Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3785

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3785 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Danny Cossar
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 13/04/2020
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

As we arrived we were greeted by lovely Jenny. The cottage is stunning and set in perfect surroundings, close to the fabulous Plodda Falls. The cottage is well equipped with everything you should need, comfortable sofas/beds and a lovely warm open fire. Jenny really made us feel welcome here, always on hand to answer questions and to provide and further information. The cottage has ample room for families. Myself, my partner and our two doggies stayed. Enclosed gardens which were ideal. We will definitely be returning here in the not too distant future.

Tania, Troy, Jack & Dave
Reviewed Log Ness on 17/03/2020
And awarded it

Log Ness

I cannot express how totally stunning Log Ness is!! It is absolutely beautiful and set in an amazing location with brilliant views over Loch Ness. Sian and Phil happened to meet us upon our arrival at Log Ness and they were very welcoming and gave us lots of useful advice. There is everything you could possibly need in the lodge and all is to a very high standard. The log burner is amazing and keeps you nice and toastie with the under floor heating as well. There is a lovely outside drinking area with dart board, but unfortunately we couldn't really make use of this due to the bad weather. The washing machine and tumble drier came in very useful, especially for our ringing wet clothes from our Ben Nevis experience. We even arranged a Tesco delivery which turned up with no problems. The surroundings are so beautiful. There are lots of walks that can be done immediately from the lodge. We did a lovely 8 mile walk through some stunning locations. Would highly recommend Log Ness and Sian and Phil are more than happy to help out and answer any questions. We are even looking to go back in the summertime and make use of all the outside space and BBQ. Totally amazing!!

Carolyn Milne
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 14/03/2020
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is an amazing property. Spotlessly clean. Wood provided for fire and property is so easy to keep warm. Kitchen had more equipment than we have at home- washing machine and separate drier. Proper wooden cot rather than travel cot provided and good, safe high chair. Showers are wonderful, hot and powerful. Strong wi-fi. Easy to keep clean, even with 2 Labradors. Quiet, peaceful and secluded. 10 mins walk into Fort Augustus (Uphill on way back) TV, CD player. Immediate access to Great Glen Way. Veranda/ decking area for sitting and for leaving muddy boots etc. Bathroom radiators suitable to drying damp clothing if necessary

Michele Hartnell
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 14/03/2020
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Camero's Cottage was just the best . The photos really don't do it justice as it was so much more roomy than we expected . Morag ,the owner, was lovely and on hand should you need . The area is beautiful . Cameron's Tearooms are a must and a short walk from the cottage . The staff were so helpful and friendly and the food ..... well , we went everyday .Thats testament enough . We shall certainly be returning to this cottage .

Matt Uffindall
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 09/03/2020
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Excellent cottage and a lovely warm welcome from the owners. The cottage is simply wonderful, and finished to a very high standard. It has its own privacy, whilst sharing the plot with the owners home, just a few yards away. The burn flowing besides is the only noise, coupled with the birds on the feeder and whilst close to the main road, its feels like you are in your own little world. A great location with access to Glen Coe, Oban and onwards to the West Coast. Get the fire roaring, have a walk through the woodland and relax with a whiskey.

Nicola Forshaw
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 09/03/2020
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Absolutely stunning location, and such a cozy, well equipped cottage with fabulous panoramic views. Ruth & John were incredibly helpful. 5* plus!!

Sandra
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 09/03/2020
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a wonderful stay at Stablemans Lodge. It is warm and cosy, very clean, well-equipped and great location. The house is behind the owner's property but feels very private, and Grantown on Spey is a lovely little town, very pretty and a good base for lots of activities. As there is no central heating, I was a little worried that the house would not be warm enough, a key requirement for me, but due to the very efficient wood burner, heat circulation system and an electric heater in the kitchen (not really needed as it was warm enough, anyway) this was not the case, in fact it was toasty warm throughout our stay. There was also a double bed in the bedroom area, rather than all single beds, as shown on the photos, which was a nice surprise, too.

Sam Yarwood
Reviewed Callakille on 09/03/2020
And awarded it

Callakille

A beautiful and extremely comfortable cottage in a stunning, remote and peaceful location. Very easy booking and pre-arrival communications. Will be back!

Vicki W
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 06/03/2020
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

A fabulous place to stay, contemporary, filled with light & a profusion of glass to take in the stunning views of the sea loch from all rooms. Really appreciated the remote location, so quiet & unspoilt. However, take note that if visiting out of season there are very few facilities open. Bring your own food supplies. The tiny shop in Glendale has essential food supplies. Do not rely on it for food upon arrival as it will be closed & does not open again until 11am Monday. A welcome pack would be appreciated. The Co-op at Portree is an hour drive away.

Shawna Himsl
Reviewed Cala on 04/03/2020
And awarded it

Cala

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at Cala. Walking into the home for the first time took my breath away. The pictures are great and all, but I was actually shocked when I saw it in real life. I actually got misty when we had to leave. We are so thankful to Heather and Phil for letting us stay, and also to Brian and team at Wilderness Cottages. We are so looking forward to our next trip in November and are grateful to have worked with such great folks! Thanks again!

Shawna Himsl
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 04/03/2020
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

We had the best stay with Ruth and John at Tor Cottage! They were both so friendly and accommodating. The home is meticulously clean, warm, and great place to do a puzzle or read a book! We are so looking forward to the next time we stay! Thank you Ruth, John, and the wonderful team at Wilderness Cottages!

Ruth H
Reviewed Rhundunan on 03/03/2020
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Rhundunan is a child friendly and comfortable cottage. Whilst we did go out for walks every day (in February), it was a joy to stay in and watch the beautiful landscape around us.

Jane & Family
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 03/03/2020
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Excellent accomodation. Clean, spacious with a welcome basket and warm fire on arrival. Quiet location next to beautiful woodland but close enough to walk into town within minutes. Great barbeque hut in the garden too.

John Cocker
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 03/03/2020
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Fantastic Byre full of rustic charm but all very modern with very efficient heating . Our only gripe is the tele was a bit on the small side but that might be because we are used to a big screen . OVERALL EXCELLENT.

Amy Naylor
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 03/03/2020
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had a wonderful break in this cottage. It is located in a fantastic location and perfect for a small family.

Annette Robinson
Reviewed Fhaireag on 03/03/2020
And awarded it

Fhaireag

What a lovely holiday home. Set in a wonderful location, with long walks straight from the door. Lovely and clean and very warm, comfortable beds, and allows dogs - what more could you ask for. The deer in the garden and the red kites overhead, and the snow during our stay, made for a lovely break away. Our third stay in a 'Wilderness Cottages' property and have never been disappointed.

Craig
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 02/03/2020
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Had a lovely stay at the old smiddy. Really well appointed property with a great standard of facilities and well located within 10 minutes of Beauly. My only advice to other people would be to take a pair of slippers - the tiled floor is cold and there's only 1 rug in the lounge area.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/03/2020
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This was our 4th winter break staying here, brilliant time as always. Very cozy cabin, peace & quiet, lots of walking...we're coming back in September! Love The Coltsfoots for a family break.

Colin W
Reviewed South Lodge on 02/03/2020
And awarded it

South Lodge

Beautiful location with an abundance of birds and wildlife. The lodge itself is immaculate and sooo cosy especially with the log burner going. Everything you need is here it's a real home from home.

Neil Macmillan
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 02/03/2020
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We had a wonderful few days at Braehead Steading. The house is great, plenty of space for the 8 of us. Nearby Ballater was great for our food and drink etc. We went skiing at Glenshee and then came home to our cosy house and cooked in the big kitchen. The owner was very helpful, showing us a lovely walk right behind the house. We'll certainly be back here.

E Shephard
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/02/2020
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Fantastic cottage, great welcome. This was our second visit and we will definitely return. Great base for the various wild life, great garden for our 2 cocker spaniels.

Jane & Roy
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 20/01/2020
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Fantastic little cottage, this is our third time here. There are fine views over the sound towards Scalpay and the tip of Raasay. We saw plenty of sea birds and most days an otter all hunting for food just offshore. This was usually timed to our eating breakfast so gave a good backdrop. We used the cottage as a base and spent our days kayaking around parts of Skye and walking the Cuilins.

Steven Christy
Reviewed Log Ness on 10/01/2020
And awarded it

Log Ness

Log Ness what can I say but wow it lived up to all expectations and more an absolutely beautiful Lodge with spectacular views I really can't fault our stay here it was amazing and my whole. Family can't wait to come back ....... Thank you for letting us rent your beautiful home

Robin & Lesley
Reviewed Ardbeg on 08/12/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Of all the places we've been to and stayed around the world, Ardbeg scores very highly. Ardbeg is presented in an extremely tasteful and calming manner which suited our need to be able to chill out completely. Ardbeg is centred in an area which has an abundance of scenic walks and trails, suitable for all abilities. We were spoiled for choice, even our sprocker who celebrated his first birthday during our stay was in his element. Returning to Ardbeg after a long days walking was an absolute pleasure with all our needs more than catered for. Our sincere thanks to the owners of Ardbeg for a truly wonderful cottage.

Ann Davis
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 08/12/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

This barn was the perfect place to get away from it all. The conversion was absolutely stunning in a subtle, understated way - very cosy and thoughtfully presented. A truly special place to stay.

Jennifer Harris
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/12/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Beautiful cottage, amazing scenery and lots of wildlife. Couldn't ask for better.

Huw & Karen
Reviewed Cala on 07/12/2019
And awarded it

Cala

An astonishingly beautiful setting, the panoramic view of Loch Nedd from Cala is magnificent. The area is ideal for those interested in walking in unspoiled landscapes to enjoy the scenery, its wildlife or the geology of one of the most captivating areas of Scotland. Well appointed and warmly welcoming Cala is in a quiet, sparsely populated area and, out of season, road traffic is refreshingly rare. The ideal place to stay to appreciate peaceful grandeur of the Highlands.

Brian Johnstone
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 24/11/2019
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Had a lovely stay at Rowan Ridge. Very well appointed, comfortable, warm cottage well located for trips to Inverness and surrounding areas. Appreciated biscuits and Christmas tree which was a nice touch. Recommended.

Keith May
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 22/11/2019
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

This was the first time we had stayed in a wilderness cottage and we weren't disappointed! An excellent cottage in wonderful surroundings, it made our holiday. It was perfect for the two of us and we didn't want to leave! The location provided easy access and a perfect base to explore the area. We will definitely be booking again. Thank you for making everything so easy.

The Smiths
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/11/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We have used wildernesses several times They are extremely helpful and highly organised every trip has went like clockwork

Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug, Blackpool
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 16/11/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A nice comfortable, well equipped cottage in a tranquil location. We enjoyed the cottage and cooking using the Everhot range. Lots of walks within 30 minutes drive. Plenty of wildlife straight from the windows (deers, pine martens, woodpeckers and many other birds) and a brilliant changing view of the loch and mountains from the dining room window. There is no light around the bird table to see nocturnal visits from the wildlife, but luckily we took a battery powered, motion detection security light which allowed us to watch the pine martens after dark. As there are no shops nearby we prebooked an ASDA delivery for the Monday (4.00 charge for a 2 hour slot) which was delivered on time and with no issues. The road outside the cottage to Kinloch Hourn is a fantastic drive and great for wildlife spotting. It gets a bit narrow for the last half mile, but the views and peace at the loch are well worth the drive. A brilliant holiday in a great part of Scotland.

Debbie Woelfell
Reviewed Sealight on 13/11/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Just had a fabulous week at Sealight. Very comfortable, gorgeous views, well equipped and the weather for November was dry with a couple of sunny days and blue skies. Came back well chilled.

Adam Drummond
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/11/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Taigh Druim is one of the best houses we've stayed in, anywhere. The location is unbeatable and the house is extremely comfortable for those days where you just want to stay in and watch the ever changing view outside. We cannot recommend it enough, or Wilderness Cottages for their service too, and will definitely be returning.

Lorraine Flannigan
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 10/11/2019
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Wonderfully comfortable, clean, warm and well equipped holiday home, thank you to the owners we had a fab time.

Jen & Kat
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 09/11/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Lovely place in a wonderful location - Trossachs in one direction and Glencoe in the other. The place is nicely done - the shower in particular is great! It's very suitable for a couple. The owner was very welcoming.

Keith R
Reviewed Timber House on 05/11/2019
And awarded it

Timber House

We have stayed in the Timber House several times over the past four years. Although a lovely property, in a great location, it now requires some investment on things such as garden furniture, sofas, crockery and other basics.

Paul Stonehouse
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

A fantastic cottage in a stunning location. The house was very clean and well appointed, warm and spacious. I can highly recommend Fon Tobar

P Bennett
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Comfortable, simple and homely cottage with all you need for a relaxing stay. Good public parking area adjacent to cottage. Great location with easy access to amenities. Stunning scenery and Wildlife. Highly recommended

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is a wonderfully peaceful place to stay. It is comfortable and well equiped, the Rayburn and wood burner being an integral part of the whole experience.

Stephen Broadley
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 04/11/2019
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

If you're looking for a quiet peaceful relaxing getaway then Fersit Log Cottage delivers on all fronts. Our golden retrievers loved the large enclosed garden and to say this place is off the beaten track is an understatement. There are some lovely walks to be had from the nearby car park and its only an hour away from Loch Ness. The spar at Spean Bridge is just 20mins away or Morrisons at Fort William a further 20. The jacuuzi bath was a bit of a novelty and the log burner kept us nice and warm on an evening. Needless to say we will be back sometime in the near future. Steve, Karen, Charlotte, Milly and Lucy.

Corinne
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 03/11/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge is absolutely beautiful. It is modern, clean, well equipped with fantastic views over Loch Pooltiel. The lodge is in a fantastic location, surrounded by breath taking scenery and close to Neist Point lighthouse. We will definitely be returning.

Lisa Leary
Reviewed Callakille on 29/10/2019
And awarded it

Callakille

I'd like to thank you for everything. The cottage and surroundings were absolutely stunning. We will be returning customers.

Kath Gillie
Reviewed Station Cottage on 25/10/2019
And awarded it

Station Cottage

What an absolutely lovely cottage, bigger than it looks in photo's which was a pleasant surprise. The master bedroom with en-suite was fab lovely comfy bed and sumptuous bedding. Garden ideal for our energetic chocolate lab (Jenson) very secure and big enough for him to have a play with his ball in. Nethy Bridge is a lovely village fantastic butchers which we used on several occasions, the cafe at top of road was great with home made soups, cakes, scones I could go on. The little Spar shop well stocked and on a Monday night you get the Fish and Chip van. A lovely riverside walk starts just over from the Spar which takes about 40 mins just right for a morning or evening walk. A great base to visit we went to Loch Eileen walked around which took roughly an hour and a half. We also visited Culloden battlefield ( worth a visit), Fort George also worth visiting and up to Findhorn Bay which Jenson loved sadly no dolphins but lots of lovely scenery. We would hope to return in future but like trying different places, so maybe in a few years.

Jane Roberts
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 25/10/2019
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

What a fantastic find this was. Lovely little place that was very clean and tidy and lovely and warm. It is only 1 bedroom but that was more than enough room for us. It was a very peaceful place and really handy to the various distilleries and local towns. Would definitely stay here again.

Barbara
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 23/10/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Very cosy, warm, clean and up to date cottage with everything you need to enjoy time in this very beautiful part of Scotland. Great location overlooking the shores of Loch Carron, easy access to facilities in the village.

Roly McLean
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 22/10/2019
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Very enjoyable stay at Shellach, weather was nice, very comfortable cottage, enjoyed my evenings reading and chilling out beside the log fire in the lounge. Nice food at Bistro and at the Lochcarron Hotel. The natives were very friendly too. Will book this cottage again for my annual pilgrimage to Lochcarron

Beverley Chew
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Fantastic as always. Warm and home from home welcome. Excellent place to stay, very comfortable and well equipped. Views are magnificent a wonderful base for exploring the Scottish highlands.

Miss S Mann
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Would love to visit the Coltsfoots again. The cottage is only a short walk into town which has a well stocked store. Very clean even though dog friendly there is no smell of dog. Lovely log Burner which you don't really need as the heating is more than efficient but adds that extra touch. Shortly after we arrived we were met from the owner lovely man just to make sure we settled in, also there were shortbread and wine in fridge which I thought was a nice touch.

Joan & Colin
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

An Airidh

An Airidh is a beautiful cottage in a superb location, Skye is a fantastic place to take a holiday, and you cannot get better accommodation than this, clean , warm with every conceivable comfort you could possibly need, hope to be going back soon.

Danielle
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 21/10/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautiful house, done out very well and great base for exploring Skye and surrounding areas. Would definitely book with Wilderness Cottages again.