Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2001 to 2050 of 2734


Kim Mills
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 17/06/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was our first time at Katie's cottage in Skye. The cottage has been very tastefully and sympathetically renovated and met all our needs. It is in a good location for further exploring - Nest Point, Talisker Bay, Glenbrittle Forest, Three Chimneys Restaurant. The views across Glendale were very beautiful. Would highly recommend this cottage in the future.

Jo Phillips
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 17/06/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our 3rd excellent holiday at this cottage. its a lovely, clean cottage in a brilliant location and just perfect with its well equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer for all the wet towels our family has ! Have already booked again for next year!

George MacDonald Ross
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 16/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

The view from the garden is stunning: straight across Loch Laxford to the whole ridge of Foinaven. The drinking water tastes lovely, and don't worry about petrol - the garage at Scourie functions 24 hours a day.

Sally
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 16/06/2011
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

What a brilliant little place. Me and my husband stayed for a week in June and could not fault the cottage. It has everything that is needed and more for a comfortable stay, you just need to bring you food and you're set. It is ideal for two and the location is just a bonus. The town is lovely, the scenery wonderful and there are great places to walk, Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle being only a mile away. The city of Inverness is just a short drive and has all the shopping you need.

Tracey Hemsley
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Ernie & Pat Scales
Reviewed Giusaichean on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Ernie & Pat Scales
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

This was our first time here and we were really impressed. Woodside is nicely, and secludedly, located above the shore of Loch Kishorn with a great view of the Bealach Na Ba.there are local amenities (sea food restaurant and shop) and Lochcarron shops are a 10 minute drive away. The garden is fully secure and there's plenty of wildlife to see. The owners, Sally and John are most helpful.

Mr & Mrs Cunliffe
Reviewed Glenara on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Glenara

A delightful little cottage with everything you need. The position of this cottage is fabulous and within 1 minute of the shops and pubs. A great owner who gives you a real welcome and is on hand to sort out any problems ----which you will not have. Suited for a couple or a small family. It is also a dog friendly cottage. We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend it.

Eileen & Frank
Reviewed Charleston on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Charleston a property in Errogie approx 18 miles from Inverness it was our 4th visit and wont be our last a beautiful property in an wonderful setting. The peace tranquility and views cannot be rivaled.

Angela & John Hunt
Reviewed Ardrannach on 14/06/2011
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We spent the first week of our honeymoon in Mr and Mrs McPherson lovely cottage and were made to feel very welcome. The peat fire was very cosy and the cottage was very comfortable, spacious, with everything we needed and lot more. Excellent location to explore the island and very handy for Portree. Views were fantastic, would highly recommend staying here as cottage is excellent. Thank you for helping make our first trip to Skye very enjoyable and special.

Thomas
Reviewed Glen View on 13/06/2011
And awarded it

Glen View

Dot & Paul Schindler
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/06/2011
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Have recently returned from our fourth visit to Pine Lodge. As always, cottage was clean, comfortable, warm and peaceful; John and Sally friendly, helpful but not obtrusive. The view from the cottage is spectacular and the wildlife outside the window kept us entertained: at least 11 species of birds around the feeders, deer at the end of the garden and we were privileged to have 10 visits from a pine marten. Beautiful scenery wherever you go. Have already booked holiday number 5 - can't wait!

Pam Handyside
Reviewed Callakille on 10/06/2011
And awarded it

Callakille

The Paiges
Reviewed Loch Ness Water Mill on 09/06/2011
And awarded it

Loch Ness Water Mill

Robin & Sue Potts
Reviewed Ardrannach on 08/06/2011
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Delightful, comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting. Fantasic views from the big picture window in the lounge - the only other houses in sight were on the distant island of Raasay. We loved the peat fire and the peace and quiet! The path to Portree and back around Ben Chracaig add to the delights. Well equipped and cosy.

Clive
Reviewed Charleston on 08/06/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

May 28th- 4th June. Had a great holiday. Charleston was very spacious, welcoming, well equipped and with added extras. Lovely views and walks around the area. The girls enjoyed flying their kites and it was a fantastic place for dogs - especially letting them out in the morning within the enclosed garden area. Would definitely visit again.

Jane & David Wing
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Hilda Blythe
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

SARAH WEST
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage provided us with the perfect base for a holiday on the Applecross peninsula. The cottage was welcoming, well equipped and full of books, games and maps. The deck provided us all with a great venue for socialising at breakfast, dinner and tea when the sun was shining and we thought we were in the Carribean ! If rock pooling, wildlife, cycling, walking and community are your thing, then this is a perfect base.

Paul Edmondson
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

May 28th to June 2nd 2011 had a great week relaxing with my family I will be using Wilderness Cottages again

Peter & Anna Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 06/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

No TV, no telephone, no mobile signal, no wifi, no neighbours, no traffic. What more could you ask for? We really don't want any more people to know about Hill Cottage because we would like to find a vacant week for a third visit. Sutherland is awesome. Dealings with Wilderness Cottages excellent.

Sue
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/06/2011
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Hallam Family
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This was an ideal property for us. The lay out of the bedrooms was brilliant, as one couple with their children slept upstairs, the the other couple slept downstairs well away from the noisy children!! The cottage is very well presented and spacious. The children and the dog loved the garden. The cottage is in a very good location, approx half way up the Loch Ness, with fantastic walks on the door step. I would give this property 10/10.

The Grimmond Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 04/06/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovely cottage,peace and quiet,fantastic views. Location of the cottage above Urquhart Castle is magnificent. You can just simply chill out and enjoy the scenery or,if you want to be more active, there is lots to do:lovely walks nearby, cruises, horse riding, visit the castle, Culloden etc. We had a magical family holiday with relatives from USA and Canada who were overwhelmed by the beauty of this place.

Marius & Helen
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 02/06/2011
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Janice
Reviewed Rhundunan on 01/06/2011
And awarded it

Rhundunan

28th May 2011 Had a lovely week at Rhundunan (despite the weather) the cottage was excellent, well equipped and the views were spectacular. Would definately recommend this cottage.

Rosalind Bailey
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 01/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Hill Head Croft was a very comfortable retreat for our week's holiday and the garden and views were beautiful. There was plenty of space in the cottage for us all and the aga in the spacious kitchen was a godsend! Sadly the weather was diabolical so we weren't able to take advantage of the pretty garden but we had some amazing walks in spite of the weather and the Dores Inn was not too far away for us to enjoy its super atmosphere and wonderful food. This part of Scotland is so beautiful.

Viv & Phil Stockdale
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Margaret & Faqir Kallow
Reviewed Loch Duich Cottage on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Loch Duich Cottage

Zoe Hobbs
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

The cabin was very comfortable and well equipped and the Jackson family made us very welcome but were not at all intrusive. The beach at Shandwick Bay is beautiful, within walking distance and usually deserted - perfect for long dog walks. It's a great location to tour the North Highlands which is stunning! Didn't find much in the way of pubs or restaurants to get excited about but there is an excellent fishmonger / butcher / local food supplier in Tain.

D. Davies
Reviewed Chapel House on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

John Methven
Reviewed Achnahanat on 30/05/2011
And awarded it

Achnahanat

Elinor & Ronald Bird & Backen
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 25/05/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Mrs Harris
Reviewed Wildwood on 25/05/2011
And awarded it

Wildwood

WOW, from the moment we turned the corner and saw our cabin it was like being in paradise, it was as magical inside as it was out, we didn't want to leave the children all decided that we should buy the cabin and stay there forever, it was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of life and look out onto so much beauty the cabin was set out perfectly, we are one hundred percent going back next year

Malcolm & Alison Jenkins
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/05/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnies Croft is one of the best Holiday Cottages we have ever stayed in. I just don't know where we will ever find such views again. It was so quiet and peaceful and had everything we could ever need. Could have stayed there for ever and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much

Fiona Thompson
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 24/05/2011
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Nicki Wright
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 18/05/2011
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Adam Kerr
Reviewed Deer View on 17/05/2011
And awarded it

Deer View

Greg & Anne
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/05/2011
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

An excellently equipped and stylish cottage in a remote (ish) location. Excellent base for walking. We hope to return to Fersit Log Cottage and do all the hills we didnt do this time around!

Carey Ann Corrigan
Reviewed Callakille on 17/05/2011
And awarded it

Callakille

Astrid
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 15/05/2011
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a very pleasant stay in Ceol na Mara. The cottage is comfortable with a great view and the beach on the doorstep. The kids enjoyed themselves on "our own beach" while we sat in the garden enjoying the view. We are already considering returning next year.

Karen Astill
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 15/05/2011
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Just had a brilliant week at Burnside of Geddes. A really well renovated cottage and all the facilities and equipment you could think of. A chilled bottle of wine and home made cupcakes made us feel very welcome and we were sad to leave. The area is great and very quiet which is just what we wanted. Hope to be back in the future.

Sarah Davies
Reviewed Old Net Store on 10/05/2011
And awarded it

Old Net Store

Tim Barnes
Reviewed Whitestone on 07/05/2011
And awarded it

Whitestone

Great stay at Whitestone for a long weekend. The house had all we needed: was in excellent condition, clean, had all the utensils and equipment for our stay, was quiet, and easy to find. Would certainly consider a return visit!

Kelly Kocher
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 06/05/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We stayed at the The Coltsfoots the week following Easter and had a wonderful stay. The cottage is lovely and warm, furnished to a high standard and equipped with everything you would ever need. We loved the bottle of wine and carton of milk that waited for us in the fridge, as well as the tea and biscuits on the counter. There is a creek running near the cottage and it is surrounded by woodlands. A short walk to Ft. Augustus makes the location perfect. A 5* place!

Helen Janousek
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 06/05/2011
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Tracy Aziz
Reviewed Temple Mill on 06/05/2011
And awarded it

Temple Mill

Anja
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 05/05/2011
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

John & Gill
Reviewed Ardrannach on 05/05/2011
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We agree with all that Mr & Mrs Hatton have written about Wilderness Cottages, Adrannach and the owners of the cottage. In addition to their comments we would also say that the covered back porch was very useful for leaving the dog out while we walked into Portree for the odd evening meal and/or drink. It is possible to walk into Portree in 10-15 minutes via a footpath from the cottage. Very good in terms of being able to drink and not drive!

Sue Mann
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/05/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

We stayed at Old School 10 for a week from 25th April to 2nd May 2011 and just did not want to leave. The setting in The Abbey was so peaceful and quiet. The apartment was beautiful and clean, with lovely views right next to the Caledonian Canal and with Loch Ness at the bottom of the 'garden'. If you are looking for peace, tranquility and a comfortable place to stay I would highly recommend the apartment.