Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1601 to 1650 of 2966


Jessica&Joe
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 20/05/2013
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is just wonderful! Very cosy, beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly need; there's even an aga where we made the best porridge overnight. The surrounding countryside is stunning and there's a beach only 10 mins stroll away where you can watch the sun go down before returning for dinner beside the welcoming wood stove. We will definitely return soon

Fraser&fiona
Reviewed Laracks on 18/05/2013
And awarded it

Laracks

Alan Robb
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 17/05/2013
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Wine and shortbread was a lovely gesture on arrival. Fabulous property in lovely location. Worth repeat visits.

Ann Napier
Reviewed Fhaireag on 13/05/2013
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We had a recent holiday in Fhaireag, the house was beautifully appointed and a delight to spend time in. Everything you needed was there and the property was spotless, linen and beds of high quality, as was all the furniture and fittings. Lovely big garden for the dog and he, like the previous dogs was fascinated by the deer. We saw large hares, grouse amongst plenty of other wild life too. Balcony was great for breakfast we could have done with a few more sunny days, but it was Scotland!

David Topping
Reviewed Glenara on 07/05/2013
And awarded it

Glenara

Enjoyed a week at Glenara with my dog. The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and very clean. Views over the garden great and boats can be seen high above going through the canal locks from the front room. An excellent location and very peaceful. It's good to have a nice owner who is local and who will meet guests on arrival.

Barbara Easy
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 07/05/2013
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Enjoyed a relaxing time at Rowan Ridge. Bungalow is lovely and home from home. Warm clean and tidy with excesses of equipment for the keen cook etc. Pretty walks within the farmland and river runs through walking area. Host very pleasant and friendly. Fresh flowers and tea and coffee on arrival after an 8 hour journey was a nice welcoming touch.

Anna Murray
Reviewed The Bothy on 07/05/2013
And awarded it

The Bothy

This is truly a gem of a cottage and far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard and it very clean and cozy. The extensive gardens are just a delight to wander through. With direct access to the hills what more could you ask for!

Jackie & Gordon
Reviewed River Cottage on 04/05/2013
And awarded it

River Cottage

A warm welcome awaited us on our arrival at River cottage. The setting is lovely and the facilities excellent. Everything you could possibly need for a great holiday

Janet E Vickers
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/04/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Isolation with a capital I. Amazing scenery, and superb property. I have been doing the rounds of scottish holiday properties for the last twenty six years and this has been the best one yet.It lived upto eveything the brochure stated plus more. I would recommend upper folds to one and all, but then it wouldn,t be the best kept secret.I am in the process of booking another trip this year. Thanks wilderness cottages.

Jesper Jorgensen
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 24/04/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Stayed in Pooltiel House week starting Easter weekend. The property is spacious and comfortably laid out. All facilities you could want are there and they are new, functional and of good quality. You have room enough to move around, cook, dine & lounge about comfortably with six people in the house. We had a fantastic week and enjoyed coming back to a spacious, warm and cosy house every day. Slept like a log and woke up with great views; I miss the place - Simply Stunning!

Geoff & Denise
Reviewed Dam Park Cottage on 24/04/2013
And awarded it

Dam Park Cottage

Bob & Shirley
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 18/04/2013
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Lovely little croft cottage tastefully fitted out in a very peaceful spot not far from a quiet, small beach which is just across the road and through a field.The Aga in the kitchen means the cottage is always cosy and the stove in the living room gives added warmth if needed.The beach at Sand en route to Applecross village is also lovely. The Inn there is as excellent for food as ever as is the Walled Garden.Enjoyable, easy walks including Carnach woods, Coral Beach and from Sand to Applecross.

Nick Ratner
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/04/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely fabulous property. Love the stay and the location. Amazing. The service given by Wilderness Cottages has been second to none.I had a big problem with the timing of the holiday and they sorted everything out, perfectly.I would highly recommend both Upper Folds and Wilderness Cottages. We had snow everyday which is what we wanted and the views were breathtaking.

Yvonne Howard
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 17/04/2013
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Miss June Jackson
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 16/04/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Have enjoyed another week in this beautiful holiday cottage. The area is quiet with lots of wildlife calling in the garden. The cottage is extremely well equipped and the log fire was a bonus during the cold evenings. Hoping to return later in the year.

Maggie Pettigrew
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 16/04/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

We had a wonderful stay at this peaceful well equipped warm and cosy lodge. The children, all 5 of them, enjoyed building dens in the woods and the resident deer. We recommend the boat trip with loch torridon sea tours at Shieldaig which was the highlight of our holiday. We would stay at this lodge again and again. Maggie and Alan

Jane Newton
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 16/04/2013
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a fantastic week at Port Elgol Cottage. The setting is spectacular with amazing views over to the Cuillin Hills. The cottage is lovely: beautifuuly laid out, very well-equipped and comfortable. The surrounding area is very beautiful.

Cameron & Olivia Hatrick
Reviewed An Airidh on 16/04/2013
And awarded it

An Airidh

We have just spent a wonderful few days in this lovely cottage in Harlosh on Skye. We had stunning morning views of the MacLeod tables and evening views of The Cuillin. An Airidh was ideally situated for exploring Dunvegan and the surrounding area. The cottage itself was immaculate and very well appointed making self catering easy. Thank you.

Philip Sanderson
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 14/04/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We had an excellent week. The house was beautifully situated with gorgeous views across Loch Pooltiel to the massive cliffs at Dunvegan Head. It was a joy to wake up every day with that view. The facilities in the house were everything you could wish for: very comfortable, very smart. The house was warm despite the cold outside, and in the quiet of the location I slept like a log.

Helen O'Connor
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/04/2013
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This is a great house with stunning views and quiet location. Stayed here at Easter for 1 week. House had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and brill showers. Very warm and cosy. Private beach was great for the kids to go down to each evening to look for Nessie!! Best house we have rented and we have rented alot. Thanks to the owner for a clean house and the welcome wine! If we come again all the way from Ireland, will book again.

Adam Ramsay
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 10/04/2013
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

The house is immaculate. The location is perfect on the side of the loch with fantastic views.There are amazing walks on the nearby beaches and mountains, our 2 dogs were in heaven. Perfect for couples and families. There is nothing nicer than sitting out in front of the house watching the birds in the morning and the sunset in the evening. Treat yourself to a visit to the Kishorn Seafood Bar & have their fresh locally caught fish & shell fish. We had a wonderful stay & would highly recommend

Ellen & Henry Moran & Julie & Garry Broad
Reviewed Moll House on 08/04/2013
And awarded it

Moll House

It was a lovely spacious house in a stunning location with amazing views over the loch. Nicely furnished and the log burner made it perfect. Kitchen was well equipped and there was a good selection of books, guides and maps. Exactly what we were looking for.

Angela Pramanik
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 08/04/2013
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

Beautiful setting and a short walk to all amenities. Apartment was lovely, clean and stocked with the necessities as well as a complimentary bottle of wine. We loved it but steep stairs to the bedrooms over 2 floors would not make it suitable for anyone who isn't fit and able or for keen toddlers. Service was excellent, a guided tour of facilities was provided. Pool lovely and warm and games room nice play to chill out.

Juliet Bucknall & Mimi
Reviewed Fhaireag on 27/03/2013
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag was absolutely amazing. The views from the sitting room and balcony upstairs looking on to Loch Mhor were better than you'd find anywhere else in the world. There has been no expense spared on the cottage. The appliances were very smart and it was very warm with the underfloor heating. It was in a very remote area of Scotland and i couldn't believe that it was only 40 minutes to Inverness. My puppy was fascinated by the deer whom she watched endlessly from the balcony. Stunning!!

Ben
Reviewed Callakille on 26/03/2013
And awarded it

Callakille

Ian & Sue
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/03/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Well and worthly recommended, a great cottage with all you could possibly need, very nice location, with wildlife all around, great for star gazing, and just getting away from it all. Owners very friendly and helpful. We will not be going back as we liked the area so much that we are buying a house in the area.

Amy Wooding & James Pope
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 18/03/2013
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Sheena Brennan
Reviewed Roundhouse on 17/03/2013
And awarded it

Roundhouse

Robert Bird
Reviewed Timber House on 15/03/2013
And awarded it

Timber House

Easy to book, good communication,fantastic building, lovely welcome pack, everything as described and better. I could not recommend this site more, we will definitely use again when we head back North

Nina Young
Reviewed Glenara on 13/03/2013
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a wonderful time in this cottage. It has a lovely view out the back onto the river and also a lovely cosy sitting room with open fire was even better! its great having two living rooms. It was lovely and quiet but very close to the pubs and amenities. There was a pheasant that kept visiting the garden each day and lots of wild birds. I would strongly recommend staying here - it has all the facilities you need plus charm and convenient location. Highly recommended! :) lovely owner too!

Jon
Reviewed Wildwood on 11/03/2013
And awarded it

Wildwood

Very disappointed, not to see the pine martins! We put bread and jam out every morning which disappeared without trace. We arrived when there was remains of snow on the roof and ground, the cottage standing out from the surrounding woodland. Once inside we made ourselves at home very easily, everything we needed was there especially the log fire which our great dane loved to curl up to each night. Extremely enjoyable peaceful stay. Look forward to returning soon (and seeing those pine martins).

Linda Lee
Reviewed Aros Beag on 11/03/2013
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Fantastic cottage, lovely owners but not intrusive. Lovely sitting by the river in the sunshine and great walks from the front door. Cosy warm and loved the underfloor heating.Very clean and well maintained, loved feeding the chickens that visited us every afternoon when we got back from our daily walk. Will definitely return - so many more hills to climb!

Maureen Sidebottom
Reviewed Laracks on 09/03/2013
And awarded it

Laracks

Irene & John McCrystal
Reviewed Roundhouse on 08/03/2013
And awarded it

Roundhouse

Jack
Reviewed Kirk Lodge on 06/03/2013
And awarded it

Kirk Lodge

Ishbel Reid
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 06/03/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An absolute gem of a cottage! Cosy, warm, immaculate and very superbly appointed.The owners have thought of everything ! Excellent rural location yet within very easy reach of restaurants, a town and activities. Super for the dog. I would highly recommend it for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful area.

Rachel Williams
Reviewed Whitestone on 06/03/2013
And awarded it

Whitestone

We stayed in Whitestone in February 2013 and loved every second of it. This cottage is peaceful, nicely decorated and the garden is superb for wildlife - red squirrels on the bird feeders: almost guaranteed if you keep the feeders topped up! So funny to watch their antics. There is so much to do in the Cairngorms and surrounding area, even in winter. We didn't have time to do it all and will surely be back in the future.

Karen Diamond
Reviewed Callakille on 04/03/2013
And awarded it

Callakille

Shona & Jack Anderson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 18/02/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage is fantastic, a tranquil haven amidst outstanding scenery. When we finally made it to the cottage through a blizzard, we were charmed by the tastefully decorated and furnished, clean, warm accommodation. From the fresh flowers to the wine chilling, every detail has been carefully thought through. We will definitely return, cannot wait.

Mr Rushworth
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 18/02/2013
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a stunning property in a stunning location. I can only recommend a stay in Taigh Druim in Elgol. I really hope to go back there some day.

Hugh Gunn
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 05/02/2013
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Stoer Lodge is a beautiful, well equipped property and provided the perfect getaway for my other half's unwelcome 40th birthday celebrations! Setting off Chinese lanterns in complete darkness from the beach at midnight was truly magical and we will definitely return soon. We visited in January and unfortunately had to leave a day early as the weather really closed in. Thinking back, we should have allowed ourselves to become snowed in, there could be worse places to get stuck!

Joanne Stennett
Reviewed Whitestone on 04/02/2013
And awarded it

Whitestone

A lovely immaculately clean, comfortable and well enquipped cottage. Ideal for us 4 adults, 1 child and 2 dogs. Enclosed garden to keep the pooches safe too. Will hopefully return.

Graham Haigh
Reviewed The Mill on 09/01/2013
And awarded it

The Mill

We have just returned from The Mill in the Scottish Highlands having stayed for a full week including the New Year period. Our stay could not have been better, the Steading is unbelievable and is certainly the best accomodation that we have come across having had many previous holidays in rental cottages. We had a wonderfull time and would recommend the Mill to anyone.

Mike & Pauline Wyeth
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 09/01/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A very well modernised cottage. A well furnished cosy but spacious home from home. Charming rural, quiet, locality. Excellent local pubs, Cawdor Tavern a must for food and atmosphere.We will be back !

Mrs J Rogers
Reviewed Charleston on 09/01/2013
And awarded it

Charleston

We have just returned from spending a wonderful New Year week at Charleston. The house was fantastic for our party: 4 adults, 3 kids and 2 dogs. Facilities were excellent and welcoming touches - wine, shortbread, biscuits for dogs were a lovely added extra. The location is perfect for exploring - Fort Augustus, Inverness, Drumnadrochit and returning to Charleston each evening was a bonus. Wilderness Cottages were great to deal with too.

Christine Dawson
Reviewed Station Cottage on 08/01/2013
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had wonderful time ar Station Cottage in Nethy Bridge. It was exactly as described and a lot more. It was right on the Speyside Way and so handy to walk the dogs. We were there over New Year and they had put up Christmas Decorations, which added to the cosy feel of the property. The log burning stove was WONDERFUL and we would return in a minute. The local butcher was amazing (just a few doors away.) My brother in law and family came up to do a bit of biking and have booked for Easter.

Nigel Franklin
Reviewed Ardrannach on 08/01/2013
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a stay at Ardrannoch over the Hogmany/New Year holiday and it was very relaxing. The cottage is well laid out and everything was provided, including some eggs, bread, milk & coffee to get us started. The views from the property are superb, although we found out while they call Skye the "Misty Isle"...!!! The enclosed garden was great for our 2 dogs and I'm sure would work as well with children!! We got to see Golden Eagles on Ben Tianavaig

Lin Sanderson
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Kinloch Damph is a great lodge with plenty of room for 10 people provided 4 share a large bedroom with double bed and bunk beds. The lounge is comfortable and has a wood/coal fire, the dining area is great for space and views and the kitchen is homely and has a wood burning stove. A stag visits the property most days, brave as it is a shooting lodge but great to see him! The track to the property is a mile long and quite good although some potholes so care is needed if you arrive in the dark.

Calum Robert Gordon MacKenzie
Reviewed Curlew Cottage on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Curlew Cottage

Cath
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Had a really great New Year staying here 2012/13. It's very wilderness, with views of mountains and a loch and a tame deer that visits evey so often. Very comfortable and cosy rooms with electric heating and coal fires. Quiet, relaxing and everything you'd need. Only thing is it is a hunting, shooting, fishing lodge so if you're squeamish about a deer storage cold room in the garage it might not be ideal!