Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3851

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3851 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Fultons
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 22/09/2020
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

A lovely and peaceful, well designed and very clean house in a superb location. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be back soon. Thank you.

Ron & Beryl Whitworth
Reviewed Heatherbank on 22/09/2020
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Charming remote cottage in a lovely surrounding. Cottage was first class, warm and comfortable with all imaginable facilities. One of the best cottages we have stayed, we are seasoned travellers.

The Bullens
Reviewed Aros Beag on 21/09/2020
And awarded it

Aros Beag

An absolute gem of a cottage. Beautifully fitted out, warm and cosy and in a stunning setting. So many walks right from the front door, no need to use the car if you just want to chill. Also convenient if you do want to go further afield with many beautiful spots within an hours drive.

Nicola & Lucy Jeffreys
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 21/09/2020
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We absolutely loved this house, it was everything we could have wanted it to be. Amazing views, stylish, comfortable, well equipped and warm. Hope to return another year.

Glasgow Girls
Reviewed Achbeag on 21/09/2020
And awarded it

Achbeag

Lovely cottage, fully equipped and very comfortable. It was one of the cleanest places we have stayed in particularly important with corona virus.

Fergus Beadle
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 21/09/2020
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

The cottage is fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone - the setting was lovely and the cottage itself was modern, with all new appliances having everything you need. There is a fab restaurant cafe next door with amazing food and a local shop and another great cafe less than 1/2 mile away - we will definitely be staying again !!

Caroline
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 21/09/2020
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had an amazing time at Cuaig Cottage. Our weather was fabulous!! It is cosy and welcoming - don't expect a high pressure shower - but it was great for us and the dog - and in an amazing location with the beach across the road! My husband swam it was so warm - but check the tides - no beach when tide in. Anybody travelling soon to this area must bear in mind that some places may be shut due to virus which is the way it is. You do have to travel to get anywhere - but no big deal as the scenery is unsurpassed and breathtaking! WOW. Take a flask and a good OS map for walking anywhere - there is info, but some vague and old. Book ahead for Applecross inn or take loads of good food! The aga was amazing to heat soggy clothes or boots by after big walks! I would take a portable radio as there is a tv but if you want to hang out in the lovely kitchen it's nice to have music on. We LOVED the fact we had no signal at the cottage. A real switch off - and was very much needed! Thank you Cuaig cottage x

Diane
Reviewed Charleston on 21/09/2020
And awarded it

Charleston

Second time to Charleston Cottage..will be booking again next year. Amazing place...views all round...safe for dogs...cottage just wonderful. Super places to visit. Can't recommend this cottage enough..but only if you like seclusion.

Mike & Teresa Dunlop
Reviewed Wildwood on 19/09/2020
And awarded it

Wildwood

We had a wonderful week at Wildwood Cottage, Fort Augustus. The property was well above expectations, tastefully furnished and spacious. The location was amazing, exactly what we were looking for. Lots of lovely river and woodland walks on the door step. Would definitely recommend and would like to go again.

Karen Gilbert
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 18/09/2020
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Location, location, location... This property is on its own on the edge of a forest with views of the Cairngorms and wildlife abounds. Red squirrel, deer, bats, a woodpecker right outside the windows.. well equipped and comfortable. And so close to all that the Cairngorms offers!

John Delaney
Reviewed Gate House on 17/09/2020
And awarded it

Gate House

A lovely stay. The property is very homely and comfortable with lots of space including a lounge, TV room and a reading room. It was spotlessly clean throughout and very well equipped and warm. It is in a excellent position for exploring Loch ness and Inverness with lots of places within an hours drive. A suggestion for improvement is to add some more outdoor furniture and remove some of the conifers which block the view of the loch and surrounding countryside.

Charlie & Susan
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 15/09/2020
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location. Very clean and well maintained. Planning to return in May 2021!

Robert Friel
Reviewed Aros Beag on 15/09/2020
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a great week in this cottage. Returned home well rested. The walks close to the cottage were fantastic. It is close to the A82 some have reviewed this as a problem. We found convenient. The cottage was well presented and spotless.

Steph Scott
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 15/09/2020
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Can't speak highly enough of this little cottage - fantastic situation right by the sea and thoughtfully provisioned. The weather was pretty grim during our stay so we took advantage of the games, DVDs and jigsaws. Everything we might need - and more - for cooking & eating. No complaints - even the odd access arrangement was fun! But no seals in the harbour sadly & the sea too rough for the boat trip we'd been so looking forward to.

Chris K
Reviewed Charleston on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Charleston

Had a lovely week at Charleston Cottage. Spectacular views and complete peace and quiet. Dogs loved the enclosed and secure garden. Cottage was comfortable and homely, had 7 nights of uninterrupted sleep. Would highly recommend.

Faye James
Reviewed Toberaie on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Toberaie

Lovely cottage in a remote spot, whilst also being close enough to local shops. Lots of wildlife to see and pretty walks from the house and in Nethy Bridge. On a clear night the sky is amazing with the Milky Way visible. The golf courses at Nethy Bridge and Boat of Garton were both very enjoyable, the latter being much more of a challenge. The dog had the time of his life, but it's true what they say about the prevalence of ticks as he collected quite a number. Tick collar is a must. The cottage itself is cosy, comfortable and warm. The only downside is the oven; whilst it is usable, two of the hob rings didn't work properly and the oven door was hard to close. Everything else worked well. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay overall for a true break with peace, quiet and panoramic views Would stay again and recommend to all.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Faye, Thank you for your review, we have mentioned the oven to the owner and this is being looked at as it has not previously been mentioned. Thanks, Wilderness Cottages
Rebecca Evans
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

A lovely, warm and welcoming cottage which was a fantastic base for the week in our favourite area in Wester Ross. Just the dog and I on one of our walking holidays, our accommodation was very comfortable and clean, with local amenities close by. We will definitely be back for another stay.

Susan Dodson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had an amazing stay at Upper Folds and would highly recommend it. Very cosy, comfortable and clean cottage and the welcome gifts were very much appreciated. Beautiful setting and lots of lovely encounters with the wildlife...All in all a fantastic holiday.

Peter C
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Had a fantastic week here. Cottage was very clean, had all we needed. The drive to cottage from main road is stunning especially by the loch. A must drive is General wades military road from Laggan. Goes on for 13 miles we're you have to turn around and come back but well worth it. Lovely restful week.

Ali Jarvie
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Overall accommodation was good and a good base to explore the area. As with some other reviews would benefit from somewhere to put wet clothes/shoes. Would have been helpful to have instruction to say radiators needed to be switched on individually. Property has outside storage but unfortunately with the owners things already present there wasn't actually any room for our bikes so had to keep outside (very safe area so not an issue other than the rain).

Jane & Ian Fletcher
Reviewed Fhaireag on 14/09/2020
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We do love a house with the 'Wow!' factor...& Fhaireag doesn't fail to deliver in that department. It was very straightforward to find (from directions emailed to us) and absolutely delightful; well equipped, and spotlessly clean. We had a lovely week, despite Covid limitations, and would recommend anyone to try a holiday at Fhaireag. Our two Westies loved the walks in the area. This was our fourth booking with Wilderness Cottages, and we have never been disappointed.

David & Joan Galloway
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 13/09/2020
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

There's nowhere like home...and this is simply how we felt in this beautiful cottage and its surroundings ~ To wake as daylight was coming in, to find the silhouette of a stag, followed by a second, only a few steps away ... The half clearglassed door is a brilliant thought.

LIZ CAINES
Reviewed Sixgeary on 13/09/2020
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Second stay at this immaculate, well equipped cottage, lovely to see standards are the same, lovely peaceful location with views over Loch Snizort, We will be back!

Andrew
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 13/09/2020
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We spent a relaxing and very enjoyable few days at the cottage. It is deceptively specious and very well-equipped. Donny and Jean are excellent hosts, living unobtrusively nearby and offering a warm welcome, with a comprehensive rundown of how to make the best of the cottage and surroundings, and a warm farewell. We had not stayed in the area previously and would certainly return to see the Black Isle again. We particularly enjoyed Cromarty where Slaughterhouse Coffee served some of the best coffee overlooking a sound full of retired oil production hardware, and Fortrose and Rosemarkie with their walks to Chanonry Point, where the dolphins actually did turn up. To a good point we escaped the current preoccupation with Covid-19, though our hosts had clearly implemented a thorough regime for cleaning the cottage between visitors, and local retailers were well organised for it. Of course, another reminder of it was turning on the TV, but as a smart one with all the apps (Netflix, iplayer, Britbox etc) it was definitely a bonus. The BT wifi was also great, to the extent that our daughter could complete some programming work connected to remote servers and hold video calls!

Teresa Billington
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 12/09/2020
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Pooltiel House is a gem . We loved it absolutely stunning views from The lounge and kitchen . Just such a beautiful chilled setting . The cottage itself is immaculate and has everything you need for a comfortable stay . I just wished we had booked to stay for 2 weeks . The website says it sleeps 4 , however it slept 6 .

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Teresa, thank you for your review, to confirm the house does have 3 bedrooms, however the maximum number of guests that can stay at any one time is four.
Danielle
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 11/09/2020
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Great location and very spacious accommodation.

Kenny Stables
Reviewed Ardrannach on 10/09/2020
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely cottage with great views in an ideal location to explore the island.

Mark & Alison
Reviewed Number 16 on 10/09/2020
And awarded it

Number 16

Wow, what a stunning spot to spend a week! The view of the loch from the kitchen was amazing, as were the seals that kept us entertained just a few yards away. Cottage was spacious and very comfortable, we loved our stay. So much to enjoy on this beautiful island, but make sure you walk from the cottage along the loch to take in the peace and the wildlife, wonderful. We didn't want to leave!

AnnaCG
Reviewed Number 16 on 10/09/2020
And awarded it

Number 16

Number 16 was a great house for our family of 4. Its much bigger than the pictures make it look! Spotlessly clean when we arrived! Great utility room with space for drying boots and waterproofs and plenty of living space for all of us. Views from the kitchen and lounge out to the Loch were wonderful. The house had absolutely everything we needed and was super comfortable. It was really easy at high tide to get our kayaks down to the Loch side for a paddle with the seals! (at little bit harder at low tide but perfectly manageable).

Keith E
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/09/2020
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

I visit the Highlands at least once a year and have been coming to the Coltsfoots for the last seven years or so. Having always been someone who doesn't go back somewhere more than once, that in itself is a testament to what a wonderful place the cottage and Fort Augustus is for those seeking a Highland retreat with fantastic access to all over the west of Scotland. The cottage itself is superbly equipped, the shower rooms are excellent, and the cottage wonderfully warm when the weather turns chilly, especially with the log-burning stove. The hosts, the MacLennans, are lovely, helpful people and have provided a real idyll for people to stay in. I highly recommend this as the best cottage I have used in the Highlands over the last 15 years.

Liz Tebb
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 09/09/2020
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We had a wonderful stay 22nd-29th August. The house was just lovely, very clean, everything you needed with stunning views across the bay. We saw dolphins, red stags, sea eagles, seals and the peace & quiet was amazing. Wilderness cottages are easy and stress free to book through.

Ross Simpson
Reviewed Balmachree on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Balmachree

We had a great week at Balmachree, excellent location, very clean & comfortable. There is plenty of room, the kitchen is good for self-catering, and the showers are excellent. The sun room at the end was great for sitting, chatting, or reading. We found the location very peaceful and easy to relax in. The Whitebridge Hotel is 5 minutes walk and they are very welcoming, the food is very tasty - as is the beer! There is so much to do in the area, we did plenty of walks & cycling - although the hill from Fort Augustus is a bit steep!! The countryside & scenery is fantastic. We would definitely come back & stay again.

Jane B
Reviewed Earth House on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Earth House

Fantastic place to stay! We loved it and loved the area. The house is comfortable and has everything you need. Views from the house are wonderful and there is plenty to do.

J & M Hayes
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Lovely cottage and only a few metres from the sea. Furnished to a high standard and good WiFi for such a remote location. We loved it. Stunning views.

Liz Watson
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

This cottage has a very special ambiance and the most wonderful views of the Duirnish and Waternish peninsulas of Skye, and across the Minch to the Outer Hebrides coast. All this, as well as a pretty garden with bunnies and lambs at the gate, can be enjoyed from the well-appointed conservatory. All rooms are nicely decorated and attractive, and it's great to have a discreet place outside to dry clothes. A short drive west takes you to the brilliant Glendale General Store, the most westerly such store roadlinked to mainland Britain. Further on from the store is the best place on Skye for watching cetaceans. Don't forget to visit Ravenpress Gallery, Eilean Mors nearest neighbour, for beautiful and skilful woodblock prints, many of the local area. Wilderness were very helpful all the way through. Very good experience.

John Adair
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Lovely house in a cracking setting.. Very clean and tidy Perfect distance to nearest town Ballater. Nice dog friendly garden. This was our 3rd visit, we love it.

Peter Hudson
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A very comfortable, warm cottage with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. So nice to look out to the fields with just cattle and sheep for company. Ideally positioned for exploring the Stoer peninsular and for fishing the numerous lochs and lochans nearby.

Antonia
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Excellent location, amazing hosts amazing cottage! I can only complement the place. Be mindful of the car driving up the hill, its quite steep but the hosts are happy to help out. Also, the hosts have amazing books, table games and the perfect reading areas. There is no WiFi intentionally to allow some quality time for families and friends which is brilliant.

Alex Bell
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Lovely quiet cottage 5 minutes drive from the beach. Pat was such a warm and friendly host who provided a welcome pack including her fabulous home made scones. Spotlessly clean. And no pets was a bonus.

Pauline Walton
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 08/09/2020
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

An ideally situated location giving a sense of freedom and relaxation. To sit in the garden and watch whatever nature brings into view was bliss. Still hold on to sweet memories of Port Elgol Cottage.

Sally A
Reviewed Whitestone on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

Whitestone

Lovely cottage. Wonderful views across the hills. Very clean and cosy. Highly recommended

Delia Bryce
Reviewed Old Stables on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

Old Stables

Firstly I would say the pictures don't do the property justice .. it's huge! We were two adults and an Irish Setter but this place would be fabulous for a family .. Owners are very helpful and were happy to provide advice .. Great location and definitely worth considering for your staycation!

Margaret Anderson
Reviewed Callakille on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

Callakille

Fabulous cottage with incredible views especially from the bathroom where we had our aperitif watching the sea and Rona. The stylish, tasteful fittings and modern kitchen & bathroom enhanced the pleasure of relaxing here plus undertaking many scenic walks. I slept better here than anywhere else!

Jason
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely comfortable cottage on banks of Loch Kishorn. Well maintained and everything you need there. Very restful holiday. No wifi and not much mobile signal. No food shops in Kishorn so make sure you stock up. Lots of single track roads and pass road from Applecross is a challenge.

Janice & David Hindle
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Love this log cabin it's our favourite holiday destination! Spotless and top quality fixtures and fittings. Location is wonderful with a resident red squirrel. A lovely walk into Fort Augustus with a cafe, fish and chips and a selection of pubs. Highly recommended.

Lisa K
Reviewed Sixgeary on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We had a wonderful holiday in Sixgeary Cottage. The place was extremely clean on arrival and we found everything that we needed. Nice welcoming touches like shortbread, confectionary and wine were very much appreciated. The cottage itself oozes style, quality and comfort. We especially enjoyed the top-of-the-range kitchen devices, luxury bed linen and well-stocked bookshelf. Susan, the owner, was very helpful and friendly when we needed anything. All in all, a fantastic place to stay. Thank you!

Michael Taylor
Reviewed The Stables on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

The Stables

Have looked at the Stables a couple of times, but this year it was the only place left given the staycation explosion. Fantastic location in the heart of the village, within a fifty yard radius or the Crail Fish Bar, Greens (grocers) Keith's butchers and the bakery, all of which are excellent! The Co-op, the pub, a tea room and the Crail pottery also fall within this radius. Parking is down the street, a hundred yard walk. The accommodation was fine, and quite well appointed; the only word of caution is the dining table c/w heavy benches won't suit anyone with mobility problems, and we had to store our bikes in the hall. The lack of a view could be a drawback if the weather is too dreich to venture out in, but thats being really picky. It's described as sleeping two + one, but if the one is very wee the mezzanine looks very precarious. Overall pretty good value for what is a beautiful location.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Taylor, thank you your for your feedback and review, to confrim the mezzanine area above the sitting room is not available for the use of guests, as per the website a fold bed is available should a child be staying.
Simon & Angie
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

What a fantastic self catering home. This place is fastastically clean and fittings are of high quality. The home is of high comfort. Set amongst pine trees, the garden attracts lots of wildlife and the owners kindly replenish the feeders for birds and red squirrel. Some lovely walks on the Speyside Way from the doorstep so no need to get the car out. Lovely and peaceful which we thoroughly enjoyed and needed.

Becky Morris
Reviewed The Stables on 07/09/2020
And awarded it

The Stables

The Stables was a perfect base for a week in this lovely area of Scotland. The cottage had everything we needed and was very warm and cosy. We really liked the upstairs dining and living room area. The Stables is really well-located, right in the centre of Crail, just a few minutes walk from the harbour and coastal path, the pottery, excellent fish&chip shop, and other shops too. We would recommend it and would definitely return if we were in the area.

Deborah Park
Reviewed Balachladdich on 02/09/2020
And awarded it

Balachladdich

Very comfortable, well-equipped cottage. Stayed for family gathering post-lockdown and with 3 en-suite bedrooms and one bedroom with large bathroom it perfectly suited our group of 4 adults and 3 teens. Good WIFI (so important with said teens) and the best equipped kitchen I have ever seen in a holiday cottage lacking only storage for a week's worth of dry goods but with a huge fridge/freezer. Large garden with lovely views but is not enclosed and a road, ruined farmhouse and unfenced train-track within reach of a fast moving youngster would not recommend for young families. The outside could do with a little TLC and the promised gas BBQ was missing but otherwise a great cottage. Some nice local walks and easy access to West Coast, North Coast, Black Isle, Nairn Coast and Cairngorms.