Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2041 to 2060 of 2523

Brian Cunliffe
Reviewed Wildwood on 29/07/2009
And awarded it
David & Rosemarie Love
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 29/07/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

The Lawson Family
Reviewed Glenara on 28/07/2009
And awarded it


The cottage was excellent. In a great location about a minute from the shops in Fort Augustus but far enough away from the locks to be really quiet and secluded. The back sitting room looking out on the river was superb. It was really well decorated and furnished, traditional and comfortable. The sizeable garden leads down to the river and would be ideal for children or a dog to run about in. The owner met us and showed us round. He was very friendly and helpful. Fort Augustus is a busy but relaxed wee place. An ideal base for exploring that beautiful part of Scotland. I have no hesitation in recommending Glenara and Wilderness Cottages to anyone. I’d happily use either again.

Gillian Wilson
Reviewed Mountain View on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Karen Gosling
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

we had a wonderfull week at poulary cottage, wanted to get away from normal hectic life and this was the place to do it. the peacefull surrounding area was just what we needed, our only snag was the midges which were in abundance in july but that was o the only thing wrong with our holiday, the cottage was beautifully clean and modern with everything we needed, would definately return. thankyou for a wonderfull holiday.

The Lloyd Family
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

The Langley Family
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We stayed in the secluded Kilmartin Cottage for 4 nights in June 2009.

Once in Drumnadrochit, the drive was pretty much a straight shot up to the turn-off for the house. The road is rather steep, and bumpy doesn’t really adequately describe the driving conditions, but it all made for part of the adventure. There was a small grocery store in town so we were able to make use of the ample kitchen to cook some of our own meals.

The cottage caretaker had everything available for us when we arrived including a huge bouquet of fresh flowers for the table. We loved the house and the grounds. Not only was the cottage more affordable than most rooms in town, but the extra space for our family of five was brilliant! The kids were able to explore every evening and we woke to deer grazing on the lawn. It was the most relaxing vacation we’ve had.

Steve & Katie
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Nothing but praise for Poulary Cottage. Had a wonderful week there in July. The cottage really is out in the wilderness, about 7 miles off the main road. Brilliant views out of the dining room window across the valley and my wife certainly enjoyed the bird table in the garden which attracted all sorts. Cottage is spacious and has all the amenities you need. The seperate games room is a nice touch and is nice to unwind in there after a day of exploring.
Good location as a base as well as you are well within distance of various sites of interest - Glengarry, Fort William, Ben Nevis, Inverness, Cairngorns, Skye and many more. We even made the trip up to John O’Groats which took a good 4 hours! Can recommend the Invergarry Hotel for a good meal and a great atmosphere.
If you’re looking for a nice quiet cottage with stunning views and scenery then this is the one for you.

Jo Patrick
Reviewed Log House on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Log House

We had a lovely week at the start of July, even the rain didn’t spoil our time away. 2 boys under 5 had the best time watching boats going up and down the locks and jumping in waterfalls. The Log Cabin was a real treat and provided much excitement for little boys. Lots to do in the vicinity, and the peace and quiet was a real tonic.. Will definitely be using the Cottages again.

Julie & Tim Barnett
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Reviewed Callakille on 27/07/2009
And awarded it


Kate Robinson
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 27/07/2009
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

John & Jacquie Moyse
Reviewed Timber House on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Timber House

Timber house is an amazing design. It is so light and clean with very good quality apppliances and comfortable beds and bright modern decor.

We found Timber House beautifully placed just above and over looking the end of a loch where there were lovely views over the water. The little town of Dunvegan was not too far to drive and had some good little shops for our daily needs. There were many interesting cliffs and beaches to walk and explore.

All the administrative arrangements were straight forward.

We hope we shall be able to come back for another visit.

Colin Campbell
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This is our second stay and was every bit as good as the first time. The cottage is comfortable and well appointed with great views of lochs and hills. We weren’t short of things to do both in the immediate area and further afield to Lochinver and Durness. Helped by good weather most of the time. Again enjoyed eating at the Shore Restaurant at Tarbet after a day on Handa Island.

Andy & Lynda Tuttle
Reviewed Moat House 6 - Abbey on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 6 - Abbey

John & Jennifer Edwards
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/07/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

cottage was great with everything we needed and more. Very clean and well equiped Owners left some very thoughtful welcoming gifts for both us and the dogs which started our holiday off very well! The views were magnificent and listening to the sea at night - wonderful. been visiting Applecross for 15 years, its special to us and very much look forward to our next visit and using bayside again. Thanks again a great relaxing holiday.

Sue Crump
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 22/07/2009
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Absolutely fabulous cottage in fantastic location, could have stayed there forever. 1 week of sunshine also helped. Hope to return.

Laura Wemyss
Reviewed Mealishal on 12/07/2009
And awarded it


Dick & Jan
Reviewed Log House on 11/07/2009
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is the perfect place to stay if you want peace and tranquillity, it is well equipped with everything you need. Fort Augustus is a great place to eat out and close enough from the Log House to walk to. Great walks from the doorstep and wildlife in abundance. We were lucky enough to have daily visits from the robin and saw the pine marten 3 nights on the trot! Would highly recommend.