Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternatively you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 5044 reviews from guests, of which 97% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Nicholas Harrington
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 26/02/2024
And awarded it
We stayed at Stablemans Lodge for a week in February which was excellent. This is the second time we've stayed and really enjoyed it. Perfect location and surroundings, with easy access to beautiful countryside. We shall definitely be returning again.
Sue D & Family
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 24/02/2024
And awarded it
This was our second visit to seascape cottage, we have had a wonderful week, beautiful weather for February too! Sarah is such an amazing host and the welcome pack was huge-very generous ! The bays and coves, the views from the floor to ceiling windows, the wildlife, the peace and tranquility of the area is second to none. The cottage was spotless on arrival. Sarah has thought of everything from dishwasher tablets and tin foil to fishing nets and balls for the dog etc. We loved seeing the deer in the field at breakfast and seals bobbing about in the bay-wish we could have stayed longer. We hope to be back soon! Thank you once again for a wonderful stay.
Gemma
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 19/02/2024
And awarded it
We had the most wonderful stay at Cedar Cottage, it's a real home from home. We had multiple daily visits from red squirrels and lots of birds, we were really happy to see that enough bird food was provided for our whole stay. The living room is really cosy in the evenings with the fire going, although not needed as the cottage is a lovely warm temperature anyway, but coal, logs and kindling all provided if you want a fire. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to do your own cooking, and it was a nice touch to provide teabags and milk for our arrival, as well as a bottle of wine and chocolates! It's in a great location, very quiet and with a lovely forest walk just through the garden gate. We wish we could've stayed for a lot longer. We will definitely return!
Helen Rollason
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 19/02/2024
And awarded it
Very comfortable cottage right on the shore of Loch Kishorn. Comfortable bed, and living room, well equiped kitchen. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge, looking through the living room window, watching the weather travel across the loch. There is a track down past the house to park the car on the side of the house, and space on the road above. Nearest shop is Loch Carron approx 7 miles away. Good communication with the owner. Beautiful walks and cycle rides, hardly any traffic around.
Brian Hulse
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 18/02/2024
And awarded it
Very clean, warm and comfortable cottage. In a lovely quiet setting with some nice local walks. All the essentials needed were provided. (It is definitely best to arrive in daylight. The weir when shallow water is flowing over is safe to cross but would be a bit unnerving if you arrived in the dark). We visited for a joint pearl anniversary and have loved our week at the old lock keepers cottage. Thank you
Sharon Kilday
Reviewed Charleston on 17/02/2024
And awarded it
If we could give 10 stars we would. What an amazing week we have had. The pooches loved the garden and never once bothered with the sheep. Views from every window are breathtaking , the cottage itself was so cozy warm and clean and the beds so comfortable. The showers are brilliant. Not one single complaint. That good we are booking for next year.
Martin
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 12/02/2024
And awarded it
Fantastic location, peaceful and relaxing with superb quiet beach literally on your doorstep. Cottage is spacious and well equipped. Decor could use a little attention but nothing that should worry anyone. The road in was fine in a Skoda Yeti 4x4. Not sure would attempt in anything with less ground clearance and in anything but ideal weather 4 wheel drive is required. Our holiday snaps https://youtu.be/U36v5tQcCVc?si=ZCN60CgodwFBhCH3 should give some idea of the location.
Jane Mitchell
Reviewed Coorie on 07/02/2024
And awarded it
Our second time staying at Coorie and it was as lovely as the first time. Being there in the winter, the excellent heating system and cosiness was just perfect. No bin liners provided and also no dishwasher tablets so remember to take your own if you're staying. The heated towel rail was broken so the tumble dryer came in handy. Overall a lovely, comfortable cottage in a beautiful spot.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feeback on Coorie. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have contacted the owner who apologised that there were no bin liners and dish washer tablets, as they are normally provided . They are aware that heated towel rail needs a new heating element which has been ordered and will be in full working order again shortly.
Jayne & Dave Hindle
Reviewed Seahorses on 06/02/2024
And awarded it
Seahorses is a stunning place within a jaw dropping location and scenery. The property was extremely comfortable and cosy and one of the best equipped places we have stayed. This includes very well equipped kitchen, loads of local guide books and maps, a huge DVD library, torches, binoculars, viewing and star gazing scopes etc. we were snowed in for nearly 5 days before the local snow plough could clear the road which was gorgeous just to sit and enjoy the scenery. Just make sure you have plenty of supplies and logs for the fire. The owner and housekeeper were really nice and helpful, and some of the locals were really nice and offered help in the snow if we needed it. We will definitely return sometime to do some local touring, which the Scottish winter stopped us doing this time.
Gilmour Dickson
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 06/02/2024
And awarded it
Stunning house in a beautiful and remote part of Skye. The local walking and the incredible shop at Glendale (5 mins away) meant that we could really unwind and not drive every day. The house is warm and well built and tasteful. The weather in Skye is of course 4 seasons in a day (in January), but that is part of the romance and appeal. My only comment (and it is just that and others have also remarked) is that for 4 adults who like to cook and enjoy food there could be a bit more kitchen equipment and cutlery and crockery. But overall a well deserved 5 star review. Faultless service as always by Wilderness Cottages who are always great.