Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 2734


Stephen & Angelika
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Enjoyed a fortnight at Seal Skerry Lodge and felt very much at home in this beautifully appointed house. The panoramic views are stunning, whatever the weather, and the wood stove provides creature comfort on a chilly day. The ideal place to get away from it all.

Mark & Susanne DeKay
Reviewed Jura on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Jura

Our stay at Jura Cottage left a lasting impression on us both. Even though many days had rain, because of the location and comfort of the cottage, we were able to rest, relax and curl up with good books on rainy days. We did have some amazingly beautiful experiences there - and some sunny times, too! We really appreciated Katie, the neighbor/manager, who gave us a lovely tour of her garden and gave us ideas about places to visit. We stalked the trails and went down to the shore, photographed the rushing streams, ate fresh fish and steak from the mobile butcher and fish monger. We ate well, slept soundly and late (most mornings were rainy - unusually so, I heard) and enjoyed the many, many birds that came all around the sunroom overlooking the water and mountains beyond. It was heaven. What an extraordinary environment.

Elaine & Kenny Brown
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

This cottage is wonderful. Very welcoming with a super hamper and the log fire set ready to light. The views from every window were amazing. This was a very relaxing holiday and we will definitely be back.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Askival

Our 3rd stay at Askival. The weather wasn't brilliant, but the marvellous changing views of the islands were still wonderful. We saw otters, eagles, peregrines, deer and much more (all from the cottage) so hoping to definitely return. The location of the cottage is still the best we've found so far. A lighter duvet (upstairs bedroom) would be welcome, but that's just a personal choice.

Peter Larter
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Stayed at pine lodge August 2017 for one fab week. It is everything you need for a relaxing break with gorgeous views and fantastic resident wildlife. We were thoroughly entertained by the local birds including a resident pheasant which we named Donald! The pine Martin popped down every night without fail and we obtained some great photos. The lodge is the perfect base for many activities including access to stunning scenery wherever you go even we found some new places to explore despite being regular visitors to the area.

Andrew
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 24/09/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A cosy cottage full of character in a superb location for touring Skye.

R J Loveridge
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

We enjoyed our stay, comfortable but needed log fire to be cosy in the evening. Cooking difficult with only one shelf. It is not totally flat as there is two steps from the lounge to the rest of the house

Mary Kelly
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Stylish, spacious and comfortable cottage. Well located for local shops and restaurants. Only used the kettle in the kitchen but it looked well equipped. Very good value for money. We stayed here while walking the Speyside Way so appreciated the bath and hot water at the end of each day's walk. Only 2 things lacking which would have made it perfect: 1. Somewhere to hang wet waterproofs by the door when we came in (it rained a lot)! 2. Somewhere to hang wet bath towels in the bathroom. The heated towel rail was only big enough for the hand towels and it was high up on the wall behind the loo. We improvised by using the clothes airer provided.

LIZ CAINES
Reviewed Sixgeary on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Fantastic cottage, very well equiped, everything you could possibly need for a enjoyable stay. Only one criticism, a bit lacking in colour, which would have made it more homely, but this is a minor criticism.

Helen Maxwell
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful week at the cottage the place is amazing and was a great central point to venture out to explore the beautiful place that is Skye. it is a real home from home and we can't wait to come back .

Robert Portlock
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 23/09/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Highly recommended cottage, very comfortable bed's and brilliant en-suites, good selection of restaurants in the area of Fort Augustus, we where there in September and the weather was not kind to us, but at least there where no midges, even so had a good week, recommend to take some of the smaller b roads, you can slow down a bit and take in some of the fantastic views. Also if you want to use the steam train at Fort William you will need to book week's before your holiday.

Jack & Christine Jennings
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

A great friendly welcome from Pat. The scones, jam and cream were delicious. A vase of roses in the kitchen was a lovely gesture and made the welcome complete. The property had everything we wished for and the 180-degree views from the balcony were stunning and the bull and cows were friendly too. Many interesting trips around the Black Isle and over to the west coast. The bird life, the dolphins, seals and deer made for some exciting moments. The ferry from Cromarty over to Nigg was an experience we enjoyed and a visit to Nigg Old Church is a must visit. All very quiet and peaceful we hope to return again soon. Many thanks to all for helping us to enjoy our holiday in Scotland.

Joanna Oliver MBE
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it
Gareth
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig croft is a delightful and well equipped cottage in a stunning part of the world. The surroundings are remote and there is no wifi and only patchy phone signal but the area has great walks and is very lively considering its remoteness. good restaurants and pub at Applecross and wider afield. The only downside is that the AGA (a definite plus in itself) is constantly on and whilst this would be a boon in the colder months can be a bit much when the weather is warm. Fantastic eggs and marmalade from the next door croft!! highly recommended

Jan & Andrew Hewitt
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Charming cottage with all amenities you would expect for modern living. Peaceful surroundings on the less busy south side of Loch Ness

Martin
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely cottage in a beautiful, quiet location. Accomodation is clean and comfortable. Owners are very friendly and helpful.

Happy Camper
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Spectacular - spectacular views, spectacularly private, spectacularly comfortable bed, spectacularly good shower. Perfect place to decompress.

K. Duinhoven
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We stayed in Katie's Cottage for one week. It is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Everything we needed is in the house available. It is a good place to discover Isle of Skye from there.

P Whyatt
Reviewed Cuilfail on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Nice cottage with good fenced garden which is great for dogs. All facilities were good, but mattresses were poor. Felt every spring so not much sleep. Great location, and the pub/hotel next door was very good. Local real ale and good quality food.

Julie McD
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

WOW, WOW, WOW! If you like remote, quiet, stunning scenery, excellent facilities, quality products, endless artwork and responsive owners then this is the place for you! Also fantastic for pets, with their every need catered for. An excellent property in a wonderful location. We hope to return to someday. Highly recommended.

Julie McD
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fantastic cosy log cabin in its own grounds overlooking a field and properties on the far side. Well equipped, clean, spacious. We really enjoyed our stay here, especially the drive to Fersit!

LMM & RCC
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Very comfortable little cottage. Wonderfully remote with no-one around - the silence was gorgeous.

Farhat
Reviewed Ardshiel on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Ardshiel

This is a lovely cottage, suitable for a quiet getaway. I stayed there for 6 days with friends. We enjoyed our stay a lot. The cottage is well-furnished and well-equipped. The hosts were pleasant and helpful. One can find card games to play in free time and many guide books about the region and Scotland. All in all, our stay there was very pleasant. We will surely stay there again if we go back to the region.

Douglas & Emily
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a great stay in Katie's Cottage on Skye. It's in a very remote and picturesque location, around 15 minutes beyond Dunvegan on single track road. We would advise stopping in Fort William on the way up to do a supermarket shop for food en route; it will avoid a detour to Portree which isn't really on the way to the cottage. Straightforward instruction was provided to access the cottage easily. The cottage had a modern interior design and was immaculate. A well-equipped kitchen, underfloor heating, and a wood-burning stove were among the highlights. A nice coral beach, Dunvegan Castle, and Neist Point lighthouse are nearby. Further afield on the Trotternish Peninsula, but worth seeing, are The Old Man of Storr and The Quiraing. Overall, we would highly recommend Katie's Cottage and were happy with the whole booking experience with Wilderness Cottages.

Mandy & Neil Holman
Reviewed Glenara on 22/09/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely clean and comfortable cottage. Ideal location for village amenities and touring base. Garden views made this property extra special. Robin very welcoming. Would recommend.

John & Penny
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 19/09/2017
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Having read the reviews about Reyflat we had high expectations and we were certainly not disappointed. Pat gave us a very warm welcome and then left us to unpack and settle in to the clean, spacious accommodation. The flowers in the kitchen were a nice touch and the cream tea was both a lovely surprise and excellent. Everything about this property is so well planned and the upstairs living room and balcony are perfect for relaxing, whilst watching the views and in particular the swallows and house martins swooping into the balcony. The abundance of plug sockets was very useful as was the two good bathrooms. The sunny kitchen is large with plenty of room for preparing and cooking. It has an excellent area for seating and table and chairs for meals. The kitchen also has superb countryside views. Although the weather was good enough to get out and about throughout our week's stay we would have had no problem staying in and enjoying all the comforts Reyflat has to offer. We've stayed in many self-catering properties and this has to be one of the best.

Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

We've been in Pooltiel House the second time (last time in August 2016). This house is a jewel! Plenty of space, well equipped kitchen and an awesome view, two walks starting from the doorstep and a lot of others reachable. Having a house like this in Germany ... that wood be a dream.

Rob Manger- Hamshire
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Had a great week at Cnoc Ard Everything you need for a comfy and cosy stay in this wonderful park of the UK. All the appliances/TV etc. are all modern and easy to use. Kitchen all fully kitted out. Great shower and hot water on demand(unlike many other cottages) but still keeps the traditional feel of a 'croft' dwelling. Easy transaction and instructions made booking and arrival/departure a breeze. Some amazing sights, Sandwood bay, Old man of Stoer. Easy walk to the campsite bar and hotel if you want to eat and drink out. To get away from it all in comfort and character I give Cnoc Ard 5*

Jon Bagnall
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/09/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain is a beautifully restored cottage, set in glorious surroundings. It provides comfortable, high quality accommodation, with everything you need, whilst retaining all the charm of the original Croft. Jacqui & Jeff made us feel really welcome and were on hand if there were any issues, not that we had any during our stay. In terms of location, Arrivain is only five minutes from Tyndrum and the surrounding hills and being on the main road makes places further afield such as Oban and Callander esily accessible. If 'big' hills aren't your thing, or just for something different, a trip to the island of Kerrera, or a circuit of Loch Awe, are perfect alternatives. We had a great week (despite the mixed weather), leaving with plenty of ideas for what we need to do the next time we are here. Now, where is my diary...........

Anthony & Wendy Smith
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 14/09/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

We chose Arrivain Cottage as it looked perfect for our Honeymoon, we adore this part of Scotland and couldn't think of staying anywhere else to mark this special occasion. Our hosts Jeff & Jacqui were lovely, Jacqui welcomed us when we arrived and showed us around their beautiful cottage. As we were their first Honeymooners Jeff & Jacqui left us a bottle of Champange, truffles, hand cut crisps, fresh flowers and a card which was such a nice surprise, we both greatly appreciated these thoughtful touches which helped make this occasion special. Arrivan is perfectly placed for anyone wanting to explore the west of Scotland or if you just want a beautiful warm and inviting cottage to lock yourself away from the outside world Arrivain is perfect, with its log burner, under floor heating, comfy bed, amazing shower or just sitting by the burn looking up at the mountains that surround you. Arrivain sits in beautiful and stunning surroundings, in our eyes Arrivain is a little piece of heaven. Thank you Jeff & Jacqui for making us so welcome and everything you did for us, you helped make our Honeymoon perfect.

Cyriel Pluimakers
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2017
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, comfortable, best shower ever. Good restaurant and supermarket just around the corner. Nice walks. Reasonable price.

Isobel Stuart & Family
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 08/09/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Beautiful, well equipped cottage in quiet, peaceful location, didn't want to leave!! Very thoughtful owners, everything we needed was there and nice gifts on arrival made us feel very welcome. We had a great holiday and hope to return to Easter Drumine.

Clare, Nigel, Ewan & Lucas Hinze
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/09/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had an amazing week here. The Croft is designed to fit into the vast surrounding landscape with so much thought and the modern interior compliments it perfectly. Welcoming wine, goodies and quality touches around the croft really made you feel special. It was so well equipped and spotless. We saw eagles almost each day flying by and waking up to that view, whatever the weather was spectacular. The sauna is a brilliant touch after a day's exploring. A definite return for us in the future.

Catriona Follows
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 03/09/2017
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

We had a great week at Cnoc Ard. The location was perfect with easy access to the beautiful beaches and walks of Sutherland. The cottage was cosy and comfortable with lovely views and a log burning stove for chillier nights. Would highly recommend.

Sarah
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 30/08/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A beautiful clean & well equipped Lodge. A single Lodge situated at the bottom of a drive tucked away in the trees. Perfect location to get away from it all. Our children loved paddling in the small steam just a few metres from the Lodge. Just don't forget the midgey spray! Short walk to Fort Augustus (approx 5-10 mins away). Would recommend this Lodge to family & friends. I would gladly return tomorrow for another holiday.

Emilie
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/08/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre and its owner are both very lovely. Swallow Byre is clean and very cosy with a good kitchen (and a Raeburn!), a huge and very comfortable double bed, a cosy livingroom, a large bathroom with a shower and a huge garden. The cottage has all you need. We had a week of nice weather and went for lots of long walks. There's plenty to see and do in this beautiful part of Scotland.

Louise & Neil
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/08/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just returned from a lovely week at Seascape. So quiet and peaceful, did a few fabulous walks from the cottage. The cottage itself was immaculate, cosy and very well equipped. Chas & Jane were really helpful if you had any questions. Definitely recommend fro those who want to get away from it and appreciate beautiful scenery.

Keith Delworth
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 25/08/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our last day in this beautiful little cottage, It is the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in, Lovely and clean, with a stunning view, what more can you want, we will definitely be coming back again

Peter & Sue
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 25/08/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Lovely little cottage. On a quiet road on the edge of Lochcarron village. The village has two useful shops, a cafe with takeaway and a petrol garage. Cottage has all mod cons and the real fire is a bonus. (Don't book it for the garden). Loads of good walks in the area. We'll stay again!

Rosemary
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 22/08/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

A lovely quiet spot with view of the sea and across to the outer Hebrides when weather permits! We enjoyed a couple of fabulous sunsets whilst sitting at the dining table and it is an easy walk up to the castle to view from there. The cottage is very warm, spacious, clean and well equipped. We didn't use the upstairs but it was much bigger than we expected when we popped up to take a look. We explored other parts of Skye but we liked this top end the best for the variation in coastal scenery. There are many interesting walks to do from very nearby. Highly recommend.

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 22/08/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Yet another wonderful week spent in this cosy cottage! :) We've spent many happy hours gazing contentedly over Scourie Bay as well as enjoying scenic walks. It was great to catch up with James (very helpful neighbour) and Tizzy, his dog. We're already planning a return visit in 2019 :)

Madeleine
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 22/08/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This is a really special cottage. The location is just stunning and the light streaming into every room is amazing. The kitchen is very well equipped and spacious, and includes a good sized table and chairs. Having a separate sitting room as well is a plus - so many holiday cottages are open plan. The Aga meant the cottage was always warm and cosy. We would definitely return.

Hays Family
Reviewed Log House on 21/08/2017
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed in this property 12 years ago before children and decided to return with children aged 9 and 7. The Log House is comfy and well equipped and has everything you may need and appears to have been recently updated and was spotlessly clean. Our daughters enjoyed going out in the early evening to watch the bats flying from the property. The property is a decent walk (about 30 minutes) from the centre of Fort Augustus or you can drive into the centre with ease. We arranged for Tesco to deliver shopping to the Log House to stop us needing to take this with us and they found it with ease. It was lovely to go back and we will go back in the future again.

Fiona Mossman
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 20/08/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

A relaxing and peaceful place to say. The cottage has breathtaking views and is decorated and kitted out to a high standard. Perfect getaway that is both secluded but not too far away from tourist attractions. Skye itself is becoming very busy so it was lovely to have this sea side retreat to return to after our sightseeing and days out. Midges were the only downside as it meant sitting outside in the evening and enjoying the amazing view and wildlife wasn't possible. We will definitely come back, out with midge season!

A Newton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/08/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We really enjoyed our week in the Coltsfoot. It is in a beautiful setting and the lodge was wonderful. Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Astrid & Graham
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage was truly a home from home and Chas and Jane have thought of everything in making it so. The setting was superb and the wildlife around the cottage lived up to all the descriptions. Rain, Sun and wind, no matter the weather the scenery is dramatic and ever changing. A delightful 'get away from it all' holiday and we can't wait to return.

Hannah & David
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A wonderful two weeks in a fantastic cottage - beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Enclosed garden very dog friendly. Lovely location, with excellent village shop at the bottom of the lane. An ideal base for exploring much of Skye.

Jonny
Reviewed Log House on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Log House

For many years, since the distinctive and charming Log House jumped out from the pages of an old Wilderness Cottages brochure, I have dreamed about staying at this quirky retreat. My dreams came true in August 2017 when my wife and I, and our two boys aged thirteen and one, drove up to Fort Augustus with a couple of mountain bikes atop the car for a week of Highland living. We didn't have great weather but this presented a fine excuse to light the cosy fire each evening. The cabin really is very comfortable and inviting. The warm glow from the lamps, the roaring fire, the traditional log walls and the impressive greenery out of every window, not to mention the decorative antique winter sports equipment, all conspire to convince you that you're in a bygone era, a hundred miles from civilisation. All the kitchen appliances are high quality and in good condition. The kitchen floor is very creaky so if you're the type who tries to sneak into the biscuit jar in the dead of night for forty custards while your partner sleeps, be warned. I was very impressed by the bathroom. You would not expect such a clean, modern, fully-functional bathroom suite in such a cabin, but there it is; a taste of 5 star hotel life in the Great Glen. The bedrooms are wonderful but, at 6'3", I prefer a bed in which I can hang my feet out of the bottom. Not a major problem, it just meant I slept diagonally and my wife curled up and slept on her pillow. Woodland surrounds the cabin and pretty paths and trails can be explored in every direction. We rode our bikes every day and enjoyed the nearby River Oich Trail and the climb up to the magnificent (but dangerous!) viewpoint at Torr Dhuin. Another good ride goes from Fort Augustus to Invermoriston on the Great Glen Way. I would recommend taking the High Route on the outbound trip and then returning on the easier and slightly shorter Low Route. The views of Loch Ness from high above are fantastic, almost as good as the beer at Glenmoriston Arms Hotel. The Log House was everything I wanted it to be, and more. True, we could have done better for wildlife and weather but this was made up for with excellent WiFi, Freesat TV and a secure bike shed.

Holiday
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

A mixed review: Pros: comfortable bed High end technology Top spec kitchen appliances Quality bathroom Efficient, easy to use heating Close to Grantown amenities Cons: Difficult to find down tight alley Shared parking- not designated solely for cottage- first come first served Very dirty on arrival- we vacuumed and cleaned dining table & chairs, bathroom and kitchen area before unpacking Overgrown weed strewn gravel garden- no furniture out, plus overturned broken tool store Shared entry - two other front doors are immediately outside your bedroom window- we had blind permanently down for privacy

A Desmond
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 18/08/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

This is a beautiful cottage renovated to an extremely high standard and set in stunning Scottish countryside. Cottage had everything we needed and was extremely cosy and comfortable. The owners have put a lot of thought into what visitors might need making us feel very welcome. It is an ideal base for walking and hill climbing in the area and with a railway station just 4 miles away you can even visit Glasgow and further afield. We are already planning a second visit.