Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 2775


May McLeod
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage. Very well equipped and views to Raasay as sun sets. We have spent the whole week exploring Skye and can't wait to come back! Gorgeous spot and Moll Cottage itself is just perfect.

C DUTKOWSKI
Reviewed Ardrannach on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely cottage, very peaceful with great views, 5 minute drive into Portree, so very convenient for getting around the island and into town, but once in the cottage, felt beautifully isolated. Glad to have truly secure garden for the dog. Cottage comfortable and had all we needed, although could have done with a few more mugs and teaspoons.

Hilda Findlay
Reviewed Aros Beag on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Aros Beag is a lovely little cottage, an old building very tastefully renovated. It may be a bit near the A82, but it still retains a feeling of peacefulness, tucked away by the river and surrounded by trees. Jim was very welcoming and helpful. His wife runs the cafe next door in the old church, offering delicious food if you don't want to cook yourself. All in all, we were very happy with our stay.

Melanie Fowles
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Fabulous cottage, really remote so very quiet and peaceful. Very comfortably furnished and dog friendly. Enjoyed all the wildlife - fed the birds including a family of woodpeckers, had a visiting hare as well as a small deer! Fabulous walks, great local pubs! Will definitely return soon!

Michael Corish
Reviewed Callakille on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Callakille

When God was creating the world he took his time when he came to creating the Applecross Peninsula and Callakille Cottage. This place is just heaven. A week watching glorious sunsets in quiet, isolated splendour - the perfect antidote to a fast moving, high tech world. The Cottage is kitted out perfectly. A cosy log fire, comfy chairs, a cosy kitchen, a fantastic bath, and beds you want to stay in. Of course, you don't, as just outside are walks, bike rides and views that must be seen and explored. The only downside is...finding the time to go back (which I will, somehow).

Gary Dorling
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

An Airidh

A wonderful Oasis of Calm and a true home from home.

Joanne Clemmit
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A lovely cottage. Well equipped, modern and great for dogs given the stone floors. fantastic views from front garden.

Jessica
Reviewed Charleston on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Absolutely stunning house and views, felt like paradise all week, the decor was lovely, all the little extras, books, cd"s, little boxes of bath items and everything you would have in your own home and more, I'm going back as soon as I can best holiday we have had in years, waking up to stunning views, wildlife and seeing birds of prey daily, a photographers heaven.

Denise
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Very comfortable and well equipped cottage. Fantastic view, friendly owner. Nice garden where we could let the dogs out. Only small problem was that one corner of the fence right at the back of the property was down and one of our dogs is a bit of a Houdini, but we just made sure we stayed out with him.

Wilfried + Gisela
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

A really nice quiet house, well and practically furnished. The garden completes the positive impression. Very sympathetic owners (neighbours). Highly recommended.

Harald Koehler
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 14/06/2017
And awarded it
Jon & Esme Wright
Reviewed South Lodge on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

We had an absolutely brilliant week, the South Lodge Cottage was really wonderful except for steps to get in, so big, only got short legs. It had everything you needed and more, the bathroom was lovely my husband wants the mirror lol. Would def come again and have already recommended to friends

Aimie & The Boys
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

STUNNING! 2nd visit to Carn loch Cottage and it certainly wont be the last. A beautiful modern cottage with all the facillities you could want for and more. The surroundings are breathtaking and peaceful with a large enclosed garden (great for the dogs) to run about in and do their thing. Did not see a soul for the whole week which was bliss (apart from the odd 1 or 2 cheeky sheep) Can't wait to return in 2018

Sheila & Jim
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 13/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

The moment we arrived we loved everything about Moll Cottage, fantastic scenery, great weather, and a cottage that is well restored and fully equipped for all of your needs. A highlight was watching an otter dive, catch and eat a fish just outside the cottage. We were very sad to leave but will return next year.

Rushton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 12/06/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Lovely cottage in a excellent setting close to village and shore of loch ness. Cottage modern and spacious. Some minor maintenance issues were quickly sorted. Would recommend.

Peter From Wirral
Reviewed Balmachree on 10/06/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

Cannot praise the house and location enough the 3 dogs and both of us had an amazing time and were all sad to leave.

Mr & Mrs MONS
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 09/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We are totally satisfied with our Holiday at Tor Fionn, cottage very comfortable , nothing is missing. Well located with local shops. Splendid surroundings under the scottish sun. We recommend this place and agency Wilderness Cottages for the organization of our holidays, thank you.

Frank
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 09/06/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn was an absolute delight to stay in! We were so pleased with the layout, which was perfect for a family of four! It was charming and immaculate, and everything was in good order. The location is ideal for exploring the western Highlands and the Isle of Skye, out to Loch Ness. And everywhere we dined was sumptuous! A great holiday in a wonderfully cozy abode and a great rate! Perfection!

William Reid & Agnes Reid
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

The cottage was clean neat and tidy and everything was as it should be for a quiet peaceful holiday

Charlie
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had an amazing week in Moll Cottage... it is in the most beautiful position, is well equipped and bigger than the photos make it look. A great spot for exploring Skye and a wonderful haven to come back to. Just beware the midges if you are taking a baby!

Jane & Steve
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

Lovely spacious cottage in good location. Plenty of cycling and walking routes within a very short distance. The area abounds in wildlife.

Mike Alexander
Reviewed Christies on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is very convenient for the northerly Munros and Corbetts, low level walks, and exploring the north west coast. The cottage is in a superb position, with stunning views over the bay to local hills and mountains. It is comfortable and well equipped. A great place to stay!

Rosie Blair
Reviewed Upper Folds on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Upper Folds is a gem! A beautifully maintained and stylish cottage situated in open moorland with fab views all around. The spacious accommodation is all on one level, and it was lovely and warm so we had no need to use the wood burner. We enjoyed lovely walks from the door and hardly met any other walkers all week!

Julie Schroeder
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage is a gem. The owners have done a wonderful job to renovate and redesign this 17th century building to make it a lovely modern space, while retaining much of its period charm. The rain forest shower was a particular treat for us after a long day hiking. Hosts Jacqui and Jeff could not have been more hospitable and helpful and we would highly recommend this accommodation to others seeking a base for exploring the area around Tyndrum, Oban, and Glencoe.

Fabienne Riske
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Thanks a lot, had a beautiful Time in a nice well equipped cottage! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Roy & Andrea Stratford
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

This is a special place, our 9th visit here after a gap of 9 years reinforced that view. The cottage is cosy and very comfortable and walking out onto the rocks and seeing the extraordinary view of the Cuillins and islands is a great privilege.

Sheelagh White
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Excellent accommodation, location brilliant, away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk into Fort Augustus. Fabulous location to visit the highlands. We received a warm welcome on arrival, had a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge, milk and biscuits, a lovely touch after travelling a long way. Would highly recommend to anyone and sincerely hope we can return for a visit in the future.

Donna Mackenzie
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the cottage. It's immaculate and beautifully decorated throughout. Absolutely everything that you could require is in the house. A lovely welcome pack awaited us and a comprehensive manual ensured that everything is simple to use. The bedrooms are well proportioned with lovely fresh linens and towels. The back garden is very well maintained with a nice dining area. Overall, we were very impressed with the accommodation and highly recommend it!

Keith Work
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

A wonderful retreat for eight golfers completely central to all relevant amenities. The river walk from Ballater at 01:00 was a wee bit of a stumble! But we made it... lol

Niki Fulton
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Luxury in Paradise. Brilliantly equipped accommodation (and great books on the bookcase incl, maps, history, poetry, novels), really comfortable with stunning views over the bay. Fantastic location - so many beautiful beaches, geology, wildlife, footpaths, artists and foodie places all around the island. We booked another week the day we got home!

Nicole & Gernot
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Nice little cottage, warm and cosy. Very quiet location near the Point of Stoer. Thanks Jane and Jack for the warm welcome and the delicious scones.

Nick Green
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

We had a very enjoyable one week stay at Shellach Cottage in May. Great location for touring and exploring the surrounding west coast scenery. Lovely views across Loch Carron from the cottage. Adequate sized, cosy rooms and well equipped kitchen. Owner was responsive in getting minor maintenance problem attended to quickly.

Steffi
Reviewed Ardrannach on 03/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Very nice House to Discover Skye. Only drawback are the mattresses of all beds, they should be changed soon.

Graham, Paula, Maisie (the Springer) & Tweed (th
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 02/06/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We decided fairly last minute to take a week away and so were a little limited for choice having left it so late. Easter Drumine came up and from the photo's look absolutely perfect so we booked. On arrival the cottage was set in an ideal location with forestry to one side and open farmland to the other, the nearest neighbour being a farm in the distance about a mile away! It is a fairly newly built property and once inside we were welcomed with a lovely card from the owners along with a little gift and they'd even gone to the trouble of leaving coffee and milk to have a brew and a bowl of water and a box of biscuits for the dogs too. We went for an explore around the house which was absolutely immaculate and totally spotlessly clean, it has underfloor heating in every room so was lovely and cosy and it was very well equipped as well and we wanted for nothing. The garden/grounds are huge and include a massive lawn and also a picnic table to enjoy the sunshine and as the owner of a spaniel who can find her way out of even the tiniest gap I can confirm the garden is very well enclosed. Despite her best efforts to get to the pheasants she was bitterly disappointed at being defeated by the fencing! There is plenty of wildlife right on the doorstep including pheasants, red deer and rabbits and the track which leads up through the woodland is perfect for the morning walks. Travelling further afield there is plenty to do as well, around 20 minutes drive away is the beach at Nairn....miles and miles of beautiful sand and also some woodland walks in the huge forest just off the same road at Culbin. Forres is a lovely little town and I can highly recommend the Mosset Tavern for some good grub, you can even take the dogs in the bar area. The owners of this property clearly go above and beyond in welcoming their guests into this fabulous cottage and all their little extra touches for us made the difference between our holiday being good and it being great!! Thank you....we will be back.

Jason Janice & Chalky.
Reviewed River Cottage on 01/06/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was the perfect place a lot of thought had gone into this little place it was home from home. Relaxing,quiet,peaceful.

Charlotte Whitelaw
Reviewed River Cottage on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Well equipped comfortable cottage in peaceful riverside setting. Enjoyed late suppers on the shaded veranda accompanied by the sound of the river and birdsong. Thoughtful owners who allowed us our seclusion.

Mrs P Riley
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

This cottage is absolutely delightful, we were a family of 6 adults a toddler and 3 dogs. This cottage covered everything, the garden is enormous and a river running at the bottom beyond a fence, a rocky shallow river with plenty of trees all around, there are 2 other cottages either side of it but not intrusive in any way. There is plenty of parking for 3 cars and a garage with bbq, table and chairs. The house was large enough for everyone not to be in each others pocket. could do with a few more appliances in the kitchen, perhaps a slow cooker and toastie machine? Sky TV is basic but you haven't gone all that way to watch TV! WiFi could be intermittent when it wanted. If your not built like a cocktail stick I suggest you take your own bath towels as they're only small. But, we coped very well, only there for a week. The views are wonderful, very rugged compared to the other side of loch Ness. Beautiful dark lochs, forests and mountains. We had a Pine Martin at the bottom of the garden one day, that's how remote it is. If you want peace and quiet, this is the spot. Only traffic is logging wagons and the school bus in a morning. the log burner was lovely in the evening. Very central to go anywhere. Lots of places to go. Nearest little shop is in Foyers, got most things but a bit expensive, but she has to make a living. All in all a fantastic week, not one of us wanted to go home, so I can highly recommend Balmachree for your holiday *****

Susan Price
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous place, owners very welcoming, a modern log cabin very tastefully decorated, wood burner was great, right in the heart of Grantown on Spey lovely historical town, plenty of walks nearby in Anagach woods, with loads to see and do.

John Hearn
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

Perfect if there was a bath.

Alan Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great 2 weeks spent at Lilybank Cottage... although we knew what a high standard the cottage sets it was nice to see that the cottage has been tastefully redecorated to its usual high standard and I am sure the new fencing around the garden will be appreciated by young families & pets. Will be back in October and will book for 2/3 weeks next year. Thanks again for returning my wife's jewellery ...!! Alan Denise & Ben

Deborah
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is warm and comfortable and in a stunning location. Wildlife all around. Great for a base to explore the Highlands. The garden is not entirely dog proof as my dogs were able to get through the wooden 5 bar gate and the choice of white leather furniture and a cream and red rug was not the best choice when you have dogs either.

Stewart
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This was a lovely, peaceful place to stay. The cottage was very well equipped, very cosy and had beautiful views. The large garden was fully enclosed and the dog loved it. I would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.

Toogoolawa
Reviewed Sixgeary on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

It was a joy to stay at Sixgeary. The design and layout was perfect; It was immaculately maintained, extremely well equipped and in a great position. The wifi was very good and a bonus was being able to watch Netflix. Fiona, the Housekeeper made us very welcome. Geary is a small community with no facilities but we didn't have any problems using Sixgeary as a base to explore Northern Skye. We have used Wilderness Cottages on several occasions to stay in different parts of Skye and have been very happy with each of the cottages in which we've stayed and service provided by the Company.

Sue Sutton
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous location- we were fortunate to see otters from the cottage window. The views are spectacular, the cottage, comfortable and very well equipped. We had a great holiday, and will definitely return!

Rosand
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely, quiet cottage with very helpful hosts. Perfect for a relaxing break.

Caroline
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

A beautiful cottage that has been renovated to a very high standard. It has everything you need plus more and is very spacious. We also found the location very good to explore the area. Jeff and Jacqui are very knowledgeable on places to visit which was very helpful as this was our first visit to Scotland. We would definitely recommend Arrivain Cottage and hope to return.

Anne Price
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Beautiful location and cottage. Views are amazing but we were up in the cloud for two days! Saw sea eagles on the last day - better sighting than the ones from the sea eagle boat trip that morning! Cottage is very well equipped with everything you need including maps, books on local area etc. Would recommend to those who don't mind being in a quite isolated location and single track roads to get to it!

Shirley Rose
Reviewed Charleston on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Unfortunately I was unable to go on my much anticipated holiday as I was in hospital. However my brother his partner and Bertie the dog had a wonderful time. They told me that the cottage was amazing, especially the garden room where they spent many hours watching the wild life and enjoying the views. Bertie had a wonderful time with all the space to run in and explore. They said that everything you could think of was provided, the peace and quiet and the outlook were perfect. I'm so upset that I couldn't go, but we hope to go again next year. Thank you so much to the owners for allowing us the use of their property.

Kate Pickett & Richard Wilkinson
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a magical week in the Timber House - it is so serenely beautiful and we loved watching the seals in the loch. The house is really special, very calming and very comfortable.

Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

if you're looking for a totally relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting in first class accommodation Pooltiel House fits the description.The cottage is a pleasure to stay in with all the features and home comforts you could ask for,clean and spacious and an amazing sea view.