Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3733

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3733 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


The Catts
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/10/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage was the perfect escape for us. Lovely cottage and so close to the sea. The weather was kind for most of our stay and we were able to walk everday. Thank you to Chas and Jane for everything.

Anne Wyllie
Reviewed Christies on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Christies

Christie's was a delightful cottage. Very cosy and homely. The accommodation catered for our every need and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Holger
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

We had a very enjoyable week at Eilean Mor Cottage and can definitively strongly recommend it. Most important Pros: + Booking, assistance, organization by wilderness cottages and locally (e.g. key) was exemplary + Location of cottage was very good + Facilities in the cottages: bedrooms, kitchen, living room and conservatory very good, all rooms are nicely furnished, everything there you need (especially the conservatory was much appreciated at rainy days) The only real Con: -The drain of the whole bathroom is very weak. We tried to be careful, but nevertheless quite often it just did not work properly. Especially in the shower the water was sometimes raising very quickly that you'd fear that it will run over before you can finish (luckly, it did not happen).

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Holger, thank you for your review and feedback. Please note, if you had you reported the problem with the drain during your stay, we could have had this looked at and rectified immediately, rather than reporting it after your stay.
F Gordon
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage is an amazing place, the cottage is in the middle of a forest, very secluded and very special. Loads of great walks, heaven for dogs. Forres is only 4 miles away (10mins) and it is also a great place with lots to do and see.

Caroline & Andy Sara
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Absolutely fabulous, miss it already! The beach was perfect in ALL weathers and we only encountered the neighbouring cows once..on the beach! We kept the gates firmly closed hence never met them in the garden itself. Definitely recommend the walk from Killingtrane Lighthouse to Port Patrick, we also walked from the cottage up through the farm, over the road past the Labrador cottage sign, all the way past Lochnaw Castle and to Leswalt. Only downside? We are definitely used to a bigger bed and duvet haha.. Would definitely like to return and have recommended it to all our family and friends :-) P.S we arrived at midnight, in a storm, in a low slung car and still managed to negotiate the bumpy road so the advice to take a 4x4 is a very feasible one but it can be done in a 'normal' car..just be careful!

Bernd Graller
Reviewed Cala on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Cala

Amazing architecture, extraordinary location, highest recommendation.

Terry Hanney
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Spacious and homely cottage. Great views and very comfortable place to relax and watch the birds and the deer. Driveway from the road is a little demanding but doable if you take care. Property is well stocked with all the essentials you need. You actually don't need too leave the place if you just want to chill out and take in the Loch.

Julia Walters
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Lovely cottage, cosy, warm and comfortable, in a wonderful setting. We were sad to leave and would definitely be happy to return one day.

Michelle (York)
Reviewed Jura on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Jura

An amazing place to get away from it all! Gorgeous view and quiet, friendly location. We went with a supply of logs for the open fire which we enjoyed lighting each evening. The cottage is well equipped. There's no central heating but ample plug in heaters and easy to warm up. Two of us stayed here but there's plenty of room for 4-5 people. Being in a very remote hamlet on the west coast the cottage is a little dated. You need to remember to flick the water heater on half hour before having a shower. The shower isn't the most powerful but it does the job. Lots of appliances, microwave, freezer, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine etc. No shortage of cutlery, glasses, plates and basic things like bin bags, cling film, candles are all there. Jura Cottage was just like the photos. We had a disappointing week weather wise but everything we needed in the cottage. Lots of magazines and local information leaflets, board games, books etc. A lovely retreat from day to day life.

Raymondo.
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

This property delivers what it promises, you just fall through the door and everything is simple to get along with. The views over to the Isles and Loch Gairloch are simply amazing. The town is well stocked too if you don't want to go too far and Tesco will even deliver your groceries.

Frans En Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/10/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We stay for the 3rd time 1 week in Poulary. We had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and well equipped. The view was spectacular but we think the that the bushes must be cut quickly to keep the view.

Frans En Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Heatherbank on 13/10/2019
And awarded it

Heatherbank

We had a wonderful week in Heatherbank. First a bottle of wine and a bone for the dog as welcome. Thank you for it. The cottage was cosy and very comfortable and very clean. The views on the surrounding spectacular! We feel like home and 1 week was too short. Ghillie our dog like the big garden and the weather was good. We certainly will come back.

Simon Wilson
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 12/10/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Another great 2 weeks at Plodda and have booked again for 2020 and 2021. Great welcome from Jenny who is such a fabulous person. Plodda has everything that you could want and the wildlife was brilliant. Over our 2 weeks we saw the the following in and around Plodda and Cannich - 3 red squirrels, birds of prey, a Doe and Stag not to mention various birds such as woodpeckers, finches and the like. If you want to get away for peace and quiet this is the perfect place

E Shephard
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/10/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Excellent cottage beautiful setting and lovely welcome.

Wendy Mothershaw
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

WOW what a fabulous place to stay we absolutely loved it. Yes we could make changes to the lay out but in no way did it spoil our holiday. Loved the large windows, loved the views, loved the settees and the log burner. Loved the fact we could control the warmth level and loved the fact the barn was well equipped ... We really really really didn't want to leave. If you want a place to stay for a week or two that's offers splendid views with loads of comfort with easy access to soooo many place This is the Place for You.

L Smith
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

My husband and I just returned from undoubtedly the best holiday we've ever been on! We live in Germany and drove to Skye for a week of peaceful respite at Eilean Mor Cottage. Let me begin with the negatives so we end on a positive note. The directions as to the drive way when first arriving are very confusing. From the street there in a sign Eilean Mor Cottage, and two drives. Both marked No. 16. They say you start on a paved drive then you must take the unpaved drive to the right. When driving in there is long lovely paved drive to two cottages one life and one right the top, unfortunately neither are Eilean Mor Cottage. Once we were at the top the neighbour told us we had to drive back down almost to the street and the unpaved tractor road to the right was our drive. Very confusing. A better marked sign would help. Although rough, the windy drive was drivable. Don't know about really wet or snowy weather. Once past the gate there is firm gravel. When we got out of the car, we looked back at what should have been a fantastic view, only to be met with an overgrown hedge and trees. Yes, you could see the loch a bit through the bushes and trees and off to the side, but I got my best picture by standing on the picnic table in order to see over the overgrowth. If I had been able to get my hands on some garden shears, the hedge would have had a hair cut, but unfortunately all storage areas were locked. Such a shame, because even once in the conservatory, only 50% of the gorgeous view was blocked by the unkept garden. The fact that the only toilet in the house was upstairs was a bit of a nuisance, but we could live with that. The cottage was advertised as being 100 metres from the shore. It was 100 metres to the street and another 100 metres to the shore. The problem is, all the shore properties are private, so there is no immediate way to walk to the waterfront. That was disappointing. The house directly below the cottage is for sale and no was living there, so I went through their property to the shore, but were someone to live there, that wouldn't be possible. The only other very negative comment about the house is the extreme musty oder in the downstairs bedroom. The musty smell in the dresser was so extreme that I left the drawers open the whole week hoping it would help. Unfortunately, all the clothes were musty smelling by the end of the week. The entire room was so musty smelling that even after a week of leaving the window open night and day, it didn't help. Throughout the entire house except for the upstairs bedroom they have natural wood flooring. For the living and bedroom, good idea, I'm sure they are cozy warm in cold weather. But natural wood floors in the kitchen and bathroom, especially when there are poorly sealed? It's looks OK now, but give it a year or two, and with constant use, they will have to be replaced or go black. If they insist on wood flooring in the kitchen and bathroom, then I suggest some throw carpets that can be washed. It will save your wood. OK, that's all for negatives. On the upside, the location is a dream. If the shrubs and trees were trimmed the view would be outstanding!! If you're not used to quiet, don't go there. You hear nothing! Only in the conservatory, you might hear the rain pattering on the roof. The stillness is soothing. The kitchen has everything you need ... Ok, the oven needed a good cleaning, but I didn't feel up to it. We ate most of our meals at the cottage and wanted for very little. The washer/dryer combo worked great!! The weather was cool but not terribly cold, so we didn't use the fireplace. We spent most of the time in the conservatory. Heating units worked very well. Wifi and TV were great, no problem. In all, inspite of the negative comments we both said this was by far the very best holiday we've been on. No doubt it was due to the fact that we had no schedule and decided from day to day what we wanted to do. Several days we said, "Let's go south," and we did, or "Let's go west", and we did. We discovered so many lovely hide-aways on this remarkable isle. Eilean Mor Cottage was a wonderful place to come home to after a day of exploration. It is a perfect place for a small family, or two couples who don't mind sharing a toilet and shower.

Alan &Denise Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great week at Lilybank. Once again thoroughly enjoyed our time at this great cottage and highly recommend Lilybank to either just chill around the cottage or use as a perfect base to explore the Highlands.. Already planning our trips for next year, especially after catching two salmon from the river Oich !! Thanks again for a great stay..

Richard
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Still a lovely house in a fantastic location but the house does need some money spending on it's internal fixtures and fittings to bring it up to scratch.

Gillian
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Absolutely wonderful little lodge! We stayed as a family of four adults for four nights. Communication from booking through to arrival was superb by both Wilderness Cottages and the lovely owners, Donnie and Jean. Donnie warmly greeted us on arrival and freshly baked scones were waiting. The location of the lodge with its large windows offered gorgeous views, sunrises and sunsets. It was warm and cosy inside, with everything we could have needed. There were good showers with plenty of hot water and very comfortable beds. Inverness and Beauly were within short driving distance. Overall we had a lovely stay, we hope to be back. Thanks to Donnie and Jean for all the thought and care they clearly put into making this little lodge a lovely home from home.

Nigel & Veronica Crowley
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We enjoyed a wonderful week in Seascape Cottage. It is well equipped and extremely comfortable. It has been built and maintained to a very high standard. The hosts were really helpful, non obtrusive but there if you needed them. The location is beautiful, very peaceful with scenic views what more could you ask for?

Rebecca
Reviewed Sealight on 07/10/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Wonderful cottage. We will be back.

Glenda McWhirter
Reviewed River Cottage on 07/10/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

River cottage exceeded all our expectations it had everything you needed and more . The bedroom was large with a very comfortable bed . The open plan kitchen /living room was spacious and the balcony with the view and sound of the river was beautiful . Set in a quiet location but handy for sightseeing . The nessie deli in drumnadrochit the food was fantastic especially the steak pie . Hope to return and would highly recommend river cottage.

Terri Skinner
Reviewed Aros Beag on 07/10/2019
And awarded it

Aros Beag

A warm, spacious, clean and comfortable cottage in a great location for many walks from the door. Some traffic noise from A82 if you sit outside. A great cottage but not quite so luxurious as their website suggests. We missed a basic welcome pack of milk, tea etc. Water pressure low so weak shower and long time needed to fill bath. Lovely in many ways and we had a really good holiday thank you.

Euan Courtney-Morgan
Reviewed Callakille on 07/10/2019
And awarded it

Callakille

Best place on earth! Thank you so much for sharing!

Henry Jones
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 07/10/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A wonderfully peaceful and remote stay with all the comforts you'd want. From plenty of hot water, comfortable beds and most unexpected, a fully functional and easy to use entertainment system. Warm, cosy with the best access to Highland and Skye hiking. Highly recommended.

Ian & Chloe
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 06/10/2019
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

We had a wonderful stay at Ardoch Bothy. It's a great place to stay if you are exploring Applecross and Torridon. Beautiful views from the Bothy as the sun rises and sets. We loved the peace and quiet. Alastair & Carol have done a wonderful job to make you feel at home.

LisaDD
Reviewed Station Cottage on 06/10/2019
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Beautiful little cottage. Very cosy. Loved all the nearby walks in Nethy Bridge along the river and in the woods and so close to so much more. The local shops and restaurants are also worth a visit. We stayed quite close to the cottage for our stay and enjoyed every minute.

Steve & Mandy
Reviewed South Lodge on 04/10/2019
And awarded it

South Lodge

This cottage and its location is simply, and effectively, good for the soul. This is our first visit to this utterly beautiful place and we booked to return next year within 7 days of arriving for this 2-week stay! The cottage is perfect for 2 people and a dog(s). We arrived to fresh flowers and delicious homemade shortbread. The cottage decor is lovely, the bed is comfortable, the kitchen has everything - including a cafetiere for those fresh brew coffee lovers - the Woodburner is perfect for a cosy night in and the under floor heating in the bathroom/toilet is a gold star moment! The view from the cottage and surrounding area is stunning with several walks directly from the cottage - and there are plenty of places to visit if you want to venture further afield. There's plenty of wildlife to look out for too. We saw seals, sea otters, badgers, deer, bats, herons beautiful garden/wild birds and, there was evidence of a pine marten - We didn't see this particular cheeky 'chap' but suet treats had been stolen from the bird table! Oh and let's not forget the pheasants that casually stroll past the cottage. The stars seem to be much brighter in the night sky from here too! We have started the countdown to next years stay already!

Fiona Brown
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 04/10/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had such a lovely week staying in Katie's Cottage on Skye. Perfect for our dog with a fully enclosed garden and hard floors throughout the Cottage. Beautiful scenery and the Red Roof cafe next door serves gorgeous soup and cake! The only thing I would say is the shower needed a clean and a pair of scissors would be helpful, we noticed this mentioned previously in the visitor book, but everything else was perfect. A very comfy bed, great oven and the Cottage was very cosy and warm. Lephin cafe down the road is dog friendly and serves very tasty paninis!

Gillian
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 03/10/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Lovely, cosy cottage with fabulous views. Well equipped, walking distance to hotel and shop. Good base for touring.

Clair
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 02/10/2019
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We thought the cottage was wonderful. The only complaint we had was the beds! They were soooo uncomfortable. I would definitely go back to the cottage. It has everything you need and there was a great amount of fuel for fire. Perfect place for a relaxing break.

David Wright
Reviewed Sixgeary on 01/10/2019
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Wonderful location for this well appointed cottage. Comfortable and clean with an excellent kitchen and shower room. Great views ideal for chilling and a relaxing break.

Pete & Helen Jones
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

The Smiddy is a wonderfully cosy and quirky retreat and we had a lovely relaxing stay there. It was filled with interesting features that reflected it's history as a working blacksmith's forge, and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners Dave and Pat. The Estate where the Smiddy is located is in some lovely countryside with access to walks. Beauly town, only a few miles away is charming with a lovely old ruined Abbey. The Smiddy is also well situated as a good base to take you further afield, and we enjoyed visiting Ullapool in the west, travelling south to Loch Ness where we visited the Falls of Foyers, and heading east to beautiful and atmospheric Cawdor Castle. We loved the Smiddy and would certainly go back to this charming cottage.

Alan &Denise Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great week at Lilybank. Once again thoroughly enjoyed our time at this great cottage and highly recommend Lilybank to either just chill around the cottage or use as a perfect base to explore the Highlands.. Already planning our trips for next year, especially after catching two salmon from the river Oich !! Thanks again for a great stay..

Jude M
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

We spent 2 weeks at Fon Tobar and I cant fault anything about this wonderful cottage. Beautifully maintained, well equipped and so very comfortable we were quite reluctant to leave!! The views were just wonderful. The dogs loved the vast garden and knowing it was enclosed and safe was peace of mind especially with sheep roaming around the area although the dogs were curious they never really took much notice of them. The weather wasnt that kind to us but it didnt stop our enjoyment. The little general shop in Glendale was a godsend for milk bread etc and the lady very friendly. Great location for a get away from it all holiday with many places to visit just a drive away - we especially loved the Eynort 6 mile forest walk took a picnic and sat at one of the picnic tables with beautiful views over the loch we never saw another person in the 4 hours we were there. The dogs loved Glenbrittle beach. We would definitely love to visit again.

Walker
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Nit picking, an excellent would be a 5 foot bed and new bedding but overall it is a very nice place.

Steve & Alison
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Great location near to Portree. The drive from the main road had some stunning views and there is a good coastal walk from the cottage to Portree. The cottage had a cosy living room. Excellent value for money catering for five. Kitchen was small but functional and perhaps needs a minor upgrade. But overall we really enjoyed our stay in this cottage

Mr. & Mrs. Murphy.
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Clean, comfortable and well equipped. A really peaceful location in a beautiful part of Scotland. Friendly owners "next door". Highly recommended.

Jane Horn
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The croft offered everything that we could have wished. Both accommodation and place were perfect !

Catherine Tucker
Reviewed Balmachree on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Balmachree

This is a lovely spacious house in a beautiful quiet location with a huge enclosed garden It was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds There were some down sides however , some of which have been pointed out by previous guests We use cottages several times a year and have become used to a welcome pack of basics Here there was a bottle of wine only The house is some miles on twisty roads from a shop so clients need to know to take milk bread coffee tea etc as nothing is provided....not even hand wash or soap or a new toilet roll Be warned! You need to bring everything you need The plumbing is really really noisy The noise and vibration when water was run was like an aircraft taking off! It was so bad during the night it would put us off returning which is a pity Electric kettle handle loose Hairdryer not working Radiator control in bedroom broken In summary ....it is a lovely house but it is in need of basic maintenance With a few basics for arrival and the above points remedied it would be perfect

Robbie Monaghan
Reviewed Log House on 30/09/2019
And awarded it

Log House

We had such a wonderful holiday at this beautiful cottage, the location of being close to Fort Augustus while retaining the beautiful isolation of being in the middle of a forest was ideal. We were without Internet for a couple of days but that was resolved, and it didn't spoil our experience. I would highly recommend the Log House, a lovely place to stay for your holiday

Sam Webster
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 29/09/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Me and my family were blown away by the beauty and tranquility of the cottage and it's setting. The house had fantastic facilities and the library was loved by my children. The owners were warm friendly and welcoming and full of local knowledge and fun things to do. We will defiantly be going back!

Kath Cunningham
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 27/09/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Wonderful location, lovely house, very friendly hostess.

Helen C
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 26/09/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Wonderful cottage, delightful remote location with lots of walking nearby. The cottage is really well equipped throughout. We loved the daily visits from the pine martin and hedgehogs. Just perfect.

Steve & Alison
Reviewed River Cottage on 26/09/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

Great cottage, perfect for 2 people and a dog. Very cosy and comfortable. Lovely kitchen area and all rooms were nicely decorated. We really liked the seating area by the river and the location of the cottage was great for exploring the area. Plenty to see and do nearby. Thanks to the owners for making us feel welcome.

Elaine Jackson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 24/09/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This was a jewel in Scotlands crown. We wanted a complete getaway and this is what we got. A beautiful house in a beautiful spot with everything we needed.

Karen Milburn
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 23/09/2019
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

Stunning! So quite and peaceful and the scenery is fabulous. Would have loved a dressing table with mirror but hey you can't have everything! The welcome basket was superb- loves the gin and tonic!

Diane W
Reviewed Christies on 23/09/2019
And awarded it

Christies

Great cosy cottage in a fantastic area. A brilliant location and wonderful view from the cottage.

Alun Fr
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 23/09/2019
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Positives: almost everything! The location is the most peaceful and tranquil you could wish for. Lovely hills around the back of the house and amazing sea view in front. The cottage is well-equipped, very cosy and comfortable with the Aga stove making it warm as toast. Negative: The only thing is the sofa. Oh dear, it really needs attention and some TLC. It was covered in lint, but worse the covers are heavily stained. I didn't need to use it, thankfully, as I lived in the warm and cosy kitchen mainly. But it needs looking at. In any case, I loved it here so much I tried to book an extra week but someone, some lucky person, beat me to it. I would definitely stay again and didn't want to leave.

Tanja, Leopold & Rainer
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 22/09/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What shall we say? We had an unimaginably great time in this really beautifully located, tastefully furnished and carefully cleaned cottage. Its secluded location and unique sea view are priceless! The landlords are incredibly nice and helpful. They even organised us a bike and a suitable lock so that we could explore the area without a car. All in all a perfect holiday!