Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 2775


Nina Granitza
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 02/04/2018
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We have a great vacation in Scotland. The house was gorgeous and beautiful secluded, just as I had imagined. The house really had everything you need and was very comfortable. Everything is really like the pictures in the ad.

Sarah Fletcher
Reviewed Heatherbank on 31/03/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Lovely cosy and wonderfully positioned cottage with panoramic views inland to Quinag and over the surrounding crofts of Balchladich. Cottage well equipped and comfortable, with good supply of wood and coal for wood burner. Great fenced outdoor space for dog to roam securely. Handy to get to adjacent areas or just to potter about locally, but good it's apart from the main North Coast 500 which is getting increasingly busy.

Dale Weatherstone
Reviewed Charleston on 29/03/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

A lovely cottage to stay in and the views are amazing. The house was well equipped with everything you would need. The dogs loved the garden. Received a lovely welcome basket. Will be sure to return again soon.

Ian & Rhona Black
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 27/03/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fantastic hideaway. Great cottage with everything you could ask for and more. Beautiful scenery, thoughtful welcome pack and a sauna. We love Skye and this was one of our best finds yet. No hassle from booking, finding the house and even the weather was kind to us. We will be back.

MacMillan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 27/03/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Stunning Cottage & Location loved our stay here would highly recommend.

Lynne D
Reviewed Ardbeg on 22/03/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Lovely property, beautiful views, all you need, as in home from home. Will definately return.

Andy Leicester
Reviewed Rhundunan on 21/03/2018
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Lovely break in a fantastic property, has everything you might need for a 'get away from it all' holiday. Our second visit and well worth it.

Noel Taylor
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 21/03/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Words failed me as we entered the barn and I was blown away by the stunning views of the 5 Sisters. The owners had left a lovely bottle of local whisky and sitting on the comfortable sofa with a glass in one hand, in front of the log fire watching the sun set over the snow capped mountains was breathtaking. We will definitely return. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone. One word of warning, the road to the Barn is very 'rural' so don't take a vehicle with low ground clearance.

Mrs J Miller
Reviewed Ardrannach on 21/03/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We love this cottage. It is in a very pretty location. The cottage is well equipped and very cosy. Could move in and feel quite at home.

Paul & Sue
Reviewed Upper Folds on 20/03/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a fantastic week. The cottage is beautifully maintained and the personal touches we really appreciated. We were snowed in, but this didn't cause a problem as the tranquility and beauty of the surrounding area was so enjoyable, we were kept entertained by the Deer, Hares and Buzzards, and our dog loved playing in the very deep snow. Richard was extremely helpful clearing the track on the Friday evening so that we could drive out at the end of our stay. We hope to plan a return visit, and would certainly recommend Upper Folds if you are looking to really get away from it all.

Kevan & Elizabeth Diston
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/03/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is a beautiful, unique cottage in the woods. A haven for birds and wild life , we loved our stay there. Jenny greeted us on our arrival with fresh eggs and delightful lemon drizzle cake. The cottage is a true delight. Elegantly furnished and a cosy home from home and made possible by Jenny's eye for detail and caring, friendly personality. Our dogs Lilly and Winston loved the secure garden and Forrest walks. Thank you Jenny for a perfect holiday retreat and for making us so welcome.

Janet Goldsworthy
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 15/03/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Had a fabulous 2 weeks in Tigh na Craobh. Perfectly situated to explore the Isle of Skye and up to the usual Wilderness Cottages standard. 15 mins drive from Portree and 10 mins walk from the sea. Would recommend this property for a holiday on Skye.

Carolyne
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry lodge is a great find, well off the beaten track (for us townies). Its very peaceful with beautiful views from every window. We were entertained by seals basking on the small island in the bay and sheep wandering the hills. The man in the fishing boat, also in the bay, even sold us some lobsters he'd caught. The Three Chimneys restaurant is a short drive away if a special night out is required and Dunvegan has a cafe serving huge portions of delicious cakes and home made soups to die for. Did I mention Skye weavers? I could go on for ever. A car is a must if you stay here but the drives are lovely.

Karine
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Great location with fab views, comfortable well equipped house, remote feeling but not far from loads of places to visit and walk, ski, climb also love that you take dogs...thank you!

Mark & Tricia
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, well equipped with quality items and a fantastic view across the sea to the Isle of Skye. Has everything you need. We enjoyed our stay, this is by far the best cottage we have ever stayed in, we hope to return. Thanks

Margaret
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

A wonderful, well equipped cottage in a beautiful location. Jenny was a great host and makes a fabulous cake-thanks Jenny! Sorry we didn't get completely snowed in - a week was too short. Our hairy companion was also made to feel very welcome and the enclosed garden and surrounding walks were just ideal. Would highly recommend.

Ian & Fiona Thomas
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 11/03/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Stayed for five days from 10th March and wished it was two weeks. Arrival is half a mile down a forestry track to a very private and peaceful cottage in its own grounds, all dog friendly. Very clean on arrival which we made a point of checking as some cottages leave a lot to be desired. Fab layout and apart from a few kitchen items (which I'll notify them of), it has everything you need. So peaceful on a night you hear owls in the woods, which are great for morning dog walks. Only 10 mins or so to Forres which has everything you need. About 40 mins to Aviemore which is fantastic around the Cairngorms. Lovely card and gifts on arrival which was really lovely. House extremely warm, we had to turn all heating down. Will definitely book again. Thank you.

Steve & Nikki Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 08/03/2018
And awarded it

Sealight

Returned to this magical place and had the most relaxing week. We had fantastic sunny, but cold days whilst the rest of the UK was suffering from "the beast from the east". The pine martens came onto the decking for their peanut butter sandwiches and we saw countless deer and buzzards. This wonderful property feels like home, we will return again next year.

Wendy Cook
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/03/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

This is the 3rd visit to this wonderful cottage and it gets better every time. This place is in a fantastic peaceful setting with deer in the garden next door. There are wonderful views from every window and the house benefits from having the lounge upstairs to appreciate the scenic surroundings. There are great walks straight from the door or just a short drive away. The place is equipped with every thing you need for your stay and is very comfortable .

Helen Chaplin
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/03/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This is the best self catering accommodation I have stayed in. We visited with my sister and her husband and they thought just the same. Ideal for two couples as each bedroom is at opposite ends of the Croft with its own bath/shower room. The most fabulous location and views. Everything has been thought of here and the heating is excellent! The sauna is also a real bonus in an already perfect place to stay. I wanted to lift the place up with everything in it and bring it home!

Andy & Camilla
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 05/03/2018
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

We spent a very relaxing week at Arrivain Cottage at the beginning of February. The cottage itself has been lovingly renovated to the highest standard by Jacqui and Jeff and is a great place to spend a week exploring this beautiful area of the Southern Highlands. There are lots of places within reach from the cottage (including walks from the cottage itself if you don't want to get in the car) and it is a great place to come back to after a day out exploring. We particularly enjoyed the peace and quiet which is in abundance here and evenings by the fire.

Steve & Sandra Huxtable
Reviewed Heatherbank on 04/03/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

What an excellent cottage with everything you require for a relaxing break in this beautiful area. The cottage is excellent in all areas, clean, comfortable, warm and has a great log fire to sit in front of after a day's walking in the area. The cottage is set in large grounds and fenced off well for the dog to enjoy. The views are great and there is ample walking information in the cottage, along with books to read and games to play. Lot's of wildlife in the area to see and great beaches to explore locally. Well recommended.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 01/03/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 5th visit to Charleston. We normally come in October so February was a change for us. As usual the cottage was a home from home, everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing and cozy stay. We ended up being snowed in for 4 days and also had winds of 40 mph, that actually blew the gate post over! What an absolute stunning place to be stuck in, the deer came right up to the garden, red kites flew right above us, we made a snowman and just sat in the conservatory and watched the weather change from day to day. Looking at the availability for the rest of the year for Charleston it just speaks for itself when it's completely booked up!

Rosemary Wallace
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/03/2018
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Well appointed with magnificent views. A sheer delight!

Alison
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 28/02/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Location location! We have always wanted to stay here, whenever we have passed it on previous visits to this part of Scotland we have admired it. This cottage is full of character and original features, and apart from the high ceilinged living space cosy cosy warm with the oil heating. The living room space warmed up with the wood burner lit in the evening; it was February! Great bath too, and loads of very hot water. As there was only two of us we slept in the only bedroom with a full sea view, and we slept so soundly the bed being ultra comfortable! There are only two not so good things - the shower is not very powerful (we wondered why there is not a mains shower) and the dining chairs we found very uncomfortable. Oh and the Welsh words above the fireplace was a bit odd given we were in Scotland...but apart from these fairly minor things that stop me from saying 'Excellent' Stoer Lodge is very homely and kind of envelopes you in its embrace so you don't want to leave! It's full of atmosphere and history, and perfectly located right on the beach. We saw some fabulous sunsets from the garden. That was another definite highlight. We would come again, but I think with a few tweaks it could be more luxurious.

Nick Wallis
Reviewed Toberaie on 28/02/2018
And awarded it

Toberaie

Many thanks for letting us stay in your superb cottage in a great location. Basic but comfortable accommodation. Fire in the sitting room is not the best, the wood burner in the big fireplace is much better. Would be useful to have a small hand axe for splitting the wood down. Oh and a timer for the immersion heater. Other than that - perfect!

Rebecca Rees
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 28/02/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

We stayed in Tor Cottage in February and loved it. Beautiful house with stunning views. Cosy, clean and comfortable and the friendly owners near by to offer lots of local tips and advice. Lots of well marked walks nearby, fantastic deserted beaches, lovely cafes and craft shops, amazing scenery. So much to see and do in the Western Isles, even when the weather is a bit wild, absolutely recommend Tor Cottage to everyone and can't wait to go back.

Sue Bowes
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 27/02/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

This is a fabulous cottage! Surrounded by croftland, dry stone walls, free-grazing cattle and sheep, you really do feel that you have left all the hustle and bustle behind, and with no sounds other than nature, it is a truly restful and peaceful place to stay. Jane has thought of every last detail to make her guests comfortable and I would recommend Swallow Byre without a second thought.

Lorna From Aberdeen
Reviewed Balnacraig on 26/02/2018
And awarded it

Balnacraig

Hannah
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 24/02/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

A spacious, modern home that was very warm whilst the snow was falling outside. We were really pleased with the cottage. Uninterrupted views of the mountains and a real chance to get away from it all whilst being close to Inverness and Loch Ness. We climbed and hiked in the Cairngorms (about a 45 minute drive away) but also spent some time shovelling snow off the long driveway to get out (it was a particularly cold week). We were snowed-in for a couple of days but the road outside was regularly cleared of snow.

Simpsons
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 23/02/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Fabulous stay again at the Coltsfoots, 12 days of snow, sun, long walks, games by the log fire at night, spacious & cozy rooms and great hosts in Gordon & Margaret. They answered any calls we made to them quickly and looked after us really well...though I think they blamed me for all the snow as that was the one thing I said I wanted, It was great! We love everything about this cabin, be back in 2019.

Ros King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 20/02/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our second stay at the cottage it was a wonderful week for us walking the canal with our dog. The cottage has everything you require and we will definitely be booking again thanks.

Alison
Reviewed Don Cottage on 20/02/2018
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We have just returned from a great week in Don Cottage. The cottage is very comfortable and has all the facilities that you could need. We had ordered a Tesco delivery for the evening of our arrival and although the Tesco driver didn't fancy driving up the short track in the dark, we drove to meet her in the car and it was well worth the £5 charge! There is a small co-op in Drumnadrochit should you need it. The village of Drumnadrochit is a 20 minute easy walk from the cottage. Our favourite place to eat was The Loch Ness Inn - fabulous food. We did many walks whilst we were in this area and we were lucky enough to have a snow-fall on our 2nd day so our walks were even more beautiful! On our last day we saw a Golden Eagle feasting on it's prey on the field opposite the cottage - that just topped off a fantastic week! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the cottage. Many thanks for the welcome gifts, they were very much appreciated when we arrived. After a 7 hour journey, our ravenous teenager made very 'light weight' of the shortbread!!

Jason, Lisa & Louie The Pug, Blackpool
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/02/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Brilliant stay in a fantastic cottage in the perfect location for us. The cottage location was even better than we expected and had great views of the surrounding hills and of the stars on a clear night. We had snow for the week and needed to use the grit and salt that was left by the track to the cottage as we were the only people using the track all week. The track was slippy in the snow and ice, even with a 4x4. There is a co-op, restaraunts and numerous takeaways in nearby Dufftown for everything you need with big supermarkets in Huntly and Keith if you need more shopping. We would recommend the cottage for the perfect get away from it all break.

Mark & Penny Allwood
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 14/02/2018
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Wow. Wow. Wow. This lodge is basic, has everything you need and feel like our ideal home. Very friendly village. Very warm inside with the fire lit and a very nice welcome pack. The Craig Bar just 75mtr from the sofa is amazing (we should know we were in there frequently). Very comfortable, cosy and homely accomodation. Will certainly be back. Really love this place

Gabrielle Becher
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 14/02/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is the perfect escape to one of the wildest parts of Scotland. I stayed there with my boyfriend for a long weekend and we loved the cosy log-burner, location near the sea and the comfort of the cottage. Jane was also so warm and inviting and non-intrusive to our stay and left us a delicious plate of scones for our arrival. We took the opportunity to climb Suilven in the snow - crampons and ice axe required - and did the walk out to the Point of Stoer, both of which were very special and exhilarating walks. I hope we'll come back someday soon.

Claire & Steve
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 13/02/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed in Seal Skerry Lodge for a week in January to celebrate a 40th birthday. We have stayed in Milovaig 9 times but this was the first in this cottage & we have both agreed it was the best. Perfect views, lovely cottage with everything we needed (except egg cups & a mirror in the double bedroom). We loved it and we'll definitely be booking for next January.

Andrew Orrell
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 08/02/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

This is the second time we've stayed at the barn and once again it did not disappoint. We had a wonderful week, the barn was perfect once again. We had an extremely snowy week, but that didn't stop us getting out and exploring the area, it was always nice to get home in the evening and light the fire and snuggle up on the big comfy couches. Once again the complimentary bottle of Talisker went down very well. Thankyou Leachachan Barn, we'll certainly be back again in the future.

Ms D Barlow
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/02/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have recently returned from a week's holiday at Plodda Falls Lodge. We had a fantastic week, the lodge is beautiful, and the surrounding scenery absolutely stunning. The view from the master bedroom is amazing. We had a lot of snow during our stay which we and our two dogs thoroughly enjoyed. There are plenty of walks from the lodge as well as the nearby area, Glen Affric and Glen Cannich are both stunning. A huge thank you to Jenny who looked after us so well, we loved her apple and almond cake which she had kindly made for us on our arrival. The lodge is a credit to Jenny, she had made it perfect and looks after it so well, we cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge enough. If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax amongst awesome scenery and great walking then this is the place to be. Thank you Jenny.

Kate Harrison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/02/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Apart from the stunning drive to Stoer, our first impression of Swallow Byre was how incredibly cosy, warm and welcoming it was on a snowy Winter's day. We had a lovely time, so peaceful and such a beautiful setting. I also loved cooking with the Rayburn and we enjoyed the wood burning stove so much. Jane was incredibly friendly and helpful, going beyond the call of duty to help us on New Year's Eve when I needed to call on the (excellent) Scottish Health Service. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Judith & Steve Ward
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 25/01/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We stayed here over Christmas and New Year and really enjoyed the quiet location with easy access to the coast. We had my disabled Father with us and the cottage was ideal for him to tootle around. This is a very cosy place and I think we have all missed the underfloor heating after returning home! Jane and Chas did a meet and greet and then left us to it. There is only a small fridge and I had taken far too much food to last the Festive Season, so ran out of space for storage. I would definitely recommend for a peaceful getaway.

Debbie
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 23/01/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We booked Swallow Byre from 11th - 16th January, We arrived just before dark to a warm welcome from Jane and a lovely cosy cottage with home make scones/jams and marmalade. Our stay was very enjoyable nothing much to do at that time of year, but we had gone for a relaxing break away after a hectic Christmas so this was just what we needed. The cottage is very welcoming and really cosy and on a clear night the skies are amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend it.

P Round
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 22/01/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Has an amazing stay here over Xmas. It is set in a stunning location, and the perfect place to explore Skye and the surrounding area. 10/10

Sandy Ewen
Reviewed Balachladdich on 21/01/2018
And awarded it

Balachladdich

Balachladdich is the perfect cottage for a relaxing countryside vacation, it reminds me on the Film starring Cameron Diaz "The Holiday" as once you are there you won't want to leave. it has everything you need including a fantastic wood burning fire for those cold winter evenings, shops are only 10 minutes away in Dingwall, exceptionally clean and very well catered.

Caroline
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 17/01/2018
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

This is a really comfortable cosy cottage in a beautiful area. We spent a lovely Christmas here with the family and would highly recommend it.

Daniel (Switzerland)
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 17/01/2018
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We enjoyed the time very much in the house and would like to come back. It was clean, cozy and well equipped. (some of the frying pans should be replaced). We had everything we needed and can highly recommend the place and the house. Best regards.

Russell
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 12/01/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Just as advertised. Great property, great isolated location, great access to the beach. Conservatory is great. Note, there isn't internet and there is no mobile telephone signal. Extra logs for fires is available at Home & Garden in Stranrear. There is a Tesco and Aldi there too.

Lisa, Chris & Smudge
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 12/01/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Well it's hard to know where to start. We arrived to lots of snow and a very warm welcome from Jenny. Not only had she lit the fire but gave us gifts of Christmas cake, chocolate and a beautiful scented candle from Beauly. Jenny is a very kind lady who clearly takes pride in Plodda Falls Lodge and her commitment to her guests is second to none. The lodge is beautiful and the master room bed is sublime. Jenny doesn't scrimp on the comfort items. Whilst here we travelled a lot, visiting Ben Nevis, Arisaig, Skye, Glenfinnan, Fort Augustus, Invergarry, and the Cairngorms, plus many other places. The scenery we saw was mind blowing and the weather has been amazing. I think we have seen just about all types except wind and rain!!! We even walked all of Plodda Falls with it entirely to ourselves! The wildlife has been amazing, almost as good Jenny's cranberry flapjacks! Stags, deer, red squirrels, endless birds of prey and the lovely woodpecker that visits the garden. If you have clear skies on your holiday don't forget to take a look at the stars! Myself, Chris and or old dog Smudge have had a wonderful Christmas and given how lovely the surrounding are is, we would like to come back in a different season to benefit from longer day light hours. I'm sure if you are reading this you will already know just how lovely this place is! Thanks to Jenny for allowing us to have such a lovely place to spend our Christmas.

Mark 23
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/01/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

This cottage exceeded our expectations, we arrived to heavy snow and the drive was cleared and the cottage cosy warm. The log burner was a welcome addition but not really required due to the central heating. Due to location no mobile phone signal but WiFi available. A landline was in the cottage via a pay phone. A wonderful part of our country to visit the wildlife is amazing.

MollyC
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 11/01/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

The Mill at Glenlivet is a piece of peaceful paradise tucked away in a quiet, beautiful and isolated corner of the Cairngorms. I cannot imagine a more perfect place to escape from it all. We spent a week here over New Year's and it was the best holiday we've ever had. Lack of wifi and mobile signal was a huge plus for us as it felt completely isolated from the stresses of daily life. The cottage is immaculate, cozy, tastefully decorated and with breathtaking views over the surrounding hills. The library nook is the perfect place to spend a rainy afternoon and the big fireplace welcome after a day walking in the hills. The kitchen is extraordinarily well equipped for cooking (be sure to do a big food shop before you come as there is nowhere nearby to eat out or buy groceries). There is a seemingly endless variety of hill and valley walks that are accessible right from the front door - we only used our car twice the whole week. Gorgeous views on the walks, with mostly well marked trails and abundant wildlife (deer, rabbit, hawks, pheasants, grouse...) and aside from once on New Year's Day we didn't see a soul all week on the walks, the trails were completely isolated. All of the nearby distilleries were closed in winter but we found a brilliant whiskey shop (The Whiskey Castle) in nearby Tomintoul which was open and featured more than 500 whiskeys, well worth a visit! The hosts Bill and Marjory are so lovely, they left a delightful welcome basket and Bill picked us up at the bottom of the hill in his 4x4 as it was too icy to drive up. We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat, ever since getting back we have been wishing we were still there!