Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 4533

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4533 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


William Forrest Campbell Lindsay
Reviewed Ardrannach on 28/06/2022
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Anyone looking for perfect peace and relaxation need look no further than Ardrannach. Wonderfully secluded, surrounded by sheep, cattle, chickens and wildlife but with tv and wifi when required and easy access to all facilities.The views from the front of the cottage are superb with the Isle of Raasay on one side and various hills plus the Cuillins on the other. The area around the seat under the lounge window is a natural sun trap.The cottage itself is comfortable and spacious and the owners friendly and helpful. We all, including our two labradors, hope to be back!

Dominic Regan
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 27/06/2022
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Another idyllic week spent at Shore Cottage! The cottage is as lovely as ever, and a week here is the perfect way to recharge the batteries. We noticed new radiators have been fitted inside since last year - they seem very high tech! The decking outside has also been replaced and, although the old decking was fine, this has made a noticeable improvement. It was so nice to sit outside and look out to sea and watch the boats and the wildlife. As part of the work on the decking the bracken in the next field had been cleared, and we had roe deer come down the first night to feed on the shorter grass right by the cottage. Lovely to see Stonechats this year too, as well as the Whitethroats, Wrens and Sand Martins. Also nice to see that the pair of Peregrine Falcons are nesting again on the cliffs down towards the end of the beach. We are already looking to book for next year.

Mike W. Amstelveen Netherlands
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 24/06/2022
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Really a beautiful house as promised in the wilderness of Scotland. You get all luxury needed to survive in an easy way a week up there. Everything is very clean, Wi-Fi is ok and the host seems to be very helpful. But you get even more; a beautiful site seeing, lovely neighbours in front a lot of sheep and in the back a lot off lovely rabbit families and all-around singing birds. We stayed with 3 persons for a week while there is space/capacity for even 6 people. The only thing that should be changed to get the rating up from 'very good' to 'Excellent' is to replace the stairs to the first floor for a firm one. So coming visitors; don't forget to bring good walking shoes and your electricity adapters wiht you and you will have, just like us, have a fabulous holyday time up there!

John Wardle
Reviewed Rhundunan on 23/06/2022
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Stunning views and location at this well equipped and comfortable property. The third bedroom is small and perhaps best suited to children. Other than that it was all we could have asked for from a Skye holiday. Wilderness Cottages were very helpful before and during the stay.

Pam Handyside
Reviewed Callakille on 23/06/2022
And awarded it

Callakille

We have visited Scotland many times over the years, the first time for our honeymoon (husband half Scottish) but not ventured much further north than the Trossachs.The discovery of the Applecross peninsula, and in particular Callakille, has been quite magical. The peace, views over the islands, stunning sunsets, the Inn just down the road, all make it the most perfect getaway. But having this lovely little cottage as a base is the absolute icing on the cake. Warm, cosy, comfy beds, having a bath looking out to sea, and after so many visits it feels like coming home and gets harder to leave every time. And arriving over the Bealach never fails to excite. And in May we always hear the cuckoo! We just love it.

Anonymous
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 22/06/2022
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage is in a beautiful, tranquil woodland location and was very cosy and comfortable. We especially appreciated the bird food and feeders, from which we were able to watch a wide variety of birds at close range, even when sitting on the patio tasking afternoon tea in the garden! We also appreciated the thoughtfulness of the owner, leaving a box of chocolates, biscuits and some milk in the fridge for our arrival - most kind. I can thoroughly recommend Cedar Cottage to anyone seeking a peaceful get-away.

Graham
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 21/06/2022
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

My wife and I loved staying in the cabin which was well equipped, very comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. We particularly enjoyed the picturesque, quiet woodland setting. Gordon greeted us with a warm and friendly welcome. Highly recommended.

Matthew
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 20/06/2022
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Littlepark gave us an amazing week of tranquility in an idyllic setting. The cottage itself is spacious yet cosy. The cosiness is amplified by the fire in the log burner that warmed us on the leather settee in the evening. The conservatory is such a pleasant place to sit and watch the multitude of varied birds visiting the adjacent feeders and the garden. We were also spoilt by regular red squirrel visits and the pine marten some evenings. The kitchen and bathroom are both tasteful, modern and well appointed. The cottage itself feels very comfortable and welcoming, and it is the surroundings that add to the tranquility. The garden, nearby wood and lochan with the mountain view make this place feel very special.

Lorrain & Arthur Fenning
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 20/06/2022
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

A quiet retreat in the heart of speyside, the challey was immaculate and cosy with everything you would need. A nice bottle of prosecco and biscuits and milk just in case you forget it nice touches. Couldn't fault it. A great place to relax and unwind away from the world would go back in a heartbeat. The wildlife is fantastic squirrels, woodpeckers x3, garden birds and a jay whose rather shy. well worth keeping the feeders in the garden stocked. Plenty to do along the moray coast harbours, beaches, walks galore. Highly recommend the chinese takeaway in Aberlour and the chippy.

Michele
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 20/06/2022
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

We stayed at Eilean Mor cottage for a week in June. The weather was really wet and windy so we enjoyed the cosy views from the conservatory. The house is quiet and surrounded by trees, wildlife, birds and views of the loch. We were so happy reading, doing puzzles, cooking and just enjoying the solace of it all. We were perfect as a family of 3 in the cottage; people who are taller than 5'9" may find the eaves and door frames too low for their liking as it is a traditional cottage. We loved our time there!

A Ogden-Quin
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 19/06/2022
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Fabulous cabin in a lovely sheltered location. Loved sitting out on the porch in sun or rain

Walsh Family
Reviewed Log House on 18/06/2022
And awarded it

Log House

A lovely spot to have a log cabin. It has everything you need for the week. Close to the village for a pint and food. Great base to explore from. A nice comfy living room with a beautiful view, listening to the birds till late and watching the bats. We had a great time for the week, my only criticism would be it needs a deep clean as some of the area were a little grubby. Would recommend if you want a relaxing holiday.

Jojojo
Reviewed Charleston on 16/06/2022
And awarded it

Charleston

Charleston cottage was absolutely lovely, really spacious with amazing views in a gorgeous setting. Our only complaint was that the garden was NOT fully enclosed for smaller dogs - despite us having specifically asked whether it was secure for two small dogs (and being assured, rather sarcastically, that it would not be advertised as such if it wasn't the case), our dog (who is small but not tiny) managed to get through the fence holes, and also through a large gap under the gate. Luckily we were watching him at the time, not least because there were sheep in the neighbouring field. We emailed the company about this but received no response.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review and feedback. Charleston is a popular property for a dog owner, and we have been advised that it does have a fully enclosed garden. We can see from your booking that you were taking two small dogs, a Yorkipoo and a Yorkie/Jack Russell cross, one of which is 4kg. We are sorry that your dog managed to escape and do offer our apologies if you feel the information provided was incorrect.
Lynn Brown
Reviewed The Steading, Blairmore on 15/06/2022
And awarded it

The Steading, Blairmore

Jan From Leeds
Reviewed Jura on 15/06/2022
And awarded it

Jura

Jura cottage is in the most beautiful location with a wonderful sun room overlooking Loch Torridan. The cottage was really comfortable and well equipped and Ann the owner was very helpful and welcoming. There are some good walks and the peace and quiet are stunning. We saw seals playing in a nearby bay. We loved being out of wifi and phone contact but this can be accessed from the cafes in Applecross or Shieldaig. A great holiday.

John & Kate
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/06/2022
And awarded it

Ardbeg

We loved our stay at the fabulous Ardbeg Cottage. Fantastic spacious accommodation with fabulous views over Gairloch Bay. Highly recommended.

Mr& Mrs Proud
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 13/06/2022
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage. We came here with plans to explore Skye and because the cottage was so comfortable and the weather was so good we decided to stay local. Will definitely be back!

Susan Wolstenholme
Reviewed Charleston on 13/06/2022
And awarded it

Charleston

Wonderful location, beautiful view and very comfortable house.

Williams
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 13/06/2022
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Wonderful to swap the soundtrack to everyday life for the song of skylarks and waves washing onto the shore. Precious time simply to sit, look and truly 'switch off'. Perfect for the bird and wildlife watcher, as I am. The accommodation is exactly what I like - all that is needed and nothing fussy or extraneous; a well equipped kitchen and excellent bathroom. The warmest of welcomes. Lots of coastal walking and some driving to other sites such as the WW2 flying-boat base at Wig Bay and the Mull of Galloway - but mainly a lot of blessed peace. Thank you.

Mark Ireland
Reviewed Pityoulish Cottage on 12/06/2022
And awarded it

Pityoulish Cottage

The pictures don't really do this place justice, especially the views which are lovely from every window. The view down the Spey from the kitchen is fabulous and waking up to a view of the loch each morning was lovely. The garden is enormous and the fire pit and sitooterie really special. The location is good with a couple of short walks from the door and a short drive to the best bits of the Cairngorms. It is a traditional cottage so don't expect much headroom upstairs but it has been extended tastefully downstairs. The only reason I have not awarded five stars is because it could do with a freezer and microwave. Having an external washing machine is not a big issue, it's a 10 second walk away but it was quite old and took a bit of getting use to. All in all I would definitely be back. The views and homely feel more than make up for a few missing appliances.

Isabel H
Reviewed Fhaireag on 09/06/2022
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Fhaireag . It is in a beautiful area ,especially at this time of year with the golden yellow of gorse, broom and laburnum flowers. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. We enjoyed walking down to Loch Mhor and seeing deer, hare and lots of other wildlife. We took supplies fora few days with us and recommend doing that as the house is away from shops. We also took dishwasher tablets although I feel these should be provided if only to make sure that cups are clean for the next visitors! During our week we enjoyed walks at Falls of Foyers(lot of steps!), Dores , Loch Killin and a cruise on Loch Ness. Whitebridge Inn is good for a meal.

Hugh Pierce
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 08/06/2022
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Lovely cottage with a great sun-room (and we had lots of sun!) very well equipped and in an ideal position for exploring northern Skye.

Brian Burns
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 08/06/2022
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Warm, spotlessly clean and very well equipped cottage. Very friendly and helpful owner. Welcome tray much appreciated Good walks from the door Will certainly return

Victoria Price
Reviewed Log Ness on 08/06/2022
And awarded it

Log Ness

Wow !! Log ness does not disappoint.. the location couldn't have been better and the lodge itself is just as breathtaking, I have never stayed somewhere so well equipped and maintained. There is everything you could wish for, a utensil for everything, herbs & spices, even dog bowls and dog biscuits !! We had the most amazing stay, watching the beautiful scenery and wildlife including a woodpecker that visited daily, having all the bird feeders around was amazing, I sat watching them and the beautiful sunsets for hours. We really did'nt want to leave !! I can't thank you enough for one of the best stays we have had in Scotland in a stunning location and great place to explore many other areas, and some beautiful walks. Highly recommended xx

Simon Webster
Reviewed Gate House on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

Gate House

We had a lovely week at the Gatehouse the house is very large it was very clean on our arrival, we found the WI-FI to be excellent. The house is very much out of the way but Fort Augustus is only about 15 mins away and Inverness about 25 mins so its not that far away even the big supermarkets will deliver to the Gatehouse which is a bonus.

Hannah & David
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The cottage was lovely and clean and in a beautiful setting. We had a fantastic and relaxing stay.

David Wright
Reviewed Sixgeary on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Very comfortable house in a stunning location, with tremendous views over Loch Snizort. Enjoyed a very relaxing week exploring North west Skye and benefitted from some great weather and sunsets in the evening.

Martin
Reviewed The Barn, Corrimony on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

The Barn, Corrimony

Great location and lovely property we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Family W Of 4 & Dog Alfie
Reviewed Easter Knocklea Cottage on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

Easter Knocklea Cottage

We enjoyed a great week at the cottage, which was clean, well equipped and furnished to a high standard. It really is a wilderness cottage with the neighbouring cottage being the only other one visible for what seems likes miles. Nevertheless Braemar is not that far away nor are the Munros accessible from Lin of Dee and Inverey - we climbed 13 during our stay! The highlight (for Dad) was our Jubilee Night Beacon in the huge fire bowl just outside the house.

Lisa W
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Absolutely loved this unit. So central yo everything that we wanted to do. Clean, big enough for 4 adults and 2 children and the barbecue hut was the cherry in the top.

Martin S
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 07/06/2022
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Third visit. Lovely cottage. The side facing the loch is a suntrap. Already talking about a rebook. The bird feeders attracted the usual small birds, but also 2 woopeckers, a cock pheasant and a squad of 6 ducklings with mother

Paul Scott
Reviewed Log House on 05/06/2022
And awarded it

Log House

What a joy! Really comfortable and the perfect base for exploring the area. Just far enough away from everything but also just near enough to everything. The house is really comfortable and well-equipped - the wi-fi was reliable enough for us to use an Amazon fire stick for Netflix and Disney+. The bird table bought us some exciting visitors in the shape of a red squirrel and a woodpecker and you can use the book in the house to identify your feathered visitors. The nightly departure of the bats also provided some entertainment - although any light sleepers in the double bedroom may need some ear plugs to not be disturbed by their nocturnal activities. We had a truly wonderful week :-)

Chris & Liz
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 03/06/2022
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

As holiday cottage owners ourselves in Wales, we were delighted with the location of Moll Cottage, and the quality of the fittings fabrics and furnishings. However, we were disappointed with the overall cleanliness, namely the dirty fridge, which had not been properly cleaned or de frosted for some time. The cupboard shelves were also in need of a proper clean. The general state of the floors, particularly under the bed was poor. The Vax cleaner was inadequate to clean efficiently, and was kept in the wardrobe along with the other cleaning equipment. As the weather was cold and wet, we lit the Clearview stove, using our own dry logs. We own two Clearview stoves and are familiar with how they should perform. Despite closing the primary air vent and fully closing the secondary burn rod in, the stove continued to race away. It needs some attention. A dust pan and brush, a decent poker and more kindling would have been welcome. Nevertheless, the cottage is uniquely beautiful, warm and comfortable and a joy to stay in, and anyone who is seeking peace and tranquillity will not be disappointed.

Elaine Rooney
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We stayed in Stablemans Cottage from 18-25th May. It's situated within the grounds of a private house. Very quiet yet close to amenities . The cottage was very comfortable with lots of homely touches. It felt very lived in with art work and personal touches and not the usual sterile holiday let . It was cosy as the evenings were chilly , the wood stove was very efficient. There are many walks and holiday activities in the area. I would definitely recommend it to couples and families.

Susan & Ian McDonald
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had a great week at White-Tail Croft. The peace and tranquility, the views and importantly the Croft itself were all amazing, we saw eagles, swallows, lots of sheep and rabbits and deer in the distance. Everything necessary for a relaxing stay was available within the Croft along with some very nice extras which included a bottle of bubbly and other nice treats. We explored the length and breadth of Skye and it was great to come back to the warmth and comfort of White-Tail Croft at the end of each day. Would highly recommend.

Lorna D
Reviewed Charleston on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Charleston

I believe this was our 6th visit to Charlestown. Hopefully not our last. It's pure peace and relaxation. Spacious, clean and very well equipped. Such helpful and friendly owners too. We've never visited so late in the year before and I loved the long daylight hours and the stunning colours in the countryside. Thank you for a blissful two weeks.

Liz Taylor
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. Very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Beautiful walks and wildlife to be seen right on your doorstep. The owner was lovely and helpful, but didn't invade our privacy, she left us a lovely welcome hamper, which came in very handy. We will definitely go back another time ????????????

Sadie Clarke
Reviewed Earth House on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Earth House

Stole our hearts! Perfect in every way. We got home and rebooked! Mum is 82 and can't do stairs or many steps, and we have two dogs so sometimes it's difficult to find a cottage. Earth house is a very special place, peaceful and quiet, we saw a otter feeding on the shore, the view is stunning, the location is perfect to explore local and further afield, the shore by the house is just fascinating and beautiful. Laide shop is excellent. Can't wait to get back! Thank you

Sue Finch
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Excellent cottage, clearly much-loved and very well cared-for, in a wonderful location, especially good for dog owners with a secure enclosed garden and miles of forest walks outside the door. Budget for peanuts - the red squirrels visited daily, and along with other nut-lovers consumed about 1/2 a kilo of nuts a day. The area is full of interest, and as visitors from storm-wrecked Northumberland it was great to walk in Moray's very beautiful and largely undamaged forests.

Brian W
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Bring plenty of bird food to fill up the feeders, especially Nyger seeds. Also, bring your own essentials like salt, oil, sugar etc

Jill & Alasdair
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

A most fantastically situated cottage, with incomparable views ( when the cloud allowed us to see them!). It was very comfortable, and had everything we needed, especially as we spent rather more time indoors than we would have wished, owing to the wet and very windy weather. We had 1 glorious day though, which we spent on the Aquaxplore trip to Canna - a truly magical experience with dolphins, a whale and birds. A fabulous spot which we highly recommend.

Julie Worthington
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Amazing location. Amazing house. Sadly the weather was against us but we still had a great time. Our second visit to Taigh Druim.

Pascale
Reviewed Timber House on 01/06/2022
And awarded it

Timber House

P E R F E CT !!!

Peter & Dorothy
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/05/2022
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

The cottage was spotlessly clean, and well equipped in a superb position, there are excellent places to eat out if required, all within 20 minutes. Friendly neighbours . We look forward to returning next year.

Anita Deaville
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 28/05/2022
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Wow just Wow for location We had a loverly week at shore cottage, we loved it was off grid near enough but in driving distance to Stranraer and Port Patrick. The cottage was nice, did lack that feeling of a welcome, no welcome pack, we have stayed in many places and always had either some bread, eggs, milk, biscuits as a nice gesture this would be a recommendation, we were slightly disappointed with the cleanliness of the cottage and the safety concern regards to the open fire, this needs attention and maintenance. The plus of having a conservatory was a bonus so enjoyed eating our meals in there on the wet days, sad the log burner was out of use. We loved the times sat on the decking listerning to the birds the sea and just taking in the pure peace and quiet . When the weather was good to us and clear it almost felt we could almost touch Ireland. The beach omg! What a luxury all week we hardly saw a sole only a few locals collecting seaweed, my goodness the walks were truely amazing and our little spaniel Isla loved every minute ran her little legs off but couldn't out run the deer on the beach haha. This was not just a holiday for us, but our honeymoon the location definitely made this even more special for us . The signage to the cottage could do with a refresh rewrite as we missed it several times. The driveway to the cottage is definitely not for a car but we loved it as having a 4x4 it was easy the cows went, weren't always willing to move haha. We were sad to leave but will be back for our first anniversary next year .

David R
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 26/05/2022
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Seabank Cottage was very comfortable and well equipped with everything you could need. Location was excellent, right in the village of Lochcarron with all amenities nearby, a lovely view of the loch outside the window as you eat and well positioned for visits to Attadale, Applecross and its pass, Eilean Donan Castle, Plockton and the Isle of Skye etc.

David C
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 25/05/2022
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A wonderful remote location to get away from normal life. The cottage is very clean and comfortable and provides a good base to explore the quieter areas of Skye. Don't expect the Wifi connectivity to be great and G4 mobile connectivity is intermittent.

Peter Scott
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 25/05/2022
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Fantastic, cosy, comfortable and well-appointed, Arrivain is a lovely, peaceful place to stay. Jackie warmly welcomed us on arrival with enthusiasm with lots of helpful tips and local information. Very private with a lovely garden and amazing wildlife to watch. We would definitely return again!

Mark & Christine Rose
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 25/05/2022
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed, the location spectacular even with the cows who came to check us out regularly just to see how we were settling in. We also went on some beautiful walks both woodland and coastal. Highly recommended for that "get away from it all" feeling which, I am pleased to say remains with you on your return.

Catherine Mitchell
Reviewed Fhaireag on 24/05/2022
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Excellent W C holiday once again! Fhaireag is a fabulous upside down cottage with it's own visiting deer family! Easy to book and pay for. Top notch.