Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1081 to 1100 of 2775


Frances Innes
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We enjoyed our week at Swallow Byre very much. The byre is very comfortable and well equipped. It is in a beautiful very quiet location. The owner was friendly, helpful and gave us a lovely welcome with a bottle of wine, homemade scones and jam. The weather was a bit mixed but there's such a lot to see and do it didn't matter. The midgies were on their best behaviour and we had only a couple bites! We would love to return again another year and would certainly recommend it.

Judy McCulloch
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Donna Collins
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Matheson's Croft House is a little jewel hidden away on the banks of Loch Alsh. The cottage has been very carefully and tastefully renovated; the furnishings are comfy but not fussy. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, and what a treat to have a chance to learn more about a Rayburn! Everything was very clean and in excellent condition. We loved the view across the loch.

Michael Varvill
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The whole experience of renting Bayside Cottage for a week this month has been delightful. One feels very privileged sitting in the sun, on the decking, drinking G&T whilst watching Great Northern Divers and Eiders a few yards away, following a few hours walking in the Applecross hills.

Patricia Brough
Reviewed Don Cottage on 28/06/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Hi just spent the last 4 days (24th /28th)June 2014 at this Cottage and forgot to write in the visitors book . This cottage and the surroundings are lovely. The cottage has a warm friendly feel to it and the owners left a welcome pack that was greatly appreciated. Everything you need is there on hand, with a lovely log fire all ready for lighting should you feel cold.Would definitely go back and recommend to friends. Its dog friendly too.

Sheila Gregory
Reviewed Christies on 28/06/2014
And awarded it

Christies

This is a great cottage in a wonderful location, high over Scourie Bay. The cottage itself is very warm and comfortable, well equipped. (Should towels perhaps be provided within the hire price?) The position of the cottage is very good for visits to Handa Island, Durness and, to the south, Lochinver. There are many glorious beaches in the area..and the wildlife is amazing! All in all, a peaceful retreat..we would definitely book again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you review and comment regarding towels, unfortunately due to the location of the cottage the owner cannot obtain anyone that could provide a towel washing service in the vicinity, hence they are not supplied. This unfortunately is common in a lot of our more remote Wilderness Cottages.
Thelma Scandrett
Reviewed Giusaichean on 26/06/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Mark Hobbs
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 25/06/2014
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Beautiful situation, 1/2 mile up a rough track off the Coylumbridge to Nethy Bridge road. 2 double bedrooms which are very comfortable.. though bathroom is downstairs (quite steep stairs) so be aware of this if you have to get up during the night. Kitchen is well appointed, and Conservatory (modern addition) provides a perfect place to appreciate the sounds of nature. We took a collapsible Bird Table which attracted Woodpeckers & Siskins. Thoroughly enjoyable, if you accept the age & location.

Sam Murphy
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 24/06/2014
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Very central location for walking the great glen. Accommodation was good although the second bedroom was small perhaps better suited for a family than 4 adults. Overall we had a great time and would definitely consider booking this accommodation again if we were in the area.

Lars Gadow
Reviewed Timber House on 24/06/2014
And awarded it

Timber House

A perfect place for holidays on Skye. Fantastic views over the bay.

Teresa Paige
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/06/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

This cottage has the most fantastic setting, with wonderful views of loch ness. the cottage is beautifully decorated with everything you could need, the road up is a bit of a challenge but would not put us off staying again,definitely recommend this cottage, the owners were very helpful too.

Heinke & Axel Renfftlen
Reviewed Callakille on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Callakille

"And the cares of tomorrow can wait 'till this day is done". And we were really far away from all sorrows and trouble, only surrounded by the Atlantic Sea, the Highlands cattles and many many sheep. We felt like in a wonderful dream. The cottage has such stunning views, is so tastefully furnished, a real sanctuary! Best regards from Germany, Heinke & Axel.

Frances Armstrong
Reviewed Toberaie on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Toberaie

If you want a peaceful holiday away from it all then Toberaie is the cottage for you. The only neighbours are the deer and pheasants. The views of the mountains are to die for and the cottage itself was very roomy and comfortable, and very well equipped. We would certainly recommend it.

John
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We loved Katie's Cottage. It was remote, very clean and great for our wee dog. We felt at home and immediately comfortable in the cottage. We struggled with the wood burning stove. Had difficulty keeping it lit, not sure if it was a problem with the stove or our incompetence. Katie's cottage is located amidst beautiful scenery in a stunning part of Skye. We would recommend it without hesitation.

Tim Wilcock
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Very well equipped and comfortable lodge with a fantastic view over the the firth and mountains. A very warm welcome from Donnie was a lovely start to our holiday. This property is very well placed to explore the whole north of Scotland as all routes lead away from Inverness. Nearer home great walks in the surrounding woods and countryside. Plenty of good places to eat locally. Thoroughly recommended.

Huw Lewis
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The modern, well-kept interior and unique location are strong features of this cottage. Walks and bike routes from the door mean you don't need to use the car much once you are here. We've reccomended it to a couple of friends and would definitely return.

Linda Lee
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 20/06/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Ideally situated for town and walking, red squirrels seen playing in the garden. A bird watchers paradise. Everything you could need in the lodge, very clean and comfortable.

Rob Mawson
Reviewed Christies on 20/06/2014
And awarded it

Christies

Very nice cottage, great location with fantastic views over the bay, and still handy for Scourie. Only negative is that there was no garden furniture to enjoy the fine weather and views.

Maria Abrahams
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 20/06/2014
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

A wonderful cottage superb location with views to die for. We found it a home from home in all respects and the privacy was very much appreciated. We found the steep track to the cottage fine as we have a 4x4 but would imagine it to be hard going in the winter but it was all part of the charm of the location. Where else can you sit in the evening eating your supper and see eagles flying over and around you? Superb. Creag nah Iolaire is the best in 10 years of holidaying in the Highlands.

Malcolm Conway
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 17/06/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

carole malcolm and two border terriors stayed at hhc in june for one week lovely cottage visited many places around the area found the secret beach which is a little difficult to get to but worth it the dogs loved it the only down side for us was the garden pond area is totally different to the website pictures it is overgrown and one of are dogs was forever in the pond which is quite dirty