Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 4390

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4390 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Zoe Day
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 24/01/2022
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolute bliss! Phenomenal location. Super comfy bed (a brand new mattress had just been delivered ready for my stay). Powerful, hot waterfall shower . Well equipped kitchen - they haven't skimped on quality - good sharp knives, pans etc. Good Wi-Fi, I was able to stream films, zoom meetings, etc. The local village shop is a real Aladdin's cave and I could even get some ingredients I have struggled previously to find in Waitrose! Would recommend pottery workshop with Sarah Wiggins up the road. Really can't fault and will be booking again next year.

Gary & Anne
Reviewed The Byre, Glasphein on 22/01/2022
And awarded it

The Byre, Glasphein

Excellent directions & easy to find. Beautifully clean property with great windows to take the best advantage of the location. We saw both White Tailed & Golden Eagles fly past. Had no contact with the owner, which is what we personally prefer. For us personally there were one or two points that let it down a little. We don't eat out and do all our own cooking so we found the fridge/freezer too small. As we were there in winter we put all the veg and less sensitive items in a box and left it outside. No draining board for the kitchen sink which meant you had to dry each item as you washed it, (not everything can go in a dishwasher). We don't like the chemical smell of air fresheners, which were in the property. The bed was uncomfortable. Skye itself is a wonderful place to visit for scenery, wildlife and sea watching. But don't expect fancy shops and wide roads!

Josephine Walker
Reviewed Lilybank on 20/01/2022
And awarded it

Lilybank

We had a lovely break over new year at Lilybank. The position of the cottage is stunning being right on the river and views of the loch. Fort Augustus is a good base for exploring the highlands. The property is well appointed and spacious. Lovely comfy beds, wood burner and best of all dog friendly. A very relaxing stay. We are looking forward to returning. Thank you

Simon & Rebecca
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/01/2022
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Absolutely fantastic cottage in a stunning location. No expense has been spare in its interior. Everything you need for a relaxing break. Definitely 5 Stars and will definitely be back.

Gareth Robinson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 19/01/2022
And awarded it

Upper Folds

A perfect and very well appointed cottage. Brilliantly restored and built in a brilliant location. Could not have asked for anything better. Lovely, Gin, Shortbread and Chocolates greeted me on arrival. :)

Philip George Campion
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 11/01/2022
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Where do I begin, firstly the cottage is situated in a beautiful location close to a lock Lyn and a railway line where the drivers wave to you as they pass the cottage. The cottage has a good lay out having the lounge dinning room in the centre, there is a multi fuel burner with a continues supply of logs and coal. There is an added bonus of a piano to which my son entertained use with. The kitchen had all the facilities for any types of cooking and entertaining guests, and has a very large conservatory to the side of the property which can be accessed by the outside or the kitchen. There is a utility room which houses another fridge/freezer, the boiler and a washing machine and a separate room with toilet an hand washbasin. As other guests have mentioned there is a cluster of lights on the ceiling which where a magical display. The bedrooms had comfortable beds in every room. The bathroom had a large powerful shower and a separate bath that I could lay down and relax in. The surrounding land had a small forest. You are seclude from every one, so beautiful. The road from the main road crosses two bridges and a cattle grid and Lock which arrives at a small car park where the bins are for your waste, from here you take the left fork and cross two more bridges one has a 7.5 ton weight limited, you then drop down a lane and the cottage appears. Are Family had such a wonderful time at this cottage which included are two small dogs, The owner gave us a bottle of complementary drink on arrival, he also contacted us at the end of our holiday just to have a chat, this was a nice finale to the end of our holiday at a very stunning cottage. We will return one hundred percent. Thank You

Jamiee
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 09/01/2022
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What's not to love! Seal Skerry Lodge is the perfect place to escape to in winter, and dog-friendly too - this place has the most incredible views from every window, it's so peaceful and so remote. We visited in December, and despite the house being really spacious and open, it was always so lovely and warm. This was our first time on the Isle of Skye and we absolutely loved it! If you're wanting to explore all the main sights of Skye, it might be better finding somewhere a little more central for your first trip - as everywhere seemed quite a drive! However, Neist Point is about three miles away, which is well worth a visit, and we highly recommend this wildlife tour with Andy - http://www.skyewildlife.com/ One of the only negatives of the lodge was the sleepless nights - the mattress is extremely uncomfortable - definitely take your own mattress topper mattress! It would also benefit from an outdoor socket for electric cars. If you're wanting somewhere to escape to, in a beautiful house, in the middle of nowhere, with the most stunning view, this place is perfection - we can't wait to return to just to sit and watch the seals go by!

Louise
Reviewed Log House on 06/01/2022
And awarded it

Log House

A wonderful stay over New Year. The place was immaculate with all the home comforts, gadgets and utensils you could wish for - thank you!! The seamless ASDA home delivery with our weeks worth of supplies was perfect too. Everything about the booking and the stay was made easy and hassle free - thanks again. Louise

Pat Richardson
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 05/01/2022
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Another great stay up in Loch Carron. Wilderness are very easy to deal with and the cottage is as described and great . a very satisfied customer

Euan M
Reviewed North Lodge on 05/01/2022
And awarded it

North Lodge

North Lodge provided a haven of calm and tranquility in beautiful nature-filled surroundings. The cosy cottage was our base for a week over new year and we spent it exploring the area on foot and tucked inside in the comfortable sitting room in front of the fire. We enjoyed watching the woodland birds and the red squirrel right outside the lodge. High recommended and we hope to return to Lochnaw for another break soon.

Kerry Allan
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 04/01/2022
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

We were supposed to stay at Cedar Cottage last New Year 2020/2021 but due to covid it was cancelled so we booked again for this year and we were not disappointed at all. The location was fantastic, so quite and peaceful and to be able to sit and watch the many various birds as well as the squirrels we will most definitely be back. Great location, fantastic agents to deal with and so much to see and do in the area. Next time will hopefully be a summer holiday even though the fire was excellent and reminded me of being a child at my grandparents. One small thing though is the signage pointing to cedar cottag, I think should be at every junction and brighter to see in the dark as after 2 hrs driving around and finally knocking on another cottage door they pointed us in the right direction and it was then straight forward after that ...fantastic location if you are partial to a wee dram with Dallas Dhu being literally down the road. 5 stars, well equipped and many thanks to the owners for the New Years pressie of Wine, Chocolate and shortbread and more nuts for the birds, much appreciated.

Iain C
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 04/01/2022
And awarded it

The Challey at Heathcote

Super little cottage in a lovely part of the world. Ideal for two. Clean and cosy.

Beckie
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 04/01/2022
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

We had the most wonderful relaxing time at Stoer Lodge in September. The location is perfect, and many days were spent swimming in the sea and lazing around the house. The only downside was that the heating was not working, and we never received a response to our message but thankfully we had the log burner.

Jane Plimmer
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/01/2022
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fabulous cottage. Super warm and cosy. Lovely furnishings. Well cared for and with thoughtful extras from the owners. Stunning location with views of Ben Rinnes and beyond from the dining room. So peaceful and no phone signal so the distractions of every day could be forgotten. Perfect spot for doggies too who enjoyed the great walking right from the door. It was especially picturesque this morning with a good covering of snow. We were so tempted to stay another day or too. However real life beckoned and we slowly made our way back down the snowy track. Can't wait for a third visit!

Veronique
Reviewed Sealight on 04/01/2022
And awarded it

Sealight

A stunning home away from home! The cottage is so cosy, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The views from the bay windows are magical. We loved sitting on the comfy sofa, doing nothing but enjoying the view, with a roaring fire. The cottage is very clean and well equipped. The shower is powerful and the bed comfortable. The pine martens (at least 4) visited us each night and enjoyed their supper of eggs, jam and peanut butter sandwiches. What a treat! We also spotted the otter fishing in the bay. Lots of lovely woodland walks nearby and a wildlife hide a couple of miles away to watch seals sunbathing. Perfect house in a perfect location.

Trudy Hyman
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 02/01/2022
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

The location is amazing, the cottage was perfect. Can't wait to return

Louise
Reviewed Easter Knocklea Cottage on 01/01/2022
And awarded it

Easter Knocklea Cottage

Amazing property equipped with everything you could want for a relaxing stay. Definitely premium in every sense. We stayed in winter and the house was so well heated we didn't need to light the fire, we simply wanted the experience of seeing it burn :-) Location is remote so if you are going with a group then it will be a really relaxing retreat. If you are a small family then you will need to drive to get to pubs, amenities etc but not too far away if roads ok. We found roads quite icy after sundown and we didn't venture out in car after dark (and we are not typically that cautious). One recommendation for owner, a bag of grit for the driveaway down to road is essential, we had some hairy moments getting down the drive if we wanted to go out in the mornings. The drive was like sheet ice. All in all we loved our stay and would definitely recommend it for a peaceful, natural, beautiful, stay in an amazingly large, premium and well equipped place.

Louise O'Neill
Reviewed Easter Knocklea Cottage on 30/12/2021
And awarded it

Easter Knocklea Cottage

Well what can we say.. Simply stunning property.. Beautiful location. We will return... Kitchen is excellent with every utensil you could possibly think off.. Great facilities and stunning rooms I just love EasterKknocklea Cottage

Louise O'Neill
Reviewed The Barn, Corrimony on 30/12/2021
And awarded it

The Barn, Corrimony

Beautiful home.. Lovely location plenty of walk.. Really clean with ample washing and drying facilities very close to the Loch Ness.. Co op not too far and well stocked .. Would benefit from more pots and pans.

Dougie & Tracey
Reviewed Glenara on 28/12/2021
And awarded it

Glenara

We stayed at Glenara over Xmas and had a great time there. It's a beautiful old cottage, in a great location, near to the top lock of the Fort Augustus flight on the Caledonian Canal. On arrival, were met by Bob, who we immediately liked, and who told us all about the cottage and the village. We soon unpacked and settled into the cottage. There wasn't room to bring our large estate car down the lane and park at the side of the house, but we parked at the top of the lane and felt happy that the car was safe and secure there. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped and the heating system worked well and we lit the lovely log stove for the effect. There was unlimited hot water. There is quite a steep staircase to the toilet/bath on the upper floor but it wasn't a problem for us although it could be a problem for someone with mobility issues. I'm 6'2" so couldn't fit under the shower because of the coombed ceiling but a bath suited me perfectly well. Tracey, who's more vertically challenged... ;-), could fit under the shower comfortably. The view from the rear lounge towards the river was beautiful. It was perfectly silent at night with no sound whatsoever. The towpath walks along the Canal are beautiful and we cycled 30km along them too. The cottage is perfectly situated for Inverness and Fort William and the drive along the A82 beside lochs Lochy and Oich is stunning. In all, we have no hesitation in recommending Glenara.

Rachel
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 28/12/2021
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Had a lovely christmas at mathesons croft, from the beginning was great communications and lots of information. The cottage itself was lovely and so peaceful. The views over the sea and moutains where amazing to look at every morning. Only slight downside was the long rough track down but after a few go's you got used to driving along it. Otherwise was the perfect getaway. Also a massive thanks to Jayne the cleaner/caretaker for looking after us. Would highly recommend and will visit again hopefully soon

Daniella
Reviewed Upper Folds on 24/12/2021
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a place! Upper Folds is simply stunning, the Cottage itself has everything you need for a comfortable stay, is clean and fresh and the underfloor heating a bonus. Set in the most beautiful location with great access to breathtaking scenery. Our first visit, but will not be our last.

Mr& Mrs D
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 20/12/2021
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Wonderful spacious accommodation. Clean, warm, comfortable. Very well-equipped kitchen. Loved the large bath sheets.The owner made us feel very welcome and the fresh flowers and scones were a real treat! Everything was of a high standard. We were only there three nights but would definitely return for longer next time!

Mr& Mrs D
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 20/12/2021
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Wonderful spacious accommodation. Clean, warm, comfortable. Very well-equipped kitchen. Loved the large bath sheets. The owner made us feel very welcome and the fresh flowers and scones were a real treat! Everything was of a high standard. We were only there three nights but would definitely return for longer next time !

R Price
Reviewed Lilybank on 20/12/2021
And awarded it

Lilybank

We had a really lovely pre-Christmas stay at Lilybank. The location is amazing, with the river & loch right at the end of the garden, and very well positioned for exploring the Highlands. The property was much more spacious than expected, and we arrived on a dark evening to cosy lit lamps and warm rooms. Comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, nice log burner, really powerful showers. Would definitely stay again, thank you.

Russell
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 17/12/2021
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Loved the view of the loch and hills from the sitting room windows. A peaceful and restful environment. The barn is warm and comfortable. The only thing that would stop us from returning are the beds. The pillows and mattress were too soft, but this is obviously down to personal choice. The addition of a Christmas tree was a nice gesture.

Pauline Morson
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/12/2021
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

The location of Shore Cottage is amazing, through the garden gate straight onto the beach. The cottage was cosy and warm in November, and had everything for a perfect holiday.

Mick & Lynn
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 16/12/2021
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

This is a gem. A stunning cottage in a stunning location. If you want peace and quiet this is the perfect place. We had a wonderful week there for our honeymoon and would go back again tomorrow. Jenny is an absolute star, home baked cake and a bottle of fizz when we got there. Thank you.

Lynn Durbin
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 13/12/2021
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Overall a great stay! Stunning location and property. Two gripes however ...firstly as we booked for a December stay we thought it rather mean to be supplied with 1 basket of logs (they lasted 1 evening) it was a round trip of 1hr to buy enough for our stay. The other point is the instructions to the cottage. We arrived in the dark and therefore instructions like....'when you see the sea' or 'left after a grey cottage gable end' was useless at 11pm at night! We think there should be mile/minute markers on the directions. Two of our group became very distressed as we took several wrong turns.

Carol Morris
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 13/12/2021
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

The house is lovely, comfortable and in a stunning area overlooking the Isle of Raasay. It is quiet and peaceful, yet only about 20 minutes drive from Portree. The only negative I have is that there is some minor maintenance required - to replace loose bathroom tiles and re-wax the kitchen work surface.

Sue, Steve & Jayne
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/12/2021
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A beautiful, clean and cosy cottage in a wonderfully quiet location. Hosts were there if needed but not overly so and the welcome pack was the best we have ever received. Would definitely stay again, thank you.

Jennifer Harris
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/12/2021
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Beautiful house, very clean with everything you could need. We stayed at the beginning of December with snow outside but house was very cosy. Amazing scenery and loads of wildlife. A very relaxing stay for us and our dog.

Michael
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 06/12/2021
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Only saw other people using the beach 1-2 times throughout the week. As quiet as we had hoped for. House was warm and our dogs enjoyed the open spaces, off leash. Suggest you do need an SUV type vehicle (not necessarily 4x4), with higher ground clearance. Would have struggled with an ordinary car ( we used a VW Tiguan)

DonnaM
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 04/12/2021
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

I'm not sure I want to tell anyone about this place, it needs to stay a secret. We absolutely loved our stay at Seal Skerry Lodge. We have been visiting Skye for over 17 years (got married in Dunvegan Castle) and was also there (next house down!) in May 2021 so we have seen all the places of interest several times. This time we just wanted a week to chill and chill we did. We barely left the lodge, only to go out for food. We didn't have great weather but that didn't matter, we felt like we were outside with the benefit of the warmth and comfort of staying in the lodge thanks to the big windows over looking the loch, perfect for when it was bright and sunny or for when it was windy and wet, listening to the rain hit the glass. I got up early every morning, letting hubby sleep in and waited for the sun to rise (well after 8am!) looking to see if I could spot any birds of interest or seals. Didn't see many of either really, I think a couple of sea eagles on the first morning and on the 2nd to last day there were three noisy seals, making so much noise it was echoing around around Loch. When hubby was awake we just relaxed, doing a jigsaw, watching films or just looking out the window, it was a well needed week of relaxation. At first we found the lodge a little bare and not homely (an extra smaller lamp, some cushions or a rug would help) but after a day or so we relaxed and settled in and made it feel homely. One night we had the most incredible, clear, starry skye and thought we might see an aurora, we messed around with the settings on the mobile phone camera and managed to get some pictures which were backed up by a photo from Glendale Skye Aururas, who had an excellent photo (with the proper gear)! I even saw 2 shooting stars. My only feedback would be the 'homely' items that would just make it feel less stark on arrival (maybe can't due to covid or don't want to, to keep it 'clean') and I didn't find the bed comfortable (I agree with another review of mattress topper would help) but hubby did so you aren't going to win that for everyone. We had an amazing week, thank you for allowing us the chance to stay in such a wonderful place. One day we'd like our own, in the meantime we get to enjoy it a week at a time. Actually, will just add, the last 2 places we've stayed through Wilderness Cottages, the directions for finding the places aren't great. We roughly knew where this one was but arriving in the dark and I'm not sure there is a sign for Skeal Skerry Lodge by the bins/on the roadside made it difficult to locate.

Martin Yates
Reviewed Station Cottage on 04/12/2021
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Great stay at Station Cottage, cosy ,, comfortable, absolutely spotless and larger than anticipated. Enclosed secure garden great for the dog.But we thought it needed more cutlery and a Pyrex jug that could be used in the microwave! we would certainly book Station Cottage again

Louise Kay
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/12/2021
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Our stay at Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect delight. The property is so lovely and in the most beautiful situation. It's a fun adventure to journey to Plodda Falls Lodge in the dark. Jenny, our host was there to meet us and what a warm welcome we received. Thank you Jenny for being so kind. You really made our holiday special from that first evening. We were a party of five and we all slept better than usual in the very comfy beds and in such peaceful surroundings. The situation of this very special holiday home is difficult to beat. The woodland is lovely and the walks from the doorstep perfect. Plodda Falls is a ten minute walk from the house and they are one of the most spectacular sights in Scotland. The facilities in this property are very good indeed and it's spacious, but cozy. We loved it so much we booked our next trip before we left!!

Jackie
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 01/12/2021
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Just Perfect, amazing location (completely isolated in the forest but just 15 mins from Forres, miles of beautiful secluded walks from the door and lovely towns and beaches close by), lovely cottage (comfortable, warm, well equipped, great garden, loads of off road parking - exceptional value for money and the most generous welcome pack I've ever seen). We've loved all the Wildnerness Cottages we've stayed at but this one is really very special.

Mcnabs
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/11/2021
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Upper Folds was the perfect week of relaxation in proper wilderness! Cottage was spotless and well equipped. Nice and warm with the underfloor heating and the wood burning stove too: kept us cosy, especially on a snow day. Garden huge too , ideal for our puppy running around as it's secure. The drive from main road is definitely off road, even goes through a wee ford, to add to the adventures and a sure contrast to city living. We were lucky to have a snow day and the surroundings are so peaceful. Lots of things to do nearby in Dufftown & Aberlour. Enjoyed the novelty of the Rayburn stove Definitely considering returning in future!

Lindsay Mitchell
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 30/11/2021
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Brilliant week in The Coltsfoots - a lovely cabin in the most tranquil of surroundings. Beautifully clean and well presented, comfortable beds and a well-stocked wood store - it was a cosy haven after a busy and stressful year. Owner Gorden popped by to check all was good and was lovely to chat to. All-in-all a fab dog-friendly holiday rental (the mutts loved all the forest walks).

Kenneth Bease
Reviewed Don Cottage on 29/11/2021
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely cottage in a quiet location, perfect for exploring Glen Affric, the Black Isle and many other areas. Cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We would happily return to this cottage to explore the area further.

Ross Meth
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 25/11/2021
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stable Cottage. Very cozy and very well equipped. Super peaceful in beautiful surroundings.

Mark Dawson
Reviewed Charleston on 22/11/2021
And awarded it

Charleston

Charleston is the perfect get away from it all cottage. We loved the walks straight from the door and cooking in the evening in a well equipped kitchen. The views are amazing . Fort Augustus is a shortish and beautiful drive away if you need provisions and the cafe at Foyer is very welcoming after a day walking

A.Ferguson
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 17/11/2021
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

Excellent accommodation and welcoming Host Dave. Welcome pack excellent with warm home made bread and Fresh farm eggs Great location for many day trips in Dumfries and Galloway Dark Sky viewing excellent

Paul Burnett
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 16/11/2021
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stoer Lodge. Very homely property in an exceptional setting with stunning views. The log burner was very efficient on the few chilly nights it was required. Lodge was very well equipped with everything we needed.

Gillian Haddock
Reviewed Sealight on 15/11/2021
And awarded it

Sealight

Sealight is a beautiful house in a stunning area the house is extremely well equipped warm and comfortable and this year was our third visit which we have enjoyed just as much as previous years!

Carol Wright
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2021
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

What a truly fabulous week we spent in this beautiful place. Everything exceeded our expectations. Apart from the unreliable Scottish weather which didnt matter too much as we could enjoy the views unfolding before us on the sofas each morning, feeling very warm and cosy by the fire. The decor is just our cup of tea. We all love to cook and everything was on hand that we needed. Many a fun night was spent eating nice meals around the table followed by a game of scrabble. The walks are delightful and we regularly saw the local seal also the otter who didnt seem to mind us watching him as he fished and ate what he caught. The Sea Eagle apparently flew past but we were not looking up, but he is around.Two lovely friendly pigs over the wall of the Chocolate factory also. This has got to be one of the most beautiful holiday homes we have stayed in, no awful leather sofas in sight, some places seem more akin to an old folks home. We apprecaited all the quirky features and design particulary the Candelabras which we lit every night. Will certainly be booking this again.

Hil Berg
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 15/11/2021
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

The cottage was warm and clean with everything we needed for a comfortable two-week stay - and the small conservatory facing the loch is terrific for watching wildlife and relaxing, whatever the weather, and for star gazing on clear nights. Set within stunning scenery, silent and peaceful, It is well placed for walking and for driving to lots of places of interest. The owner has provided fascinating background on her family history relating to the croft, and there are books and a great DVD collection for the evenings (which are long in the winter). WiFi is limited but fine as long as you dont stream/need to work. In November we found most tourist venues shut and as you would expect, limited shopping locally, but a chest freezer makes food planning easy. The wildlife was terrific, with white tailed eagles over the cottage on our first day, and red deer on the hill in the evenings. Lots of garden birds, buzzards and a resident tawny owl which sits on the garden fence post. Further afield we saw golden eagles, seals, porpoise, stoats and much more. If driving at night be prepared for a lot of deer on the road. The garden was fenced well enough for us to feel confident letting out border collie explore off the lead.

Lesley M
Reviewed Seahorses on 15/11/2021
And awarded it

Seahorses

A beautiful modern house in a simply stunning setting. The house was very clean, always warm and had everything we needed. Having visited in November many local facilities were closed, but we were well prepared. The scenery and walks are never closed and the views from the house will remain with us for a long time.

Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug
Reviewed Easter Knocklea Cottage on 14/11/2021
And awarded it

Easter Knocklea Cottage

Great cottage in good location for exploring the area of Cairngorms and Aberdeenshire. The cottage has great views from the garden side, but the garden and cottage windows are open to the cottage next door so may be an issue for dogs or privacy (as no curtains) if anyone is there during a stay (not for us, as nobody was there). Cottage has everything for a great week away.

Mandi
Reviewed The Granary on 13/11/2021
And awarded it

The Granary

Exactly as advertised. Beautiful cottage and very cosy with log fire. Spacious and like a home from home. The family were very friendly and helpful and were happy to help you see the best of Scotland. Will defiantly be recommending this holiday to everyone.