Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2701 to 2750 of 2775


Emma Lea
Reviewed Charleston on 13/06/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

Fantastic cottage in a stunning location - the view from the lounge and conservatory was spectacular. The cottage was furnished to a very high standard and was extremely comfortable. Lovely and peaceful with no close neighbours! Would definitely visit again.

Andrew Gilks
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Excellent booking arrangements led to our best ever self-catering holiday. The cottage was well equipped and its location was perfect for us as keen dog-owning walkers.

Sean Gosling
Reviewed Log House on 12/06/2006
And awarded it

Log House

The log house is set in fantastic quiet relaxing suroundings with brilliant veiws and wonderful wildlife.
The log house its self is a lovely spacious well equiped place that is kept to a high standard which we will visit again in the future.

Colin Armstrong
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 11/06/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We have just returned from a week at Creag Iolaire cottage and I will say that this is a special, very special place.
When we walked into the main room after a 6 hr drive, it totally took our breath away and we felt as fresh as daisys again. Our children loved it and we all had one of, if not the best holidays that we’ve ever had.
Who needs to go abroad when you have scenery and landscapes like this.
Thank you for an excellent holiday and we will be trying to return next year.

Kathleen Wells
Reviewed Fairhaven on 06/06/2006
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Phil Callan
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

John & Vanessa Broughton
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 30/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Roger & Jan From The Forest Of Dean
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 14/05/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Graham, Elaine & Children
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 25/04/2006
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Clare & Gavin Rees
Reviewed Coach House on 19/04/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

The Yates Family
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Sarah & Robert
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

Peter & Liz Redpath
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 11/04/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We had a wonderful week staying in Hill Cottage despite a week full of weather of every description - sun, snow, hail, sleat, rain and very strong winds! The cottage was warm, cosy and very well equipped, providing us with a lovely refuge when we returned wet and wind-swept from walking in the spectacular countryside.

The view from the cottage is absolutely awe-inspirig - over the week we were there, we watched the snowline descend on Foinaven, across Loch Laxford, and the waves crash against the rocks.

We would really recommend: Sandwood Bay; the walk along the north bank of the River Laxford from Laxford Bridge; the Bone Caves at Inchnadamph; and exploring the area around the cottage and Tarbet. We found that the drive to Durness was more impressive than Durness itself but, to be fair, it was dreadful weather when we got there and nowhere was open!

For anyone with even a passing interest, the geology of the area is fantastic. As geology graduates ourselves (many years ago now!), we were really excited to dredge up those old familiar terms of Lewisian Gneiss, Laxfordian Schist, the Moine Thrust Zone and Scourie Dykes! We finally understood what they had been talking about at university and embarrassed the children with our enthusiasm!

We would like to return at some point, but would choose to visit a little later in the season when the weather is likely to be less wild, and places have opened, i.e. Handa Island and the various restaurants.

Mike Fraser/ Margaret Anderson
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 09/04/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Marie & Stephen Smith
Reviewed Giusaichean on 02/04/2006
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Shan Maclennan
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/03/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We first stayed at Bayside Cottage in late May. It was an idyllic refuge from our frantic city life in central London. Our children spent happy hours playing with an otter on the stony beach just outside the cottage front door, watching seals sunbathing a mile down the coast, playing in the soft sand and glittering rock pools of another beach a mile or two in the other direction and waiting for the dormant volcano completely recognisable on the syline of Rassay, opposite, to erupt. My son wants to ’look for more seals’, when we return this year, and he ’wants to look for sharks through the window of the tiny bedroom’ which he and his sister take turns to sleep in.

When we weren’t enjoying our childrens’ simple pleasure in this breathtaking and completely unspoiled natural landscape, we were all happy together in the renowned Applecross Inn, eating giant prawns and fantastic chips, or in the very pleasant cafe at Applecross House.

We also went on a very happy day trip to Plockton.

I cannot wait to get back to Bayside Cottage - which is so comfortable and a real home from home - to enjoy its peace and tranquillity, and to marvel at its fabulous surroundings. If we did not live so very far away we would visit much more regularly than the annual trip we have promised ourselves.

Mr & Mrs. Farrington
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 28/02/2006
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Just come back from a week in the cottage. Cannot fault the fantastic views of Loch Ness but you need a four wheel drive to get up the track before you reach it! Cottage is lovely but the heating is questionable especially when you have no logs as promised for the woodburner on your first night! Dogs loved the wondeful enclosed garden and the nearby walks. The closest pub/restaurant was actually about a mile and a half away, not exactly a short walk as stated on the website!

Margery & Norman Watson
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 28/02/2006
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

The cleanest and best equiped cottage we have stayed in and we have been in a few. Excellent for the dogs with well marked walks in easy reach. Central for most places in that area, ideal for birdwatchers.
Will definately be going back.

Steve Roberts
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/02/2006
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I have to say I’m biased, as this is a part of the the UK that I’m totally overwhelmed by. I have cycled most of Scotland and the Islands and have found this spot to be a perfect location to stop, relax and to recharge batteries. The locals are friendly and the Pub/Hotel is just along the road, so no need to cook (Tip - The Applecross Hotel bar can be very busy at weekends & in the summer. The entire menu is available as acarryout). If you are lucky, Otters, Whales & Dolphins can be seen, all from the lounge, as the sea laps feet from the front door. It’s easy with the views/ surroundings to forget the accomadation. The cottage is fitted out to a high level & I can’t wait to get back there.

Rob & Jacqueline
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 12/02/2006
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This cottage turned out to be exactly what we were looking for, a fantastic retreat. This part of Scotland in early february, was superb. If it’s peace and quiet, stunning scenery and wildlife you’re after, you can hardly go wrong by choosing Hill Cottage.

Shakera Jinnah
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 10/01/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

This was an absolutely exquisite holiday! The cottage is much lovelier than it looks on the site, the views are spectacular and the surrounding areas are beautiful. There is nothing more the owners could have equipped the cottage with - they have really thought of everything. Definitely worth visiting again, in summer, although it made a lovely Christmas break too!

Andrea Newham
Reviewed Coach House on 07/01/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Doug & Nichola
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/01/2006
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Sandy Knowles
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 02/01/2006
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Patrick & Vanessa Bevan
Reviewed Log House on 19/12/2005
And awarded it

Log House

Perfect cottage in quiet woodland setting. Very friendly and helpful owner, good walks with perfect views over Loch Ness, nice pubs. Will be back with mountain bike for a full week next time.

Mandy & Nigel Kendall
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 29/11/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We have booked through wilderness cottages before,so we had very high expectations ,we were not disappointed.This cottage is first class in every way,we had a very relaxing stay,and our two boys,jack russels,enjoyed the well marked out walks,the only down side from our point was the walks were very restrictive.If you like birdwatching like us you will be in heaven look out for local peregrin,buzzard,and dipper down on the river.And don,t forget your fishing rod, as you will regret it.

Anthony Hart
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 21/11/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

This was our 3rd visit to Rowan Ridge, everything about the place is fantastic, the accomadation thru to the setting, no fault can be found , it’s a real home from home, and no doubt we will be back again soon.

Julie Mills
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 15/11/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

The cottage, the location and the views were all stunning. We sat for a good few hours just looking at the impressive views and looking out for the local deer. We also had a fantastic time visiting Glen Affric and Nairn. The dogs loved it too!! Can’t wait to go back, hopefully in the near future.

Steve & Audrey Butcher
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 08/11/2005
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Peter & Lynn Cairns
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 06/11/2005
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Superb cottage, very well equipped, lovely and warm, great facilities, fantastic location and great after sales service as well. It may be an old cliche but it really was home from home. What more could you ask for!

Steve Batty
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 31/10/2005
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

A beautifully fitted lodge set in a secluded location. Everything we required was on hand, well maintained and presented thanks to John and Sally’s attention to detail. It’s clear they are committed to maintaining that standard as they are keen on feedback and any suggestions guests may have. Kishorn/Lochcarron and the whole of the Wester Ross area are stunning, we love it and look forward to returning.

Once again thanks to John and Sally Parker also Corrine of Wilderness Cottages who arranged everything for us.

Saana
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 31/10/2005
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Jill, Paul & Laura Baillie
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 26/10/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Creag nah Iolaire, we had really great weather which was a bonus for exploring the beautiful surrounding coutryside but we would have been happy to spend all week in the cottage!
Creag nah Iolaire is very spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The open plan style works really well and the huge picture windows frame the stunning views down to and across the loch. The walks in the surrounding woodland were great for the dog. We hope to reurn soon

Jos & Yvonne Pierik
Reviewed Lianachan on 23/10/2005
And awarded it

Lianachan

Neil Brackenridge
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 20/10/2005
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Judith & Leigh
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/10/2005
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Helen Jones (ne English_
Reviewed Larch Cottage on 18/10/2005
And awarded it

Larch Cottage

Kim & Carol Larkin
Reviewed Woodend Cottage on 17/10/2005
And awarded it

Woodend Cottage

Rachel & Martyn Clayton
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 09/10/2005
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Bing & Martin Davis
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/10/2005
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Harling Family
Reviewed Larch Cottage on 29/09/2005
And awarded it

Larch Cottage

Chris Davis & Ruth Neal
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/09/2005
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

A week in Northwest Scotland in mid September?
Hill Cottage was a great choice! Apart from the scenery, which is stunning and defies all superlatives, this is delightful, warm and fully equipped accomodation. Only a mile away at Tarbet, the Shore Line serves locally caught sea food that surpasses all your expectations (sadly now closed for the season)! The walking all over Sutherland is excellent!
Don’t come! You will hate it - leave it for those of us who really deserve it!

Alan & Pamela Mundy
Reviewed Coach House on 14/09/2005
And awarded it

Coach House

Mark & Alison Partridge
Reviewed Giusaichean on 03/09/2005
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Karl & Kath Swire
Reviewed Cnoc Eoghainn on 03/09/2005
And awarded it

Cnoc Eoghainn

Eileen McNab
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 01/09/2005
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Just back from Hill Cottage and we weren’t disappointed! The cottage was ideal and the setting was absolutely stunning; what else can I say? It was exactly what I had been looking for. The cottage was very well planned and equipped and the vase of flowers and milk in the fridge were a really nice, welcoming touch. It was great.

Marjorie Brown
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 31/08/2005
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Our holiday last week at Creag nah Iolaire was one of the best cottage holidays we have ever had -- superb accommodation in a stunning location. We were even, unexpectedly, lucky with the weather! We certainly intend to book the same cottage again soon for a longer holiday and have told several friends about it. Our only regret was having too little time to do and see everything that was available in the neighbourhood.

Peter & Lucy Snodgrass
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 31/08/2005
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Bayside cottage. The welcome of tea laid out, various foods provided and a heated house was wonderful, and we enjoyed the attention to many details of furnishing and equipment. There was a real sense of generosity at this house which we greatly appreciated. Very many thanks to the owners! We would also like to say how efficient and easy it was to book the cottage.

Anita Irvine
Reviewed Lianachan on 30/08/2005
And awarded it

Lianachan

Roger Smith
Reviewed Fairhaven on 29/08/2005
And awarded it

Fairhaven