Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1901 to 1950 of 2840


Jill Wicks
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/07/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

9/7/11 - Wicks family Had a fantastic week here, cottage was amazing and the garden was fabulous. Weather was brilliant which helped and we even had breakfast in the garden twice. Lots of lovely walks from the cottage doorstep, secret beaches, and loads of beautiful scenery. Will recommend this cottage to all our friends and family and would love to return one day.

Theo & Yvonne & Alba
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/07/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a wonderful time at Katie's cottage. It is beautifully restored. It has everything we needed a home away from home. The kitchen is very well equipped. We fell in love with Skye and the cottage. Our dog loved roaming in the fenced-in garden. In these peaceful surroundings you can truly come back to earth. We hope we can visit it a again sometime in the future.

Judith Gilbert
Reviewed Chapel House on 12/07/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

Nichola & Stuart Manley
Reviewed Brackenhaugh on 11/07/2011
And awarded it

Brackenhaugh

S Roberts
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 06/07/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Nice luxury accommodation would recommend this cabin, lovely secluded location and only 10mins walk to the village.

Balazs Szendroi
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 05/07/2011
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Eileen Sanderson
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 30/06/2011
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a happy week in the croft. It is cosy and warm with a fine view from the windows. Every evening when we got back from the mountains we lit a log fire from the plentiful supply. Out and about in this quiet area we saw more wildlife in a morning than we have in more popular places - a red squirrel is a regular visitor to the garden. The little general store at Laggan is well stocked and there are plenty places to eat out. The cottage is very clean and thoughtfully furnished.

Familie Kiefer
Reviewed Glen View on 30/06/2011
And awarded it

Glen View

Helen Charlton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/06/2011
And awarded it
Kenneth & Kirsty McGrath
Reviewed Lianachan on 23/06/2011
And awarded it

Lianachan

Anita Mears
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 22/06/2011
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing week at Owl Cottage, Fort Augustus. Beautifully clean and everything you require at your fingertips! Cottage in a very peaceful lane just a couple of minutes walk from the Caledonian Canal - perfect!

Paul & Jane
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/06/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Stayed at the Old Smiddy. The property is to the highest standard anyone could wish for. So clean and well presented, well equiped for a relaxing self catering holiday. Good location, plenty to see and do.

Janet Weir
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Just returned from a week at Creag nah Iolaire. What a lovely house and a fabulous location with the most fantastic views. Warm welcome from the charming owner too. Road not as steep as mentioned in another review, had no problem with our cars. Highly recommended if you're planning a holiday around the Loch Ness area.

Karen Lloyd
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

The Cattle Shed is an incredibly well designed, beautifully presented, clean and modern holiday home with every comfort. It has a spectacular setting, perched high on a hillside with far reaching views. The friendly owners have equipped this place to a very high standard, such an eye for detail has made this an OUTSTANDING place to stay. Very highly recommended indeed.

Gordon Siegel
Reviewed Log House on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Log House

Perfect get away from it all log house, with deer to be seen in the front garden and pine martins at night and with robins who like to come in and feed. 2nd time staying at the log house and no doubt i will be back next year.one word "AMAZING"

Carol & Douglas Forrest
Reviewed Timber House on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Timber House

We have been coming to the Timber House every year since 2008 and we love it. Great location, great eating less than a mile away at The 3 Chimneys or in Dunvegan, easy access to the rest of Skye. However the best bit about the house aside from it being extremely easy to live in is the most wonderful panoramic views from the windows - stunning! There is always something to see - seals basking on the shores or playing in the loch or an amazing variety of birds. We are always sad to leave.

Jim Bunce
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 20/06/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

An excellent apartment in a fantastic location. Very well equipped with quality furnishings and just about everything you could need, to hand. Games (supplied) provided much entertainment and apartment has SKY+ and a quality stereo unit with an IPOD fitting. Abbey itself is a remarkable building in fantastic grounds and Fort Augustus has lots to see and plenty of places to eat. Many attractions nearby. Glen Affic is just beautiful Would recommend and re-visit

Mr & Mrs Matchett
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 19/06/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

we stayed at Marnies croft for 1 week at the beginning of june, it was one of the best holidays I have had, the views from the cottage were amazing, anyone who appreciates nature and peaceful scenic surrounding will love this place. The cottage was clean and very well equipped. The only downfall for myself my husband and my parents who came with us was that we had to come home.

Helen Munro
Reviewed Loch Ness Water Mill on 18/06/2011
And awarded it

Loch Ness Water Mill

Kim Mills
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 17/06/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was our first time at Katie's cottage in Skye. The cottage has been very tastefully and sympathetically renovated and met all our needs. It is in a good location for further exploring - Nest Point, Talisker Bay, Glenbrittle Forest, Three Chimneys Restaurant. The views across Glendale were very beautiful. Would highly recommend this cottage in the future.

Jo Phillips
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 17/06/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our 3rd excellent holiday at this cottage. its a lovely, clean cottage in a brilliant location and just perfect with its well equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer for all the wet towels our family has ! Have already booked again for next year!

George MacDonald Ross
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 16/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

The view from the garden is stunning: straight across Loch Laxford to the whole ridge of Foinaven. The drinking water tastes lovely, and don't worry about petrol - the garage at Scourie functions 24 hours a day.

Sally
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 16/06/2011
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

What a brilliant little place. Me and my husband stayed for a week in June and could not fault the cottage. It has everything that is needed and more for a comfortable stay, you just need to bring you food and you're set. It is ideal for two and the location is just a bonus. The town is lovely, the scenery wonderful and there are great places to walk, Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle being only a mile away. The city of Inverness is just a short drive and has all the shopping you need.

Tracey Hemsley
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Ernie & Pat Scales
Reviewed Giusaichean on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Ernie & Pat Scales
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

This was our first time here and we were really impressed. Woodside is nicely, and secludedly, located above the shore of Loch Kishorn with a great view of the Bealach Na Ba.there are local amenities (sea food restaurant and shop) and Lochcarron shops are a 10 minute drive away. The garden is fully secure and there's plenty of wildlife to see. The owners, Sally and John are most helpful.

Mr & Mrs Cunliffe
Reviewed Glenara on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Glenara

A delightful little cottage with everything you need. The position of this cottage is fabulous and within 1 minute of the shops and pubs. A great owner who gives you a real welcome and is on hand to sort out any problems ----which you will not have. Suited for a couple or a small family. It is also a dog friendly cottage. We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend it.

Eileen & Frank
Reviewed Charleston on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Charleston a property in Errogie approx 18 miles from Inverness it was our 4th visit and wont be our last a beautiful property in an wonderful setting. The peace tranquility and views cannot be rivaled.

Angela & John Hunt
Reviewed Ardrannach on 14/06/2011
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We spent the first week of our honeymoon in Mr and Mrs McPherson lovely cottage and were made to feel very welcome. The peat fire was very cosy and the cottage was very comfortable, spacious, with everything we needed and lot more. Excellent location to explore the island and very handy for Portree. Views were fantastic, would highly recommend staying here as cottage is excellent. Thank you for helping make our first trip to Skye very enjoyable and special.

Thomas
Reviewed Glen View on 13/06/2011
And awarded it

Glen View

Dot & Paul Schindler
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/06/2011
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Have recently returned from our fourth visit to Pine Lodge. As always, cottage was clean, comfortable, warm and peaceful; John and Sally friendly, helpful but not obtrusive. The view from the cottage is spectacular and the wildlife outside the window kept us entertained: at least 11 species of birds around the feeders, deer at the end of the garden and we were privileged to have 10 visits from a pine marten. Beautiful scenery wherever you go. Have already booked holiday number 5 - can't wait!

Pam Handyside
Reviewed Callakille on 10/06/2011
And awarded it

Callakille

The Paiges
Reviewed Loch Ness Water Mill on 09/06/2011
And awarded it

Loch Ness Water Mill

Robin & Sue Potts
Reviewed Ardrannach on 08/06/2011
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Delightful, comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting. Fantasic views from the big picture window in the lounge - the only other houses in sight were on the distant island of Raasay. We loved the peat fire and the peace and quiet! The path to Portree and back around Ben Chracaig add to the delights. Well equipped and cosy.

Clive
Reviewed Charleston on 08/06/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

May 28th- 4th June. Had a great holiday. Charleston was very spacious, welcoming, well equipped and with added extras. Lovely views and walks around the area. The girls enjoyed flying their kites and it was a fantastic place for dogs - especially letting them out in the morning within the enclosed garden area. Would definitely visit again.

Jane & David Wing
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Hilda Blythe
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

We just returned from a really comfortable week at this lovely cottage. Everything you need is at hand, and there are some lovely villages, open gardens and beaches to explore nearby. We would recommend Kirklachline Cottage to anyone!!

SARAH WEST
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage provided us with the perfect base for a holiday on the Applecross peninsula. The cottage was welcoming, well equipped and full of books, games and maps. The deck provided us all with a great venue for socialising at breakfast, dinner and tea when the sun was shining and we thought we were in the Carribean ! If rock pooling, wildlife, cycling, walking and community are your thing, then this is a perfect base.

Paul Edmondson
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 07/06/2011
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

May 28th to June 2nd 2011 had a great week relaxing with my family I will be using Wilderness Cottages again

Peter & Anna Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 06/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

No TV, no telephone, no mobile signal, no wifi, no neighbours, no traffic. What more could you ask for? We really don't want any more people to know about Hill Cottage because we would like to find a vacant week for a third visit. Sutherland is awesome. Dealings with Wilderness Cottages excellent.

Sue
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/06/2011
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Hallam Family
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This was an ideal property for us. The lay out of the bedrooms was brilliant, as one couple with their children slept upstairs, the the other couple slept downstairs well away from the noisy children!! The cottage is very well presented and spacious. The children and the dog loved the garden. The cottage is in a very good location, approx half way up the Loch Ness, with fantastic walks on the door step. I would give this property 10/10.

The Grimmond Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 04/06/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovely cottage,peace and quiet,fantastic views. Location of the cottage above Urquhart Castle is magnificent. You can just simply chill out and enjoy the scenery or,if you want to be more active, there is lots to do:lovely walks nearby, cruises, horse riding, visit the castle, Culloden etc. We had a magical family holiday with relatives from USA and Canada who were overwhelmed by the beauty of this place.

Marius & Helen
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 02/06/2011
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Janice
Reviewed Rhundunan on 01/06/2011
And awarded it

Rhundunan

28th May 2011 Had a lovely week at Rhundunan (despite the weather) the cottage was excellent, well equipped and the views were spectacular. Would definately recommend this cottage.

Rosalind Bailey
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 01/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Hill Head Croft was a very comfortable retreat for our week's holiday and the garden and views were beautiful. There was plenty of space in the cottage for us all and the aga in the spacious kitchen was a godsend! Sadly the weather was diabolical so we weren't able to take advantage of the pretty garden but we had some amazing walks in spite of the weather and the Dores Inn was not too far away for us to enjoy its super atmosphere and wonderful food. This part of Scotland is so beautiful.

Viv & Phil Stockdale
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Margaret & Faqir Kallow
Reviewed Loch Duich Cottage on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Loch Duich Cottage

Zoe Hobbs
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

The cabin was very comfortable and well equipped and the Jackson family made us very welcome but were not at all intrusive. The beach at Shandwick Bay is beautiful, within walking distance and usually deserted - perfect for long dog walks. It's a great location to tour the North Highlands which is stunning! Didn't find much in the way of pubs or restaurants to get excited about but there is an excellent fishmonger / butcher / local food supplier in Tain.

D. Davies
Reviewed Chapel House on 31/05/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House