Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternatively you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4245 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Claire F
Reviewed Upper Folds on 15/09/2021
And awarded it
So delighted to have found Upper Folds! What a beautiful place in a perfect, wilderness setting. Spotless clean and a plentiful supply of wood, this place is a real gem and I'm sure it will not be long before we return. A perfect location for those who enjoy space and a digital break in the heart of the Cairngorms.
Charlotte Connor
Reviewed Ardrannach on 15/09/2021
And awarded it
Our stay at Ardrannach on the Isle of Skye was fabulous. The bungalow is situated in a perfectly rural and beautiful location, it has an amazing view to enjoy, and is also only a short distance from Portree. The farm which it is near the bungalow is run by a lovely family, who are delightful, and for us cityfolk, seeing the sheep being gathered in and the cattle grazing nearby just added to our wonderfully restorative and relaxing week.
Nicholas Storrs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 15/09/2021
And awarded it
We had a wonderful week at Shore Cottage in September. The situation of the cottage is excellent with lovely views of the beach and the sea. We particularly liked sitting on the decking looking out over the sea and listening to the waves. So quiet and peaceful. And what a beach, walked from end to end many times! In clear weather you can see lighthouses flashing on the Irish side.
David Mason
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 15/09/2021
And awarded it
Very nice property, clean and well equipped. My wife and I had a very pleasant stay here along with our two dogs. The dogs loved the freedom and the nearby forrest walks. The property owner was very kind to let my wife borrow a mobility scooter for the duration of the holiday, she is a below knee amputee and this helped here explore more of the surrounding area. Overall a nice quiet, relaxing week. Just what we needed.
Peter & Ali Marshall
Reviewed The Orchids on 15/09/2021
And awarded it
What an utterly beautiful house in a stunning location! The property was far beyond our expectations, was superbly decorated and equipped with everything we could need for our week's stay. I only wish we could have stayed longer. The area provided plenty to do and see within a short driving distance and we'd recommend eating at Cafe Lephin in Glendale and The Old Schoolhouse in Dunvegan. The seal boat trip from Dunvegan Castle was a highlight as was the walk to Neist Point and up to the Quiraing on the Trotternish Peninsula. The Fairy Glen was magical in the mist and the beach a Loch Brittle was not to be missed either. All in all, a most wonderful week and a delightful property with some amazing views. We loved it and would highly recommend The Orchids as a great place to stay
Rodney Brooksby
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 15/09/2021
And awarded it
Very good setting in the castle estate with wonderful walks in the castle grounds..Accomodation was also very good suggested road route in to stable cottage on arrival needs to be reviewed as it unsuitable for cars.
Cheryl
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 14/09/2021
And awarded it
Shellach Cottage was a great base to come back to after a days walking. It was a perfect size for the two of us. The kitchen was really well equipped and had everything we needed. The location was also good, a 15 minute walk into the village and Lochcarron itself perfect for exploring all Wester Ross has to offer. The cottage was cosy - we didn't need to light the fire - and comfortable. We will be back to stay again.
Elizabeth
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/09/2021
And awarded it
A lovely well equipped property in an amazing location. Ideal for a family holiday.
Bob, Lisa & Mac (dog)
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 14/09/2021
And awarded it
Lovely, cottage in a lovely location. Margaret and Paul were the perfect hosts and a great welcome package was there to greet us. They made you feel at home and nothing was a bother to them. The garden was perfect for our dog Mac who enjoyed himself also. Thank you again to Margaret and Paul.????
Roy McPherson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/09/2021
And awarded it
The cottage is well proportioned and is an ideal base. The cottage has been well thought out and provides all necessary comforts. If you are fortunate, and we were, the red squirrel pats a visit. The hosts Jeff & Jacqui are very helpful. Makes a super base for visiting many places e.g. Mull & Glencoe