Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3953

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3953 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Francis
Reviewed Log House on 26/11/2020
And awarded it

Log House

Atmospheric, great location. A proper log cabin not a wood clad static.

Jackie
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 24/11/2020
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Amazing Cottage and location lots of entertainment in the garden with the Red Squirrels and birds fabulous to watch while breakfasting in the morning :) Jacqui and Jeff are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome indeed its all the little things that they do that made it really special for us! Thank you Jacqui and Jeff you deserve lots of success in what you do and we will definitely be spreading the word and coming back at some point in the future. Barry & Jackie

Carol McLelland
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 23/11/2020
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A thoroughly enjoyable week spent at Seascape cottage. Very cosy and delightful to snuggle up on the sofa watching the huge rolling sea all week. Good walks from the doorstep , then interesting countryside to explore further by car. Sarah, the owner is lovely, made us feel most welcome and arranged some tasty goodies for our arrival..

Francesca Pole
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 23/11/2020
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage in a beautiful location.

Margaret
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/11/2020
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Had such a lovely relaxing break at Seascape Cottage. It had everything we needed including a friendly approachable host. Sarah was great. The cottage is warm, comfortable and quiet. Out of the door and straight onto the wild rugged west coast beach. Our 2 dogs had a ball! Would highly recommend.

Elaine McQueeney
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 17/11/2020
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery.

Shona Sloan
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 15/11/2020
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

The Mill is an amazing find and it does what it promises to do - help you get away from the stresses of life. The house is amazing and very spacious with everything you need. We even ordered a Tesco delivery so we didn't have the hassle of food shopping. There is everything you need in the area, walks, bike trails and clear skies in the evening with brightest stars I have seen in a long time. Bill and Marjorie provided a lovely welcome pack for our arrival and plenty of books to curl up in front of the fire to read. The beds are very comfortable and the place is lovely and warm. A big plus for us having two children is there is a boot room for endless waterproofs and jackets to dry. We used many of the walking routes in Glenlivet while here to either bike or on foot. I even saw my first Golden Eagle. A gem of a find and the no WIFI, TV or phone signal mean you really do get away from it all. We will most certainly be returning. Thank you to the hosts Bill and Marjorie who were on hand to answer any questions we had and even got my son to read two books while there.

G Stewart
Reviewed South Lodge on 13/11/2020
And awarded it

South Lodge

A delightful cottage with a beautiful water frontage and view of West Loch Tarbert. The cottage was well furnished, if a little tired in places, but that didn't matter as it was warm and cosy with everything you needed. A lovely wood stove, with plentiful wood supplied and good heating in every room. Beautifully unspoilt and peaceful surroundings and a real sense the cottage was carefully looked after. A birdwatcher's heaven! Lovely private spot, I will definitely be returning. Thank you for a wonderful week!

Graham & Clare
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 13/11/2020
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Such a lovely location, the views are fascinating, our stay, in glorious Autumn, showed us exactly how colourful Scotland is. There's always something to view from the large windows. The track up to the cottage is steep, not suitable for a low slung vehicle. The cottage is very comfortable & well appointed. We enjoyed the bird life visiting the feeders, sadly no Eagles!

Michael Taylor
Reviewed Callakille on 11/11/2020
And awarded it

Callakille

After spending a fantastic week at Burnside Cottage back in 2018 we were really looking forward to returning during the madness of 2020. It didn't disappoint. No otters on the shore below this time, nor a fox perched on the bench outside on ourlast night, but memorable nonetheless. The track in from the main road has just been upgraded as a precursor to renovating the Croft's other cottage, so soon we'll be spoilt for choice. Hopefully by this time the areas much promised fibre broadband will also be rolled out; the very erratic (O2) 3G signal being the only way to communicate. Some may see this digital detox as a positive, but under current circumstances being able to communicate with the outside world (booking a table at the Pub) is essential. Haste us back!

Carolyn Milne
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 10/11/2020
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Due to English Covid lockdown, we could not go on our planned holiday. We were delighted to able to get a last minute 3 night stay at The Coltsfoots. Previously stayed here the week before March lockdown. The property was so clean with Covid holiday property guidelines regarding cleaning etc in place. We felt safe in the property and in all Fort Augustus where pubs and cafes are also safe and strictly following guidelines.

The Boshers
Reviewed Grain Store on 09/11/2020
And awarded it

Grain Store

The Grain store was beyond our expectations for our anniversary stay. Such a beautiful area with a magnificent view. Wildlife all around which we enjoyed. Managed to do some star photography and lovely walks. Some great recommendations thanks to the lovely couple who own the property. They made us feel so welcome, at ease, and made the place so clean. We felt safe which is a big thing with current circumstances. We made a quick video of the area and cottage just to give you a taste We hope to return again one day, thank you!

Robert Marks
Reviewed The Mill on 09/11/2020
And awarded it

The Mill

The Cottage provided everything we wanted and more. It is well equipped comfortable and welcoming. We would recommend it highly. Julie and Phil are great hosts and made us feel very welcome.

Dougie Law/Sarah Holmes
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 09/11/2020
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Gorgeous. Leachachan Barn is without doubt a wonderful example of what the northwest of Scotland has to offer in quality holiday accommodation. The barn is clean, comfortable, tasteful and very well equipped. As with any property designed by Rural Design in Portree (we've previously stayed in a few and we're very much fans) the property is very oriented towards enjoying the best views of the location. And what a location it is!! One could never tire of the views on offer, in particular the picture window looking directly at the Five Sisters of Kintail, with the ever changing light and weather creating countless different scenes of a wonderfully framed landscape. Take a photo, and I guarantee you'll be back out minutes later for another and another. For dog walkers, there is a fabulous forestry track behind the property winding effortlessly up the hill to outstanding viewpoints overlooking Loch Duich. The locale has much to offer also. For many years we've passed en route to Skye & Wester Ross, always with the intention of exploring the Glenelg Peninsula but not affording the time. With our week at Leachachan Barn, we finally got to thoroughly enjoy this headland. As a keen driver I can now add the Bealach Ratagan to my collection of special Scottish roads, it really is a joy to drive with spectacular views over Loch Duich and Skye's Sleat Peninsula with the Cuillin peaking through. For those who enjoy history there are some amazing brochs near Glenelg (the most complete examples on the Scottish mainland), ruins of the 17th century barracks, and of course Eilean Donan Castle. Hill walkers have an abundance of options (see WalkHighlands.com). Domestic provisions can be sourced without much difficulty; eggs and vegetables are on offer from neighbours in the village; there are small shops in Glenelg and Dornie, a Spar at Balmacara and if requiring more then Kyle of Lochalsh has a Co-Op, butcher, pharmacy, hardware shop, chippy, etc. A small but warm recommendation for Glenshiel Chocolates at Ratagan, a much enjoyed treat. We thoroughly enjoyed of week at Leachachan Barn, and would not hesitate to book again. This property definitely is filed under 'return in future', and is ideal for us when we're not bringing a larger party of relatives. To the owners (and whoever is tasked with preparing the property for entry), we offer our utmost thanks, it was an absolute pleasure.

Alison
Reviewed Sealladh Eabhal on 09/11/2020
And awarded it

Sealladh Eabhal

We loved our stay at Sealladh Eabhal. It was an exceptionally well appointed, cosy and comfortable cottage. Perfect for our stay in November. Sealladh Eabhal is on the island of Grimsay which is well placed for easy access to Benbecula, North and South Uist. It really is the ideal place to stay for exploring the islands. We very much hope to be back in future. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Edward
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 09/11/2020
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

The Challey was really lovely, very well finished and comfortable, and very cosy with the woodburning stove. The location is excellent, right by the River Spey and in the middle of beautiful countryside. It was a real pleasure to be able to see red squirrels and lots of birds just outside the living room as well!

Emma L
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 08/11/2020
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

The Beach House was a wonderfully comfortable house for our first visit to the beautiful Isle of Skye. The location was stunning and I never tired of watching the weather come in over Dunvegan Loch and over Macleod's Tables from the dining room. Having a small colony of seals at the bottom of the garden was fabulous. Plenty of room for our walking gear and for drying it off! The weather was such that we stuck to the lower level walks which were plentiful and we will definitely be back to go climbing in The Cullin. A special thank you to the housekeeper - we arrived with the uncertainty of Lockdown looming and we found the house spotless. As others have said, there is only a limited amount of Wifi available with the rental - teenage daughter who was revising for GCSE mocks (and used to unlimited Wifi) had to adjust to that!. The modern heating system was so effective there was no need to light the log burner despite the weather. A really wonderful week and we would definitely return to the Beach House.

E McIntyre
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 07/11/2020
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic, idyllic spot, great cottage, really well equipped, lovely holiday. We'd love to come again if Covid allows!

David W
Reviewed Balmachree on 05/11/2020
And awarded it

Balmachree

Lovely location and fantastic property with all the facilities necessary. The Whitebridge Hotel next door was great with a once weekly take out menu as was the Waterfall Cafe in Foyers which did a great take away fish and chip menu on Friday night. Fantastic walking in all directions. Recommended: the South Loch Ness trail - particularly the route from Whitebridge across the fields to Foyers which only takes an hour or so, Corrimony Cairn and the nearby RSPB reserve on the opposite side of Loch Ness. Dog owners should note that the garden at Balmachree is not fully dogproof . nb. Bring firelighters and kindling for the wood burner (some wood is supplied), and loo roll !

Darren
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 04/11/2020
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What a fabulous place to stay. The view is amazing and the Lodge has everything in it you could wish for. We had a lovely relaxing week out on walks with our dog amongst stunning scenery. We can't wait to go back

Mia & Steve Chadwick
Reviewed Earth House on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Earth House

What an amazing place - a week spent watching. the ever changing scenery. and local wildlife - yes the otters came out to play! The Earth House is a truly unique holiday experience. with everything you could possibly need - including a warm welcome from the owners. Situated in an area with many beautiful beaches and walks to suit all - especially the dogs! This home offers tranquility and the space to enjoy the natural beauty of the locality.

Simon & Julie
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Very cosy cottage with a welcoming feel. Scenery was stunning and the beach close to the cottage only on show at low tide was beautiful, we had it to ourselves. We would love to go back again.

Darryn
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Almost perfect*, superb location, lovely warm welcoming house, and one that I would definitely go back to. Sitting watching the sea from bed, or sat outside watching the eagles fly over (usually chased by ravens) and trying to catch the northern lights was bliss. The house had everything we needed and more! *The only reason the house doesn't get the full 5 is due to the sofa

Stephen Shaw
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Lovely quiet place to stay, very comfortable, had every thing we needed for a very enjoyable holiday.

Marie & Derek
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

It was the perfect cottage to weather the October' storms with a stocked up fireplace, books and a spectacular view of the coast. We also enjoyed the local walks when the sky cleared up. We would definitely recommend this place and may be back ourselves before too long!

Mr & Mrs A
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

This is an incredible property. Stunning views and beautifully kept. Five stars all round.

Jackie Hughes
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

A really lovely, cosy cottage in a beautiful location. Very comfortable and well-equipped and excellent value for money. Lots to do in the surrounding area and you can walk into the hills direct from the cottage. Lots of wildlife on your doorstep (and in the garden). I would wholeheartedly recommend Cluny Cottage as a perfect place to relax and enjoy the Cairngorms.

Fionaa
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

Had a great week. The chalet is so comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed the area and the birds and squirrels at the bird feeder as well as the sound of the river in the background.

Donna S
Reviewed Wildwood on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Wildwood

Love this lodge - stayed a few years ago with another family - plenty of room for 2 young families. Kids are older now and it was perfect for a single family of five. Fabulous location.

David Crawford
Reviewed Log House on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Log House

Had a brilliant week away in the Log House. Absolutely love the place. A relaxing holiday with a beautiful forest to run and walk in. Would highly recommend the Log House if you wish to chill in a wonderful setting.

R Moore
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Great cottage in a quiet location - ideal for anyone who wants a peaceful break in a very rural setting on a historic estate. Cottage was to a high standard throughout. We loved it!

David Filshie
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Great cottage in perfect location to travel north and south and get out in the Scottish wilderness. The cottage was really nicely kitted out and was warm and cosy. We absolutely loved it. Kitchen is well kitted out and secure garden for the dogs. Only criticism is a number of the lightbulbs in the bedroom for use were missing or blown when we arrived. This cottage is the perfect retreat. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Ben McCarthy
Reviewed Easter Knocklea Cottage on 02/11/2020
And awarded it

Easter Knocklea Cottage

We had a wonderful week at this superb cottage. It was spotlessly clean and fabulously well equipped. No photographs could do it justice. The location is ideal with the most glorious views and fantastic walks straight from the back door. We can't wait to return. Thank you!

Mandy Sharrock
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/11/2020
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Another fabulous week in this fantastic cottage. It is the perfect place to relax and explore such a wonderful coastline. We managed at least 3 hour walks every day and to bodyboard where the seals came even closer this year. We saw so much wildlife again, including the deer and managed to release some lobsters trapped in a pot washed ashore in the storms on the Tuesday. This cottage is so wonderfully positioned for a quiet relaxing holiday and the owner Sarah is lovely, adding those little special touches even during these difficult times. We cant recommend this cottage enough, the WIFI was great and it has everything you need for a great holiday whatever the weather. We have already booked to return next year. Thank you Sarah.

Sam & Craig
Reviewed Charleston on 28/10/2020
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a fantastic stay at Charleston. The house is beautiful and the setting is absolutely stunning. The dogs has a great time too and the secure garden was perfect for them. We will definitely be re-booking, thank you for a wonderful stay!

Seal Skerry
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 28/10/2020
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolutely beautiful warm clean and well designed house, with the most stunning views out of the massive windows. We will definiately go back.

Denise Hargreaves
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Fantastic holiday cottage, very clean and spacious for 4 people. Had a lovely week. Thank you.

Lynne, Ian & Gemma
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Our third visit to Shore Cottage and we had some great weather for October. Holiday had been put back from April due to COVID 19... we were ready for a break and a change of scenery. Great that improvements continue to be made to the cottage. Fantastic get away from it all location.

Marie.
Reviewed The Granary on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

The Granary

A beautiful cottage. Everything you could need for a home from home.

Simon Barber
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Very nice week again staying at Lochside

Wendy B.
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

If you are looking for total peace and tranquillity then the lodge will not disappoint. It is cosy and very comfortable with everything you could need for a relaxing stay (including no mobile phone signal - there is a landline though!). The location is fabulous with loads of lovely walks both from the doorstep and within a reasonable drive. Jenny was really welcoming and very kind and helpful throughout our stay. We definitely hope to be back soon.

Yvonne Ferguson
Reviewed Balmachree on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Balmachree

A lovely cottage, quiet and secluded. Everything you could wish for, and well equipped. The garden was superb, providing safe, enclosed grounds for our very inquisitive German Shepherd to play and explore. We very much enjoyed relaxed early evenings watching the wildlife from the conservatory. Short and scenic drives put you directly in to the main tourist areas of Fort Augustus and Inverness, or a little further afield to Grantown on Spey, the Whisky Trails and Cairngorms. We are just trying to shuffle our holidays next year for another visit.

Susan & David White
Reviewed Earth House on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Earth House

Earth House is a great place to stay. A real home from home. The view from the house is stunning especially in Autumn and you can lose hours just enjoying it. The property is well equipped and comfortable. The owners are kind and considerate and keep the house looking good. We have stayed in their other property a few times before and have enjoyed both houses equally.

Matt Emms
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

After a 9 hour drive up from the midlands, Jenny gave me and my household a fantastic reception and set us up for the week with all the walks, hikes and waterfalls we could want, and the lovely cake she made for us kept us going every single day! The cottage was incredibly well kept, beautiful and homely, and I still now miss curling up in front of the log burner and playing battleships. There's a brilliant library of board games and books having something for everyone. Look out for the finches and the red squirrels in the garden and the bats in the evening. We are all definitely coming back next year. Thanks again Jenny, all the best.

Michelle
Reviewed Log House on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Log House

Had an amazing stay at the log house, it really is so special. We loved doing a run through the forest (right outside the entrance to the log house) this also leads to the river Oich walk which I would also recommend. We seen a few bats outside the log house in the evening which was nice. Heard quite a few noises in the roof space but it is literally in the middle of a forest so it's to be expected. We loved the fire (when we finally managed to get it working ha). Great stay, can't wait to return

Claire
Reviewed Toberaie on 27/10/2020
And awarded it

Toberaie

We had a fabulous week at Toberaie. The cottage is spacious, very well equipped and in a spectacular setting. We enjoyed sitting on the bench outside appreciating the view and wildlife. The house felt chilly at first but soon warmed up using the electric heaters and wood burning stoves, with a plentiful supply of logs provided. The 3 bedrooms were very comfortable. Wifi was good, and lots of books, maps and DVDs provided. Being picky, the TV was very small and the sofa and chairs in the sitting room were very uncomfortable and in my opinion could do with an upgrade. The drive up was tricky in a standard family hatchback, but manageable in October.

Mark Done
Reviewed Sixgeary on 26/10/2020
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We enjoyed our stay at Sixgeary. Amazing views of the Ascrib Islands and Trotternish Peninsula and the changing weather/light over Loch Snizort. Sixgeary is compact and comfortable with some designer touches that make good use of the space. Owners tried to help when a couple of things were not working.

Kirsty Allen
Reviewed Lilybank on 26/10/2020
And awarded it

Lilybank

Excellent relaxing week in an ideal cottage and location. Minutes walk from shops and pubs. Cottage had everything you need, beautiful view from the dining area.

Moira & Ken Hayward
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 24/10/2020
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A fantastic gem of a holiday cottage. Great location for a quiet relaxing break away with stunning views from the large front window of the secluded coastline. The cottage it self was superbly equipped with absolutely everything you needed. Sarah was a great host and had laid on generous welcome supplies. Got to mention the shower as it was so powerful and refreshing also worth a mention was the underfloor heating. We will certainly be booking a return visit.

Camilla Trimble
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 22/10/2020
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Lodge is amazing on so many counts - wonderfully quiet location, well equipped and comfortable accommodation. The walks are just wonderful and the woods leading up to Plodda Falls are just magical. Masses to see and do locally - and Jenny the best of hosts.