Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1801 to 1850 of 2775


Jules & Nathan Hutchinson
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/01/2012
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We have been to Marnie's Croft many times over the past 8 years. Totally love going to stay there, and hope to for many more years. Even with a 4x4, we still struggled too get up and down the hill. However this did not spoil our holiday at all, but gave us a little more excercise. Only thing I would love to change, is the dog policy, as we have 2 dogs and they would love it there. Could never tire of looking at the view, and watching for the deer in the woods. If you have never been, you must go.

Mr Stewart
Reviewed Drovers on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Drovers

Debbie & Julian
Reviewed Old Stables on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Old Stables

An amazing house which is equipped for everything you may need or require for a very comfortable holiday house. Trips to Inverness on the rainy days then walking in Glen Affric on the better ones.

David Barrett
Reviewed Station Cottage on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Station Cottage

24/12/11-28/12/11 David We had a great time. Very cosy and set in beautiful surroundings. Plenty of walks for the dog, and safe areas to run. The local butcher has fantastic veggie sausages!

30/12/2011 Martin & Sue Fisher
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 29/12/2011
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

We have just had the privilege of being the very first guests and what a fantastic time we had. The property and location can only be described as 5 star. Sympathetically renovated to an exceptionally high standard, the cottage wants for nothing. You can be assured of a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Plenty of walks in and around the area whether it be to see the beautiful Falls of Foyers or off the beaton track through the many surrounding forests and all on the doorstep!

Craig
Reviewed Mealishal on 06/12/2011
And awarded it

Mealishal

Tim + Deborah Martin
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 01/12/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Simply glorious. Cottage is abundantly well-provided, only a few yards from the outstanding Applecross Inn and in a staggeringly beautiful setting. Two aspects made our stay so memorable - doggy heaven for our two cocker spaniels, from Bonios on arrival to beach and hillside walks; and the weather in November - dry, warm and clear. A must to return, to enjoy the solitude and grandeur of the area.

Donald & Margaret Miller
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/11/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Stayed end October 2011. Our first stay in a log home and this is the best we have seen. Beautifully furnished and fully equipped. Really is just 10 minutes walk from the village with just one short steepish hill en route, and lots of nice walks close by. Dogs loved it. One word of warning look out for the woodburner. On our first night after an hour we had to open the french doors and windows to let the heat out. We then limited ourselves to 3 logs at once. Boathouse Restaurant was lovely.

Paula McDowall
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 29/11/2011
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

Mr & Mrs Preece
Reviewed Balmachree on 25/11/2011
And awarded it

Balmachree

our long weekend break at Balmachree was excellent, the cottage was very nice/clean and comfortable in a very quiet area, our 2 dogs loved the freedom in the large garden, the pub served excellent food and was very welcoming. The only issue was the wood burner that must have had a blockage in the flue as it filled the living room with smoke.

John Audrey Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 23/11/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

our second visit this year this cottage has set a standard that no other we have used over many years can come close to if you want peace, great views, walks from the door, and a 5 star rated cottage look no farther we leave it again with a tear in our eye but we will return as soon as possible.

Anna Blackwood
Reviewed Christies on 20/11/2011
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is a lovely cosy cottage in Scourie, which is a good base for exploring the stunning North West. We had fantastic weather in November which ment no excuses for not getting out there and doing lots of walking and exploring this fantastic area.

Corrie
Reviewed Stac Polly on 15/11/2011
And awarded it

Stac Polly

We have just returned from a truly wonderful weekend away at Achultibuie. Stac Polly is definitely 5 star with every mod con available, hot tub, sauna, surround sound music system, WiFi etc. We had good weather, big blue skies and glorious sunsets not what we expected in November. The views over the Summer Isles from the large windows in the lounge are just stunning. The hot tub was a firm favourite, as was the sauna, great time was had by us all and we hope to return next year. We highly recommend Stac Polly and would like to thank the owners who have made this a very special place, well done!

Lynne Leaver
Reviewed Charleston on 14/11/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

Once again we had another great relaxing holiday. Wonderful views, walks all around. Everyone of us enjoyed the stay even the power cut was exciting! Even our labradoodles chilled out after their walks!! We have already booked for next year .... can't wait. Not telling anyone how good it is or we'll never get booked again.

Marion Clifford
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 14/11/2011
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

a fantastic cottage we went with friends to escape guy fawkes night and it was perfect a traditional cottage with a contempory twist all the amenenities just a short drive away hea ting superb 2 log burners in the sitting/dining room spotless clean this is the standard all holiday cottages should be

Corina Dawson
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 10/11/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Elizabeth Newell
Reviewed Coach House on 10/11/2011
And awarded it

Coach House

Debra Swann
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 09/11/2011
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

A lovely cottage on a quiet farm track with fabulous views of the Irish Sea. We were grateful to be able to take our two dogs on holiday with us, the labrador loved swimming in the beautiful bays nearby and the springer spaniel cleared up a few straying partridge for the local shoot! Well equipped cottage with two log burners that were not really required due to the excellent central heating. We were grateful for the provisions left in the fridge and fresh flowers.

Nick Andrews
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 08/11/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

An absolutely beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. Extremely well equipped, wonderfully remote without being too remote and the perfect place from which to begin adventures in the mountains of Kintail, Skye and Torridon. I fully intend to return.

Stuart Elsweiler
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 06/11/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We really enjoyed our stay in Katie's Cottage. The cottage was even more beautiful in real life. It was so well equipped and had everything that we needed. The wood burning stove kept us and our little dog cosy on the cold October evenings and made the cottage feel like a home from home. The village of Glendale was about a mile from the cottage and the local shop had everything you might need and more. We would definitely return to Katie's Cottage.

Ian Chadwick
Reviewed Glenara on 01/11/2011
And awarded it

Glenara

We really enjoyed our stay in this cozy little cottage. It was just as described and lovely and clean. The cottage is only stone's throw from the locks on the Caledonian canal and has a beautiful view from the back garden - which in itself is lovely. The kitchen has everything you need if cooking on holiday. I agree that the shower is a little awkward but not a great problem. Handy for local eateries, but be warned, I we thought they were a bit pricey. In all though, a great place to stay!

Bianca Jackson
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 01/11/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Graham Simpson
Reviewed Cuilfail on 01/11/2011
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Cuifail was a great place to stay, pretty much home from home! The garden was great for our two Hungarian Vizsla pups and little boy aged 6. A good base for exploring the highlands and high spec accomodation. We hope to return next year to further enjoy Whitebridge and the surrounding area.

Jason & Lynsey Waterson
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 31/10/2011
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

No 8 was only one of a few cottages which allowed dogs which was our main critera however the cottage is also very well equiped inc sky & wifi, almost like a home from home,it was very clean and everything was provided(towels,linen,wood for the fire....etc) it had everything we needed and was an excellent base for exploring the area with the dog(some very good walks only a short car journey), this cottage is highly recommended, I think we will go back next year(something we never do).

Nick Andrews
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 30/10/2011
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

An absolutely beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. I am a keen walker and this cosy cottage was perfectly situated for the mountains around Glen Sheil, Skye and Torridon. The cottage was well equipped with comfortable beds, a perfect kitchen and an unlimited supply of fire wood and coal. I will definately be booking again.

Kirsty Walker
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 28/10/2011
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Elaine Laing
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 27/10/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We were bowled over by the beautiful Lock Keeper's Cottage. The house has been renovated to a lovely standard and is in such an idyllic location. Derek the Lock Keeper is invaluable with local knowledge - he really made our holiday! The open fire was a huge draw and we got through a few packets of marshmallows during our week there! We can't recommend this property highly enough. Thank you

Madeleine Clark
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 27/10/2011
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Mark
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 26/10/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Huge, modern, clean, lovely views, all creature comforts, great big beds and indeed a home away from home. Such a shame there was so much to do we didn't get to enjoy the appartment more. Games room was nice and the abbey itself a lovely place to wander around in. I spent quite some time admiring the gargoyles in the courtyard. Indeed a shame that the pool wasn't finished yet (November?) But we recommend it highly and will come back.

Kelly Shenton
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/10/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Absolutely beautiful! Lovely, well maintained cottage. Little touches like the tea, coffee, milk and biscuits on arrival are lovely. It is dog friendly but you'd never guess that dogs had previously stayed as it was so clean and not at all 'doggy'. Wonderful area - Glenn Affric is a must see and Beauly is a lovely little village shopping area. I'd definitely recommend.

John & Marie Bates
Reviewed River Cottage on 26/10/2011
And awarded it

River Cottage

We visited River Cottage at Drumnadrochit in Mid October 2011. The owners were most welcoming and helpful. Although the weather was mixed, the Cottage was easy to keep warm and a welcome cosy retreat to rest and recover from our various excursions. It was a good central location to visit very picturesque scenery (almost every where) and beaches (Dornoch or Findhorn in particular) as well as having excellent walking areas close by. There are many good places to eat nearby.

Aidan Meehan
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 21/10/2011
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

Very well equiped cottage and ideally situated to explore Inverness and surrounding area. Will return in future

Dianne & Robert Dando
Reviewed Charleston on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

15th October 2011 Just returned from our 2nd stay this year at Charleston. Best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Fantastic views and plenty of wildlife to view. We love this area of Scotland and look forward to returning next year.

T Bird
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

What a fantastic apartment, equipped and decorated to a very high standard. Stunning views to wake up to over the grounds towards the caledonian canal, or to your right you have the magnificent Loch Ness. We had a great week; Fort Augustus is an ideal place to stay and Old School 10 felt like home from home. The complementary wine and shortbread went down very well. Only regret was the pool wasn't finished. Maybe next time! Highly recommended.

Susan Rowe
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We stayed in Taigh Druim during the second week of October. Lots of rain and strong winds but, we were also able to sit outside in the sun with a cup of coffee! Fantastic views, a wonderful property that was beautifully warm and would definitely go back.

Christine Jack
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Enjoyed a lovely stay here. The owners were lovely and were there to help if we needed anything. Location was close enough to village but far enough away to feel secluded. The lodge itself inside and out was immaculate there has been great care and attention to detail. The bottle of milk and wine was a lovely personal touch. We had our 2 dogs with us and it's great they allow this, they could explore the wooded area around the lodge in our full view. Definitely returning for a visit nxt yr.

David Macmillan
Reviewed Achnahanat on 18/10/2011
And awarded it

Achnahanat

Sandra Orrock
Reviewed Balmachree on 17/10/2011
And awarded it

Balmachree

My Son his family, my husband, myself, plus 3 dogs had a week at Balmachree. The weather was not favourable but we had a brilliant chill out week. The Cottage was clean and very well equiped. We also managed to get Tesco's to deliver food etc. which I ordered the week before online. The children and dog's loved the huge garden and the river at the bottom of the garden. We hope to be back at a later date.

Kay McCulloch
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 16/10/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage, Applecross..... We found this cottage to be comfortable, warm and cosy on some of the bad weather days we experienced. The kitchen and dining room were very well-equipped...I would have left a lot at home had I known what the cupboards contained. Its close proximity to the Inn was great and overall we enjoyed our stay.. The Applecross Inn's amazing menu was superb.........Excellent

Sue Watts
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 16/10/2011
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We had a lovley week in this well equipped cottage in a very quiet and peaceful location. The fenced front garden was a great asset and peace of mind while our dogs sat and watched the sheep over the fence. Thank you to John and Dorothy for making it so comfortable and for the extra logs for the wood burner which worked a treat after some long walks in the stunning surroundings. John and Sue

Carolyn Mercer
Reviewed Charleston on 16/10/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

1 - 8 October 2011: Carolyn, Ann, Chris and Dave together with 'Megan' [a Cocker] and Mason [a King Charles] An outstandingly spacious house and well kept house. The 360 degree views are stunning and the area is beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a better location and place to stay. Thank you!

K&P Mendoza
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 10/10/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

We stayed 7 days in Old Abbey 10 what a fantastic time we had. The quality of the apartment was outstanding. The only drawback was that we were a party of 4 adults one being my mother in law who is aged in her 70's unfortunately we did not pickup that the main bathroom only had a bath no shower. Whilst this did not create any issues it did mean we were having to use the master bedroom bathroom only almost making the main bathroom somewhat redundant. Other than that all was fantastic.

Kirsten Webber
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 07/10/2011
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We loved our stay at Cuaig - lovely cottage and very warm (sometimes too warm!) thanks to the Aga. The surrounding landscape is stunning - very similar to our New Zealand South Island. I loved having the sheep so close and the way they and the Highland cattle are pretty much roaming free. Local food was very good especially the Haggis at Applecross Inn. My only complaint was having to bring our own towels (all the way from NZ!!) and no bedding/mattress for the baby cot.

Penny Hawes
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 05/10/2011
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Unfortunately the weather spoiled what would have been an excellent stay at Cuaig Croft...only one good day out of seven ! A very comfortable cottage, beautifully furnished. I wish I'd had more time and ingredients to play with the Aga, but we flew to Scotland so didn't have all the usual stuff I cart away on holiday.

Penny Hawes
Reviewed Log House on 05/10/2011
And awarded it

Log House

A week spent in The Log House at Fort Augustus would have been perfect if the weather had been better ! A lovely property, tastefully furnished and in an interesting setting. Birds and animals in all directions.

Frans & Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 04/10/2011
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We stay 1 week in the cottage from september 24th till october 1st 2011 and we had a wonderful time. The cottage lies very nice and is very well equipped. The views are magnificent. The weather was not very good, many rain, but we make many walks and see a lot. 1 week is too short and we will certain come back, but then longer. Our dog Njord loves the place very much.

Debi Thomas
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/10/2011
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

The cottage is lovely and cozy, especially with the real fire. The location is absolutely amazing, sunsets, sunrises, and the week we were there 24 sep to 1 Oct was a private beach, no one but us as our 2 dogs. Would revisit. This is our 2nd holiday with Wilderness Cottages and we have already booked again for 2012 to the highlands. Highly recommend this company.

Martyn Wright
Reviewed Hollybank on 04/10/2011
And awarded it

Hollybank

Susan Luxford
Reviewed Chapel House on 04/10/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

Sheila Adamson
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/10/2011
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

17th September2011 We rent a different cottage on the west coast every year and this is the best and we will be back. The views of the mountains and the view out to sea are trully remarkable. The cottage is just so perfect. I shed a tear as I left. What a stunning part of Scotland.