Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2775

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2775 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Peter & Eleanor Gallagher
Reviewed Christies on 13/07/2017
And awarded it

Christies

We have had a fantastic 2 week holiday in Scourie. The cottage has stunning views, absolute peace and quiet, sheep pottering round outside the front door and we walked down through the field below to the beach every day. It was super-clean, with kitchen machinery (dishwasher, fridge-freezer, washing machine etc ) looking brand new, and furnished practically for a dog-friendly house. The heating system kept the house feeling very cosy - I would suggest asking the owner to put it on in advance if it is chilly. There was plenty hot water, a good shower over the bath and a separate toilet. The village centre, with wifi access, phone box and a Spar is within walking distance-we were glad we had brought basic supplies with us, but got a few extras in the Spar each day. We had no problems that needed the owners attention but had quick friendly replies to texts and my impression was that she would be very helpful if needed.

Trudi Jackson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 13/07/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Owl Cottage is a good size, comfortable and really well equipped cottage. Situated in a lovely quiet lane 5 minute walk from main street, shops and amenities it was perfect for our base. We enjoyed a couple of bbq's in the garden which was secluded. The only thing you would change is I would put a proper shower in the bathroom which is big enough but we managed for a week.

Rachael Clarke
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 13/07/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

A wonderful house in a beautiful setting. John and Ruth were thoroughly welcoming and happy to help with any questions. It's a great base to explore South Harris and Scalpay - with their white beaches and the beautiful Eilean Glas lighthouse. Even better, the sea breeze means I managed to get through an entire holiday without a single midge or mosquito bite. A Scottish record!

Rosie Bennett
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

We stayed at Stoer Lodge last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is wonderful, there is a gate from the garden straight down to beach so perfect for kids. The lodge is lovely, characterful, clean and tastefully decorated. Very comfortable beds and nice bedding. There is only one bathroom/loo so with a full house this was a downside. The area around Stoer is lovely, beautiful beaches and scenery. Will definitely return and would love to stay in Stoer Lodge again. Highly recommend.

Amanda Wallace, Methlick
Reviewed Sealight on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

Had the most fantastic time week at Sealight, house and location was more perfect than we thought it could be, was truly a home from home, beds super comfy! We thoroughly enjoyed the nightly visits from the pine martin and filming the otters just minutes from the house, we had such a great time we have already booked again for next summer!

Claire Roberts
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fabulous cottage. Very peaceful.

Nicola Ventress
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 12/07/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

This is no doubt one of the most beautiful cottages we have stayed in - peace, tranquillity and fabulous views - uncluttered, clean with a home away from home ambience (comfy beds, throws and a welcome pack of milk, biscuits and treats for the dog provided - most thoughtful. The garden is perfect for dogs, as it is fully enclosed, which is perfect for our pooch as she likes to explore! Also, there is a large Utility Room, perfect for dogs, wet boots and coats - there are also two dog crates, which made our dog feel right at home straightaway. There are walks from the cottage (although remember to take a land ranger map if staying here as there wasn't one in the cottage), plenty of forestry walks and around the loch at the bottom of the hill on the road going towards Farr - there is a great walk to the wind farm where you can stand under the turbines, great fun - this could be a long circular walk, or just up and down the forest track. If you like secluded, this cottage is for you, even though there are a few properties within 500m you cannot see them and the Supermarkets are 20mins drive away in Inverness. Ideal location for a completely relaxing holiday and again the views are spectacular whatever the time of day.

Hester
Reviewed Wee Dram on 11/07/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Absolutely lovely cottage! Very beautifully made by the owner. Everything you need is there. The stove provides hot water, heating and cosyness. The location is great, especially if you like whisky as it's in the middle of Speyside. At walking distance from Aberlour using the footbridge. Lots of things to do and see in the area.

Sandra & Harold
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 11/07/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape was perfect more than we expected, warm comfortable and well equipped. Brilliant sea views and marvelous sunsets have a walk to the top of the hill and watch the sun go down over the horizon a walk back down to the cottage and maybe a glass off wine to finish your day. We were fortunate in in having two roe deer visit us outside the door seals in the bay most nights. Chas was there to greet us very informative but never intrusive if you want to know anything just ask Plenty of gardens which are well worth a visit also Port Patrick. Kirkcolm post office for bits and pieces or a short drive to Stranraer for anything else. Don,t often return to the same place but will be returning to Seascape Many thanks for the use of your lovely cottage

McAlees-Cook Family
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 09/07/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

We stayed in mid-June and were only the fourth couple to stay at the house. Fantastic dog friendly accommodation on Harris with views over to Scalpay and Skye. House had everything we needed , very well equipped and Ruth and John were on hand to help with any queries. Around 30 minutes drive to the West Harris beached and close to Tarbert with walks nearby. Can't recommend this house highly enough.

Jane Walter
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/07/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Our second stay at Plodda Falls Lodge. We had a wonderful week .The house is beautiful, very comfortable and in such a special setting. We walked to the falls in "daylight " at 22.00hrs through the woods - it was an amazing experience. Great to see Jenny, the owner, again and her home made cake and garden flowers were a lovely welcome when we arrived. Hope to visit again.

Peter Hagen
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 08/07/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Wonderful Place to stay unique just a few yards to the beach. Stay very well organised just a little bit of paint would be necessary here and there. We are looking forward to coming back again.

Richard & Carol Ivett With Brodie & Georgie
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 07/07/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Red Kite is ideally situated for exploring the Black Isle and surrounding area. The cabin was clean and comfortable with lovely views of the surrounding countryside from the garden. The garden itself is ideal for dogs with Brodie and Georgie having the time of their lives in a capacious, closed and safe environment. The owners are very welcoming and had no problem helping us when we wanted to arrive slightly earlier. The nice welcome pack was appreciated. The kitchen is very well equipped; the shower is good; and the beds are comfortable. It is a testament to this property that it has many return bookings, so if you are thinking of going to it booking early is recommended. Perhaps the only downside is the proximity of the property to the A9 and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who is very sensitive to road noise. However, to be fair you only really notice this when sitting out in the garden. I would recommend this lovely cabin to anyone.

Jim, Dianne & Jessica Solonyna
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 07/07/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

The Mill at Glenlivet seems like a distant memory now but it will be a Holiday cottage that will remain in our thoughts forever. Bill & Marjorie were such a lovely couple and excellent hosts and the cottage was just what we were looking for in such a beautiful setting. The cottage was all prepared for us and the gift hamper was an excellent little surprise left by Marjorie. The hosts left us to our own thing but they were always on call if we needed them. Marjorie had thought of everything in the cottage down to the smallest detail so we did not have to go out looking for anything as you usually do in a holiday cottage. The cottage made the holiday and was so welcoming to come back to every evening and the deer, buzzards and other wildlife was an added little extra. Well done to Marjorie and Bill and thanks again for making our holiday a memorable one.

Nancy Little
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

This was our second visit to Taffs Barn & it was as good as the first time, from the welcome pack of scones with butter jam & cream, milk tea bags coffee & sugar just enough for a couple of days its greatly appreciated if you've had a long drive. The barn is in immaculate condition in a lovely country location lovely scenery & the local village a five minute drive perfect for recharging the batteries. Pat puts in an appearance to ensure you have all you need & is just at the end of the phone but you shouldn't need. Again loved our stay weather not too bad & we will be back

David Sheffield
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We booked the cottage through Wilderness Cottages after being let down twice through VRBO. The transaction was easy and smooth and professional. The cottage was "as advertised" and on our arrival I realized it was exactly what I had booked. The stunning location meant that we spent most of our time in and around the cottage. Our 2 girls played on the rocks and explored caves and rock pools etc and were perfectly content-as were my wife and I. Everything in the cottage worked and was very comfortable. We had heard about the nightmare of midges but only encountered them one day at the fairy pools away from the cottage. We encountered all types of weather and whatever was thrown at us we didn't mind. The only thing that folks from the U.S would miss is a dryer. We had laundry from a previous leg of our trip and were lucky that we had a dry day with wind to get the clothes dry. The cottage is set in a beautiful location. We utilized the village shop on many occasions to keep the money local. We took Misty Isles boat trip to Loch Coruisk which was delightful and friendly. Our family had a delightful stay at the cottage with no issues. We plan to return.

Caroline Stroud
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

A beautiful, well equipped cottage, in a stunning location. My partner and I, and our dogs, had a blissful week. We hope to return.

Pattie Family
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 04/07/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

We very much enjoyed our stay at Carn Loch Cottage. The house is lovely and spacious and was spotlessly clean. The views are amazing. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, then this is an excellent choice, yet it is only about 20 minutes from Inverness. We look forward to returning.

Ian & Julie From Kent
Reviewed Moll House on 03/07/2017
And awarded it

Moll House

Comfortable & spacious house, ideal loch side position. Thoughtful fittings; large freezer, bath as well as a shower, very comfortable new bed, lots of storage space, utility room ideal for drying walking gear. Perfect base to tour Skye. Would book again.

Tom & Liz Robertson With Hamish & Bramble Mini S
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 02/07/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Not being able to fly due to kidney problems we came upon this website and found Cedar Cottage, we had never took the dogs away before and I was worried about their safety but I should not of worried the garden was fully enclosed and we could just relax and enjoy the wonderful wildlife that visited daily, red squirrel, Jay, woodpecker to name a few. The cottage itself is comfy and well equipped right down to chocolates,wine,biscuits and milk awaiting our arrival. We were lucky enough to watch Osprey fishing at Spey Bay and also at Loch Garton. All in all it was the best holiday we have had and we can't wait to return to our cottage in the woods