Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 341 to 360 of 2523

Ausra Kennedy
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 07/02/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a beautiful house in an amazing location! We spend 5 days there and wished we stayed longer. As we had a baby and a toddler with us, we weren't able to do much walking and exploring. But the house offered everything we would have wanted so we enjoyed staying in, with the wood burner going , watching the sea and admiring the most fantastic views! Beds were very comfortable we slept very well! Don't worry about bringing any board games-plenty at the house and great variaty. Would recommend to everyone wishing to holiday in Skye! AMAZING!

Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed our few days away at Don Cottage. The instructions on finding the cottage we followed to the letter as it was dark when we arrived and they were absolutely spot on--it really is nice to get a good set of directions at the end of a tiring journey! Lovely collection of basic essentials and luxury goodies waiting for us on the kitchen table--inc whiskey- and all I had to do was to put a match to the prepared fire. Don Cottage was spotless on our arrival and looking around it is apparent that the owners have enjoyed putting this holiday cottage together. Once we got home in the evening we were more than happy to relax in front of the fire and watch TV and prepare some food--haggis of course on Burns Night. We have a couple of suggestions for making this lovely cottage even more appealing--perhaps a larger TV and a few brighter LED lights mixed in to help with reading and in the kitchen for meal preparation? Eyes going dim is an affliction that makes us older people complain that writing is getting smaller and smaller!! If you stay at Don Cottage you will be warm and comfortable and will be located in a beautiful part of the world and be free to explore it at your leisure! Many thanks

Peter Brown
Reviewed Achbeag on 05/02/2016
And awarded it


Great property in a Great location. Everything you need from a holiday cottage - nice comfortable living space, decent size bedrooms, well fitted kitchen and nice bathrooms made this a great location to explore this fantastic area. The Applecross Pass was a particular highlight -went over that road on a number of occasions - well worth the effort. The beach close by at Big Sands was also well worth a visit. The whole area was waiting to be explored and didn't disappoint - I would recommend the area and this property in particular. Thanks for the great holiday.

Rachel & Beryl
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage was everything we hoped for - very peaceful & remote (maybe just a bit too remote, in hindsight!) - a very comfortable & well-equipped cottage in a stunning location. The track down is the only downside; it's a shame the lower section can't be concreted like the upper section; my heart was in my mouth on every journey to & from the cottage, & I think the remoteness (which has never before been an issue) was heightened by knowing I couldn't drive out once it was dark. We left a few days early because of the forecast snow & ice, which would have made the track even more treacherous. The advice that a 4x4 is needed is very wise.

Mrs Plume
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a great stay at beach lodge with the dog. Didn't see one person all week and had the beach to ourselves! Love the fact it was full of essentials when we got there. Would recommend to all. Hopefully we will return in the future. Thanks for a fantastic break.

Zoe Green
Reviewed Callakille on 19/01/2016
And awarded it


Somewhat like the Railway Children we arrived in total darkness amid a galeforce storm. Mrs Viney had forgotten to light our fire too but we soon had the woodburner going. Wonderful week in a truely beautiful part of the world. The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable if a little nippy in the bedrooms. We are keen campers so used to cold noses but be aware there is no heating upstairs. Thank you for sharing the Applecross peninsula, we love it.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Ms Green, thank you for your review, we have spoken to the owners regarding the heating upstairs, and during the winter months additional heating in the bedrooms will now be provided.
Ruth A Hamilton
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 15/01/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage. What a fantastic setting. We loved watching seals while we were having breakfast and an otter!

Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 14/01/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn was everything we had hoped for and more - the best thing? The views! We experienced all types of weather - from sunshine to rain, to hail storms, crazy winds and even snow! Spending Christmas relaxing in the barn and walking in the local area, then coming back to sit & relax in front of the fire with views of the snow capped mountains was magical! Between oct - April most businesses shut down but it didn't bother us as we had taken enough food with us, so I am unable to comment on the local pubs and restaurants. The barn is ideally placed to explore Skye. Our dogs absolutely loved the break too, and were as sad as us to be leaving! The barn is fully equipped with everything you could ever want. We were delighted the tv was upstairs rather than in the lounge - we watched it once! We also thought the set up of having the dishwasher etc in the utility was a good idea - reducing noise and clutter in the social space! Don't hesitate, just book!!

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Log House on 12/01/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed at The Log House for 1 Week, the location is absolutely perfect , very peaceful and perfect for exploring the East or West Coast . The Log House lives up to its expectations its very clean , and warm. As described its a short walk into Fort Augustus , and all the local amenities. Will definitely be back, will recommend The Log House and Wilderness Cottages to everyone !!

Reviewed Aros Beag on 05/01/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a wonderful time exploring the local areas and the cottage was fantastic.

Carole & Robert Binns
Reviewed Moll House on 04/01/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

We were thrilled with Moll House. After a long drive from York we arrived to find the house beautifully warm and spotlessly clean. It was a real home from home and the Xmas tree was a nice surprise. In the morning we were greeted with a fabulous view from the kitchen window which never failed to fascinate us every day as we looked for wildlife. The location is stunning. Our dog Max soon made himself at home next to the heater in the kitchen. The garden was lovely and safe for him to play around in and the proximity and privacy of the shore led to lovely relaxing strolls every morning. Our dog is not very sociable with other dogs so all that worry was taken away. This is our second stay in a wilderness cottage and we will certainly be back. Many thanks once again.

Paul White
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/01/2016
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Fantastic house, particularly the huge old school room. Amazing location, with the beach just seconds away. We wanted to get away from it all for Christmas, and this house was perfect!

Carol Weller
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/12/2015
And awarded it


The location is beautiful and remote. The cottage is spacious and well equipped with white goods. Unfortunately the oven has been cleaned so you cannot see the controls and the photo does not really help. Rather difficult to cook Xmas dinner. I have been to a lot of holiday homes and there has always been a welcome pack of a few teabags coffee etc. After such a long drive and not being able to get in until 4pm you do not want to drive to find a shop. I had brought a lot with me but expected this to be as I had experienced before. I would suggest perhaps an extra service where you could pay for a welcome pack. I would go again as the area is so lovely but would appreciate a more welcome.

S. Schroeder
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

An excellent cottage on Skye with a fenced in yard for the dog, full kitchen with pots/pans/cups/kettle etc, and amazing views from the sofa or recliner seat! The inside was modern but still cozy. The telescope was a fun addition as well for both day and night. There is a small-quaint shop 5 minute drive down the road and driving to Dunvegan was easy.

Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

Fantastic location. Accommodation is clean spacious and Emily gave a warm greeting. Lots of attention to detail. There was a Gift basket on arrival which was a very nice touch. The photos do not do justice to this beautiful property. Limited wifi. Remote, peaceful location worth a visit. We look forward to another visit.

Pat Bright
Reviewed Drovers on 30/12/2015
And awarded it


Very comfortable and extremely well equipped cottage in a wonderful position with stunning views across Loch Ness. We spent Christmas week there and they even supplied snow on Christmas Eve. Magical.

C. McC.
Reviewed River Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

Perfect Highland Hideaway. Spent Christmas week here. Cosy and comfy. Very handy for Inverness and Fort Augustus. Total peace and quiet with only the sound of the river in the distance.

Rebecca & Mustafa
Reviewed Timber House on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Timber House

The most perfect time in the most perfect house. Views from every window. You really can't capture how great it is to live in this space with a photograph. Go!

A. Steyn
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 28/12/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Looking for a quiet retreat in the Highlands, we came across the Old Smiddy. And we were not disappointed. It is a charming, beautifully restored, perfect get away from the madness of city life, with nights spent around the wood burning oven. It was exceptionally clean and the owners were a pleasure to talk to. Best of all, they knew exactly how to be hospitable without getting in your personal space during the stay. This is a rare quality. My only complaint was the absence of WiFi, which, for a techie like me would have been nice to have. But it cannot possibly detract from the little gem that is the Old Smiddy.

The Connetts
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/12/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don cottage is set back in a secluded location yet not too far from amenities. The cottage had a good layout and all the rooms were of a good size. The kitchen had everything you needed and the welcome pack left by the owner was greatly received. Ideally situated for exploring the surrounding area - Glen Affric, Loch Mullardoch and the Black Isle all well worth a visit. Would love to come back one day.