Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 41 to 60 of 2651


Jason Janice & Chalky.
Reviewed River Cottage on 01/06/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was the perfect place a lot of thought had gone into this little place it was home from home. Relaxing,quiet,peaceful.

Charlotte Whitelaw
Reviewed River Cottage on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Well equipped comfortable cottage in peaceful riverside setting. Enjoyed late suppers on the shaded veranda accompanied by the sound of the river and birdsong. Thoughtful owners who allowed us our seclusion.

Mrs P Riley
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

This cottage is absolutely delightful, we were a family of 6 adults a toddler and 3 dogs. This cottage covered everything, the garden is enormous and a river running at the bottom beyond a fence, a rocky shallow river with plenty of trees all around, there are 2 other cottages either side of it but not intrusive in any way. There is plenty of parking for 3 cars and a garage with bbq, table and chairs. The house was large enough for everyone not to be in each others pocket. could do with a few more appliances in the kitchen, perhaps a slow cooker and toastie machine? Sky TV is basic but you haven't gone all that way to watch TV! WiFi could be intermittent when it wanted. If your not built like a cocktail stick I suggest you take your own bath towels as they're only small. But, we coped very well, only there for a week. The views are wonderful, very rugged compared to the other side of loch Ness. Beautiful dark lochs, forests and mountains. We had a Pine Martin at the bottom of the garden one day, that's how remote it is. If you want peace and quiet, this is the spot. Only traffic is logging wagons and the school bus in a morning. the log burner was lovely in the evening. Very central to go anywhere. Lots of places to go. Nearest little shop is in Foyers, got most things but a bit expensive, but she has to make a living. All in all a fantastic week, not one of us wanted to go home, so I can highly recommend Balmachree for your holiday *****

Susan Price
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous place, owners very welcoming, a modern log cabin very tastefully decorated, wood burner was great, right in the heart of Grantown on Spey lovely historical town, plenty of walks nearby in Anagach woods, with loads to see and do.

John Hearn
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

Perfect if there was a bath.

Alan Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great 2 weeks spent at Lilybank Cottage... although we knew what a high standard the cottage sets it was nice to see that the cottage has been tastefully redecorated to its usual high standard and I am sure the new fencing around the garden will be appreciated by young families & pets. Will be back in October and will book for 2/3 weeks next year. Thanks again for returning my wife's jewellery ...!! Alan Denise & Ben

Deborah
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is warm and comfortable and in a stunning location. Wildlife all around. Great for a base to explore the Highlands. The garden is not entirely dog proof as my dogs were able to get through the wooden 5 bar gate and the choice of white leather furniture and a cream and red rug was not the best choice when you have dogs either.

Stewart
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This was a lovely, peaceful place to stay. The cottage was very well equipped, very cosy and had beautiful views. The large garden was fully enclosed and the dog loved it. I would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.

Toogoolawa
Reviewed Sixgeary on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

It was a joy to stay at Sixgeary. The design and layout was perfect; It was immaculately maintained, extremely well equipped and in a great position. The wifi was very good and a bonus was being able to watch Netflix. Fiona, the Housekeeper made us very welcome. Geary is a small community with no facilities but we didn't have any problems using Sixgeary as a base to explore Northern Skye. We have used Wilderness Cottages on several occasions to stay in different parts of Skye and have been very happy with each of the cottages in which we've stayed and service provided by the Company.

Sue Sutton
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous location- we were fortunate to see otters from the cottage window. The views are spectacular, the cottage, comfortable and very well equipped. We had a great holiday, and will definitely return!

Rosand
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely, quiet cottage with very helpful hosts. Perfect for a relaxing break.

Caroline
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

A beautiful cottage that has been renovated to a very high standard. It has everything you need plus more and is very spacious. We also found the location very good to explore the area. Jeff and Jacqui are very knowledgeable on places to visit which was very helpful as this was our first visit to Scotland. We would definitely recommend Arrivain Cottage and hope to return.

Anne Price
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Beautiful location and cottage. Views are amazing but we were up in the cloud for two days! Saw sea eagles on the last day - better sighting than the ones from the sea eagle boat trip that morning! Cottage is very well equipped with everything you need including maps, books on local area etc. Would recommend to those who don't mind being in a quite isolated location and single track roads to get to it!

Shirley Rose
Reviewed Charleston on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Unfortunately I was unable to go on my much anticipated holiday as I was in hospital. However my brother his partner and Bertie the dog had a wonderful time. They told me that the cottage was amazing, especially the garden room where they spent many hours watching the wild life and enjoying the views. Bertie had a wonderful time with all the space to run in and explore. They said that everything you could think of was provided, the peace and quiet and the outlook were perfect. I'm so upset that I couldn't go, but we hope to go again next year. Thank you so much to the owners for allowing us the use of their property.

Kate Pickett & Richard Wilkinson
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a magical week in the Timber House - it is so serenely beautiful and we loved watching the seals in the loch. The house is really special, very calming and very comfortable.

Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

if you're looking for a totally relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting in first class accommodation Pooltiel House fits the description.The cottage is a pleasure to stay in with all the features and home comforts you could ask for,clean and spacious and an amazing sea view.

Veronica & John Cook Plus Czar & Woody Cook
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutely fabulous. 2nd time we've been and there will be a 3rd and 4th. The cabin is superb and it's the best sleep that we've ever had. You want for nothing. If you want hustle and bustle this is not for you. It's the most relaxing holiday ever, and the dogs came home for a rest!!!!! GREAT TIME WAS HAD BY ALL

Jane Collins & Nick Gardner
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This is a fabulous place. A gem of a cottage with a fantastic view. We were welcomed with a tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge. The kitchen is well stocked but make sure you buy fresh food for the weekend in Inverness or nearest big town. However there are also great places to eat out including a lively and very friendly pub. Fantastic walks around the area in fine weather but also a lovely open fire to laze in front of if it gets a bit chilly. Amazing sunsets over Rasaay and Skye. We would highly recommend the cottage to friends and family - in fact we already have!

Anne & Adrian
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Absolutely amazing place.. location, cottage and weather all great. Loved being able to walk from the door to the beach and woods... 7 red deer passed through the garden most evenings.. otter and seals swimming just yards away and the stunning mountains of Skye as a background... wonderful

Peter Hellsten
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have had the most wonderful time at Plodda Falls Lodge and could not have dreamed of a better place to stay. It surpassed our expectations as it felt more than a real home than a holiday cottage. The kitchen is very well equipped, both living rooms are super cosy, homely and decorated beautifully. We loved all the art work and Jenny, the owner, has gone to great lengths to ensure this historic building retained its character and charm. The surroundings are just breathtaking and we enjoyed stunning woodland walks, the waterfall and gorgeous Glen Afric. This place is a secret gem and we definitely want to return to spend some more relaxing holidays there. Thanks Jenny for making us feel so very welcome. :-)