Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2401 to 2450 of 2523


Dawn & Martin Dypka
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Jane & Rob Jackson
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We have just returned from an autumnal week at The Smiddy near Beauly. Our first visit to the Highlands and we loved it! The Smiddy was stunning and very cosy - the wood burner and very comfy bed were our favourites. It was beautifully clean and tidy and absolutely our sort of place. Also a great base for exploring the area - we went to Glen Affric, Nairn beach and Dornoch for example. In fact the only thing that could have been improved on was the size of the bath towels - but such a small thing!

Diane
Reviewed Glenara on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely location
great kitchen, bathroom
good dinning sitting area seperate to main sittingroom is a very good idea
could do with some more crockery and cutlery
lovely views over river
good to watch birds at the feeder just infront of the large picture window
could have had bigger bath towels
need to watcb tight driveway, is no good for cars with a small turning circle!
overall a lovely cottage and we had a great week.

Duncan & Nicky Monypenny
Reviewed Monastery 17 - Abbey on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Monastery 17 - Abbey

Number 17 is a fantastic two bedroom apartment on the top floor of the abbey, the view from the bathroom, the largest window in the building on the top floor as we could tell, is spectacular and looks staright across Loch Ness. We had a wonderful week and would more than recommend the Monastery or Fort Augustus to anyone. It is so well placed for lots of sight seeing or you can just ?chill out? in the pubs of Fort Augustus and watch the boats go through the lochs.

We would also like to say a special thanks to Corinne at Wilderness who was fantastic during the process and made everything so easy!

John Mcglynn
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

If you want to get away from everything, or anyone and like to just chill out with fantastic surroundings. Loch Carron has a small shop which sells just about anything you need with very friendly staff who go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need. The locals are also friendly and do not make you feel like an outsider.

John Malone
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

John Mc Farlane
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Matt Youngs
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We had a lovely week at Littlepark Cottage. Arriving to find the fire all set and ready for lighting was great. The cottage was clean, tidy and very well equipted. Having an easy walk to the hills and Loch Treig was also great. We look forward to returning in the futre and will be recommending the cottage to freinds and family.

Matt, Dale and Hannah Youngs
Aberdeenshire

Angela Strachan
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

"What a lovely cottage! So much thought and effort has gone in to everything... From the welcome card, home-baked cake and bottle of wine on our arrival, to the maps, leaflets and games. It was so homely that you couldn’t fail to relax immediately! The cottage makes amazing use of the space, and is really cosy and warm. The garden is well-sized and ideal for dogs. The kitchen and all rooms are so well equipped, nothing had been forgotten. I was very very impressed, and will definitely recommend the cottage and Wilderness Cottages to my friends. Thank you!"

William & Julie
Reviewed Charleston on 24/10/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

We visit the Stratherrick area 4/5 times each year. This has been our first stay at Charleston. The views from the cottage are spectacular, however Charleston is badly let down by its inferior furnishings, especially the beds. The mattresses are very uncomfortable and thin. For this reason we would not choose to return to Charleston again. Wilderness Cottages can confirm that replacement mattresses have been arranged and will be in place this week.

Hannah & Chris
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 21/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

What a fantastic find! This cottage is ideal for a couple and the pictures really dont do it justice. The cottage is based in a nice quiet area with a small village within walking distance. The location is great as its central to many great areas, including the stunning west coast. The cottage is very clean and well maintained, we felt like the first people to be staying there.

Louisa & Jonathan Scully
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 16/10/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Barbara & Douglas
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 14/10/2009
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Paul,yvonne & Milly
Reviewed The Haven on 14/10/2009
And awarded it

The Haven

had a great week cottage was brilliant a perfect location,quiet and peaceful with a river 2 minutes walk from the cottage the dog loved it.we were just 20 minutes from inverness we done 1200 miles in the week we were there we even seen the dolphins at fortrose

Sue Boydell
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 13/10/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We loved Owl Cottage and its location on a quiet lane with hardly any traffic, but only a short walk into Fort Augustus. We had fabulous sunny weather and the cottage was a great base for site seeing, walking and relaxing.

Rob Miller
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/10/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Cool site.

Simon Reid
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/10/2009
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stableman’s Lodge in Grantown on Spey. We were made to feel very welcome from the outset, and the accommodation was clean, modern and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing break in this area. 5/5.

Carolyn Randall
Reviewed Wildwood on 06/10/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

16th - 19th September 09 - Excellent few days in this wonderful Log House. The house has everything you could need and the level of specification and attention to detail was superb. Marie, the friendly housekeeper does an outstanding job in keeping the place clean and presentable for all guests, with fresh linen on all the beds, fluffy towels and a welcome pack of milk, shortbread and tea - very welcome after a long journey! Although this is a dog friendly log house you couldn’t tell that dogs had previously been there, which is nice for guests with aversions to dogs - not us with Bracken who bounds through the forest without a care in the world. Excellent walks from the back door (situated 2 miles in the forest) but never to far from Fort Augustus and Loch Ness. Superb setting for all sorts of adventures whether walking, cycling, kayaking or shopping in Inverness!

Will definitely be back again.

Paul
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 06/10/2009
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stableman?s Lodge is a great place to stay with helpful welcoming owners, warm clean inviting accommodation and a good location. Comfortable living room with a brilliant real fire (loads of fuel supplied) and a well equipped modern kitchen.

The addition of a dvd player, bath and double bed would make it perfect for couples / families with young children.

Colin Sunderland
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/10/2009
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

The location stunning and the apartment and grounds beyond expectation. The decor and general finish to the apartment was to a very high standard and made for a very relaxing and enjoyable base in which to explore the stunning scenery and places of interest around Loch Ness and with Inverness and Fort William in easy reach meant that no matter the weather or your mood when you got up there was an adventure to be had. Highly recommend both the apartment and location and hope to be back in the near future.

Jayne & Kevin Parker
Reviewed Mountain View on 04/10/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

M & M Fenwick
Reviewed Lianachan on 04/10/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Pete & Gail
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 03/10/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

What a great view and we loved having the sea almost at the door!
The cottage was cosy and spotlessly clean. It’s a great base for a spectaclar area with its stunning scenery and wildlife.
Good amenities at Lochcarron and the Seafood Bar, (just around the corner,) is well worth a visit.

Scott, Anke & Cedric
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/10/2009
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Kim & Carl
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 29/09/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Mick & Bridget Bodecott
Reviewed Laracks on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Laracks

Colin & Gill Hutchison
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Homely, packed with character and a fabulous base from which to explore Strathspey and Speyside. This Nethybridge hideaway is surely one of the highlands self-catering gems.
(Colin Hutchison is author of the Footprint Scotland Highlands and Islands, 2009 travel guide)

Maryrose Walmsley
Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We stayed in Cuilfail Cottage in September and were blessed with marvellous weather. Lovely location, wonderful scenery very nice cottage in a very dog friendly area and excellent food at The Whitebridge Hotel. What more could one ask for.
Many thanks to the cottage owners and special thanks to Gordon and Corinne for the efficient and hassle free booking procedures
Maryrose, Grant, Sarah, Rob, Kazba (GSD), Solly (Border Collie) and Boris (Lurcher).

Joanne Concannon
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Donna Lumsden
Reviewed Homewood on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Homewood

Rachel, John & Beth Little
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 23/09/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

The Abbey is a stunning location for a holiday. WE particularly like the club lounge with it’s large selection of games. Moat House 1 was well equipped and made a lovely base to come ’home’ to after a busy day sightseeing. The welcome treats were very much appreciated.
We were a little disappointed that the 2 TVs in the bedrooms only seemed to work via the sky box upstairs in the living room (not mentioned in the ’blurb’ anywhere) or to watch DVDs. This caused some minor inconvenience as we were hoping to have a few lazy mornings while our 6 year watched TV in bed - this wasn’t achievable without first going upstairs and turning the sky box on (the box would automatically turn off after we went to bed) and setting it to CBBC! As I said a minor inconvenience.
Fort Augustus is lovely with a choice of great restaurants, it’s very pleasant on a good day to just sit and watch the boats going through the locks. You can also take boat trips on Loch Ness from Fort Augustus which give you a great view of the Abbey.
The area is beautiful with lots of great things to do on a day out. We didn’t have great weather but we weren’t lost for things to do and hope to return soon.

Mrs Anne Marson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/09/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Just got back from the most perfectly peaceful and lovely cottage imaginable!
The situation was stunning and the quiet was wonderful. Fersit Cottage is gorgeous. Having read earlier, that someone thought a 4 x 4 was needed we were a bit apprehensive, however, we managed to get two Mx5s ( one very low-slung!!) up the track, with no problem at all!!
Graham and Lynne both came to say hello, which made us feel welcome.
We highly recomend this beautiful cottage to everyone - as long there is a week or three left for us to go again!!

Julia Johnston
Reviewed Wildwood on 21/09/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

A great location to stay with lovely forest walks. The cottage was nice, however the only downside was the utility room as it smells disgusting, obviously guests leave wet animals in there, even a good clean didn’t get rid of it. The cottage is well presented, but needed a good clean before we could relax for the week. However we had a lovely week and the weather was warm and sunny.

Helena Stevens
Reviewed Mealishal on 17/09/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Richard Moss
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 06/09/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Graham
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/09/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

A perfect place to stay - very quiet even though close to the town.
Beautifully equipped. The only fault was the poor condition of the sofas but i believe that these are due to be replaced soon (Wilderness Cottages can now confirm that the sofas have been replaced. 26th September 2009). Apart from this, would fully reccommend this cottage & would have no hesitation in staying here again if we were to have another holiday in this area. Overall, a fantastic holiday.

Fraser McNicol
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 03/09/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Mitchell Family
Reviewed Mealishal on 02/09/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Moira Malcolm
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 31/08/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We had a great week in Applecross. The cottage was perfect, with really nice rooms and plenty of good facilities (not the usual bog-standard stuff).
My boyfriend (the self-appointed chef) loved the great kitchen complete with bread maker (plus flour, yeast and recipe books) and the wide range of herbs and spices to play with. We all loved the welcome tray of tea, biscuits, bottle of wine in the fridge and ready made fire in the grate, plus water and dog biscuits for our excitable puppy.
We had mostly good weather, but when not the fire and myriad of board games helped to while away the hours until we could justify going to the pub.
The views across the bay were stunning and a long time was spent just sitting on the bench at the front door or watching out of the windows.

Applecross was delightful: friendly with great food at the Inn and the Walled Garden, and we caught the Applecross Games which were excellent (the puppy won first prize in the dog show!). We took away very fond memories and will definitely return.
And the best thing: despite being mid July, not a midge all week!!!

Helen Prout
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 30/08/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

This was our first visit as a family to this part of Scotland and what a fabulous cottage we stayed in. Clean and cosy - what more could we ask. Weather wasn’t great but that didn’t stop us enjoying ourselves. Hope to visit again next year.

Caroline Miller
Reviewed Old Schoolhouse on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Schoolhouse

Mrs & Miss Helm
Reviewed Glenara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a wonderful time at Glenara, it was perfectly located in the village with the Caledonian canal out the front, with the rear garden leading down to the River Oich and only a 5 minute walk to Loch Ness.
The cottage was perfect for our needs and our 7 month old puppy really enjoyed running around the garden and swimming in the loch.
The whole process of booking the cottage was hassle free, I would definitely use this website and this cottage in particular.

Pete & Maxine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have stayed at Ceol na Mara twice now and absolutely love this little cottage. The view over the loch changes everytime you look out the window - simpy wonderful. The cottage is well equipped and is a real home from home - we can highly recommend this cottage and will be returning.

MRS S DAVIS
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

8/8/09 until 22/8/09 Our second visit to this fabulous cosy remote cottage set in the mountains and lochs. Never seen such a busy bird table with so many different birds including the woodpecker (fascinating)and in the evening two pine martins visit,they steal the fat balls and nuts from the birdtable and even look through the patio window. They love date and walnut cake or a scone with jam on it.In October last year we had the Deer right outside but not in August this time.A great place to relax and get away from it all. Lots of great walks through the forest and to Loch Loyne. We did the walk along the road to nowhere and we conquered the mountain in front of the cottage 535ft what an achievement at our age. The games room with its football game and dart board is ideal on a rainy day when you just want to chill out with a wee dram and the shortbread. Went to Oban, Applecross, Lossiemouth, Fort William and Inverness all within easy reach.

Rob & Linda
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Tim & Marcelle
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Our second visit to the cottage. The last time Christmas 2007. The standard of accomadation remains very high and we could see the property has been very well maintained. The location remains very inspriational.
We can’t help feeling we’re going back one day.
Thanks

Anabel Sala
Reviewed Coach House on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Family Rüsenberg
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

Patrick Family
Reviewed Old Stables on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Stables

We had a great holiday at Old Stables. The conversion of a former stable into this wonderful spacious and relaxing accomadation suitable, as in our case for three generations -from 21yrs thro to 81yrs. The house was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. We have enjoyed two holidays with Wilderness Cottages and both houses have provided the same excellent standard of accomodation.

Craig Rides
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Thank you once again for a truly wonderful holiday! This is my second time back to Loch Ness (previously 9 years ago) & didn’t think I could surpass my previous visit. I have to say though that the accomodation was absolutely outstanding !! Location was excellent with wonderful views to the Loch & also the woodland (located nr Foyers Falls) Rooms were spacious (the master bedroom in particular) In fact I couldn’t fault the cottage at all & flicking through the guest book in the reception room it is apparent that all previous guests agree ! Superb location as a base to explore. I would most definitely recommend Hill Head Croft & will certainly hope to stay here again.