Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternatively you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 4030 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


EL Family
Reviewed The Barn, Corrimony on 18/06/2021
And awarded it
The Barn is a lovely holiday home, very spacious, comfortable and well equipped, with a good garden as well. We had a great week in early May, walking and cycling from the house. Lots to see and do further out as well. Mamie, the owner, is nearby if needed. Would love to return, highly recommend.
ScottW
Reviewed Sixgeary on 18/06/2021
And awarded it
First point: this is a secluded spot, so it's a reasonable drive to get to the main A-roads, but that shouldn't be an issue if you're heading to stay on Skye. View: We had great weather for several days (June) and the front windows look directly out to the bay across from Uig, this scenery is absolutely stunning! Even on the cooler days, the view is pleasant and peaceful. The cottage: We have stayed at Skye before, but Sixgeary is the best, the underfloor heating performed it's job independently and flawlessly, but on the one rainy day we used the log burner in the front room, which was cosy. Amenities : There is off-road driveway parking for 2 cars if required, a bath with toilet and sink downstairs and a shower with toilet and sink upstairs. There's a double room and a twin room upstairs which is bright, airy and modern. The kitchen is great as it has a top spec. oven/grill/microwave/hob and a great range of utensils. Dunvegan Castle and Coral beach are both within easy reach and Portree is 20 Miles away (half an hours steady drive). The Geary road is a nice walk and if you're lucky you might see wild deer on the moorland at the end like we did.
Sue & Ste
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 18/06/2021
And awarded it
From the minute we saw the house we knew we were going to have an amazing stay! It felt comfortable immediately, very clean and everything we needed was available. We sat every evening absorbing the stunning view of Loch Ness from the house and felt so relaxed. We went on the Nessie Hunter to search for Ness and visted the Culloden battlefield. Had a meal and drinks in the Loch Ness Inn. Everyone was just so friendly. The hill is steep up to Marnies Croft which was challenging by foot (we took it slowly by car) but so worth it. Many thanks to the owners for letting us stay, it was a much needed tonic.
Steve & Erica
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 18/06/2021
And awarded it
Lovely cottage and Jane the owner is a wonderful host. Can't fault any aspect. Also, the team at Wilderness Cottages have been great under extremely difficult conditions due to Covid 19. Many thanks
Merryweather
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 17/06/2021
And awarded it
Cottage was well appointed. It was comfortable, clean and warm. The location was excellent, within wooded grounds and close to the beach. We enjoyed walking sections of the Southern Upland Way and Mull of Galloway trail, as well as visiting local gardens, including Logan and Glenwhan. There were 4 people in our party and all had a great holiday. We couldn't fault the cottage and would recommend it as a place to stay to anyone visiting Stranraer.
Tony & Carol Hart
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 17/06/2021
And awarded it
Had a great week. Cottage is located in a beautiful spot, not been back for 16 years but still as relaxing as we remember. Cottage contains EVERYTHING you need. Great rural walks on the doorstep for Milo our dog.
Mark Addison
Reviewed Number 16 on 17/06/2021
And awarded it
Fantastic cottage in an amazing location
Nick Cox
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 17/06/2021
And awarded it
Wonderful cottage, everything is provided. Lovely to sit in the conservatory in good or bad weather. Views excellent over Loch Dunvegan. We counted seals and tents on coral beach . Couldn't wish for a better place for a stay .
Louise & Andrew
Reviewed Earth House on 17/06/2021
And awarded it
Our second stay at Earth House and just as amazing as our first stay. Everything was perfect apart from the weather but can't do much about that.. We will be back!!
Chris Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 17/06/2021
And awarded it
Another fabulous stay at Charleston. We arrive to a very clean and welcoming house that has everything you need. It's situation is superb with 360 deg views and there is always something to look at or a sunrise/ sunset to admire. Our favourite place in The Highlands and it was so good to get back there after last years cancellation due to the Pandemic. We will no doubt be returning soon. Thank you Iain and Elaine.