Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 451 to 500 of 2840


Paul Mitchell
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Splendid setting. Very comfortable, well equipped. Cosy cottage.

Chris & Lorna Thomas
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely cottage and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. Chaz and Jane were warm and welcoming and full of information. They were always the same but also respected our privacy. Cracker their Lurcher was a delight. Wonderful weather for our 2 weeks with some spectacular sunsets over the sea and N. Ireland. A treat to be able to see the Milky Way. A great place for buzzards and kestrels. A flock of Lapwings on the way to Portpatrick was a bonus. We saw the wild goats just down the coast but failed to see the deer. All in all a magical secluded place.

Anne Malcolm & Elsie Plus Jess The Dog
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Fabulous cottage in great location comfortable furnishings well equiped kitchen more like a family home then a holiday cottage enclosed garden for jess

Kay Craig
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage is a lovely cottage in a beautiful forest setting. It is furnished and decorated to an extremely high standard. There are very thoughtful welcome touches and lots of information on areas of local interest & instructions for all the appliances. We were very impressed & would like to return.

Michael
Reviewed Wee Dram on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Phil & Lesley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Wonderfully peaceful location. Comfortable cosy cottage, with a view to die for!!

Jane, Kevin & Ross McDonald
Reviewed Ardrannach on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Please see previous review for 10th Sept - 1st October as we stayed for 4 weeks.

Caroline, Yogi, Diesel & Mr McHenry
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had the most wonderful time at Shore Cottage, the property is very well equipped and has excellent access to the beach. Our three dogs had a fantastic time running on the beach and thoroughly enjoyed the heat from the wood burner in the conservatory at the end of the day. A most relaxing holiday and we can't wait to return, we've already booked again for next year.

Deborah
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

A lovely isolated cottage with stunning views. Isle of Skye was beautiful. We had a seal pass on the 1st night and a deer feeding at the back of the house one morning. The cottage has everything you need for a lovely stay . Would say the only negatives were the boiler due to not having high pressure makes a noise. And a shame the settee was so uncomfortable change this and it would be perfect.

Andrew Gray
Reviewed Sixgeary on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

SixGeary was perfect for our requirements. Extremely clean and well presented in a wonderfully tranquil location. The cottage is set back from a road that is ultimately a dead-end; therefore traffic is limited. We were lucky enough to witness some amazing autumnal sunrises facilitated by some un-seasonally fantastic weather and a superb vantage point. Highly recommended and would not hesitate in returning.

Norm Dunk
Reviewed Sixgeary on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Delightful and extremely well appointed cottage. Immaculate throughout. Geary is well off the beaten track so be prepared for that, but this is no way a negative, as that is exactly why we went to Geary. Fantastic sunrises over Uig and a young Eagle was making his claim to the territory outside Sixgeary cottage, so we saw "him/her" most days. Absolutely lover our week there and we were blessed in October with sun every day, so much so, I got sunburned !!! Would highly recommend this cottage and we will return.

Janet Goldsworthy
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

Marian Lister
Reviewed Moll House on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

A little piece of heaven. Beautiful views, quiet and peaceful. Lovely house, comfortable, warm, everything supplied too. This was our second visit to Moll, and we'll be back in the spring. Sweep our dog is moping for the garden and beach!

Sara Fothergill
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A lovely little cottage in an outstanding location. Super clean and comfortable, with beautiful walks right from the door. The whole of the island's delights are a short car journey away. Highly recommended!

Kevin, Jane & Ross McDonald
Reviewed Ardrannach on 16/10/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Our stay at Ardrannach on Skye was all good apart from the weather. It was very stormy, wet and windy. However our accommodation was warm, comfortable and spacious and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The view from the lounge was beautiful. We love Skye and this was an ideal spot to be based. Thank you.

Leslie
Reviewed Charleston House on 14/10/2016
And awarded it

Charleston House

Graham Back
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 06/10/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Great cottage superb views, very dog friendly, will definately stay here again. Owners very helpful.

Liz & Mike Rushton
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 06/10/2016
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

The Cattle Shed is spacious, warm and has fantastic views from the windows and front door. The cottage owner is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It's a great place to unwind with plenty of walking from the doorstep. We would definitely book it again.

Mr & Mrs Johnson
Reviewed Sealight on 05/10/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

Fantastic property, fantastic location. We couldn't have asked for anything more really, the kitchen was by far the most catered for kitchen we've come across and we've stayed in a few. Pine Martens every night without fail, plenty of wildlife and great cycling with traffic free roads too. Great week and we will return very soon.

Caroline & Gordon
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 05/10/2016
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A perfect week, a perfect cottage in a perfect setting, & all the squirrells & woodpeckers you could wish to see & feed. Thoroughly reccomended!

Carmig
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/10/2016
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Stayed here with our friends for 1 week. The apartment surpassed our expectations and we had a wonderful, comfortable stay. Everything was so clean & uncluttered. The Abbey is a stunning building & is great to walk around & soak in the atmosphere. The grounds are wonderful to stroll around in. The loch is a beautiful sight in the morning. We have many wonderful photos. Pool is a little small. Asked questions both at booking stage & before arrival. Never did receive a response which was our only disappointment. Will definitely return next year.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear guest, thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry if some of your questions were not answered fully, our office is open 7 days a week and our staff are always here to help.
Fiona & Richard
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 05/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Lovely cosy little cottage, perfect for 2 people for a week. Great views. Settee not the comfiest, but appreciate it does need to be small! Bed very comfy. Our week on Skye was a bit stormy, but cottage stayed warm. A bit off the beaten track, which was what we wanted. Would definitely go again and wholeheartedly recommend. Thank you!

Peter Gornall
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 05/10/2016
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

The cottage was exactly as described and thoroughly enjoyable, and watching the waves through the kitchen window made the atrocious weather almost enjoyable. If it had a gas cooker it would have been perfection. I will certainly be back. Cheers P Gornall

Angela Rumble
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a fantastic time at this wonderful cottage. Such a cosy welcome place to come home to after a day out walking (and braving the elements!) The cottage is just fabulous; well appointed, comfortable, had everything we needed. The aga and stove make the place so cosy and warm. The Applecross peninsula is magical; the scenery is incredible. And this little cottage made our visit just perfect. Highly recommended to anyone.

Judith Gledhill
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Great house, rural location but close enough to Portree for shops etc, comfortably warm and very well equipped. Would stay again.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We've stayed at Bayside Cottage six times now, in all seasons. It's cosy, comfortable and exceptionally well-equipped, not that we cook, as the Applecross Inn just along the street, and the Potting Shed in the Walled Garden serve wonderful locally sourced food. On a clear day the views across to Raasay and Skye are magical, and there are some lovely walks on the peninsula, ranging from short strolls to more strenuous hikes. Or you can just sit in the porch or on the little terrace and watch the tide!

Catherine
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A fantastic property that is extremely comfortable and well-equipped. It is perfectly situated to explore around Loch Ness. Our dogs and us had a great holiday. We would love to go back again. The little extras left by our hosts made us feel welcomed.

Rachel Browning
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Probably the best house we have stayed in - well equipped, clean and everything you could need. There was even a home-made cake on arrival! The scenery is beautiful, especially Glen Affric and Glen Cannich, where we enjoyed several walks. There is plenty of wildlife in the area - red squirrels at Tomich, lots of birds in the garden including a woodpecker, and herons on the water in front of the cottage. A badger visited the garden on several nights, although we only saw the mess it left behind. At night with the clear sky we could see the milky way above the house and we even saw shooting stars. A lovely quiet location which we would recommend to anyone.

Malcolm Carrington
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Excellent Log Cabin with all the facilities you need for a great holiday. Ideally situated for easy access to all the North of Scotland has to offer. Very friendly owners who took time to welcome us and talk to us during our week. Would love to stay there again!!

Emma Hickey
Reviewed Cuilfail on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

This was a fantastic property in a beautiful location. The cottage was very well kept in plenty of garden and a gated drive. There were some lovely places to walk the dogs and close to the Whitebridge hotel. A bit of a hilly drive from Fort Augustus (35 mins) and about (45 mins) to Inverness. Local village of Foyers was beautiful and just a 3 mile walk from the cottage. Waterfalls and coffee shop well worth a visit. Will definitely be back

JM Kay
Reviewed Kimberley House on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Excellent apartment with stunning views of Findhorn Bay.Tastefully decorated to a very high standard and at the same time you were able to relax and soak up all that Findhorn is. Definitely will return.

Nancy Little
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Our recent break at Taffs Barn was made all the more pleasurable by the how it was presented. It was one of the best we have stayed in. Clean, comfortable, everything you required, great views & the welcome pack of scones teabags milk jam & cream was greatly appreciated. We have already booked for next year & can,t wait to return, hopefully with better weather, but nothing deterred us from venturing out .

David & Linda Hudson
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/10/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Remote but not too remote, placed in a beautiful setting - picture postcard scenes. This homely cottage was ideal for us with a large lounge, well equipped kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms - with an outside area to sit when the weather is fine. Surrounded by wonderful Scottish countryside the cottage is idea for trips to Applecross, Lake Carron - and the local fish restaurant and cafe renowned for its fresh seafood. We thoroughly enjoyed living there.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 03/10/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a fantastic stay at Fersit Log Cottage, it has lovely peaceful surroundings and is great for local walks. The local wildlife often came to visit us whilst we were there; the kids loved watching the deer in the garden whilst they had their breakfast. The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing stay, even the weather was good whilst we were there which meant BBQs and lots of games with the kids in the garden. Our boys were devastated to leave the cottage on our last morning as they had such a wonderful stay and didn't want to go home!

Robin S
Reviewed Solas on 03/10/2016
And awarded it

Solas

Mr & Mrs Gould
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 02/10/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Great place to relax and enjoy the solitude. Really peaceful and fantastic views to the sea and even across to Ireland. Wildlife is in abundance ( watch the seals from the lounge window ) and fishing is just a walk down the field or a short car ride to Loch Ryan. Dogs welcome and plenty of space for them to have a good walk and many walks available for the humans. The accommodation itself was first class, everything you need plus clean and tidy. Hosts Jane and Chav were very welcoming and so obliging.

Lynda & Alan Simpson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 02/10/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at Torvaig Cottage. Although it looks a little worn in places (scuffs and stains on the walls) it was nevertheless very comfortable. We enjoyed every evening in the dining room, lit the fire and settled down. Kitchen is small but to be fair there is everything you need in it. The chest freezer was of particular use to us. The shower is not the best - switch in on all the way heat wise and it alternates between freezing and scalding - almost gave up but found that using a mid point gave a consistent termperature. You don't have any view - large trees obstruct this. The garden was pretty overgrown and although a dog friendly cottage we were wary of letting ours into the garden because of seemingly resident chickens. Beds were comfortable. To be honest our first impressions were that it looked shabby but we definitley felt comfortable and at ease there and would stay again if we visited Skye. The owner passed by on our first day to check all was ok, a nice touch.

David Mason
Reviewed South Lodge on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

South Lodge

3rd time booking through Wilderness Cottages and every time was an excellent experience. South lodge is a very comfortable and we'll equipped cottage. Only downside is the 8 mile single track road leading to and from it. There is plenty to do, including ferry trips to Islet and Jura. Perfect too if you have dogs as the garden is large and secure. We really enjoyed our 7 night stay at south lodge.

Francis Leach, & 4 Others &Batney.
Reviewed Moll House on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

I can say that all of us had a really enjoyable time at Moll House. The accomadatation was really excellent, well equipped and warm. No need for fire etc, despite weather not being warm. It was at times wet and windy, but even this merely made the views across the lock more interesting. Lots of interesting wild life to be seen nearby and further afield. 50 years since last I was on Skye and despite more houses and people, the island retains its charm and beauty. Can recommend Moll house and the Island to any one looking for interesting place to visit. Frank Leach.

James Colin Ashton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey

The cottage was excellent in most respects. However it needs a wardrobe in the downstairs bedroom as there is no other hanging space. Also we had no broadband all week and for anyone relying on this it could be a problem. There were one or two other minor irritations but these did not spoil the overall experience.

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A perfect place to stay, off the beaten track and within an area of stunning beauty and interest. Great for walkers and lovers of wildlife and the outdoors. The cottage is well equipped and warm, in fact this is the second time we've stayed here and hope to return next year. it has a Rayburn- we are converted!

Bryan Duchart
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What an absolute delight. Everything needed was there and was first class. Clean, comfortable, homely, cosy, dog friendly - we will be back for sure.

Jean Studd
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely little cottage this is really close to the seaside which, whatever the weather, is beautiful and rugged. The cottage was very welcoming and warm as were the hosts. The wheelchair accessiblity in the cottage was very good although the shower not particularly built for a wheelchair. Our dogs were made most welcome and we were able to park our little trailer right outside the house which doubled up as a dog kennel (for our muddy alsation) when we weren't using it to transport my husbands electric scooter around. The lanes and local tracks were great for exploring by mobility scooter and we could even get it on to the beach - great!

Robert
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Cottage is in a brilliant location, with walks from the front door, although could do with more information about walks from the cottage ( rights to roam). Twin beds in main bedroom very comfortable. Could do with a visitors book to learn what others have done, places they found to walk, shop, eat etc, and places to avoid. One week not enough to do the things we wanted. Hope to return again one day.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was the sixth time we've stayed here, so we know and love it well. Great location on the shore, I could (and do) happily pass the time sitting in the little porch reading and watching the tides. Lovely walks from the cottage, which is cosy and comfortable. But Applecross is getting busier, and losing some of it's charm.

Lululo
Reviewed Moll House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Moll House is in the most perfect position on the shore and only one other cottage in view. Stunning views from all the rooms.

Carole
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A great cosy cottage and we loved the access to the loch side. It felt like our own private bay. Good base for visiting Skye, Plockton etc. My only minor criticisms are the track leading to the cottage is a bit over grown and scratched the side of the car and a few more basics in the kitchen would be good. There was a rolling pin which seemed impractical in a holiday let yet no plastic containers for packed lunches. We loved the holiday, big comfy beds, great location and the best view from a shower I have ever had ! Hope to return soon.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Miss Smith, thank you for your review and for the feedback on the cottage, the owner has confirmed that the bushes on the access road have been cut back this Autumn, and so there should no issues with access.
D Smith,
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it
Pauline
Reviewed Cuilfail on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We really enjoyed staying at Cuilfail but the time went far too quickly, the house was well equipped, comfortable and ideally situated for travelling around. We certainly would like to return in the future but would like to make a longer booking. The dogs certainly enjoyed their visit and came home very tired but happy.

Mr G. Podnieks
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Podnieks, thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at Cluny Croft. We are not aware of any problems with the wifi at the house, unfortunately this as you state, may have been down to a BT problem. In the circumstances we have refunded the £17.50 to you.