loved the sheep too. The Loch was very busy with some very large yachts and ships appearing , including the 3rd largest yacht in the world, the EOS, and a ship called the Serenissima, which apparently does cruises around Scotland. The local area is stunning as is the rest of Skye, This was our first visit and we will be back and would happily stay in the Orchids again, assuming its not sold and still available to rent !!! Our only small issue was the lack of anything other than a small dustpan to sweep up from a large dining and kitchen area.

Vicky, Lucy & Ali
Reviewed Sixgeary on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We stayed at Sixgeary in Skye. A wonderful property with spectacular views. It was spotlessy clean and on arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, fresh eggs and biscuits. We met the people who look after the property (Richard & Fiona) and they were very welcoming and informative. This property is quite remote but thats why we chose it. We absolutely loved it, thanks !

David Hebson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Views to die for . Owners could not do enough for us. Greeted with home made scones , only negative was having to leave. Would highly recommend to all family andfriends

Alexandra Hay
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

What an amazing stay at holly cottage! We would highly recommend a stay here! Ideally located for Inverness and all surrounding areas!

A.Smith
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Lovely out of the way place ....good accommodation and the deer coming up and feeding the pine marten in the evening was a bonus ....pity the sun did not shine much but that did not stop us getting out and about.....

Kate B
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What can I say - except WOW! The house is stunning, the location is stunning. Watching seals from the house is amazing. Probably the best place I have ever stayed - so we will be back!

Pauline Drew
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

The cottage was lovely and had everything needed for a very comfortable stay. The only negative comments I have are regarding the garden. It is not secure and straight onto a very busy road due to being on the North 500 run circuit. It meant walking the dogs around with their leads on. Also there was a stream running through the back which took up a lot of the garden and I could not use the washing line as it was up a steep bank. Apart from that it was a wonderful location.

Ucilla Wilson
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 21/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is a remarkable log cabin both for location and for the cabin its self. The location is just above the town of Fort Augustus and is literally a 7 min walk into town (I timed it). The cabin is set within the 6 acre grounds of Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast which means the owners are at hand should you require anything but at the same time isolated from them. The cabin is fully equipped with every conceivable gadget you would require. The bedrooms are a very good size as are the ensuites. Large kitchen and an extremely cosy living room with log burner which heats the place in minutes and additional electric heaters should they be required. There is a selection of books, games and dvds and a 37" TV with freeview. For guests arriving there are tea bags, coffee, sugar, milk, wine and biscuits. Outside there is a good grass area and stream for dogs and children to play but do remember your midge repellent and some tick repellent for your dogs. Fort Augustus is a lovely town with some very good restuarants, pubs and gift shops and there is a well stocked provision store located at the garage. Cruises on Loch Ness can be booked from the departure point in the centre of the town and there is beautiful scenery close to hand. Our highlight was visiting the Isle of Skye, calling in at Eileen Donan castle on route. It takes approx 1.15min to reach the Skye bridge but do leave time to visit the castle, its beautiful ! Managed to visit half the island's beauty spots, therefore will need to return to see the rest and guess where we will stay ! A big thank you to Gordon, who is a lovely person, and I can assure you we will meet again !

Achim Hoelscher
Reviewed Aros Beag on 20/06/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

The house was perfect for us and all was in a very good condition. Many thanks for the warm welcome. We will come back.

Vicky Honour
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 20/06/2016
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Our family of 5 had a fantastic time at Port Elgol cottage, the views are stunning and spent the evenings barbequing and watching the sunset over the Cuillin Ridge. The weather was perfect all the week we were there and the Isle of Skye was so picturesque we took loads of photos. The cottage had everything you could possibly need, the decor and comfy beds made us feel right at home and we so sad to leave. Will definitely be staying there again!!

Anne & Neil
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you like home comforts, peace and quiet, good views and considerate owners this is the cottage for you. We had a really lovely week here enjoying almost deserted coastal walks, bird watching and visiting beautiful gardens. It was good to know the owners were close by in case of any emergency because there is no wifi or mobile reception but we appreciated the silence and read more books. We finished the rhubarb and ginger jam. It was delicious.

Kate Howell
Reviewed Rhundunan on 19/06/2016
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Wonderful stay, great value for money and we had a lovely time. The house is very well equipped with a full kitchen, and has stunning views. Added bonus of The Three Chimneys restaurant being at the bottom of the driveway. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Angela,Martin & Jasper The Collie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 17/06/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Really beautiful, peaceful location, it was just lovely to wander through the garden and along the beach every morning and afternoon, no lead, no worries. We had prepared and shopped for the week so just spent our time between the cottage and the beach. The cottage itself is lovely, just a small point- it would have been more comfortable with an upgraded TV. I guess it depends on how you spend your holiday but as we walk during the day, cook dinner, read then enjoy a film in the evening a bigger and modern tv would have made our holiday just perfect.

Mr David Lee
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 16/06/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic cottage as a base for exploring the area because of its location, but also a wonderful place to comfortably sit and watch the activities on the canal. Great for all weathers, a cosy sitting room with a roaring fire for the colder days and a light and airy sunroom for lighter brighter days. We all loved our stay at Old Lock Keepers Cottage, it's peaceful location is a tonic.

Rhona S
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a gorgeous, peaceful, tranquil place to holiday. The cottage is delightful, down a long wobbly farm track. If you want to get away from it all this is your place, with no mobile or wifi reception. You will be surrounded by an abundance of wildlife to keep you company. In our one, hot and sunny week, we saw Hares, Pheasants, Roe dear, Grouse, Seals, Otter, Heron, an abundance of colourful little birds with delightfully inquisitive cows for neighbours. Dally Bay and beach is a very quiet little beach, just a couple of minutes walk from the front door, where our little dog enjoyed running around. This is a perfect spot to explore the Rhines of Galloway and surrounding area from. The owners of the cottage live in their own house just behind, and are on hand for advice of the area, yet very respectful of your own privacy. Highly recommended for a restful holiday, in Southern Scotland.

Simon Pountney
Reviewed Sixgeary on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A superb cottage that is in a great location if you would like to experience the peace and solitude that Skye offers. Cottage is really well equipped and has everything needed.

Bart (Dutch)
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Fantastic place to stay a week (or more, much much more......;-) Has everything and is really well situated (both for privacy and to explore Scotland).

Lorrain & Arthur Fenning & Gizmo The Dog
Reviewed Fhaireag on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just wanted to say that Fhaireag was an outstanding property. Immaculate presentation with everything you would need and more for a relaxing holiday home. Ideal setting with stunning scenery, wildlife on your doorstep and lovely walks. Would highly recommend a visit and we will be defiineatly be returning at some point.

Jackie McCarten
Reviewed Kimberley House on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

A beautifully renovated upside down cottage to take advantage of the amazing views of Findhorn harbour. Would definitely book again.