Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 851 to 900 of 2734


Barbara Van Brummen
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry is a beautiful place to stay. Cosy, well decorated and well stocked kitchen. We loved the log burner and watching seals and a sea eagle from the comfort of the lodge with the telescope- fantastic really would recommend the lodge.

Lesley Drummer
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a wonderful week, with some Mediterranean weather for half the week, to boot. The log cabin is a delight. Its location is idyllic. The owners are to hand and come out to welcome their guests but otherwise are just there if needed. The cabin is beautifully presented in every room. The kitchen is very well supplied with everything and a nice gift is left for arrival. It is great for dogs, not only inside but the secure garden is perfect and walking is on the doorstep. Super place and we are back in a few weeks

Matthew
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Lovely - and truly exceptional services. Within 24 hours I received in the post my invoice (!) and when we arrived they had thoughtfully provided some milk and a welcome basket and even some wine to help us feel at home. The cottage was great and well appointed and presented. Very cozy and beautifully situated against a wonderful backdrop of mountains... The weather wasn't great but that's one thing no one can control!

Andrew M
Reviewed Balachladdich on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Balachladdich

Balachladdich is really comfortable, welcoming and well kitted out and is a fantastic base for any visit to the area. This was our second year of visiting in October so the sitting room fire was a big draw in the evenings as usual as well. Thoroughly recommended ...... (but don't tell everyone - it might catch on!)

Leo Fallon
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and really well situated. We had a brilliant, hard earned & relaxing holiday. You couldn't ask for more from a holiday home.

Elizabeth Eglinton
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 10/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

I stayed in Seascape Cottage for four nights, along with my sister and my German Shepherd dog. The cottage is situated along a farm track and looks out over the fields and the bay. We were welcomed warmly by Jane, the owner, and also by the neighbour cows! Everything in the cottage is of a high standard and we lacked for nothing as it was very well equipped and comfortable. The views from the cottage and down on the bay were beautiful. Although it was November the weather was kind to us and the sunsets were stunning for our first two nights. The dog loved the field across the road as well as the bay where she could run as much as she liked. We visited Stranraer and Portpatrick (where we had lunch in the Crown Hotel as they allow dogs in the restaurant.) I would be happy to recommend Seascape Cottage to anyone.

Brenda & Margaret
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Me & my neighbour take our dogs away every year because of the fireworks. Cottage is best I've stayed in very comfortable and very clean was a real treat. Everything you could need is there. Great area to walk dogs and no noise they had a great time. This is the first cottage we've went to that I'd definitely go back. The owner was lovely and helpful but it's all about the cottage just so comfy and clean it makes you feel relaxed and the views are to die for.

Emma Baumber
Reviewed Grain Store on 01/11/2015
And awarded it

Grain Store

Excellent late booking couldn't have been more pleased. Fabulous barn with lovely views completed by a pleasant owner. Will return for sure and for a longer visit so we can explore the surrounding walkways. Aviemore is about a 40 minute drive away for more than enough activities for the family in one place. When you get back from a day's activities the Grain Store has all you need for a relaxing evening. Is the perfect place to stay anytime of the year.

Mr Grant
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 31/10/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Great holiday cottage very clean and welcoming loved every minute

Alan Gray
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 31/10/2015
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

Total peace and quiet. Beautiful walks on the private estate (wear sensible shoes). The drive up to the cottage is an experience but once you're up there the view over the Glen is spectacular. No Wifi but a game of cards and bingo around the log fire was really homely. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will book again next year.

Catherine
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 30/10/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Characterful and comfortable cottage overlooking a spectacular bay in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland

Peter B
Reviewed Sixgeary on 28/10/2015
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Fabulous. This cottage is in a superbly isolated location, and as such benefits from very dark skies - perfect for star gazing or aurora hunting. Cloud cover permitting of course. I've never seen so many stars in just one sky before, absolutely amazing. The cottage itself is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean - the cleanest I've yet stayed in, and the housekeeper keeps hens, who lay the most delicious eggs. Miss them at your peril! You'll need a car, because it's miles from almost anywhere. But if you seek peace and solitude, comfort and warmth, and a view to die for, then you've found it here. The kitchen is very well equipped with anything you could need, and cleaning materials, dishcloth, loo rolls, logs, kindling, and matches plus other essentials are supplied. Bedlinen is sumptuous and cosy. Beds are divinely sleep inducing. Sleep with the front blind open and wake to the view over the loch. Heavenly. Would I book again? Yes, in a heartbeat! Go on, spoil yourself and book this lovely cottage today :)

Kath Thompson
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 27/10/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Lovely cottage, warm,welcoming and an ideal location for walking and for travelling further afield. Great view of Loch Ness from the drive and at various points along the road. The weather held out for us and was fine except for the odd light shower. Rained on the day we left so didn't really affect us. The secret beach was peaceful with lovely views too. Very dark and peaceful at night so a good nights sleep is ensured.

Aberdeenshire Family
Reviewed Franks on 27/10/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Robinson Family
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 27/10/2015
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

We had an excellent stay at Moat house 9 during October 2015. The house is well equipped of a suitable size and well situated. The communal facilities are a bonus, the swimming arrangements require a little thought as at times several families/individuals are using the communal pool together which can be 'cosy' in the very small changing room, best bet is to change at your house first. Fort Augustus is spectacular this time of year and literally 10 minutes walk along the Caledonian Canal you are away from the village and surrounded by rolling hills and Scots Pine trees. The Caledonian Canal is an Engineering delight, always something going on there. Loch Ness is its usual dark and mysterious self. The local shops are within walking distance and well stocked.

Annie
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Great holiday house in a fantastic remote setting and very well equipped only did feel as it was advertised as having disabled access and has a wheelchair ramp it would have been good to have a grab handle and non slip mats in the showers

Colin Levey
Reviewed Don Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Well presented, spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a lovely countryside setting - far enough away from the main town of Drumnadrochit nearby, but well located for exploring the surrounding areas. The cottage was cosy, with a great coal fire, and the kitchen was spacious, with a nice area to enjoy meal times. The cottage is decorated to a very good standard, and was very inviting on our arrival. We especially enjoyed the welcome of rose wine, whisky and shortbread - much appreciated, and a great start to our holiday, which helped set the mood for our following week. We were fortunate with warm and sunny weather for most of the week, and had great fun exploring the surrounding areas!

Helen.
Reviewed The Granary on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely cottage. All our pre-ordered shopping was put away which was brilliant and we were left a bottle of wine, a cake and flower. Really thoughtful generous touch. I would just point out that the photos are a little out of date as there is a large hedge now, outside the front door across the drive so it is more enclosed than we thought it would be. It was not a problem. Would recommend staying there.

Gillian Teanby
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a great week at Poulary Cottage in Glen Garry. A comfortable cottage in a fantastic setting. I enjoyed using the Stanley Range! Lots of wildlife to enjoy both around the cottage and in the Glen.

Alex P
Reviewed Lilybank on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

We chose Lilybank at the last minute due to it's location and it being close to other family members also holidaying locally. We were expecting it to be good but it was so much better than we could have hoped for. The location is excellent, perfect as a base for exploring both North and South and the setting of the cottage is perfect, so beautiful and peaceful. The first thing that got me was the silence of an evening, as someone who lives in a busy city and works in London it was simply unreal. The cottage itself was very well equipped and everything we needed could be found with ease. The rooms were spacious and the whole place felt like a home from home. The only slight issue we had was that the cottage can get quite cold however there are supplementary plug-in heaters in each room that can turned on or set on a timer. Of an evening it was a case of firing up the log burner and this created a wonderful warm place to relax. I would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone thinking about a break in the Highlands; we are already planning our return visit for next year and may even take our summer holiday there instead of heading abroad (it really was that good!)

Norah Knox
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 18/10/2015
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous! The Lodge had everything you could want. It was very cosy too. The log burning fire had the whole place toasting. We hope to go back again the next chance we get.

Tom Bartran
Reviewed Wildwood on 16/10/2015
And awarded it

Wildwood

We loved our stay at Wildwood. Peaceful setting, close but not too close to Fort Augustus. Clean and pleasant cabin. Would definitely recommend.

Andrew & Kay
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/10/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic week staying at Leachachan Barn. It's hard to imagine a nicer and more relaxing place to stay. The accomadation was everything we expected it to be from reading previous reviews. A credit to the owners.

Joanne
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/10/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Enjoyable and relaxing cottage in a peaceful loaction. Great facilities and comfortable.

Jane Crichton
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The many bends and dips of a road to nowhere lead you to White-Tail Croft. What awaits you makes every twist and turn worthwhile. The house is furnished and equipped to the highest standards, meeting every need. The focus is on quality and comfort to ensure visitors can enjoy all home comforts while experiencing the raw beauty of the Skye landscape. The croft is indeed located in a wilderness that contains a range of wildlife and scenery that changes almost by the hour. This is the perfect location to unwind and relax and also a good base to explore other places on Skye. We stayed at WTC last summer and were impatient to return this autumn. We enjoyed our visit immensely and our only gripe is that our time there passed by far too quickly.

Jan Brown
Reviewed Balmachree on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

Just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at the property with family and 3 dogs. Balmacree is a home from home with wonderful surrounding countryside. Had a great time. Only criticism is there was no inventory that we could find to report glass damage to glass door and worktop marks on arrival. Would definitely recommend though.

Alison & Terry - Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a wonderful week in Seascape. A beautiful cottage, well kept, with amazing views and coves within minutes away. If you want peace, quiet and a relaxing time in beautiful surroundings, this is the cottage for you, the owner Jane was very welcoming and knows all about the area and surrounding places to take our dogs. We will definitely be back!

Ralph Kirk
Reviewed Lilybank on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

We had a great week Lilybank. The home was better than described on the website and served as a perfect base for exploring the Scottish Highlands. We had a minor problem with a tripped circuit breaker, but were able to get instant help by calling the number provided in the instructions for the house. Highly recommend it!!

D & L Williams
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We loved Katie's cottage! Natural and charming with traditional features. Impeccably clean and had everything required for relaxing break! We were especially grateful for wine, eggs and dog biscuits thoughtfully left for us. Ideal cottage for dog owners - safe enclosed area for dogs to enjoy and practical utility room on entering cottage. This was a cosy haven to return to after daily hikes in the surrounding area.

Sally Muir
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Absolutely gorgeous house in a wonderful position, the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely linen and masses of pillows, the view is sensational, the design of the house, ideal. It's been equipped beautifully so you have everything you need, but it's wonderfully uncluttered. We would very highly recommend it.

Donna & Chris
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

This was our 5th visit to Skye in just over a year and Pooltiel House is the best cottage we have stayed in. The welcome gifts were a lovely touch. We loved everything about this cottage right down to the excess of cups so we could use the dishwasher effectively. The only things I would double check for our next visit and there will be one is that there were pegs but no outside washing line that we could find and there was an ironing board but we couldn't find an iron. If we were there for longer this would have been an issue. Back to the plus side again, we saw 2 auroras from the cottage on the same day, morning and evening. If you are thinking of booking this cottage stop thinking and go for it.

Carucha Schwencke
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at PIne Lodge this summer. The owners gave us a very warm welcome on arrival. The location, accommodation with ample facilities were just perfect, and not to forget the views....simply awesome! Highly recommended.

Irene Hill
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Spent a week with family in this wonderful property. Having two bathrooms was ideal. The house was equipped with everything you could want - it's obvious that the owner is a chef as the kitchen exceeded our expectations. The renovation has been very well done and the overall result is so stylish. As for the views! The harbour, the loch, the mountains all at their best in the autumn sunshine - we even had a display of wildlife from wagtails and hawks. The single-track road had its challenges but had plenty of passing places. The immediate vicinity was extremely hilly and not for anyone with walking difficulty. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our break and definitely recommend Taigh Druim.

Mr M Roper
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 11/10/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely acomodation in beautiful setting. We really appreciated the welcome pack including chilled bottle of wine waiting us in the fridge. The cottage was very clean and well provided. Wood burner and jacuzzi bath were much appreciated after our long walks and climbs. Really enjoyable stay.

David Farquhar
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/10/2015
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We found Cuilfail to be very cosy and comfortable and perfect for anyone with a dog as the large garden was securely fenced. The local hotels and restaurants are well worth a visit for good food and they allow dogs which is a plus .We would certainly be happy to visit again

Frans & Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Upper Folds on 10/10/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a wonderful time in Upper Folds. The cottage is the best we have ever had. It is located in a beautiful area in the hills with beautiful views, very quiet. Inside it is beautiful decorated, the ray-burn is great and we sit many times in the conservatory to look outsite. We hear the grouses and see pheasants en deer! The big garden was a pleasure for our dog Ghillie!. We had wonderful weather, 21 C and sit outsite on the bank only the midges!!! We make several walks in the surrounding. The welcome was very warm, flowers, wine, biscuits, chocolate, thank you so much! And the cottage was so clean! Everything was there incl. wood and coals. We come sertenly come back.

June Culley
Reviewed Charleston on 10/10/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a fantastic stay at the Charleston, the bungalow was very comfortable and clean with ample space for a large family. Our only criticism would be that the double shower in the master bedroom did not drain away and the fridge freezer was in need of defrosting which meant that the freezer drawers would stick and the fridge collected water and was in need of wiping out each day. There was also only one shelf at the bottom of the fridge which made storage of fresh produce awkward. The Charleston was very well equipped with all the usual appliances and we thoroughly made use of most of them all including the slow cooker and hand blender !!! We would most definitely like to return to this beautiful scenic bungalow and feel that if the above issue with the shower and fridge freezer were addressed then would be worthy of a higher rating. Many thanks to the owners for their most welcome basket of goodies, we truly were sorry to leave. :)

Lisa Staynings
Reviewed Glenara on 08/10/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

Glenara was a very comfortable cottage with all the amenities you would expect. It was well laid out and very comfortable. The double bed was very comfortable and I have it on good authority that the single bed was also very comfortable. Robin the owner was the nicest most accommodating person I have met and couldn't do enough for us. I would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone who likes the simpler, quieter life.

Becci
Reviewed Lilybank on 08/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

I am pleased will picked Lilybank for our stay in Fort Augustus. We needed a base as I was running the marathon and this cottage was in the perfect location. Stunning views literally on the doorstop and a clean, tidy well equipped house. Hope to return one day.

Brenda & Terry Tong
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/10/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Had a wonderful holiday. The cottage is very comfortable and well furnished. There are some wonderful walks locally and the cottage is well located for touring the area. We would definitely use this cottage again.

Phil Elderton
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 07/10/2015
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Second time staying at this lovely cottage. Fantastic setting overlooking Loch Ness. Since last stay new double glazing and curtains put in. Well equipped and comfy. Will book again for next year.

Gerry
Reviewed Achbeag on 07/10/2015
And awarded it

Achbeag

Cosy and comfortable cottage in a fantastic location on the Wester Ross Coastal Trail. The drives, walks and coastal scenery is spectacular.

Helen Jones
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 06/10/2015
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Littlepark Cottage was in a good location to explore nearby Fort William and the Ben Nevis area to the west. If you wanted to journey south the Argyll and Bute coastal route was very picturesque. Towards the north you could journey to the picturesque port of Plockton near Skye and the Cairngorm Mountains lay to the east. However if you just wanted a beautiful scenic home form home where wildlife was certainly in abundance then you could do no better than this lovely cottage. The highlight of our stay was seeing deer go right past our door and feeding a very hungry pine marten with a preference for peanut butter! Some wonderful memories.

Mrs Amanda Knight
Reviewed An Acail on 03/10/2015
And awarded it

An Acail

M Davis
Reviewed Glen View on 30/09/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Pete & Ann
Reviewed Jura on 29/09/2015
And awarded it

Jura

Jura is a really nice house, a very comfortable holiday home and the view from the sun room is just spectacular

Peter Levine
Reviewed South Lodge on 29/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

Very well equipped and comfortable cottage in idyllic location! Would have been even more comfortable if the bed was bigger than standard 4'6'', and if there was a tea pot! The facility to play music CDs would also help, but overall a lovely cottage with really beautiful surroundings.Would happily come again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Levine, Thank you for your comments, we have double checked with the owner and the cottage does have a tea pot available, CDs can be played on the DVD player via the TV.
Lesley From Northumberland
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Steve & Sandra Huxtable, Belper, Derbyshire.
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

An excellent cottage for chilling out. Superb location with great walks straight from the door. Nice touch of a welcome pack from the owners, Graham & Lynne. Very comfortable with everything you need. Log burner with enough wood for a whole week. 1st for us. Lots of wildlife on your doorstep including Deer, Owls, Buzzards, Red Squirrels and a variety of other birds. Well recommended if you want a quiet week away from the norm.

Rob Jefferson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Really relaxing break in a fantastic home. It's really well situated to be off the beaten track but not too far from civilisation (Portree) for you to get shopping or go out for a meal. Given that's it's nearly in the centre of the island it means you can use it as a good base for exploring. The house itself is really modern and super warm - the log burner does a cracking job of heating the place up very quickly as do the other heaters. It had all the equipment you need for a comfortable stay. Beds were comfy and the clever layout of the house with its separate bedrooms and bathrooms would mean kids and parents could have their privacy but never be too far away. The wifi was great for streaming TV or films on wet days and cold nights when you just wanted to snuggle up by the fire. Only minor niggles were a lack of dishcloths and a dishwasher that was empty of both salt and rinse aid upon arrival with no supplies to top it up with. Little things in the grand scheme of things but a tad disappointing nonetheless. Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very clean, modern and comfortable home. We'd have no hesitation in recommending this place to friends and family and would happily return.