Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 4030

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4030 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


EL Family
Reviewed The Barn, Corrimony on 18/06/2021
And awarded it

The Barn, Corrimony

The Barn is a lovely holiday home, very spacious, comfortable and well equipped, with a good garden as well. We had a great week in early May, walking and cycling from the house. Lots to see and do further out as well. Mamie, the owner, is nearby if needed. Would love to return, highly recommend.

ScottW
Reviewed Sixgeary on 18/06/2021
And awarded it

Sixgeary

First point: this is a secluded spot, so it's a reasonable drive to get to the main A-roads, but that shouldn't be an issue if you're heading to stay on Skye. View: We had great weather for several days (June) and the front windows look directly out to the bay across from Uig, this scenery is absolutely stunning! Even on the cooler days, the view is pleasant and peaceful. The cottage: We have stayed at Skye before, but Sixgeary is the best, the underfloor heating performed it's job independently and flawlessly, but on the one rainy day we used the log burner in the front room, which was cosy. Amenities : There is off-road driveway parking for 2 cars if required, a bath with toilet and sink downstairs and a shower with toilet and sink upstairs. There's a double room and a twin room upstairs which is bright, airy and modern. The kitchen is great as it has a top spec. oven/grill/microwave/hob and a great range of utensils. Dunvegan Castle and Coral beach are both within easy reach and Portree is 20 Miles away (half an hours steady drive). The Geary road is a nice walk and if you're lucky you might see wild deer on the moorland at the end like we did.

Sue & Ste
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 18/06/2021
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

From the minute we saw the house we knew we were going to have an amazing stay! It felt comfortable immediately, very clean and everything we needed was available. We sat every evening absorbing the stunning view of Loch Ness from the house and felt so relaxed. We went on the Nessie Hunter to search for Ness and visted the Culloden battlefield. Had a meal and drinks in the Loch Ness Inn. Everyone was just so friendly. The hill is steep up to Marnies Croft which was challenging by foot (we took it slowly by car) but so worth it. Many thanks to the owners for letting us stay, it was a much needed tonic.

Steve & Erica
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 18/06/2021
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Lovely cottage and Jane the owner is a wonderful host. Can't fault any aspect. Also, the team at Wilderness Cottages have been great under extremely difficult conditions due to Covid 19. Many thanks

Merryweather
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Cottage was well appointed. It was comfortable, clean and warm. The location was excellent, within wooded grounds and close to the beach. We enjoyed walking sections of the Southern Upland Way and Mull of Galloway trail, as well as visiting local gardens, including Logan and Glenwhan. There were 4 people in our party and all had a great holiday. We couldn't fault the cottage and would recommend it as a place to stay to anyone visiting Stranraer.

Tony & Carol Hart
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

Had a great week. Cottage is located in a beautiful spot, not been back for 16 years but still as relaxing as we remember. Cottage contains EVERYTHING you need. Great rural walks on the doorstep for Milo our dog.

E Whitel
Reviewed Don Cottage on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We had a lovely stay at Don Cottage, bottle of wine, biscuits & whisky for us & biscuits for the boys were a nice welcome after our long journey.

Mark Addison
Reviewed Number 16 on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Number 16

Fantastic cottage in an amazing location

Nick Cox
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Wonderful cottage, everything is provided. Lovely to sit in the conservatory in good or bad weather. Views excellent over Loch Dunvegan. We counted seals and tents on coral beach . Couldn't wish for a better place for a stay .

Louise & Andrew
Reviewed Earth House on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Earth House

Our second stay at Earth House and just as amazing as our first stay. Everything was perfect apart from the weather but can't do much about that.. We will be back!!

Chris Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Charleston

Another fabulous stay at Charleston. We arrive to a very clean and welcoming house that has everything you need. It's situation is superb with 360 deg views and there is always something to look at or a sunrise/ sunset to admire. Our favourite place in The Highlands and it was so good to get back there after last years cancellation due to the Pandemic. We will no doubt be returning soon. Thank you Iain and Elaine.

Mr & Mrs Hodgson
Reviewed The Granary on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

The Granary

Home away from home! This is a real gem of a cottage, with beautiful walks, amazing views and pubs, shops, cafes right on the doorstep! The owners were so welcoming offering us their knowledge of walks and places to visit in the area. The owners dog Rusty was a real hit with our little boy, and the owners even asked if our little boy wanted to play with their children in their garden. Thank you for an amazing week in your cottage Yvonne and Colin, we have never felt so welcome!

Gary Mahon
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Fantastic small cottage on Lochcarron couldn't have been better for a quiet escape. Incredible personal service and good value. Will be back again!

Philip W
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Fantastic location & cottage.

Clive Watkins
Reviewed Pier Head on 17/06/2021
And awarded it

Pier Head

Fantastic property, good location, a bit of character but plenty of space and all mod cons. You need to walk for a phone signal but really good wifi, essentialn in the highlands. Really happy we booked this property and very happy with service from wilderness.

Anne & Mick, Ayrshire
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 15/06/2021
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage was an absolute delight and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. An extremely well equipped cottage, spotlessly clean and comfortable, 'covid safe' and very environmentally aware. Alma & Chris were superb hosts and had left very thoughtful little extras for us, down to a great supply of bird food to refill the feeders which surrounded the cottage and which were certainly well visited over the week. The highlight of our week was undoubtedly the wildlife which the feeders attracted - woodpeckers, jays, siskins to name but a few as well as the delightful red squirrels every morning and our very late night visitor most nights - the pinemarten! Red deer fed on the young conifer shoots in the the surrounding land morning and evening. We cannot thank Alma enough for the help she gave us prior to our visit and for all her thoughtful touches which made our first tentative week away, post lockdown, such a special experience.

C Rothwell
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 15/06/2021
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Wonderful cottage in the most lovely location. Pretty much everything you could wish for was included with plenty of pots, pans, glasses, etc (except I couldn't find a garlic crusher!) Wifi was a bit iffy but this was made clear beforehand so not an issue. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and the sun room was much used. The downstairs bedroom was lovely with a great view out of the window when drinking your morning coffee! I can vouch what others say about the stairs - they are steep, so go easy! Lovely garden and the rhodies were putting on a good show for us. Some soft furnishings for outside use would be good. Very much enjoyed watching the comings and goings on the canal. Good base for outings - went to Plockton, Torridon/Loch Maree and Beauley on various days. Fort Augustus was very busy but good to pick up some essentials like milk and bread. Had the pleasure of meeting our caretaker on our departure. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

David Littlejohn
Reviewed Log House on 13/06/2021
And awarded it

Log House

We thoroughly enjoyed our first holiday in a traditional log cabin. The Log House is really comfortable - perfect for lounging around during the one wet day of our week's holiday when we lit the log stove and just enjoyed being indoors. The bathroom and kitchen have been fairly recently modernised and although there's no dishwasher, the view from the kitchen sink makes up for that - in June, a sea of bluebells stretching towards the forest. Some reviewers have commented on the bats roosting in the roof space, and although on balance it would be better if they were relocated and holes stopped up, they didn't keep us awake. Possibly because of the very comfy mattress!

Hilary Cook
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 11/06/2021
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

The Tree House is a wonderful place to stay. It is very comfortable, warm, spacious and light. I saw 4 eagles circling up high one evening as well as deer and a heron all from the living room window ! The location is brilliant you can walk just along the road to a beach and up the hills behind the property where there were lots of wildflowers. It is also centrally located to tour Skye.

Ruth & Howard
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 11/06/2021
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

'We have stayed in 'Wilderness Cottages' several times and have always been impressed by the quality and cleanliness. We booked Fersit Log Cabin for seven days, arriving on Saturday 6th June and we left after two days in disappointment. The reasons are outlined below:- 1) We chose Fersit because I am disabled and my wife wanted somewhere she could walk our dogs from the doorstep. On the first evening, only a few hundred yards from the cabin she was approached and threatened by the neighbouring farmer. Her dogs were walking quietly on their leads by her side and they are fully obedience trained. He asked if we were staying locally and she affirmed that we were in the log cabin and he 'advised' her that his dog was vicious and uncontrolled and that it would be dangerous for her to walk on the footpaths. The paths are clearly signed rights of way and are detailed in the log cabin walks. My wife understandably felt threatened and, as his fields adjoin the cabin, was reluctant to even let the dogs out in the cabin garden. There is no warning about this animosity in the cabin details. 2) The next morning (Sunday) we put some clothes in the washing machine but could not make it work so we turned it off and went out. When we returned we found that the kitchen was flooded. There was no means to mop up the water so we were forced to use the bath towels to dry the flood. We emailed the caretakers of the house and were told that a plumber would be contacted and sent. We received no further reply by the time we departed. Whilst cleaning the flood I checked the cold water feed under the sink and it had been turned off. After turning the water on, it gushed out over the top of the machine. Clearly this problem has been there for some time (the adjacent kitchen units show water damage) and not repaired. 3) The next morning (Monday) my wife was turning the kettle on and the under cupboard lighting unit fell on her. That was the last straw and we packed and left immediately. We notified the caretakers that we were doing this but received no reply. On the face of it the cabin is warm and comfortable. However, the nice welcome pack does not compensate for the dirty cutlery or the threadbare bed linen and towels or the kitchen table which is on the point of collapse. The cottage is fine for wheelchair access but the bathroom is not adapted for the disabled.

James & Anya V
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/06/2021
And awarded it

Lilybank

We loved our stay, it was a tranquil retreat, constant bird song and the river front view was so relaxing, And we loved our 'pet' garden pheasant. The house was tidy and well kept. There was also a little woody cut through to a local shop that was only a 5 minute walk, this was so handy! The owner was fantastic too, we weren't sleeping to well on the feather pillows, so she sent, with next day delivery, some different pillows because she wanted us to sleep well. So sweet! Would recommend and stay again

John Kenny
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 09/06/2021
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Had a fantastic stay at Tor Cottage. Beautiful location, amazing accommodation with amazing views. What more can you say-except that the hosts were also really helpful. Loved it!

Gill Stenning
Reviewed Earth House on 09/06/2021
And awarded it

Earth House

We stayed in this remarkable house for a fortnight in May, and what a delight it proved to be. Set in the most wonderful position with outstanding views of the Loch and distant hills. Whilst the surrounding area has plenty for the serious hill climber, it also has plenty for the casual week end walker, a category that we fit into! We had marvellous, varied walks in stunning locations, and at the end of the day, if we had need for a little potter, Laide wood had much to recommend itself. All in all a superb holiday, thoroughly recommended.

Tracy Gould
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 07/06/2021
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Lovely cottage in a wonderful spot at the end of this spectacular peninsula. We really enjoyed our stay there, and are most grateful to the family for sharing their much loved home from home.

Martin Barnes
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 07/06/2021
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Easily the most enjoyable / relaxing holiday ever. Stunning location, beautiful lodge and wonderful hosts. looking forward to returning!!

Charlie & Susan
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 07/06/2021
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our second stay at this wonderful coastal retreat. The cottage is immaculately presented with tasteful touches throughout. it a great location for coastal walks and cycling on quite country roads. The best recommendation we can give for the cottage is that we have already booked for 2022!

Joanne
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 06/06/2021
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Superb cottage, in a fabulous location within the village with gorgeous view! Very clean, cosy and well equipped. Great location for many travelling to Plockton and Applecross near Attadale Gardens. Plenty of eating places and a well stocked Spar. Enclosed garden to the rear was great for our dog!

Margaret
Reviewed Sixgeary on 06/06/2021
And awarded it

Sixgeary

This is a lovely comfortable house which was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The views from the house are amazing. Perfect for a relaxing stay.

Peter Stokes
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 05/06/2021
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Excellent single storey cottage/lodge. Could have been cleaned in certain areas a bit better before we arrived, such as bathroom floor, under settees and the cutlery and glasses needed a bit of a check/clean before use. My wife also does not walk very well and uses a Walker and wheelchair. The steps up to the door could do with more hand rails and the shower is very small and could do with a grab handle in it for those who are not 100% stable. Other than that the place is suitable for wheelchair user and the setting is great and the place is excellent so would wholly recommend a holiday there.

June P
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 05/06/2021
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Had a fab week long stay at Beech Cottage. Located just outside Beauly on a hillside with stunning views. Comfy cottage with all you might need. Donnie and Jean are really friendly and helpful for hints and tips on what to do and where to go. Would definitely stay again!

Gabriel Tarrason Risa
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 05/06/2021
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had the best of times during our week at the beautiful Moll Cottage! Many weeks later, the memory is still fresh from the panoramic view of the ocean, and from evenings in front of the crackling outdoor fire pit. The Isle of Skye is a lovely place for hiking, and Moll Cottage is located in perfect distance to enjoy the surroundings. With local soaps and chocolates, we also enjoyed the luxury feeling of the place. Hope to return in the future! Ada & Gabriel

Margaret Brims
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/06/2021
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

What a wonderful setting for a cottage, amazing flora and fauna within a step of the cottage. Absolute peace and quiet. A delight.

Katie_86
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 04/06/2021
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had an absolutely glorious week in Seascape in early May. We were very lucky with the weather, but even if we hadn't been the cottage is so well done it wouldn't have mattered, as we could have watched the sea and wildlife from complete comfort. As it was we were able to enjoy the wonderful walks along the coast from our front door, where we saw colourful displays of wildflowers, gannets, swallow, seals, and even a porpoise, and much more. The cottage is brilliantly equipped, very comfortable, and Sarah was a wonderful host.

Przemek
Reviewed Elderbank on 04/06/2021
And awarded it

Elderbank

We've had an amazing time at Elderbank. It's a lovely cottage, very well equipped, so even on a rainy day there would be plenty to do. It has a beautiful garden full of birds and bunnies hopping about. Most importantly, it's close to a few beautiful beaches and short local walks. There's also plenty of great hikes within an hour's drive. We're definitely coming back!

Susan McDonald
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 04/06/2021
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Reyflat Barn is the ideal place to enjoy peace and tranquility. The barn is comfortable, well equipped and has everything you could need for a relaxing break. A short drive outside Rosemarkie you have coast and forests all around. We had a great holiday, a warm welcome and we will return.

Doug & Trish
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

The house is in such a lovely position with tranquility and nature in abundance. The views were awesome. We didn't use the car all week. Walks from the cottage door to the woods, hills and into Drumnadrochit sustained us. The house itself is comfortable and well appointed and we didn't want to leave. We hope to return in the near future.

Duncan Welsh
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

I needed a quiet holiday and this was perfect, a short walk from Fort Augustas, a swedish log cabin in its own clearing with loads of space for the dogs to run, cabin was fantastic, spotlessly clean, and nice and cosy when the log burner was alight. A thank you to the owners who welcomed us and recommended some great walks. We travelled all the way from the New Forest and it was worth every mile, a good central location for exploring the Highlands, we went to Malaig, Nairn and Isle of Skye. We shall soon be planning to come back next year.

Steve
Reviewed Callakille on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Callakille

Lovely cottage with a view that is perfect. Comfortable, warm and well equipped, all making for a fantastic holiday. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting some rest and relaxation. We also highly rate Wilderness Cottages, as they dealt with a hiccup in our holiday plans in a professional and compassionate manner. Thank you.

Gary McB.
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

We've used Wilderness a couple of times for self catering and found them to be helpful and efficient. Will continue to be my first choice.

Jennifer Nairn
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Fantastic, private and peaceful location. The view from Marines Croft is absolutely stunning, overlooking Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle. The Croft is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and the beds were very comfortable. It is situated up a steep hill but this was not a problem at all. We received very good directions and Covid guidelines from Vanessa and Duncan who were both very easy to contact and extremely helpful. Would love to visit again.

Excelannie
Reviewed Grain Store on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Grain Store

We stayed in the Grain Store at Balneden Steading for a week in May. It is in a great position with wonderful views over the hills & mountains. It was very comfortable & well equipped. We would definitely stay there again.

The Moores
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Absolutely fabulous place to stay. Comfortable accommodation. Perfect situation on a quiet lane close to the water. Very convenient for visiting the rest of the island.

Mark & Jo Carrison
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If your looking for a total chilled out getaway look no further than seascape cottage. We can't recommend it highly enough, it has stunning views close to unspoilt beaches and coves, and is great for spotting all kinds of wildlife. The accommodation has everything you would need for a great trip away, the welcome basket on arrival was a really nice touch. Would we visit again definitely !!

CarolDavison
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We have been visiting Lochcarron and this cottage for over 20 years and have always been happy with our stay. The cottage is warm and well equipped and is well placed for local restaurants and shops. There are lots of walks and places not too far away, including Skye and Torridon and a trip to Inverness and Beauly are an easy day trip. I say easy - you do need to be prepared for single track roads in poor condition.

William Hall
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Excellent. There was a problem with the water supply, a rare occurrence despite the remote location, but that was dealt with very quickly and effectively, giving a very good impression

McLeod
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Stayed at Fon Tobar for 1 week in May 2021. The house was perfect for our family of 4 plus 2 pets. Plenty of space for us to all spread out but well equipped with everything we needed. It was warm and we felt at home straight away. The views and sunsets from the house were beautiful. Its location is remote, which was just what we wanted and knew when we booked having visited Skye several times over the last 17 years but for first time visitors to Skye be aware it's a long drive to Portree for the large supermarket. Just plan ahead. My only feedback to the owners is that the settee was a little uncomfortable and difficult to get off as there is a bar at the front that doesn't have much cushioning, it was better if you sat with your legs tucked up under you but it wasn't a big problem.

Duncan
Reviewed Callakille on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Callakille

Great cottage and many thanks for your COVID flexibility.

Lynn Bishop
Reviewed Aros Beag on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Aros Beag

A beautiful cottage by a rippling stream by the side. The owners very friendly and helpful. We had a glorious stay with wonderful scenery all around. We would certainly go again in the future.

Michael Nelson
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fon Tobar was fantastic. Can't find fault at all really. Made use of the fire a couple of times and gave it a good clean out afterwards and bought some more wood from the local shop, which is brilliant and has a surprising variety of stock. The views were fantastic when the weather was nice and there were some lovely sunsets and views across to the Hebrides. The kitchen was great, had loads of equipment. We needed for nothing really, there were even plenty of sharp knives. I would be very tempted to come back in the future. Lovely place.

Caroline Hornberger
Reviewed South Lodge on 03/06/2021
And awarded it

South Lodge

This place is wonderfully hidden away down single lane roads and a very bumpy track- but it is worth it for the view alone. There can be little better than sitting out in the sun first thing in the morning watching the gannets diving for their breakfast and watching the local sheep on their early wanderings. The place is small but spacious enough for two- in fact the bath would seat far more than two- it is huge, but the shower is great too- underfloor heating in the bathroom a plus. Kitchen was well equipped and supplied. One down side the internet was not working while we were there and we had not been advised beforehand- only vodafone has any mobile reception so if you need to be in contact with the outside world bear that in mind- O2 reception kicked in about half a mile down the road. Do take advantage of the local walks- the local beach is amazing you just have to find it first!