Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 581 to 600 of 2651


Kathy B.
Reviewed Giusaichean on 23/09/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Sue Beale
Reviewed Glenara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a fantastic week staying at Glenara which is a warm, comfortable, well positioned cottage down a tiny lane, opposite the top of the locks. The front room has an open fire and overlooks the lane towards the locks. The back room has a ceiling to floor window which made the room feel very light, with an amazing elevated view of the well-kept big garden, trees and the river. Both rooms have a TV. Well equipped kitchen and easy to use cooker and microwave. The main bedroom is downstairs, with single bedroom upstairs. Very comfortable double bed. We absolutely loved Glenara which was perfectly located away from any traffic but has everything a short walk away. Fort Augustus is a bustling little place with good pubs, chip shop, gift shops and lots of boats to watch as they travel through the locks into Loch Ness which is a 10 minute walk away. The view of Loch Ness as you're walking towards it from the bridge in Fort Augustus is stunning. The owner Rob was very friendly too, he met us on arrival and showed us around which after a very long car journey, was appreciated. We were also lucky with the weather - sunshine every day!

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

An excellent place to stay. definitely in the wilderness but not too remote. we could see the stars at night and loved watching the light from the Stoer lighthouse swing round in the distance. a stunning location in Assynt and a perfect base to come back to after active days walking the mountains and sea cliffs, beaches, lochs and woodlands nearby. it was beautifully decorated and well equipped and had a log burner too. we particularly loved cooking with the Rayburn, never done this before but it cooked things so much better than with a conventional cooker. we can thoroughly recommend it on every level.

Ishbel Orrh
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

What a week we had at Stoer Lodge! All the family gathered for a rare get together and were thrilled when we saw our home for the week, so comfortable and welcoming, with every possible need supplied for our stay. Huge sitting room, with large table for family meals and a log burner to gather round at night. However, hardly required, as we chose possibly the best week in Assynt this summer. Wall to wall blue skies, with the temperature climbing to 23 degrees at one point. And the lodge was a perfect base for all the beautiful beaches, walks and Munro bagging the family enjoyed. Will be back!

Fred & Shirley Patterson
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Cottage is set in a lovely location lots of birds and wildlife ,the cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The owner Jenny is lovely and nothing is a bother. My wife and I certainly enjoyed our stay and we will return again. Thanks again Jenny for an enjoyable stay.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Fantastic family house in a wonderful setting. Amazing views from every window, not many places where you can see a pod of dolphins from your bedroom window! Lovely walks straight from the house, some quite boggy so take your wellies. The place could do with a bit of TLC, but overall it is a truly wonderful, comfortable home. Worth going just for the views, day and night (the stars), and the chance of seeing lots of wildlife (seal and otter in the bay too!). Already planning to book for next year, only wish there was a discount for couples who only use one of the three big bedrooms!

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A very well equipped house in a brilliant spot. There is so much to see and do in the area one week was really not long enough.

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A roomy house with a wonderful view in a superb location. We saw sea eagles most days and if like us you go to Skye regularly, so are not doing the Skye tour, there are so many local walks to do - you don't need to get into your car much after the long journey to get there.

Gillian Thompson
Reviewed Sealight on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Lovely house, very well appointed and perfectly situated overlooking loch sunart. Lots of lovely walks nearby and easy access to Mull. We had Pine Martens on the decking every night! Great sightings, highly recommend.

Mr I Sim
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

An Airidh

We had an excellent 2 weeks in this well equipped, comfortable cottage. The standard of this accommodation is exceptionally high. The cottage is well situated with stunning views. If it's not 5 star rating, it should be!

Liz Yule
Reviewed Solas on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Graham Venning
Reviewed Solas on 19/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Sheila Capewell
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We loved the cottage. You can't beat the location. My grandparents lived on Shore Street just four houses from Bayside so for me it was like reliving my childhood except the road is now much busier than 35 years ago. The road would be a problem with young kids. The cottage was warm and cosy and had everything we needed including a highchair and cot for our one year old grandson. The welcome tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge are a lovely touch. The deck on the shore is great. We had fabulous weather so we sat out on it eating and drinking. Great meals at the Applecross Inn and the Walled Garden as always. We'll be back.

Austin
Reviewed The Granary on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Very nice place to stay - comfortable, quiet, well-equipped, and within walking distance of the village. Highly recommended.

James H
Reviewed Rhundunan on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Rhundunan

One word: Superb. Excellent in every way.

David Carr
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a great place to stay and unwind. The view out from the cottage is to die for. Owners are very friendly. A great welcome was given and we were sad to leave. One thing to mention is no mobile signal at cottage so great for complete isolation.

P Thompson
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 16/09/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

The cottage was a warm and cosy. However it did suffer as there is no upstairs toilet. Also the drive leaves a lot to be desired as the gravel approach is a difficult to drive over. Also the gate needs attention - it's difficult to open and shut. The matress in the double bedroom needs replacing. Otherwise all was fine.

Sandie
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/09/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

If peace & tranquility with stunning views are on your wish list, this is the place for you.

Nic Sheehan
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Had a fantastic stay !

MIke Ryan
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The cabin was in an ideal location for us and our two chocolate labradors. Fort Augustus is only a short 10 minute walk away, but you would never know. The location was so quiet. Great base for local walks and day trips. The cabin is equipped really well, to a high standard and is probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The owners really have though of everything.