Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1 to 50 of 2840

All guest reviews

Our review system is very important to us. We believe that having previous guests leave a genuine review about their stay is valuable to future guests and our owners and we strive to maintain the integrity of our review system.

It's easier to find reviews about a particular property on its dedicated page. However, in the interest of transparency of our review system we are providing all our reviews in one place and you may read through all our reviews below.

About our reviews

In total we have received 2840 reviews from guests, of which 102% have ranked their stay as Very Good or Excellent.

Sometimes guests do have problems and we work alongside our owners to ensure they are rectified as soon as possible. It's in our interest to do so as we want you to return to Wilderness Cottages for your next Scottish holiday as many of our guests do, year on year.


Lou & Paul Olvhoj
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This lovely, cosy cottage is a delightful spot for a tranquil holiday. With a very well laid out interior the croft house is perfect to while away the hours with a good book in front of a roaring fire. The local wildlife include seal, deer and a myriad of birds.

Hugues
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Nice cottage with a wonderful view. Central location to visit Lewis and Harris. You feel like home, nothing amiss in Tor Cottage. Great week!!!!

Jason & Larry
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

We loved the privacy, seclusion and space this property offers. The long private drive leading to the house feels as if you are miles away from everyone. The views of Dunvegan Head and its waterfall with the sea was truly amazing. The bed in the master bedroom was so cosy and the open fire created a wonderful atmosphere in the lounge. The property was always lovely and warm with plenty of hot water to take a bath after long days out walking around the island. There were only two of us and it was great having so much space within the property. It was very sad to leave but we would like to return to Fon Tobar another year. Only suggestion, as mentioned by a previous guest would be attention by the owner to the controls on the double ovens - it is very difficult to know which functions and temperatures one is using as these have worn away.

Brian & Stephanie
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had an amazing stay at Poulary Cottage, this is our 3rd visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The property is well laid out, beautifully maintained and very comfortable - especially with the new sofa and fireplace in the living room. The area around is spectacular with a variety of walks right on the doorstep. There are also Hairy Coos about 2 miles down the road, they are very friendly and make for some great photos!

Dorothy & Ronnie
Reviewed Fhaireag on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just returned from this wonderful house. Only negativity was having to leave! Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a truly relaxed break, loads to do nearby & lots of walking done with our dog Oscar. Loved this house & the owners have thought of everything. Thank you for a wonderful break.

Suzanne & Brian
Reviewed Sealight on 17/11/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

The house was perfect in every way. The owners have thought of everything. It was very relaxing and comfortable with lots of space, and the view from the lounge was great, We enjoyed the lovely beach through the garden gate which opens out to the left for a longer walk when the tide is out, it was great to see the pine marten and all the birds so close to the house. We look forward to returning in the future.

Malcolm ,Charlie & Toby (the Dog)
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 16/11/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Sometimes holidays do not deliver,however this break delivered .The Agents (Wilderness Cottages ) were very helpful and professional, Tor cottage lovely location, the property itself high standard. Modern but cosy.The owners helpful (if needed).With lovely islands of Harris and Lewis to explore .Even the weather pretty good for Oct./Nov

Sandra & Mark Hennessey & Skye
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 14/11/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Our 2nd visit to Fersit Log Cottage 28/10/17 and yet again a fantastic holiday,we love this place so much we have booked again for next year. Our golden retriever had the best time at fersit,none of us wanted to leave,thank you Lynne and Graeme for the procecco waiting for us when we arrived, can't wait to enjoy all of this beautiful place one again,x

Diane & Neil
Reviewed Aros Beag on 13/11/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This is a fantastic place, quite, clean, cosy and very warm with the underfloor heating. A bird feeder in the garden attracting many birds and there are plenty of walks right from the cottage as well as places to visit a short drive away. We really enjoyed our week and wish it could of been longer. Thank you.

Gill & Malc
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 12/11/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fabulous cottage, exceptionally well fitted out - the owners have thought of everything you might need. One of the best we have stayed in. Great position, with views of the Cuillin, feels remote but is only a few miles form Portree. The sauna was much appreciated after a day out walking.

Brenda
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 11/11/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Cottage is perfect everything you need is there and where it is situated couldn't be any better great weekend the weather was kind which made it even better. Views are perfect. This is my third visit to the cottage wouldn't dream of booking a different one it is so perfect.

Willis
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 10/11/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A lovely cottage in a very peaceful and beautiful location. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable and the conservatory was a great place to watch the many birds from, as well as the boats going in and out of the lock. We had many lovely walks and cycle rides along the canal path, as well as kayaking up to Loch Oich. We also saw a pine marten in the garden and heard stags bellowing in the hills! All in all a perfect holiday location.

Emma Hunter
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/11/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. My family and I spent the week here a few years ago and just had to come back. We've been coming to Fort Augustus for the last 23 years and always used to stay at the chalet park so when this no longer became an option we struggled to find somewhere big enough until we found the Old Lock Keepers Cottage. The stair are a bit precarious and not suitable if you struggle up and down stairs at the best of time but its worth it for the beautiful walks along the canal excellent views. We love it.

E Turnbull
Reviewed Rhundunan on 09/11/2017
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Our stay at Rhundunan was very comfortable and it was one of the best houses that we have rented. As a couple we had the house to ourselves and it is well equipped with everything that you need. The utility room came in very handy when we got drenched in a lovely rain storm while on a trip to Coral Beach but that is the beauty of Skye. Great views to keep you mesmerised all day long if you decide to stay in. Will be recommending to all my family and friends and would love to visit again in the future.

Martin
Reviewed The Mill on 09/11/2017
And awarded it

The Mill

7 Days at The Mill were lovely and relaxing. It was clean and tidy, with the most amazing view out of the large front windows. We were up before dawn every day and the sunrises were superb, sat with a coffee as the room gradually lit up. The bed was comfortable and the whole place was warm from under floor heating. So much so we didn't even light the woodburner (Although it was October, it was a very dry and mild week even for Scotland) . The internet is just about good enough for email (not the owners fault) and the TV was lousy all week so we ended up enjoying some early nights and hence, early mornings. The dogs loved it too, with some excellent walks in the area. We normally stay in Aviemore, but this was some 25 miles and 40 minutes away, which did give easier access to the northern coastal towns and beaches than we usually enjoy. As always, the bottom line is would I go back again, is it value for money and would I recommend it? - YES.

Ulrike
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 08/11/2017
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

A wonderful place to stay for two . Stunning view and well equipped cottage.

Jim McLanaghan
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 08/11/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An absolutely first class cabin complete with all you could ever require in home comforts in a superb location.

Sarah Crook
Reviewed Ardshiel on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Ardshiel

Returned recently from a very pleasant stay at a very remarkable little cottage. Arshiel is cosy, homely and well presented throughout. The outside, a replica of the Scottish tabernacle, is truly magical! The log burner was very efficient, the leather sofas comfy, and all appliances worked as they should..... i.e. kettle, microwave, television, etc. The shower was powerful and hot; the cottage very warm. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the property again; the location is simply stunning with breathtakingly beautiful walks from the door. Very peaceful too...no road noise! If I wanted to be really picky, the only things I think could be improved on are: There were no wine glasses anywhere - tumblers only. A teapot would have been useful. A DVD player would have been handy as we took a couple of films with us (always great to watch a movie after a trek in the Scottish Highlands!) Beautiful curtains at every window except the kitchen and back patio doors. Personally, I'd like to see curtains/blinds everywhere, as I like to draw them at night; keeps the place cosy! :-) Other than that, lovely!! The owners who lived adjacent were very helpful, and showed genuine concern when I told them I'd fallen off my bike. They were very friendly and I enjoyed meeting them. They have two gorgeous cats; my son adored them. In all, we had a wonderful break. Thank you very much Wilderness Cottages! :-)

Glenn Family
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Wow what a stunning lodge ...Seal Skerry Lodge is just perfect holiday stunning views quality family time takes all the stress away from day to day life to just relax in a lovely place.. very clean and tidy everything you need is there at the lodge. Loved watching the seals on the rocks in front of the lodge everyday.. the children really enjoyed it and our dogs too befriended the sheep.. welcomed nights to a cosy log burner with a nice bottle of red wine complementary of Seal Skerry Lodge most definitely will return thank you for sharing this amazing place Jo & Mike Glenn

Chris Whale
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

The Tree House is a fabulous holiday retreat. Spacious, yet cosy, it is in a great position to enjoy Skye. Walks from the doorstep, or a short drive away. Try the Oyster Shed for fresh lobster & chips, close to the Tallisker distillery! We'd certainly return to The Tree House.

Fiona Larden
Reviewed Glenara on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Beautifully situated cottage right in the heart of Fort Augustus near the canal locks and with stunning view from lounge over the river. Cosy and comfortable, very well equipped. Lots of tourist information and leaflets in the dining room to help you plan your holiday. Very welcoming and friendly owner greeted us on arrival and departure. Highly recommended for a couple or 3 people.

Neville & Pam
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

This was the second time we had stayed at Owl Cottage, a nice place to get away from it all, cottage has everything you need for a relaxing break, would highly recommend .

Dominique & Jan
Reviewed Callakille on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Callakille

Beautiful cottage, furnished with a lot of charm, comfortable and very peacefull. Very nice view from the windows. Very nice and quiet area to visit in the Appelcross district.

William MacDougall
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Absolutely fantastic would recommend to anyone looking for a great holiday

Mrs Crawley
Reviewed Whitestone on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Whitestone

Wonderful house , home from home . The kitchen was very well laid out loved the pantry. The house is set back off the A95 At first worried about the traffic noise but in the end not a problem and even became quiet comforting . Did lots of day trips and found the Cairngorms breathtaking. Defo will be back and the 7 hour journey worth it .

Carol Mulraney
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

The Abbey was a beautiful place to stay. Lots of interesting features, fascinating for people who are interested in old buildings. The apartment was excellent - spotless, comfortable, warm. The staff were friendly and accommodating without being in the way at all. We will definitely be going back, and have already recommended it to lots of people.

Jeff Kane
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Great holiday stay. We were looking for quiet and we got it. The views over to Ireland were awesome when the weather allowed. We arrived just in time for storm Ophillia and we enjoyed that very much (we love storms) had a power cut and be warned no light pollution so it was DARK! On clear nights you can see the milky way as it is so DARK that was an awesome sight. Plenty to do in the area with some great food outlets to done at. The Cottage is a home from home with every comfort you would look for and berry comfortable. The under floor heating is a bit too efficient so be warned as the house takes a while to Coll down as we discovered after someone turned the thermostat up too high! The only visitors we had were the birds and a Hate that came past the house same time each day. The owners are directly behind the Cottage but once they had welcomed us in they left us to it but we knew we could call on them if needed. Very nice couple and very genuine. We had a great relaxing time and yes we hope to return for another relaxing stay.

Clare Jackman
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We had a wonderful week - you can never tire of the view from the barn. Really breathtaking. Very comfortable accommodation and nicely furnished - it felt very stylish and welcoming. There were useful things provided by the owners and past visitors e.g. cling film, salt, pepper, dishwasher powder etc which was a nice touch as there aren't many shops nearby and it made it feel more like home from home. We used the log burner every day which was great for downstairs, but as heat rises, the mezzanine level got rather warm for the kids when going to sleep! But that's only a small thing and we just opened the window! It is a great area to explore and the ancient Brochs are an amazing sight and there are 3 nearby! Skye is only a short drive too so easy to go for the day. So we would highly recommend the barn and all the care and attention that has gone into making it such a beautiful space. Thank you.

Andrew
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/11/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

An excellent place to stay, the location is private and offers great views of the Loch and wildlife, deer in the garden, Red Kites and pheasants galore. The house is well appointed and warm and cosy. We will be back !!

Rachel
Reviewed Station Cottage on 03/11/2017
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had a fantastic week at Station Cottage and all wished we could stay longer to explore the lovely area. The cottage is absolutely lovely, spacious and well maintained. The log burner was so nice to have and kept us lovely and warm all week. I slept so well every night, better than at home as the bed was so comfortable. There is so much to do in the area, we visited the Wildlife Park, Highlands Folk Museum, Loch Ness and Landmark just to scratch the surface. The only thing I missed in the kitchen was a measuring jug but found everything else I needed. We would love to return some day.

Ludka Kucerkova
Reviewed The Stables on 03/11/2017
And awarded it

The Stables

Cosy and comfortable house in very good locality. Thank you for your hospitality ! I do hope definitely be back.

Herbert
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 23/10/2017
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Marnie's Croft - it is very comfortable and overlooks Urquhart Castle which is lit up at night too - and the large windows upstairs and downstairs gave us the opportunity to sit and watch over Loch Ness as it stretches away in each direction. They also enabled us to watch the deer each evening at dusk as they wandered into the field at the front of the Croft to graze, and the wood burning stove kept us lovely and warm as we sat and enjoyed a wee dram. The track up to the Croft is steep but well worth the effort and once inside remember to boost up the water temperature so you always have enough hot water for baths and showers, you soon get used to it.

L Richardson
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 22/10/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

What a pleasant well equipped cottage with a marvellous situation on the Caledonian canal. We were a party of 7 adults , three of which were from the USA. The cottage was very cosy partly due to the very generous supply of fuel for the log burner, supplemented by central heating. Great views from the windows/ sun room over the canal. The variety of craft using the canal was a surprise and never ceased to entertain. If you were lucky you might catch sight of visiting pine martins to the cottage and deer on the hills opposite. Sadly , we did not have our bikes with us as the tow paths are ideal for this activity but also for those that like to walk. Fort Augustus is only a short distance away, and Skye , Inverness Mallaig etc are a pleasant day out. Overall this cottage is a little gem.

Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Upper Folds on 19/10/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We stayED for the second time in Upper Folds but now for 2 weeks. The house is fantastic. We get a warm welcome with wine, biscuits, milk and flowers. The views from the house are spectaculair and inside it is warm and cosy, you feel very at home. The big garden is very nice for the dog. We hear the grouses and see phasants and rabbits. We will certainly come back. Thank you for your hospitality!

Will Jeffels
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 19/10/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

What a fabulous property. Superb position. Watched seals from the comfort of a well built architect designed timber house. Well furnished with great log burner. Lovely part of Skye with plenty of places to explore on foot or by car in the immediate vicinity. Can't wait to return...if we are allowed.

Kenneth
Reviewed Christies on 18/10/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Really lovely property with everything you need to make your stay go smoothly. Excellent views from the lounge and very comfortable bed. Storage heaters help to keep you nice and warm and the log burner is an added bonus. Mice scratching around in the attic/walls were a distraction at first but they are kept out of the living area with sonic repellers and were not a problem. Would go back without hesitation.

Ali Wiseman
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 18/10/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

We loved our stay at Kincardine Cottage. What a superb location, we explored, walked and went for bike rides straight from the door. The house is cosy (surprisingly so!) -we were there in a cool wet October. Its spacious, the beds, chairs and sofas are comfy. The outside bonfire area and picnic table are great. The bathroom and general furnishings/decor etc are quite basic, but this is reflected in the price. We plan to be back... it was real home from home. Thank you Kincardine!

Mazdafife
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 18/10/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Pooltiel House is an immaculate and well equipped holiday home. Fabulous views and great walking straight from the door. The porch / utility area is perfect for muddy boots and as the boiler is located there, this is always really warm so good for drying of damp coats (much needed in Skye).

Annette & Paul Tierney
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 18/10/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

What a fabulous cottage for the ultimate away from it all holiday. Stunning views with seals and an otter popping by most days!! Can highly recommend this cottage!

Richard
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/10/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just returned from a fantastic week at Seascape, despite its isolated setting we found it easy enough from the directions (though wouldn't want to find it in the dark!). Perfect hosts in Chas and Jane who were very welcoming but very unobtrusive and thoughtful. Amazing views form the cottage and only a minute down to the stunning beachy cove. Fantastic week relaxing in the stunning countryside and then curling up in the cosy warm cottage to watch films! Can't wait for the next visit!

May From Fife.
Reviewed River Cottage on 16/10/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

During our stay at Riverside Cottage we found it to be very well equipped and thoughtfully laid out lending to a comfortable place to stay while on holiday. Will not comment on Scotland as I am sure that by now everybody knows it is a wonderful country. Only critique is the toaster has seen better days, but this will not stop us from returning.

Ian Sorrell
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 15/10/2017
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

Excellent holiday - Rowan Lodge was an excellent place to stay and done so nicely! Please let the owners know how lovely Rowan Lodge is and thank them very much!

Nick & Jill
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 15/10/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a wonderful weeks holiday. The Cottage was very well appointed. Very warm with all possible amenities and lovely decor. The views were gorgeous even though we had a very rainy windy time there. We are looking forward to our next visit.

R. Dutz
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 15/10/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

The house was so cosy, very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the open fire place, there was enough wood and coal. There was enough storing place. All the rooms were very spacious and tastefully decorated, especially with pictures. And we loved the garden with all the birds even in October and the wonderful views to the loch and castle and Skye.

Ruth B
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 14/10/2017
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

A lovely spot just across from the shore. Cottage is warm, comfortable and well equipped. It has a sheltered secure garden at the back, ideal for our lurcher. Loch Carron works well as a launch point for Wester Ross.

Stephen Humphreys
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 14/10/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We stayed in White-Tail Croft for two weeks in September. From the moment of our arrival we were impressed by the care and forethought that has gone into the property. Everything has been finished to high standard with everything you need to have a relaxing stay. It is a very comfortable place to spend two weeks. It is set overlooking the glen and the view and regular stream of wildlife held us entranced. So much so that we did not leave the property nearly as much as we had planned. This cannot be guaranteed, but on only two days during our stay did we not see Golden Eagles including at close quarters, and White Tailed Eagles were also often seen. A truly lovely property to which I hope we shall return.

Eric & R�nate
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 13/10/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

What a lovely cottage!! The most comfortable we ever stayed in. The cottage was renovated with an eye on detail, lovely decorated and a high level finishing. Fresh flowers, a bottle of wine and a warm welcome from Jacqui and Jeff who made us feel very welcome, thank you so much! The location is perfect with lots of fabulous walks and beautiful scenery in the surrounding area. We very much enjoyed our drive through Glen Orchy and Glen Etive as well as our daytrip to the isle of Mull. The Artisan Cafe in Tyndrum is a must for a nice cup of coffee with delicious home-made cakes. And after a day exploring Arrivain cottage is a perfect peaceful place to relax and have a good nights sleep. We really enjoyed our week and will definitely recommend this beautiful cottage to others. We would love to stay again!!

Andy Day
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 13/10/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Lovey place in the wild. A little remote during the winter so four wheel drive advised if icy or snowing due to the distance off the main road. Comfortable and warm though, lighting a little dim during the evening.

Potts Family
Reviewed Sealight on 11/10/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

Stunning house, so very comfortable with everything you may need. Location is perfect for exploring Ardnamurchan. Shame about the weather but it didn't stop us from enjoying our week and doing some of the shorter walks. Wildlife especially the Pine marten was unbelievable. Will definitely be back to Sealight but unfortunately 2018 is already fully booked for our dates!!

Palmers
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 11/10/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

The cottage has everthing you would need, for an away from it holiday. The underfloor heating is wonderful. The owners are at hand if needed and nothing is too much trouble. A very warm welcome. Unfortunatly the sharpe uneven service of the gravel drive was not liked by my arthritic dog and husband. Beautiful place though.