Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 551 to 600 of 2651


ANNA CHATAWAY
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Lovely cottage beautifully equipped. Good supply of books, games and an eclectic mix of art to enjoy - and a great shower! The drive from the road seems endless at first but by the end of the week we felt we knew every bend and stone (and sheep). Wonderful scenery and lots of interesting places to visit. Our dogs loved the walks. Very helpful housekeeper if anything goes wrong.. We never did get the tv working but that wasn't such a bad thing!

Van Hemert
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage. Clean and well equiped. Ideally situated: very quiet and great walks from cottage and still only few minutes drive from Portree. Highly recommended

Carol Macleod
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 27/07/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Very picturesque setting and good location for aviemore and boat of garten. Lack of shower was a bit inconvenient but I had taken a bath attachment from home so we managed. Facilities in cottage need a bit of upgrading. Maybe a few new books and board games would be a good idea.

James Riley
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 27/07/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Just wanted to leave a review for the house and to say thank you. We have had a brilliant time and have completely fallen in love with the location and house. The Shed has been really great and we will return soon.

Joan & Norman TIPTON
Reviewed Ardrannach on 26/07/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

A comfortable and well equipped cottage in a quiet location with stunning views. Friendly and helpful owners. Hopefully we will return.

Chris Territt
Reviewed Station Cottage on 23/07/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We loved our stay at Station Cottage, its remote enough for peace and quiet but close enough to everywhere to have days out. Very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a holiday in a beautiful part of the worls.

Frank & Eryl Walters
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/07/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is a lovely cottage, with lots of little extras and attention which makes such a difference. Chas and Jane are so warm and welcoming. They are there to help but very discreet as they live behind the property. A peaceful and remote spot but easy to access this beautiful area of Scotland. A perfect place for a winter holiday as the cottage is so arm and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

SarahF
Reviewed Wee Dram on 18/07/2016
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Lovely cottage. Spacious and comfortable in a rural location with fantastic views. Great base for walking with easy access to the Spey Way. Pleasant and helpful owners.

David & Jane
Reviewed Glenara on 16/07/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting, ideally situated for the amenities in the village.

Romy Beard
Reviewed Solas on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Solas

Mr Ron Coxhill
Reviewed Glenara on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Very comfortable, clean cottage with all we needed. Superb location with large back garden leading down to the river bank. In the mornings we watched the boats going up and down the canal locks as we breakfasted. Great week.

Ann Newstead
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

This is a lovely cottage - very clean - in a stunning location. Very quiet and peaceful.

Mrs Byrne
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had a lovely relaxing week in beautiful surroundings. The cottage was clean and well equipped with everything we needed. I have already recommended the cottage several times including a couple we met in Fort Augustus during our stay!

Callakille In Early July
Reviewed Callakille on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille is a beautiful cottage, full of character and in a tranquil location, equipped with everything you would need for your stay. We had a mixed week weather wise and it can get a little chilly upstairs, however if you get good weather you will enjoy fantastic views across the water and stunning sunsets. About 20 minutes drive from Applecross with a petrol pump, shop + highly recommend visiting the walled garden and Potting Shed restaurant. The cottage and holiday was everything we hoped it would be.

G Conway
Reviewed Glenara on 08/07/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Excellent accommodation, clean and smart with a charming garden backing onto the river. Well situated for excursions to either coast or for Loch Ness. (We went to Urquhart castle, Skye, Aviemore, Arisaig, Morar, Glenfinnan, Aonach Mor, Inverness, Loch Linnhe). Fort Augustus is small but bustling and was a good base for a holiday in the Highlands.

Hans & Judy
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/07/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is a lovely place to stay - cosy, warm, well furnished and equipped - it has everything you need including an excellent bed! Jane gave us a warm welcome with her own homemade scones. The byre is surrounded by unspoilt nature, cows, sheep and birds - a wonderful place to switch off and relax. Ideally situated for exploring Assynt, Coiglach and the north.

Alan & Janette Ramsay
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/07/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We have just returned from our second visit to Seascape Cottage, enjoyed everything again, Jack (our dog) says ditto.

Alan Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 02/07/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a perfect cottage, in a perfect location and is well equipped, very comfortable and homely. Great location to explore the Inverness and/or West coast of Scotland areas. Neighbours also very friendly and welcoming. Great food available from the Lock Inn, Moriston Hotel and really good butcher in Fort Augustus. Will be back in October and for at least 2 weeks in 2017. Lastly many thanks for returning my wife's jewellery so promptly . Aaln & Denise Bell + Ben

Alan & Denise + Ben
Reviewed Lilybank on 02/07/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a perfect cottage in a perfect location. The cottage is very well equipped, clean and homely.... Really enjoyed our break - so we extended it - and will be back in October ...and will book at least 2 weeks for 2017... Special thanks to the lady who takes care of the cottage ( & Wilderness ) for the prompt return of my wife's jewellery that we left in the bedroom...very much appreciated .. Alan & Denise + Ben

Eve Gilmore
Reviewed Station Cottage on 01/07/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

An excellent cottage. Very good for families with young children as on one levelo and a safe garden.

Sheila Goodman
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

The house was very comfortable to stay in. It had all the amenities we required. It was clean, tidy and well equiped. We like the location because it was remote and quiet. I loved the big picture window and spent most of my stay watching the sea and the sky as they changed with the light and wind. I would recommend this holiday house to anyone who wants to get away from it all. Take plenty of food, drink and books to read.

Mr Keith Hughes
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Amazing tranquillity totally stressfree accommodation would highly recommend this to friends and family

Allen & Yvonne Lambert
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was our third time of staying at Bayside over a number of years and it was as good as before.The welcome tray and wine is a lovely touch for the start of your holiday. We hope to be back again soon.

Brian Hubbard
Reviewed Moll House on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Our first holiday with Wilderness Cottages, excellent service throughout. I particularly liked the booking service both the online and the fact I was also provided with hard copies through the post. Our accommodation was top rate, excellent condition, great location, and total peace and quiet. I will definitely use Wilderness Cottages again, already looking forward to 2017.

Sandy & Fiona , Ayr
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Taigh Druim is an exceptional holiday home , spacious,well equipped and very comfortable. The views to the Cuillin and out to the islands are quite stunning,and to sit out on the deck on a warm evening with a glass of wine listening to the waves below and the call of the birds is the stuff of dreams! Perfection.

Sables
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

Lovely comfortable cottage. Could benefit from additional "crockery" to save on use of dishwasher. Weather was good during the week of our stay. Enjoyed walks from the door with our dog. Can highly recommend The Clansman at Port William. Our first Self Catering Holiday in Scotland. Will certainly be returning to explore new "ground".Thank you Emily

Gerard Hanlon
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Best time ever we had so relaxing cosiest log cabin we have ever stayed in and we've been to a few! Gordan the owner is a total gentleman and will help with anything you will need We wished we had booked for 2 weeks Anyone staying at this cabin will love it

Gill Cornelius
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is very isolated and quite scary drive down the hill first time but it was worth it. Such comfy beds, soft towels and really good shower .....oh and the views of the sea were just amazing. We were blessed with good weather too which made it even more special. A really lovely relaxed holiday .

Mrs Donaldson
Reviewed Log House on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Log House

This was my families third time to this amazing log cabin. It's set in a fantastic location in the woods with some beautiful walks with amazing views of the River Oich right outside your door. The Cabin has everything you need & is a lovely short walk into Fort Augustus itself. Cannot say how much we love this place & can guarantee we will be back a fourth time.

Jeff MacGregor
Reviewed Eilean Mor on 28/06/2016
And awarded it

Eilean Mor

Martin Wilson
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 25/06/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This cosy cottage has all you need, some ceilings are a little low upstairs but you soon learn to duck. Well equipped, great position, lovely deck to enjoy morning coffee and Gin & Tonic at sunset (which is really quite late in the summer).

Chris
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 25/06/2016
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Wonderful cottage in a lovely setting. Wouldn't hesitate to book again if heading back to the vicinity.

Paul Broadbent
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 24/06/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

As usual everything was just right even the weather. This is our 5th visit and we are never disappointed. Just one small point. As we are an all male group it would be preferable to have another twin bedded room.

Susan McCrum
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 23/06/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We spent the most relaxing week in Leachachan Barn. When you open the shutters and look out at the view, it is magnificent! The barn comes fully equipped for every thing you would need. Our dog just loved it, spacious and secure garden for him to play in. We will definitely come back again. We saw the most amazing colours of skies at night from blue, red and orange. Great seeing Eilean Donan Castle from the barn. A little gripe we had was the TV was upstairs and we are both football fans, the Euro 2016 was on and it meant we both had to go upstairs to watch it. We would have liked a TV downstairs but apart from that would definitely recommend it.

Mr Paul Deans
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 23/06/2016
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Lovely property which more than matched the online description and documentation provided by wilderness cottages. It a great location for visiting the Highlands of Scotland. We will definitely be returning to Burnside Cottage.

Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This cottage is lovely simply one of the best we have stayed in, very well equipped with everything you need. The fridge and freezer is big enough for you weekly shopping, which you will need due to the distance of the shops, but it's not a problem. This is because the views and surrounding certainly make up for it. We saw on two occassions three red deers in the garden, regular visit from a woodpecker and loads of birds. We also saw golden eagles. We did go out a few days and went walking, in the amazing surroundings. We will be back next year but for 2 weeks next time. Thank you so much for a brilliant holiday.

M O'Connor
Reviewed The Orchids on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had an amazing time staying at the Orchids. It is a very very comfortable and well furnished house with lots of facilities for a wonderful self catering holiday. The kitchen is very well equipped for people who like cooking and there is local shell fish from Carbost and meat from Orbost farm , not to mention great bread from the Skye Bakery in Portree. The local shop in Dunvegan was great too. The views from the house are exceptional , perfect for photography, with seals and lots of birdlife, we loved the sheep too. The Loch was very busy with some very large yachts and ships appearing , including the 3rd largest yacht in the world, the EOS, and a ship called the Serenissima, which apparently does cruises around Scotland. The local area is stunning as is the rest of Skye, This was our first visit and we will be back and would happily stay in the Orchids again, assuming its not sold and still available to rent !!! Our only small issue was the lack of anything other than a small dustpan to sweep up from a large dining and kitchen area.

Vicky, Lucy & Ali
Reviewed Sixgeary on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We stayed at Sixgeary in Skye. A wonderful property with spectacular views. It was spotlessy clean and on arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, fresh eggs and biscuits. We met the people who look after the property (Richard & Fiona) and they were very welcoming and informative. This property is quite remote but thats why we chose it. We absolutely loved it, thanks !

David Hebson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Views to die for . Owners could not do enough for us. Greeted with home made scones , only negative was having to leave. Would highly recommend to all family andfriends

Alexandra Hay
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

What an amazing stay at holly cottage! We would highly recommend a stay here! Ideally located for Inverness and all surrounding areas!

A.Smith
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Kate B
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What can I say - except WOW! The house is stunning, the location is stunning. Watching seals from the house is amazing. Probably the best place I have ever stayed - so we will be back!

Pauline Drew
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 22/06/2016
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

The cottage was lovely and had everything needed for a very comfortable stay. The only negative comments I have are regarding the garden. It is not secure and straight onto a very busy road due to being on the North 500 run circuit. It meant walking the dogs around with their leads on. Also there was a stream running through the back which took up a lot of the garden and I could not use the washing line as it was up a steep bank. Apart from that it was a wonderful location.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Drew, Thank you for your feedback and review. Just to confirm Shellach Cottage is located on Church Street in Lochcarron, a quiet road which leads eventually to a dead end at Ardaneaskan. The North Coast 500 route does pass through Lochcarron, however this road is not part of the route.
Ucilla Wilson
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 21/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is a remarkable log cabin both for location and for the cabin its self. The location is just above the town of Fort Augustus and is literally a 7 min walk into town (I timed it). The cabin is set within the 6 acre grounds of Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast which means the owners are at hand should you require anything but at the same time isolated from them. The cabin is fully equipped with every conceivable gadget you would require. The bedrooms are a very good size as are the ensuites. Large kitchen and an extremely cosy living room with log burner which heats the place in minutes and additional electric heaters should they be required. There is a selection of books, games and dvds and a 37" TV with freeview. For guests arriving there are tea bags, coffee, sugar, milk, wine and biscuits. Outside there is a good grass area and stream for dogs and children to play but do remember your midge repellent and some tick repellent for your dogs. Fort Augustus is a lovely town with some very good restuarants, pubs and gift shops and there is a well stocked provision store located at the garage. Cruises on Loch Ness can be booked from the departure point in the centre of the town and there is beautiful scenery close to hand. Our highlight was visiting the Isle of Skye, calling in at Eileen Donan castle on route. It takes approx 1.15min to reach the Skye bridge but do leave time to visit the castle, its beautiful ! Managed to visit half the island's beauty spots, therefore will need to return to see the rest and guess where we will stay ! A big thank you to Gordon, who is a lovely person, and I can assure you we will meet again !

Achim Hoelscher
Reviewed Aros Beag on 20/06/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

The house was perfect for us and all was in a very good condition. Many thanks for the warm welcome. We will come back.

Vicky Honour
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 20/06/2016
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Our family of 5 had a fantastic time at Port Elgol cottage, the views are stunning and spent the evenings barbequing and watching the sunset over the Cuillin Ridge. The weather was perfect all the week we were there and the Isle of Skye was so picturesque we took loads of photos. The cottage had everything you could possibly need, the decor and comfy beds made us feel right at home and we so sad to leave. Will definitely be staying there again!!

Anne & Neil
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you like home comforts, peace and quiet, good views and considerate owners this is the cottage for you. We had a really lovely week here enjoying almost deserted coastal walks, bird watching and visiting beautiful gardens. It was good to know the owners were close by in case of any emergency because there is no wifi or mobile reception but we appreciated the silence and read more books. We finished the rhubarb and ginger jam. It was delicious.

Kate Howell
Reviewed Rhundunan on 19/06/2016
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Wonderful stay, great value for money and we had a lovely time. The house is very well equipped with a full kitchen, and has stunning views. Added bonus of The Three Chimneys restaurant being at the bottom of the driveway. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Angela,Martin & Jasper The Collie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 17/06/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Really beautiful, peaceful location, it was just lovely to wander through the garden and along the beach every morning and afternoon, no lead, no worries. We had prepared and shopped for the week so just spent our time between the cottage and the beach. The cottage itself is lovely, just a small point- it would have been more comfortable with an upgraded TV. I guess it depends on how you spend your holiday but as we walk during the day, cook dinner, read then enjoy a film in the evening a bigger and modern tv would have made our holiday just perfect.

Mr David Lee
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 16/06/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic cottage as a base for exploring the area because of its location, but also a wonderful place to comfortably sit and watch the activities on the canal. Great for all weathers, a cosy sitting room with a roaring fire for the colder days and a light and airy sunroom for lighter brighter days. We all loved our stay at Old Lock Keepers Cottage, it's peaceful location is a tonic.