Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3245 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Valerie & Sean From England & Gilbert From Fra
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 15/08/2018
And awarded it
We have just spent 2 weeks at Plodda Lodge and it was just paradise! The house is comfortable and welcoming, full of fascinating books and interesting artefacts. The owner Jenny is a genuine nice person who will try her very best to make your stay unforgettable. The location of the house is unique, surrounded by forest and wildlife. The garden is beautiful with numerous bird feeders and a lot of greedy birds to watch from the bay windows. There is also a wonderful vegetable patch, where you can go and pick some fresh vegetables or fruit in season every day! Walking in the woods around the house, we found an abundance of wild berries and went foraging for chanterelles mushrooms, which are a real delicacy.We found a lot of them on more than one occasion and it was a privilege to come back home to cook them right after picking. The glens in the area are majestic and serene. We loved Glen Affric and Glen Cannich but Glen Strathfarrar was beyond beautiful...a true gem! Plodda lodge is a special place..be prepared, you will be very sad when you leave!
Mrs Sharrock
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/08/2018
And awarded it
Great cottage, well equipped and clean. Fabulous location for exploring the island. Great walks around the Glen. Post office/shop at the end of the road sells nearly everything you need. Would definitely like to return.
Ritchie Stace
Reviewed Log House on 15/08/2018
And awarded it
Lovely Log Cabin situated near Fort Augustus. We all found it very cosy and were able to see the various wildlife around the area. Would recommend it to anybody who wants to get away from it all for a while.
John Mc
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
Spent a great week in this modern Croft. The views from the open plan lounge / dining area are fantastic. Two great bedrooms and a sauna included in the ensuite which was great after a day's walking. The Croft has a well equipped kitchen and a log burner. About 15 minutes from Portee the road is single track with passing places as are a lot of the roads on Skye so be prepared. You soon get the hang of it and is well worth it for the delights this Croft offers. For those dependant on their daily fix of wifi and mobile signal think again ...me I loved its absence totally relaxing in great surroundings
Jayne & Michael Olsen
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
We had a fantastic time at The Mill. Everything we needed and more. Bill & Marjory where especially kind and helpful. The welcome hamper was really appreciated. Our teenage boys really loved it to. We had great days out in the surrounding area, but would have enjoyed it just as much anyway. Having no internet and Tv was a bonus. It made proper family time. The only downside was that a week wasn't long enough. We will be coming back in Dec/Jan. Thank you so much
Dave Waghorn
Reviewed Askival on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
Other than a few minor Hiccups on arrival, the cottage was wonderful. Would we go back? - Yes. Did we want to leave? - No. Highly recommended for a 'get away' holiday.
Alicia
Reviewed The Bothy on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
A very special place: you can see wild animals from your window and at night, when you turn off the lights, all is pitch dark outside.
Allis H
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
We have stayed in a number of cottages in the Black Isle and Reyflat is by far the best maintained. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and clean with fantastic views. Most importantly for me, the owners hadn't scrimped on the mattress and we slept really well.
Dandos
Reviewed The Mill on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
Stunning setting, well equipped and beautifully presented property with an absolutely incredible view out of the lounge windows - could never tire of that! Will definitely return.
Linda Davies
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/08/2018
And awarded it
Wow...thats the word that springs to mind when I remember our time at Moll cottage. Our first visit to Skye and what a wonderful place we chose to stay stunning location amazing views and a lovely cottage equipped with everything you need...lovely comfy bed well equipped kitchenette (combi oven / microwave very easy to use toaster kettle etc) washing machine dryer great shower, towels provided (although just one little niggle the bath towels are on the small side perhaps bath sheets would be better) and a super log burner. Outside is wonderful too total peace and quiet stunning views private beach literally on your doorstep and an amazing variety of sea birds and animals. Regularly visited by oyster catchers, sea ducks, hooded crows the list is endless but the best visitors were 3 seals.. two playing in the loch outside and one basking on a large rock. We loved our stay at Moll and we were sad to leave we will definitely visit again.