Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2824 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Fiona Mossman
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 20/08/2017
And awarded it
A relaxing and peaceful place to say. The cottage has breathtaking views and is decorated and kitted out to a high standard. Perfect getaway that is both secluded but not too far away from tourist attractions. Skye itself is becoming very busy so it was lovely to have this sea side retreat to return to after our sightseeing and days out. Midges were the only downside as it meant sitting outside in the evening and enjoying the amazing view and wildlife wasn't possible. We will definitely come back, out with midge season!
A Newton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/08/2017
And awarded it
We really enjoyed our week in the Coltsfoot. It is in a beautiful setting and the lodge was wonderful. Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
Astrid & Graham
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it
Seascape cottage was truly a home from home and Chas and Jane have thought of everything in making it so. The setting was superb and the wildlife around the cottage lived up to all the descriptions. Rain, Sun and wind, no matter the weather the scenery is dramatic and ever changing. A delightful 'get away from it all' holiday and we can't wait to return.
Hannah & David
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it
A wonderful two weeks in a fantastic cottage - beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Enclosed garden very dog friendly. Lovely location, with excellent village shop at the bottom of the lane. An ideal base for exploring much of Skye.
Jonny
Reviewed Log House on 18/08/2017
And awarded it
For many years, since the distinctive and charming Log House jumped out from the pages of an old Wilderness Cottages brochure, I have dreamed about staying at this quirky retreat. My dreams came true in August 2017 when my wife and I, and our two boys aged thirteen and one, drove up to Fort Augustus with a couple of mountain bikes atop the car for a week of Highland living. We didn't have great weather but this presented a fine excuse to light the cosy fire each evening. The cabin really is very comfortable and inviting. The warm glow from the lamps, the roaring fire, the traditional log walls and the impressive greenery out of every window, not to mention the decorative antique winter sports equipment, all conspire to convince you that you're in a bygone era, a hundred miles from civilisation. All the kitchen appliances are high quality and in good condition. The kitchen floor is very creaky so if you're the type who tries to sneak into the biscuit jar in the dead of night for forty custards while your partner sleeps, be warned. I was very impressed by the bathroom. You would not expect such a clean, modern, fully-functional bathroom suite in such a cabin, but there it is; a taste of 5 star hotel life in the Great Glen. The bedrooms are wonderful but, at 6'3", I prefer a bed in which I can hang my feet out of the bottom. Not a major problem, it just meant I slept diagonally and my wife curled up and slept on her pillow. Woodland surrounds the cabin and pretty paths and trails can be explored in every direction. We rode our bikes every day and enjoyed the nearby River Oich Trail and the climb up to the magnificent (but dangerous!) viewpoint at Torr Dhuin. Another good ride goes from Fort Augustus to Invermoriston on the Great Glen Way. I would recommend taking the High Route on the outbound trip and then returning on the easier and slightly shorter Low Route. The views of Loch Ness from high above are fantastic, almost as good as the beer at Glenmoriston Arms Hotel. The Log House was everything I wanted it to be, and more. True, we could have done better for wildlife and weather but this was made up for with excellent WiFi, Freesat TV and a secure bike shed.
A Desmond
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it
This is a beautiful cottage renovated to an extremely high standard and set in stunning Scottish countryside. Cottage had everything we needed and was extremely cosy and comfortable. The owners have put a lot of thought into what visitors might need making us feel very welcome. It is an ideal base for walking and hill climbing in the area and with a railway station just 4 miles away you can even visit Glasgow and further afield. We are already planning a second visit.
Carole Marks
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 18/08/2017
And awarded it
We have stayed at Hill Head Croft several times now. We love the cottage for the space and quality of accommodation. The cottage is modern, well equipped and comfortable. A real home from home. It is in a lovely location, with beautiful scenery in the surrounding area.
Martina Heisele, Germany
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 17/08/2017
And awarded it
Well equipped, clean, warm and pretty cottage. Didn't miss much except for a shower curtain and flowers in the hanging baskets. If the garden was in better shape (furniture, parasol, plants), it would be perfect. Anyway we felt at home and appreciated wine and milk.
Helen L
Reviewed Achbeag on 16/08/2017
And awarded it
Achbeag is a very well equipped cottage in a beautiful part of the country. There is no TV, internet or mobile reception but that added to the holiday. The washing machine is small and there is just a clothes horse, no tumble dryer or clothes line so families might find it difficult. Otherwise we had absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend.
David Mitchell
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 16/08/2017
And awarded it
A beautiful place to stay accommodation excellent setting stunning and will be using again in future