Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2459

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page but if you wish to read through all our reviews they are listed below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2459 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place for you to view. Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Dave, Sandra & Barley
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/09/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We've stayed in many cottages in Scotland and we reckon this is perhaps the best we've stayed at. This was our home for two weeks and from the moment you drop your bags and shut the door you're immersed in the atmosphere and history of this beautiful house. Immaculately furnished, spacious yet cosy and filled with a sense of calm and tranquillity that could only arise from owners who love the place. And Jenny makes it all seem effortless, the house is maintained to the highest standards totally in keeping with the history and tradition of the old laundry house. It's a brilliant place to explore Glen Affric and beyond. You can walk, or cycle, or go for a run on silent, fragrant forest paths that draw you on past eerie, broken mansions and waterfalls, watch the clouds slowly envelope the massive fir trees, count the bats flitting silently around the house on moonlit nights, take midnight walks up the many forest trails looking for nocturnal wildlife, or swim in crystal clear lochs. We loved this house! We loved the area! Thanks to the lovely Jenny for cakes, veg and local information.

Steve & Sue
Reviewed The Orchids on 24/09/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful house with stunning views on to Loch Dunvegan where you can watch otters and seals fishing. We had a great time exploring Skye, very peaceful location in which to stay. Would recommend staying at the Orchids would love to return sometime.

Catherine Mitchell
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/09/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We enjoyed our stay in this quirky cottage in a lovely part of the world. We loved the beech (especially the dogs)!

Sadie Kidd
Reviewed Charleston on 15/09/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

Having fallen in love with Scotland many years ago, we decided it would be nice to visit again. We planned a relaxed holiday, with two teenagers, my Dad and our 2 dogs! The cottage was absolutely fantastic!! The best we have EVER stayed in whilst away. It is equipped with everything you would need.... and more! The decor is beautiful, cleanliness is 100% and it really is a 'home from home'. The location is equally beautiful and despite been a little concerned that the nearest shop was 16 miles away.... we did in fact find one just over 2 miles away. The views from Charleston were breathtaking and the peace and tranquility of it, was both needed and very much appreciated. As dog owners, we've previously found it difficult to find somewhere that is still 'nice', with plenty of secure garden where they can exercise freely....this exceeded our expectations all round! We have never returned to the same holiday cottage twice, however I think that's about to change. Without a doubt, we will be returning in the future..... we didn't want to go home!! Thank you!!

Bev & Nigel Tivey
Reviewed Charleston on 14/09/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

Wow! This place is just amazing, so relaxing and fantastic views. It's great for bird watching. We saw Golden Eagles soaring overhead for 4 days in a row, so close on one day that we could hear their calls quite clearly. How lucky were we! We also saw lots of Red Kites and Deer. The bungalow is very spacious and spotless, really well equipped and was nice and relaxing. A real home from home feel about it. There's a large fenced garden that was ideal for our dog to run around in. There was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us and we really didn't want to come home. We go to Scotland every year, usually touring in a motorhome but we loved Charleston so much that we've already booked another stay for next year and can't wait to return.

Rachel P
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

This house is absolutely perfect!! My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and never wanted to leave! It is in a great location too, close to Broadford and Portree. We can't wait to visit Scotland again soon and would definitely stay here again!

The Robertsons
Reviewed Fhaireag on 13/09/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Had the most fantastic stay at Fhaireag (wish I knew the correct t pronunciation!). The house itself is amazing, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Stunning views from every window. Fantastic walks in every direction and our two dogs had a great time. Will definitely be back. Loved it! :)

Alex, Janet & Bruce The Pooch
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just spent a thoroughly enjoyable week relaxing in the home comforts that Seascape Cottage provided. Believe all the previous 5 star reviews about this cottage, they are true. Beautifully maintained, with great sea views. Welcoming bottle of wine and pot of wonderful homemade jam, provided by our hosts, Jane and Chas, got us off to a great start. Fabulous week, good weather was a bonus.

M Rees
Reviewed Callakille on 11/09/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Charming cottage, loved the wood burning stove. Comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, warm throughout and good size for our family of 4. Amazing spot and views, very peaceful. We loved the whole area. As we flew to Inverness, we didn't have any food supplies with us. We happened to stop at the big Tesco near the airport to buy a few supplies but if we hadn't we would have been without milk / bread for over a day as there are virtually no shops and none open on Sundays. Not a reflection of the cottage but would have been useful to have on the general information as we didn't appreciate just how remote the peninsula is until we got there! That said, we loved the remoteness of Applecross and the nearby pub and restaurant are excellent.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, we always recommend that guests do stock us with any provisions prior to driving to Callakille as the area is remote. We are sorry if these details were not included, with the information that we provided.
Suzanne Penny
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/09/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

There were five adults in our group, each one of us was totally blown away by the beauty of this house and it's setting. Taigh Druim has been renovated to a high standard: oak floors, simple furnishings, white walls, wood burners, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds, great showers! We arrived at night in total darkness so as I walked downstairs in the morning the views from each window rendered me speechless and quite emotional! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who seeks a peaceful, stunningly beautiful retreat in a remote location (though part of me would like to keep it our secret!)

Lulu777
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 09/09/2016
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Lovely cottage very well equipped. Lovely and clean. Lovely quiet location. Fantastic walks nearby for dogs. Unfortunately had to cut our holiday short will definately return. *****

Amanda Mcintyre
Reviewed River Cottage on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

Beautiful, well equipped cottage. Dogs loved it so near to the river, we loved it, so peaceful. Would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Jackie & Jim Milne
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a great stay at pine lodge. Accommodation was very cosy and well equipped ideal size for me, my husband and the dog. Greatly entertained by the daily/nightly wildlife visits including the pine Martin. Scenery was fantastic and the lodge was in a good central location for getting out and about.

Pasha Habib
Reviewed Dunollie on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

Wonderful house, neat and clean. Suitably located. The property has everything a family needs for a week. Very thoughtful interior, stock of carefully selected groceries and daily utility items in house. Overall a pleasant experience.

Steve W
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Nice, comfortable, spacious cottage on the seafront in the village of Lochcarron. It looked like it had been recently refurbished. It suited our needs - as a base for walking the hills to the north and south of Strathcarron - perfectly. Everything was as we wished.

Simon Haine
Reviewed Station Cottage on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

This cottage is a lovely place to stay. Myself and my family found the location perfect to unwind and get away from the world. Within easy reach of some of the areas's great spots, including some beautiful lochs, and of course Landmark theme park just down the road. Was a shame to have to leave, but would recommend and would definitely like to return.

Paul Kirkwood
Reviewed Moll House on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Probably the best holiday cottage we've ever stayed in. Very large, modern, fresh, light, comfortable, well appointed and peaceful. Great central location for visiting Skye's attractions. There are very few other cottages on Skye that offer such access together with a shore location but away from the main roads. So if that's what you're after book this one!

Gary , Helena , Shaida & Alfie
Reviewed The Granary on 07/09/2016
And awarded it

The Granary

We stayed at " The Granary" for a week , its centrally located in the Highlands great for exploring the west and east coast, the Cottage is furnished to a very high standard and very comfortable . Its a 5 minute walk into the village of Drumnadrochit with great pubs and Restaurants and there are walks straight from you're door. There was a very welcoming bottle of wine and cake from the owner Kirsty left out for us on our arrival and we couldn't of picked a better place to stay. Thank you once again to Wilderness Cottages for a superb holiday. We will be back .

Michael + Gabriele
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 07/09/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A warmhearted welcome with fresh eggs, jelly and homemade(!) cookies. This is a jewel of a house with a breathtaking view, an absolute perfect equipped kitchen and plenty of space. We've spend the best holiday ever and we will return there soon as possible. I would die for a place like this nearer by in Germany!

Oana Candale
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely stunning cottage , fantastic views and plenty walks. My two dogs enjoyed it as well. Highly recommended. Definitely coming back :)