Search


Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2614 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Niels Leadholm
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it
Absolutely fantastic place, Jeff and Jacqui made us feel extremely welcome, and the beauty of both the cottage and the surrounding area is hard to put into words.
Dr Tanja & Dr Chris
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it
An absolutely stunning property in a fantastic location. The cottage itself has been renovated to an exceptional standard and was luxurious to say the least. We were lucky to be only the second set of guests to Arrivain cottage. We were very comfortable during our stay and the cottage had room-specific heating and under-floor heating. The log burner in the lounge added to the ambience and felt very cosy. The kitchen was very well kitted out and Jacqui and Jeff were more than happy to supplement it with any minor addition we asked for. Jeff was on hand to provide more wood for the fire any time we asked and was also a treasure trove of knowledge about the local area, which was fantastic. We had rental bikes delivered to the cottage, which we could store securely in the "wee" shed, which was great. Having a washing machine and tumble dryer was also a nice addition after going out walking and cycling in the local area. We also enjoyed some drives though the spectacular scenery of Glen Orchy, Glen Etive and Glen Coe, all well within an hour of the cottage. All in all, it was a fantastic trip away and felt like a home from home. We very much intend to return. Jacqui and Jeff are passionate about the cottage and were keen to make our stay the best experience they could.
Alex.R.King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 18/03/2017
And awarded it
Our stay at the Old Lock Keepers Cottage was wonderful, it's such a lovely peaceful setting. A place you visit, and wish you didn't have to leave. We'll definitely be adding it to our places to revisit, there's still more to see and experience.
Harry H
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 15/03/2017
And awarded it
Stayed in November, with family and two dogs. It was such a lovely break, I can't stop thinking about it. The snow came down on the third day and the skies remained clear for the rest of the stay. Wonderful long, wild walks in all directions. The house is comfortable, as you would expect of a Victorian lodge, and perfect for dogs. I shall return soon.
Maggie & Mike Adkins
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 09/03/2017
And awarded it
We had a lovely relaxing stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. So clean and fresh. Very well equipped. Lovely quiet area to sit in the garden and take in the surrounding countryside. We barely left the Black Isle and the lovely villages nearby were a treat to visit especially Rosemarkie beach. Great for walks with the dog. A treat also to see 7 actual red kite birds of prey just along from the cottage. Thank you to Margaret & Paul.
Lisa & Family
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/03/2017
And awarded it
The cottage is perfectly situated 2 miles down a quiet road. It's remote and wonderfully quiet but there are also a few other homes near enough if you need anything. Equally, you're not too far from Roybridge and Spean Bridge if you want a meal. Entering the cottage, the cottage exceeded our expectations.... everything was thought of and provided.... from the substantial supply of wood for the log burner to the coffee maker to the dishwasher tablets, to the supply of towels and extra bedding. The cottage is well furnished, clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. And the log burner was heavenly each night. It really felt like a home away from home. The owners were easily accessible and very helpful. There's several low-level walks around the area, which were great for our 9 year old and the Jacobite Steam Engine and the famous viaduct from Harry Potter is nearby. We've got our eye on a return trip in warmer weather for some of the Munro's and the obligatory Steam Engine! Can't recommend the cottage enough!
Phillip Ingle
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 07/03/2017
And awarded it
We had a fantastic time staying at Cluny Croft. The cottage was absolutely perfect. It had everything we needed. It was lovely and warm when we arrived and had excellent central heating as well as a well stocked wood pile and coal bin. The place was was spotlessly clean when we arrived, we hope we left it as clean. We will definitely be back.
Jan, Tony, Iain & Bertie
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 04/03/2017
And awarded it
We had a fantastic week in February 2017. We avoided the warmer months as we have previous experience of the Scottish midges which seem to love us far more than we love them, but we also wanted to capture crisp, clear winter scenery. We had wondered whether we might be met with snowy winter scenes, but the weather did not oblige. However, the hard, biting frost, the morning mists and the many picturesque icicles more than compensated and there was a covering of snow on the top of the hills. In fact, having Bertie the cocker spaniel, it was a blessing that the weather was cold and frosty, the ground hard and no mud. It made it so much easier to keep the wilderness outside and the cottage its impeccable best We had often passed by travelling further north but had never explored Glens Affric, Urquhart and Cannich. We were not disappointed! It was a truly unique location with lots to explore and photograph, particularly the plentiful deer in Glen Cannich and the early morning visitors to the bird-table! Plodda Falls was amazing, and just a stroll away. The cottage was extremely well-equipped, comfortable and tastefully furnished. There was plentiful literature on the Estate and local history, and had the weather been foul we could quite happily have entertained ourselves in front of the very relaxing wood burner. Relaxing by the fire after a day in the Glens was wonderfully soporific. Given the outside temperatures it was not surprising that we got through quite a bit of wood, but as we are townies, unaccustomed to the rural rigors of wilderness Scotland, that's not surprising. Our only disappointment was that the biomass heating wasn't operational as this would have reached the parts the electric panel heaters didn't! There are so many positives: the magnificently comfortable beds, the care and attention to detail that has gone into renovation and refurbishment, Jenny's warm welcome and wealth of local knowledge and information, not to mention the lemon drizzle cake, fantastic location, stunning scenery and a beautiful cottage.
Steve Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 04/03/2017
And awarded it
A dream of a house in a perfect location. We had a wonderful relaxing stay that even Storm Doris couldn't spoil. The property is in the perfect location and is the best equipped we have ever stayed in. We managed to get on the hills and had some wonderful trips further afield. The wildlife is amazing and the nightly visits from the Pine Martens made our holiday. We will definitely be back.
Kay & Adrian Starkey & Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 02/03/2017
And awarded it
We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in August 2016 for a week. Well where shall I start. What an amazing holiday we had, we had the most relaxing week we've ever had. One of the best bits about not having internet or a phone signal for this holiday is that you truly don't miss it and we enjoyed spending real quality family time together, playing games, talking and going for walks with our dog Tia. We had the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. So please don't let the loss of Internet and phone signal put you off staying at this wonderful place with beautiful gardens too. The lodge is beautiful and there's everything you could possibly need. We loved to sit in the sun room in the day and watch the weather change and the wildlife flying around. Abundant with birds, the best was the woodpeckers, something I've never seen before. On a night we loved the open fire very cosy, and if you go outside on a clear night to look at the stars, because of the remoteness of the cottage there's no light pollution and we've never seen so many stars. The location that the lodge is in is lovely for walking from your doorstep, plodda falls is a must and Glen Affric is about 15 mins away by car. Guischan Lodge is set in a Estate with the old house ruins just a short walk away, Jenny the owner told us all about the history of the Estate which was fascinating. Jenny was very friendly and we loved meeting her. There's probably so much more I could write. We loved it that much we've booked for this year. Thank you for a wonderful time.