Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 4245

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4245 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Claire F
Reviewed Upper Folds on 15/09/2021
And awarded it

Upper Folds

So delighted to have found Upper Folds! What a beautiful place in a perfect, wilderness setting. Spotless clean and a plentiful supply of wood, this place is a real gem and I'm sure it will not be long before we return. A perfect location for those who enjoy space and a digital break in the heart of the Cairngorms.

Charlotte Connor
Reviewed Ardrannach on 15/09/2021
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Our stay at Ardrannach on the Isle of Skye was fabulous. The bungalow is situated in a perfectly rural and beautiful location, it has an amazing view to enjoy, and is also only a short distance from Portree. The farm which it is near the bungalow is run by a lovely family, who are delightful, and for us cityfolk, seeing the sheep being gathered in and the cattle grazing nearby just added to our wonderfully restorative and relaxing week.

Nicholas Storrs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 15/09/2021
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a wonderful week at Shore Cottage in September. The situation of the cottage is excellent with lovely views of the beach and the sea. We particularly liked sitting on the decking looking out over the sea and listening to the waves. So quiet and peaceful. And what a beach, walked from end to end many times! In clear weather you can see lighthouses flashing on the Irish side.

David Mason
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 15/09/2021
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Very nice property, clean and well equipped. My wife and I had a very pleasant stay here along with our two dogs. The dogs loved the freedom and the nearby forrest walks. The property owner was very kind to let my wife borrow a mobility scooter for the duration of the holiday, she is a below knee amputee and this helped here explore more of the surrounding area. Overall a nice quiet, relaxing week. Just what we needed.

Peter & Ali Marshall
Reviewed The Orchids on 15/09/2021
And awarded it

The Orchids

What an utterly beautiful house in a stunning location! The property was far beyond our expectations, was superbly decorated and equipped with everything we could need for our week's stay. I only wish we could have stayed longer. The area provided plenty to do and see within a short driving distance and we'd recommend eating at Cafe Lephin in Glendale and The Old Schoolhouse in Dunvegan. The seal boat trip from Dunvegan Castle was a highlight as was the walk to Neist Point and up to the Quiraing on the Trotternish Peninsula. The Fairy Glen was magical in the mist and the beach a Loch Brittle was not to be missed either. All in all, a most wonderful week and a delightful property with some amazing views. We loved it and would highly recommend The Orchids as a great place to stay

Rodney Brooksby
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 15/09/2021
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Very good setting in the castle estate with wonderful walks in the castle grounds..Accomodation was also very good suggested road route in to stable cottage on arrival needs to be reviewed as it unsuitable for cars.

Cheryl
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 14/09/2021
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Shellach Cottage was a great base to come back to after a days walking. It was a perfect size for the two of us. The kitchen was really well equipped and had everything we needed. The location was also good, a 15 minute walk into the village and Lochcarron itself perfect for exploring all Wester Ross has to offer. The cottage was cosy - we didn't need to light the fire - and comfortable. We will be back to stay again.

Elizabeth
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/09/2021
And awarded it

Ardbeg

A lovely well equipped property in an amazing location. Ideal for a family holiday.

Bob, Lisa & Mac (dog)
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 14/09/2021
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Lovely, cottage in a lovely location. Margaret and Paul were the perfect hosts and a great welcome package was there to greet us. They made you feel at home and nothing was a bother to them. The garden was perfect for our dog Mac who enjoyed himself also. Thank you again to Margaret and Paul.????

Roy McPherson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/09/2021
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

The cottage is well proportioned and is an ideal base. The cottage has been well thought out and provides all necessary comforts. If you are fortunate, and we were, the red squirrel pats a visit. The hosts Jeff & Jacqui are very helpful. Makes a super base for visiting many places e.g. Mull & Glencoe

JULIA SOUTAR
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 14/09/2021
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Tor Cottage on Harris was a superb property - equipped to the highest standard and maintained beautifully. Delighted they accepted dogs too. The view was breathtaking and the people on the island very friendly - locals and holiday makers alike. A very peaceful retreat.

Steve Byer
Reviewed Lilybank on 14/09/2021
And awarded it

Lilybank

Great base in the middle of the highlands - perfect for outdoor activities and a comfortable, peaceful, well equipped place to stay.

D Tandy
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/09/2021
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Rowan Ridge is an absolutely ideal place for a holiday particularly if you have a dog as the garden is completely enclosed, and it backs on to beautiful woods and is completely private. There are walks from the gate along way marked, but natural pathways with a lovely little river running through., and these pathways lead to forestry tracks and onto moorland if you need a longer walk. Our two dogs thought they were in heaven! The bungalow itself is warm and comfortable and has everything you could need, although I recommend taking a large towel or two as the ones provided are a bit small! The bird feeders in the garden are filled every week and we saw numerous birds as well as having several visits from a red squirrel or two. Although there are other bungalows in the setting they are far enough away and the whole place is very peaceful. A very enjoyable two weeks, especially as it was warm and sunny most of the time and we could even use the outdoor furniture for breakfast!

Karen A
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 12/09/2021
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

It was great to be back on the Black Isle at Reyflat Barn. 5 star accomodation in a quiet, unspoilt location. We'll be back.

Simon Whalley
Reviewed Don Cottage on 10/09/2021
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don Cottage was an excellent base to explore the local area. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped and we would certainly visit again. We had everything we needed to enjoy our holiday and even lots of sunshine!

Carol
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 09/09/2021
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A wonderful place to stay, we took our 2 dogs and the secure garden with the woodland walks was such a bonus, I would definitely recommend it if you have dogs

William Elliott
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 09/09/2021
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Absolutely fantastic cottage and location,the facilities were really great and so clean. Would recommend this place to anyone thinking of booking and will definitely be back and recommend to my friends and family. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Mr & Mrs Lock
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We arrived for a weeks stay on the 28th August after a 14hr drive from South Wales we have never been so happy to see such a beautiful location. Early evening we settled in to find everything you would ever need in a cottage. All rooms well presented and very clean. We slept downstairs as we were on our honeymoon and only needed 1 of the 3 bedrooms.. Cottage is well equipped with all appliances and I thoroughly enjoyed cooking on the Aga after a few teething problems.. If your looking for a laid back vacation this is for you.. Plenty of hill walking and wildlife to see.. Lots of great adventures to be made.. Highly recommended a will most definitely go back tomorrow.

Julie B
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Would highly recommend the cottage, lovely secluded location with great views. It is very comfortable and the wi-fi was brilliant for our teenager daughter to keep in touch with her friends. It had all the amenities needed. We stayed for 2 weeks and had the bonus of mostly sunny weather. Lovely location near to Isle of Skye which was well worth visiting.

Karen & Matt
Reviewed Callakille on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Callakille

Thank you for such a memorable holiday in your beautiful cottage - so well organised, clean and comfortable. It is in the most amazing location surrounded by nature - wonderful sightings of eagles on the fence posts and sea otters playing on the rocks on the beach below, deer and a cheeky pine marten at the walled garden, not forgetting the sheep, highland cattle, sounds of the sea and natural arch down from the cottage. We had wonderful walks along the coast, the rivers, lochs and mountains all made extra special by the most amazing week of sunshine! Fantastic food at the walled garden and fish and chips from the Innside out, the two grocery stores and the most delicious smoked salmon pate, hot smoked salmon and dill mustard sauce from Torridon Smokehouse in Shieldaig. The kitchen was perfectly equipped with everything you could need, so home cooked food and picnics are easy too - even scales, so pancakes for breakfast and scones for afternoon tea went down a treat! We stocked up on some food before arriving and bought locally for other items which worked out perfectly. After a long day of walking and exploring, relaxed tired muscles in the magnificent bath with an enviable view, cups of tea on the bench in the garden and spectacular evening sunset viewings! What a week! It has been fantastic! An absolutely perfect, long awaited holiday and a place we will certainly return to.

Stevie H
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Fabulous lodge in a stunning location over looking Loch Pooltiel, amazing views from every window!! Very well designed with all the comforts required! Telescope well used to see the seals on the rocks every day! Log burner a great feature! Good walk round Milovaig with incredible scenery! Lodge only 3 miles from the lighthouse at Neist point which is well worth seeing! Good base to explore the island and fantastic place to return and chill out in the evenings! Can't wait to return!!

Susan Mordecai
Reviewed Christies on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Christies

The cottage was lovely, it had everything we needed except some garden furniture. Has we had great weather it would of been nice to have been able to sit outside in the evening to read or just enjoy the scenery. We would definitely recommend this cottage and the area.

Debra Clarke
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

What a wonderful week in this beautiful part of Scotland! We were blessed with reasonable weather which meant that we were able to get out and about without worrying about the raincoats! Taffs Barn is set in an idyllic location, with stunning views and the peace and quiet we were looking for. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and very well equipped; bedrooms are massive, with sleep inducing beds! The owner, (lovely Pat), had left us the most delicious home made scones, jam and cream which were very welcome after our long journey north. There was also a vase of flowers in the lounge, which included beautifully scented stocks. The area had much for us to explore, with Rosemarkie beach, the Fairy Glen and Fortrose a few minutes away; Inverness itself is close at hand too. We also ventured a little further north to Dornoch, which had a glorious beach along with a gourmet catering van providing such delights as venison and lobster. We loved every minute of our time here, and plan to return very soon.

Ramesh MacKay
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We last stayed at Port Elgol cottage in 2013. Lovely to return to this charming cottage on the shore at Elgol. It is a stunning location which I love. The garden was looking beautiful. Hopefully it wont take us so long to return again.

David Cashman
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

An exceptional location, in a truly splendid house. A real Scottish island gem.

Clarksons
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Our second visit and just as incredible as the first. A beautiful spot topped off with a great cottage and great hosts. Looking at dates to come back again.

Phyllis Sproul
Reviewed Ardrannach on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a fantastic holiday at Ardrannach. The cottage was lovely but needing some TLC. The views from the cottage were spectacular. It was so quiet and peaceful - just what we needed. Andrew was very friendly and helpful. Lots of walks from the cottage. Loved it.

Kirsty
Reviewed Sixgeary on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A beautifully appointed cottage in a stunning location on waternish. Would very highly recommend - we had a truly magical week here.

Kevin Dixon
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 08/09/2021
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Wow what can I say about this lodge. Amazing, close enough to the shops to walk but far enough away for peace and quiet. A lovely base to be able to explore the highlands Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived to when we left. We met the owner who was absolutely lovely when we arrived and he even came to see us before we left. Loved the place and cant wait to be back next year

Elaine Lunn
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 06/09/2021
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Spacious and comfortable accommodation in a quiet location with extensive rural views. It had a lovely lounge, a delightful balcony and a sunny patio, all alongside a welcoming owner.

Jackie Edwards
Reviewed Timber House on 06/09/2021
And awarded it
The Heys
Reviewed An Airidh on 05/09/2021
And awarded it

An Airidh

A lovely cottage, perfect for our family summer holiday

Lisa & Ben Bannister
Reviewed The Barn, Corrimony on 03/09/2021
And awarded it

The Barn, Corrimony

This property was the best we have ever stayed in. It was in a beautiful rural location, the Barn was equipped to an exceptional standard clearly no expense spared. Mamie the owner was close by and was a very helpful and informative owner. We will give this property a five star rating but it goes way above that standard.we will hopefully return.

Cath & Dave
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 03/09/2021
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a fabulous week in Katie's cottage with glorious weather. Our first trip to Skye and we couldn't have wished for a better location. Loved Glendale and the Duirinish peninsula. So many stunning walks, a well stocked local shop and an amazing place to eat next door (Chidakashka). The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. We hope to return.

Rachel Norton
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/09/2021
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Pooltiel House was wonderful, we loved our stay there. The view alone was reason enough to stay, but the house was also very spacious and well equipped. Wildnerness Cottages were very responsive and helpful. We had a brilliant stay! I'd definitely recommend.

Weavers
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 01/09/2021
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

What a beautiful little find this cottage was. Cottage was immaculate and had everything we needed. Was like home from home Excellent views. Peaceful location to chill and relax. Lovely welcome from Donnie and Jean. Wine and biscuits went down a treat. Would highly recommend this cottage

Jennifer
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 01/09/2021
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

What an absolutely lovely stay in cedar cottage. Beautiful location (even if a tiny bit tricky to find at first!) The images of the cottage on the website don't do it justice at all. Cottage was beautifully clean and everything had been thought of. A lovely welcome pack was waiting for us too. Good layout and plenty of space for 2 adults, 2 children and a large dog. Lots of walks from the cottage, plenty to do within an hours drive. Really enjoyed all the wildlife in the garden including daily visits from 2 red squirrels. Everything we needed was at this cottage plus more. We hope to stay again in the future. Thank you for a beautiful base for a lovely holiday.

Amanda Parry
Reviewed Charleston on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Charleston

Just returned from our amazing trip to the highlands. Charleston was a home from home , everything we needed , very clean and well kept. Above all was the location, what a view from the house. We never tired from waking up to that breathtaking view over looking the loch. Perfect location for exploring the surrounding areas.

John Campbell
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A week spent in cosy, pleasant and comfortable cottage. Lovely situation with views to kill for when you walk up to the hill-top at the back of the Byre. Gloriously quiet and peaceful, fresh air and warm rain with free range cattle and sheep for company. Could not have wished for a better host in Jane who went out of her way to ensure that we had the best experience. Just sorry that Wilderness were unable to reply to my request for fishing details however Jane stepped in and local Trust office very helpfull in this respect. Overall superb holiday.

Vicky S
Reviewed Pityoulish Cottage on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Pityoulish Cottage

We had a fantastic week at this perfectly situated cottage. Beautiful views over the River Spey and just a couple of minutes walk to the loch where we spent many hours swimming and paddle boarding. The cottage had everything we needed. I hope we can return again sometime soon!

Elizabeth
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Great lodge, has everything you need in a good location.

Judith & Steve
Reviewed Upper Folds on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Upper Folds

If you want to stay in a place 'away from it all' then this is the cottage for you. No wifi, no TV, no phone signal - absolute bliss. Really enjoyed the peace and tranquillity and the ability to press the 'reset' button. Lovely cottage in the middle of nowhere with lots of opportunities for walking and not too far from the coast. We visited Spey Bay and Findhorn. Enjoyed a lovely meal at Seven Stills French restaurant in Dufftown.

Sylvia Dawson
Reviewed Old Stables on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Old Stables

This was our second visit to The Old Stables and we had a fantastic time. The property offers very comfortable large rooms with all the facilities you could want or need. The area has lots of interesting things to do with lots of varied walks on the doorstep.

Matthew
Reviewed Roseville on 31/08/2021
And awarded it

Roseville

Great cottage. Very nicely renovated in a perfect location. Everything we needed was included in the cottage, and it was spotlessly clean. So many great things to do in close proximity, beaches, mountains, etc.

The Blacks
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 29/08/2021
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

Had a great two weeks at The Challey, which was comfortable and spacious and had everything we needed for our holiday. The hosts were welcoming and on hand if we needed anything. Sitting in the garden watching the red squirrels, roe deer and garden birds was lovely and relaxing. We were lucky enough to see an owl perched on the satellite dish outside the bedroom window at 2am! Great area, lots of lovely villages to explore. Having the Speyside Way so close meant we didn't need the car all the time, which was a bonus. No hesitation in recommending this cottage.

Paul, Rajni, Maria & Emily
Reviewed Learag on 29/08/2021
And awarded it

Learag

We have had an amazing week at Learag. The view is very beautiful and the house is luxurious. the welcome basket full of treats was delicious and the large TV was really entertaining. We watched a lot of movies. The Highlands is a gorgeous place to visit. We went on 2 cruises and saw some lovely countryside. We also loved when Nova (the little dog from next door0 came to visit. Thank you for a great holiday.

Rosemary
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 28/08/2021
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

The cottage was in a beautiful location with spectacular views over the Cullins. It was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. There was a good amount of hot water and we enjoyed having a relaxing bath after a long day walking. We had a lovely week enjoying this peacefull and isolated area. You might want to consider replacing the mattress on the double bed as it was very uncomfortable . The interior of the cottage is clearly 20 years old and it needs an upgrade.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review and feedback. The owners are planning upgrades to the interior, including a new mattress and other furnishings.
Clive & Hilary
Reviewed Learag on 28/08/2021
And awarded it

Learag

We had a fabulous holiday at Learag. The property is stunning with so many thoughtful touches. The photographs on the site don't really do justice to the size and loveliness of this property. If you are looking for peace, quiet and lots of nature, this is the property to look at. We will be returning when we can.

Heather Hunter
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 28/08/2021
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The Coltsfoots was a great place to stay. Comfortable and clean and plenty of space for the 4 of us. Both bedrooms are en- suite and plenty of hot water for showers. Lovely big kitchen which Was very well equipped. Surrounding area was fantastic. A short walk into town and it was nice to sit outside a pub and watch the boats go through the locks.

Sally Stafford
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 27/08/2021
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Lovely remote cottage with all the equipment we could have needed.