Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2751 to 2798 of 2798


Paul Butcher
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 05/11/2006
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Words do not bescribe our truly wonderful holiday,
it is one of the best we have had.
see you next year!

Steve, Carolyn & Ellie
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 26/10/2006
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

George & Elspeth
Reviewed Fairhaven on 15/10/2006
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Stephen & Peta Melling
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 03/10/2006
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Helen & Steve
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 01/10/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We stayed for a week in September and would definitely recommend The Old Smiddy. Its location is ideal, and there is so much to do in the area. The cottage itself is beautifully presented and really intelligently designed. Pat and Dave have also equipped it with everything you could possibly need. They have been really thoughtful, and they’re very friendly too. Our dog loved it too, with open fields just around the corner providing plenty of entertainment.

Karen Johnson
Reviewed Callakille on 28/09/2006
And awarded it

Callakille

Linda & John Smith
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 27/09/2006
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Claire & Andy
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/09/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a fantastic week at the Old Smiddy. It was so welcoming when we arrived. It was full of unique features and ideally situated to go off exploring. Pat and Dave are great and there if you need them for anything. Our dog Bella enjoyed her welcoming Bono Biscuit on her mat. The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing romantic break away from all the stresses of everyday life. We hope to visit again in the future, we just loved it!

Andy, Lindsay & Angus Alexander
Reviewed Callakille on 11/09/2006
And awarded it

Callakille

Lynn & Dave McIlhone
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 31/08/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

David & Fiona Brown
Reviewed Coach House on 30/08/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Mathis Martin
Reviewed Gardeners Cottage on 22/08/2006
And awarded it

Gardeners Cottage

Matt & Emily Coltman
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 19/08/2006
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

The Howard Family
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 19/08/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

N Bishop
Reviewed Cuilfail on 09/08/2006
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Lovely new house, with new furniture throughout - very comfortable. Garden had just been seeded, but once there is a lawn, it will make it even better. Fun to watch the rabbits visiting the garden ! Hotel next door very useful, with good food (particularly the curries !), and with internet access.

Local area beautiful, and with a gorge/waterfalls within a few miles. Stunning drive along Loch Ness in both directions to go further afield.

All in all a very quiet spot, ideal for a relaxing break.

Joan Hatfield
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 31/07/2006
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We had a fantastic week in this lovely cottage.
The total seclusion appealed to us and the scenery was stunning. Although it is very secluded its only ten minutes drive from the nearest town at the side of loch ness.We visited some realy superb local beauty spots ie Glen a Affric and Dog Falls as well as some of the busier areas like Fort Augusta and Inverness.t The trip on the Dolphin boat was fab as our boat was surrounded by dolphins, an incredible experience. Other good places to visit are Dornie castle and Dores on the other side of loch ness.
Most mornings and evenings we had deer right outside the cottage
We will definitely book this cottage again



Sue Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 30/07/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Just had a wonderful holiday in Charleston -what a bungalow! Fantastic views, wildlife including two hares feeding in the garden most days not to mention the characterful sheep, and spacious well equipped accommodation with every smallest thing catered for! Such a pleasure to stay there and we hope to come back one year.

Mike & Louise
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/07/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

15th July - 22nd July 2006.

We had the most relaxing time at Pine Lodge with our Boxer dog Molly!! She felt more at home than when she’s at home we think!! The views were lovely and the pictures in the website definitely do not do Pine Lodge justice. We were welcomed by Sally and met John a couple of days later. The Lodge is only 12 miles from Applecross which is definitely worth the trip, although I was a bit nervous driving there but the views were exquisite and the thought of lunch at The Potting Shed kept me going (well worth a visit too). I didn’t feel nervous at all driving back as we were too interested in the views. We spent a day in Skye which is stunning and went up to Gairloch via Shieldaig (a definite suntrap). We willl definitely be booking another Wilderness Cottage as you just cannot fault them in any way. Thank you and see you again.

Werner Lange & Annemarie D?ring
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 17/07/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Lisa & Martin
Reviewed Log House on 13/07/2006
And awarded it

Log House

We had a fantastic time at the Log House from the 10th-17th June. There are many walks straight from the door and in a lovely peaceful setting. Fort Augustus is a 20minute walk away and a lovely little town with good choice of eating places. The Bothy serves lovely food and the staff are very friendly.
The Log House is well equipped - watch out for the Bats at night and you can feed the Robins from the door. Highly recommended.

Chris & Shirley Turner
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 11/07/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We couldn’t have asked for a better base from which to tour the highlands. Immaculately presented cottage with all mod cons but yet a million miles from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Wonderful.

Patrick & Allison
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 10/07/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Andy & Sherry Kindred
Reviewed Callakille on 07/07/2006
And awarded it

Callakille

Nicola, Paul & Hector The Dog
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 06/07/2006
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Corinne & Stephen
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 01/07/2006
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Pam & Tim Sharp
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 27/06/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We stayed at Bayside when the seafood and music festival was on. Spent our first evening dancing and listening to the bands and a leisurely sunday morning listening to Jazz in the walled garden. A terrific drive over to applecross with creat views from the cottage to the cullin ridge. There are 3 good places to eat nearby and the standard is excellent. The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable. There is good walking nearby although you need to drive to reach munros. Lots of wildlife, sea otter, deer and tarmigans. scary driving when the mist come in. Great week overall. Pam & Tim Sharp

Richey & Joyce
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/06/2006
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Wonderful stay in a wonderful property.
Many many thanks to Mr & Mrs Gardiner for allowing us to book and stay.
Beautiful place with everything you need. The wood finish is fantastic in the ’Smid’, and all the facilities (kitchen, shower rooms) were more than first class.
Lots to do and see around Inverness and Beauly, and the tasting session at the Winery was fine too.
How depressing it was for us to leave.

Thanks again to Mr & Mrs Gardiner, Corinne, and all the wondeful people of Inverness and Beauly.


Richey & Joyce.

Peter & Sandy Palmer/Justie
Reviewed Charleston on 25/06/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent clean and spacious accommodation, views fantastic,
owners very friendly and helpful. Good mix of walks available from the property.and the local Loch Mhor very handy for swimming.

The Flakes
Reviewed Coach House on 25/06/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Bob, Joyce & Becca Ray
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 21/06/2006
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Gudrun, Axel, Sebastian & J?rgen From Germany
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 14/06/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Emma Lea
Reviewed Charleston on 13/06/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Fantastic cottage in a stunning location - the view from the lounge and conservatory was spectacular. The cottage was furnished to a very high standard and was extremely comfortable. Lovely and peaceful with no close neighbours! Would definitely visit again.

Andrew Gilks
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Excellent booking arrangements led to our best ever self-catering holiday. The cottage was well equipped and its location was perfect for us as keen dog-owning walkers.

Sean Gosling
Reviewed Log House on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Log House

The log house is set in fantastic quiet relaxing suroundings with brilliant veiws and wonderful wildlife.
The log house its self is a lovely spacious well equiped place that is kept to a high standard which we will visit again in the future.

Colin Armstrong
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 11/06/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We have just returned from a week at Creag Iolaire cottage and I will say that this is a special, very special place.
When we walked into the main room after a 6 hr drive, it totally took our breath away and we felt as fresh as daisys again. Our children loved it and we all had one of, if not the best holidays that we’ve ever had.
Who needs to go abroad when you have scenery and landscapes like this.
Thank you for an excellent holiday and we will be trying to return next year.

Kathleen Wells
Reviewed Fairhaven on 06/06/2006
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Phil Callan
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

John & Vanessa Broughton
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Roger & Jan From The Forest Of Dean
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 14/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Graham, Elaine & Children
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 25/04/2006
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Clare & Gavin Rees
Reviewed Coach House on 19/04/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

The Yates Family
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Sarah & Robert
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

Peter & Liz Redpath
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We had a wonderful week staying in Hill Cottage despite a week full of weather of every description - sun, snow, hail, sleat, rain and very strong winds! The cottage was warm, cosy and very well equipped, providing us with a lovely refuge when we returned wet and wind-swept from walking in the spectacular countryside.

The view from the cottage is absolutely awe-inspirig - over the week we were there, we watched the snowline descend on Foinaven, across Loch Laxford, and the waves crash against the rocks.

We would really recommend: Sandwood Bay; the walk along the north bank of the River Laxford from Laxford Bridge; the Bone Caves at Inchnadamph; and exploring the area around the cottage and Tarbet. We found that the drive to Durness was more impressive than Durness itself but, to be fair, it was dreadful weather when we got there and nowhere was open!

For anyone with even a passing interest, the geology of the area is fantastic. As geology graduates ourselves (many years ago now!), we were really excited to dredge up those old familiar terms of Lewisian Gneiss, Laxfordian Schist, the Moine Thrust Zone and Scourie Dykes! We finally understood what they had been talking about at university and embarrassed the children with our enthusiasm!

We would like to return at some point, but would choose to visit a little later in the season when the weather is likely to be less wild, and places have opened, i.e. Handa Island and the various restaurants.

Mike Fraser/ Margaret Anderson
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 09/04/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Marie & Stephen Smith
Reviewed Giusaichean on 02/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Shan Maclennan
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/03/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We first stayed at Bayside Cottage in late May. It was an idyllic refuge from our frantic city life in central London. Our children spent happy hours playing with an otter on the stony beach just outside the cottage front door, watching seals sunbathing a mile down the coast, playing in the soft sand and glittering rock pools of another beach a mile or two in the other direction and waiting for the dormant volcano completely recognisable on the syline of Rassay, opposite, to erupt. My son wants to ’look for more seals’, when we return this year, and he ’wants to look for sharks through the window of the tiny bedroom’ which he and his sister take turns to sleep in.

When we weren’t enjoying our childrens’ simple pleasure in this breathtaking and completely unspoiled natural landscape, we were all happy together in the renowned Applecross Inn, eating giant prawns and fantastic chips, or in the very pleasant cafe at Applecross House.

We also went on a very happy day trip to Plockton.

I cannot wait to get back to Bayside Cottage - which is so comfortable and a real home from home - to enjoy its peace and tranquillity, and to marvel at its fabulous surroundings. If we did not live so very far away we would visit much more regularly than the annual trip we have promised ourselves.

Mr & Mrs. Farrington
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 28/02/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Just come back from a week in the cottage. Cannot fault the fantastic views of Loch Ness but you need a four wheel drive to get up the track before you reach it! Cottage is lovely but the heating is questionable especially when you have no logs as promised for the woodburner on your first night! Dogs loved the wondeful enclosed garden and the nearby walks. The closest pub/restaurant was actually about a mile and a half away, not exactly a short walk as stated on the website!

Margery & Norman Watson
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 28/02/2006
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

The cleanest and best equiped cottage we have stayed in and we have been in a few. Excellent for the dogs with well marked walks in easy reach. Central for most places in that area, ideal for birdwatchers.
Will definately be going back.

Steve Roberts
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/02/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I have to say I’m biased, as this is a part of the the UK that I’m totally overwhelmed by. I have cycled most of Scotland and the Islands and have found this spot to be a perfect location to stop, relax and to recharge batteries. The locals are friendly and the Pub/Hotel is just along the road, so no need to cook (Tip - The Applecross Hotel bar can be very busy at weekends & in the summer. The entire menu is available as acarryout). If you are lucky, Otters, Whales & Dolphins can be seen, all from the lounge, as the sea laps feet from the front door. It’s easy with the views/ surroundings to forget the accomadation. The cottage is fitted out to a high level & I can’t wait to get back there.