Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3733 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


The Catts
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/10/2019
And awarded it
Seascape cottage was the perfect escape for us. Lovely cottage and so close to the sea. The weather was kind for most of our stay and we were able to walk everday. Thank you to Chas and Jane for everything.
Anne Wyllie
Reviewed Christies on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
Christie's was a delightful cottage. Very cosy and homely. The accommodation catered for our every need and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
Holger
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
We had a very enjoyable week at Eilean Mor Cottage and can definitively strongly recommend it. Most important Pros: + Booking, assistance, organization by wilderness cottages and locally (e.g. key) was exemplary + Location of cottage was very good + Facilities in the cottages: bedrooms, kitchen, living room and conservatory very good, all rooms are nicely furnished, everything there you need (especially the conservatory was much appreciated at rainy days) The only real Con: -The drain of the whole bathroom is very weak. We tried to be careful, but nevertheless quite often it just did not work properly. Especially in the shower the water was sometimes raising very quickly that you'd fear that it will run over before you can finish (luckly, it did not happen).

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Holger, thank you for your review and feedback. Please note, if you had you reported the problem with the drain during your stay, we could have had this looked at and rectified immediately, rather than reporting it after your stay.
F Gordon
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
Cedar Cottage is an amazing place, the cottage is in the middle of a forest, very secluded and very special. Loads of great walks, heaven for dogs. Forres is only 4 miles away (10mins) and it is also a great place with lots to do and see.
Caroline & Andy Sara
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
Absolutely fabulous, miss it already! The beach was perfect in ALL weathers and we only encountered the neighbouring cows once..on the beach! We kept the gates firmly closed hence never met them in the garden itself. Definitely recommend the walk from Killingtrane Lighthouse to Port Patrick, we also walked from the cottage up through the farm, over the road past the Labrador cottage sign, all the way past Lochnaw Castle and to Leswalt. Only downside? We are definitely used to a bigger bed and duvet haha.. Would definitely like to return and have recommended it to all our family and friends :-) P.S we arrived at midnight, in a storm, in a low slung car and still managed to negotiate the bumpy road so the advice to take a 4x4 is a very feasible one but it can be done in a 'normal' car..just be careful!
Bernd Graller
Reviewed Cala on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
Amazing architecture, extraordinary location, highest recommendation.
Terry Hanney
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
Spacious and homely cottage. Great views and very comfortable place to relax and watch the birds and the deer. Driveway from the road is a little demanding but doable if you take care. Property is well stocked with all the essentials you need. You actually don't need too leave the place if you just want to chill out and take in the Loch.
Julia Walters
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
Lovely cottage, cosy, warm and comfortable, in a wonderful setting. We were sad to leave and would definitely be happy to return one day.
Michelle (York)
Reviewed Jura on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
An amazing place to get away from it all! Gorgeous view and quiet, friendly location. We went with a supply of logs for the open fire which we enjoyed lighting each evening. The cottage is well equipped. There's no central heating but ample plug in heaters and easy to warm up. Two of us stayed here but there's plenty of room for 4-5 people. Being in a very remote hamlet on the west coast the cottage is a little dated. You need to remember to flick the water heater on half hour before having a shower. The shower isn't the most powerful but it does the job. Lots of appliances, microwave, freezer, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine etc. No shortage of cutlery, glasses, plates and basic things like bin bags, cling film, candles are all there. Jura Cottage was just like the photos. We had a disappointing week weather wise but everything we needed in the cottage. Lots of magazines and local information leaflets, board games, books etc. A lovely retreat from day to day life.
Raymondo.
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/10/2019
And awarded it
This property delivers what it promises, you just fall through the door and everything is simple to get along with. The views over to the Isles and Loch Gairloch are simply amazing. The town is well stocked too if you don't want to go too far and Tesco will even deliver your groceries.