Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 501 to 550 of 2798


Rhona S
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a gorgeous, peaceful, tranquil place to holiday. The cottage is delightful, down a long wobbly farm track. If you want to get away from it all this is your place, with no mobile or wifi reception. You will be surrounded by an abundance of wildlife to keep you company. In our one, hot and sunny week, we saw Hares, Pheasants, Roe dear, Grouse, Seals, Otter, Heron, an abundance of colourful little birds with delightfully inquisitive cows for neighbours. Dally Bay and beach is a very quiet little beach, just a couple of minutes walk from the front door, where our little dog enjoyed running around. This is a perfect spot to explore the Rhines of Galloway and surrounding area from. The owners of the cottage live in their own house just behind, and are on hand for advice of the area, yet very respectful of your own privacy. Highly recommended for a restful holiday, in Southern Scotland.

Simon Pountney
Reviewed Sixgeary on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A superb cottage that is in a great location if you would like to experience the peace and solitude that Skye offers. Cottage is really well equipped and has everything needed.

Bart (Dutch)
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Fantastic place to stay a week (or more, much much more......;-) Has everything and is really well situated (both for privacy and to explore Scotland).

Lorrain & Arthur Fenning & Gizmo The Dog
Reviewed Fhaireag on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just wanted to say that Fhaireag was an outstanding property. Immaculate presentation with everything you would need and more for a relaxing holiday home. Ideal setting with stunning scenery, wildlife on your doorstep and lovely walks. Would highly recommend a visit and we will be defiineatly be returning at some point.

Jackie McCarten
Reviewed Kimberley House on 15/06/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

A beautifully renovated upside down cottage to take advantage of the amazing views of Findhorn harbour. Would definitely book again.

Clarkie
Reviewed Wee Dram on 14/06/2016
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Location: Excellent - The setting and views are stunning. Set overlooking the river Spey and within in easy walking distance into Aberlour along the river. Aviemore - the Cairngorms, various distilleries and historical sites are all within easy reach. Accommodation: Excellent - a well appointed cottage with a wood burning stove; Perfect! Hosts: Warm and welcoming - Knowledgeable and well informed about the area and the region. Overall, we had a very calming and relaxing stay. The cottage is beautiful and has been carefully and tastefully presented. We loved it. Very much enjoyed the whole experience and have recommended the Wee Dram to friends and family.

Billy O'Reilly
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 13/06/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Very nice lodge with excellent facilities. Clean, tidy and a comfy bed. In a prime location for exploring and walking. Near by bakery very good (especially the donuts!). Always good to come back to a warm fire. Very recommended. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Karen & David, Scotland
Reviewed Log House on 11/06/2016
And awarded it

Log House

Well, we are just home from our stay in The Log House and we had a great time!...1st we'll say if you can get the weather then the garden is a suntrap and we were lucky as it was sunny for nearly the full week we were there... The house itself is clean and we found it very easy to stay in, everything we needed was there and funny enough for a house out in the woods we found only 1 spider, and i think we disturbed it or it would've stayed in its corner... We saw deer out front and there's a bird table round the side where we saw, and got great camera footage of, tits, finches, robins and a woodpecker!! The centre of Fort Augustus is a couple mins drive or about 20-30 walk and is easy to get to, where there's a shop for groceries, some pubs, lots of souvenirs, a cruise onto Loch Ness and of course the Caledonian Canal... From the house there are walks direct down to the River Oich and through the forest and a few mins drive away you can walk upwards, the views are brilliant! As we said earlier, we had a great time..if u decide to book here we hope you do too ...

Soya68
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 10/06/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We have just had a fabulous week, the weather has been spectacular! The location is perfect, just behind Portree, 10 minutes walk down a path to the main town (much longer by car; limited parking in Portree); there is a circular walk just below the cottage. From this cottage, you can easily explore the island. The cottage has a lovely enclosed garden; it has a well equipped kitchen; it is very spacious (only two of us + a large dog); as there are so many walks to do on Skye we are planning to return here (to this cottage) in the future.

Couple With Adult Child From Belgium
Reviewed The Granary on 10/06/2016
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary was the very first place that we rented in Scotland and we had a wonderful week. The house is excellent and stands head and shoulders above the rest of the accommodations that we have stayed at since then.

Jenni & Brian
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 09/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This cottage is a gem , tastefully furnished and everything you need is provided.location absolutely perfect the sort of place you would travel to for great walks shoreline and rock pools etc Jane and Chas, owners just could not be more warm welcoming , nothing is too much trouble for them ,we really appreciated their kindness. Very dog friendly we are returning ASAP !!!

Pippa Lally
Reviewed Gate House on 09/06/2016
And awarded it

Gate House

We had a lovely holiday. The Gatehouse is spacious and well equipped. The oven, although electric, is very efficient and much better than mine at home. The fridge freezer is a good size. We even found that sainsburys delivered which was a huge help.

Carol Morris
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/06/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Our second visit to White-Tail Croft and it lived up to our expectations again. It's a beautiful, well designed building and everything you could possibly need is there. Very special to sit on the decking watching eagles soaring overhead. Peace and quiet in a stunning location - we will be back!

Peter & Carolyn Hanslip
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

A very attractive, clean and well equipped cottage in the most stunning setting. Very peaceful with amazing views straight down Loch Kishorn to Skye. Lots of information to help you make the most of this beautiful corner of North West Scotland. Rather more expensive than we would normally choose, but the whole experience was definitely worth it and one we hope to repeat.

Mr & Mrs Seymour
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Wilderness cottages are very helpful and like to make sure you enjoy your holiday, as we did, nothing was to much trouble, and the price is very reasonable, the cottage we stayed in was very comfortable and well equipped with everything you could possibly need, i would recommend it to my friends and family, we had panoramic views of the mountains and enjoyed our stay in Scotland, we will return one day.

Timo Riiali
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Debbie Lindley
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We had a wonderful time at the cottage, the photographs don't do justice to the property, Its well equipped, spacious and very clean. We had long lovely dinners chatting around the large dining table as well as curled up in front of the log fire. The dogs loved the safe enclosed garden. We visited the Foyers Falls and the fantastic cafe with home cooked cakes.

The Leggies
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

Stayed at Moat House 9 - Abbey in the May half term, and have to say it was fantastic! Our Moat house was lovely and clean on arrival, and had a bottle of wine, shortcake biscuits and some milk in the fridge along with tea and coffee! Kitchen had everything you needed, including dishwasher and washing machine (even had tablets and washing tablets supplied!) The living room was very comfortable (had Sky and dvd player) as were the bedrooms. Lovely surrounding around the abbey, and a 3 minute walk from our Moat house and we were on the banks of Loch ness.........you'll find a restaurant here too 'The Boathouse' which was superb!! Had a swim in the swimming pool, which also had a sauna and steam room, and although fairly small, was enough for us. Fort Augustus is only a 3/4 minute walk away which was nice to have a stroll around, and Fort William is about 3/4hr away. Weather was perfect too for us! Will definitely return!!!!!!

Jo Jones & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our second visit to Charleston at Errogie, and once again it was amazing. The house is so well equipped and comfortable. The views are breath taking, definetly a place to recharge the batteries! We do hope to return very soon.

Lauren & Andy
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a fantastic week staying at Cuaig Croft and didn't want to leave. It is positioned in a beautiful location which is peaceful and picturesque. The garden was perfect for our dogs and a stunning beach is only 10 minutes walk away. The cottage was lovely; well decorated, clean and very comfy. It had everything we wanted, including a good store of general store cupboard ingredients. We would definitely recommend this cottage as it is a hidden gem. We would love to stay again.

Mel Hudson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

This was very comfortable lodge in a great location. Would recommend anyone to this accommodation which is in a quiet location with superb views over the Beauly Firth. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Jo Smith
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a very enjoyable stay at Stablemans, the lodge is really well equipped. It is tucked away so nice and peaceful, but only 5 minutes walk to shops pubs etc. It is an ideal base for touring the National Park. I would highly recommend it, I would definitley stay here again if visiting the area.

Harvey Rhodes
Reviewed River Cottage on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

Had a great week at river cottage from 28th May. Property very clean with everything provided. John and his family were very friendly and helpful if you needed info. Handily situated in mid Scotland in a great scenic area. Would recommend and hope to visit again.

Duncan Collier
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

This was an excellent chalet with lots of privacy and stunning views of the 'Bialach na ba' on the Applecross peninsula. The weather was wonderful and the stay was further improved by nightly visits to the garden by a Pine Marten.

The Milner Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Fabulous cottage. Fabulous location. Beautiful scenery. We would recommend to anyone that books it that they would not be disappointed.

Liz Stead
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 06/06/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Wonderful, secluded cottage with an incredible view. Comfortable and well equipped. Ideally situated for exploring Applecross, Syke ,Lochcarron etc. One of the best places we have stayed and would highly recommend it.

Chris
Reviewed The Bothy on 05/06/2016
And awarded it

The Bothy

Stayed at The Bothy. Clean and comfortable. The booking arrangements through Wilderness Cottages was very good. Owners were friendly.

Richard Schoppler
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 05/06/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage with most things you,d need.Fabulous views out to Raasay island and mainland mountains.Owner very responsive and caring when problems arose.Would book again.

Hanson Family
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 04/06/2016
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

If your looking for peace and quiet in a fantastic location this is the spot. Lovely home with everything you need, wifi very slow but don't let that put you off as there is the great outdoors option just from your door step. The owner and staff very helpful and a cheeky bottle of wine and shortbread were left for us to enjoy. We also had a heat wave so didn't need to venture far. Cycling, canoeing, fishing and walking the dog not forgetting sitting in the sunshine. Have to say the views are spectacular from all windows in the house, it was hard to leave the little piece of heaven. It was nice to be surrounded by trees not always an option on the west coast. Thank you for allowing us to share your lovely home. PS no sheep around the house!

Frank Kennedy
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

This was the second time but not the last that we have stayed at " our " cottage this was a little peice of heavan on earth. The cottage just could not have been better,the weather that we had was perfect ( average 24c )

Kevin Thompson
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Our 2nd stay, brilliant location, secluded and very quiet

Carolyn & Antony
Reviewed Upper Folds on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage was well worth the wait lovely, well equipped, warm and comfortable and in a wonderful peaceful place close to great walks and wildlife, we and the dogs enjoyed every second and the enclosed garden was a bonus keeping the sheep at an acceptable distance from Brand and Ela . worth five stars all day long

Anne & Marcel
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Terence Allen
Reviewed Callakille on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

What a fantastic week we had with the weather and a superb location. Very comfortable and had all we needed for a restful week. Put a chair at the top of the cliff and you could sit there for hours looking at the view and the odd Eagle!

Sheena Craig
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a beautiful cottage in a spectacular area. Ideal for a quiet and peaceful break. Wildlife is on your doorstep literally, deer hares buzzards and of course sheep. The cottage itself is immaculate and very cosy giving a relaxed atmosphere. Will be back as soon as we can. The dogs loved the large garden area and was very secure from the sheep. All in all a lovely break

Liz Taylor
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We absolutely loved our week at the Old lock keepers cottage, it was so peaceful and relaxing.the cottage had everything we needed and more, books games DVDs , and the sun room was fantastic to watch the boats every day, the owner called to find out how we were enjoying ourselves, which was very kind. Our only problem was, that we only booked 1 week, could have stayed for 2 very easily. My husband fished every evening, and caught a few too. Will certainly be back next year .

Fiona Low
Reviewed Sixgeary on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Enjoyed our stay in Geary. House was modern and well equipped. Great views across to Uig .....which was amazing on sunny days - yes, we did have them!!! Well thought out facilities and can't wait to return!!!

C Foulger
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Spectacular and stunning location for a holiday cottage, although for the first five minutes of arriving at Hill Cottage I must have said "Wow" about thirty times. The panoramic view over Loch Laxford and the surrounding mountains was magnificent. The cottage is cosy and well equipped, with a large, fenced garden surrounding it. We lost count of the different bird species we saw. We were lucky and had warm sun for a week which always helps. A brilliant place with no neighbours so if you have been searching for isolated or remote cottages on the net, then Hill Cottage fits the bill perfectly. We will definitely return.

Marilyn Hobbs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

This was our second visit to Fersit Log Cottage, and there WILL be a third...... Lovely, well equipped cottage, and setting. And an abundance of wildlife. We have used Wilderness Cottages for 14 years, and they have never let us down.

Anitaj
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Had a super stay. The cottage is in a great location with beautiful views. Very clean and very comfortable home from home, with everything you need. Great time was had by both dogs as loch is just across the grass at front of cottage. Great to relax on the patio with a glass of wine and look at such beautiful scenery with peace and quiet. The neighbours are very friendly to.

Mr & Mrs Lee Pateley Bridge Northyorkshire
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We had a very relaxing time at hill cottage the piece and quiet and wild life was fantastic , we were there two weeks but wanted to stay three , but sadly it wasn't available, it's easy to lose your self in every day work and life hill cottage helped us to find our selves again we both said it was the best holiday we had ever had and we would go back if we could , we would recommend hill cottage to anyone who has lost them selves in life and work but go for two weeks to truly unwind and enjoy it it's worth it .

Mr Weeks & Family
Reviewed Gate House on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Gate House

Lovely cottage in a fantastic setting,really enjoyed the views of loch mhor.was a good base to explore loch ness and many other places of interest,with Culloden battlefield probably my favorite,stopped for a week ,could have stopped a lot longer,great cottage,great holiday!

Carol Flood
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Coltsfoots in May, lovely clean and comfortable accommodation that provided everything you would need, fabulous location where you feel away from everything but all amenities a short 5 minute drive away, both myself and my husband have limited mobility so the accommodation and location were perfect. We would certainly like to visit again and would highly recommend to all our family and friends.

Jan Malcolm Jane Steve
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had two great weeks. The cottage was very clean and well equipped and comfortable. Great walks from the door

Janet & Colin Holter
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at the delightfully tranquil Kincardine Cottage. Very much "away from it all" but very close to the amenities of Aviemore etc - a lovely base from which to explore the caledonian pine woods & the greater Cairngorm area. The daytime temperature during our 2 week stay varied between 6c & 25c(!), but we found the cottage comfortable & warm - the log burner was most welcome during the colder evenings, whilst the conservatory & garden furniture was well used on the warmer days. Thoroughly recommended.

Peter & AlisonWalters
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A wonderful weeks stay in Tigh-na-Craobh.The house had everything we could want and was a great place to come back to after a days walking. It was situated well for the Co-op in Portree and its lovely restaurants. We did a boat trip from Portree and were rewarded with a sight of a white tailed sea eagle and dolphins. Unforgettable holiday cant wait to return.

Doug Geater Childs
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We found the cottage to be charming but were unable to locate the two standard wheelie bins but instead two black plastic dustbins, information on how recycling is done in this council area would have been helpful. All in all a great place to stay

Richard Jacobs
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

White-Tail Croft was everything the other reviewers have noted and more. For us it was a gorgeous refuge for a week of typically changeable Skye weather, and looking out of that picture window while the weather systems were in constant flux overhead was an absolute treat. We too enjoyed the local wildlife, including the resident sea eagles. And it was perfectly located to enjoy all that Skye has to offer. I can honestly recommend this cottage with absolutely zero hesitations, thank you to the owners for presenting such an impeccable experience.

Lynn McMahon
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We booked this for our silver wedding anniversary. We had a fabulous time. The weather was hot i was looking forward to lighting the log burner everyday but it really was tropical up in the highlands. Waking up to the loch and the sun everyday heaven! The barn is kitted out with style all mod cons that u need. Dogs loved the garden and were safe as no where to escape. Would love to go back.

Julie & John
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 31/05/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Outstanding cottage. Could find no faults at all. So peaceful that you can hear the silence. Excellent location for climbing the Munro's within that area. Would highly recommend.