Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2678

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2678 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


DORSET
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 23/05/2017
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at Shepherd's Cottage - great views, very quiet location, well furnished and comfortable house. We particularly liked sitting in the garden watching the local birds. A good base for exploring the area - not far to Lochcarron. Only odd thing was to have two single quilts on the main bed but I expect that is because I had requested non feather duvets.

Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second visit to this lovely cottage and we weren't disappointed, still as beautiful as last year. We stayed for 2 weeks and we had amazing changeable weather sun, rain and snow. It was amazing to see in April. We did lots and lots of walking/hiking covered quite a few miles to see out of the world sites. We saw the Pine marten on the first night and loads of deer and some wonderful stags. We thought we wouldn't see the lovely pine marten again, but as we were leaving early on the last day, we saw him again. So thanks again for a brilliant holiday. Hope we can return one day soon.

Linda Porter
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Excellent cottage, in a perfect location. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Lou & Andrew
Reviewed Jura on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Jura

What a fantastic week we had. Wall to wall sunshine all week. The view from the cottage is just fantastic. The sunroom is such an asset . Also a fabulous place for our dog with the hill behind the cottage. The neighbours were so friendly and helpful....we will definitely book Jura again.

Keith S
Reviewed Ardrannach on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a fabulous week on Skye thanks to the well nigh perfect weather. The cottage proved a comfortable and well-located base. Although, as some previous reviewers have noted, the cottage is a bit dated, it has everything required for a holiday.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A truly outstanding location with stunning scenery and views. The cottage has everything you need and plan ahead for meals before you come and do a shop or noticed Asda deliveries passing, you should then only need to stock up for basics, garage in Fort Augustus is well stocked. The walks for dogs around this area are brilliant and Murphy had a ball exploring everywhere although I did get blisters but well worth it. The weather has been exceptional sun from dawn till dusk every day (coming from East Scotland, maybe it's true, always sunny in the West!!) The walk to Loch Loyne was well worth it (bear left at red phone box if coming from cottage) and Murphy even swan which is a change from his jumping in the water. Bring bird food as the bird table is mesmerising.

Maggie Pickering
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely well equipped cottage in the most glorious location, we suspect we will never be totally happy at any other cottage we ever book as it would be very hard to beat.

Lesley Healy
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a superb cottage with great views. Was extremely clean on arrival and felt very homely. Would definitely recommend staying and we will definitely return.

J Nicholls
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 08/05/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a quiet remote area, It was set out lovely all on one level and light and airy, beautiful scenery all round with lots of walks around the cottage and not far to 3 beaches. Stoer lighthouse was only 2 miles away and worth visiting I didn't get to see any whales or dolphins but lovely views down to Skye and Hebrides. Jane was close by and very helpful and it is some where I would definitely stay again.

S Allan
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tigh Nighean Bhan, a beautiful crofters cottage combining stylish elegance of its interior design with thoughtful period details balanced with modern comforts - plentiful heating and hot water and nice touches - books and maps to help you decide what you would like to do in your time on the Isle of Skye. Thank You.

Marlon & Tracy Sayle
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic property and location. Very comfortable and warm cottage even when it's snowing outside. Abundance of wildlife around the cottage and on the east ridge behind the cottage (we were lucky enough to watch 2 immature golden eagles catching the thermals early one morning while sitting on the plateau). Would we return?.....Absolutely.

Lily & AB
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

It is with the greatest of pleasure that we write this review for Plodda Falls Cottage! From the moment of our arrival at this beautiful location, we feel at home. Jenny's warm welcome is always so looked forward too and, appreciated. The cottage, nestled amongst the trees, is a delight, so very comfortable. The wildlife is wonderful and, on this visit, we were blessed with a sighting of two Pine Matins. The birdsong and the nearby river, are the only sounds to be heard. It would be remiss of me not to mention ..... THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED imaginable, promoting many a good nights sleep! The Great Spotted Woodpecker 'alarm' in the morning always makes us smile. Plodda, a truly magical place. Until the next time......

A, D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 29/04/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

The cottage is outstanding. It is so well designed and built in an amazing location. You can walk straight out the door and start climbing a 780 metre hill (Corryhabbie). There is so much to see and do in the area but the house is so comfortable, warm and provides such scenic views that staying in is always an option. We had snow flurries and bright sun within minutes of each other which added to the enjoyment. The drive in adds in to the experience. We're booking again. The owners have done an excellent job with their vision for the perfect holiday cottage. Many thanks.

Helena Bell
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 27/04/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was the first time that we had taken our 10 months puppy on holiday, so we were apprehensive. We were thrilled with the facilities provided at Katie's Cottage which made it so easy to keep the little fellow happy while at the same time keeping the cottage clean and tidy. The cottage was a wonderful 'home' for our week and we cannot praise it too highly. We were sad to leave.

Rene.carrons@btinternet .com
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Loved the cottage and the view was stunning.Also the deer and the ladies being the sheep who came by the cottage.Enjoyed the peace and quiet.We found the oeople very friendly. We woukd reccomend this cottage to our friends.

Philip Symons
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Very clean and comfortable accommodation. Despite being a few minutes walk from the shops, the cottage was very quiet. We had planned to stay in Aviemore, but are very glad that we found this cottage in our online search as Grantown was far more attractive and had everything we needed (plus an interesting museum). A visit to Craig Bar is a must (the Landlord is very entertaining!). Fantastic walk from the cottage through Anagach woods and along the River Spey. The cottage was an ideal base to tour the area. We visited Balmoral Castle (the drive along the Highland Tourist route is simply stunning), Inverness (dolphin and seal watching from Chanonry Point and Findhorn), Culloden and the RSPB Osprey Hide. Lovely walks on the Glenlivet Estate, up Cairngorm Mountain and around Loch Morlich. We hope to visit the area again very soon and would very happily book this cottage.

Tomkins Family
Reviewed The Orchids on 25/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

Excellent property in beautiful area of Skye. Spacious, clean, warm and comfortable and very well equipped. Great for all the family, including baby. Highly recommended.

Carole Rowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our stay at the cottage was perfect, its beautifully situated right on the loch with the sound of the waves crashing, it has everything you need from a lovely home very welcoming feeling. We are already booking for next year....

Karen F
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 21/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

A lovely cottage in a fabulous location. It was tastefully decorated and just the right size to accommodate our party of 6 adults and one child. The reading area was a gem and given more time I would happily have spent quite some time ploughing my way through the books on offer. The hosts Bill and Marjory were great and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend staying here, it feels nice and remote but is still within a reasonable distance for the excellent sites that Scotland has to offer in the area.

Dan & Anne & Bailey(springer Spaniel)
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape cottage was what we wanted, isolated but within reach (15 min approx) from Stranraer, the owners Chas & Jane have catered for just about everything you'll need. From the cottage to the shore line you have a 2 or 3 minute down hill walk which on the way back you have a slight rise to climb. There are good walks along the shore (bring walking boots). The cottage has no wifi and you need to a short distance by car for a signal, but that's part of the attraction to get away from it all and chill out! Perfect.