Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 120 of 2523

Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/08/2016
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovely cottage clean and with everything we needed beautiful area with breath taking views over loch ness, Thank you

Sue Collis
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 19/08/2016
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

This cottage has been beautifully renovated. It is very well equipped with everything you might need in the kitchen. The bed is very comfortable. Even though we were there in August, we couldn't resist using the wood burner on the occasional rainy evening and it was very cosy. However, the cottage is very warm without using the fire. We found the location to be perfect for local forest walks, bike rides and we enjoyed our visits to the Loch Ness exhibition and Urquhart Castle. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Andrew Purcell
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was perfect in every way! A wonderful welcome from Jane, spacious accommodation, huge comfortable bed and everything we could wish for. Great location for exploring The Assynt.

Karen & Gary
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Despite the wet weather we spent an enjoyable week at Woodside Lodge, which is comfy and well equipped. The views (when we could see them) of the Applecross mountains and Lochcarron were stunning. It is also a good base for exploring further afield to Plockton, Torridon, Skye and Shieldaig. The only thing we found detrimental was the steep and rutted road up to the Lodge which had been made worse because of the rain but we don't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle which would have been better. The owners were very friendly and it was nice to have free range eggs from them.

Aidan Desmond
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

This is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world. There is everything you need in the cottage and it is an ideal base from which you can go out and explore. We would certainly stay again. Highly recommended.

Mick Macve
Reviewed An Airidh on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

An Airidh

The cottage is lovely. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, the wifi worked well, the temperature inside the cottage was just right and the kitchen was well appointed. The other comments on the website about the wet room are not, with respect, accurate: it is great, easy to use and the water does not go all over the room; it was very good. The cottage is located in a beautiful area with outstanding views all around. Dunvegan is excellent for cake (!) and is only 15 minutes away. If only it had stopped raining, the holiday would have been perfect. We will have to come back next year! Thank you for all the nice little touches.

Catherine A
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Very pleasant cottage - immaculately clean, attractive and well equipped. Very friendly and helpful owners, who live in a nearby village and are therefore available if needed. We had appalling weather (torrential rain and high winds) but were very cosy and comfy...take books and games rather than relying on television, which is 'patchy' in bad weather. Dogs are not allowed upstairs, so if your dog is used to going upstairs it is worth taking a fold up barrier to remind them not to scoot up! The Three Chimneys is only 10 mins away and is superb and the Coral Beach is 30 mins away and well worth a visit. Don't underestimate the local shop at the end of the is the best stocked corner shop ever and could save you from making long journeys to Portree for provisions! All in all we had a pleasant and relaxing break in Katie's Cottage.

George & Chery Carson
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

We have been to Seabank Cottage 3 times and plan to be back in the future. Even when the weather isn't great (as last week) it is lovely to sit and watch the changes in the sea, the sky and hills from the kitchen window. To see the sea lap against the building. In the evening it is ideal to light a fire and chill out in the living room. A new walk in show has been installed since we were last in the cottage in 2013 and that is lovely and refreshing first thing in the morning or when you come back from a walk. The Lochcarron area is wonderful and Seabank Cottage is an excellent base for a holiday in the village.

Sam & Sophie
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

The accommodation was first class and absolutely beautiful. 2 mins walk from town which had most of the usual amenities needed and 20 mins from Aviemore. We had a brilliant break and would recommend to anyone. Hosts were also very welcoming to our needs.

Guest Summer 2016
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

The accomodation was clean, spacious and well furnished. The leisure facilities at the Abbey also contributed to a wonderful holiday. Would visit again without hesitation.

The Pierces
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary is a wonderfully equipped, incredibly cosy and a very private, peaceful and secluded place to stay. The wildlife is rife and the scenery is breath-taking. The midges however ruined our week :(

Reviewed Pooltiel House on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Perfect cottage, with everything provided to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We had a wonderful time. Wilderness cottage staff was friendly and helpful.

Donna Campbell
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Had an amazing week in this cabin. Very friendly welcome and the little extras were much appreciated. Excellent garden for our wee dog and cabin was very well equipped. Great base for visiting the highlands.

Sandra,mark,keiran,Zoe Hennessey & Skye,golden R
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 14/08/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Couldn't have chose a better cottage for our 30th wedding anniversary,the cottage its self was fantastic,very clean and perfect in every way,the garden was brilliant for our 3 year old golden retriever,he could run around and explore and we knew he would be completely safe. The views around the cottage are stunning,we loved it that 2 deers appeared every day,it was lovely just to sit and watch them. The jacuzzi bath was perfect after long walks which we did everyday and didn't have to use the car,the forest walks are beautiful. Thank you to Graham and lynn for the lovely bottle of wine and cookies,they were very much appreciated, sorry we didn't get to meet you though, we were all sad to leave this beautiful place but left feeling very relaxed and can't wait to go back again,hopefully next year.

Reviewed Solas on 13/08/2016
And awarded it


Solas is a beautiful, homely cottage which is well equipped with utensils, crockery, baking tins, books, children's toys and even a piano. It is spotlessly clean and our party found no fault with it. There is lots of space, even in a large group of people, to have some alone time with the mezzanine and study to sit in if you need some space. The views are outstanding with lots to do in the area if you don't fancy driving for a day or two. We visited Glendale market and bought some lovely soaps of the owner of the cottage who was very friendly and told us just to let her know if we needed anything. There is a children's playpark, the Red Roof cafe is nice for a special treat as is Skye weavers who demonstrate their weaving skills and we bought Harris Tweed handbags and cushions from the very friendly lady at Wheatear textiles. We all loved the cottage and felt very sad when leaving. We would love to have stayed much longer and can't wait to return.

Bon Megens
Reviewed Ardrannach on 12/08/2016
And awarded it


Comfortable cottage with stunning views. We enjoyed it very much! A cottage deffinitely fit for return to someday. We only recommend some extra cutlery and plates because of the dishwasher. So you don't have to use the dishwasher so many times.

John Poole
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 11/08/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We all loved this location, what a lovely spot it is, we enjoyed the garden and soaked in the peace where only nature could be heard. We saw pretty birds feasting on the bird feeder, all types of tits came to saw hello, thrushes and even a red squirrel ran along the wall. The house itself was spotlessly clean and at night we put on the real fire and relaxed. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen allowed us to cook. We did day trips to the nearby Stone Henge and went to the Foyers Falls. We even paddled in the nearby loch and sunbathed, yes sunbathed on its tiny sandy beach! We walked in the nearby beach woods and were fascinated by the colourful mushrooms and toadstools. The owners were very friendly, even kindly but left us to our own. I would recommend it to my friends and hopefully will come again. This part of Scotland is a wonderful spot.

Paul Osborne
Reviewed Moll House on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Lovely spacious cottage in a great location - quiet, but with easy access to Skye's main facilities and tourist destinations. Great for wildlife- we saw seals, otters and eagles from the house. Great enclosed garden and access to pebble beach.

Daniel (France)
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

2 weeks and it was a real pleasure to be at the Cedar Cottage. It was very clean, quiet, we'll equipped. Moreover cakes, milk, chocolat and wine at our arrival. Perfect!

Victoria Milbourne
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We've been to Skye now 6 times and this cottage is by far the best place we've stayed. The location was fantastic and incredibly relaxing; the house itself was perhaps the best equipped we've ever stayed in; and my partner, David, can now say that he can confidently cook on an Aga! All mod cons were included such as Wi-Fi, a great telly, dish-washer and washer-dryer. The house was charming, clean and the view onto the Bay was hypnotic. This is the only time that, on leaving a property at the end of our holiday, we've agreed that we should return to that property in future. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I'd like to move there permanently!