Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 541 to 560 of 2523


Vesna & Andi
Reviewed Callakille on 02/09/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Absolutely beautiful cottage. Very stylish interior, everything fits perfectly together and gives you a warm welcome. As you can only hear the wind, the sheep and the ocean. we found it very relaxing! We enjoyed every minute here und plan to come back soon! :-)

Nelly & Derek
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

What a fabulous place, equipped with everything you could need and more. Owner only a phone all away if needed and supplier of best eggs you ever had!!!!!. Drive is a bit steep but it takes you to a nicely secluded spot over looking some fantastic scenery and birds and wild life in the garden so no need to move for entertainment if you did not want to. Would recommend for everybody.

John, Julie & Ben Reay
Reviewed The Orchids on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful cottage set in an idyllic location. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen containing modern appliances and high quality equipment. Overlooking Loch Dunvegan and only a short walk from the jetty, the cottage enjoys outstanding views of Dunvegan Castle and the Cuillin mountains in the distance. An ideal location to relax and unwind from the stresses of life, yet close to Dunevgan which has an array of shops and restaurants,

Julie Martin
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Holly Cottage, it is clean, spacious, comfortable, beautifully furnished and we received a warm welcome by the lovely owners. We found the area a good base from which to explore the Highlands and would recommend Holly Cottage to friends and family.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Kimberley House on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Wonderful accommodation. We have been visiting Findhorn for many years and stayed in many holiday lets - this is the best by miles . We have already rebooked for 2 weeks next year. Many thanks to Loraine for bring the perfect host.

Steve & Heather Lawrence (Kent)
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic place to get away from it all and a good central base to see most of the Highlands. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would expect from your own home comforts. It is is very well presented, clean and very warm if you choose to light the log fire. If you are planning to eat in, then the nearest large supermarket is in Fort William so this needs to be taken into consideration. Fort Augustus has a reasonable Londis store and a very good Butchers and chip shop. The surrounding pubs offer a wide range of food and drink to accommodate everyone's taste. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing, get away from it all holiday. A return visit is being planned

Judith Tait
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

We had an amazing stay at the Cattle Shed. The cottage is of a very high standard and the views are breath taking. Everything was great from the beginning to the end of our holiday. We had our dog with us and there were so many wonderful walks just behind the cottage in the forest trail. We plan to return and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Rachael Harvey
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

This was our first visit to Scotland and we were not disappointed! The accommodation was wonderful and spacious and the views (particularly the sunsets) were absolutely spectacular! Far enough from civilisation to be incredibly peaceful, but near enough to get shopping (although our Tesco home delivery driver wasn't terribly impressed!) The cottage was absolutely wonderful and had everything we could possibly need. Fantastic holiday.

Ruth123
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

We stayed here as 2 families of 4 and found the house to be perfect for our needs. Spacious and well equipped with a large garden which was very safe for the kids. Good wifi and sky tv too if you need it. The local pub also very friendly and good pub grub. Great base to explore the highlands. We will definitely stay again. If you are staying at Balmachree we can highly recommend the walk across the road to the falls of foyers aprox 10 miles round trip but an easy and enjoyable walk for most abilities.

Mim664
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed in Seal Skerry Lodge and had an amazing week. The accommodation was spotless on arrival and had all the home comforts you could possibly need. The only thing we found missing that we needed was a potatoe masher, we resorted to a fork which did the job perfectly. The views over the Loch and out to the Hebrides were breathtaking. We had lovely weather for most of the holiday, the one completely rainy day was made bearable by the lovely house to relax in during the day and a delicious meal at The Old School resteraunt in Dunvegan in the evening. We would recommend a visit to Neist Point to see the sunset and also to go during the day to walk to the lighthouse. The boat ride from Dunvegan castle to see the seals was also a highlight for some of our party! We managed a swim at coral beach, worth a visit even if the weather isn't warm enough to swim. In summary fantastic accommodation in an awe inspiring place!

S Riding
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

What a fantastic little cottage. When we arrived after a long drive the cottage was clean and welcoming, there were eggs, milk, bread, and butter in the fridge plus tea, coffee, sugar and other bits and pieces in the cupboard. The cottage is quite spacious and we immediately felt at home. The kitchen is very well equipped and a washing machine is housed in the shed round the back. The conservatory has a sofa for dogs, a very nice touch for those dogs used to curling up on the couch at home and this is where we spent most of our time when not out. There's a phone in the cottage for incoming and local calls so family can still get hold of you in an emergency and also a TV with free view. The garden has a barbecue, table and chairs and there are a couple of deck chairs in the shed. The garden is overgrown away from the cottage but a nice grassy path has been cut through to get down to the beach. The beach is a lot closer than it looked in the photos and has large stretches of sand surrounded by rocks, perfect for dogs to chase balls and swim. The cows do wander quite close to the cottage and were even down on the beach one morning but they tended to move off when they saw us coming. This cottage provided everything we wanted in a holiday - privacy, peace and quiet, fantastic views, and space for the dogs to roam. Highly recommended.

Karen Farr
Reviewed Mealishal on 30/08/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Sandra P
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous cottage in a lovely location. the cottage was very clean and comfortable with every amenity you require.The walks from the cottage were stunning and the people were really friendly. All in all a wonderful holiday.

Ian Lee
Reviewed Sealight on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We stayed at Sealight for two weeks in August 2015, the property is modern, very well equipped and tastefully decorated. The views from Sealight are splendid looking out to the loch and to the mountains beyond, The surrounding area is quiet, lots of good walks and climbs and an abundance of wildlife, we saw deer, pine martins, birds of prey and in the loch, seals and porpoises. We have stayed in many holiday cottages across Britain over the last ten years but Sealight is certainly the best, we would definately holiday there again.

Val Hindmarsh
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Great location with spectacular views over Skye, Rona and Raasay and in the other direction the Torridon Mountains. Good condition generally and well resourced. Aga needs some work on it to clean thoroughly but we enjoyed cooking on it. Ironing board, but apparently no iron - or couldn't find it. Be ready for lots of silence only punctuated by sheep and highland cattle. Great eateries within a reasonable distance. Walking and wild swimming for those who are inclined. All in all, no complaints!

Catriona Akana
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a wonderful week in this lovely, comfortable, warm and very well-equipped cottage. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, teeming with wildlife including deer, red squirrels, and lots of birds. It is beautifully quiet and rural, excellent walking country and also within easy reach of larger centres like Inverness. We hope to return soon!

Margaret Steed
Reviewed Lilybank on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

Stayed at Lilybank with my husband, and our son and his wife, and their two little girls. We had a wonderful time, the cottage was beautiful, and the views were awesome. had fantastic holiday and have recommended Wilderness to our friends and relatives. will definitely be booking with you again.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have stayed in other Wilderness cottages that have been much more out in the wilds and really off the beaten track. Fersit is a very small hamlet consisting of around 8 other houses. There are some lovely challenging and non challenging walks straight from the front door so something for everyone. The ever changing views from the large windows were dramatic at times. We were blessed with 5 days of sunny warm still dry days (not what I was expecting) and this in turn meant that the midges were at their worst in the evening so no chance to sit out on the patio. The log cottage was well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc.) spacious and clean. Don't expect great wifi here (but you are on a wilderness holiday after all so why would you need it?) as it is very slow. It has been a great place to chill out and see some great Scottish views.

Gordon Riksen
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Beautiful, well finished cottage but it's all about the Seascape. Fantastic views and lovely beaches. If it's a relaxing break away from it all you're after then this is the one. We would happily go back. That says it all I think. Thanks to Jane for the warm welcome.

Chris Stark
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge - really lovely house in a stunning location. Family of 4 fitted in really well and the overall provision of "Stuff" in the house is great. Really lovely place and we'd love to go back again.