Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3555 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Goldsbrough
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 15/06/2019
And awarded it
Lovely house with the most amazing views of Loch Ness. Set in a very private and peaceful setting, the house is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Beds were extremely comfortable. Lots to do in the area, can walk from the house into the woods behind or down to the lake and Drumnadrochit. Foyers and Plodders falls with their woodland walks were amazing. We spent an afternoon at Culloden Battlefield which is definitely worth visiting. We had coffee on the terrace most mornings (listening to a cuckoo) and lit the wood burner on an evening and watched the deer in the field in front (including a tiny young fawn). Just loved it and already planning to go back. The house felt like a home not a holiday let. Really special .
Patricia
Reviewed An Airidh on 13/06/2019
And awarded it
Excellent accommodation making our holiday on Skye a joy...
Rose, George, Harry & Rosie
Reviewed Askival on 13/06/2019
And awarded it
First time staying in this property but not the first time in portuairk and we had just the best time. Thank god for the log burner as we had rather a soggy week but that didn't stop us enjoying ourselves. We had other family staying in the area also so it was a perfect place for us all to get together. Really well equipped and spacious rooms so it didn't feel cramped with 11 people over for dinner! - We even had enough plates!! The views from the front are beautiful looking across towards the islands, and we even saw deer on the beach late one night, which we later found out is because they come to eat seaweed. Cannot wait to come back next year!
Shelly Fargo & Brett Dodgson
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 12/06/2019
And awarded it
This mountain-side cottage is truly one-of-a-kind, with no neighbors except the owners' lovely house just up a drive. The mountain views are exceptional, a mountain stream runs alongside the cottage-which is wonderful-well-supplied, modernized, very comfortable, great bathroom and walk-in shower-dual heads:)) Could not take enough photos and video while staying there for 1 week-just a stunning setting, cottage, grounds-rain or shine, it's worth every penny!
Patrick Griffin & Sue Rose
Reviewed Earth House on 12/06/2019
And awarded it
A very special house in a very special place.
Dave & Judy
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 11/06/2019
And awarded it
A warm and welcoming cottage in a wonderful location well off the beaten track. We had a lovely holiday, a real retreat! Highly recommended for peace and quiet. Wildlife and birdwatching from the cottage windows was amazing. Our thanks to Chas and Jane for their hospitality!
Bill Easter What Abeautiful
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/06/2019
And awarded it
What a beautiful setting for such a lovely house. The house was very well presented with everything you could ask for, even Wellington boots if needed. Nearby facilities are in easy walking distance and will satisfy most needs. Only problem was Nessie didn't say hello!
Julian & Caroline Furnell
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 10/06/2019
And awarded it
Still a great isolated spot to get away from it all whatever the weather. Go prepared with a few days worth of food and you really don't need to do anything other than walk out of the front door. Moll Road is now getting quite bad with potholes so take care driving down to the gate.
Ann & Murphy
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 10/06/2019
And awarded it
Another fabulous holiday at Plodda Lodge. The peace and quiet is wonderful and it has the comfiest bed which is needed after a day of walking in such a beautiful location. BIG Thank you to Jenny for taking myself and Murphy (dog) on our second Munro and this time I didn't moan or complain! Counting the days till my next holiday here.
Carol Morris
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 08/06/2019
And awarded it
This was our third stay at White-Tail Croft and I'm sure we'll visit again. The croft is conveniently placed for visiting all areas on Skye but its situation in a quiet valley means peace is guaranteed. The Croft has everything you could possibly need and the views are wonderful. Perfect!