Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 2986


Gin - Cambs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/09/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

I don't want to leave a review for Shore Cottage because if I do, everyone will want to stay there and it won't be free for me to return!!!

Gary B.
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 14/09/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

A lovely well presented cottage in a very beautiful location. An ideal location for us as we spend a lot of time in the mountains. A short walk from the local Spar shop, cafe and the Lochcarron Bistro. Can't really ask for more from a holiday cottage.

Louise Nixon
Reviewed Ardrannach on 14/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely setting and views, superb views over loch and mountains. Warm and clean open peat fire and welcome pack included. Convenient location near to Portree. We would love to return.

Carla & Douglas Robertson
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 13/09/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

If you're looking for complete peace and quiet to rejuvenate (and the gift of no phone reception!), beautiful views over the rolling countryside of Glenlivet Estate, invigorating walks, and day-trips to renowned whisky distilleries, castles, and Cairngorm ski resorts in winter, then the remote Mill perched on a hilltop is the ideal breakaway for you. The Mill is kitted out with everything you need to have a very comfortable stay, including an open fireplace and a wonderful library filled with books from owner Marjorie's treasure-trove bookshop, The Bookmark, in Grantown-in-Spey (be sure to pop in there too). Marjorie and Bill are wonderful hosts -- thank you! We hope to return one day soon.

Carla & Douglas Robertson
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 13/09/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Matheson's Croft House is an idyllic holiday home right on the banks of Loch Alsh - you couldn't ask for a more breathtaking view and a better home base for exploring the west coast and Skye. The house itself has every convenience you could hope for, including a Rayburn oven which makes the most scrumptious roasts, and lovely open fireplaces. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to complete peace and quiet and the most beautiful views from all the windows. We also spotted red deer and herons a few times in the garden. Don't hesitate -- just book. We hope to return sometime soon, as we left completely rejuvenated and in love with the west coast.

Sue & Col Kelly
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 13/09/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

An absolutely outstanding lodge very well presented with great walks from the door. Peaceful and relaxing. Would highly recommend.

Trevor Farthing
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage is terrific, very well equipped with quality items. It is extremely peaceful and in a beautiful location. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and there is much to see in the area, we loved our time there and hope to return soon. If you are looking for a holiday away from it all with peace, quiet and beauty all around look no further.

Lloyd
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

We've just returned from a brilliant week at Matheson's Croft House. The location is amazing - right on the edge of the Loch and totally secluded but within an easy drive of Kyle and Skye. The house is well furnished and was spotlessly clean throughout. Fresh milk in the fridge on arrival was a nice touch. Our kids loved the garden with the tree swings and so much space to explore. We'd definitely return! One suggestion - the track to the house has a big pothole which could do with some attention.

Susan Mordecai
Reviewed Heatherbank on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Lovely cottage with beautiful views from the garden which is very secure, our Jack Russell X Ronnie loved it. We did lots of great walks in the Glens, Lochs and at the beach. The cottage was well equipped, very cosy also.

Gareth Shone
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Absolutely perfect location.Quiet,peaceful ... underfloor heating took some getting used to, felt good though. Well maintained and clean cottage. Plenty of wildlife to see out of the front room window. Will most definitely be booking this particular cottage again!

Norman Thornton
Reviewed Ardbeg on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Wonderful Base to explore this Scenic Area. Watched Dolphins playing in the loch from the deck [with binoculars] and Pine Martins in the Garden, a Kite was nose to nose with my wife through the glass of the deck. The House had everything we could wish for all to tasteful standard, views across to Skye.

Petere
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Lovely spot, lovely house :-)

Michele Hartnell
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fersit log cottage ... great location, lovely cottage. Great to just relax and while away the hours watching the wildlife. However, it should be noted that in winter if snow is forecast it is not accessible by normal vehicles as we found out in Feb18. That aside, a fabulous, homely place. (could do with a few more kitchen utensils though ... not everyone like ready meals?)

Angela & Steve
Reviewed Aros Beag on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Very nice cottage, beautifully and conveniently situated for walks from the door, west coast railway and drives out.

Steffen Zacke
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

The cottage is situated in a spectacular location at the foot of the mountains, right at the edge of the sea. There are only three houses along a road, that follows the coastline for several miles (the road itself is not for the faint hearted, as it has quite a few deep potholes; but it is manageable with an ordinary car). The house itself is a very nicely renovated traditional cottage. It is well equipped and it is the perfect hideaway for a romantic week for two. It is well away from the hubbub of Skye and as long as the midges allow, sitting on the porch and enjoying the evening with a glass of wine is hard to beat. I can definitely recommend staying in Moll Cottage.

David & Lynn Mason
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

This is our fourth holiday with wilderness cottages in the last five years. As usual we had a great holiday and overall experience. Cedar Cottage is one of the best locations we have visited. Very comfortable and we'll equipped. Nicely located for exploring the local attractions.

Stephen H.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/09/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The house is just perfect. Located just 15-20 minutes from Portree but in it's own little wilderness at the end of a valley, with spectacular views of the Cullins. The house was spotlessly clean with a lot of attention paid to all kinds of details - it feels like a real home that someone has put a lot of effort into and not just a place that gets rented out. We loved it.

Richard Strang Steel
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 07/09/2018
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

Perfect location, stunning views and setting and beautiful house for exploring some of the West Coast around Kishorn up to Gairloch. Would definitely go again.

Caroline
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 06/09/2018
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An extremely well equipped cottage and very comfortable. Lovely Scottish feel to it and peaceful location with friendly neighbour. Delightful 'Welcome' basket and the dogs were thrilled with their treats too! Towels could possibly have been larger, especially for tall chaps! Plenty to do and see nearby for all ages. We certainly hope to return.

Dianne Raisbeck
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 05/09/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Although the pictures of Seal Skerry Lodge are beautiful, its not until you arrive that you realise just how amazing this place really is. Every window is like a picture frame, of an ever changing scenery. Seals galore on the island right in front of the lodge, make breakfast a true delight. Everything in the lodge is to the highest standard, with so much attention to detail. This is without doubt a little slice of heaven & we will defiantly be back. We have stayed in all a number of 5 star properties and this place is by far the best. Peaceful, beautiful & one that should be added to everyone's bucket list !

Amanda
Reviewed Station Cottage on 04/09/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Excellent cottage, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need, great location in centre of Nethy Bridge, fabulous enclosed garden for the dog. Definitely will return.

Alexandra
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 03/09/2018
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

We travelled nearly 3 days from the South of Germany to the Shed in Tokavaig and it was so worth it! Mary's house was a dream. Beautifully designed, clean, equipped with everything we could ever wish for. On top of it all: very happily situated with the most amazing views.

JMichaud
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 02/09/2018
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

Great stay of 6 nights in a very quiet place. Lot of things to do in the area in the nature (beach near the hut, walks, Tioram Castle, sea trip in Mallaig, steam train). We saw the pine marten each evening, a fox one evening and deers in the garden one morning! Think of 2 pounds coins to pay electricity, 2 pounds per day for us with use of washing and drying machine each day (camping before and after our stay).

R Cuthill
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/09/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. Wonderful views to Skye and we enjoyed watching vehicles travelling up and down the Bealach na Ba to Applecross. Our dog enjoyed paddling in the loch and his walks up the hills. The scenery in the area is just stunning. Can't wait to return.

Mark & Anne Garforth
Reviewed The Granary on 31/08/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

We had a wonderful holiday in Scotland and loved our stay at the Granary which was well kitted out with all modern facilities, lovely kitchen and bathrooms, very clean with plenty of space and just what we needed for a family of four. The flowers were a lovely touch and the shortbread biscuits went down a treat, especially with the kids. Thank you to Yvonne and Colin for their warm hospitality will recommend the cottage to friends and family.

Alan Brownlee
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/08/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn was excellent. Beautifully appointed, ideally located opposite The Five Sisters of Kintail, a wood burning stove and a welcome bottle of a 10-year old Talisker whisky what more could one want?

Martin Bell
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 30/08/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

A beautiful cottage in a lovely location. As a family we have come to the Scottish Highlands for over 40 years staying in many locations and can honestly say this is one of the top three cottages we have stayed at. It was very roomy, 3 bedrooms each en-suite and the bedrooms were massive with plenty of storage in each. The kitchen was well laid out with everything you would need for a perfect stay. The only negative is I cannot stay there permanently as it is now on the market to sell, and if I had the money I would purchase without delay.

Fiona Harris
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 29/08/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Pristine cottage in a spectacular location with everything that we could wish. We wanted to move in permanently, but unfortunately there was another booking after us!

Ashbys
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 29/08/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Just had another great stay at this beautifully maintained house in a peaceful setting. It is really well placed for both going to the coastal towns and going south towards Aviemore and beyond. Cannot recommend highly enough, we will be back next year (probably for 2 weeks if we can get in).

The Wests
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 29/08/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Beautiful and peaceful location with fantastic views of the Cuillins and out to sea and stunning sunsets (when the weather was right!). The tree swing in the front garden and easy access to the beach was much loved by our 9 year old daughter. Well equipped, clean and comfortable house - perfect size for the three of us. Addition of books and games were a lovely touch. Ideally situated for walking and exploring the island plus easy access to wonderful boat trips from Port Elgol jetty. We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and will definitely be back! Thank you!

Alan Clark
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 28/08/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A most delightful cottage, very well equipped and with first class "Fixtures and Fittings" Great views of a very quiet bay, and, most days, the mountains of Ulster. The whole of the peninsular is interesting and very attractive with plenty of excellent eating places. Further afield, Auld Acquaintances in Girvan served up perhaps the finest Risotto ever! The cottage has very intermittent mobile phone signal for texts, and no cover for speech, which makes for a very quiet stay. Moderate broadband service, and adequate TV (if you really need it). Great chance to switch off and enjoy the peace and quiet, the views, and the very fresh air. On the Bucket List to return!!!

Adrian Storey
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/08/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

A fantastic cottage in a stunning location. An evening spent watching 40 + deer grazing from the comfort of an armchair will never be forgotten.

Mark A N
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 28/08/2018
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Littlepark Cottage is a great place to stay if you're looking to get away from it all. The cottage has a nice, homely feel to it and is well appointed. The owner is attentive and we felt that both the owner and Wilderness Cottages had our best interests at heart. Being a dog-friendly place is a great bonus!

Susanne
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 24/08/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

What a beautiful house and what a beautiful location! We loved it very much and we felt comfortable right from the beginning. Hopefully we will be back!

Laura C
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 24/08/2018
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

A beautiful house in a beautiful location!

David Turner
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 23/08/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Fantastic stay at this cottage. Cottage has all you need - just maybe forward plan any meals for the AGA! I would absolutely stay again, no question. You want away from it all - this is where to go!

Mrs Abraham
Reviewed An Airidh on 23/08/2018
And awarded it

An Airidh

Our family spent a week in this lovely, very comfortable cottage. The island is beautiful and the cottage has stunning views around it. We couldnt have been happier in our choice of this cottage and the welcome basket was a very thoughtful gesture. Recommend highly.

Andy & Trisha Corey
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/08/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have just returned from a lovely break in Fersit Log Cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabin is lovely. It is spacious, well equipped and the furnishings are of a lovely quality. The fenced garden is superb if you have dogs and children so they have a safe envornment to run around and explore. Its lovely to see the wildlife around the cabin, our children enjoyed watching the birds feeding of the decking. The Jacuzzi bath is so relaxing. We had a great time and if you want a holiday thats is relaxing and peaceful. i would not hesitate to recomend this cottage! Thank you.

Richard Wright
Reviewed The Granary on 22/08/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Outstanding property in a great location. Cottage well equipped and very comfortable. Spacious and well laid out. Owners were lovely and helpful.

Ishaan Randeria
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 22/08/2018
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

Sgarbh Lodge is located on a beautiful hillside overlooking the waterfront. With lush green landscapes surrounding it and the infinite views all around it is the perfect place to unwind. The house itself is pretty spacious and clean, with 3 large rooms, a cosy living room and a really spacious kitchen area. It has all the white goods you would require and the owner is very welcoming.

Sarah
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our second stay in this wonderful, comfy, home-from-home cottage. A great cotttage in a fantastic location. So much to see and do. Fascinating arts and crafts, great places to eat, and inspiring scenery. The cottage and Wilderness Cottages can't be recommended highly enough.

Jjohnstone
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Very pleasant welcoming owners, there if needed. Well equipped, clean cottage with everything you could need. Very comfortable beds. Quiet, scenic location. A very relaxing break thank you.

D.Bakker
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Nice cottage, clean, easy and friendly. We enjoyed our 3 weeks holiday very much!

Timo S.
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Port Elgol Cottage offers everything, what you need for a perfect stay at the Isle of Skye. First, the views over the Cuillins are breathtaking at any time of the day. Second, the cottage is furnished very tastefully and makes you feel at home immediately. The kitchen is equipped perfectly. On a rainy day, you can choose from a big variety of board games. And when it is sunny, go on a boat trip with Bella Jane and Aqua-X-Plore within 1 minute walking distance. It was our second stay there. And not the last one for sure.

Jayne
Reviewed Don Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Had a wonderful week, staying in Don Cottage.Everything had been thought of and the welcome pack on arrival was very thoughtful and very much appreciated.The cottage was very comfortable and cosy and suited our whole family including our fur baby who enjoyed the local walks.The cottage is an ideal location for exploring Loch Ness and is within walking distance of Drumnadrochit and amenities. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Tom & Susan Parr
Reviewed Charleston on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

A wonderful cottage for families, the views are amazing and it is very peaceful.

Suzanne & Kevin + Lucy & Rosie(Samoyeds)
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our second visit to Shore Cottage and yet again lived up to our expectations. Very peaceful and relaxing, Cottage has everything you need. This time we took a bucket and spade to relive our childhoods by building sandcastles on the beach- lots of fun. Enjoyed early morning walks and exploring the area. Table in conservatory is great for completing jigsaws. We take a new one with us where ever we go. We were visited daily by robins and lots of different birds and even the odd cow came to visit and poked his head over the fence.

Mark Reade
Reviewed Moll House on 20/08/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Alfred
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 18/08/2018
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Valerie & Sean From England & Gilbert From Fra
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 15/08/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have just spent 2 weeks at Plodda Lodge and it was just paradise! The house is comfortable and welcoming, full of fascinating books and interesting artefacts. The owner Jenny is a genuine nice person who will try her very best to make your stay unforgettable. The location of the house is unique, surrounded by forest and wildlife. The garden is beautiful with numerous bird feeders and a lot of greedy birds to watch from the bay windows. There is also a wonderful vegetable patch, where you can go and pick some fresh vegetables or fruit in season every day! Walking in the woods around the house, we found an abundance of wild berries and went foraging for chanterelles mushrooms, which are a real delicacy.We found a lot of them on more than one occasion and it was a privilege to come back home to cook them right after picking. The glens in the area are majestic and serene. We loved Glen Affric and Glen Cannich but Glen Strathfarrar was beyond beautiful...a true gem! Plodda lodge is a special place..be prepared, you will be very sad when you leave!