Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 3411

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3411 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


A McLeod
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 11/12/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Thanks very much for a wonderful stay at the Tree House. We found it to be very comfortable and cosy. The kitchen was well equipped and both bathrooms were great - big rain shower and a huge bath! Everywhere is decorated to a high standard and the place is very well situated for exploring the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we are ever lucky enough to return to Skye we wouldn't hesitate in coming back to the Tree House

Visser
Reviewed Log House on 07/12/2018
And awarded it

Log House

The house is very nice and is situated in one of the most beautiful regions in Scotland. In summer it is an absolute stunner. In winter however, it would be nice if the cottage would have been pre-heated before arrival. It takes a few days to get all the cold out. The equipment - kitchen, bathroom, wood stove, wood - all very complete! We would certainly return, but not at this time of year. And, a personal welcome would be very much appreciated.

Richard
Reviewed River Cottage on 06/12/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed at the River Cottage for 5 nights, in December, What can I say... What a lovely place, amazing location for getting around the Highlands, (hikes and places to visit) very peaceful and great for your four legged friend (gated) John and family where very nice and very very helpful. The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. Will definitely be back again. Thank you.

Jennifer Harrid
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 05/12/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautiful cosy house with amazing views. A great place to unwind. Would definitely recommend.

Vicky Wall
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 05/12/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Wonderful stay in this uniquely placed remote cottage where one can get so close to nature, and take in the fabulous vistas. Saw red deer, eagles, numerous other birds but our favourite is the pine marten who visits the bird table every night. Put out fat balls and scone drizzled with honey. He cleared the lot! We will return. In fact have already booked for next year. Highly recommended.

Lawson
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

This was my second trip to Station Cottage with the first being before the additional en suite bedroom was added. This is a great addition to the cottage. As it was November it was nice to be welcomed with the heaters on and table lamps lit so that it was very cosy on arrival. I had a good few days and hope to return when the days are a bit longer and bit less chilly outside.

Caroline Pennington
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We have stayed at Upperfolds twice now and will do again. The house is warm, inviting and utterly gorgeous. Walks from the door in every direction and wonderful peace, just the sound of the birds. The place could not be better in any respect

Jim Dhaliwal
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fabulous cottage with all the necessary amenities. Amazing views to wake up to . We were lucky enough to see a stag in the garden on two separate mornings . I would have given the cottage an excellent but no wood to burn and very little kindling left on site .

Sarah Cook
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 26/11/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Eilean Mor is in an idilyc location. It has splendid views of Dunvegan Loch, and it's conveniently located close to Dunvegan where there's a great shop and some lovely cafes, such as Loch View. The cottage is really well appointed, and it was lovely and clean when we arrived. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly all week and we used the wood burning stove every evening, there was plenty of wood left for us. The cottage is within easy travelling distance of some of the most beautiful locations on Skye such as Neist Point and the coral beaches. It's also metres from one of the best restaurants in the country, let alone the Isle! We really enjoying going to Bog Murtle cafe and book shop in Struan and Cafe Lephin in Glendale. We will definitely return to Eilean Mor, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Skye.

Margaret McFadden
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/11/2018
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Second time at this lovely wee cottage and we had a thoroughly relaxing week. Seabank is clean, comfy and cosy. George and Jenny have provided lots of good info on the local area. Lochcarron is a quiet village at this time of year which suited perfectly. Will definitely be back.

Gary Briggs
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 24/11/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

The cottage was full of character overlooking the loch with snow capped mountain peaks directly behind. The village of Lochcarron has a good grocery store, petrol station and several good restaurants, so there was no need to travel far for supplies. It was a great location with a number of attractions close by. A secure enclosed garden was welcome as we took our Labrador who also thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the loch. We have stayed at another of your properties before and that too was also of an equally high standard. I would also add,as we did some extensive research,that Tor Fionn was very well priced considering it's amenities and location. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here as it was one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland we have stayed in.

Stephen Cassidy
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 23/11/2018
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

This is our 3rd visit to the lodge, we always go in November each year when it is most deserted, 4 adults and a dog. The house is large, very comfortable and cosy with all facilities required for a comfortable stay with the option of a web fire if required. There is a basic tv provided with freesat/Freeview if required and a basic BT broadband for emails etc. Just step outside and the beach, coastline and isaolation are there in abundance to enjoy each and every day as the wind and weather change from one extreme to another. It is a 20 minute drive to Stranraer for supplies but with a bit of planning and taking a weeks supply you can maintain isolation if that's what you want. A brilliant place to stay.

Harvey Cochrane
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2018
And awarded it

Callakille

Just amazing! Thank you for one of best stay we have every had.

Ann Leicestershire
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/11/2018
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was clean and cosy, wonderful location, very isolated, good views. Beautiful area, need to be prepared to drive. Wood burner but hardly anything provided so would recommend logs etc - very few places to buy things so bring everything with you, would definitely visit again,

Kay & Tony
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

We were so pleased we chose to stay in this lovely house which is privately situated with amazing views of the loch and Eilean Donan Castle. The house is warm, well equipped and very comfortable, the Rayburn was easy and enjoyable to use. There is a really nice feeling of hospitality and welcome which the owners have managed to instil. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. Wildlife abounds, herons and deer are in the garden and down the lane, other than the sounds of the loch and the wind blowing in the trees, it was so peaceful and relaxing. For us, it was perfectly situated, near enough to Skye so we could visit and do a few walks but away from any honeypots. Locally, the Balmacara Estate provided beautiful walks which we had to ourselves and a standout moment was watching an otter in a nearby sea loch, catch his lunch and swim to a private spot to eat it. A magical week in a great cottage.

Fiona
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Had a nice stay in this lovely converted barn at a superb location! Slightly let down by its competitors in that there was no light left on for us arriving (in the pitch black!), a couple of bulbs were out in the house including the front door light, the TV is in one of the bedrooms on the mezzanine level so not very handy if sharing, having the microwave and toaster in the utility is not practical when cooking, and the shower needs a good scrub as the grout is very dirty. Overall nice stay though as the scenery of the 5 sisters is what sells the place.

Dorothy
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/11/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Just returned from Ardbeg Cottage we had an absolutely wonderful time, the cottage was fabulous everything you could wish for & more. The views were stunning & couldn't have asked for better weather. Would highly recommend everyone should visit this wonderful part of Scotland will definitely return. Wilderness cottages are definitely a company I will use again

Brenda
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 13/11/2018
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Cottage is more than adequate for 6 people. Has all the amenities you could think of. Kevin was exceptional so helpful. The grounds are great well maintained. Would definitely return.

Tracey Roughley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 13/11/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely beautiful cottage in a lovely secluded setting, we had the most relaxing chilled break away from it all and will definately return. Thank you so much.

Catherine
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 11/11/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A lovely cottage, beautifully clean and well prepared. Plentiful logs to keep the fire blazing ensured the cottage was cosy and warm. Weir quite overflowing when we left so rather glad we had a suitable car. Description of the cottage was very accurate - right down to the steep stairs to the first floor!

Juergen Von Wirth
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/11/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Only one word: perfect

Alison Doig
Reviewed Station Cottage on 07/11/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Loved the cottage. Everything you need so well thought out. Really relaxing, shops near by for your essentials, lots of walks, Speyside way just next to cottage, Aviemore 15 min drive away. Fantastic and will definitely re-book.

Sue & Mark
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 07/11/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

What a gem of a cottage, beautiful, cosy, well equipped and in the most stunning location. Could quite happily stayed forever. Even our teenage daughter loved it especially laying on the bed star gazing on a night. Definitely will be visiting again.

Kev & Jane
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 06/11/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is the most comfortable and cosy lodge we have ever stayed in. There is everything you could possibly need and more. The wood burner was the only heat we really needed even though it was the end of October. This Lodge really is a hidden gem in beautiful surroundings. So peaceful and quiet and we would love to come back. It made the 10hr journey from Lincolnshire worth it!

Mrs Cliff
Reviewed Heatherbank on 06/11/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

What a fabulous cottage in an awesome location. Fabulously equipped, immaculate condition and presentation and fully stocked with a cupboard of games and plenty of fuel for the fire should the Scottish weather make a day indoors a necessity. The surrounding area has some of the most spectacular views, beaches, wildlife and historic places of interest. Would highly recommend this property, only with the consideration that if a person is of large stature they may struggle with the WC as the smallest room in the house really is the smallest room!

Daryl Gregory
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 06/11/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Great selection of places to stay. Best holiday company for places you would not otherwise have thought to stay at.

Emily Nelson
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 04/11/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Tranquil stay at the Barn listening to red deer roar across the loch in the evening while watching the stars come out. Perfect place to unwind with everything you need to stay warm and cosy. Thank you Linda!

Pauline
Reviewed Cuilfail on 03/11/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

This was our second stay at Cuilfail, the first time was a week and this time we stayed for 2 weeks which enabled us to travel the area a lot easier. We really enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The house is like home from home is really well equipped and although in an quiet position is fairly easy to go out for the day either North or South depending on where you wish to The dogs really loved being able to have a run in the garden before we left to visit places and meet with friends. As we have 3 English Setters it is really good to know we can take the dogs with us on holiday and they are safe playing in the garden.

Lynda & Bob Allis
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 03/11/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had the warmest of greetings from Jenny on our arrival (plus a beautiful homemade Apple cake) we were delighted with the house, it was absolutely lovely, immaculately clean & very comfortable, we loved cosying up with the log burner at night ,Jenny even brought us fresh vegetables from her garden during the week ,what a lovely touch ,such a genuine lady who obviously had our comfort & enjoyment very much in mind.The peace & tranquillity of the area was wonderful ,we were lucky enough to be able to sit out in the garden a few times,& to be able to just walk to Plodda Falls was a bonus. I would highly recommend Plodda Falls Lodge ,if you want a peaceful away from it all break & yet it isn't too far to Inverness .Jenny is the sort of lady I would love living next door to me ,so warm & friendly ,but unobtrusive.

Cameron
Reviewed Ardbeg on 27/10/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Outstanding property with stunning views across Gairloch out to Skye. Thoroughly recommend it.

Janet Rimmer
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/10/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

If you have not experienced a Wilderness Cottage before this is the one you . An exceptional cottage in a stunning location. Jenny goes out of her way to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, even producing scrumptious cakes to welcome you. The surrounding wildlife is quite stunning and the sky at night is amazing. A fantastic time had by all. Thank you .

Anne Durnall
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 25/10/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Tigh na Croaobh was a very lovely base for our first time on Skye. The house was warm and welcoming, well laid out and had had everything we needed. Absolutely fantastic to sit in front of that picture window with the stove lit - whatever the weather! Had reason to contact the owners, who were super friendly and dealt with our query.

Joi Sutherland
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We stayed in Cuaig Croft in October 2018. The cottage is lovely and had everything we needed. The Aga was really easy to use and meant that the kitchen was always warm. The bed was very comfortable, with soft bed linen and the bath was spacious. It wasn't at all cluttered and the decoration was pleasing. I particularly liked the hand made kitchen, which was well thought out. A very pleasant experience and I hope to return.

Adam & Fiona
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Lovely, well equipped house in beautiful location. House was warm and inviting and we loved being able to look down on to the water and across to Loch Coruisk from the patio and the from the windows. Loved the wood burning fire and the easy access to walks.

Cheryl Bale
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Loved this house, location was perfect for us. Everything you could possibly need was in the house. Already thinking about our next visit.

Marian Lister
Reviewed Charleston on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

Beautiful house in spectacular setting, absolutely private too. Dogs loved the garden, and the many forest walks in the area. House was very clean and cosy, grandchildren appreciated the wifi, and adults the netflix. Saw deer, red kites, buzzards, and one memorable eagle. Highly recommend, and hope to return in the spring. Appreciated the welcome pack from the owners.

D&J&two Terriers
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An excellent place to stay - on its own in the trees and only 7 mins walk to the shop & pub. Warm & comfortable, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Gillian
Reviewed Askival on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Askival

Lovely cottage in a spectacular setting. Lucky with the weather and some nice walks closeby. Only disappointment was having to visit shops on the next day for soap, toilet paper and kitchen roll...things that have always been provided in cottages we have rented previously.

Gill & Ray
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Fantastic! The location is superb, and the cottage itself was comfortable, warm and well-equipped. We normally spend our holidays out and about all day, but although we did explore the local area we couldn't wait to get back to 'our' beach. Hope to return - and we never return!

Vanessa McPhail
Reviewed Christies on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Christies

The cottage was really lovely with great views. Very comfortable and cosy with everything you could ask for, The peace and quiet was just what we wanted Just as a side note...you really need a non stick frying pan and the left hand side of the toaster works but you have to hold it down...small niggles I know

Bill Easter
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Idyll location for this well maintained and beautifully equipped. If you want wild parties or shopping malls stay away,however if you want bird life, wildlife and scenic beauty this is the place. I'm not a wildlife expert but even I saw seals, red kites, buzzards and numerous small birds. The owners have a charming mix of helpfulness, knowledge and respect for your privacy.

N Mackinnon
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 22/10/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Beautiful comfy and cozy stay at Swallow Byre, a home from home. Set in stunning scenery, lots of local walks and places to sit and watch the wildlife. Lovely hosts to welcome you.

Cairns Family
Reviewed An Sealladh on 21/10/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

The cottage was cosy and comfortable. It is within walking distance of the village, so very convenient for shops and eating places. The wi-fi was excellent though the downstairs plumbing did make some weird noises! We had a lovely break and would definitely return

Claire
Reviewed Ardbeg on 20/10/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Fantastic accommodation very well furnished and spotlessly clean. The views from the balcony are spectacular. Would highly recommend.

Chris
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 19/10/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Recently visited Eilean Mor for a week's break. House has shared tarmac drive then own track leading up to house. Lovely and private. House itself well appointed. Excellent views across Loch. Twin bedroom downstairs and double upstairs. Bathroom has loo with a view - and no blind, etc. It's fine as no one can really see unless stand in road with binoculars..though feels a bit exhibitionist to begin with. I'm not sure I'd want kids being quite so exposed though. WiFi worked fine. Wood burner very welcomed on stormy days though single log left when I arrived a bit mean. Note to self bring more logs with me! Would def stay again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Paulson, thanks you for your feedback. The owners do leave an initial supply of logs for the wood burner, however we have checked with the caretaker and they omitted to leave these, please accept our apologies for this. The owners have now arranged to add frosted glass film to the window in the bathroom, ensuring privacy from now on.
D Bennett
Reviewed Jura on 19/10/2018
And awarded it

Jura

The view from Jura cottage is exceptional and the sun room is just lovely. The location is truly ideal in order to get away from everything as there is no internet which is amazing. We found that the kitchen needed to be better equipped, particularly the electric cooker which was very old and very slow, and basic equipment such as can opener, brush and shovel needed to be replaced. Apart from this, we had a lovely week in Arrina and would definitely thoroughly recommend the area.

Cuthbertson, Crieff
Reviewed The Stables on 17/10/2018
And awarded it

The Stables

This was our second visit to this property. An excellent property to explore the East Neuk. The property is very comfortable cosy and well presented.

Sheryl Dembry
Reviewed Pier Head on 17/10/2018
And awarded it

Pier Head

Fantastic accommodation with modern facilities. Even had what we needed during a power failure in the town. Perfect.

D.Smith
Reviewed Fhaireag on 16/10/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Stayed a week at the stunningly Fhaireag in Oct 2018. The scenery was spectacular along with the remoteness of the property. Plenty of wildlife to be seen with deer in the garden every morning. The property is well equipped and spacious and has the luxury of a log burner and underfloor heating. I have used Wilderness Cottages on many occassions and I would highly recommend their accommodation and communications during and after the stay.

Petra_and_Andreas
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 16/10/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Lovely and cosy cottage with a really stunning view especially when sitting in the conservatory. It's very quiet and peacefully located. Internet is working quite fine now when you're in the livingroom.