Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3640 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Jon & Kate P
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 15/08/2019
And awarded it
What a truly amazing cottage and location, everything you need to relax and enjoy the stunning views surrounding the croft. Location is perfect to explore all that Skye has to offer. Will definitely be back.
Claire
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/08/2019
And awarded it
Wonderful cottage. We didn't want to leave. Cottage is peaceful, with fabulous views of the surrounding landscape and great road links to many places of interest. The cottage is a real gem, particularly loved the rainforest shower, heated flooring and the wood burner too. There is also an excellent surprise with this cottage, something we didn't expect but I wont spoil it for you???? Excellent hosts Jacqui and Jeff who gave us insider tips about the surrounding area and trips out. We had the most amazing holiday, could not fault the cottage at all. Arrivain Cottage is fabulous! We can't wait to return.
Shane Hughes
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/08/2019
And awarded it
Lovely cottage set in an idilic and peaceful location.Everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable.If returning to the cottage late at night be prepared to meet some of the local deer on the single track road.Certainly was a pleasure to encounter these beautiful animals most nights.The bird feeder outside in the garden has many visitors throughout the day.If you have children then they will love the games room at the bottom of the private driveway.
Mr & Mrs Smith
Reviewed The Challey at Heathcote on 13/08/2019
And awarded it
We booked The Challey as a last minute break. The accommodation is a really high standard with some lovely touches including a welcome bottle of Prosecco on arrival. Consideration has been given to guests requirements and we really enjoyed our stay. The area is quiet and secluded, if you like walking the Speyside Trail is 2 minutes away. After a long days walk it was lovely to sit by the river with a cold beer or sit outside in the peace and quiet. The coast is a 30 minute drive away if you want to get out and about. The only downside is we didnt have enough time to see and do everything we wanted. We would definitely recommend and will consider returning in the near future.
Steve Townsley
Reviewed Grain Store on 13/08/2019
And awarded it
Great. Inspiring location ideal for visiting the area with lots of nearby walks. House warm with all we needed.
Helen C
Reviewed Ardbeg on 13/08/2019
And awarded it
Lovely house - great view across to Skye. very comfortable and very well equipped. If you're travelling with children there's a separate small sitting room to the main living area and both are equipped with a large flat screen TV. Gairloch has a great museum, nice tourist info centre and great fish & chips!
Allan Carson
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 13/08/2019
And awarded it
Seal Skerry Lodge is a spacious, clean and comfortable modern dwelling with two bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen, Wi Fi and outside decking. All you need to take with you is your own food as the nearest supermarket is in Portree. The Lodge is in a spectacular elevated position near the head of Loch Pooltiel with views of the wildlife and a landscape stretching to the Outer Hebrides. It is not overlooked and feels very private. There are lots of walks and there are several places to eat nearby. A very slight word of caution is that the nine mile access road is a winding single track affair which is extremely busy at peak periods due to the attraction of Neist Point. Highly recommended though.
Monique
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 09/08/2019
And awarded it
We have a fantastic week in this house. The view is amazing and the house is cosy and fully equiped. We went with the boattrip and we saw dolphins and a mink whale and a lot of puffins and seals.
Kees Anton
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 08/08/2019
And awarded it
Lovely cottage, very comfortable good location and very dogfriendly. Excellent location for exploring Skye. You can walk your dog straight away when leaving the cottage.
Jill B.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/08/2019
And awarded it
We are very happy to have returned to the croft with our little daughter after spending a week here on our honeymoon six years ago. # The place has lost none of its magic. The holiday home is perfect for a relaxing stay. The view is breathtaking, the house is very tastefully furnished and extraordinarily well equipped. One feels very welcome. We can highly recommend it.