Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3640

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3640 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Jon & Kate P
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 15/08/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

What a truly amazing cottage and location, everything you need to relax and enjoy the stunning views surrounding the croft. Location is perfect to explore all that Skye has to offer. Will definitely be back.

Claire
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/08/2019
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Wonderful cottage. We didn't want to leave. Cottage is peaceful, with fabulous views of the surrounding landscape and great road links to many places of interest. The cottage is a real gem, particularly loved the rainforest shower, heated flooring and the wood burner too. There is also an excellent surprise with this cottage, something we didn't expect but I wont spoil it for you???? Excellent hosts Jacqui and Jeff who gave us insider tips about the surrounding area and trips out. We had the most amazing holiday, could not fault the cottage at all. Arrivain Cottage is fabulous! We can't wait to return.

Shane Hughes
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/08/2019
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Lovely cottage set in an idilic and peaceful location.Everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable.If returning to the cottage late at night be prepared to meet some of the local deer on the single track road.Certainly was a pleasure to encounter these beautiful animals most nights.The bird feeder outside in the garden has many visitors throughout the day.If you have children then they will love the games room at the bottom of the private driveway.

Sean S
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 13/08/2019
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a comfortable stay at Fersit log cottage. Its is approx. 2.5 miles from the main road and has other houses within 150 metres. It is a good cottage to use as a base if you want to explore the area. The garden is largish and works well for relaxing and has sheep netting and a gate so your dog is safe to be let out without worry. There are plenty of walks to be done from Fersit and munro's there to be bagged! You will need walking boots at the very least as the paths up the hills are mostly non existent and boggy. There are also pleasant flat walks on gravel paths that are easy and scenic. Saw a wild stag on the way up one munro but sadly did not see red squirrels or the elusive pine martin during our stay. Recommend the white sand beaches near Mallaig. Recommend the waterfalls at Foyers. Recommend a day out to Inverness and taking pack lunch out to Chanonry Point/ Lighthouse - if you are lucky you will see dolphins close to shore (10 metres). Fort William is 20 mins away by car. Nearest pub / hotel 5 miles ish - we did not try them.

Mr & Mrs Smith
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 13/08/2019
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

We booked The Challey as a last minute break. The accommodation is a really high standard with some lovely touches including a welcome bottle of Prosecco on arrival. Consideration has been given to guests requirements and we really enjoyed our stay. The area is quiet and secluded, if you like walking the Speyside Trail is 2 minutes away. After a long days walk it was lovely to sit by the river with a cold beer or sit outside in the peace and quiet. The coast is a 30 minute drive away if you want to get out and about. The only downside is we didnt have enough time to see and do everything we wanted. We would definitely recommend and will consider returning in the near future.

Steve Townsley
Reviewed Grain Store on 13/08/2019
And awarded it

Grain Store

Great. Inspiring location ideal for visiting the area with lots of nearby walks. House warm with all we needed.

Helen C
Reviewed Ardbeg on 13/08/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Lovely house - great view across to Skye. very comfortable and very well equipped. If you're travelling with children there's a separate small sitting room to the main living area and both are equipped with a large flat screen TV. Gairloch has a great museum, nice tourist info centre and great fish & chips!

Allan Carson
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 13/08/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge is a spacious, clean and comfortable modern dwelling with two bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen, Wi Fi and outside decking. All you need to take with you is your own food as the nearest supermarket is in Portree. The Lodge is in a spectacular elevated position near the head of Loch Pooltiel with views of the wildlife and a landscape stretching to the Outer Hebrides. It is not overlooked and feels very private. There are lots of walks and there are several places to eat nearby. A very slight word of caution is that the nine mile access road is a winding single track affair which is extremely busy at peak periods due to the attraction of Neist Point. Highly recommended though.

Monique
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 09/08/2019
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We have a fantastic week in this house. The view is amazing and the house is cosy and fully equiped. We went with the boattrip and we saw dolphins and a mink whale and a lot of puffins and seals.

Kees Anton
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 08/08/2019
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Lovely cottage, very comfortable good location and very dogfriendly. Excellent location for exploring Skye. You can walk your dog straight away when leaving the cottage.

Jill B.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/08/2019
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We are very happy to have returned to the croft with our little daughter after spending a week here on our honeymoon six years ago. # The place has lost none of its magic. The holiday home is perfect for a relaxing stay. The view is breathtaking, the house is very tastefully furnished and extraordinarily well equipped. One feels very welcome. We can highly recommend it.

John Jappy
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 05/08/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

This was a superb cottage in a fantastic setting Everything you could wish for for a relaxing holiday The cottage was excellent in every way

Luis Miguel
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 05/08/2019
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Cottage is perfect. Bridget looks after every detail. Views are wonderful, you can see the sea when you wake up. We found what we were looking for, a quiet place in the midst of nature. We will try to stay in Score Bay cottage if we go back to Isle of Skye.

The Speights
Reviewed Toberaie on 05/08/2019
And awarded it

Toberaie

We had a great holiday with no problems whatsoever. Wilderness cottages were well organised and the information provided was accurate and useful. We wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Relaxed
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 05/08/2019
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Lovely cottage - clean, well equipped, peaceful and very good location for sight seeing. Welcome pack was also much appreciated. Would definitely recommend Taffs Barn.

Zinzar
Reviewed Cuilfail on 05/08/2019
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We stayed in cuilfail for a week on summer holiday 2019. It's a very beautiful cottage . Very well equipped . Clean with perfect temperature. Big house. Large garden which my children enjoyed . B862 has the most beautiful views both sides. We would love to come again.

The Speights
Reviewed Toberaie on 03/08/2019
And awarded it

Toberaie

What can we say? We have had the best holiday ever! The cottage is perfect for a family. It's clean, cosy and full of homely comforts. The location is astounding. The wildlife is amazing. It's surpassed all expectations.

Heather
Reviewed Jura on 02/08/2019
And awarded it

Jura

A really lovely cottage in a spectacular location. We loved staying here - it is warm and cosy, with the feel of a well-loved holiday cottage. Well-equipped, and with a wonderful view from the sunroom, which is a great place to sit even on rainy days.

Katharina
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 31/07/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

The week was great. A clean cosy house and an always changing and relaxing view towards the Isle of Skye. With a five minutes walk to an excellent fish restaurant and incredible hiking trails in reach.

Fraser Peddie & Family
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 30/07/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fon Tobar has by far the best views of any holiday cottage we have stayed in. The location is amazing for a remote Scottish island getaway. The cottage itself is equipped with all the necessary items for laundry and cooking tasks. We loved having an open fire at night to relax by and the sunrise and sunsets were very picturesque. Overall a very memorable holiday and the kids loved it!

Valerie Burfitt
Reviewed The Bothy on 30/07/2019
And awarded it

The Bothy

A lovely cottage in an unspoilt area. Very comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen. Nice large bedrooms with comfortable beds. Bonus that a request railway station is minutes away. A charming hostess.

Ed & Carol Copland
Reviewed South Lodge on 29/07/2019
And awarded it

South Lodge

Lovely relaxing week spent at South Lodge. Everything we needed, comfy bed and great bathroom. Plenty of walking without using the car which pleased Baxter our dog greatly. Weather was very kind so we spent a lot of time watching wildlife, passing boats and simply recharging our batteries. Would recommend.

Peter Connelly
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 29/07/2019
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

My wife and I had a lovely week's stay at the challey. Everything is lovely and new with excellent off road parking. Great location for the whisky trail and the Speyside way. Lovely outlook watching red squirrels from the window. Nice and private outside seating area to enjoy a glass of wine ???? in the sunshine

Barbara Suhren, Berlin
Reviewed Pier Head on 29/07/2019
And awarded it

Pier Head

Pier Head was an old fisherman's house, really fine rebuilt from 2011 - 2016. It's very comfortable, good equipped and beautiful furnished with more than enough space for a party of six, with a terrace and two well situated bays, from where you have a great view over Loch Shieldaig, the isle and the minch (as well from two upper ground bedrooms). Shieldaig is a lively, but never crowded place, with a small shop, restaurant and a bar. If you are lucky, you can enjoy local life music there. You will also find a lot of good walks from easy to tough grade in the area. Booking kajak- or boattrip is possible. Highly recommended!

Mike Broughton
Reviewed Aros Beag on 29/07/2019
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This was our third stay and we have always enjoyed using this cottage. It is ideally placed for walking in the Southern Highlands and the Loch Lomond area.

D Albrow
Reviewed The Old Meeting House on 29/07/2019
And awarded it

The Old Meeting House

What a beautiful cottage. Everything that you need is provided for and the place is spotlessly clean. The owners were very helpful and on hand if you needed them. Very peaceful although it is on the only road between Kishorn and Ardarroch. The loch is on your doorstep

Brbara & Herbert
Reviewed The Stables on 28/07/2019
And awarded it

The Stables

A nice and cosy little house, ideal for a couple. Situated very close to the harbour of Crail, we loved spending the time watching the boats and the seabirds.

Barbara & Herbert
Reviewed Log Ness on 28/07/2019
And awarded it

Log Ness

A beautiful house situated in a wonderful area. Log Ness is equipped perfectly, we loved the early morning and late evening views over the hills and the Loch. Hopefully we come back in the near future.

Melinda Chandler
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 28/07/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The perfect cottage from which to explore the West Highlands and Skye, and in our case, with a dog. The barn itself is so beautifully designed and equipped that we could have quite happily spent the entire week not moving, hypnotised by the drama of the fast changing skies and light against the loch and mountains right outside the door, framed by the massive picture windows. After days out and walks getting a bit wet and tired, there was nothing better than having a lovely hot shower (brilliant water pressure and immediate hot water!) followed by a wee dram, sitting on the sofas with a log on the wood burner. As the barn is such a wonderful place to be on the long summer evenings, we cooked at home most nights and it was such a treat/rarity to have all the pots, pans, utensils, good quality crockery and cutlery that meant you could cook properly and enjoy supper without the usual rental cottage compromises. The bed is extremely comfortable too. The location of the barn is perfect as there are so many great walks from the garden gate, including along the loch and up into the ancient woods at the end, but it's also a great base for exploring the mountains and remote villages and beaches of Glenelg and beyond on the mainland or Skye itself. We will most definitely be back!

Jennifer Tyldesley
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 27/07/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

An amazing find. Totally tranquil, beautiful cottage, stunning arounds, fabulous base for exploring. Can't recommend it enough!

Sandie
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 23/07/2019
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We loved this cabin. The new Hobbit House for BBQs was a real bonus. We had perfect weather and no midges but I can imagine this lovely space being used all year round. The outdoor (covered) balconies were also great places to be. The cottage was well equipped and everything worked (actually we both got kicked out off the internet but didn't get round to letting the owners know - I am sure they would have sorted it had they been aware) Location is lovely, tucked away amongst trees but only a few minutes walk to shops, local pub (great pie and chips) and the loved woodland walks. Spotlessly clean and tidy. We would visit again and recommend it to other couples or young families (one large bedroom so maybe not ideal for a party of adults).

John Stevenson
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 22/07/2019
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

A lovely cottage, clean and comfortable and set in the most idyllic location. We were welcomed with a lovely hamper on arrival and the cottage is equipped with everything that you need. Will definitely return.

Jay & Kay
Reviewed Ardrannach on 22/07/2019
And awarded it
Sam Cowlen
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 22/07/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

This is the second consecutive summer we have stayed at Cedar Cottage and it was just as amazing as the first time. The cottage is always so clean and fresh, the treats we received are always so lovely and are always throughly enjoyed. We especially loved waking up to the birds and squirrels and a couple of times driving back to the cottage we managed to spot some deer too. We look forward to returning again.

Dr Don
Reviewed River Cottage on 22/07/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

A delight. A cozy place for two and a dog. Great location for food and exploring. If you are looking in the area, regardless of price point, give this a look.

Chris & Meg
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 21/07/2019
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Cameron's Cottage was a brilliant place for our week. Very comfortable and full of character. It was surprisingly large with almost a French gite feel to the master bedroom. Morag and Ali were great hosts, available when we needed them, but anonymous when not. Even though the house is on a working farm, we were able to walk the dog off lead within 5minutes walk of the house. We would recommend Morag's Tearoom too, across the field - some excellent food and drink on offer.

Chris & Meg
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 20/07/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fon Tobar is a good but expensive property. Clearly it has been located for the view across Loch Pooltiel which is exceptional, but there was nothing else special about the house. It is missing a lot of items in the kitchen such as a draining rack, sieve, foil, tea-towel, kitchen roll. There was no clothes horse to dry clothes (I'd prefer not to use the tumble dryer if possible) and it was raining. Although the garden is fenced, there is a gap under the gate through which our dog (spaniel) managed to escape. Apart from those grumbles, we did enjoy our stay at Fon Tobar and would recommend it for people who have not been to Skye before.

Paul & Gail
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/07/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

We had the most fantastic week at Piper's Lodge. The lodge is fantastic with the kitchen having everything that you could possibly need. The rest of the lodge is equally fab with a huge bed and great shower. The hot tub was also great after a day of sightseeing. The lodge is quite remote (which we were looking for when we booked) and the surrounding views are wonderful. WiFi signal was also great. Cath and Chris were lovely and really helpful but not obtrusive and gave us good tips where to see deers and other wildlife. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing break in wonderful accommodation and surroundings then look no further.

Steve & Sue Martin
Reviewed Lilybank on 19/07/2019
And awarded it

Lilybank

Excellent place to stay, warm cosy and very comfortable, beautiful location for exploring the Highlands.Plenty of wildlife about including a slow worm on the lawn!

Keith & Anne
Reviewed River Cottage on 19/07/2019
And awarded it

River Cottage

What can you say...cottage was absolutely perfect, clean, comfortable & cosy & very well equipped. It was in an excellent location for exploring the Loch Ness area & beyond. We had a wonderful holiday staying at River Cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone. ps..our little dog agrees. He was made to feel welcome & loved his walks in the massive garden.

Richard & Carole
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 19/07/2019
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

This is the second year we have stayed at this location, albeit last year we stayed in the adjoining property Taffs Barn, which we thought was brilliant, however in our opinion this one is even better especially in terms of views from the balcony kitchen patio doors. The setting is so tranquil and peaceful, yet is within close proximity to amenities and attractions including the beautiful dolphins. Owner Pat is very welcoming and helpful and her scones are mouth wateringly good!! We will definitely be back again next year!!

Michael & Judy
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 18/07/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

An amazing week spent in a wonderful location. Piper's Lodge was a beautiful place for our holiday, perfect, spotlessly clean and very handy for 'The Three Chimneys'!

Len Collard
Reviewed Station Cottage on 18/07/2019
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Lovely cottage great location and a beautiful area 2 nd visit . All you need .

Patrick
Reviewed An Sealladh on 17/07/2019
And awarded it

An Sealladh

An Sealladh is a very pleasant house, well equipped with everything you need for a good holiday, clean and with everything in working order - the kitchen is excellent in particular. There's plenty of space for a comfortable week - there were only two of us and the dog so we didn't even use the third bedroom! Located in Lochinver village, you have easy access on foot to local facilities - sadly the pub seems to have closed since we were last there - but this isn't a remote getaway as such as a result, but that hardly matters as a ten minute drive puts you in glorious surroundings. The only issue with the property is the front - I'm not sure who decided to tarmac over such a large area, perhaps it was used for parking a few vehicles at some point in its history, but it's not great to look at and rather precludes you from sitting outside and enjoying the view to Suilven and Canisp for too long of an evening after a long day's walking. It is at odds with the beautiful country surrounding Lochinver but if you're out and about all day as we were, you can just about ignore it! A pleasant stay, all in all.

Jane Reed
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Excellent cottage. Everything supplied to make our stay a home from home. A lovely back garden and view from the front garden over Lochcarron.

Wim Kroner
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

An excellent address in the middle of nature and beautifull enviroment. We had a perfect stay during our fishing holiday. The cottage is complete and clean with a friendly hosts to help us if necessary. A reason to come back another moment.

Jo Taylor
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

LouPLou
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Tor Cottage was a 5* accommodation with a fabulous view from most windows. The location was good with Tarbert being only a 10 minute drive and Stornaway just an hour away. The owners are close at hand and really friendly and helpful with any questions and knowledge of the Isles.

Philip
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Done nothing Went nowhere Saw no one PERFECT

Louise Goodison
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 16/07/2019
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

An exceptional house in a remarkable position. We will return.