Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternatively you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3952 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Jackie
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 24/11/2020
And awarded it
Amazing Cottage and location lots of entertainment in the garden with the Red Squirrels and birds fabulous to watch while breakfasting in the morning :) Jacqui and Jeff are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome indeed its all the little things that they do that made it really special for us! Thank you Jacqui and Jeff you deserve lots of success in what you do and we will definitely be spreading the word and coming back at some point in the future. Barry & Jackie
Carol McLelland
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 23/11/2020
And awarded it
A thoroughly enjoyable week spent at Seascape cottage. Very cosy and delightful to snuggle up on the sofa watching the huge rolling sea all week. Good walks from the doorstep , then interesting countryside to explore further by car. Sarah, the owner is lovely, made us feel most welcome and arranged some tasty goodies for our arrival..
Francesca Pole
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 23/11/2020
And awarded it
A very comfortable and well equipped cottage in a beautiful location.
Margaret
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/11/2020
And awarded it
Had such a lovely relaxing break at Seascape Cottage. It had everything we needed including a friendly approachable host. Sarah was great. The cottage is warm, comfortable and quiet. Out of the door and straight onto the wild rugged west coast beach. Our 2 dogs had a ball! Would highly recommend.
Elaine McQueeney
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 17/11/2020
And awarded it
Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery.
Shona Sloan
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 15/11/2020
And awarded it
The Mill is an amazing find and it does what it promises to do - help you get away from the stresses of life. The house is amazing and very spacious with everything you need. We even ordered a Tesco delivery so we didn't have the hassle of food shopping. There is everything you need in the area, walks, bike trails and clear skies in the evening with brightest stars I have seen in a long time. Bill and Marjorie provided a lovely welcome pack for our arrival and plenty of books to curl up in front of the fire to read. The beds are very comfortable and the place is lovely and warm. A big plus for us having two children is there is a boot room for endless waterproofs and jackets to dry. We used many of the walking routes in Glenlivet while here to either bike or on foot. I even saw my first Golden Eagle. A gem of a find and the no WIFI, TV or phone signal mean you really do get away from it all. We will most certainly be returning. Thank you to the hosts Bill and Marjorie who were on hand to answer any questions we had and even got my son to read two books while there.
G Stewart
Reviewed South Lodge on 13/11/2020
And awarded it
A delightful cottage with a beautiful water frontage and view of West Loch Tarbert. The cottage was well furnished, if a little tired in places, but that didn't matter as it was warm and cosy with everything you needed. A lovely wood stove, with plentiful wood supplied and good heating in every room. Beautifully unspoilt and peaceful surroundings and a real sense the cottage was carefully looked after. A birdwatcher's heaven! Lovely private spot, I will definitely be returning. Thank you for a wonderful week!
Graham & Clare
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 13/11/2020
And awarded it
Such a lovely location, the views are fascinating, our stay, in glorious Autumn, showed us exactly how colourful Scotland is. There's always something to view from the large windows. The track up to the cottage is steep, not suitable for a low slung vehicle. The cottage is very comfortable & well appointed. We enjoyed the bird life visiting the feeders, sadly no Eagles!
Michael Taylor
Reviewed Callakille on 11/11/2020
And awarded it
After spending a fantastic week at Burnside Cottage back in 2018 we were really looking forward to returning during the madness of 2020. It didn't disappoint. No otters on the shore below this time, nor a fox perched on the bench outside on ourlast night, but memorable nonetheless. The track in from the main road has just been upgraded as a precursor to renovating the Croft's other cottage, so soon we'll be spoilt for choice. Hopefully by this time the areas much promised fibre broadband will also be rolled out; the very erratic (O2) 3G signal being the only way to communicate. Some may see this digital detox as a positive, but under current circumstances being able to communicate with the outside world (booking a table at the Pub) is essential. Haste us back!
Carolyn Milne
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 10/11/2020
And awarded it
Due to English Covid lockdown, we could not go on our planned holiday. We were delighted to able to get a last minute 3 night stay at The Coltsfoots. Previously stayed here the week before March lockdown. The property was so clean with Covid holiday property guidelines regarding cleaning etc in place. We felt safe in the property and in all Fort Augustus where pubs and cafes are also safe and strictly following guidelines.