Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2986 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Josh White
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 06/12/2017
And awarded it
Wonderful stay.The views from the property were amazing and the house was very well presented, equipped & furnished. Wish we'd been able to stay longer.
Dave Barker
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/11/2017
And awarded it
Really enjoyed our stay it was totally relaxing, the owner is so kind and welcoming. I would recommend to anyone.
Stephen Cassidy
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 30/11/2017
And awarded it
This is the second year we have been to Beach Lodge in November and once again we had a very enjoyable 'chill' break. We love the isolation and the almost 'private beach' on which we take the dog 3 or 4 times per day come rain, shine or even snow. The accommodation is excellent with ample room for everyone to relax, on this occasion we were 4 with another couple joining us for 3 days, plenty of room. Plenty of wildlife to see, deer in front of the house, sea otters, rabbits and the odd fox. I would thoroughly recommend the lodge to people who want to get away from it all and really chill out.
Julie
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 27/11/2017
And awarded it
Relaxing stay in stunning surroundings. Stayed for 4 nights with my husband and two dogs, fantastic location and plenty of walks from the doorstep. Cottage was spotlessly clean and felt like home from home, photos do not do it justice. A perfect escape from it all. Look forward to returning in the Newyear.
Mr & Mrs Heaven, Cheshire
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 27/11/2017
And awarded it
We were delighted to return to this delightful cottage again. This secluded cottage has everything to offer those wishing to get away from it all. It is only 3 miles off the main Broadford/Portree road on a poorly maintained road but it still feels isolated. This was our second visit to this well equipped cottage by the shore. We noted the little 'extras', handmade soap, warm curtains and matching cushions/bedspread. Very tasteful and cosy, especially with the fire lit. We liked the new sofa and found it very comfortable. It is perfect base from which to explore the island. The highlight was hearing the stags calling at night across the water from the Island of Scalpay opposite. Will definitely return again, it's a hidden gem!
Gina Gainey
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 26/11/2017
And awarded it
Compact but very cosy and comfortable accommodation with stunning views across Loch Kishorn to the Bealach na Ba and the mountains of Applecross. A great base for local walks and wildlife spotting, even in November. In fact the autumn colours, rainbows, and first dusting of snow on the tops ensured a most enjoyable 'off season' holiday. Regular visits from the local pine marten contributed to the evening entertainment. Free range eggs available from the croft were also much enjoyed.
Amanda Snowdon
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/11/2017
And awarded it
Another lovely week at Plodda Falls Lodge we had a very relaxing time in this very comfortable cottage. With great walks on your doorstep this is an ideal holiday destination.
Judith, David & Riley The Border Collie
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 25/11/2017
And awarded it
We had a wonderful week at Leachachan Barn in October 2017. The barn is situated in a fabulous spot along the shores of Loch Duich with amazing views across the loch and towards The Five Sisters of Kintail. We enjoyed exploring the immediate area with walks from the door and found the barn to be ideally placed for travelling to lots of places of interest including The Isle of Skye. The barn itself is a great example of a stunningly sympathetic conversion with a clean, contemporary yet homely finish. We enjoyed being in the barn, choosing to cook at home in the evenings and while away the nights in front of the log burner. We thought Wilderness Cottages were very helpful and efficient in all elements of the booking process and aftercare and we wouldn't hesitate to book either Leachanan Barn or another property through them in the future.
Denise Barrett & Danny Feakins
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 24/11/2017
And awarded it
Just returned from Plodda Falls and had a wonderful holiday. The cottage is beautiful. We arrived to a warm welcome from Jenny and homemade lemon drizzle cake. The cottage looks even better than photographs are able to show. We enjoyed sitting by the log burner all cosy having coffee and cake in the afternoon and a wee glass of wine/cider at night. Jenny is a genuinely lovely person and has provided a very authentic experience. There's lots of information in the cottage about the history of the estate and all the best walking routes ( we did them all) around Plodda falls and Glen Affric. Very relaxing break. We had our two dogs with us and they absolutely loved it. Not only is Plodda lodge steeped in history with VIP's such as Winston Churchill connected to the estate (And he learned to drive there) it's also the ancestral home of the golden retriever ( they were first bred here) and there is a statue in the village (Tomich) in their honour. The scenery is breathtaking. Lots of wildlife ...We heard a golden eagle on the Dog Falls walk. Wi-Fi works well. There are plenty of Dvds'available to watch but it certainly did feel like getting away from it all. Highly recommended. Thank you Jenny we will definitely be back.
Alan Dowler
Reviewed Charleston on 24/11/2017
And awarded it
This is a lovely property in excellent condition. It is also good value but a few replacements such as the toaster needs to be made to maintain it's luxury status. Overall it is a property we would like to return to in the future.