Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3786 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Alicia
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 23/07/2020
And awarded it
The Stoer Lodge was a beautiful and cozy respite for our lockdown weary selves. The location is amazing, the house is lovely, and we felt right at home immediately. Would highly recommend. The area is absolutely stunning and Stoer Lodge is THE perfect location to explore it.
Danny Cossar
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 13/04/2020
And awarded it
As we arrived we were greeted by lovely Jenny. The cottage is stunning and set in perfect surroundings, close to the fabulous Plodda Falls. The cottage is well equipped with everything you should need, comfortable sofas/beds and a lovely warm open fire. Jenny really made us feel welcome here, always on hand to answer questions and to provide and further information. The cottage has ample room for families. Myself, my partner and our two doggies stayed. Enclosed gardens which were ideal. We will definitely be returning here in the not too distant future.
Tania, Troy, Jack & Dave
Reviewed Log Ness on 17/03/2020
And awarded it
I cannot express how totally stunning Log Ness is!! It is absolutely beautiful and set in an amazing location with brilliant views over Loch Ness. Sian and Phil happened to meet us upon our arrival at Log Ness and they were very welcoming and gave us lots of useful advice. There is everything you could possibly need in the lodge and all is to a very high standard. The log burner is amazing and keeps you nice and toastie with the under floor heating as well. There is a lovely outside drinking area with dart board, but unfortunately we couldn't really make use of this due to the bad weather. The washing machine and tumble drier came in very useful, especially for our ringing wet clothes from our Ben Nevis experience. We even arranged a Tesco delivery which turned up with no problems. The surroundings are so beautiful. There are lots of walks that can be done immediately from the lodge. We did a lovely 8 mile walk through some stunning locations. Would highly recommend Log Ness and Sian and Phil are more than happy to help out and answer any questions. We are even looking to go back in the summertime and make use of all the outside space and BBQ. Totally amazing!!
Carolyn Milne
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 14/03/2020
And awarded it
This is an amazing property. Spotlessly clean. Wood provided for fire and property is so easy to keep warm. Kitchen had more equipment than we have at home- washing machine and separate drier. Proper wooden cot rather than travel cot provided and good, safe high chair. Showers are wonderful, hot and powerful. Strong wi-fi. Easy to keep clean, even with 2 Labradors. Quiet, peaceful and secluded. 10 mins walk into Fort Augustus (Uphill on way back) TV, CD player. Immediate access to Great Glen Way. Veranda/ decking area for sitting and for leaving muddy boots etc. Bathroom radiators suitable to drying damp clothing if necessary
Michele Hartnell
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 14/03/2020
And awarded it
Camero's Cottage was just the best . The photos really don't do it justice as it was so much more roomy than we expected . Morag ,the owner, was lovely and on hand should you need . The area is beautiful . Cameron's Tearooms are a must and a short walk from the cottage . The staff were so helpful and friendly and the food ..... well , we went everyday .Thats testament enough . We shall certainly be returning to this cottage .
Matt Uffindall
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 09/03/2020
And awarded it
Excellent cottage and a lovely warm welcome from the owners. The cottage is simply wonderful, and finished to a very high standard. It has its own privacy, whilst sharing the plot with the owners home, just a few yards away. The burn flowing besides is the only noise, coupled with the birds on the feeder and whilst close to the main road, its feels like you are in your own little world. A great location with access to Glen Coe, Oban and onwards to the West Coast. Get the fire roaring, have a walk through the woodland and relax with a whiskey.
Nicola Forshaw
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 09/03/2020
And awarded it
Absolutely stunning location, and such a cozy, well equipped cottage with fabulous panoramic views. Ruth & John were incredibly helpful. 5* plus!!
Sandra
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 09/03/2020
And awarded it
We had a wonderful stay at Stablemans Lodge. It is warm and cosy, very clean, well-equipped and great location. The house is behind the owner's property but feels very private, and Grantown on Spey is a lovely little town, very pretty and a good base for lots of activities. As there is no central heating, I was a little worried that the house would not be warm enough, a key requirement for me, but due to the very efficient wood burner, heat circulation system and an electric heater in the kitchen (not really needed as it was warm enough, anyway) this was not the case, in fact it was toasty warm throughout our stay. There was also a double bed in the bedroom area, rather than all single beds, as shown on the photos, which was a nice surprise, too.
Sam Yarwood
Reviewed Callakille on 09/03/2020
And awarded it
A beautiful and extremely comfortable cottage in a stunning, remote and peaceful location. Very easy booking and pre-arrival communications. Will be back!
Vicki W
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 06/03/2020
And awarded it
A fabulous place to stay, contemporary, filled with light & a profusion of glass to take in the stunning views of the sea loch from all rooms. Really appreciated the remote location, so quiet & unspoilt. However, take note that if visiting out of season there are very few facilities open. Bring your own food supplies. The tiny shop in Glendale has essential food supplies. Do not rely on it for food upon arrival as it will be closed & does not open again until 11am Monday. A welcome pack would be appreciated. The Co-op at Portree is an hour drive away.