Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3403 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Sarah Cook
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 26/11/2018
And awarded it
Eilean Mor is in an idilyc location. It has splendid views of Dunvegan Loch, and it's conveniently located close to Dunvegan where there's a great shop and some lovely cafes, such as Loch View. The cottage is really well appointed, and it was lovely and clean when we arrived. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly all week and we used the wood burning stove every evening, there was plenty of wood left for us. The cottage is within easy travelling distance of some of the most beautiful locations on Skye such as Neist Point and the coral beaches. It's also metres from one of the best restaurants in the country, let alone the Isle! We really enjoying going to Bog Murtle cafe and book shop in Struan and Cafe Lephin in Glendale. We will definitely return to Eilean Mor, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Skye.
Margaret McFadden
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/11/2018
And awarded it
Second time at this lovely wee cottage and we had a thoroughly relaxing week. Seabank is clean, comfy and cosy. George and Jenny have provided lots of good info on the local area. Lochcarron is a quiet village at this time of year which suited perfectly. Will definitely be back.
Gary Briggs
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 24/11/2018
And awarded it
The cottage was full of character overlooking the loch with snow capped mountain peaks directly behind. The village of Lochcarron has a good grocery store, petrol station and several good restaurants, so there was no need to travel far for supplies. It was a great location with a number of attractions close by. A secure enclosed garden was welcome as we took our Labrador who also thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the loch. We have stayed at another of your properties before and that too was also of an equally high standard. I would also add,as we did some extensive research,that Tor Fionn was very well priced considering it's amenities and location. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here as it was one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland we have stayed in.
Stephen Cassidy
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 23/11/2018
And awarded it
This is our 3rd visit to the lodge, we always go in November each year when it is most deserted, 4 adults and a dog. The house is large, very comfortable and cosy with all facilities required for a comfortable stay with the option of a web fire if required. There is a basic tv provided with freesat/Freeview if required and a basic BT broadband for emails etc. Just step outside and the beach, coastline and isaolation are there in abundance to enjoy each and every day as the wind and weather change from one extreme to another. It is a 20 minute drive to Stranraer for supplies but with a bit of planning and taking a weeks supply you can maintain isolation if that's what you want. A brilliant place to stay.
Harvey Cochrane
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2018
And awarded it
Just amazing! Thank you for one of best stay we have every had.
Ann Leicestershire
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/11/2018
And awarded it
The cottage was clean and cosy, wonderful location, very isolated, good views. Beautiful area, need to be prepared to drive. Wood burner but hardly anything provided so would recommend logs etc - very few places to buy things so bring everything with you, would definitely visit again,
Kay & Tony
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2018
And awarded it
We were so pleased we chose to stay in this lovely house which is privately situated with amazing views of the loch and Eilean Donan Castle. The house is warm, well equipped and very comfortable, the Rayburn was easy and enjoyable to use. There is a really nice feeling of hospitality and welcome which the owners have managed to instil. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. Wildlife abounds, herons and deer are in the garden and down the lane, other than the sounds of the loch and the wind blowing in the trees, it was so peaceful and relaxing. For us, it was perfectly situated, near enough to Skye so we could visit and do a few walks but away from any honeypots. Locally, the Balmacara Estate provided beautiful walks which we had to ourselves and a standout moment was watching an otter in a nearby sea loch, catch his lunch and swim to a private spot to eat it. A magical week in a great cottage.
Fiona
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2018
And awarded it
Had a nice stay in this lovely converted barn at a superb location! Slightly let down by its competitors in that there was no light left on for us arriving (in the pitch black!), a couple of bulbs were out in the house including the front door light, the TV is in one of the bedrooms on the mezzanine level so not very handy if sharing, having the microwave and toaster in the utility is not practical when cooking, and the shower needs a good scrub as the grout is very dirty. Overall nice stay though as the scenery of the 5 sisters is what sells the place.
Dorothy
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/11/2018
And awarded it
Just returned from Ardbeg Cottage we had an absolutely wonderful time, the cottage was fabulous everything you could wish for & more. The views were stunning & couldn't have asked for better weather. Would highly recommend everyone should visit this wonderful part of Scotland will definitely return. Wilderness cottages are definitely a company I will use again
Brenda
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 13/11/2018
And awarded it
Cottage is more than adequate for 6 people. Has all the amenities you could think of. Kevin was exceptional so helpful. The grounds are great well maintained. Would definitely return.