Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternatively you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4350 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Ross Meth
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 25/11/2021
And awarded it
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stable Cottage. Very cozy and very well equipped. Super peaceful in beautiful surroundings.
Mark Dawson
Reviewed Charleston on 22/11/2021
And awarded it
Charleston is the perfect get away from it all cottage. We loved the walks straight from the door and cooking in the evening in a well equipped kitchen. The views are amazing . Fort Augustus is a shortish and beautiful drive away if you need provisions and the cafe at Foyer is very welcoming after a day walking
A.Ferguson
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 17/11/2021
And awarded it
Excellent accommodation and welcoming Host Dave. Welcome pack excellent with warm home made bread and Fresh farm eggs Great location for many day trips in Dumfries and Galloway Dark Sky viewing excellent
Paul Burnett
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 16/11/2021
And awarded it
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stoer Lodge. Very homely property in an exceptional setting with stunning views. The log burner was very efficient on the few chilly nights it was required. Lodge was very well equipped with everything we needed.
Gillian Haddock
Reviewed Sealight on 15/11/2021
And awarded it
Sealight is a beautiful house in a stunning area the house is extremely well equipped warm and comfortable and this year was our third visit which we have enjoyed just as much as previous years!
Carol Wright
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2021
And awarded it
What a truly fabulous week we spent in this beautiful place. Everything exceeded our expectations. Apart from the unreliable Scottish weather which didnt matter too much as we could enjoy the views unfolding before us on the sofas each morning, feeling very warm and cosy by the fire. The decor is just our cup of tea. We all love to cook and everything was on hand that we needed. Many a fun night was spent eating nice meals around the table followed by a game of scrabble. The walks are delightful and we regularly saw the local seal also the otter who didnt seem to mind us watching him as he fished and ate what he caught. The Sea Eagle apparently flew past but we were not looking up, but he is around.Two lovely friendly pigs over the wall of the Chocolate factory also. This has got to be one of the most beautiful holiday homes we have stayed in, no awful leather sofas in sight, some places seem more akin to an old folks home. We apprecaited all the quirky features and design particulary the Candelabras which we lit every night. Will certainly be booking this again.
Hil Berg
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 15/11/2021
And awarded it
The cottage was warm and clean with everything we needed for a comfortable two-week stay - and the small conservatory facing the loch is terrific for watching wildlife and relaxing, whatever the weather, and for star gazing on clear nights. Set within stunning scenery, silent and peaceful, It is well placed for walking and for driving to lots of places of interest. The owner has provided fascinating background on her family history relating to the croft, and there are books and a great DVD collection for the evenings (which are long in the winter). WiFi is limited but fine as long as you dont stream/need to work. In November we found most tourist venues shut and as you would expect, limited shopping locally, but a chest freezer makes food planning easy. The wildlife was terrific, with white tailed eagles over the cottage on our first day, and red deer on the hill in the evenings. Lots of garden birds, buzzards and a resident tawny owl which sits on the garden fence post. Further afield we saw golden eagles, seals, porpoise, stoats and much more. If driving at night be prepared for a lot of deer on the road. The garden was fenced well enough for us to feel confident letting out border collie explore off the lead.
Lesley M
Reviewed Seahorses on 15/11/2021
And awarded it
A beautiful modern house in a simply stunning setting. The house was very clean, always warm and had everything we needed. Having visited in November many local facilities were closed, but we were well prepared. The scenery and walks are never closed and the views from the house will remain with us for a long time.
Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug
Reviewed Easter Knocklea Cottage on 14/11/2021
And awarded it
Great cottage in good location for exploring the area of Cairngorms and Aberdeenshire. The cottage has great views from the garden side, but the garden and cottage windows are open to the cottage next door so may be an issue for dogs or privacy (as no curtains) if anyone is there during a stay (not for us, as nobody was there). Cottage has everything for a great week away.
Mandi
Reviewed The Granary on 13/11/2021
And awarded it
Exactly as advertised. Beautiful cottage and very cosy with log fire. Spacious and like a home from home. The family were very friendly and helpful and were happy to help you see the best of Scotland. Will defiantly be recommending this holiday to everyone.