Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 751 to 800 of 2986


Michael Clark
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

This was our second stay in a year. We used the steading as a base while filming in the Highlands and it was a great place to relax after a long day. Underfloor heating and huge baths made so much difference when it was 2 degrees outside. A very well maintained residence in a great location. As steading has no broadband I brought a wifi dongle with me (EE network) and it got very good 4G reception. Cafe's in nearby Ballater also have wifi, so this was never a problem.

Catherine
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

Wonderful little cottage, great gift basket, warm, plumbing functional, all the amenities of a house, fresh eggs available, easy to access open space behind the cottage to let the dog run around in. Drive there and back was beautiful. Highly recommended.

Amanda Baker
Reviewed Don Cottage on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely accommodation, clean and comfortable supplied with everything you would need. In excellent location for exploring the surrounding area.

Fiona & Robert
Reviewed River Cottage on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

We had a really lovely time at River Cottage. Our dog Mya absolutely loved the garden down to the river. The cottage was very well equipped and had everything we needed for a weeks break. It was very clean and very cosy. There was lots of lovely walks in the area which we enjoyed every day. We would definitely recommend River Cottage to others and would also like to return for another visit in the near future.

Mrs. Clare E Chalmers
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 19/04/2016
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Where to start! What an exceptional house in such a beautiful setting, on the door step of some of the most exquisite scenery. Monroe baggers paradise, which my husband made the most of! We all enjoyed watching the wildlife right outside the windows from badgers to an amazing varieity of birds, including woodpeckers. A short walk from the cottage brings you to the stunning Plodda falls where, if you keep your eyes open, you may catch a Red Squirrel. Horse trekking its also on offer along here. The house itself is lovingly cared for, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with lots of thoughtful extras, open cupboards to discover toys, jigsaws, hoopla hoops and even golf clubs. A delicious home made lemon drizzle cake awaited our arrival. There are plenty of places to eat out, we enjoyed the nearby Hotels and Drumnadrochit was about 15 minute drive away, offering lovely gift shops, farm shops, and further lunch/dinner venues. Here, we bought some of the largest eggs I have ever come across. The best thing of all for us though, was being able to bring along our two dogs, there were thoughtful extras laid on for them too, including dog towels, feeding bowls and leads. It is not always easy to find a comfortable cottage that accepts dogs as we know only too well, but Guisachan is the rare acception. Don't worry if you are coming without a pet as I mentioned earlier the cottage could not be more well cared for. We will definitely return to this paradise and we cannot wait to do so.

Daisy & Alfie
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 18/04/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

This was a near perfect holiday croft for the week - it is well equipped, warm & cosy with a log stove in the living room & aga in the kitchen, it is dog friendly with a secure garden. Sorting out the kitchen floor, improving the shower and a bit more TLC with the cleaning and decor would lead to perfection. Wilderness Cottages really does live up to its name - the croft is on a skinny road in the middle of nowhere with limited phone reception, that suited us. The croft description is completely accurate - expect peace, tranquillity, amazing views and your own local beach. With only sheep & lambs and hairy cows for neighbours, the demands of modern life seemed a million miles away! This is an excellent location for exploring the Applecross peninsula. Daisy and Alfie - a cockerpoo and a Labrador cross - had a wonderful time walking, swimming, climbing and playing while checking out several walks using Paul & Helen Webster's excellent 40 coast and country walks in Wester Ross and Lochalsh. This was our first trip to the Highlands, definitely not our last! This is just a stunningly beautiful part of the UK and totally worth the long trek north!

Anne, Alan & Alasdair Shand
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/04/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Sitting here on our final night at Tigh-na-Craobh we are feeling a little sad. Jim & Anne-Marie, you have created a little slice of heaven. The views, the design, the layout, the interior (exactly as we'd've done it ourselves), the egyptian cotton bedlinen, the sound system, the champagne flutes, the dishwasher, your lovely housekeeper Nikki who dropped by with a playpen/stair gate for Alasdair and a few toys she had around...thank you for. Looooovely week away from the city. Can we come back in October please? Thanks a million! A, A & A x

Amanda Snowdon
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/04/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a wonderful stay at Plodda Falls Lodge which is beautiful, very comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped. The surrounding area is amazing and we enjoyed taking advantage of the many local walks in an unspoilt area of natural beauty. We were visited during the day by Chaffinches, Blue Tits, Robins and Siskins, a constant presence at the bird table. By night our son was overjoyed to see, for the first time, badgers and a fox. Jenny provided us with a warm welcome (including cake) and was very helpful in providing information about the local area. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are returning next year.

Linda & Roy
Reviewed Upper Folds on 06/04/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Upper Folds exceeds all expectations it is in a fantastic location and has everything you need to have a truly relaxing stay. The standard of the accommodation is excellent and the owners have thought of everything to ensure your stay is warm and comfortable. The bottle of wine and fresh flowers were a special touch.Thank you for sharing your very special place.

Amanda, Eddie & Pythagarus
Reviewed Glenara on 05/04/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Glendara cottage is a very special little place, it is full of character and charm and is just so homely warm and comfortable. The photos just don't do it justice. The garden is wonderful and the views from the garden overlooking the river and hills are perfect. We absolutely adored our stay here, it is the best holiday we have ever had. the village and surrounding area is absolutely breaktakingly beautiful. There is so much to do in the surrounding area. There is a lot of information in the cottage about local walks, activities, restaurants, taxis etc, and I appreciated that there was a lot of books and scrabble and monopoly to play too. We arrived later than planned but the friendly owner arranged to visit to check we were OK the next day and we could contact him if we had any questions. Our only problem was having to leave.

Paul & Jane & Fudge The Dog
Reviewed Glenara on 02/04/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

What a wonderful find. So pleased we booked the Glenara. Its delightful, we felt comfortable from the moment we walked in, lovely and warm even when it was cold outside, it had a lovely coal fire in the dining room , that we didnt need to light as was lovely and warm from the central heating. The sitting soom was our favourite room it a had a huge picture window that looked out over the garden and onto the beautiful River Oiche. Lots of Birds visited the garden , just added to the break. The bed which is always a worry when you stay anywhere , was so comfortable i wish i could of took it home !!! Thank you Bob for making us and Fudge very welcome, we really didn't want to leave and go home !!! We will be back !! Thank you for having us .......

Lesley Sinclair
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 31/03/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

Excellent cabin with everything you need to make a very enjoyable stay. Extremely high standard with a very welcoming host. Highly recommended.

Tammy Martin
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/03/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We had the MOST wonderful time in this breathtaking part of the world. Such a great base from which to travel to surrounded areas, beautiful walks, explore the Isle of Skye and highlands, or just laze around the immaculate and tasteful barn conversion. You will fall in love with the barn and the area and leave feeling energised and aching return!

Sue Morris
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 30/03/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

We had a wonderful week at Ardoch Bothy. Peace, tranquility, ever changing views down the loch to Skye and a log burner for the chillies evenings. The Bothy was stylish well equipped and very comfortable, we could not have asked for more. Thank you.

H Olidaymaker
Reviewed Giusaichean on 30/03/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Nicola Bennett
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 29/03/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our Honeymoon at Plodda Falls Lodge. The cottage is delightful with everything you could possible need, including the very romantic wood stove in the lounge. We loved watching the birds from the kitchen window, and enjoyed the walks to Plodda Falls and the 'secret' Guisachan Falls. Plodda Falls Lodge is a lovely quiet place to stay, and we found it wasn't difficult to get around from here to visit the local attractions. The road is a little nightmarish, but is easily managed if you take it slowly. The food available at the Grouse and Claret Restaurant (Tomich Hotel) is divine and we would recommend to anyone. Jenny is really lovely and ensured we were happy with everything during our stay, including the wonderful lemon drizzle cake she make for our arrival!

Sue Briggs & Rob Crawshaw
Reviewed Toberaie on 26/03/2016
And awarded it

Toberaie

Fantastic week at this wonderful cottage if you like peace and quite and breathtaking scenary you will like staying here. Cottage well equipped very clean and spacious we will definitely be back soon.

Ben Clarke
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 25/03/2016
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Would definitely recommend. Smooth and easy booking procedure and plenty of information is sent to you about the cottage. It's good to know you are in good hands especially if you are travelling a long way.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 24/03/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

5 star holiday. The cottage was spotlessly clean, there was a lovely welcome pack of milk, wine & biscuits plus thoughtful touches of tea, coffee, mints & toiletries & a welcoming bunch of flowers. Everything was in top working order. Heating was very efficient, the bed was very comfortable and the sunsets/stars wonderful from all the windows. Location is stunning - alone but not isolated.

Jacqui Ross
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 23/03/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Quite simply a stunning property in a wonderful location. Everything was clean, tidy and exactly as advertised. A superb week.

Jim McLean
Reviewed Sixgeary on 23/03/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

An excellently presented cottage in a wonderful location. If you like a holiday "far from the madding crowd" this is the one to choose.

J.Nicholls
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 23/03/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful area, peaceful and stunning views as well as being ideal to get around. Not far from Inverness Asda and Tesco 20 mins away but remote enough for anyone getting away from bustle of life. Can walk out of the door and walk into nature and the mountains. Enjoyed sitting on the hill above cottage listening to birds during the day and owls at night watching the sunsets over the mountains. Cottage was layed out lovely and cosy yet modern. I definitely want to return.

JRB&HB
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

A delightfully, comfortable and cosy place to stay - in a lovely, peaceful situation with wonderful views. The Lodge is extremely well fitted and furnished with a great eye for design and detail. Seal watching from the Lodge can pass many hours. Seeing the Aurora Borealis was a bonus, and sunsets at Neist Point are gorgeous. A fabulous place to stay with so many things to see and do

Walters
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit to this truly wonderful cottage. It's perfection in every way, good value for money, spotlessly clean, well thought out and the owner has gone to every effort to make sure the holiday is a memorable one. Scenery is amazing. A true wilderness retreat. Probably the best available.....................Faultless in every way

Mike & Cath
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Excellent cottage, easy booking, great area, all in all a lovely holiday.

Julie & Dave
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Fantastic barn, tastefully renovated, with fantastic views of the mountains and loch. The barn was well stocked,and sitting in front of the log burner with my book was very relaxing. The wild life around the barn was amazing, seals,porpoises,otters, stags, and the golden eagle were all spotted in the week we were there, I highly recommend a visit, and I hope to go back soon

Stephen Thomas
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 11/03/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

The close proximity to other houses does not detract from this brilliant accommodation. A little gift from the owners on arrival is a great finishing touch as is every detail within this lodge. Its very well finished with a fantstic log burner that is worthy of its focal point in the main living room. I would stay here again.

Rosie May
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/03/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

One of the most amazing places we have ever been! The tree house itself is beautiful and the log burning stove gives it a great atmosphere. The only issues were the electricity went off several times on our first night which was scary and the shower in the ensuite flooded the bathroom and was not hot. We thought this was due to the solar panels at first however the other shower was hot so couldn't of been. However it did not ruin our stay and I'm sure these issues will be sorted out soon. We did the 2 local beach walks which were lovely and Portree was nice with a few gift shops. The scenary is amazing, panarmaic views everywhere! We will definatley be returning!

James & Claire
Reviewed Glenara on 04/03/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Great. Had a lovely time staying in the cottage. Owner met us on arrival with a warm welcome and also provided some local advice on eateries and trips further afield that interested us. Fantastic views of the river from the cottage and close proximity yet, quiet location to the town. Cottage is very clean, very well located to explore the surrounding areas. We explored Inverness, Isle of Skye and of course the very local area on our stay. It's an old cottage and so the heating is required to be on. Lovely warming fire too. Bathroom and therefore shower is in the eaves of the cottage and can be 'fun' to use but is manageable. I'm 6ft 2 and managed it ok. My girlfriend and I would stay here again.

Gina Thomson
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 03/03/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Superb accommodation. Very clean and everything in plentiful supply. Bathroom superb, extra toilet was an added bonus. Would love to go back. We were there second week in February and were lovely and cosy with central heating and and mulitifuel stove. Loved very minute of our stay. Weather was bright and sunny during our stay but loads of snow. Thank you to the owners.

Phil & Lesley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We spent a February week at this lovely cottage in its stunning location. the view from the lounge window is sublime, we saw from the window, Otter, Seals, Oyster catchers, Whimbrels, Herons, Goosanders, Mergansers, Golden Eagle & Sea Eagle! as well as a great view of a snow capped Skye. The accommodation is well equipped, warm, beds are comfy and have electric blankets! We drove to Loch Maree, Torridon, Gairloch and over the high road to Applecross, all within a reasonable distance. Lochcarron is a short drive away and has a supermarket This is THE place to be for peace and tranquillity and be close to nature.

Brian May
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

I thought Fersit Cottage to be excellent in all respects. I climbed four Munroes from the front door. There was plenty of space in the cottage and it was warm and cosy. Excellent for an away-from-it-all break. I hope to return.

JOHN AND VERONICA COOK
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutly a 5 star lodge, everything, and we mean everything is there for you. We had a wonderful time and so did our dogs. We lead a very busy life and this was exactly what the doctor ordered. First time ever, that I did'nt want to come home. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Holly
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We were lucky enough to have clear blue skies for a February weekend in Skye! However it wouldn't have mattered if the weather was awful as the Tigh Nighean Bahn was the cosiest accommodation: simple but luxurious with all the home comforts. The views over to Uist were spectacular. It was such a relaxing place to stay; comfy bed, amazing bathroom and a kitchen that meant we could properly self-cater. The cottage is done to a very high standard and the wee treat of a bottle of wine on arrival was lovely. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Teresa From Worcester
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/02/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Fantastic holiday! Seal Skerry Lodge is a fabulous property in a fabulous location - watching seals while you wash up is a bonus! The property is warm and well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We can recommend the Old Bakery in Dunvegan for crusty bread, the Stein Inn for lunch and the Old Inn at Carbost (bit further afield) for excellent food and service. Lovely walks around about including the Lighthouse at Neist Point or just a stroll down to the jetty. Don't worry about the weather - watching a storm across the Loch or the spectacular waterfalls by the log burner makes for quiet entertainment! Sit back and enjoy!

Jason Ward
Reviewed Aros Beag on 26/02/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

I had a brilliant, relaxing time at Aros Beag. Comfortable cosy cottage in an area of stunning beauty with a great little cafe right next door. Nicely situated for munro bagging and walking generally. Main road nearby giving good links to other areas and activities. Friendly hosts, lovely welcome package and easy, hassle free booking.

EFords
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 26/02/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

This is a lovely spacious yet cosy cottage in a great location. it is very well equipped and comfortably furnished. Perfect for 5. We found it good value for money and would highly recommend. thank you for a lovely week .

Henry & Erika
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/02/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a fantastic few days at Upper Folds. It is at the top of a very long track which is steep in places which when snow has drifted makes a decent 4x4 essential. The cottage was warm when we arrived, with the woodburner stacked and ready to light. The bottle fo wine, milk and biscuits were apprecietaed! The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The setting is beautiful, with fabulous views over the isolated valley and mountains. We will definately return again. Thank you.

M Hyden
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

Beautiful location, fantastic reception, every little detail is thought out in the cottage. The enclosed garden is fantastic for the dogs to run around in. The area is remote and ideal for getting away, walking, photography, reading and relaxing - I only have praise for the whole experience.

Josephine Brown
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Braehead steading is a lovely property, beautifully finished and a vey comfortable stay. We stayed while skiing locally and the underfloor heating was lovely to come home to. Very spacious house, will definately be back.

Keith Mendelson
Reviewed Old Stables on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Old Stables

A wonderful house set in a very quiet remote tranquil location three miles from Cannick. Ticked all the boxes for our visit, had a wonderful time.

Richard G
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Nice clean wooden lodge in the centre of Grantown on Spey, with easy access. We were there to go skiing, as from Grantown you can get to either the Lecht or the Cairngorm slopes at Aviemore. The lodge itself was great, with good cooking facilities, comfortable beds and a very good wood burning stove. Only issue was that all the beds are in one room, which we were aware of when we booked - perhaps some curtains or screens to provide a bit more privacy?

Lou & Paul
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 21/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a real 'get away from it' location. A slightly bumpy track that needs careful navigation but safely passable in a VW Golf leads to the cosy cottage that is spacious, clean, well equipped and welcoming. A short stroll is the beach which is rocky opposite the cottage and leads to open flat sands to the north. Every day we were down on the beach looking in rockpools, collecting driftwood and just admiring the views. Our evenings were spent in either the conservatory with multifuel stove, big table and bench seating looking at the twinkling light of Ireland or the comfortable living room with big open fire and sofa. We only saw about 10 other people (at a distance) all week. It is, quite simply, perfect if you want absolute peace and quiet. Beaware that there is no phone signal here (landline for emergency calls is in cottage) so you can leave the 21st century behind.

Mike Hammond
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Had a lovely time at Lilybank Cottage, its in a great location by the river lovely and quiet but still only a couple minutes walks from the shop and centre of Fort Augustus. A lovely cottage which is clean and well equipped with everything we needed to have a relaxing break. Would happily return and recommend it to friends and family as a base to explore the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Helen Hodson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

What a beautiful place to stay. Everything you could possibly need 5* cleanliness. A very warm welcome by the owners. Views of the surrounding area second to none. Didn't really want to leave.

Richard
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stablemate lodge was an excellent and comfortable cottage for 2 or a family group happy to sare the open plan upper floor. With the very effective insulation and woodburner it was one of the warmest and economic cottages we have stayed in in the area. Facilities in Grantown are good. Well equipped kitChen.

Ausra Kennedy
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 07/02/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a beautiful house in an amazing location! We spend 5 days there and wished we stayed longer. As we had a baby and a toddler with us, we weren't able to do much walking and exploring. But the house offered everything we would have wanted so we enjoyed staying in, with the wood burner going , watching the sea and admiring the most fantastic views! Beds were very comfortable we slept very well! Don't worry about bringing any board games-plenty at the house and great variaty. Would recommend to everyone wishing to holiday in Skye! AMAZING!

Martyn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed our few days away at Don Cottage. The instructions on finding the cottage we followed to the letter as it was dark when we arrived and they were absolutely spot on--it really is nice to get a good set of directions at the end of a tiring journey! Lovely collection of basic essentials and luxury goodies waiting for us on the kitchen table--inc whiskey- and all I had to do was to put a match to the prepared fire. Don Cottage was spotless on our arrival and looking around it is apparent that the owners have enjoyed putting this holiday cottage together. Once we got home in the evening we were more than happy to relax in front of the fire and watch TV and prepare some food--haggis of course on Burns Night. We have a couple of suggestions for making this lovely cottage even more appealing--perhaps a larger TV and a few brighter LED lights mixed in to help with reading and in the kitchen for meal preparation? Eyes going dim is an affliction that makes us older people complain that writing is getting smaller and smaller!! If you stay at Don Cottage you will be warm and comfortable and will be located in a beautiful part of the world and be free to explore it at your leisure! Many thanks

Peter Brown
Reviewed Achbeag on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Achbeag

Great property in a Great location. Everything you need from a holiday cottage - nice comfortable living space, decent size bedrooms, well fitted kitchen and nice bathrooms made this a great location to explore this fantastic area. The Applecross Pass was a particular highlight -went over that road on a number of occasions - well worth the effort. The beach close by at Big Sands was also well worth a visit. The whole area was waiting to be explored and didn't disappoint - I would recommend the area and this property in particular. Thanks for the great holiday.

Rachel & Beryl
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage was everything we hoped for - very peaceful & remote (maybe just a bit too remote, in hindsight!) - a very comfortable & well-equipped cottage in a stunning location. The track down is the only downside; it's a shame the lower section can't be concreted like the upper section; my heart was in my mouth on every journey to & from the cottage, & I think the remoteness (which has never before been an issue) was heightened by knowing I couldn't drive out once it was dark. We left a few days early because of the forecast snow & ice, which would have made the track even more treacherous. The advice that a 4x4 is needed is very wise.