Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3445 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Phil & Celia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 21/02/2019
And awarded it
The cottage lived up to our expectations. Jane and Chas gave us a warm welcome and then left us alone to settle in but were around if we needed anything. Although it was February we saw a hare and some deer on our first full day and Eider on Loch Ryan the next day. We visited the lighthouses at both ends of the Rhins, had a walking tour around Stranraer and a lunch in Portpatrick. There are some nice gardens a short drive from the cottage but most are closed in February. It was great having the sea view first thing every morning and there was no light pollution in the evenings so the stars were easy to see.
Lynsey
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 21/02/2019
And awarded it
We had a lovely week in Reyflat Barn: it was our second visit and we really enjoyed the opportunity to return. The Black Isle is a lovely place to visit - all the benefits of somewhere rural and coastal, but with Inverness nearby. The sitting room in this property is especially nice - very comfy with lovely rural views. The cottage is cosy and well-equipped and Pat gives a lovely warm welcome (complete with excellent homemade scones). Thanks for having us - we hope to come back again!
Alexander Bankier
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/02/2019
And awarded it
Absolutely jem of a retreat
Paul Crick
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/02/2019
And awarded it
Wow! What a wonderful cottage this is. Tucked well away of the beaten track, this beautiful cottage is exceptionally well equipped for a very comfortable break away from it all. With views across the Irish Sea to Northern Ireland, we were blessed with spectacular scenery, blissful walks and jaw-dropping sunsets from our vantage point in the lounge and on the shoreline which is two minutes walk from the front door. Chas and Jane are thoroughly charming and helpful hosts who made sure we could find everything we needed and find our way around the surrounding areas with lots of helpful suggestions for days out and places to go. Seascape Cottage was well equipped for our four-footed companions and it was clear that they were completely welcome. We couldn't recommend this cottage more highly for those wanting to disconnect from the busyness of the world for a little while. We will be back :)
Robert & Allina Cross
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/02/2019
And awarded it
Fantastic stay in an amazing cottage in the most perfect location for us. The location of the cottage exceeded our expectations, with fantastic views during the day and clear star studded night skies for the duration of our stay. We had daily visits from the deers and having arrived a snowy blizzard the snow remained with us until we left. The cottage itself is a joy, warm and cosy with everything you could need, a perfect bolthole. No internet or phone signal is a bonus, and even though the road/track is interesting in the snow it great fun and all part of the experience. We wouldn't have missed this break for the world - just perfect. This won't be our last visit.
Rosemary & Andrew
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 13/02/2019
And awarded it
Spacious, warm & cosy cottage set in woodland on the Dava Way so ideal for walking, cycling and running from the garden back door. Our birthday week was made memorable by arriving after dark in snow. Good facilities for self catering and good base for exploring historical sites such as Culloden battle site & Fort George and a tour of Brodie Castle; Black Isle & Cromarty, and coastal walks at Findhorn and Nairn.
Susan
Reviewed Fhaireag on 12/02/2019
And awarded it
A beautiful house set in a wonderful location, we couldn't fault anything about the place. It was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy and had everything there that we needed. Being able to watch the abundant wildlife all around the house was amazing and the views were stunning.
Jeanette
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 02/02/2019
And awarded it
We were very cosy and comfortable in Tigh-na-Craobh. I very much appreciated the the modern living, eating and cooking area and well equipped kitchen. No need too eat out when there is so much to be enjoyed in the cottage. A super cottage in a fabulous part of Skye with lots of great walking from the doorstep.
Samantha Gilliland
Reviewed Charleston on 30/01/2019
And awarded it
Absoloutely perfect 18 night break at charleston as always Situated in the most peaceful of settings with beautiful panoramic views of the Monadhliath Mountains and an abundance of wildlife including the rare red kite. The property is immaculately clean and spacious with extra touches such as a welcome basket filled with lovely treats and little tubs in all 3 bathrooms full of essentials to make your arrival all the more welcoming (and of course fluffy white towels) There are also dog treats for your four legged friends!!! They really have thought of everything including wifi for the younger ones and sky. I can not recommend Charleston enough and we will certainly be back as soon as possible . Thank you
Jenny Youl
Reviewed Sealight on 29/01/2019
And awarded it
Exceptional property, absolutely top drawer. The view across the loch was beautiful, the weather changing the colours frequently. The underfloor heating kept the house incredibly warm & cosy. And there was the fire to enjoy too. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen was provided. It was a real wrench to leave.