Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 20 of 2663

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2663 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Philip Symons
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Very clean and comfortable accommodation. Despite being a few minutes walk from the shops, the cottage was very quiet. We had planned to stay in Aviemore, but are very glad that we found this cottage in our online search as Grantown was far more attractive and had everything we needed (plus an interesting museum). A visit to Craig Bar is a must (the Landlord is very entertaining!). Fantastic walk from the cottage through Anagach woods and along the River Spey. The cottage was an ideal base to tour the area. We visited Balmoral Castle (the drive along the Highland Tourist route is simply stunning), Inverness (dolphin and seal watching from Chanonry Point and Findhorn), Culloden and the RSPB Osprey Hide. Lovely walks on the Glenlivet Estate, up Cairngorm Mountain and around Loch Morlich. We hope to visit the area again very soon and would very happily book this cottage.

Tomkins Family
Reviewed The Orchids on 25/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

Excellent property in beautiful area of Skye. Spacious, clean, warm and comfortable and very well equipped. Great for all the family, including baby. Highly recommended.

Carole Rowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our stay at the cottage was perfect, its beautifully situated right on the loch with the sound of the waves crashing, it has everything you need from a lovely home very welcoming feeling. We are already booking for next year....

Karen F
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 21/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

A lovely cottage in a fabulous location. It was tastefully decorated and just the right size to accommodate our party of 6 adults and one child. The reading area was a gem and given more time I would happily have spent quite some time ploughing my way through the books on offer. The hosts Bill and Marjory were great and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend staying here, it feels nice and remote but is still within a reasonable distance for the excellent sites that Scotland has to offer in the area.

Dan & Anne & Bailey(springer Spaniel)
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape cottage was what we wanted, isolated but within reach (15 min approx) from Stranraer, the owners Chas & Jane have catered for just about everything you'll need. From the cottage to the shore line you have a 2 or 3 minute down hill walk which on the way back you have a slight rise to climb. There are good walks along the shore (bring walking boots). The cottage has no wifi and you need to a short distance by car for a signal, but that's part of the attraction to get away from it all and chill out! Perfect.

Mark Boyd
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This place is stunning. Cosy wee cottage surrounded by stunning scenery. Lots to do in this part of the world, or just kick back and relax in the cottage's conservatory and let the hours drift by. Loved it!

Ann Hadland
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage was a great base for our holiday. It was well equipped, warm, comfortable and immaculately clean. The enclosed garden was brilliant for the dogs and there are lovely walks right from the door. The red squirrels and birds visiting the garden were a real treat.

Gareth Carrol
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. Applecross is an absolute treat to visit, and staying in Bayside made for a wonderful experience. The cottage is superbly positioned - literally a few doors down from the Applecross Inn (also lovely!) and a 30 minute or so walk (or 5 minute drive) the other way to the local shop. Everything inside the cottage made us feel so welcome, from the tea and biscuits on the table when we arrived, to the selection of games to the open fire that we enjoyed on more than one night. Amazing blackout curtains in the bedrooms also meant that we slept as well as we've ever done. The decking out the front was a delight and we enjoyed breakfast and late night drinks on there (in our coats!) and marvelled at the view. Genuinely one of the nicest places I've ever visited, and the entire booking process was so straightforward. Just be aware of drive into Applecross - stunning but not for the faint-hearted!

Andrew Howes
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Stayed at Mathesons Croft House in Nostie. Amazing cottage great location total isolation. 5 *

Michael & Jeff
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage has been thoughtfully renovated to a high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and have no hesitation in recommending it. The location is great - in the wilderness - yet suitable for exploring nearby lochs, castles, distilleries, and for climbing munros!

Sarah White
Reviewed Ardrannach on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This is a comfortable, cosy cottage in a spectacular location with incredible views from windows. Warm and has everything needed and owners welcoming and helpful. Fantastic walks from the front door and easy access to all the places on Skye you want to visit. Not modern or glamorous but everything you need is there and makes for a home from home. Dogs loved it but would have been able to get out of garden at livestock on farm if we hadn't kept them on lead (not a problem though). Thank you for a brilliant, relaxing week in a lovely cottage.

Caroline Mcconnell
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

We were all really disappointed to find out on our arrival that the swimming pool was closed even though in your confirmation letter to us, stated that the pool was now open to all guests. The pool was a big attraction to us as we have an 8 and 9 year old. Although it wasn't a huge problem to us we did feel that there were a few things in the cottage that did need some attention. The IPod docking station did not work, the children wanted a bath one night after deciding to paddle in Loch ness but unfortunately the water wasn't hot enough even though there was plenty of hot water from the sinks. The main shower when adjusting the height the attachment was very loose and we were concerned that it could come off at anytime. The cottage itself was lovely and the surroundings are beautiful and we would recommend the cottage to friends and family and also consider coming back if the pool was open again.

Rebecca Hill
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 17/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect peaceful rural retreat. We loved that it was away from it all. Beautifully located on the edge of a beautiful forest with great walks from your doorstep. Amazing wildlife & no people to be seen or heard. Bliss

Craig D
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

We enjoyed a relaxing weeks holiday at Gracie's Cottage, the cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed having breakfast with the the view over Loch Kishorn and exploring the local area where there are lots of lovely walks and places to explore. We wanted a relaxing break and Gracie's cottage didn't disappoint, we will definitely return.

Matthew
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Excellent property in a lovely location, lots of wildlife around and plenty of activities to do locally.

Cerys1
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

The Beech Lodge was amazing! There are only positive comments to make about it. The lodge was well kept with lots of amenities and was very clean. It contained everything you needed and is situated in a great location with wonderful views. I will definitely be going back.

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Lovely house with amazing views. Ideal location for a get away from it all holiday. Wilderness Holiday staff very friendly and helpful.

Julia.b
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 14/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This is such a lovely, well appointed house in the perfect location for some of the most incredible walks and scenery. From booking it to the morning we left, everything went smoothly. We had a fantastic family holiday and can't recommend it enough!

Debbie & Paul
Reviewed The Granary on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary is a beautiful cottage in a stunning setting. We immediately felt at home and we were both very impressed with the cleanliness and the attention to detail. Kirsty, the owner, had thought of everything and the cottage was really well equipped. Kirsty even left us some beautiful roses and a bottle of wine. It's in an ideal location for Drumnadrochit village, just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants, and is also perfect for touring the Highlands by car, as there are many stunning places to see, such as Urquhart Castle, Fort Augustus, Eilean Donan castle, Fort George to spot the dolphins (we did!) and Plockton, to name a few. We really enjoyed our stay at the Granary and we loved waking up to the sound of the wee burn at the side of the cottage. It's a lovely , very comfortable place to relax and unwind in, as everything you need is there.

Claire Murdy
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean, good furniture, amazing position, perfect location for visiting distilleries. Friendly landlords, welcome pack, wine and flowers very much appreciated, we're sure to return.