Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 451 to 500 of 2840


Elaine Cramond
Reviewed Glenara on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Had a very pleasant stay at Glenara last week and we found the cottage very clean and comfortable! The owner Bob met us on arrival and I found that a nice personal touch! Location was perfect, right in the heart of the village of a fort Augustus next to the Caledonian Canal! The cottage sits back slightly from the road so it was also very peaceful and quiet! Big garden goes right down to the river with splendid views and perfect for our dog Bear to run around in and be safely enclosed! Hubbie enjoyed fishing from there also! We would definitely return.

D Campbell
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Great place to stay.Host's we're friendly and helpful.cottage was imaculate,with a great view of the sea.

The Bradley Family
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 02/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We stayed at seascape cottage. The owners were there to welcome us to the most beautiful cottage with outstanding views. To say that the owners are nothing less than helpful and welcoming would be an understatement. Welcomed with a smile, and homemade produce started our holiday off to a wonderful start. Not to mention that they are so helpful and truly the nicest couple! Everything in the cottage is of excellent standard and quality. The best equipped cottage we have EVER stayed in, with extras like dog beds, bowls even washing tablets to last you the full week. Not including poop bags for the dogs and a ball!! Super beds, and comfy sofas welcome you after the long and beautiful walks with the dogs. Outstanding decor and such a welcoming environment as soon as you walk in the door. And not one thing has been forgotten about. I wish on cottages like this, there was an extra rating, because excellent just doesn't seem to describe this cottage and the stay that we had here. Its way above that, and I really can't wait till we go back next year

V Gilmore
Reviewed Ardrannach on 01/08/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We really enjoyed staying at Ardrannach, a comfortable, well equipped cottage with loads of space and beautiful views. It feels like it's in the middle of nowhere but is only a 10 minute drive from Portree's shops and restaurants. A great base to explore Skye and I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/08/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

The cottage is in a beautiful location and the views are stunning. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Watching the wildlife and changing sky at night was so relaxing. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Christina Moore
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 31/07/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

I am going to be honest, I really don't want to leave a good review because the cottage is so amazing, that I want to keep it all to myself. It is far beyond perfect and I didn't want to leave. The pictures online were lovely but when you actually walk into the doors, your jaw drops. It is more magnificent than the online pictures show. You will literally not want to leave. Beautiful, clean...it doesn't get any more perfect.

Karen & David, Scotland
Reviewed Log House on 30/07/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We visited the Log House for a week beginning of June 2016 and had a great time....the garden ,front and back, is a sun trap if the weather allows, the bed was one of the most comfy we've had and only found 1 spider in all the time there lol. There are great walks both to the left and right of the garden entrance, down to the left takes you to the River Oich which was gorgeous and to the right takes you out to Fort Augustus village, which is only a 20/25 minute walk (or 5 min drive). We saw finches,robins and at least 2 woodpeckers on the birdtable which you can watch from inside the house, and 3 deer out front, but you need to be quiet if you want to see them as they are as quick as a flash! From the village you can go on a Loch Ness cruise, which is well worth it, and there's a shop you can buy your groceries, we used it nearly every day, it always had what we needed and plenty of souvenir shops ...and the chip shop there was 1 of the best. If anything we'd say if you want to eat out then the best time is when the visiting buses are there, as otherwise the places to eat can be pretty quiet, but that is a small thing in the bigger picture. Once you get used to where you are and the house itself then it's a great wee place to stay, yes there are a couple houses nearby but we hardly came across anyone, the postwoman and a couple walking down to the river and they couple houses might just give you that wee bit of security you might need, knowing someone else is there.....apart from that it really is a wilderness log house..enjoy if you go..

Skyebots
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 30/07/2016
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

A fantastic house in a quiet, peaceful and beautiful location. The owners have done a great job in making sure the property has everything you need. The modern refurbishment with climate control and underfloor heating make it a very comfortable and cosy place, even when the weather is at it's worse.

Andrea
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 29/07/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Beautiful cottage. Everything we needed. Perfect location . Stunning views.

Morag M
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 29/07/2016
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A beautiful cottage, we did not want to leave each day. Great for the dog, lovely garden to run about in. Highly recommend !

Richard Atkin & Jeremy Boughey - Plus 'Bijoux'
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/07/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you appreciate beautiful and peaceful countryside - then Seascape Cottage is ideal for you! The cottage is located down a rural lane and overlooks fields - with views across the sea to Ireland. Plenty of places to walk your dog and enjoy the lovely coastal scenery. Seascape is very well equipped with modern appliances, tasteful furnishings and is spotlessly clean. The bathroom is spacious and the shower warm and powerful. The cottage owners, Chaz and Jane live close-by and are a lovely couple. They take great care not to 'intrude' but frankly we much enjoyed their pleasant company. The location of the cottage is also well placed for those guests wishing to visit the many excellent gardens in the vicinity. Being warmed by the Gulf Stream these gardens can grow the tender exotic plants that most of us in the UK can only dream about. We would particularly recommend Logan Botanic Garden. Finally, Seascape Cottage not only 'accepts' dogs but 'welcomes' them - so our Bichon Frise had a great holiday too.

Anne & Mark
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 29/07/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Moll Cottage is a lovely comfortable base for relaxing and exploring the island.

The McMillans
Reviewed Fhaireag on 29/07/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We had a fantastic holiday at Fhaireag. The house was beautiful, clean and maintained to a high standard. The location was wonderful and very peaceful. We would highly recommend Fhaireag to anyone and look forward to hopefully staying again soon.

Kathryn Fraser
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/07/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Ceol na Mara is the most perfect cottage in the most perfect location. Absolutely loved it. I couldn't have wished for more. Even the wet days I still looked out and loved it. Having breakfast outside with the view over to Skye was a memory that will stay with me forever. It was the most peaceful relaxing place I have ever been to. The run over to Applecross was beautiful. I can absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a completely get away from it all holiday. If I could go back tomorrow I would be packed and off like a shot.

Thomas Barbour
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

The cottage was fine in a good Location

Matt & Sam
Reviewed Sixgeary on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A fantastic location made all the better by the great cottage we stayed in .We couldn't have asked for any more in a holiday home , all mod cons and the welcome pack was a lovely touch

Ann Bilton
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Had a most enjoyable time at Woodside lodge, very cosy and everything and more you could wish for. The scenery when it is not raining is amazing. Would not hesitate in returning to the lodge.

Nicola Garmory
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

The house was fantastic for our family get together. Lots of room and beautifully designed. Very comfortable and clean. Also great views of the bay and the mountains from downstairs and the upstairs lounge. Easy access to the local beaches.

Ellie Taylor
Reviewed Toberaie on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Toberaie

We had a wonderful time at Toberaie in the Cairngorms. I would thoroughly recommend Wilderness Cottages, our adventure was beautiful, peaceful and stunning! And the company was very efficient at sorting the stay out.

ANNA CHATAWAY
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Lovely cottage beautifully equipped. Good supply of books, games and an eclectic mix of art to enjoy - and a great shower! The drive from the road seems endless at first but by the end of the week we felt we knew every bend and stone (and sheep). Wonderful scenery and lots of interesting places to visit. Our dogs loved the walks. Very helpful housekeeper if anything goes wrong.. We never did get the tv working but that wasn't such a bad thing!

Van Hemert
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 28/07/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage. Clean and well equiped. Ideally situated: very quiet and great walks from cottage and still only few minutes drive from Portree. Highly recommended

Carol Macleod
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 27/07/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Very picturesque setting and good location for aviemore and boat of garten. Lack of shower was a bit inconvenient but I had taken a bath attachment from home so we managed. Facilities in cottage need a bit of upgrading. Maybe a few new books and board games would be a good idea.

James Riley
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 27/07/2016
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Just wanted to leave a review for the house and to say thank you. We have had a brilliant time and have completely fallen in love with the location and house. The Shed has been really great and we will return soon.

Joan & Norman TIPTON
Reviewed Ardrannach on 26/07/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

A comfortable and well equipped cottage in a quiet location with stunning views. Friendly and helpful owners. Hopefully we will return.

Chris Territt
Reviewed Station Cottage on 23/07/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We loved our stay at Station Cottage, its remote enough for peace and quiet but close enough to everywhere to have days out. Very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a holiday in a beautiful part of the worls.

Frank & Eryl Walters
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/07/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is a lovely cottage, with lots of little extras and attention which makes such a difference. Chas and Jane are so warm and welcoming. They are there to help but very discreet as they live behind the property. A peaceful and remote spot but easy to access this beautiful area of Scotland. A perfect place for a winter holiday as the cottage is so arm and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

SarahF
Reviewed Wee Dram on 18/07/2016
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Lovely cottage. Spacious and comfortable in a rural location with fantastic views. Great base for walking with easy access to the Spey Way. Pleasant and helpful owners.

David & Jane
Reviewed Glenara on 16/07/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting, ideally situated for the amenities in the village.

Romy Beard
Reviewed Solas on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Solas

Mr Ron Coxhill
Reviewed Glenara on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Very comfortable, clean cottage with all we needed. Superb location with large back garden leading down to the river bank. In the mornings we watched the boats going up and down the canal locks as we breakfasted. Great week.

Ann Newstead
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

This is a lovely cottage - very clean - in a stunning location. Very quiet and peaceful.

Mrs Byrne
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had a lovely relaxing week in beautiful surroundings. The cottage was clean and well equipped with everything we needed. I have already recommended the cottage several times including a couple we met in Fort Augustus during our stay!

Callakille In Early July
Reviewed Callakille on 12/07/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille is a beautiful cottage, full of character and in a tranquil location, equipped with everything you would need for your stay. We had a mixed week weather wise and it can get a little chilly upstairs, however if you get good weather you will enjoy fantastic views across the water and stunning sunsets. About 20 minutes drive from Applecross with a petrol pump, shop + highly recommend visiting the walled garden and Potting Shed restaurant. The cottage and holiday was everything we hoped it would be.

G Conway
Reviewed Glenara on 08/07/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Excellent accommodation, clean and smart with a charming garden backing onto the river. Well situated for excursions to either coast or for Loch Ness. (We went to Urquhart castle, Skye, Aviemore, Arisaig, Morar, Glenfinnan, Aonach Mor, Inverness, Loch Linnhe). Fort Augustus is small but bustling and was a good base for a holiday in the Highlands.

Hans & Judy
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/07/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is a lovely place to stay - cosy, warm, well furnished and equipped - it has everything you need including an excellent bed! Jane gave us a warm welcome with her own homemade scones. The byre is surrounded by unspoilt nature, cows, sheep and birds - a wonderful place to switch off and relax. Ideally situated for exploring Assynt, Coiglach and the north.

Alan & Janette Ramsay
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/07/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We have just returned from our second visit to Seascape Cottage, enjoyed everything again, Jack (our dog) says ditto.

Alan Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 02/07/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a perfect cottage, in a perfect location and is well equipped, very comfortable and homely. Great location to explore the Inverness and/or West coast of Scotland areas. Neighbours also very friendly and welcoming. Great food available from the Lock Inn, Moriston Hotel and really good butcher in Fort Augustus. Will be back in October and for at least 2 weeks in 2017. Lastly many thanks for returning my wife's jewellery so promptly . Aaln & Denise Bell + Ben

Alan & Denise + Ben
Reviewed Lilybank on 02/07/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a perfect cottage in a perfect location. The cottage is very well equipped, clean and homely.... Really enjoyed our break - so we extended it - and will be back in October ...and will book at least 2 weeks for 2017... Special thanks to the lady who takes care of the cottage ( & Wilderness ) for the prompt return of my wife's jewellery that we left in the bedroom...very much appreciated .. Alan & Denise + Ben

Eve Gilmore
Reviewed Station Cottage on 01/07/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

An excellent cottage. Very good for families with young children as on one levelo and a safe garden.

Sheila Goodman
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

The house was very comfortable to stay in. It had all the amenities we required. It was clean, tidy and well equiped. We like the location because it was remote and quiet. I loved the big picture window and spent most of my stay watching the sea and the sky as they changed with the light and wind. I would recommend this holiday house to anyone who wants to get away from it all. Take plenty of food, drink and books to read.

Mr Keith Hughes
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Amazing tranquillity totally stressfree accommodation would highly recommend this to friends and family

Allen & Yvonne Lambert
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was our third time of staying at Bayside over a number of years and it was as good as before.The welcome tray and wine is a lovely touch for the start of your holiday. We hope to be back again soon.

Brian Hubbard
Reviewed Moll House on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Our first holiday with Wilderness Cottages, excellent service throughout. I particularly liked the booking service both the online and the fact I was also provided with hard copies through the post. Our accommodation was top rate, excellent condition, great location, and total peace and quiet. I will definitely use Wilderness Cottages again, already looking forward to 2017.

Sandy & Fiona , Ayr
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 30/06/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Taigh Druim is an exceptional holiday home , spacious,well equipped and very comfortable. The views to the Cuillin and out to the islands are quite stunning,and to sit out on the deck on a warm evening with a glass of wine listening to the waves below and the call of the birds is the stuff of dreams! Perfection.

Sables
Reviewed Drumfad Barn on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Drumfad Barn

Lovely comfortable cottage. Could benefit from additional "crockery" to save on use of dishwasher. Weather was good during the week of our stay. Enjoyed walks from the door with our dog. Can highly recommend The Clansman at Port William. Our first Self Catering Holiday in Scotland. Will certainly be returning to explore new "ground".Thank you Emily

Gerard Hanlon
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Best time ever we had so relaxing cosiest log cabin we have ever stayed in and we've been to a few! Gordan the owner is a total gentleman and will help with anything you will need We wished we had booked for 2 weeks Anyone staying at this cabin will love it

Gill Cornelius
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is very isolated and quite scary drive down the hill first time but it was worth it. Such comfy beds, soft towels and really good shower .....oh and the views of the sea were just amazing. We were blessed with good weather too which made it even more special. A really lovely relaxed holiday .

Mrs Donaldson
Reviewed Log House on 29/06/2016
And awarded it

Log House

This was my families third time to this amazing log cabin. It's set in a fantastic location in the woods with some beautiful walks with amazing views of the River Oich right outside your door. The Cabin has everything you need & is a lovely short walk into Fort Augustus itself. Cannot say how much we love this place & can guarantee we will be back a fourth time.

Jeff MacGregor
Reviewed Eilean Mor on 28/06/2016
And awarded it

Eilean Mor

Martin Wilson
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 25/06/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This cosy cottage has all you need, some ceilings are a little low upstairs but you soon learn to duck. Well equipped, great position, lovely deck to enjoy morning coffee and Gin & Tonic at sunset (which is really quite late in the summer).