Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3480

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3480 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Fox Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 16/04/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a fantastic week at Plodda Falls Lodge. Our host Jenny had thought of every little detail to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We were welcomed with a delicious cake and cosy fire. The lodge is set in a beautiful, peaceful location where only the sound of birds and a river can be heard. It is truly a specatular place to relax and unwind. Our two boys had fun cycling to the local village cafe whilst our dog thought he had arrived in heaven with all the amazing walks straight from the front door of the lodge. We often walked to Plodda Falls in the evening without seeing anyone else which felt very special.The kitchen was well equipped to cook for a family of four and convieniently has a dishwasher, freezer and washing machine. The beds were super comfortable and the shower always had hot water available. Thank you Jenny for a fantastic week - we will be back.

Michael C Bryson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/04/2019
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We had a really lovely time at Torvaig cottage. It's in a marvellous position, with outstanding views just yards away. It was a little cold when we first arrived but soon warmed up. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Extra supplies of coal and fresh cut peat were offered but we didn't need it, due to very good weather. The house was very clean, no frills, but had everything you need for a family holiday, and just 15 mins walk away from Portree.

David & Corinne
Reviewed Ardbeg on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Just back from a wonderful week at Ardbeg Cottage. The minute you walk in and see the stunning views and appreciate the quality of the finishing in the cottage, you can be sure you are going to have a fabulous holiday. The location is perfect and it is an easy walk down to the local shops, the harbour and to lovely spots for a coffee or a meal. The deck however makes this cottage even extra special and we were blessed with faboulous weather and managed to enjoy meals out on the deck - even in April! This is the first holiday cottage that we would definitely return to - the owners have really created a wonderful holiday home.

Marshall
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a nice remote location. Beautifully warm thanks to the Rayburn, and well equipped including a very large bed. A warm welcome, including scones, from the charming landlady who lives nearby. Highly recommended for a couple.

M. Holden
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had an amazing week at Moll Cottage, we saw the first seal within 30 minutes of our arrival. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need. The road down to the cottage is pretty bumpy with potholes but take it slowly and it is fine. If you want a secluded getaway this is the perfect place.

Nick Rimmer
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Wonderful cottage and location, it was great having a small shop and cafe nearby as well. Only a 5 minute walk! The cottage is not far from Neist Point (my favourite place in Skye). The cottage is immaculate and we had everything we needed, WiFi, Freesat TV, good range of kitchen utensils etc. for cooking. Would definitely book this cottage again.

Bob Crabb
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Eilean Mor is a great cottage. Very suitable for a family of four. Enclosed garden meant the children could roam freely. Fantastic view. Clean and tidy when we arrived. Thank you.

David Turner
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 14/04/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Superb stay at this cottage. Very well equipped, fantastic location. Would not hesitate to recommend this. I mean it, this place is wonderful - I could go on about the dark skies, the wildlife, the garden, the remote but accessible location, the walks you can go almost from the doorstep. Loved it!

VickyR
Reviewed Log House on 11/04/2019
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is extremely cosy and well equipped - just what I was looking for. It felt like a home from home! Idyllic walks nearby in the forest too. Good internet too, which was a nice surprise. Didn't need the log burner as weather was mild and central heating perfectly adequate. Did receive an extra delivery of logs though, which is a nice touch! The only issue I would say is the weather in Fort Augustus is extremely wet all the time and the gutters/down pipes desperately needed maintenance as they were leaking. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need except could do with an extractor fan to remove the cooking smells. Something that did stick in my mind was the squeaky kitchen floor which drove us mad. Overall, a lovely place in a great central location in the Great Glen.

John Atherton
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 10/04/2019
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

An excellent holiday home in an ideal situation with wonderful views. The accommodation far exceeded our expectations - a large lounge with ample seating for 6 people, spacious kitchen fitted with modern appliances and seating for 6, shower rooms and three good sized bedrooms. We did have a problem with the supply of hot water and underfloor heating but both were corrected in quick time; the supply of hot water very quickly and the heating far quicker than we anticipated since an engineer had to travel from Inverness in inclement weather conditions - 40 mph gales with rain, hail & snow . A sincere thank you to all concerned. These problems served to emphasise the "house insulation" is excellent!! During our week we visited the Coral Beach north of Dunvegan, the Dinosaur Beach at Staffin and the Quiraing on our way from Staffin to Uig, the Fairy Glen and Golden Cave above Uig, and Neist Point lighthouse. At the farm (Kelpie crafts) near the lighthouse we stopped to see the lambing. Linda, the farmer, encouraged our grandchildren to bottle feed the friendly lambs and showed us her large amount of craft work housed next door - a visit is a must. We managed a wet weather walk to the Fairy Pools on our way home - a good walk but not for the faint-hearted in bad weather conditions. At least the pools were full and this elderly couple had our children and active grandchildren to ferry us across the wide streams and over the large spacious stepping stones - an exciting visit! Overall - an excellent week (the weather wasn't too bad!) which we would like to experience again in the near future - in Pooltiel House Thank you.

Grace & Tony
Reviewed Sealight on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Sealight has the wow factor from the moment you open the front door. It is beautiful and very well equipped. The view from the decking is stunning. Pine marten visited every night. The area is so beautiful and the colour of loch Sunart changes by the hour, the view is never the same. The drive up from the South through Glencoe is one of the most breathtaking drives We have ever done. Before you leave stock up on a couple of days food as the nearest supermarket is a 15 mile drive and a trip on the Corran ferry away in Fort William. Saying that the local shop in Strontian is well stocked, just understandably more expensive. Go to Mull for the day, visit the Ncnnean distillery in Drimnin and have lunch at The Whitehouse in Lochaline. Sealight is the perfect house in the most perfect setting. A real get away from life holiday. A week is not enough.

Lesley & Chris
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our second visit to an outstanding home from home, which is fully equipped with everything and more that's needed for a great holiday. Log fire, wildlife, birds including the fly-by from the eagle, along with great restaurants & cafes and the many trips to be taken are the cherry on top for this property. We'll be back soon !

Gillian
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Lovely cosy cottage. Fabulous views and easy access to Skye, local shops. Some great walks nearby. Two close encounters with otters and deer in the garden..what a treat.

Marian Lister
Reviewed Charleston on 09/04/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

2nd visit to this beautiful house was just as enjoyable as the first. Comfy and cosy, beautiful views, lovely welcome pack from the owners was much appreciated. Have used Wilderness cottages for our last 6 holidays in Scotland, and they are by far the best!

Brian May
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 06/04/2019
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

This is my favourite cottage, I have visited three times so far. One of the many delights is to sit in the conservatory and watch the bird feeding station and wait for the occasional train to pass. The cottage is warm and cosy especially when the fire is alight. I could happily live here.

Steve Welch
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 02/04/2019
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

Wonderful stay for fourth consecutive year. The addition of double glazing and wood burning stove have been a revelation in the cold snowy weather that we experienced. Very peaceful with beautiful views to the loch and beyond.

Rebecca & Angus
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 02/04/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had a lovely week at White-Tail. Gorgeous, well-equipped cottage in a great location. The view was absolutely stunning - even on the cloudy days we had. Would definitely recommend!

BRIAN & VI
Reviewed Charleston on 01/04/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

fantastic holiday cottage great view from every window very clean and warm.

Colin
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/04/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A cosy cottage with everything you could need for a break away from it all. Fantastic sea views over to Ireland and great walks directly from the cottage. We were made very welcome by the owners Chas And Jane, who live nearby but are never intrusive. If it's a relaxing break away from it all you're after then this is the one.

Bryony Bond
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/03/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

The lodge was super - have stayed before and enjoyed it again. Recommend.

Lynne
Reviewed Ardbeg on 25/03/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Would highly recommend using wilderness cottages. Smooth easy transaction, details made very clear.... would definitely use again and recommend to friends an family. Until the next time ????

C Roberts
Reviewed Upper Folds on 20/03/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Another great stay at Upper Folds. It is so homely and caters for your every need for a relaxing hoiday, we have stayed 3 times now and plan to stay again in the future once we have saved up! The garden and facilities are superb, and the fact we can take our four legged friend is another bonus. The only thing I would say was that the land line was not working, just in case of emergencies really as the mobile signal is not great (beauty of it though!), as we have no desire to use for anything else. Many thanks.

Caroline McGrath
Reviewed Charleston on 16/03/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

We stayed at Charleston February 15 - 23. Our second visit, & will not be the last A warm, cosy and spacious cottage standing in a remote, totally private setting. Although not isolated. Our Rottweiler loved the garden which is totally secure, and variety of walks (caution if you're dog doesn't tolerate sheep). My husband and I have travelled extensively over Scotland but Charleston remains our favourite cottage for an escape from it all. For a large shop Inverness is only about half hour drive. I would highly recommend Charleston

Happy Customer
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/03/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is our 3rd stay, and the cottage is beautifully maintained and a joy to visit. The welcome pack of wine, shortbread, milk and flowers is a lovely touch. The cottage was spotless and it is lovely to have hand wash, spare bins bags and kitchen roll all provided. Lots of DVDs provided together with games. Location is perfect with easy access to walks locally and the good access to the coast at Culbin. Look forward to staying again ...

Nikk Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 13/03/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Another fabulous week spent at Sealight. This is our third year here for hubby and I and second year my parents have joined us. We love this place so much, it's like coming home. As always it was beautiful and clean and warm. The weather for our week was lovely with mild weather and sunshine. Fabulous day spent on Mull in almost summer weather. The pine martins came every night and this year we saw sea otters in the bay in front of the cottage plus roe deer in the front meadow. The birds were beautiful and we struggled to keep up with feeding them! We have already booked it again for next year.

Joyce & Flo
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 12/03/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

The main things about this cottage are its situation, which is wonderful and how clean and comfortable it is. If you would like a quiet holiday in spectacular scenery, surrounded with wild life, then this cottage is for you.

Sally B
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 09/03/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

2nd time at Tor Fionn-stunning views of loch,comfortable cottage-excellent kitchen-diner. Healthy staggering distance from Lochcarron Hotel-excellent beer and food. Dog friendly.

Susan Holland
Reviewed Ardbeg on 08/03/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Starting with wow!! And ending with a wow!! The whole experience was so easy, from choosing to booking etc. And Ardbeg was amazing, perfect on every aspect from quality fixtures and comfort, location, the view was beautiful! The welcome pack waiting for us, how long have you got? We will definitely return.. soon x

Wendy & Derrick Cobden
Reviewed Sealight on 07/03/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

We loved Sealight clean well equipt and a beautiful house, we met Marty the pine Martin every night, seals and I'm sure a sea eagle sighting. Fantastic place.

M Whiting & G Norman
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 07/03/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Second time booking with Wilderness Cottages both times 100% positivity. Excellent booking system, very accurate advertising, absolutely beautiful cottage we've just stayed in. Definitely be booking with Wilderness Cottages again?

The Ward Family
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 06/03/2019
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Braehead Steading was a fantastic place to stay. The house is really lovely - warm and spacious with everything you could need. The area is perfect for outdoors activities - mountains, lochs, rivers, easy walking trails for the children, less than an hour from the coast and airport. The village is about a mile or so along a flat path (The Deeside Way) with some great cafes. Tourist info centre is very helpful too. Highly recommended!

Alan & Kirsten
Reviewed Heatherbank on 06/03/2019
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Heatherbank was a lovely peaceful cottage. We had a brilliant week away. Very much enjoyed the stove after many long walks in Assynt. Lochinver Larder was great for pies too. The dogs loved patrolling the garden on a daily basis.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/03/2019
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This was our 3rd stay here, it's become a yearly retreat for us now & it was fantastic as always. Gordon & Margaret are great hosts, we walked for miles by the river Oich, had a couple of days in Fort William, visited Eilean Donan Castle at last and generally relaxed for 10 days. Lovely sitting at the fire at night with homemade soup & board games/cards. Be back next year again?

Brian
Reviewed Sealight on 25/02/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Splendid house in a great location with everything you could wish for. Very easy to find and excellent service from Wilderness Cottages whom I have used previously and would have no hesitation in using again.

Phil & Celia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 21/02/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage lived up to our expectations. Jane and Chas gave us a warm welcome and then left us alone to settle in but were around if we needed anything. Although it was February we saw a hare and some deer on our first full day and Eider on Loch Ryan the next day. We visited the lighthouses at both ends of the Rhins, had a walking tour around Stranraer and a lunch in Portpatrick. There are some nice gardens a short drive from the cottage but most are closed in February. It was great having the sea view first thing every morning and there was no light pollution in the evenings so the stars were easy to see.

Lynsey
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 21/02/2019
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

We had a lovely week in Reyflat Barn: it was our second visit and we really enjoyed the opportunity to return. The Black Isle is a lovely place to visit - all the benefits of somewhere rural and coastal, but with Inverness nearby. The sitting room in this property is especially nice - very comfy with lovely rural views. The cottage is cosy and well-equipped and Pat gives a lovely warm welcome (complete with excellent homemade scones). Thanks for having us - we hope to come back again!

Alexander Bankier
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/02/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolutely jem of a retreat

Paul Crick
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/02/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Wow! What a wonderful cottage this is. Tucked well away of the beaten track, this beautiful cottage is exceptionally well equipped for a very comfortable break away from it all. With views across the Irish Sea to Northern Ireland, we were blessed with spectacular scenery, blissful walks and jaw-dropping sunsets from our vantage point in the lounge and on the shoreline which is two minutes walk from the front door. Chas and Jane are thoroughly charming and helpful hosts who made sure we could find everything we needed and find our way around the surrounding areas with lots of helpful suggestions for days out and places to go. Seascape Cottage was well equipped for our four-footed companions and it was clear that they were completely welcome. We couldn't recommend this cottage more highly for those wanting to disconnect from the busyness of the world for a little while. We will be back :)

Robert & Allina Cross
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/02/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic stay in an amazing cottage in the most perfect location for us. The location of the cottage exceeded our expectations, with fantastic views during the day and clear star studded night skies for the duration of our stay. We had daily visits from the deers and having arrived a snowy blizzard the snow remained with us until we left. The cottage itself is a joy, warm and cosy with everything you could need, a perfect bolthole. No internet or phone signal is a bonus, and even though the road/track is interesting in the snow it great fun and all part of the experience. We wouldn't have missed this break for the world - just perfect. This won't be our last visit.

Celia & Howard Walsh
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 13/02/2019
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Excellent service from Wilderness Cottages; totally hassle free ; Shore Cottage is in a beautiful remote location and fulfills everything it says on the package, peace and tranquility; would have just been happier with a mobile phone signal

Rosemary & Andrew
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 13/02/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Spacious, warm & cosy cottage set in woodland on the Dava Way so ideal for walking, cycling and running from the garden back door. Our birthday week was made memorable by arriving after dark in snow. Good facilities for self catering and good base for exploring historical sites such as Culloden battle site & Fort George and a tour of Brodie Castle; Black Isle & Cromarty, and coastal walks at Findhorn and Nairn.

Susan
Reviewed Fhaireag on 12/02/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

A beautiful house set in a wonderful location, we couldn't fault anything about the place. It was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy and had everything there that we needed. Being able to watch the abundant wildlife all around the house was amazing and the views were stunning.

Jeanette
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 02/02/2019
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We were very cosy and comfortable in Tigh-na-Craobh. I very much appreciated the the modern living, eating and cooking area and well equipped kitchen. No need too eat out when there is so much to be enjoyed in the cottage. A super cottage in a fabulous part of Skye with lots of great walking from the doorstep.

Samantha Gilliland
Reviewed Charleston on 30/01/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

Absoloutely perfect 18 night break at charleston as always Situated in the most peaceful of settings with beautiful panoramic views of the Monadhliath Mountains and an abundance of wildlife including the rare red kite. The property is immaculately clean and spacious with extra touches such as a welcome basket filled with lovely treats and little tubs in all 3 bathrooms full of essentials to make your arrival all the more welcoming (and of course fluffy white towels) There are also dog treats for your four legged friends!!! They really have thought of everything including wifi for the younger ones and sky. I can not recommend Charleston enough and we will certainly be back as soon as possible . Thank you

Jenny Youl
Reviewed Sealight on 29/01/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Exceptional property, absolutely top drawer. The view across the loch was beautiful, the weather changing the colours frequently. The underfloor heating kept the house incredibly warm & cosy. And there was the fire to enjoy too. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen was provided. It was a real wrench to leave.

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 27/01/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Our second visit in less than a year and we will be back again and again . The breathtaking views are always there no matter what the season. We saw otters in the Loch , Pine martin in the Garden and large Red Deer Stag at Glen Shiel. The barn is equipped with everything you need and as been lovingly converted with a lot of thought into the perfect getaway from it all holiday accommodation. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location don't waste any further time, book Leachachan Barn. Five Star and some .

Morwen Mands
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 25/01/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

One week at the glorious Seal Skerry Lodge for my 40th birthday. The house was immaculate, beautifully decorated, had everything you could possibly need and set in the most stunning location. The owner was very helpful and provided quick responses to any queries. There is a fantastic and friendly village store 2 miles away in Glendale which has everything you need. The 3 chimneys restaurant is roughly 5 miles away and Neist Point is only 3 miles from the house. I was sad to leave at the end of the week, a real home away from home, can't wait to return and would highly recommend.

Ingrid Phillips
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/01/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

A group of old friends travelled to Marnie's Croft to spend Hogmanay together. Marnie's Croft was fabulous. The space, with open plan kitchen, dining and living room, worked so very well for us all- it gave us the opportunity to all be together, whether relaxing infront of the wood burning stove, or cooking- it gave great interaction. The house is warm and comfortable. Good beds, well equipped kitchen, clean and cosy, with the most amazing views across the loch. Close to Inverness, and local shops near by meant that picking up supplies was easy. This was such a lovely place to stay- we would definitely consider returning

Vicky B
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 21/01/2019
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

A lovely cottage, we stayed the week after Christmas. The cottage is very warm and cosy and the real fire was a real a real bonus as it was a chilly week. There are plenty of walks from the cottage. The cottage is so beautifully located being on the Loch so the views from kitchen are stunning and ever changing. The local amenities are fab, the local Spar has all one would need and although the cafe over the road wasn't open during our visit I know it's worth a visit.

John Davies
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 21/01/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn the area and the service from Wilderness cottages was exceptional. We have never stayed in such a well equipped and comfortable cottage. Wilderness cottages answered all our requests promptly and the barn exceeded our expectations