Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2041 to 2060 of 2523


Sue Boydell
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 13/10/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We loved Owl Cottage and its location on a quiet lane with hardly any traffic, but only a short walk into Fort Augustus. We had fabulous sunny weather and the cottage was a great base for site seeing, walking and relaxing.

Rob Miller
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/10/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Cool site.

Simon Reid
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/10/2009
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stableman’s Lodge in Grantown on Spey. We were made to feel very welcome from the outset, and the accommodation was clean, modern and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing break in this area. 5/5.

Carolyn Randall
Reviewed Wildwood on 06/10/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

16th - 19th September 09 - Excellent few days in this wonderful Log House. The house has everything you could need and the level of specification and attention to detail was superb. Marie, the friendly housekeeper does an outstanding job in keeping the place clean and presentable for all guests, with fresh linen on all the beds, fluffy towels and a welcome pack of milk, shortbread and tea - very welcome after a long journey! Although this is a dog friendly log house you couldn’t tell that dogs had previously been there, which is nice for guests with aversions to dogs - not us with Bracken who bounds through the forest without a care in the world. Excellent walks from the back door (situated 2 miles in the forest) but never to far from Fort Augustus and Loch Ness. Superb setting for all sorts of adventures whether walking, cycling, kayaking or shopping in Inverness!

Will definitely be back again.

Paul
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 06/10/2009
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stableman?s Lodge is a great place to stay with helpful welcoming owners, warm clean inviting accommodation and a good location. Comfortable living room with a brilliant real fire (loads of fuel supplied) and a well equipped modern kitchen.

The addition of a dvd player, bath and double bed would make it perfect for couples / families with young children.

Colin Sunderland
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/10/2009
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

The location stunning and the apartment and grounds beyond expectation. The decor and general finish to the apartment was to a very high standard and made for a very relaxing and enjoyable base in which to explore the stunning scenery and places of interest around Loch Ness and with Inverness and Fort William in easy reach meant that no matter the weather or your mood when you got up there was an adventure to be had. Highly recommend both the apartment and location and hope to be back in the near future.

Jayne & Kevin Parker
Reviewed Mountain View on 04/10/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

M & M Fenwick
Reviewed Lianachan on 04/10/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Pete & Gail
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 03/10/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

What a great view and we loved having the sea almost at the door!
The cottage was cosy and spotlessly clean. It’s a great base for a spectaclar area with its stunning scenery and wildlife.
Good amenities at Lochcarron and the Seafood Bar, (just around the corner,) is well worth a visit.

Scott, Anke & Cedric
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/10/2009
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Kim & Carl
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 29/09/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Mick & Bridget Bodecott
Reviewed Laracks on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Laracks

Colin & Gill Hutchison
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Homely, packed with character and a fabulous base from which to explore Strathspey and Speyside. This Nethybridge hideaway is surely one of the highlands self-catering gems.
(Colin Hutchison is author of the Footprint Scotland Highlands and Islands, 2009 travel guide)

Maryrose Walmsley
Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We stayed in Cuilfail Cottage in September and were blessed with marvellous weather. Lovely location, wonderful scenery very nice cottage in a very dog friendly area and excellent food at The Whitebridge Hotel. What more could one ask for.
Many thanks to the cottage owners and special thanks to Gordon and Corinne for the efficient and hassle free booking procedures
Maryrose, Grant, Sarah, Rob, Kazba (GSD), Solly (Border Collie) and Boris (Lurcher).

Joanne Concannon
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Donna Lumsden
Reviewed Homewood on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Homewood

Rachel, John & Beth Little
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 23/09/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

The Abbey is a stunning location for a holiday. WE particularly like the club lounge with it’s large selection of games. Moat House 1 was well equipped and made a lovely base to come ’home’ to after a busy day sightseeing. The welcome treats were very much appreciated.
We were a little disappointed that the 2 TVs in the bedrooms only seemed to work via the sky box upstairs in the living room (not mentioned in the ’blurb’ anywhere) or to watch DVDs. This caused some minor inconvenience as we were hoping to have a few lazy mornings while our 6 year watched TV in bed - this wasn’t achievable without first going upstairs and turning the sky box on (the box would automatically turn off after we went to bed) and setting it to CBBC! As I said a minor inconvenience.
Fort Augustus is lovely with a choice of great restaurants, it’s very pleasant on a good day to just sit and watch the boats going through the locks. You can also take boat trips on Loch Ness from Fort Augustus which give you a great view of the Abbey.
The area is beautiful with lots of great things to do on a day out. We didn’t have great weather but we weren’t lost for things to do and hope to return soon.

Mrs Anne Marson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/09/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Just got back from the most perfectly peaceful and lovely cottage imaginable!
The situation was stunning and the quiet was wonderful. Fersit Cottage is gorgeous. Having read earlier, that someone thought a 4 x 4 was needed we were a bit apprehensive, however, we managed to get two Mx5s ( one very low-slung!!) up the track, with no problem at all!!
Graham and Lynne both came to say hello, which made us feel welcome.
We highly recomend this beautiful cottage to everyone - as long there is a week or three left for us to go again!!

Julia Johnston
Reviewed Wildwood on 21/09/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

A great location to stay with lovely forest walks. The cottage was nice, however the only downside was the utility room as it smells disgusting, obviously guests leave wet animals in there, even a good clean didn’t get rid of it. The cottage is well presented, but needed a good clean before we could relax for the week. However we had a lovely week and the weather was warm and sunny.

Helena Stevens
Reviewed Mealishal on 17/09/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal