Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3140 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


David & Mary Wilders
Reviewed Pier Head on 17/06/2018
And awarded it
We were so lucky to find Sheildaig, the perfect Scottish lochside village and of course to have Pier Head recommended by Wilderness Cottages - the ideal house with all comforts in a perfect situation. This accommodated our family of three adults and two children. Being close to the shop/pub and an excellent cafe was very convenient.
Annmarie
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 17/06/2018
And awarded it
Stable cottage is a beautiful accommodation in the most stunning setting. We stayed in May, and the woods were filled with blue bells, and so much wildlife, roe deer, red squirrels, woodpeckers, jays, owls to name a few. Our children had a great time riding bikes and fishing, although we struggled to catch anything. The only down side was the renovation works which, while they didn't interfere with our holiday as such, it did prevent the children playing in the courtyard as trucks came in and out during the day from about 8am. Having said that we would happily return again
Fran & Neil
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 16/06/2018
And awarded it
Cath & Chris were very welcoming, very accommodating and helpful. If you want peace and quiet and want to be away from it all then this is perfect. We travelled by motorbike and had no trouble finding the lodge and the views on the way are lovely. The lodge is of a very high standard and very well equipped in all rooms and the hot tub is a lovely luxury. Bath robes are provided for inside the lodge and for the hot tub which was very nice and most welcomed. This is an Island so roads and amenities are not like the mainland, we picked up groceries at Broadford Co-op on our way which had a good selection of food, the one in Poretree is slightly smaller but still has most items you need. The post office in Glendale, 10mins away (by car) from the lodge has essentials should you need them, we enjoyed the walk there but it is a good 2-3 hours there and back. Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and will definitely visit the island again.
Michaela & Jorg Lehmann
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 14/06/2018
And awarded it
A very cosy cottage, very tidy, and the heart of it is the AGA! Fine location, good views, a very friendly host Jane, who baked scones for us when leaving.
A D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/06/2018
And awarded it
Our second of hopefully many more stays in Upper Folds. It is a beautiful place which provides the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Thank you to the owners for their vision in creating the cottage.
Andrew & Louise
Reviewed Jura on 13/06/2018
And awarded it
Spent two fabulous weeks in this most idyllic spot. Sunshine everyday. Never get fed up of the view from the sunroom...definitely a place to escape from the madness of life.
Lorrain & Arthur Fenning & Gizmo The Dog
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 13/06/2018
And awarded it
Lovely cottage great to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the glen. The cottage has everthing you need and spacious bedrooms lovely and cosy for a great nights sleep, ready for the day of exploring the island. There is lots to see and do, plenty of sheep and chickens roaming round the garden which is great for the dog.
Wendy & Stewart Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 13/06/2018
And awarded it
Our 15th visit to Poulary Cottage, The first time we have stayed during the May Bank Holiday and we were not disappointed! The weather was HOT! (mid 20's) a little snow remained on the mountain tops even with the hot weather and no rain all week. Very few midges. Its lovely to be able to visit the cottage in different seasons the landscape surrounding the cottage is always breathtaking and we never tire of the ever changing views from the dining room window or watching the wildlife. We were lucky to be able to film the Pine marten in daylight, a delight as always to watch. We love this place for its central location, with so many places to visit whether it be historical sites, beaches, Munros to bag or just ambling through a forest or alongside a loch or river. Or even just spending time relaxing at the wonderful cosy well equipped cottage. We will be back in the summer, the perfect place to holiday in the Highlands. Stunning views, the wildlife, peace and tranquility, Love it!
Caroline Pennington
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/06/2018
And awarded it
We had the best holiday we have ever had with Wilderness Cottages. The property was perfect in every way. The process of booking with Wilderness cottages was easy and clear and their description was honest and could not have been better. Quite simply it was all made for a perfect holiday experience. So so very impressed. The property was just everything we could have dreamed of and we had a holiday we will remember fondly forever...
A.Vickery
Reviewed Balmachree on 12/06/2018
And awarded it
We were a group of 7 walkers so the location was ideal for heading in any direction and within an hour's drive of lots of hills. Balmachree is a lovely, comfortable, well equipped house - plenty space for everyone and in a very peaceful spot. Some plumbing noise in the upstairs toilet is a minor maintenance issue but in no way spoiled our stay. We would all have been happy to have Balmachree as our home!