Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 3350


Joyce & Flo
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 12/03/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

The main things about this cottage are its situation, which is wonderful and how clean and comfortable it is. If you would like a quiet holiday in spectacular scenery, surrounded with wild life, then this cottage is for you.

Sally B
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 09/03/2019
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

2nd time at Tor Fionn-stunning views of loch,comfortable cottage-excellent kitchen-diner. Healthy staggering distance from Lochcarron Hotel-excellent beer and food. Dog friendly.

Susan Holland
Reviewed Ardbeg on 08/03/2019
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Starting with wow!! And ending with a wow!! The whole experience was so easy, from choosing to booking etc. And Ardbeg was amazing, perfect on every aspect from quality fixtures and comfort, location, the view was beautiful! The welcome pack waiting for us, how long have you got? We will definitely return.. soon x

Wendy & Derrick Cobden
Reviewed Sealight on 07/03/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

We loved Sealight clean well equipt and a beautiful house, we met Marty the pine Martin every night, seals and I'm sure a sea eagle sighting. Fantastic place.

M Whiting & G Norman
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 07/03/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Second time booking with Wilderness Cottages both times 100% positivity. Excellent booking system, very accurate advertising, absolutely beautiful cottage we've just stayed in. Definitely be booking with Wilderness Cottages again?

The Ward Family
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 06/03/2019
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Braehead Steading was a fantastic place to stay. The house is really lovely - warm and spacious with everything you could need. The area is perfect for outdoors activities - mountains, lochs, rivers, easy walking trails for the children, less than an hour from the coast and airport. The village is about a mile or so along a flat path (The Deeside Way) with some great cafes. Tourist info centre is very helpful too. Highly recommended!

Alan & Kirsten
Reviewed Heatherbank on 06/03/2019
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Heatherbank was a lovely peaceful cottage. We had a brilliant week away. Very much enjoyed the stove after many long walks in Assynt. Lochinver Larder was great for pies too. The dogs loved patrolling the garden on a daily basis.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/03/2019
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This was our 3rd stay here, it's become a yearly retreat for us now & it was fantastic as always. Gordon & Margaret are great hosts, we walked for miles by the river Oich, had a couple of days in Fort William, visited Eilean Donan Castle at last and generally relaxed for 10 days. Lovely sitting at the fire at night with homemade soup & board games/cards. Be back next year again?

Brian
Reviewed Sealight on 25/02/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Splendid house in a great location with everything you could wish for. Very easy to find and excellent service from Wilderness Cottages whom I have used previously and would have no hesitation in using again.

Phil & Celia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 21/02/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage lived up to our expectations. Jane and Chas gave us a warm welcome and then left us alone to settle in but were around if we needed anything. Although it was February we saw a hare and some deer on our first full day and Eider on Loch Ryan the next day. We visited the lighthouses at both ends of the Rhins, had a walking tour around Stranraer and a lunch in Portpatrick. There are some nice gardens a short drive from the cottage but most are closed in February. It was great having the sea view first thing every morning and there was no light pollution in the evenings so the stars were easy to see.

Lynsey
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 21/02/2019
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

We had a lovely week in Reyflat Barn: it was our second visit and we really enjoyed the opportunity to return. The Black Isle is a lovely place to visit - all the benefits of somewhere rural and coastal, but with Inverness nearby. The sitting room in this property is especially nice - very comfy with lovely rural views. The cottage is cosy and well-equipped and Pat gives a lovely warm welcome (complete with excellent homemade scones). Thanks for having us - we hope to come back again!

Alexander Bankier
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/02/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolutely jem of a retreat

Paul Crick
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/02/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Wow! What a wonderful cottage this is. Tucked well away of the beaten track, this beautiful cottage is exceptionally well equipped for a very comfortable break away from it all. With views across the Irish Sea to Northern Ireland, we were blessed with spectacular scenery, blissful walks and jaw-dropping sunsets from our vantage point in the lounge and on the shoreline which is two minutes walk from the front door. Chas and Jane are thoroughly charming and helpful hosts who made sure we could find everything we needed and find our way around the surrounding areas with lots of helpful suggestions for days out and places to go. Seascape Cottage was well equipped for our four-footed companions and it was clear that they were completely welcome. We couldn't recommend this cottage more highly for those wanting to disconnect from the busyness of the world for a little while. We will be back :)

Robert & Allina Cross
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/02/2019
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic stay in an amazing cottage in the most perfect location for us. The location of the cottage exceeded our expectations, with fantastic views during the day and clear star studded night skies for the duration of our stay. We had daily visits from the deers and having arrived a snowy blizzard the snow remained with us until we left. The cottage itself is a joy, warm and cosy with everything you could need, a perfect bolthole. No internet or phone signal is a bonus, and even though the road/track is interesting in the snow it great fun and all part of the experience. We wouldn't have missed this break for the world - just perfect. This won't be our last visit.

Celia & Howard Walsh
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 13/02/2019
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Excellent service from Wilderness Cottages; totally hassle free ; Shore Cottage is in a beautiful remote location and fulfills everything it says on the package, peace and tranquility; would have just been happier with a mobile phone signal

Rosemary & Andrew
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 13/02/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Spacious, warm & cosy cottage set in woodland on the Dava Way so ideal for walking, cycling and running from the garden back door. Our birthday week was made memorable by arriving after dark in snow. Good facilities for self catering and good base for exploring historical sites such as Culloden battle site & Fort George and a tour of Brodie Castle; Black Isle & Cromarty, and coastal walks at Findhorn and Nairn.

Susan
Reviewed Fhaireag on 12/02/2019
And awarded it

Fhaireag

A beautiful house set in a wonderful location, we couldn't fault anything about the place. It was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy and had everything there that we needed. Being able to watch the abundant wildlife all around the house was amazing and the views were stunning.

Jeanette
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 02/02/2019
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We were very cosy and comfortable in Tigh-na-Craobh. I very much appreciated the the modern living, eating and cooking area and well equipped kitchen. No need too eat out when there is so much to be enjoyed in the cottage. A super cottage in a fabulous part of Skye with lots of great walking from the doorstep.

Samantha Gilliland
Reviewed Charleston on 30/01/2019
And awarded it

Charleston

Absoloutely perfect 18 night break at charleston as always Situated in the most peaceful of settings with beautiful panoramic views of the Monadhliath Mountains and an abundance of wildlife including the rare red kite. The property is immaculately clean and spacious with extra touches such as a welcome basket filled with lovely treats and little tubs in all 3 bathrooms full of essentials to make your arrival all the more welcoming (and of course fluffy white towels) There are also dog treats for your four legged friends!!! They really have thought of everything including wifi for the younger ones and sky. I can not recommend Charleston enough and we will certainly be back as soon as possible . Thank you

Jenny Youl
Reviewed Sealight on 29/01/2019
And awarded it

Sealight

Exceptional property, absolutely top drawer. The view across the loch was beautiful, the weather changing the colours frequently. The underfloor heating kept the house incredibly warm & cosy. And there was the fire to enjoy too. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen was provided. It was a real wrench to leave.

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 27/01/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Our second visit in less than a year and we will be back again and again . The breathtaking views are always there no matter what the season. We saw otters in the Loch , Pine martin in the Garden and large Red Deer Stag at Glen Shiel. The barn is equipped with everything you need and as been lovingly converted with a lot of thought into the perfect getaway from it all holiday accommodation. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location don't waste any further time, book Leachachan Barn. Five Star and some .

Morwen Mands
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 25/01/2019
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

One week at the glorious Seal Skerry Lodge for my 40th birthday. The house was immaculate, beautifully decorated, had everything you could possibly need and set in the most stunning location. The owner was very helpful and provided quick responses to any queries. There is a fantastic and friendly village store 2 miles away in Glendale which has everything you need. The 3 chimneys restaurant is roughly 5 miles away and Neist Point is only 3 miles from the house. I was sad to leave at the end of the week, a real home away from home, can't wait to return and would highly recommend.

Ingrid Phillips
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/01/2019
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

A group of old friends travelled to Marnie's Croft to spend Hogmanay together. Marnie's Croft was fabulous. The space, with open plan kitchen, dining and living room, worked so very well for us all- it gave us the opportunity to all be together, whether relaxing infront of the wood burning stove, or cooking- it gave great interaction. The house is warm and comfortable. Good beds, well equipped kitchen, clean and cosy, with the most amazing views across the loch. Close to Inverness, and local shops near by meant that picking up supplies was easy. This was such a lovely place to stay- we would definitely consider returning

Vicky B
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 21/01/2019
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

A lovely cottage, we stayed the week after Christmas. The cottage is very warm and cosy and the real fire was a real a real bonus as it was a chilly week. There are plenty of walks from the cottage. The cottage is so beautifully located being on the Loch so the views from kitchen are stunning and ever changing. The local amenities are fab, the local Spar has all one would need and although the cafe over the road wasn't open during our visit I know it's worth a visit.

John Davies
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 21/01/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn the area and the service from Wilderness cottages was exceptional. We have never stayed in such a well equipped and comfortable cottage. Wilderness cottages answered all our requests promptly and the barn exceeded our expectations

Paul & Caroline
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/01/2019
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

We had a lovely stay over New Year. The lodge had everything you could wish for and everything was top quality. Sitting in the hot tub under the stars on a cold winter evening was magical.

Peter Brown
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 18/01/2019
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Stayed in Plodda Falls Lodge from 5/01/2019 - 12/1/2019 and had a thoroughly wonderful time! Although we had been forewarned about the state of the road on the drive up to the Lodge it really wasn't too bad. When arriving at the accommodation we were met by Jenny - an excellent host - who provided us with the information we needed without being too interfering. (Cake was an added bonus) The property was in excellent condition and the gardens and the surroundings all added to the splendour of this property. Particularly enjoyed the quite easy walk to and from Plodda Falls itself - well worth it any time. The property was ideally located far enough away from others to feel isolated but close enough to have pubs,shops etc within easy reach. How nice the property and the surroundings were left one with the feeling of being fully refreshed by the end of the holiday. Well worth a visit!

Shirley Winchetsr
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our second time at this cottage. A lovely restful week.We saw an Eagle hovering directly over the cottage 50 ft up, several deer walking past the cottage in the evenings, a seal, a Heron every day. A lovely clean and warm cottage, beautifully presented with lots to see and do. Highly recommended.

Edward Ewart
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

We had a superb time at the highland resort. The accommodation was good but the only reservations we had were that Sky TV was included in the package which was not the case and the soundproofing between the two houses were poor due to noisy neighbors. This somewhat was a disappointment on the break in general.

Julie Mcdiarmid
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Fon Tobar is a wonderful property in a great location with fantastic sea views. The wildlife in the area is amazing; sea eagles, golden eagles and red deer to name a few - all seen from the property. I have been visiting Skye for over 20 years and this is the best property I have stayed in. Returning later this year. Highly recommend.

Zoe Green
Reviewed Callakille on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Callakille

It is getting harder and harder to leave this wonderful place on the Applecross peninsular. Staying at Burnside is the highlight of our year. Thank you for sharing.

Ruth S.
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

First time booking with Wilderness Cottages. Extremely helpful and efficient. Cottage was delightful. Perfect location, beautifully furnished and equipped, and immaculately clean. Just ideal for a restful break in Scotland and close to so many great places to visit. Warm, cosy and welcoming.

Tara O
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Absolutely beautiful barn, literally couldn't of asked for anything more. I suggest reading some of the comments in the Vistors Book for tips on things to do and see in the area, really helpful. The views of the loch and mountains from the barn are breathtaking and hosts were super helpful throughout our trip.

What's Not To Love
Reviewed The Bothy on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

The Bothy

What a fantastic place to welcome the New Year - truly getting away from it all, tucked away in a little piece of Scottish heaven. Just WOW! Fabulous cottage with everything you could need. Beautifully appointed - a real home from home. Cosy log fires at night. Peace and tranquility. The comfiest beds. Breathtaking scenery, with amazing walks, literally on the doorstep. Loved everything about our week at The Bothy. Simply magical.

Emily M & Friends
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We stayed at The Mill for New Year 2018-2019 and could not have wished for a more lovely way to start 2019. We were greeted with the warmest welcome and a spotless house. The views over to the central Cairngorms are fantastic and we roamed around the Glenlivet Estate and nearby hills from the door. The house had everything we needed for cooking, finding our way around (lots of maps and guidebooks) and relaxing (lots of great books, games, very comfortable beds and a warm fire). We loved staying here, have already recommended it to family and friends and are trying to figure out when we can come back!

Joanna Love
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/01/2019
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A most enjoyable new year break in a delightful, cosy, well-equipped cottage with the seashore not far from the door. Owners Chas and Jane gave a great welcome and I then had all the privacy desired. Great location for exploring Galloway.

Alan + Joan
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/01/2019
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

With all daughters now n mid twenties, a first - away for a week from the madness that is Christmas. Could not have wished for a more friendly, peaceful + relaxing location. Jane is fabulous, Byre very warm and well kitted out. Favourite memory among many will be star watching in the early hours of Christmas morning - clear skies and a couple of shooting stars !! Highly recommend and we will definitely return for another week of relaxation. Many thanks !!!

Alexandra
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 06/01/2019
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

Pros: Beautiful & spotlessly clean house with stunning views from all windows. Contemporary Scandinavian style interiors. Garden runs directly down to the Loch with a seal colony playing close by. Only a couple of miles to Dunvegan with petrol station & shops. Cons: Nearest mobile phone signal is 1.5 miles drive around the headland. Limited WiFi (10Gb per week) negates use of the smart TV for streaming. Not a suitable property if you need to be online for work. No bath. No upstairs heating.

Dave Bennett
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 04/01/2019
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Best cottage ever. We loved every single second at Cedar Cottage and were very sad to leave. It is a special place. So much thought has been put into the cottage and we loved the kitchen, so well-equipped. Perfect for our dog as garden is enclosed. Loved watching the birds. Such a peaceful retreat. Very much appreciate the impeccable cleanliness, attention to detail and the welcome chocs and milk etc. We will be back.

Robert Gray
Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 27/12/2018
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

Well to start off we got upgraded to the barn and it was excellent me and my wife were over the moon it was huge, had everything in it that you could need. Both bedrooms have their own bathroom, kitchen was huge and everything in it, all rooms done to a high standard and the garden very big as well, very peaceful just what me and the Mrs wanted. Claire and David the owners are very friendly and nice people left us a nice hamper and milk and things very nice of them, thank you so much for our stay we will definitely be back and our dog had a lovely time too loved all his nice walks around the fields.

Mr & Mrs Coleman
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 19/12/2018
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

The cottage location is beautiful, facilities provided are ample, however, the cleanliness of the cottage really let it down and this is the first time we were told to strip the beds on leaving, a bit of a cheek when we had to clean it upon arrival. We would not recommend this property. Given two stars purely for location

Linzi C
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 18/12/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a stunning place! The property was absolutely gorgeous and the surroundings were incredible. We stayed a week and had such a lovely relaxing time. There were plenty of walks straight from the door and Plodda Falls were only a 10 min walk away. I can't describe how amazing and tranquill this place and the setting is, you have to see it to believe it. The owners were there to greet us and had baked us a delicious cake! I have never met hosts so friendly and welcoming before! so thank you for sharing this amazing corner of the world with us and opening your arms to us.

Mr & Mrs Coleman
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 15/12/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our third stay at this cottage, never disappoints, it is like home from home. Excellent facilities and the property is clean and well presented, will be back again. Managed to see Doc Marten (pine Marten) for the first time, hungry chap!!!! Lovely area for walks and cycling, not far to Fort Augustus either.

A McLeod
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 11/12/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Thanks very much for a wonderful stay at the Tree House. We found it to be very comfortable and cosy. The kitchen was well equipped and both bathrooms were great - big rain shower and a huge bath! Everywhere is decorated to a high standard and the place is very well situated for exploring the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we are ever lucky enough to return to Skye we wouldn't hesitate in coming back to the Tree House

Visser
Reviewed Log House on 07/12/2018
And awarded it

Log House

The house is very nice and is situated in one of the most beautiful regions in Scotland. In summer it is an absolute stunner. In winter however, it would be nice if the cottage would have been pre-heated before arrival. It takes a few days to get all the cold out. The equipment - kitchen, bathroom, wood stove, wood - all very complete! We would certainly return, but not at this time of year. And, a personal welcome would be very much appreciated.

Richard
Reviewed River Cottage on 06/12/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed at the River Cottage for 5 nights, in December, What can I say... What a lovely place, amazing location for getting around the Highlands, (hikes and places to visit) very peaceful and great for your four legged friend (gated) John and family where very nice and very very helpful. The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. Will definitely be back again. Thank you.

Jennifer Harrid
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 05/12/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautiful cosy house with amazing views. A great place to unwind. Would definitely recommend.

Vicky Wall
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 05/12/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Wonderful stay in this uniquely placed remote cottage where one can get so close to nature, and take in the fabulous vistas. Saw red deer, eagles, numerous other birds but our favourite is the pine marten who visits the bird table every night. Put out fat balls and scone drizzled with honey. He cleared the lot! We will return. In fact have already booked for next year. Highly recommended.

Lawson
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

This was my second trip to Station Cottage with the first being before the additional en suite bedroom was added. This is a great addition to the cottage. As it was November it was nice to be welcomed with the heaters on and table lamps lit so that it was very cosy on arrival. I had a good few days and hope to return when the days are a bit longer and bit less chilly outside.

Caroline Pennington
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/11/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We have stayed at Upperfolds twice now and will do again. The house is warm, inviting and utterly gorgeous. Walks from the door in every direction and wonderful peace, just the sound of the birds. The place could not be better in any respect