Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3763

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3763 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Robin & Lesley
Reviewed Ardbeg on 08/12/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Of all the places we've been to and stayed around the world, Ardbeg scores very highly. Ardbeg is presented in an extremely tasteful and calming manner which suited our need to be able to chill out completely. Ardbeg is centred in an area which has an abundance of scenic walks and trails, suitable for all abilities. We were spoiled for choice, even our sprocker who celebrated his first birthday during our stay was in his element. Returning to Ardbeg after a long days walking was an absolute pleasure with all our needs more than catered for. Our sincere thanks to the owners of Ardbeg for a truly wonderful cottage.

Ann Davis
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 08/12/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

This barn was the perfect place to get away from it all. The conversion was absolutely stunning in a subtle, understated way - very cosy and thoughtfully presented. A truly special place to stay.

Jennifer Harris
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/12/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Beautiful cottage, amazing scenery and lots of wildlife. Couldn't ask for better.

Huw & Karen
Reviewed Cala on 07/12/2019
And awarded it

Cala

An astonishingly beautiful setting, the panoramic view of Loch Nedd from Cala is magnificent. The area is ideal for those interested in walking in unspoiled landscapes to enjoy the scenery, its wildlife or the geology of one of the most captivating areas of Scotland. Well appointed and warmly welcoming Cala is in a quiet, sparsely populated area and, out of season, road traffic is refreshingly rare. The ideal place to stay to appreciate peaceful grandeur of the Highlands.

Brian Johnstone
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 24/11/2019
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Had a lovely stay at Rowan Ridge. Very well appointed, comfortable, warm cottage well located for trips to Inverness and surrounding areas. Appreciated biscuits and Christmas tree which was a nice touch. Recommended.

Keith May
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 22/11/2019
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

This was the first time we had stayed in a wilderness cottage and we weren't disappointed! An excellent cottage in wonderful surroundings, it made our holiday. It was perfect for the two of us and we didn't want to leave! The location provided easy access and a perfect base to explore the area. We will definitely be booking again. Thank you for making everything so easy.

The Smiths
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/11/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We have used wildernesses several times They are extremely helpful and highly organised every trip has went like clockwork

Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug, Blackpool
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 16/11/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A nice comfortable, well equipped cottage in a tranquil location. We enjoyed the cottage and cooking using the Everhot range. Lots of walks within 30 minutes drive. Plenty of wildlife straight from the windows (deers, pine martens, woodpeckers and many other birds) and a brilliant changing view of the loch and mountains from the dining room window. There is no light around the bird table to see nocturnal visits from the wildlife, but luckily we took a battery powered, motion detection security light which allowed us to watch the pine martens after dark. As there are no shops nearby we prebooked an ASDA delivery for the Monday (4.00 charge for a 2 hour slot) which was delivered on time and with no issues. The road outside the cottage to Kinloch Hourn is a fantastic drive and great for wildlife spotting. It gets a bit narrow for the last half mile, but the views and peace at the loch are well worth the drive. A brilliant holiday in a great part of Scotland.

Debbie Woelfell
Reviewed Sealight on 13/11/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Just had a fabulous week at Sealight. Very comfortable, gorgeous views, well equipped and the weather for November was dry with a couple of sunny days and blue skies. Came back well chilled.

Adam Drummond
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/11/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Taigh Druim is one of the best houses we've stayed in, anywhere. The location is unbeatable and the house is extremely comfortable for those days where you just want to stay in and watch the ever changing view outside. We cannot recommend it enough, or Wilderness Cottages for their service too, and will definitely be returning.

Lorraine Flannigan
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 10/11/2019
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Wonderfully comfortable, clean, warm and well equipped holiday home, thank you to the owners we had a fab time.

Jen & Kat
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 09/11/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Lovely place in a wonderful location - Trossachs in one direction and Glencoe in the other. The place is nicely done - the shower in particular is great! It's very suitable for a couple. The owner was very welcoming.

Keith R
Reviewed Timber House on 05/11/2019
And awarded it

Timber House

We have stayed in the Timber House several times over the past four years. Although a lovely property, in a great location, it now requires some investment on things such as garden furniture, sofas, crockery and other basics.

Paul Stonehouse
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

A fantastic cottage in a stunning location. The house was very clean and well appointed, warm and spacious. I can highly recommend Fon Tobar

P Bennett
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Comfortable, simple and homely cottage with all you need for a relaxing stay. Good public parking area adjacent to cottage. Great location with easy access to amenities. Stunning scenery and Wildlife. Highly recommended

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is a wonderfully peaceful place to stay. It is comfortable and well equiped, the Rayburn and wood burner being an integral part of the whole experience.

Stephen Broadley
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

If you're looking for a quiet peaceful relaxing getaway then Fersit Log Cottage delivers on all fronts. Our golden retrievers loved the large enclosed garden and to say this place is off the beaten track is an understatement. There are some lovely walks to be had from the nearby car park and its only an hour away from Loch Ness. The spar at Spean Bridge is just 20mins away or Morrisons at Fort William a further 20. The jacuuzi bath was a bit of a novelty and the log burner kept us nice and warm on an evening. Needless to say we will be back sometime in the near future. Steve, Karen, Charlotte, Milly and Lucy.

Corinne
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 03/11/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge is absolutely beautiful. It is modern, clean, well equipped with fantastic views over Loch Pooltiel. The lodge is in a fantastic location, surrounded by breath taking scenery and close to Neist Point lighthouse. We will definitely be returning.

Lisa Leary
Reviewed Callakille on 29/10/2019
And awarded it

Callakille

I'd like to thank you for everything. The cottage and surroundings were absolutely stunning. We will be returning customers.

Kath Gillie
Reviewed Station Cottage on 25/10/2019
And awarded it

Station Cottage

What an absolutely lovely cottage, bigger than it looks in photo's which was a pleasant surprise. The master bedroom with en-suite was fab lovely comfy bed and sumptuous bedding. Garden ideal for our energetic chocolate lab (Jenson) very secure and big enough for him to have a play with his ball in. Nethy Bridge is a lovely village fantastic butchers which we used on several occasions, the cafe at top of road was great with home made soups, cakes, scones I could go on. The little Spar shop well stocked and on a Monday night you get the Fish and Chip van. A lovely riverside walk starts just over from the Spar which takes about 40 mins just right for a morning or evening walk. A great base to visit we went to Loch Eileen walked around which took roughly an hour and a half. We also visited Culloden battlefield ( worth a visit), Fort George also worth visiting and up to Findhorn Bay which Jenson loved sadly no dolphins but lots of lovely scenery. We would hope to return in future but like trying different places, so maybe in a few years.

Jane Roberts
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 25/10/2019
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

What a fantastic find this was. Lovely little place that was very clean and tidy and lovely and warm. It is only 1 bedroom but that was more than enough room for us. It was a very peaceful place and really handy to the various distilleries and local towns. Would definitely stay here again.

Barbara
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 23/10/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Very cosy, warm, clean and up to date cottage with everything you need to enjoy time in this very beautiful part of Scotland. Great location overlooking the shores of Loch Carron, easy access to facilities in the village.

Roly McLean
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 22/10/2019
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Very enjoyable stay at Shellach, weather was nice, very comfortable cottage, enjoyed my evenings reading and chilling out beside the log fire in the lounge. Nice food at Bistro and at the Lochcarron Hotel. The natives were very friendly too. Will book this cottage again for my annual pilgrimage to Lochcarron

Beverley Chew
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Fantastic as always. Warm and home from home welcome. Excellent place to stay, very comfortable and well equipped. Views are magnificent a wonderful base for exploring the Scottish highlands.

Miss S Mann
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Would love to visit the Coltsfoots again. The cottage is only a short walk into town which has a well stocked store. Very clean even though dog friendly there is no smell of dog. Lovely log Burner which you don't really need as the heating is more than efficient but adds that extra touch. Shortly after we arrived we were met from the owner lovely man just to make sure we settled in, also there were shortbread and wine in fridge which I thought was a nice touch.

Joan & Colin
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

An Airidh

An Airidh is a beautiful cottage in a superb location, Skye is a fantastic place to take a holiday, and you cannot get better accommodation than this, clean , warm with every conceivable comfort you could possibly need, hope to be going back soon.

Danielle
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautiful house, done out very well and great base for exploring Skye and surrounding areas. Would definitely book with Wilderness Cottages again.

Joanna Swingler
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Absolutely loved our stay at Hill Cottage. The view from the cottage was amazing and we enjoyed the peace and solitude. It was lovely that we were able to take our dog with us and were then able to enjoy some fantastic walks in the area. I would highly recommend this cottage!

Alison
Reviewed Fhaireag on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Very pleased

Mrs Connor
Reviewed Ardrannach on 17/10/2019
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely Cottage, homely, warm, comfortable with amazing views. We couldn't have asked for more. The owners were welcoming and nearby if ever needed. Can hardly think of anything we didn't like - but just to balance the review - trimming back the shrub beside the front door would be great. Otherwise - perfect as it is.

The Catts
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/10/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage was the perfect escape for us. Lovely cottage and so close to the sea. The weather was kind for most of our stay and we were able to walk everday. Thank you to Chas and Jane for everything.

Anne Wyllie
Reviewed Christies on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Christies

Christie's was a delightful cottage. Very cosy and homely. The accommodation catered for our every need and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Holger
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

We had a very enjoyable week at Eilean Mor Cottage and can definitively strongly recommend it. Most important Pros: + Booking, assistance, organization by wilderness cottages and locally (e.g. key) was exemplary + Location of cottage was very good + Facilities in the cottages: bedrooms, kitchen, living room and conservatory very good, all rooms are nicely furnished, everything there you need (especially the conservatory was much appreciated at rainy days) The only real Con: -The drain of the whole bathroom is very weak. We tried to be careful, but nevertheless quite often it just did not work properly. Especially in the shower the water was sometimes raising very quickly that you'd fear that it will run over before you can finish (luckly, it did not happen).

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Holger, thank you for your review and feedback. Please note, if you had you reported the problem with the drain during your stay, we could have had this looked at and rectified immediately, rather than reporting it after your stay.
F Gordon
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage is an amazing place, the cottage is in the middle of a forest, very secluded and very special. Loads of great walks, heaven for dogs. Forres is only 4 miles away (10mins) and it is also a great place with lots to do and see.

Caroline & Andy Sara
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Absolutely fabulous, miss it already! The beach was perfect in ALL weathers and we only encountered the neighbouring cows once..on the beach! We kept the gates firmly closed hence never met them in the garden itself. Definitely recommend the walk from Killingtrane Lighthouse to Port Patrick, we also walked from the cottage up through the farm, over the road past the Labrador cottage sign, all the way past Lochnaw Castle and to Leswalt. Only downside? We are definitely used to a bigger bed and duvet haha.. Would definitely like to return and have recommended it to all our family and friends :-) P.S we arrived at midnight, in a storm, in a low slung car and still managed to negotiate the bumpy road so the advice to take a 4x4 is a very feasible one but it can be done in a 'normal' car..just be careful!

Bernd Graller
Reviewed Cala on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Cala

Amazing architecture, extraordinary location, highest recommendation.

Terry Hanney
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Spacious and homely cottage. Great views and very comfortable place to relax and watch the birds and the deer. Driveway from the road is a little demanding but doable if you take care. Property is well stocked with all the essentials you need. You actually don't need too leave the place if you just want to chill out and take in the Loch.

Julia Walters
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Lovely cottage, cosy, warm and comfortable, in a wonderful setting. We were sad to leave and would definitely be happy to return one day.

Michelle (York)
Reviewed Jura on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Jura

An amazing place to get away from it all! Gorgeous view and quiet, friendly location. We went with a supply of logs for the open fire which we enjoyed lighting each evening. The cottage is well equipped. There's no central heating but ample plug in heaters and easy to warm up. Two of us stayed here but there's plenty of room for 4-5 people. Being in a very remote hamlet on the west coast the cottage is a little dated. You need to remember to flick the water heater on half hour before having a shower. The shower isn't the most powerful but it does the job. Lots of appliances, microwave, freezer, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine etc. No shortage of cutlery, glasses, plates and basic things like bin bags, cling film, candles are all there. Jura Cottage was just like the photos. We had a disappointing week weather wise but everything we needed in the cottage. Lots of magazines and local information leaflets, board games, books etc. A lovely retreat from day to day life.

Raymondo.
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/10/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

This property delivers what it promises, you just fall through the door and everything is simple to get along with. The views over to the Isles and Loch Gairloch are simply amazing. The town is well stocked too if you don't want to go too far and Tesco will even deliver your groceries.

Frans En Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/10/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We stay for the 3rd time 1 week in Poulary. We had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and well equipped. The view was spectacular but we think the that the bushes must be cut quickly to keep the view.

Frans En Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Heatherbank on 13/10/2019
And awarded it

Heatherbank

We had a wonderful week in Heatherbank. First a bottle of wine and a bone for the dog as welcome. Thank you for it. The cottage was cosy and very comfortable and very clean. The views on the surrounding spectacular! We feel like home and 1 week was too short. Ghillie our dog like the big garden and the weather was good. We certainly will come back.

Simon Wilson
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 12/10/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Another great 2 weeks at Plodda and have booked again for 2020 and 2021. Great welcome from Jenny who is such a fabulous person. Plodda has everything that you could want and the wildlife was brilliant. Over our 2 weeks we saw the the following in and around Plodda and Cannich - 3 red squirrels, birds of prey, a Doe and Stag not to mention various birds such as woodpeckers, finches and the like. If you want to get away for peace and quiet this is the perfect place

E Shephard
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/10/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Excellent cottage beautiful setting and lovely welcome.

Wendy Mothershaw
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

WOW what a fabulous place to stay we absolutely loved it. Yes we could make changes to the lay out but in no way did it spoil our holiday. Loved the large windows, loved the views, loved the settees and the log burner. Loved the fact we could control the warmth level and loved the fact the barn was well equipped ... We really really really didn't want to leave. If you want a place to stay for a week or two that's offers splendid views with loads of comfort with easy access to soooo many place This is the Place for You.

L Smith
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

My husband and I just returned from undoubtedly the best holiday we've ever been on! We live in Germany and drove to Skye for a week of peaceful respite at Eilean Mor Cottage. Let me begin with the negatives so we end on a positive note. The directions as to the drive way when first arriving are very confusing. From the street there in a sign Eilean Mor Cottage, and two drives. Both marked No. 16. They say you start on a paved drive then you must take the unpaved drive to the right. When driving in there is long lovely paved drive to two cottages one life and one right the top, unfortunately neither are Eilean Mor Cottage. Once we were at the top the neighbour told us we had to drive back down almost to the street and the unpaved tractor road to the right was our drive. Very confusing. A better marked sign would help. Although rough, the windy drive was drivable. Don't know about really wet or snowy weather. Once past the gate there is firm gravel. When we got out of the car, we looked back at what should have been a fantastic view, only to be met with an overgrown hedge and trees. Yes, you could see the loch a bit through the bushes and trees and off to the side, but I got my best picture by standing on the picnic table in order to see over the overgrowth. If I had been able to get my hands on some garden shears, the hedge would have had a hair cut, but unfortunately all storage areas were locked. Such a shame, because even once in the conservatory, only 50% of the gorgeous view was blocked by the unkept garden. The fact that the only toilet in the house was upstairs was a bit of a nuisance, but we could live with that. The cottage was advertised as being 100 metres from the shore. It was 100 metres to the street and another 100 metres to the shore. The problem is, all the shore properties are private, so there is no immediate way to walk to the waterfront. That was disappointing. The house directly below the cottage is for sale and no was living there, so I went through their property to the shore, but were someone to live there, that wouldn't be possible. The only other very negative comment about the house is the extreme musty oder in the downstairs bedroom. The musty smell in the dresser was so extreme that I left the drawers open the whole week hoping it would help. Unfortunately, all the clothes were musty smelling by the end of the week. The entire room was so musty smelling that even after a week of leaving the window open night and day, it didn't help. Throughout the entire house except for the upstairs bedroom they have natural wood flooring. For the living and bedroom, good idea, I'm sure they are cozy warm in cold weather. But natural wood floors in the kitchen and bathroom, especially when there are poorly sealed? It's looks OK now, but give it a year or two, and with constant use, they will have to be replaced or go black. If they insist on wood flooring in the kitchen and bathroom, then I suggest some throw carpets that can be washed. It will save your wood. OK, that's all for negatives. On the upside, the location is a dream. If the shrubs and trees were trimmed the view would be outstanding!! If you're not used to quiet, don't go there. You hear nothing! Only in the conservatory, you might hear the rain pattering on the roof. The stillness is soothing. The kitchen has everything you need ... Ok, the oven needed a good cleaning, but I didn't feel up to it. We ate most of our meals at the cottage and wanted for very little. The washer/dryer combo worked great!! The weather was cool but not terribly cold, so we didn't use the fireplace. We spent most of the time in the conservatory. Heating units worked very well. Wifi and TV were great, no problem. In all, inspite of the negative comments we both said this was by far the very best holiday we've been on. No doubt it was due to the fact that we had no schedule and decided from day to day what we wanted to do. Several days we said, "Let's go south," and we did, or "Let's go west", and we did. We discovered so many lovely hide-aways on this remarkable isle. Eilean Mor Cottage was a wonderful place to come home to after a day of exploration. It is a perfect place for a small family, or two couples who don't mind sharing a toilet and shower.

Alan &Denise Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great week at Lilybank. Once again thoroughly enjoyed our time at this great cottage and highly recommend Lilybank to either just chill around the cottage or use as a perfect base to explore the Highlands.. Already planning our trips for next year, especially after catching two salmon from the river Oich !! Thanks again for a great stay..

Richard
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Still a lovely house in a fantastic location but the house does need some money spending on it's internal fixtures and fittings to bring it up to scratch.

Gillian
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Absolutely wonderful little lodge! We stayed as a family of four adults for four nights. Communication from booking through to arrival was superb by both Wilderness Cottages and the lovely owners, Donnie and Jean. Donnie warmly greeted us on arrival and freshly baked scones were waiting. The location of the lodge with its large windows offered gorgeous views, sunrises and sunsets. It was warm and cosy inside, with everything we could have needed. There were good showers with plenty of hot water and very comfortable beds. Inverness and Beauly were within short driving distance. Overall we had a lovely stay, we hope to be back. Thanks to Donnie and Jean for all the thought and care they clearly put into making this little lodge a lovely home from home.

Nigel & Veronica Crowley
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 09/10/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We enjoyed a wonderful week in Seascape Cottage. It is well equipped and extremely comfortable. It has been built and maintained to a very high standard. The hosts were really helpful, non obtrusive but there if you needed them. The location is beautiful, very peaceful with scenic views what more could you ask for?