Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3074 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Cathy T
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 22/04/2018
And awarded it
It's all in the name and all about the location. We spent a week at Seascape Cottage and loved every minute. As soon as we saw the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the shoreline we were happy. We were warmly welcomed by Jane & Chaz, who live directly behind the cottage, but were never intrusive. The cottage had quality fixtures and fittings, comfortable sofas and beds and is warm (there is a brilliant heating system), the wonderful view out to sea changes with the weather. A major factor for us was how dog friendly the cottage is and without too many rules; throws, extra dog beds and bowls are provided. We had some wonderful walks just exploring the seashore in either direction. We saw deer and a hare from the cottage window and watched gannets diving in the sea with the binoculars provided. All in all a wonderful place for a very quiet, get away from it all, relaxing holiday.
KatieB
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/04/2018
And awarded it
Just spent a fantastic week at Pipers Lodge. With beautiful views of Loch Dunvegan from the hot tub and the large floor to ceiling windows, the lodge is beautifully finished and is in a great position to explore so many of the beautiful sights on Skye. Chris and Cath have thought of everything you need for a fabulous and relaxed holiday.
Michael Yuille
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 20/04/2018
And awarded it
We had a wonderful stay in Port Elgol Cottage which is beautifully situated on the shore at Elgol. The cottage was very cosy and comfortable with great views. It has everything you need for a good holiday.
Brian Stevenson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 18/04/2018
And awarded it
We had a lovely break in Fort Augustus. The cottage is ideally placed just on the edge of town, close to everything you might need. Inside there is ample room for 4, on this occasion there were only 2 of us, which made the place seem much bigger. All you need is provided in the cottage, the only thing my wife missed was Wifi, but no problems other than that. We will visit again in the future.
Mike Gill
Reviewed An Sealladh on 18/04/2018
And awarded it
A really nice property and I would definitely recommend it. Has everything you need for a good self catering week. Views towards Suilven. Handy for the village - shop / pub etc. Great location for mountain walking ie Munros & Corbetts. Our Golden Retriever found the deer visits to the garden rather 'interesting'. Paths / parking area would benefit from some moss removal - a bit slippery when wet.
Mrs OD
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 17/04/2018
And awarded it
We stayed in the Tor cottage Isle of Harris in April 2018, it became our home away from home, fresh new very clean with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. It's situated in a picturesque place within a short drive from Tarbert, very quiet. Thank you for our stay, we hope to return.
FionaP
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 17/04/2018
And awarded it
This cottage has the most amazing views of Loch Ness and the surrounding countryside. The cottage itself is spacious, very comfortable, well-equipped and was spotlessly clean. There is a perfect space for relaxing in front of the log burner in the evening, another seating area in front of a window looking out across the lake, and the dining area has the best view of them all! Oh that is before you get to the main bedroom and see the seating area there! Duncan gave us a warm welcome and showed us around on arrival. It's a great location for exploring the Great Glen and Glen Affric. I couldn't recommend it more highly!
Mark, Vic & Martha
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 17/04/2018
And awarded it
We had a sublime time at Swallow Byre. Space, quiet and great beaches to explore. Would recommend a trip to Handa Island. Jane was helpful and around if we needed but not intrusive. Swallow Byre is well-equipped and the Rayburn kept the place warm when needed.
Pete & CaroleRowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 17/04/2018
And awarded it
We have just booked our 3 year at the cottage which we hope speaks volumes. The cottage is homely and cosy right on the Loch with the most spectacular view. Listening to the lapping water with the silence around you, is very special. Lots of beautiful walks around, it is remote and quiet yet with a cafe and restaurant, a very short drive away and with a pub and Spa 6miles at Loch Carron. Plus seal watching from your lounge window is very special too.
Martin Ogden
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 17/04/2018
And awarded it
An excellent property in a fantastic location. The facilities were above average and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and relaxed holiday. So much so we will be rebooking to stay again.