Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternatively you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 5155 reviews from guests, of which 97% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Sarah Williamson
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 23/06/2024
And awarded it
We love Tor cottage, our second visit and Ruth and John always make you feel so welcome. The house is simply beautiful and the location stunning, I could sit for hours just looking out to sea. Really comfy beds and furniture and all the amenities you need, what more could you ask for .
John & Angie Little
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/06/2024
And awarded it
Lovely retreat with loads of space for the dogs. Loved the wee bit of wild in the garden with regular finches, siskins and a few others including great spotted woodpecker and a couple of rock dove. Pine Martins were amazing to watch and I took a few 35mm slr shots on my old Cannon A1. looking forward to some old fashioned development! Cottage was immaculate on our arrival thanks to Audrey who, incidentally was chewing through some long grass with the mower when we arrived. Perfect place for 30th wedding anniversary for us. With dogs-no kids!! Visit and enjoy.
Yann De Mezieres
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 22/06/2024
And awarded it
As many have said before, this is a truly wonderful place. Remote location but with all mod cons and supremely comfortable. The only sound comes from the wind and the birds.....and the odd bleat! Having visited every corner of Skye, I recommend the boat trip to Loch Coruisk via Elgol and the beach near Point of Sleat. And of course walks around the Quiraing. After a day's sight seeing it was always pleasing to return to this special oasis of peace and quiet and just relax, watching Clive (the rabbit) skipping around the croft. No deer this time though, I shall have to return.
Mary Lister
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 22/06/2024
And awarded it
We had a great week in Seascape Cottage. Loved the seascape which changed from hour to hour. The cottage is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Rhins of Galloway are unspoilt and quiet. Like Cornwall 50 yrs ago. Thank you to Sarah for the lovely welcome pack and for being a great hostess.
Alison
Reviewed The Granary on 22/06/2024
And awarded it
A lovely comfortable place to stay. The Granary is very homely and well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beds and bedding were super comfortable and we all slept incredibly well. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We had a super week with our daughter and son-in-law with some lovely weather The Granary was a lovely base to explore this amazing area. Applecross Pass and a trip to Skye were highlights. If going to Skye the ferry is a must. We used the bridge on the way back. We had a lovely cruise on Loch Ness. The Deli in Drumnadrochit is a great place for a breakfast and their cake selection is something else! Would highly recommend
Ann Terry
Reviewed The Old Post Office on 21/06/2024
And awarded it
We had a brilliant stay at The Old Post Office.The property has been renovated to an extremely high standard with attention to detail. Clashnessie is a very special place , the view of Clashnessie Beach.and Chrona Island from the panoramic window in the gable end is mesmerising. The property is as described on the website, well equipped kitchen . Smart TV,bedroom linens of a good quality .Lots to see and do outdoors in the area.We especially enjoyed a day on Handa Island , the beaches and coastal walks.
Wendel Corrigan
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/06/2024
And awarded it
Thoroughly recommend if you want peace and tranquility. We didn't want to go anywhere else it was so, so restful and just what we needed. So collected food from Morrisons and we ate in! Made properly welcome by Sarah, even our 2 boisterous dogs. There's no garden so have to accompany dogs at all times as access to farm further up the lane. However, the track opposite, the coves and surrounding areas are fantastic for them and nobody else there! It really is a 2 min walk. The pictures make it look further. Cottage was comfortable, light and airy and well equipped. It's small and yet we managed to relax with 3 of us, the dogs and very mixed weather! Bumpy lane was no problem for us as we're used to the Shropshire roads! Only thing I could think was needed, by us, was mirrors in the bedrooms. Otherwise plenty of storage. The cottage is very well thought out. Thank you so much Sarah for making it so enjoyable.
Remco De Waal
Reviewed Log Ness on 18/06/2024
And awarded it
We had a lovely week at Log Ness. The house was fantastic, clean and well equipped. The views from the house were stunning. A great way to spend our holiday!
Janet Evans
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 18/06/2024
And awarded it
This was our first time staying in Seabank Cottage and we would not hesitate to come back! The cottage has everything you could need for your stay, plus the outstanding location and view from the kitchen window. The team at Wilderness Cottages, who helped me find the right property, were so friendly and helpful too. I would recommend using them to anyone! All in all, a great experience and a wonderful week in the Highlands!
Klaasje Van Der Velde
Reviewed Upper Folds on 18/06/2024
And awarded it
It was just perfect. The location is truly beautiful and the cottage is comfortable, warm and welcoming. Safe garden to let the dogs roam around, best place we've ever stayed.