Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 401 to 420 of 2523

Brenda & Margaret
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Me & my neighbour take our dogs away every year because of the fireworks. Cottage is best I've stayed in very comfortable and very clean was a real treat. Everything you could need is there. Great area to walk dogs and no noise they had a great time. This is the first cottage we've went to that I'd definitely go back. The owner was lovely and helpful but it's all about the cottage just so comfy and clean it makes you feel relaxed and the views are to die for.

Emma Baumber
Reviewed Grain Store on 01/11/2015
And awarded it

Grain Store

Excellent late booking couldn't have been more pleased. Fabulous barn with lovely views completed by a pleasant owner. Will return for sure and for a longer visit so we can explore the surrounding walkways. Aviemore is about a 40 minute drive away for more than enough activities for the family in one place. When you get back from a day's activities the Grain Store has all you need for a relaxing evening. Is the perfect place to stay anytime of the year.

Mr Grant
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 31/10/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Great holiday cottage very clean and welcoming loved every minute

Alan Gray
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 31/10/2015
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

Total peace and quiet. Beautiful walks on the private estate (wear sensible shoes). The drive up to the cottage is an experience but once you're up there the view over the Glen is spectacular. No Wifi but a game of cards and bingo around the log fire was really homely. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will book again next year.

Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 30/10/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Characterful and comfortable cottage overlooking a spectacular bay in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland

Peter B
Reviewed Sixgeary on 28/10/2015
And awarded it


Fabulous. This cottage is in a superbly isolated location, and as such benefits from very dark skies - perfect for star gazing or aurora hunting. Cloud cover permitting of course. I've never seen so many stars in just one sky before, absolutely amazing. The cottage itself is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean - the cleanest I've yet stayed in, and the housekeeper keeps hens, who lay the most delicious eggs. Miss them at your peril! You'll need a car, because it's miles from almost anywhere. But if you seek peace and solitude, comfort and warmth, and a view to die for, then you've found it here. The kitchen is very well equipped with anything you could need, and cleaning materials, dishcloth, loo rolls, logs, kindling, and matches plus other essentials are supplied. Bedlinen is sumptuous and cosy. Beds are divinely sleep inducing. Sleep with the front blind open and wake to the view over the loch. Heavenly. Would I book again? Yes, in a heartbeat! Go on, spoil yourself and book this lovely cottage today :)

Kath Thompson
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 27/10/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Lovely cottage, warm,welcoming and an ideal location for walking and for travelling further afield. Great view of Loch Ness from the drive and at various points along the road. The weather held out for us and was fine except for the odd light shower. Rained on the day we left so didn't really affect us. The secret beach was peaceful with lovely views too. Very dark and peaceful at night so a good nights sleep is ensured.

Aberdeenshire Family
Reviewed Franks on 27/10/2015
And awarded it


Robinson Family
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 27/10/2015
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

We had an excellent stay at Moat house 9 during October 2015. The house is well equipped of a suitable size and well situated. The communal facilities are a bonus, the swimming arrangements require a little thought as at times several families/individuals are using the communal pool together which can be 'cosy' in the very small changing room, best bet is to change at your house first. Fort Augustus is spectacular this time of year and literally 10 minutes walk along the Caledonian Canal you are away from the village and surrounded by rolling hills and Scots Pine trees. The Caledonian Canal is an Engineering delight, always something going on there. Loch Ness is its usual dark and mysterious self. The local shops are within walking distance and well stocked.

Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Great holiday house in a fantastic remote setting and very well equipped only did feel as it was advertised as having disabled access and has a wheelchair ramp it would have been good to have a grab handle and non slip mats in the showers

Colin Levey
Reviewed Don Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Well presented, spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a lovely countryside setting - far enough away from the main town of Drumnadrochit nearby, but well located for exploring the surrounding areas. The cottage was cosy, with a great coal fire, and the kitchen was spacious, with a nice area to enjoy meal times. The cottage is decorated to a very good standard, and was very inviting on our arrival. We especially enjoyed the welcome of rose wine, whisky and shortbread - much appreciated, and a great start to our holiday, which helped set the mood for our following week. We were fortunate with warm and sunny weather for most of the week, and had great fun exploring the surrounding areas!

Reviewed The Granary on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely cottage. All our pre-ordered shopping was put away which was brilliant and we were left a bottle of wine, a cake and flower. Really thoughtful generous touch. I would just point out that the photos are a little out of date as there is a large hedge now, outside the front door across the drive so it is more enclosed than we thought it would be. It was not a problem. Would recommend staying there.

Gillian Teanby
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a great week at Poulary Cottage in Glen Garry. A comfortable cottage in a fantastic setting. I enjoyed using the Stanley Range! Lots of wildlife to enjoy both around the cottage and in the Glen.

Alex P
Reviewed Lilybank on 19/10/2015
And awarded it


We chose Lilybank at the last minute due to it's location and it being close to other family members also holidaying locally. We were expecting it to be good but it was so much better than we could have hoped for. The location is excellent, perfect as a base for exploring both North and South and the setting of the cottage is perfect, so beautiful and peaceful. The first thing that got me was the silence of an evening, as someone who lives in a busy city and works in London it was simply unreal. The cottage itself was very well equipped and everything we needed could be found with ease. The rooms were spacious and the whole place felt like a home from home. The only slight issue we had was that the cottage can get quite cold however there are supplementary plug-in heaters in each room that can turned on or set on a timer. Of an evening it was a case of firing up the log burner and this created a wonderful warm place to relax. I would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone thinking about a break in the Highlands; we are already planning our return visit for next year and may even take our summer holiday there instead of heading abroad (it really was that good!)

Norah Knox
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 18/10/2015
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous! The Lodge had everything you could want. It was very cosy too. The log burning fire had the whole place toasting. We hope to go back again the next chance we get.

Tom Bartran
Reviewed Wildwood on 16/10/2015
And awarded it


We loved our stay at Wildwood. Peaceful setting, close but not too close to Fort Augustus. Clean and pleasant cabin. Would definitely recommend.

Andrew & Kay
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/10/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic week staying at Leachachan Barn. It's hard to imagine a nicer and more relaxing place to stay. The accomadation was everything we expected it to be from reading previous reviews. A credit to the owners.

Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/10/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Enjoyable and relaxing cottage in a peaceful loaction. Great facilities and comfortable.

Jane Crichton
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The many bends and dips of a road to nowhere lead you to White-Tail Croft. What awaits you makes every twist and turn worthwhile. The house is furnished and equipped to the highest standards, meeting every need. The focus is on quality and comfort to ensure visitors can enjoy all home comforts while experiencing the raw beauty of the Skye landscape. The croft is indeed located in a wilderness that contains a range of wildlife and scenery that changes almost by the hour. This is the perfect location to unwind and relax and also a good base to explore other places on Skye. We stayed at WTC last summer and were impatient to return this autumn. We enjoyed our visit immensely and our only gripe is that our time there passed by far too quickly.

Jan Brown
Reviewed Balmachree on 13/10/2015
And awarded it


Just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at the property with family and 3 dogs. Balmacree is a home from home with wonderful surrounding countryside. Had a great time. Only criticism is there was no inventory that we could find to report glass damage to glass door and worktop marks on arrival. Would definitely recommend though.