Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1351 to 1400 of 2966


Hugh
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is, without doubt, the best dog-friendly holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. We first visited in October 2013, returned in January and have rebooked already for May and October this year. Location, equipment, comfort - all are excellent. Only one thing lets it down for me personally - the beds, particularly the single beds. If the beds were changed/updated, Fhaireag would be perfection itself.

CJ & Debbie Warren
Reviewed The Granary on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Second stay at The Granary. March weather was a bit cool, but this cottage is warm and comfortable. With a long journey from California, the blackout shades in the bedrooms were most conducive to getting some good sleep. Everything you need is here for a quiet, restful stay.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

If you want secluded luxury with beautiful scenery off the beaten track, then Upper Folds is for you. With underfloor heating, wood burning fire and walks straight from the front door, what more could you wish for. Do not book this cottage if you are looking for local shops, pubs and other human company, the only neighbours you will have are sheep , deer, hares, and numerous birds......Fantastic.

Julia Bateman
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Wonderful. Amazing luxury yet maintained a rustic romantic charm. Highly recommend. Attention to detail and quality throughout.

Gary & Diane Thompson
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Had a great week at Kinloch Damph. The area is amazing and the house was very comfortable and well equipped. Look forward to returning soon.

Angela Spangenberg
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovley Cottage, nice and friendly owner. And a great view!

Jane Jewsbury
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 26/03/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Aro
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 19/03/2014
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

The cottage was great and the owner was really kind and helpful!

Kathy Fraser
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 09/03/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A really lovely cottage. Well deserving it's STB 4* rating. We visit pet friendly cottages several times a year and this is the best we've been to. Although its decor and furniture are to a very high standard, it still manages to be a relaxed, cosy place with a superbly equipped kitchen and great fenced in garden which Mac our springer loved. Cawdor Tavern very good indeed. We will return and recommend to others.

Kate Clark
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Had a fabulous week at this gorgeous cute cottage. A very warm welcome with lemon cupcakes, fresh flowers and a chilled bottle of white wine awaiting us. Made use of the gorgeous woodburner and had cosy evenings in, as well as a couple of trips to the Inn at Cawdor for some great food. The two dogs loved the big safe garden, and it was so peaceful and relaxing.

Jonathan Trigg
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This place is a dream come true. After spending three nights here I simply cannot think of a more perfect place to come to get a way from it all. The location is thrilling - austere and dramatic in the very best way - and the house itself is a gem. I will be returning often - since my need to get away from it all is quite pronounced. The owners are very friendly and sensitive and their excellent taste is evident both in the simplicity of the renovation and the detail of the interior features.

Mark & Jenifer
Reviewed Glenara on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Glenara

My Wife and I stayed for a week in late Feb. The cottage is in the small village of Fort Augustus, close to the modern locks and canal, friendly pubs and restaurants are nothing more than a 10 minute walk. The cottage is ideal for two, with only a small room upstairs, the fire was well stocked with coal which made for cosy evenings and the cottage stayed warm even in February! Everything we needed was at hand, Robin the owner was very helpful and the cottage was clean and tidy.

Emma
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 04/03/2014
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

We had a lovely three night stay in the Cattle Shed and would highly recommend it. Amazing location with great views (particularly the sunrises). The cottage is cosy and well equipped with everything you need. Thanks for a great stay!

Shona Anderson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 03/03/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We returned for our second visit to Upperfolds. It truly is a 5+ star cottage. The location is stunning, a tranquil haven away from the fast paced life we lead, a place to recharge your batteries. Well done Richard and Leigh Anne your high standards of service and your eye to detail ensure your customers are made to feel welcome in a beautiful home from home, so much so we have already booked our third visit.

Mr & Mrs Wright
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 01/03/2014
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

This was our second visit to Little park Cottage in Fersit. The cottage was again in great condition and readied for our arrival. The cottage is the perfect get away from every day life & great base for the surrounding area. Walks in the local area are fantastic and as usual the weather threw everything at us including snow on the mountains setting a fantastic back drop. We were lucky enough to see the elusive Pine Martins on the final morning. Highly recommended :-) Will be back soon

Jodie Pierson
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 23/02/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We spent 5 days at White-Tail in February for our honeymoon. It was fantastic! The croft is immaculate and luxurious. They have not cut corners anywhere. The bottle of fizz and some essentials was just a perfect welcome. A truly stunning place to get away from it all and relax. Thank you.

Tom
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/02/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Katy Wilson
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 15/02/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

John Flanagan
Reviewed Sealight on 15/02/2014
And awarded it

Sealight

What a superb property. Stayed here at the beginning of Feb 2014 and had a fantastic time. Beautifully fitted with everything you could ask for - the log burner was great. Amazing views over the loch from the property as well. We had a good explore around the area and the Ardnamurchan Peninsula and I have to say that this is probably the nicest property in the area, the owners have done an excellent job. Great place and great area to get away from the stress of life - would highly recommend!

David Burton
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 15/02/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We found the above cottage was exactly what we were looking for and expected. Everything about the cottage was just right.There were 6 adults in our party and no one had any complaints at all. The location was great as were all the facilities, we will definately recommend this cottage and Wilderness Cottages to anyone who we know is going to Scotland for a holiday.

Hilary Brook
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 15/02/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Perfect retreat with mountain and munro walks on the doorstep. Plenty of wildlife to be seen. In one week, we saw 8 eagles, and they were just the ones we counted! The highlight of the week was seeing an herd of 6 stags. The cottage has everything that you could possibly need, with the benefits of having the owners Graham and Lynn just over the field.

C Franchitti
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 13/02/2014
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Truly fantastic house, the view is stunning. Complete peace and tranquility with all the comforts & mod cons you need. Great location for exploring the north of the island & if you want a special treat at the Three Chimneys. Hope to return time & time again to replenish the soul.

Trish Miller
Reviewed Glenara on 11/02/2014
And awarded it

Glenara

Idyllic wee cottage with everything we wanted and needed. Everything spotlessly clean and whole cottage very cosy, comfortable and lovely decor. Lovely to have breakfast watching the birds in the back garden and River Oich at breakfast, and then warming up in front of the open fire in the evenings after good days on the hills. Grocery shop in the garage had everything we needed and not expensive - no need to traipse to Inverness or Fort William. A perfect holiday!

Jim & Norma Watson
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 05/02/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Lovely comfortable and well equipped cottage, Dougal dog had great fun although forestry operations limited access over the bridge. Thought the Stanley stove was excellent. Very likely to make a return visit.

Alasdair Ruthven
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 28/01/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Fantastic cottage in a great location. Stylish and very well equipped. Couldn't believe how cosy it was despite the icy January gales outside. We had a wonderful long weekend, thank you.

Andrew Thomson
Reviewed Gate House on 23/01/2014
And awarded it

Gate House

Stayed here in July last year with my wife and 3 young sons, the boys are still speaking about "wovely house" over 6 months later! Well equipped kitchen, very comfortable sitting room and TV lounge. Beautiful area to stay in, Falls of Foyers and south side of Loch Ness not far away plus only a 25 minute drive to Inverness. Would highly recommend to others.

Marina Scott
Reviewed Moll House on 14/01/2014
And awarded it

Moll House

Excellent, warm cosy and very well equipped. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying in this property

PETER BROWN
Reviewed Glenara on 13/01/2014
And awarded it

Glenara

The cottage is really spacious, feels very homely the coal fire was well received and used.Having the canal at the front of the property and the river at the bottom of the rear garden makes thisan excellent location. Fort Augustus and the Canal are great for exploring on foot. By car the Moray Firth, Skye Road, Road to Nowhere, Inverness and Fort William are all easily reached. The shower is "fun" but doesn't detract from the overall quality.

Michael Lord
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 11/01/2014
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

This cottage is extremely well equipped and comfortable for two people. The bed is the most comfortable one we have had at many other cottages we have stayed in in both the UK and France. The cosy log burning fire is a delight in winter and the underfloor heating keeps the whole house comfortably warm. The position of the cottage is perfect with the pub/bistro only 100m away. We had an idyllic holiday over the new year of 2013/14.

D Garrison
Reviewed An Acail on 09/01/2014
And awarded it

An Acail

Nigel Voaden
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 09/01/2014
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

CK
Reviewed Timber House on 07/01/2014
And awarded it

Timber House

The reviews we read before booking are totally true! A most fabulous bolt hole in a truly beautiful location. Timberhouse is very well equiped; the kitchen inventory was particularly impressive. With no restaurants open it was great to have everything needed to cook a festive feast. The weather threw it's worst at us; a little worrying to see the floor to ceiling glass bowing in the wind!! But Timberhouse kept us warm & snug.

Gail & Bobby Irvine
Reviewed Mealishal on 06/01/2014
And awarded it

Mealishal

Janet E Vickers
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/01/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

I have recently returned from my third visit this year to Upper Folds. What a wonderful place to spend Christmas. On our arrival my husband and I were greeted by a beautifully decorated Christmas tree underneath which we found a gift, kindly left by the owners Richard and Leigh-Anne. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, which only goes to reinforce my opinion that this property is worth a 5star+. Cannot wait to return again in 2014.

Karen Silcock
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/01/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have just returned after a week in Ceol na Mara. Despite the poor weather we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The facilities are topnotch with the addition of the coal fire in the lounge a real treat. The views from the lounge window are spectacular and it was fascinating watching the waves rolling up on the beach during the gales. Fortunately they did not reach the house! We certainly hope to return during the summer and enjoy the area in better weather.

Lorraine Knight
Reviewed Toberaie on 01/01/2014
And awarded it

Toberaie

Beautiful, cosy cottage in a remote location. Surrounded by wildlife and mountains. It snowed for the first few days of our stay and the landscape transformed into a white wonderland. Close to the Cairngorms for skiing it was a great place for a family to stay. Beds comfy and the fires very welcoming. Would recommend a 4 wheel drive to access the property if snowing in winter. Our Christmas was made special by staying at Toberaie.

Jennifer Anderson
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 31/12/2013
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We had a warm welcome on arrival from the landlord,who had decorated the house beautifully for Christmas and turned the heating on, it was very welcoming. The house was spotless, spacious, well equipped and in a fantastic location. It didn't take long to feel at home and to wish we had booked an extra week. We would thoroughly recommend this house, which felt more like a luxurious home than a holiday cottage.

Alistair Morris
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 19/12/2013
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Great place to stay and relax. Lovely redevelopment of this barn. Even if the weather is not the best this is the best place to stay and watch it all through the big windows. Well appointed property with everything your need and more

Jeff P.
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 18/12/2013
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Awesome location and neat as a pin with all the modern conveniences. Located in Kishorn only few minutes drive from Loch Carron. The cottage is extremely peaceful with a great view of the water. I wish I hadn't been so busy with work to have time to enjoy it during daylight hours!

Nigel Hyde
Reviewed Christies on 18/12/2013
And awarded it

Christies

This property was really easy to locate, it was in a beautiful area of Scotland, and worth the drive even though it took us 10hrs. It was clean on arrival and the fire was lit immediately and warmed the room up really quickly. The view out was stunning and at night the blackness made the night sky a site to behold. We really wanted to see the northern lights but on this occasion it wasn't to be, may be next time. I would recommend this to anyone who loves peace and quiet because it delivers.

Ellie Downes
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 03/12/2013
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Catriona Black
Reviewed Ness Bank on 03/12/2013
And awarded it

Ness Bank

Graham & Rachel
Reviewed Giusaichean on 02/12/2013
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Diane Matthams
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/12/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Stayed at the house between 13th to 16th Nov. It is a truly wonderful property with just the best view, the pictures don't do it justice. A great location to see the aurora (sadly not this time) and explore the island. The weather is changeable, however, this didn't detract at all from the enjoyment of our stay as the house is warm and cosy. Well equipped and spotlessly clean. We would highly recommend this place and hope to stay again soon.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 27/11/2013
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a fantastic week at the Lodge in August. It's a great location to explore the Cairngorms and local area. On our first morning, we took the kids for a walk in the local woods and saw Red deer and Capercaillie within an hour of being out! The lodge has a feel of a remote location but is on the edge of Grantown which has good local shops and a few pubs. We were fortunate to have a couple of nice evenings so were able to relax on the balcony and have BBQs. We will definitely be back!

John Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 26/11/2013
And awarded it

Charleston

Our 3rd visit and it gets better and better. New furniture sky tv and now with broadband which worked perfectly on our old laptop. Perfect peace with the best views to be had in scotland even a garage for the car. We recommend this cottage as a 5 star home only problem we have is leaving at the end of our stay. Forgot to mention the welcome pack and the flowers on our arrival first class as was the service from wilderness cottages.

Carrie & Lol
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 22/11/2013
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Lovely cosy cottage. Very doggy friendly, complete with doggy settee! Spent all of our time in the conservatory, in front of the log-burning stove. The view was fantastic, the beach was gorgeous. No WI-Fi or phone signal- the perfect retreat from so-called civilisation! Can't wait to return!

Yvonne Bostock
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey on 21/11/2013
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey

We enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Everything we needed was in the cottage nice to go somewhere they give you such a simple thing as washing up liquid etc . The pool was very nice just wished it was open till 9 pm. Lots to do in the grounds will recommend it to my friends.

Kevin, Helen & Mark
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 20/11/2013
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Oak cottage making the most of the log burner and the drying room after days out. Set in a scenic location only a couple of miles from Killin village, the cottage is bright, airy and well equipped and even had a thoughtful welcome pack. Old railway tracks, now long gone have been converted into easy cycling, unicycling and walking routes close to the cottage. Not much further away are more challenging routes including many Munros.

Colleen & Simon
Reviewed Giusaichean on 13/11/2013
And awarded it

Giusaichean