Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1151 to 1200 of 2734


Thomas S
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 15/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

A memorable holiday in an indescribably amazing spot. Absolute silence. Best kitchen-window view ever. Incredible night sky - absolutely no light pollution whatsoever allows you to spend hours looking up at thousands of stars. Despite the remoteness, lots of local attractions, beautiful beaches and mountains/scenery to explore. Very cosy and warm cottage, easy to be nice and snug on a rainy day. Only downside was staying for one week instead of two - hope to be back again for longer!

Sue Holden
Reviewed River Cottage on 15/05/2014
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was a great place to stay, easy walk into Drumnadrochit, and easy access to both Glen Affric which is stunning and not far from Inverness and access to the Black Isle. The owners were very helpful and made me feel very welcome. It is in the lovely location and the dog loved the river being so close too.

Rob, Noreen & Lauren McMullen
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 12/05/2014
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We had a fantastic peaceful break at Guisachan Lodge. The cottage is in a great spot and ideal for anyone who wants to get away from the rat race and relax in complete comfort. The wildlife we experienced in the cottage grounds was amazing, with regular visits from Pine Martin, Hare, Red Squirrel and perhaps best of all Badgers, not to mention plenty of bird life. We would recommend a stay at Guisachan Lodge to anyone who has a love of wildlife and who enjoys peace and tranquility.

Andy & Kay Burnett
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 11/05/2014
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Fantastic location close to all the main points of interest on the Black Isle, with brilliant views down the Fairy Glen to Rosemarkie and the chance to see Dolphins at Chanonry Point. The Barn is very well equipped, warm and cosy, with Sky and wifi and a deck to take breakfast on. There are great restaurants and pubs in the area serving local produce to a high standard. Home from home for us, and we would come again with a bigger group when the other barn is ready. Thanks again to Pat and family

Boyd
Reviewed An Acail on 11/05/2014
And awarded it

An Acail

Timpson
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 10/05/2014
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Colin Gundry
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/05/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a wonderful fortnight over Easter 2014. A great location for the northern Munroes. Accommodation was fantastic - dormitory sleeping was fine for us hardy mountain types! The owners were very friendly and helpful...especially when my morning porridge boiled over the wonderful log stove! Don't be put off by the bar at the end of the lane...its a bonus ( I made great use of it after a hrs day on the Cairngorms) and is not noisy at all. There's a fab' Co-Op in Grantown too. Will return!

Eleanor McFarlane
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/05/2014
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Had a great week's holiday at The Tree House. New property with everything you need. Well located, very clean and cosy. Nice to relax on the big comfortable sofa in front of the wood-burner after being out walking all day - only difficulty is trying to stay awake !! There is a nice desk/study area which is handy if you unfortunately need to work while on holiday (our kids were studying for exams so it came in handy !).

Jackie & Chris Burke
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/05/2014
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a wonderful cottage. It has everything you need and the location is remote which suited us. The log burner is a treat on chilly nights and the bed is so comfortable you will never want to leave. The owner Jenny's own house is about a mile down the road - close if you need help with something but never obtrusive. The bird table has lots of visitors and you can walk/bike straight from your front door. Booked again to visit in October.

Mrs Margaret Knapton
Reviewed The Bothy on 03/05/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just returned from a week staying here. The Bothy is a well equipped and cosy property, the beds are especially comfy even more so after a long day walking in the local area. Many walks within easy reach of this property for all levels of fitness and abilities from Munros to easier low level walks. There are numerous places to visit within easy driving distance and good places to eat out. There is an adequate shop at Lochcarron where there is also a garage. Overall well worth a visit

Ian Lawless
Reviewed Jura on 03/05/2014
And awarded it

Jura

Warm and cosy cottage with wonderful views. Fairly remote(12 miles to nearest shop) but with very helpful neighbours and perfect for peace and quiet. Generously equipped but could do with knife sharpener and some new crockery and glasses and possibly a larger fridge freezer especially for four people.

Lindsay
Reviewed The Granary on 02/05/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Nice house to spend the week for 2 adults and 2 kids, plus dog. Lots of good walks closeby, and in a good location. Even got enough sun in April to sit in the garden.

John & Karen Edgington
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 02/05/2014
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

A stunning tranquil location set in private woodland with views across the loch with the mountains as a backdrop. The wildlife is amazing as to is the lodge, a true home from home and well equipped too. John and Sally are like old friends and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay relaxing. The locals are welcoming too and always give a friendly wave and happy to chat. A wonderful holiday and we were blessed with 6 days of pure sunshine. Will be booking again for sure.

Sally Towlson
Reviewed Aros Beag on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Great cottage, well equipped, nicely decorated. Under floor heating a real luxury - fab in the bathroom in the mornings! The music system was also much appreciated - now thinking of installing something similar at home! Location was perfect for us, with plenty of hill walking options in the vicinity. Also saw oystercatchers on the river from the bedroom window.

Carole, Mark & Holly-Anne
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just back from another fantastic week in this cottage. Excellent facilities and maintained to a very high standard. We saw lots of wildlife, deer in the garden, hare's running down the lane. We even saw Osprey this year on Loch Inch. We had the added bonus of great weather (20 degrees and sunny one day). We will be back next year.

SUE BROCK
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

WONDERFUL LOCATION, BEAUTIFUL SCENERY. THE ACCOMMODATION WAS EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE AND THE DOGS ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE BEACH! SAW PORPOSE IN THE BAY - WONDERFUL!

Alisdair Fitch
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 30/04/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Great cottage. Great location for visiting the numerous sites in the area. The cottage was well kitted out and maintained to a high standard. Our 4 yr old daughter loved everything... Sheep sleeping in the garden, looking for 'things' in the rock pools, the compost heap, exploring the heather hillocks, watching the deer on the drive, the silence at night, the shutters in the bed room and that her toys had their own bed! Wife loved the aga and the weather, I loved it all-rain or shine! Bliss

Paolo Sandro
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 30/04/2014
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

The Tree House on Skye is a five stars experience. Location is great, not to far from Portree (supermarket within 15 minutes by car) but still you retain your privacy. The house in itself is perfectly built and offers all comforts: it is warm and full of light during the day, cozy at night (the stove!); the kitchen has every possible item you might need, and all of good quality; the beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms are great! Overall, a great place to stay on breathtaking Skye!

Sue Hill
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 28/04/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We (including the dogs) love the cottage, love the location and love the fantastic walks all around - just 1 week is never enough.

Helen Laird
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 20/04/2014
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

This property is a must if you want a relaxing holiday. Our dogs loved the garden, which was safe and enclosed. The property was immaculate and well presented. The owners welcome was very warm and inviting, including the dog treats. Well deserving of return visits.

Lisa Watts
Reviewed Wildwood on 19/04/2014
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful furnished cottage with woodland stunning views. Fantastic holiday overall lots to do and see. Would highly recommend this cottage and it's location.

Catherine Beddison
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 17/04/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Superb views and plenty of home comforts in this stylish house. Bit scarily windy on the cliff top whist we were there, but situation is idyllic on a peaceful day.

Patty
Reviewed Kilcamb on 17/04/2014
And awarded it

Kilcamb

Jonathan Mosley
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 16/04/2014
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

This is a stunning property and the owner was so incredibly helpful. Couldn't fault it and we'd definitely come again!

Pam Carter
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 15/04/2014
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

A wonderful natural location and a perfect holiday destination for a very active spaniel! The trails, streams and walks from the gate at the bottom of the garden were just amazing and it was manna to the soul to just sit and watch the wildlife going about their business. The cottage was warm (roasting!) clean and very comfortable with everything we could possibly have needed. Would return tomorrow.

Susanne
Reviewed An Slinnean on 15/04/2014
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Dr A. Gallego
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 15/04/2014
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We spent a week in the Owl Cottage in Fort Augustus and it was very pleasant. It is a nice wee cottage with all we needed, in a quiet but central location in the village, and clean and in nice condition. The weather was quite variable (but there is nothing you can do about it!) but didn't get in the way of what we wanted to do. One (minor) negative point: the hot water tank is very small (20 l) so hot water usage needs to be planned in advance.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Dr Gallego, thank you for your email and feedback. We are unsure as to the comment about the hot water tank, the boiler is an oil-fired combination type and heats water instantaneously. We can only assume that the water was ran so slowly and hot, that the anti-scald thermostat operated. In theory, the hot water would flow in the cottage until the entire 12,000 litre fuel oil tank ran out.
Judy & Steve
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 15/04/2014
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Jane Hogg
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 14/04/2014
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

We had a wonderful time. As soon as we arrived we had someone take us to our lodge and show us all the workings. Lodge was very well placed, right on the river and so close to all amenities. The Abbey was beautiful but we didn't have time to spend there. We had our dog and went lots of walks. The Boathouse restuarant served nice food but we thought the Mediterranean feel wasn't quite what one would want on the banks of Loch Ness! Our cottage was perfect, extremely comfortable, cosy, loved it

Stephanie Mcbride
Reviewed Cuilfail on 14/04/2014
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Great cottage nice furnishings and very clean and tidy! We were happy to receive a welcome gift of shortbread and wine on arrival and found the location perfect for a quiet break with lovely walks in the doorstep and easy access to the rest of the area by car. Our only issue was the fencing was minimal and we were unable to leave our dogs in the garden due to other dogs on the property next door. However we would definitely return lovely cottage and gorgeous surroundings

Peter Benson
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 02/04/2014
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Wonderful! At the top of Skye, looking out over Harris & Lewis, if it's peace & quiet you are after, this is the cottage for you. Located some 30m back from the road, and with very little passing traffic, the cottage benefits from fantastic views, & wonderful sunsets. The cottage was surrounded by sheep. Just across the road is a pebble beach, which I'm sure is great in summer. The cottage is warm, comfortable and well equipped. The Aga was a doodle to use. We will be back

Tim Callaghan
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Myself and five friends spent a week here and had a fantastic time. The house is very well furnished with stunning views from nearly every window. It's location is great as well as there as its situation up the hill means a number of walks begin nearby, while Drumnadrochit is a short walk away down the hill. If you come by car and manage to do a big food shop on your way up or in Inverness this is absolutely the most perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

Hugh
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is, without doubt, the best dog-friendly holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. We first visited in October 2013, returned in January and have rebooked already for May and October this year. Location, equipment, comfort - all are excellent. Only one thing lets it down for me personally - the beds, particularly the single beds. If the beds were changed/updated, Fhaireag would be perfection itself.

CJ & Debbie Warren
Reviewed The Granary on 01/04/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Second stay at The Granary. March weather was a bit cool, but this cottage is warm and comfortable. With a long journey from California, the blackout shades in the bedrooms were most conducive to getting some good sleep. Everything you need is here for a quiet, restful stay.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

If you want secluded luxury with beautiful scenery off the beaten track, then Upper Folds is for you. With underfloor heating, wood burning fire and walks straight from the front door, what more could you wish for. Do not book this cottage if you are looking for local shops, pubs and other human company, the only neighbours you will have are sheep , deer, hares, and numerous birds......Fantastic.

Julia Bateman
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Wonderful. Amazing luxury yet maintained a rustic romantic charm. Highly recommend. Attention to detail and quality throughout.

Gary & Diane Thompson
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Had a great week at Kinloch Damph. The area is amazing and the house was very comfortable and well equipped. Look forward to returning soon.

Angela Spangenberg
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 29/03/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovley Cottage, nice and friendly owner. And a great view!

Jane Jewsbury
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 26/03/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Aro
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 19/03/2014
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

The cottage was great and the owner was really kind and helpful!

Kathy Fraser
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 09/03/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A really lovely cottage. Well deserving it's STB 4* rating. We visit pet friendly cottages several times a year and this is the best we've been to. Although its decor and furniture are to a very high standard, it still manages to be a relaxed, cosy place with a superbly equipped kitchen and great fenced in garden which Mac our springer loved. Cawdor Tavern very good indeed. We will return and recommend to others.

Kate Clark
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Had a fabulous week at this gorgeous cute cottage. A very warm welcome with lemon cupcakes, fresh flowers and a chilled bottle of white wine awaiting us. Made use of the gorgeous woodburner and had cosy evenings in, as well as a couple of trips to the Inn at Cawdor for some great food. The two dogs loved the big safe garden, and it was so peaceful and relaxing.

Jonathan Trigg
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This place is a dream come true. After spending three nights here I simply cannot think of a more perfect place to come to get a way from it all. The location is thrilling - austere and dramatic in the very best way - and the house itself is a gem. I will be returning often - since my need to get away from it all is quite pronounced. The owners are very friendly and sensitive and their excellent taste is evident both in the simplicity of the renovation and the detail of the interior features.

Mark & Jenifer
Reviewed Glenara on 05/03/2014
And awarded it

Glenara

My Wife and I stayed for a week in late Feb. The cottage is in the small village of Fort Augustus, close to the modern locks and canal, friendly pubs and restaurants are nothing more than a 10 minute walk. The cottage is ideal for two, with only a small room upstairs, the fire was well stocked with coal which made for cosy evenings and the cottage stayed warm even in February! Everything we needed was at hand, Robin the owner was very helpful and the cottage was clean and tidy.

Emma
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 04/03/2014
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

We had a lovely three night stay in the Cattle Shed and would highly recommend it. Amazing location with great views (particularly the sunrises). The cottage is cosy and well equipped with everything you need. Thanks for a great stay!

Shona Anderson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 03/03/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We returned for our second visit to Upperfolds. It truly is a 5+ star cottage. The location is stunning, a tranquil haven away from the fast paced life we lead, a place to recharge your batteries. Well done Richard and Leigh Anne your high standards of service and your eye to detail ensure your customers are made to feel welcome in a beautiful home from home, so much so we have already booked our third visit.

Mr & Mrs Wright
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 01/03/2014
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

This was our second visit to Little park Cottage in Fersit. The cottage was again in great condition and readied for our arrival. The cottage is the perfect get away from every day life & great base for the surrounding area. Walks in the local area are fantastic and as usual the weather threw everything at us including snow on the mountains setting a fantastic back drop. We were lucky enough to see the elusive Pine Martins on the final morning. Highly recommended :-) Will be back soon

Jodie Pierson
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 23/02/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We spent 5 days at White-Tail in February for our honeymoon. It was fantastic! The croft is immaculate and luxurious. They have not cut corners anywhere. The bottle of fizz and some essentials was just a perfect welcome. A truly stunning place to get away from it all and relax. Thank you.

Tom
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/02/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Katy Wilson
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 15/02/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie