Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 881 to 900 of 2523

Rhonda Hebb
Reviewed An Airidh on 16/05/2014
And awarded it

An Airidh

My girlfriend and I were so comfortable at this lovely cottage.Every detail was thought of and a lovely welcoming basket was provided for us. We had lovely weather too and were able to take advantage of sitting outside on the patio and take in the wonderful Harlosh views.I will most definatley return to this gem.

Michael Sage
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 16/05/2014
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

What a place! Truly fantastic - superb location and so well presented great place to get away and relax! Only negatives if I had to say any - no wifi - but then if you are getting away why would you need it - and the council could do with cleaning the beach in only one area due to washed ashore rubbish! Note no negatives for the property or location as were superb! As for the rubbish this is not noticeable and the surroundings could not be better! Thank you

Thomas S
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 15/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

A memorable holiday in an indescribably amazing spot. Absolute silence. Best kitchen-window view ever. Incredible night sky - absolutely no light pollution whatsoever allows you to spend hours looking up at thousands of stars. Despite the remoteness, lots of local attractions, beautiful beaches and mountains/scenery to explore. Very cosy and warm cottage, easy to be nice and snug on a rainy day. Only downside was staying for one week instead of two - hope to be back again for longer!

Sue Holden
Reviewed River Cottage on 15/05/2014
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was a great place to stay, easy walk into Drumnadrochit, and easy access to both Glen Affric which is stunning and not far from Inverness and access to the Black Isle. The owners were very helpful and made me feel very welcome. It is in the lovely location and the dog loved the river being so close too.

Rob, Noreen & Lauren McMullen
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 12/05/2014
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We had a fantastic peaceful break at Guisachan Lodge. The cottage is in a great spot and ideal for anyone who wants to get away from the rat race and relax in complete comfort. The wildlife we experienced in the cottage grounds was amazing, with regular visits from Pine Martin, Hare, Red Squirrel and perhaps best of all Badgers, not to mention plenty of bird life. We would recommend a stay at Guisachan Lodge to anyone who has a love of wildlife and who enjoys peace and tranquility.

Andy & Kay Burnett
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 11/05/2014
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Fantastic location close to all the main points of interest on the Black Isle, with brilliant views down the Fairy Glen to Rosemarkie and the chance to see Dolphins at Chanonry Point. The Barn is very well equipped, warm and cosy, with Sky and wifi and a deck to take breakfast on. There are great restaurants and pubs in the area serving local produce to a high standard. Home from home for us, and we would come again with a bigger group when the other barn is ready. Thanks again to Pat and family

Reviewed An Acail on 11/05/2014
And awarded it

An Acail

Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 10/05/2014
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Couldn't fault it. Great location, feels like you are in the middle of nowhere yet you are only 10 mins from the airport and v short drive to the local village. Wonderful views. Great lodge and the added bonus of walking in to a generous welcome pack, meant we arrived and were able to relax immediately. Can't wait to return.

Colin Gundry
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/05/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a wonderful fortnight over Easter 2014. A great location for the northern Munroes. Accommodation was fantastic - dormitory sleeping was fine for us hardy mountain types! The owners were very friendly and helpful...especially when my morning porridge boiled over the wonderful log stove! Don't be put off by the bar at the end of the lane...its a bonus ( I made great use of it after a hrs day on the Cairngorms) and is not noisy at all. There's a fab' Co-Op in Grantown too. Will return!

Eleanor McFarlane
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/05/2014
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Had a great week's holiday at The Tree House. New property with everything you need. Well located, very clean and cosy. Nice to relax on the big comfortable sofa in front of the wood-burner after being out walking all day - only difficulty is trying to stay awake !! There is a nice desk/study area which is handy if you unfortunately need to work while on holiday (our kids were studying for exams so it came in handy !).

Jackie & Chris Burke
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/05/2014
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a wonderful cottage. It has everything you need and the location is remote which suited us. The log burner is a treat on chilly nights and the bed is so comfortable you will never want to leave. The owner Jenny's own house is about a mile down the road - close if you need help with something but never obtrusive. The bird table has lots of visitors and you can walk/bike straight from your front door. Booked again to visit in October.

Mrs Margaret Knapton
Reviewed The Bothy on 03/05/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just returned from a week staying here. The Bothy is a well equipped and cosy property, the beds are especially comfy even more so after a long day walking in the local area. Many walks within easy reach of this property for all levels of fitness and abilities from Munros to easier low level walks. There are numerous places to visit within easy driving distance and good places to eat out. There is an adequate shop at Lochcarron where there is also a garage. Overall well worth a visit

Ian Lawless
Reviewed Jura on 03/05/2014
And awarded it


Warm and cosy cottage with wonderful views. Fairly remote(12 miles to nearest shop) but with very helpful neighbours and perfect for peace and quiet. Generously equipped but could do with knife sharpener and some new crockery and glasses and possibly a larger fridge freezer especially for four people.

Reviewed The Granary on 02/05/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Nice house to spend the week for 2 adults and 2 kids, plus dog. Lots of good walks closeby, and in a good location. Even got enough sun in April to sit in the garden.

John & Karen Edgington
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 02/05/2014
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

A stunning tranquil location set in private woodland with views across the loch with the mountains as a backdrop. The wildlife is amazing as to is the lodge, a true home from home and well equipped too. John and Sally are like old friends and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay relaxing. The locals are welcoming too and always give a friendly wave and happy to chat. A wonderful holiday and we were blessed with 6 days of pure sunshine. Will be booking again for sure.

Sally Towlson
Reviewed Aros Beag on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Great cottage, well equipped, nicely decorated. Under floor heating a real luxury - fab in the bathroom in the mornings! The music system was also much appreciated - now thinking of installing something similar at home! Location was perfect for us, with plenty of hill walking options in the vicinity. Also saw oystercatchers on the river from the bedroom window.

Carole, Mark & Holly-Anne
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/05/2014
And awarded it


Just back from another fantastic week in this cottage. Excellent facilities and maintained to a very high standard. We saw lots of wildlife, deer in the garden, hare's running down the lane. We even saw Osprey this year on Loch Inch. We had the added bonus of great weather (20 degrees and sunny one day). We will be back next year.

Reviewed Beach Lodge on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Beach Lodge


Alisdair Fitch
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 30/04/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Great cottage. Great location for visiting the numerous sites in the area. The cottage was well kitted out and maintained to a high standard. Our 4 yr old daughter loved everything... Sheep sleeping in the garden, looking for 'things' in the rock pools, the compost heap, exploring the heather hillocks, watching the deer on the drive, the silence at night, the shutters in the bed room and that her toys had their own bed! Wife loved the aga and the weather, I loved it all-rain or shine! Bliss

Paolo Sandro
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 30/04/2014
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

The Tree House on Skye is a five stars experience. Location is great, not to far from Portree (supermarket within 15 minutes by car) but still you retain your privacy. The house in itself is perfectly built and offers all comforts: it is warm and full of light during the day, cozy at night (the stove!); the kitchen has every possible item you might need, and all of good quality; the beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms are great! Overall, a great place to stay on breathtaking Skye!