Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1001 to 1050 of 2523


Stephen Broadley
Reviewed Charleston on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

3rd stay at this superb holiday home.will be returning in 2016.

IAN EVANS
Reviewed Glen View on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Peter D.
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Lovely cottage which we can just fully recommend! We had wonderful days there, not missing a single thing. Very cozy done up with a lovely garden. If we travel to that area again, Hill Head Croft will be our first choice!

Susan & Bruce
Reviewed South Lodge on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

We had a wonderful time at South Lodge in July. The cottage was beautifully furnished and very well equipped. The surrounding countryside was peaceful and tranquil and we saw plenty of wild life. It was yards from the loch and our Newfoundland had a ball swimming. We enjoyed walking in the local area and had a very relaxing holiday. The wood burning stove was a bonus and we really appreciated a warm fire in the evenings as it was a bit chilly at night. We would recommend the cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all!

Fraser Davidson
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Great stay in this lovely house, would come back to stay in a heartbeat. Clean and fresh, with easy to use appliances with clear operating instructions, information for surrounding area and excellent facilities for our two Labradors. With Inverness only a 15 min drive north and Aviemore a 30 min drive south, it is a great base for exploring the highlands and beyond. Lovely views from the house, nice and quiet but only 5 miles from the A9, our whole family loved it, if you get the chance give this one a try ????

Rachel Coxon
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely fantastic property, the scenery and wildlife is breathtaking and the owners have thought of every last possible thing to make you feel right at home. We didn't want to leave! Thanks again!

Marnie
Reviewed An Acail on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

An Acail

James & Friends
Reviewed Glen View on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

James & Friends
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

Good location for exploring Highlands and everyone we met there very friendly. Plenty of parking space for more than 2 vehicles when needed However, cottage would benefit from some additions. It has been modernized with good quality wooden doors and furniture throughout and comfortable beds. However, there are no wardrobes, only coat hangers on hooks behind bedroom doors. Also nowhere to hang wet towels, even in family bathroom. Its own washing machine would also be beneficial as it is not always convenient to go to the Castle to use one there when Castle is being occupied.

Elizabeth Harker
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage. We felt so welcome there with the milk, water and wine in the fridge and biscuits and treats in the cupboard. We have already recommended Cedar Cottage to various friends.

Christine Horton
Reviewed Whitestone on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Whitestone

Whitestone is a very comfortable house with everything you need for a nice relaxed holiday. Lovely well equipped kitchen/dining room, cosy sitting room with wood/coal burning stove, T.V. etc., comfortable settees. We bought coal and kindling wood and lit a fire every evening, weather was dry but cool. Modern bathroom with shower over bath. Beds comfortable. Outside is a small garden and sunny court yard, a pine marten came visiting one evening. We enjoyed the holiday and visited nearby castles, also RSPB reserve at Loch Garten, saw the ospreys. Ballindalloch castle just up the road was lovely, beautiful house and gardens and river walk. Would recommend Whitestone.

Julie O
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed -apart from a pair of scissors in the kitchen. Although it was generally clean it could do with a repaint & the bathroom could do with updating. Otherwise we had a lovely stay.

Connie
Reviewed Jura on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Jura

Charming cottage, friendly neighbours and stunning views, but the roads are not for the faint-hearted. If you like it remote and are a fearless driver, this is a great place to stay.

WILLIAM WATTERS
Reviewed Balmachree on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

The accommodation at Balmachree, Whitebridge was an excellent choice for visiting the Loch Ness area, near to Foyers and Fort Augustus, the house was a large 4 double bedroom property and suitable for our three generational family holiday and our four legged friends (3) two large and one small and can highly recommend this cottage to anyone wishing a holiday in "the wilderness" of the Highlands of Scotland.

The MacDonald Clan
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Can't recommend this location and indeed this apartment highly enough!! We arrived in the afternoon, parking couldn't have been close enough and we were given a friendly guided tour of the site before being shown up to the apartment. The apartment itself was immaculate, light and airy with great views across the grounds to the hills. There were plenty of board games for us to play with, well equipped kitchen, even wine, milk, biscuits and tea and coffee ready for us to use! The grounds and other facilities are amazing - but book in advance for the pool - and the billiard room was stunning. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better and all agree that this was our best holiday ever! Even managed a trip to Skye, easily within a day's drive. So thank you for a wonderful apartment, and to anyone else, don't hesitate to book!

Steven Johnstone
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/08/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a lovely week in a beautiful, peaceful location. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. It is extremely dog friendly with our dog, Harris, needing a rest when we got home from all the terrific walks we enjoyed right from the doorstep, Harris loved snoozing in front of the log burner in the afternoon after a long morning walk and so did we! The garden is great for dogs and would be fantastic for children too. There were lots of things to do in the local area and slightly further afield especially if you like wildlife and the outdoors. Jenny was a great hostess, ensuring we were settled in well and was very generous with her local knowledge of the estate which enhanced our stay. We will be recommending the cottage to our friends and family and will be back in the future.

Stuart Robinson
Reviewed Coach House on 09/08/2015
And awarded it

Coach House

Jackie Warren
Reviewed Sealight on 06/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Just........WOW. A FABULOUS holiday home, with all the trappings you could POSSIBLY want for a luxurious stay in a peaceful and beautiful area of Scotland. Kitchen had just about everything imaginable (AND some!), living areas were to die for (my favourite 'bit' was the sun room; my other half just loved the reading area on the mezzanine) and the beds were comfy and warm ( a little TOO warm, we found....... beautifully luxurious duvets!). This would NOT be the place for anyone seeking 'nightlife' - but it was perfect for us as a 50-something couple, looking to 'get away from it all' and treat ourselves to a little luxury. LOADS of room for parking car(s); lockable area for bikes; decking area across the full width of the back of the house, overlooking the loch and hills on the far side. I literally can't find anything to fault (unless there's a miracle cure for midges.......they DID mean that it was tricky to have windows open or sit outside in the evening - but we accepted this would be a problem in deciding to book here in the first place!) Thank you to the owners for sharing their holiday home with us - we had a wonderful holiday and would LOVE to come back! (LOADS of pics taken - but no facility to upload them here)

Ali & Alan Willis
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/07/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a wonderful week in the cottage. Its spotlessly clean & comfortable. Views spectacular. Bird table had lots of visitors and fat balls were "stolen" each night we suppose by the pine martens. We did some low level walks and hubby did 3 munro's. Also biked the "road to nowhere", views awesome! Audrey was amazing and went out of her way to make our stay lovely. I even had a glass of bubbly at her cottage, what a lovely lady! Note:Be sure to buy some "Smidge the midge" as midge's are nasty!

Shelley Hudson
Reviewed Franks on 22/07/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Mrs Hazel Wright
Reviewed Franks on 21/07/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Mark Jackson Duxbury
Reviewed Laracks on 20/07/2015
And awarded it

Laracks

Samantha Brown
Reviewed Glen View on 19/07/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Steve Baker
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/07/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just returned from a wonderful week at Seascape. We were met on arrival by the owners who were very helpful. The cottage was lovely, clean, and had everything we could think of - particularly for my nonagenarian mother. Wonderful view across to Northern Ireland with ferries passing at regular intervals! Highly recommended.

Bell
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/07/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

An excellent cottage, very well appointed ,set in quiet countryside with stunning coastal views. Very helpful, discreet hosts. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Carol Mulraney
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 11/07/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just back from a wonderful week at Cullochy Lock. The cottage was lovely, clean, and had everything we could think of (apart from binoculars - take a pair!). The rooms were clean and all was in good repair. The lock keeper and the locals were friendly, and always happy to have a wee blether. The local area is very interesting and there is lots to do for all ages. My kids spent a lot of time getting wet!

Craig Backham
Reviewed Giusaichean on 30/06/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Ian & Anna Gillespie
Reviewed Mealishal on 27/06/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Elizabeth & George
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 24/06/2015
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

The comfort of Cluny Croft was particularly welcome as we arrived on a chilly wet afternoon. The log fire and cosy sofas were well used during a week of uncertain weather. The spacious and well-equipped kitchen, like the living room, has good views over the garden to the Spey valley. Wildlife watching with breakfast! The location allows for longer expeditions into the Cairngorms, but also many enjoyable walks in the lower glens. A cottage we'll return to.

Trish
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 20/06/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed here in early June and were given a very warm welcome by Donnie who greeted us with homemade scones and jam - a lovely treat! There are insufficient superlatives for this cottage -it was spotlessly clean, very well-furnished, fully equipped and every little detail was catered for, which helped in making it a very relaxing holiday. Beech Lodge is privately positioned with wonderful views and in an excellent location for exploring the Highlands in all directions. Don't wait, book now!

Ute Scherrenbacher
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 20/06/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Brenna Musial
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 20/06/2015
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Me and my fiance Garret stayed at Cameron's Cottage on our trip to Scotland through the Highlands and it was by far the highlight of our trip. Morag was a delightful host and we stayed an extra night because of how lovely the cottage and surrounding area was! We could not have had a better experience and cannot wait to go back. I would recommend this to anyone travelling through Scotland, even if it means going out of your way!

Eric & Helen Russell
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 19/06/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Helen and Eric, thank you for your review, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your third visit and we look forward to welcolming you back soon.
Dave McKay
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 13/06/2015
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Sylvia
Reviewed Glenara on 07/06/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

Just had a week in this lovely cottage. Very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Owner was worried about stairs for my 91 y.o. Mother but hand rails on both sides of stairs made it easy for her. Really enjoyed our time there

Henry Moran
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 07/06/2015
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We loved our stay at Hill cottage. It does feel remote - no mobile phone signal, no tv network coverage (there is a tv for DVD's and VHS) and no internet connection but all that means is there is nothing to distract from the most amazing views from the new conservatory. The amount of wildlife we saw just from the house was incredible and the surrounding area has some great walking, beautiful places to explore and some really good places to eat. Would definitely recommend this cottage

Judith Etheridge
Reviewed Askival on 06/06/2015
And awarded it

Askival

It said as it did in the book. Yep it's remote, you need a strong car to manage the roads. But just great. Nearest shop 15 mins away. We got all ours in Fort William before we did the last part of the trip. Everything you would have at home was there. We are already booked up for next year. We saw our 1st otter on our last day at 04.15.

Lee Mellor
Reviewed Franks on 02/06/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Tyne
Reviewed Callakille on 01/06/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Still overwhelmed by the beauty of the cottage and the surrounding. Amazing views over the minch to Raasay and Skye. Could spend the rest of all days on earth just sitting on the bench outside - I literally stopped breathing there. And the rest of all days in universe I'd spend in that fantastic bathroom with it's beautiful Victorian bath tub! Stunning place, romantic couples would love it, too - I was completely on my own and did not miss a thing - but now I do... I miss Callakille

Jane Moore
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/06/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Just come back from fantastic week in this lovely spacious modern home-missing it and the incredible views out the back already. Couldn't wish for a more cosy environment with the under floor heating and wood burning stove to warm up to after a day's walking. Great to be able to drop down the rocks further down from the house and have morning walks down to the local jetty and watch the seals playing. Cannot recommend highly enough.

HEATHER WATSON
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 27/05/2015
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

Spent a fantastic week at Shepherd's Cottage this month. What a beautiful setting. The cottage itself is superb with first class facilities. The surrounding countryside is breath taking with an abundance of wildlife. We took our two dogs who happily dried off in the utility area before entering the cottage. They loved the large garden and surrounding walks. This is one of the best cottages we have stayed in and will definitely return (availability permitting). Highly recommend.

Marilyn Wilkie
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/05/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We spent a really relaxing week in this very comfortable, beautifully clean cottage enjoying the views of the sea. The owners, who live nearby are helpful and very respectful of your privacy. A really enjoyable holiday

Kim Vernon
Reviewed Ardrannach on 26/05/2015
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Second trip to this cottage and just as lovely as last time. The picture window in the lounge is the thing that makes this cottage so special, we spent a lot of time just looking out of the window, watching the bunnies and the scenery. It's also really well located, walkable to Portree over fields and drivable in ten mins and yet feels like the wilderness. Perfect.

Rene Carrons
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 21/05/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Cottage modern warm and welcoming after a short drive from Portree. Road to croft needs a bit of maintenance. Croft itself was done in very good taste and was very clean. wonderful to see wildlife from the large window in the kitchen/diner. From a white tail eagle, golden eagles, buzzards etc to red deer. Just as well I had my own binoculars only thing missing at croft. would recommend this croft to all. Great weeks break.

David Littlejohn
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 20/05/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We spent a wonderful week in April at Tigh-na-Craobh with wall to wall sunshine, great food and great friends. The house is perfectly located in beautiful Braes, close enough to Portree for essential supplies but far enough away to enjoy great mountain and coast views. The house is nicely designed; and simply decorated and furnished in a contemporary style. We particularly liked the open plan kitchen/living room. Will definitely rent again at some point in the, hopefully, near future.

Tanja & Sandro
Reviewed An Slinnean on 19/05/2015
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Ria Ball
Reviewed Callakille on 08/05/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Such a beautiful, cosy cottage in the most stunning location. We have stayed twice now and can't wait to return again.

Jan Greenway
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 04/05/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Stunning location with wonderful views. Very well equipped property and was spacious enough for our party of 5. This is the cleanest property I have stayed in over the last seven years of holidays in Scotland. Even the Wi-Fi worked very well. You can see plenty from the property and within short walking distance. We saw Sea Eagles and Seals. We boarded the Ferry to Loch Maddie which was lovely as we saw Otters and Dolphins on route. This is our first holiday on Skye which was truly lovely.

Steven Fenton
Reviewed Balmachree on 30/04/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

Stayed here in July 2014. 4 adults, 1 infant, 3 dogs and there felt like there was space for much more! We were so lucky with the weather the week we stayed but even if it wasn't so nice it wouldn't have mattered as the property is perfect and located close to Fort Augustus and the local hotel serves decent food! My little girl & all the dogs loved the massive garden space, genuinely a great property!

Lorna Dudley
Reviewed Charleston on 29/04/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent and beautiful house. Cannot fault anything. The welcome hamper and fresh flowers was much appreciated