Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 61 to 80 of 2775


Keith Work
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

A wonderful retreat for eight golfers completely central to all relevant amenities. The river walk from Ballater at 01:00 was a wee bit of a stumble! But we made it... lol

Niki Fulton
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Luxury in Paradise. Brilliantly equipped accommodation (and great books on the bookcase incl, maps, history, poetry, novels), really comfortable with stunning views over the bay. Fantastic location - so many beautiful beaches, geology, wildlife, footpaths, artists and foodie places all around the island. We booked another week the day we got home!

Nicole & Gernot
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Nice little cottage, warm and cosy. Very quiet location near the Point of Stoer. Thanks Jane and Jack for the warm welcome and the delicious scones.

Nick Green
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

We had a very enjoyable one week stay at Shellach Cottage in May. Great location for touring and exploring the surrounding west coast scenery. Lovely views across Loch Carron from the cottage. Adequate sized, cosy rooms and well equipped kitchen. Owner was responsive in getting minor maintenance problem attended to quickly.

Steffi
Reviewed Ardrannach on 03/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Very nice House to Discover Skye. Only drawback are the mattresses of all beds, they should be changed soon.

Graham, Paula, Maisie (the Springer) & Tweed (th
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 02/06/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We decided fairly last minute to take a week away and so were a little limited for choice having left it so late. Easter Drumine came up and from the photo's look absolutely perfect so we booked. On arrival the cottage was set in an ideal location with forestry to one side and open farmland to the other, the nearest neighbour being a farm in the distance about a mile away! It is a fairly newly built property and once inside we were welcomed with a lovely card from the owners along with a little gift and they'd even gone to the trouble of leaving coffee and milk to have a brew and a bowl of water and a box of biscuits for the dogs too. We went for an explore around the house which was absolutely immaculate and totally spotlessly clean, it has underfloor heating in every room so was lovely and cosy and it was very well equipped as well and we wanted for nothing. The garden/grounds are huge and include a massive lawn and also a picnic table to enjoy the sunshine and as the owner of a spaniel who can find her way out of even the tiniest gap I can confirm the garden is very well enclosed. Despite her best efforts to get to the pheasants she was bitterly disappointed at being defeated by the fencing! There is plenty of wildlife right on the doorstep including pheasants, red deer and rabbits and the track which leads up through the woodland is perfect for the morning walks. Travelling further afield there is plenty to do as well, around 20 minutes drive away is the beach at Nairn....miles and miles of beautiful sand and also some woodland walks in the huge forest just off the same road at Culbin. Forres is a lovely little town and I can highly recommend the Mosset Tavern for some good grub, you can even take the dogs in the bar area. The owners of this property clearly go above and beyond in welcoming their guests into this fabulous cottage and all their little extra touches for us made the difference between our holiday being good and it being great!! Thank you....we will be back.

Jason Janice & Chalky.
Reviewed River Cottage on 01/06/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was the perfect place a lot of thought had gone into this little place it was home from home. Relaxing,quiet,peaceful.

Charlotte Whitelaw
Reviewed River Cottage on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Well equipped comfortable cottage in peaceful riverside setting. Enjoyed late suppers on the shaded veranda accompanied by the sound of the river and birdsong. Thoughtful owners who allowed us our seclusion.

Mrs P Riley
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

This cottage is absolutely delightful, we were a family of 6 adults a toddler and 3 dogs. This cottage covered everything, the garden is enormous and a river running at the bottom beyond a fence, a rocky shallow river with plenty of trees all around, there are 2 other cottages either side of it but not intrusive in any way. There is plenty of parking for 3 cars and a garage with bbq, table and chairs. The house was large enough for everyone not to be in each others pocket. could do with a few more appliances in the kitchen, perhaps a slow cooker and toastie machine? Sky TV is basic but you haven't gone all that way to watch TV! WiFi could be intermittent when it wanted. If your not built like a cocktail stick I suggest you take your own bath towels as they're only small. But, we coped very well, only there for a week. The views are wonderful, very rugged compared to the other side of loch Ness. Beautiful dark lochs, forests and mountains. We had a Pine Martin at the bottom of the garden one day, that's how remote it is. If you want peace and quiet, this is the spot. Only traffic is logging wagons and the school bus in a morning. the log burner was lovely in the evening. Very central to go anywhere. Lots of places to go. Nearest little shop is in Foyers, got most things but a bit expensive, but she has to make a living. All in all a fantastic week, not one of us wanted to go home, so I can highly recommend Balmachree for your holiday *****

Susan Price
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous place, owners very welcoming, a modern log cabin very tastefully decorated, wood burner was great, right in the heart of Grantown on Spey lovely historical town, plenty of walks nearby in Anagach woods, with loads to see and do.

John Hearn
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

Perfect if there was a bath.

Alan Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great 2 weeks spent at Lilybank Cottage... although we knew what a high standard the cottage sets it was nice to see that the cottage has been tastefully redecorated to its usual high standard and I am sure the new fencing around the garden will be appreciated by young families & pets. Will be back in October and will book for 2/3 weeks next year. Thanks again for returning my wife's jewellery ...!! Alan Denise & Ben

Deborah
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is warm and comfortable and in a stunning location. Wildlife all around. Great for a base to explore the Highlands. The garden is not entirely dog proof as my dogs were able to get through the wooden 5 bar gate and the choice of white leather furniture and a cream and red rug was not the best choice when you have dogs either.

Stewart
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This was a lovely, peaceful place to stay. The cottage was very well equipped, very cosy and had beautiful views. The large garden was fully enclosed and the dog loved it. I would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.

Toogoolawa
Reviewed Sixgeary on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

It was a joy to stay at Sixgeary. The design and layout was perfect; It was immaculately maintained, extremely well equipped and in a great position. The wifi was very good and a bonus was being able to watch Netflix. Fiona, the Housekeeper made us very welcome. Geary is a small community with no facilities but we didn't have any problems using Sixgeary as a base to explore Northern Skye. We have used Wilderness Cottages on several occasions to stay in different parts of Skye and have been very happy with each of the cottages in which we've stayed and service provided by the Company.

Sue Sutton
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous location- we were fortunate to see otters from the cottage window. The views are spectacular, the cottage, comfortable and very well equipped. We had a great holiday, and will definitely return!

Rosand
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely, quiet cottage with very helpful hosts. Perfect for a relaxing break.

Caroline
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

A beautiful cottage that has been renovated to a very high standard. It has everything you need plus more and is very spacious. We also found the location very good to explore the area. Jeff and Jacqui are very knowledgeable on places to visit which was very helpful as this was our first visit to Scotland. We would definitely recommend Arrivain Cottage and hope to return.

Anne Price
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Beautiful location and cottage. Views are amazing but we were up in the cloud for two days! Saw sea eagles on the last day - better sighting than the ones from the sea eagle boat trip that morning! Cottage is very well equipped with everything you need including maps, books on local area etc. Would recommend to those who don't mind being in a quite isolated location and single track roads to get to it!

Shirley Rose
Reviewed Charleston on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Unfortunately I was unable to go on my much anticipated holiday as I was in hospital. However my brother his partner and Bertie the dog had a wonderful time. They told me that the cottage was amazing, especially the garden room where they spent many hours watching the wild life and enjoying the views. Bertie had a wonderful time with all the space to run in and explore. They said that everything you could think of was provided, the peace and quiet and the outlook were perfect. I'm so upset that I couldn't go, but we hope to go again next year. Thank you so much to the owners for allowing us the use of their property.