Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3765 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Jane & Roy
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 20/01/2020
And awarded it
Fantastic little cottage, this is our third time here. There are fine views over the sound towards Scalpay and the tip of Raasay. We saw plenty of sea birds and most days an otter all hunting for food just offshore. This was usually timed to our eating breakfast so gave a good backdrop. We used the cottage as a base and spent our days kayaking around parts of Skye and walking the Cuilins.
Steven Christy
Reviewed Log Ness on 10/01/2020
And awarded it
Log Ness what can I say but wow it lived up to all expectations and more an absolutely beautiful Lodge with spectacular views I really can't fault our stay here it was amazing and my whole. Family can't wait to come back ....... Thank you for letting us rent your beautiful home
Robin & Lesley
Reviewed Ardbeg on 08/12/2019
And awarded it
Of all the places we've been to and stayed around the world, Ardbeg scores very highly. Ardbeg is presented in an extremely tasteful and calming manner which suited our need to be able to chill out completely. Ardbeg is centred in an area which has an abundance of scenic walks and trails, suitable for all abilities. We were spoiled for choice, even our sprocker who celebrated his first birthday during our stay was in his element. Returning to Ardbeg after a long days walking was an absolute pleasure with all our needs more than catered for. Our sincere thanks to the owners of Ardbeg for a truly wonderful cottage.
Ann Davis
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 08/12/2019
And awarded it
This barn was the perfect place to get away from it all. The conversion was absolutely stunning in a subtle, understated way - very cosy and thoughtfully presented. A truly special place to stay.
Jennifer Harris
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/12/2019
And awarded it
Beautiful cottage, amazing scenery and lots of wildlife. Couldn't ask for better.
Huw & Karen
Reviewed Cala on 07/12/2019
And awarded it
An astonishingly beautiful setting, the panoramic view of Loch Nedd from Cala is magnificent. The area is ideal for those interested in walking in unspoiled landscapes to enjoy the scenery, its wildlife or the geology of one of the most captivating areas of Scotland. Well appointed and warmly welcoming Cala is in a quiet, sparsely populated area and, out of season, road traffic is refreshingly rare. The ideal place to stay to appreciate peaceful grandeur of the Highlands.
Brian Johnstone
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 24/11/2019
And awarded it
Had a lovely stay at Rowan Ridge. Very well appointed, comfortable, warm cottage well located for trips to Inverness and surrounding areas. Appreciated biscuits and Christmas tree which was a nice touch. Recommended.
Keith May
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 22/11/2019
And awarded it
This was the first time we had stayed in a wilderness cottage and we weren't disappointed! An excellent cottage in wonderful surroundings, it made our holiday. It was perfect for the two of us and we didn't want to leave! The location provided easy access and a perfect base to explore the area. We will definitely be booking again. Thank you for making everything so easy.
The Smiths
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/11/2019
And awarded it
We have used wildernesses several times They are extremely helpful and highly organised every trip has went like clockwork
Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug, Blackpool
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 16/11/2019
And awarded it
A nice comfortable, well equipped cottage in a tranquil location. We enjoyed the cottage and cooking using the Everhot range. Lots of walks within 30 minutes drive. Plenty of wildlife straight from the windows (deers, pine martens, woodpeckers and many other birds) and a brilliant changing view of the loch and mountains from the dining room window. There is no light around the bird table to see nocturnal visits from the wildlife, but luckily we took a battery powered, motion detection security light which allowed us to watch the pine martens after dark. As there are no shops nearby we prebooked an ASDA delivery for the Monday (4.00 charge for a 2 hour slot) which was delivered on time and with no issues. The road outside the cottage to Kinloch Hourn is a fantastic drive and great for wildlife spotting. It gets a bit narrow for the last half mile, but the views and peace at the loch are well worth the drive. A brilliant holiday in a great part of Scotland.