Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1051 to 1100 of 2798


Paul & Sandra Wright
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Simply the best cottage we have ever holidayed. There wasn't a single detail overlooked. In fact I think my kitchen at home is less well equipped. The cottage was in a beautiful location and so peaceful. A short 10 minute walk - downhill- into Fort Augustus. Owners on hand, very helpful but not intrusive. It was perfect for our needs. I am sure we will be back in the future

David Farquhar
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is a new build and as expected is extremely well appointed and very, very comfortable.It is warm and well equipped. We found it a very good base to explore the Rhins of Galloway and visit the many beautiful gardens and, not to be missed, the Mull of Galloway. I would recommend a trip to Portpatrick which has good restaurants especially the Fernhill Hotel. We were fortunate to have lovely weather. Chas and Jane, the owners, couldn't be more helpful.

Andrew Wright
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Lovely purpose built holiday accommodation in a perfect location. Very spacious and well equipped. Would recommend The Boathouse and The Bothy for eating out. The swimming pool, games room and outdoor sports facilities keep the kids entertained and there are plenty of pet-friendly local walks. Can't recommend it highly enough - didn't want to leave despite the torrential rain in between the showers.

Teresa Nancarrow
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 28/08/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

A lovely house with everything we needed. The setting was beautiful, very close to Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canel. The Boathouse restaurant in the grounds served lovely food and had wonderful views over the loch. The abbey is a beautiful building. The swimming pool was very nice and clean. There is plenty to do in the area. We had a fantastic family holiday and would recommend this property

Mark Weaver
Reviewed Whitestone on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

Whitestone

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Mrs Lynda Jones
Reviewed The Orchids on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

The Orchids

Panoramic views, very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, met the landlady Linda very lovely lady and helpful, one bad point because the wind was blowing across the house from left to right there was an odour from the septic tank. Would love to stay there again much to explore on the Island. No information about "bin" day.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Jones, thank you for your review, unfortunately the gardener had accidently damaged the top of the septic tank and there was a small crack in it, and the owner had not been made aware of this. This has now been replaced so this problem is now fixed.
Sue Wells
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Charming wooden chalet compact but well equipped. Private and lots of visiting birds in the garden plus a pine martin! Dramatic ever changing vistas across the Loch to the hills behind. Good walks. A real retreat for recharging batteries. Our dog also thought it pretty good too!

Michael Beckmann
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a fabulous week in Ceol na Mara. The perfect base to get away from all the hassle which is exactly what we needed and explore the beautiful surrounding area. The views from the living room window on to he Loch Kishorn are absolutely stunning. The bungalow itself is well equipped.

Pete Nicholson
Reviewed Jura on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Jura

Wonderfully isolated and relaxing location A view to die for Comfortable and cosy cottage Loved it

Jim Duncan
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage is very well furnished and decorated and very comfortable - the aga is great. We had a very pleasant stay. Given its location (which is very remote - it's a long way to anywhere! - over 10 miles to buy a pack of loo rolls!) but without sea views I think it is not great value for money and we probably wouldn't go again. On this occasion we booked late and it was one of the few available - so we were grateful for it. That said - we still very much enjoyed our week there.

Martin Brett
Reviewed The Bothy on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Had an excellent week. The surroundings are great and the Bothy lovely. The weather was dire but managed to walk in the forest behind the property most days between the rain. Be prepared for midges, they don't seem to bother me but went for the others in our party! The Dog (Newfoundland) loved Jasper and Whisper (resident dogs) as well as the walks in the forest.

Jane Tytheridge
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Lovely cottage. Extremely well equipped. Spacious and lovely and clean.

Steve Bibby
Reviewed Mealishal on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Mealishal

Ian Speirs
Reviewed Upper Folds on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a wonderful cottage. 5 star accommodation in a fabulous location. Could not have asked for a nicer place, the wildlife was in abundance and we stepped out onto the hills. Will be back.

Ian Widdowson
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We picked this because of the flexibility of the rental dates. The pictures on the website do not do it true justice. The accomodation was superb. The staff we met really made us welcome and the whole complex did not want for anything.

Gil & Andy Carter
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/08/2014
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a fortnight in the pine lodge.It was comfortable, very well equipped, peaceful and lovely views. Fantastic scenery and walks.

Sandy Topp
Reviewed Upper Folds on 19/08/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a wonderful week in July and were blessed with good weather. Upper Folds exceeded our expectations and we and our dogs were extremely comfortable there. We saw deer daily, near and far, as well as every other bird or animal we had hoped to see. The hares were brilliant! The sheer beauty of the location and the amazing changing light and sunsets are memories that will stay with us for a very long time. We will return!

Lucinda Anderton
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 18/08/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Lovely, cosy and clean cottage with great views from all rooms! Had some lovely local walks, visited Skye (and the Talisker distillery), Applecross and much more. The availability of the internet was a bonus...and my husband loved the 'gadgety stuff'. Saw lots of wildlife in the local area...red deer galore, and otter by Eilean Donan and a pine marten! Amazing!

Lucinda Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 18/08/2014
And awarded it

Christies

Just had a fantastic week here! Cottage is cosy and has everything you could need. Stunning location, your eyes are constantly drawn to the ever changing view. Friendly, helpful neighbour and dog...Tizzy :) Plenty to do within the local area, the trip to Handa Island was a real highlight! Already booked for next year!

George Dobie
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

M Black
Reviewed The Orchids on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

The Orchids

Beautiful house! It's even better than the photos - exceptionally high standard, well equipped and clean. Rooms of quality hotel standard. The views are stunning! We were blessed with great weather but we think that this house would be amazing even on grey, wet days (bright, warm, lots of books/games/DVDs). Kids loved the burn running through the front garden. Amazing property - well thought out - plus vestibule for coats/shoes wellies and utility for washing/drying. Booking service v efficient.

J Gowran
Reviewed Charleston on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

Charleston

The photographic images just don't do the property justice. We stayed 19/7/ 2014 - 26/7/2014. It's very spacious 5 adults a very active teenager and Sky & Harris (lively Springer spaniels). The property is very spacious, everyone could find a quiet space. The enclosed gardens meant the dogs were able to get out and about as if at home. The views across the loch are magnificent. The outdoor furniture was well used - only thing missing Parasol - for shade as the site is very exposed

Sue Davis
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

our third visit with Wendy Stewart and(max the dog)to this lovely remote cottage, love how the kitchen diner has been done since we last came, we had lots of walks through the forest and along the single track road both ways, so much wildlife to see here, even got a photo this time of the pine martin on his evening visit outside the patio door. A great location if you just want to chill and get away from it all.

Martin Coburn
Reviewed Aros Beag on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

Aros Beag

I booked this cottage for my wife's 40th birthday and boy did it delliver; a wonderful little cottage in a fantastic location. On arrival Diane was very helpful and explained everythng. The music system with the wi fi was very handy - we listened to music on the tablet as well as the radio. Had a lovely time overall and we even managed to visit Loch Ness and climb Ben Nevis. I would happily recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking to stay in Scotland.

Michelle Anslow
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/08/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We loved Stablemans Lodge. Six of us stayed for a week in August and had the most amazing time. The delightful lodge only added to our experience. Perfectly positioned between the town and countryside, the lodge was homely and was equipped with everything we needed. The owners live next door and were very nice and never intrusive. It comfortably housed 6 of us. We made use of the beautiful wood burner in the evenings. Would recommend this Lodge as an ideal base for exploring the Highlands.

Di Bulter
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/08/2014
And awarded it

An Airidh

This cottage is well situated and nicely appointed with just about everything one could wish for. One can see that a great deal of thought has gone into making this a great place to stay. The rooms are all very comfortable and the views are lovely. The welcome basket was very thoughtful and much appreciated. The only very minor points are rather tepid hot water in the shower (the wet room can be mopped down with the mop provided!) and no tongs in the kitchen for cooking!

Peter Hird & Beth Gwynne
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/08/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Viv Wight
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 14/08/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An excellent property, seemed small from the outside but lots of space inside and an excellent garden for all kinds of games. Very clean, bright and lots of lovely little extras which made the holiday very special.

Mattsimpson
Reviewed Don Cottage on 11/08/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

An excellent location with fantastic views. The cottage is very comfortable with nice furnishings, perfect for exploring Loch Ness.

Craig Civil
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 10/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Location, location, location. Taigh Druim is in a fabulous location. Get the good weather and the views to the Cuillins are the best. Get the bad weather and you can be cosy inside and look out of one of three great views which, when we were there, each had different weather going on. Elgol is a lovely place to be.

Ute Viell
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/08/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We spent two weeks in this lovely and cosy cottage with our friends and three children. Everything was very fine and clean, we found everything we needed. Especially we loved the excellent equipped kitchen and the log fire, which we lit nearly every evening. And of course the sun room, which invites to sit and look over the canal. We enjoyed the silence in this remote property. Upstairs it is a little bit narrow, but if you are under 1,80 m it is okay. We will come back for sure!

Anne Turton
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 07/08/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A delightful cottage with everything you could possibly need. Excellent location, perfect for exploring the Trotternish peninsular - the Quiraing is a must. We highly recommend Tigh Nighean Barn.

Pippa McKean
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 06/08/2014
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

We were actually upgraded from woodpecker pad to nearby Cathies Cottage, presumably because previous guest wanted to extend their stay in woodpecker pad- and I can understand why. It is a truly stunning location. It was nice to have somewhere really live up to the claim of being dog friendly. Ther is and extensive network of beautiful walks within the grounds . Cottage itself was large, tasteful and comfortable. We all had plenty of space to enjoy indoors and out.

Paul Kirkwood
Reviewed Christies on 05/08/2014
And awarded it

Christies

The location is brilliant. You are no more than an hour from Durness (for Cape Wrath), Ullapool and the starts of walks up Suilven and Stac Pollaidh and to Sandwood Bay. The cottage is very peaceful, cosy and well appointed with a stunning view over the bay and village from the garden. Just a desperate pity there's no seat from which to sit and enjoy it! Odd that there was no visitors' book either. Soft, comfortable beds and friendly neighbour.

Martyn West
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 03/08/2014
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Arrive via a little used coastal road to a great cottage in a great location, just a few steps from the sea. Very well equipped with everything you'd need. The weather on Skye was outstanding which certainly helped but, good weather or bad, this is a lovely place. We saw lots of wildlife from the cottage - Red Deer, Buzzards, Otters, Seals etc. The only small downside was the settee - not very comfortable. Overall though, a great place

Brigitte Müller
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 03/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

The 5 of us spent 2 beautiful weeks in a house with stunning view on the sea and the small islands just off the coast. The house itself very comfortable and well equipped with room and space for good an bad weather - in July 2014 just 2 or 3 days of fog, rain and wind to make the difference to the days of mediterranean climate! Marvellous hikes in the surroudings possible or just relax on the terrace, reading a good book and letting your eye wander over the water or a boat leaving or coming in.

Taylor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 02/08/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Good well equipped clean cottage in a good central area. Lovely view from front but whole cottage was rather dark - would benefit greatly from shrub clearing/tree lopping!

Regina & Andreas Cama
Reviewed Kenaclacher Steading on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Kenaclacher Steading

Julia Ranger
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Katies cottage is fantastic, beautifully decorated throughout,very clean, tidy and everything you could need and may have forgotten supplied ie tin foil, cooking oil, very thoughtfull. Plenty of wonderfull places to visit in the area, stunning views, great local shop(alladins cave) an abundance of tea and craft shops...we loved it, would happily return.

Stephanie
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A fantastic cottage with amazing sea views. Spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with all home comforts, great for kids and dogs with a small beach 2 mins walk away. We saw lots of local wildlife including a group of seals just off the beach! Lovely owners who took great care of us; they were very helpful with great knowledge of the area. Loads of interesting places to visit locally, all within a short drive. A lovely place for a very relaxing holiday - we would highly recommend it.

Yvonne Wattam
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 01/08/2014
And awarded it
K.McGowan
Reviewed Aros nan Aisling on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Aros nan Aisling

We had a lovely week here.....The house was very well furnished and comfortable with beautiful views out to sea. Lots of scenic walks near the house down to the coastline and up to Stoer Lighthouse. There was lots to do for all ages including sea kayaking, visiting Handa Island to see the Puffins, enjoying some excellent seafood in local restaurants and just exploring the stunning coastline extending up to Durness, with all the islands, inlets and lochs.

Marcel & Family From Switzerland
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautiful house, great and quiet location. It was a perfect start into our holidays to get away from everydays stress. Well the nice weather we enjoyed during the whole week was probably helping out a bit here. Who said it always rains in Scotland?

Craig & Mel
Reviewed The Bothy on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just returned home from a week in this delightful cottage and have to say we had a wonderful time, it is set in beautiful gardens (which the dog loved). The kitchen has every utensil you could think of, the beds are large and so so comfortable, such a peaceful and relaxing week a great place to stay

David Rout
Reviewed Moll House on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Moll House

You could not wish for a better location although the single lane approach road is a good introduction to driving in some of the more remote parts of the island. The approach from the Portree direction is shorter. The house was immaculate when we arrived and was well equipped. The five of us (all adults) had plenty of space to enjoy. The wildlife seen from the kitchen window was amazing and as the house is right on the shore of the loch it included seals, otters and a large variety of bird life.

Stuart Dalgarno.
Reviewed Sealight on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Sealight

We stayed mid July. The property has been newly built and is simply stunning. A fantastic house,fittings and furnishings with a fantastic view. Off the beaten track it is a quiet and stress free location. Lots of wildlife to see including a pine martin that came to visit on the decking.Highly recommended.

C Burrows
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Excellent week in a well equipped and clean cottage. The location is perfect with a two minute stroll into Fort Augustus for all amenities. Milk and bottle of wine a very welcoming touch.

Jennifer Hudson
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

we have just returned from a week in woodside lodge, the cottage was like home from home, cosy with everything you could possibly need. the views are stunning, and the surroundings awesome. theres so much to do in this beautiful location! we didnt get to meet the owners as we were so busy but they were just on the end of the phone. only thing i would say is can you make the entrance sign bigger as we missed it completely!

Stephanie McElroy
Reviewed An Slinnean on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Alex
Reviewed Moat House 7 - Abbey on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 7 - Abbey

Excelent appartment, excelent location, excelent facilities. In minutes you fill like at home and you are sad when leaving ... simply enjoy the days :)