Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3021 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Ros King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 20/02/2018
And awarded it
Our second stay at the cottage it was a wonderful week for us walking the canal with our dog. The cottage has everything you require and we will definitely be booking again thanks.
Alison
Reviewed Don Cottage on 20/02/2018
And awarded it
Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug, Blackpool
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/02/2018
And awarded it
Brilliant stay in a fantastic cottage in the perfect location for us. The cottage location was even better than we expected and had great views of the surrounding hills and of the stars on a clear night. We had snow for the week and needed to use the grit and salt that was left by the track to the cottage as we were the only people using the track all week. The track was slippy in the snow and ice, even with a 4x4. There is a co-op, restaraunts and numerous takeaways in nearby Dufftown for everything you need with big supermarkets in Huntly and Keith if you need more shopping. We would recommend the cottage for the perfect get away from it all break.
Mark & Penny Allwood
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 14/02/2018
And awarded it
Wow. Wow. Wow. This lodge is basic, has everything you need and feel like our ideal home. Very friendly village. Very warm inside with the fire lit and a very nice welcome pack. The Craig Bar just 75mtr from the sofa is amazing (we should know we were in there frequently). Very comfortable, cosy and homely accomodation. Will certainly be back. Really love this place
Gabrielle Becher
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 14/02/2018
And awarded it
Swallow Byre is the perfect escape to one of the wildest parts of Scotland. I stayed there with my boyfriend for a long weekend and we loved the cosy log-burner, location near the sea and the comfort of the cottage. Jane was also so warm and inviting and non-intrusive to our stay and left us a delicious plate of scones for our arrival. We took the opportunity to climb Suilven in the snow - crampons and ice axe required - and did the walk out to the Point of Stoer, both of which were very special and exhilarating walks. I hope we'll come back someday soon.
Claire & Steve
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 13/02/2018
And awarded it
We stayed in Seal Skerry Lodge for a week in January to celebrate a 40th birthday. We have stayed in Milovaig 9 times but this was the first in this cottage & we have both agreed it was the best. Perfect views, lovely cottage with everything we needed (except egg cups & a mirror in the double bedroom). We loved it and we'll definitely be booking for next January.
Andrew Orrell
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 08/02/2018
And awarded it
This is the second time we've stayed at the barn and once again it did not disappoint. We had a wonderful week, the barn was perfect once again. We had an extremely snowy week, but that didn't stop us getting out and exploring the area, it was always nice to get home in the evening and light the fire and snuggle up on the big comfy couches. Once again the complimentary bottle of Talisker went down very well. Thankyou Leachachan Barn, we'll certainly be back again in the future.
Ms D Barlow
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/02/2018
And awarded it
We have recently returned from a week's holiday at Plodda Falls Lodge. We had a fantastic week, the lodge is beautiful, and the surrounding scenery absolutely stunning. The view from the master bedroom is amazing. We had a lot of snow during our stay which we and our two dogs thoroughly enjoyed. There are plenty of walks from the lodge as well as the nearby area, Glen Affric and Glen Cannich are both stunning. A huge thank you to Jenny who looked after us so well, we loved her apple and almond cake which she had kindly made for us on our arrival. The lodge is a credit to Jenny, she had made it perfect and looks after it so well, we cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge enough. If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax amongst awesome scenery and great walking then this is the place to be. Thank you Jenny.
Kate Harrison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/02/2018
And awarded it
Apart from the stunning drive to Stoer, our first impression of Swallow Byre was how incredibly cosy, warm and welcoming it was on a snowy Winter's day. We had a lovely time, so peaceful and such a beautiful setting. I also loved cooking with the Rayburn and we enjoyed the wood burning stove so much. Jane was incredibly friendly and helpful, going beyond the call of duty to help us on New Year's Eve when I needed to call on the (excellent) Scottish Health Service. Thanks for a lovely stay!
Judith & Steve Ward
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 25/01/2018
And awarded it
We stayed here over Christmas and New Year and really enjoyed the quiet location with easy access to the coast. We had my disabled Father with us and the cottage was ideal for him to tootle around. This is a very cosy place and I think we have all missed the underfloor heating after returning home! Jane and Chas did a meet and greet and then left us to it. There is only a small fridge and I had taken far too much food to last the Festive Season, so ran out of space for storage. I would definitely recommend for a peaceful getaway.