Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews

Latest reviews

You'll find the most recent reviews left by our guests below, they change often. They'll give you a flavour of what you can expect if you choose to stay at one of our holiday cottages. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it.

More reviews are available on each of our property pages so we encourage you to browse around and find your perfect Scottish holiday destination. Alternativly you may read all our reviews here.

About our reviews

In total we have received 3482 reviews from guests, of which 98% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

A good way to judge whether a property will be suitable for your self catering holiday is to see what previous guests had to say about their visit. They often provide a deeper insight into features and locations, often highlighting things that we are not aware of. We believe this can only be of benefit to our future visitors.


Holly Wright
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/04/2019
And awarded it
Pipers Lodge is just fabulous! The photos don't do it justice - especially the lovely view, which changed constantly with the light and weather. The lodge is beautifully decorated - huge comfy bed, excellent shower, very well equipped kitchen and the hot tub was wonderful. Cath and Chris were brilliant hosts - very friendly but unobtrusive. The location is on the furthest tip of the island but as long as you don't mind a couple of longer days driving (around 1 hour to get to the Old Man of Storr or the Cuillins) the remoteness makes it well worth it. Also there's a lot of other great stuff to see nearby, e.g. Neist Point Lighthouse, Three Chimneys restaurant (book well in advance!), Dunvegan Castle, Coral beach etc. And we really recommend the walk from Orbost to Macleods Maidens (10 mile return trip). We brought most supplies with us but the larger Coop at Portree was excellent and the shops in Glendale and Dunvegan had most things anyway. Thank you for a BRILLIANT week Cath and Chris!
Graeme
Reviewed Heatherbank on 17/04/2019
And awarded it
Heatherbank is a wonderful location to explore Sutherland from, and if the weather turns bad also a delightful location to sit out the storm. The lounge area is comfortable and well equipped, and the log burner with endless supply of wood makes the coldest of nights feel warm. The kitchen is well well equipped and ideal for cooking the amazing local produce after a visit to the butcher and fish van in Lochinver. With very comfortable bedrooms, a great selection of books, the really cool games table, and huge amounts of outdoor space it really has a bit of everything. We will definitely be back again.
Fox Family
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 16/04/2019
And awarded it
We had a fantastic week at Plodda Falls Lodge. Our host Jenny had thought of every little detail to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We were welcomed with a delicious cake and cosy fire. The lodge is set in a beautiful, peaceful location where only the sound of birds and a river can be heard. It is truly a specatular place to relax and unwind. Our two boys had fun cycling to the local village cafe whilst our dog thought he had arrived in heaven with all the amazing walks straight from the front door of the lodge. We often walked to Plodda Falls in the evening without seeing anyone else which felt very special.The kitchen was well equipped to cook for a family of four and convieniently has a dishwasher, freezer and washing machine. The beds were super comfortable and the shower always had hot water available. Thank you Jenny for a fantastic week - we will be back.
Michael C Bryson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/04/2019
And awarded it
We had a really lovely time at Torvaig cottage. It's in a marvellous position, with outstanding views just yards away. It was a little cold when we first arrived but soon warmed up. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Extra supplies of coal and fresh cut peat were offered but we didn't need it, due to very good weather. The house was very clean, no frills, but had everything you need for a family holiday, and just 15 mins walk away from Portree.
David & Corinne
Reviewed Ardbeg on 15/04/2019
And awarded it
Just back from a wonderful week at Ardbeg Cottage. The minute you walk in and see the stunning views and appreciate the quality of the finishing in the cottage, you can be sure you are going to have a fabulous holiday. The location is perfect and it is an easy walk down to the local shops, the harbour and to lovely spots for a coffee or a meal. The deck however makes this cottage even extra special and we were blessed with faboulous weather and managed to enjoy meals out on the deck - even in April! This is the first holiday cottage that we would definitely return to - the owners have really created a wonderful holiday home.
Marshall
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 15/04/2019
And awarded it
A beautiful cottage in a nice remote location. Beautifully warm thanks to the Rayburn, and well equipped including a very large bed. A warm welcome, including scones, from the charming landlady who lives nearby. Highly recommended for a couple.
M. Holden
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it
We had an amazing week at Moll Cottage, we saw the first seal within 30 minutes of our arrival. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need. The road down to the cottage is pretty bumpy with potholes but take it slowly and it is fine. If you want a secluded getaway this is the perfect place.
Nick Rimmer
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it
Wonderful cottage and location, it was great having a small shop and cafe nearby as well. Only a 5 minute walk! The cottage is not far from Neist Point (my favourite place in Skye). The cottage is immaculate and we had everything we needed, WiFi, Freesat TV, good range of kitchen utensils etc. for cooking. Would definitely book this cottage again.
Bob Crabb
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 15/04/2019
And awarded it
Eilean Mor is a great cottage. Very suitable for a family of four. Enclosed garden meant the children could roam freely. Fantastic view. Clean and tidy when we arrived. Thank you.
David Turner
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 14/04/2019
And awarded it
Superb stay at this cottage. Very well equipped, fantastic location. Would not hesitate to recommend this. I mean it, this place is wonderful - I could go on about the dark skies, the wildlife, the garden, the remote but accessible location, the walks you can go almost from the doorstep. Loved it!