Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 250 of 3293


Kay Ward
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We loved staying at the Coltsfoots. The lodge was very clean with everything we needed. We loved sitting out on the terrace morning and evening in a very quiet and peaceful setting. The lodge is not isolated but is very quiet. We drove to Ben Nevis from here, Loch Arkaig, Glen Roy and the river Garry but there are plenty of places around Loch Ness. Fort Augustus is a great, touristy town with lots to see and do and with several pubs serving very good food. Overall a brilliant holiday with amazing weather in a cosy and comfortable lodge.

Caroline Verden
Reviewed An Sealladh on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

A lovely well equipped property with plenty of space for 6 people and secure storage for bikes, kyats etc. Great location with a garden, views towards Suilven and within walking distance of a variety of local shops and restaurants. The area has spectacular scenery great mountain walking and fantastic beaches to explore.

Claire Bell
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Had a fantastic time staying here, the lodge is beautiful! My children had fun staying here, the beds were comfortable, very clean, had everything we needed, and the personal touches made it all the more welcoming. Definitely recommend 5*****

Len Collard
Reviewed Station Cottage on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had a great two weeks in the lovely Station Cottage.The cottage has all you would need, including the location.Weather was great, with lots of wildlife on the door step, we had a roe buck in the garden one morning. Garden is large and secure our two dogs, enjoyed it. Will return.

Alan & Pauline
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/07/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a lovely peaceful week at Plooda Falls Lodge which is set in lovely surroundings with many walks nearby. The Lodge was spotlessly clean and Jenny made us very welcome, especially leaving us with a very tasty black currant cake. Highly recommended.

Richard Scrimshaw
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 19/07/2018
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

We were delighted with this property, it enjoys a lovely quiet location with open views over the surrounding fields and countryside, and offers spacious well appointed accommodation. It is also a great base to visit the surrounding area including the chance to see the wild dolphins in the Moray & Cromarty Firths, we also had great views of a red kite that appears to live in the area. The owner is very pleasant and makes welcoming scones that are delicious.

Andy Ledger
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 19/07/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

A wonderful, relaxing break. The hot-tub was great & the views were beautiful. Other parts of Skye can get quite crowded, but you can find real solitude here. The newly built cottage was well-equipped. The wifi was really good (an unusual bonus in a place like this) & the shower was the best I have ever experienced.

Kim Morrison
Reviewed The Granary on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Amazing cottage. The house had everything we needed and was so pleased with all the extras for our two-year-old like stair gates, a travel cot with a mattress, and a high chair! The owners were so lovely and really helpful with tips for things to do in the local area. Would definitely return as it's such a lovely corner of the country to stay in.

P Durno
Reviewed Cuilfail on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Excellent accommodation thank you we had a great holiday, the dogs really enjoyed the very large enclosed garden and we really enjoyed the comforts. Thanks again!

Andrew & Rosemary, Cumbria.
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We chose The Smiddy for its location and from its photographs its imaginatively designed interior. We enjoyed our weeks stay, arriving on bicycles from the west coast. Comfortable bedding, attention to detail in fixtures & furnishings keeping in tune with its former purpose, and a good selection of kitchen ware suitable for a self catering week. There are woodland walks from the property (up into Belladrum woods) & further east fine woodlands of the UK's tallest trees at Dughall Mor. Bus stop for Inverness across the road, and Beauly train station less than 5mls away. Our hosts were very welcome and informative and were available if needed. These points all made for our wedding anniversary to be memorable week. Thankyou.

Sharon
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Great stay at Score Bay cottage. Very nice, clean, spacious and well equipped cottage. Comfortable beds and very nice large tub that's great for soaking after a day of hiking. We loved the view from our cottage of the Outer Hebrides. Even though the road was between us and the water, we were well set back with a large field in front. The location is very peaceful and quiet. We liked being on this side of Skye Island with some great walks and beautiful scenery nearby. Highly recommended.

J Nelson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Comfortable, spacious cottage. Well equipped. Nice short walking distance into village. Had fun in tennis courts and playpark behind cottage.

Ann L
Reviewed The Orchids on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

Fantastic cottage, extremely spacious, well equipped, comfortable and very clean. We had a great week even though the weather was mixed, a couple of days we didn't even go out, we just stayed and enjoyed the spectacular views.

William R Rodger
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Had a lovely stay at Stablemans lodge ,nice clean house i would highly recommend it

PaulineP
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnie''s Croft, what an absolute gem. Beautiful, comfortable cottage with fantastic views up Loch Ness. Watch out for the deer in the garden each evening. House sits high on the hill above Urquhart Castle so be prepared to have nerves of steel for the drive up to the house.....but once you get there, you will not want to leave. It is wonderful. Owners very helpful and able to contact if ever needed. A little gem up at Loch Ness. Would definitely recommend.

Bridget Impey
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

This was a return visit to this very special place and we enjoyed it even more than the first. The house does all the things a good house should, it being welcoming, giving a feeling of spaciousness, and being calm and comfortable. The weather was superb, we watched deer and eagles and the hooting of owls lulled us to sleep. What a very very special place. Even though we live in Johannesburg we will be back.

Al Shaw
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

This was the most relaxing and homely cottage we have stayed at. No hassle, no fuss. It was central to the places we went to and the peace and tranquility were priceless.

Bernadette
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/07/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

The setting of Cuilfail is beautiful, with a large garden, view on the mountain behind, and a quiet road in front. We were with 6 persons. The 5 garden chairs are weak, one is deficient. The house has enough room for six persons. There are 2 bathrooms, but only the one downstairs has a shower. So all the six habitants came to use that one shower. This wasn't the intention of the 2 persons that slept downstairs. We couldn't deprive 4 persons of a shower, but had wished to have our private bathroom. It would be easy to add a shower upstairs, above the bathtub. The bed downstairs is large enough, but is very hard. We could feel the iron spirals in our body. The kitchen is sufficient, but we missed a orange press, which can be a simple one. The washing machine and dish washer are good. The electric stove has been cleaned so often, that all the digits are invisible, so we had to guess how is works. It would be convenient to have a one-page manual. For the rest it is a splendid house, near the beautiful falls of Foyers and near Loch Ness. Plenty of opportunities to make beautiful walks.

John & Heather Wilkinson
Reviewed River Cottage on 11/07/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

The cottage is excellent: clean and well-appointed with everything you could need in a superb location handy for so many holiday destinations. Very comfortable as well, seat and bed-wise: we were especially taken with the large shower room with bench seat! We would have classed it as (5) excellent but for three minor quibbles. I. We weren't sure which cottage it was and went to the next one along by mistake. It should maybe be stressed that it is in the grounds of the first big house, second turn to the left off the road. 2. Wifi is poor to occasionally non-existent: this didn't affect us as we're used to it here, but others should perhaps be warned. 3. We couldn't get the TV and DVD to link up despite the instructions in the folder. Apart from these wee niggles (and the cloudy weather!) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... and no midges!

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear John and Heather, thank you for your feedback. We have had a look at the directions we provide and apologise if these were not clear for you. The owner has confirmed that a booster, has now been added to the wifi, however in remote locations, the wifi is generally slower than town or city locations and is only really suitable for internet browsing and checking emails, streaming films would not be possible. The owner has checked the TV and DVD and this is working, had you contacted them during your stay, they could have demonstraed how this worked.
Cuthbertson, Crieff
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 07/07/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Magical haven aptly describes this cottage. Sitting out looking over the crofts. Sun, sun, sun, beautifully clean award winning beaches, excellent bookshop 2-3 miles south of Lochinver, pie shop well worth a couple of visits.A landscape and roads that you have got to be there to appreciate.

M.H.&V.H.
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 05/07/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

A delightful, comfortable little cottage. In a wonderful isolated location, yet within easy reach of all parts of Skye. Lack of food prep surface in the kitchen area is awkward if you want to eat in, and we sometimes found the random noise of the water pump irritating. Most days the distant hum of salmon farm machinery could be heard, but generally it was a blissful place to be. We enjoyed watching the birds, particularly the oystercatchers. If returning to Skye, we would probably choose to stay at Moll Cottage again.

John & Pam
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 05/07/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a lovely comfortable cottage and very well equipped and is the perfect place for a peaceful relaxing holiday with stunning scenery and fantastic wildlife from the windows. It is a good base for exploring this beautiful area of Scotland.

Lynda B
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Easter Drumine Cottage was in a lovely location, very peaceful and quiet. The cottage and facilities were excellent. Would certainly visit again.

Brenda Davies
Reviewed Moll House on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Dawn Netley
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a great time staying in Katie's Cottage on the Isle of Skye. The cottage was surprisingly spacious for a 2 bed. Our dogs loved the garden and were happy to make the utility room their own. The cottage was in a superb location with beautiful countryside and a lovely crofters restaurant next door to the cottage, who served delicious home grown food. We shall miss walking out the gate to the sheep roaming freely.

Pauline Pausch
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Tor Cottage is so perfect, it is difficult to know where to start. Firstly, a lovely welcome from Ruth and John who were perfect hosts. The views are absolutely stunning - we were so lucky with the weather and had brilliant sunshine all week, but I think even in poor weather, it will have a different charm. To be honest, it does not feel like a holiday house at all, rather you are staying in a lovely home. The location is great - a perfect base for exploring Harris, with lovely beaches within 30 minutes and close to Tarbert. Also lots of excellent walks within easy reach. Ruth and John have lots of information in the house and are only too happy to help out with tips and advice if you want them. Tor Cottage is definitely 5* - a very high specification on finishes in the house along with top of the range appliances, a properly equipped kitchen and thoughtful attention to detail (lovely soaps, dishwasher and laundry tabs, treats and toys for the dogs and more). It is a real home from home (or better!). There is a lovely deck area to sit out on and enjoy the sun going down. It is also totally peaceful. A fantastic week. We would highly recommend this property.

Dawn Birch
Reviewed Rhundunan on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Rhundunan

A very well equipped and comfortable cottage with beautiful views in a peaceful location. I would love to return!

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Lovely cottage with everything you would need lovely views over Lochcarron would recommend to all...

Judy C
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

We spent a lovely week in this house which is situated in a stunning part of the West coast with spectacular views. It was lovely having direct access to the beach and walked to Clachtoll Broch and Beach. The weather couldn't have been better. Would love to come back some time.

Brenda Davies
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We were absolutely delighted with the cottage, both for its comfort but especially for its location.

Carol Price-Thomas
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 02/07/2018
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

Sgarbh Lodge was a wonderful place to stay, the location was stunning and very peaceful. The amenities in the house were excellent and the beds very comfortable. It is a short 5 minute walk down to the small harbour to watch the sunset, where we saw seals playing and the Isles of Harris & Lewis in the distance. At breakfast we saw a pod of dolphins fishing, it is a truly magical place. The shops are quite some distance from the property so I would advise to bring plenty of supplies with you. There is a large freezer so you can bring meat and bread etc and pop it in the freezer for later on in the week. We also took our own BBQ as the weather was really good and we used it a lot.

UK Tourist
Reviewed Campbell House on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Campbell House

Traditionally furnished and spacious accommodation in excellent position overlooking the loch. It's got everything you need and was spotless. We didn't have the best weather for June so didn't make use of the large garden but the house was warm and comfortable to return to after the day's activities!

M.a. De Wolff
Reviewed Fhaireag on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We enjoyed our stay in fhaireag very much and will come back in the near future. Love Schotland.

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/06/2018
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Cluny cottage was fantastic it is so roomy and has everything you need. The location is idea for visiting the surrounding area.. I would highly recommend this place to all.

Jan & Craig
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

This is one of the most beautiful cottages we have stayed in. A stunning place to recharge your batteries while soaking in the beautiful panorama. Truly peaceful.

William Lee
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

What an absolutely fantastic place, good location and extremely well equipped.

Andrew Gardiner
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage, everything of high quality and tastefully done. Dog friendly is much appreciated. Interesting books to read too. Garden steeply sloping but secure. The cottage is walkable from Portree (quite steep in places) but makes a very nice walk.

Ian & Chris
Reviewed The Orchids on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

This was our second stay at The Orchids, the property is excellent, like home from home, it is also in a wonderful location. The views of the Loch are amazing, seals are at play at the nearby Jetty 24/7. The Orchids is well presented, the photos and views are perhaps better than shown on the online advert. Duirinish Peninsula is also an excellent base from which to explore Skye.

WENDY M
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Fabulous little cottage in a beautiful village. Tor Fionn has everything you could possibly need, coal fire, electric blankets, best equipped kitchen anywhere I have stayed, beautiful views, pretty little back garden with table and chairs and lots of maps and useful local information. We had a lovely few days here. Do visit Atterdale gardens locally and Armadale gardens on Skye. Local craft shops sell nice things you will want not tat. We ate at the Bistro, Carron restaurant and Lochcarron Hotel. All very nice, local venison is superb.

Marco De Lange
Reviewed Grain Store on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Grain Store

A very beautifull cottage for a super relaxing holiday period! Perfect!

Elizabeth Forbes
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

The Old Loch Keepers Cottage is in a great location, half a mile from the road, it is very peaceful but next to the lock so usually a bit of boating activity to watch during the day. The track to reach the cottage is wide and well surfaced so no problem to reach the cottage. The cottage is well equipped, we have never stayed in a cottage with a fish kettle! but it also had everything else we required. If there are eight of you may find the single four cup coffee pot a bit small but otherwise no lack. Our dog enjoyed the enclosed garden and seeing people go past and this makes the lock side location safe for children too. There are great walks nearby including walking towards Fort Augustus on the tow path or along Loch Oich on the Great Glen Way. Fort Augustus is always busy with coach tours but we had a good lunch at the Loch Inn. The Londis store at the petrol station is quite well stocked but Fort William now has a brand new Aldi and M&S Food to compliment its existing Morrisons. My main advice would be take lots of midge repellent and then relaxing will be easy.

Martin Williams
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 25/06/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a fantastic cottage, the views were great watching the gannets diving in to sea most mornings and nights. Chas & Jane looked after us with info of what to see & do. This was well off the beaten track but well worth the stay.The owners have thought of everything for the cottage.

Ann Murdock
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 25/06/2018
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

We spent a lovely week at this fabulous cottage. The location was superb and had everything we could wish for. We will definitely be back.

Darren Mclay
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Stayed at Eilean Mor cottage for a week at the start of June. Very clean, cosy and comfortable cottage. Everything you need. Spent most of our nights sitting in the conservatory relaxing with a glass of wine after a days walking in the hills of Skye. Only one small complaint was that the Wi-Fi did not work for the whole week we stayed. Called the caretaker who couldn't have been more apologetic. Informed me that BT had called the week before and the problem had supposedly been fixed. A new hub arrived while we were there so hopefully the problem has been fixed. One other small thing was the lack of any blind or frosted glass on the bathroom window. No privacy. All in all would not hesitate to book the cottage again. Thanks Darren McKay Stayed 9th June 2018

Guenter & Helga
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Scare Bay Cottage is a nice cottage with all facilities we need. We stayed a week in June. We like the remote cottage and use it for a place to travel through the north of Skye to make walks. Also from the cottage we walked to Rubha Hunish, the most northern point of Skye. After a breezy and sometimes wet day it was wonderful to come to the cosy and warm cottage.

O'Shea's
Reviewed Aros Beag on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This is a lovely cottage situated right be the river and very quiet and private. The West Highland Way is literally 3 minutes walk away from your door and there are plenty of walks very nearby. Ideal location for visiting the surrounding areas. Ideally I would love a washing machine in the property but hey you can't have everything? the owners will do washing for you if needed. I would like to say for all the people who like their technology that there is Wi-fi but in this area it can be a little hit and miss. For us there had been very bad weather and the lightning had knocked it out but that was just nature doing it's thing! The owners are lovely and very helpful.

Robert & Sylvia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Wonderful great cottage in fantastic landscape. Nice contrast between the roughness of the terrain and the finesse and comfort of the interior. Everything you could possible need is available at this thoughtfully crafted home-away form home. Excellent located to visit the many beautiful gardens, castles, parks and great nature of the Peninsula of the Rhins of Galloway. We have seen many beautiful birds, seals, deer and other wildlife during our stay. Very nice tearooms and some good restaurants in Port Patrick and Stranraer. Very friendly owners which are helpful if wanted but are very aware to have you keep your privacy. We loved our two weeks here!

Emmie & (Skipper The Dog)
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Absolutely fab time at Pine Lodge, a perfect base for exploring the Western Highlands. The cabin is comfy, well equipped and has plenty of space. There's a lovely view over Loch Kishorn and the garden is visited by many beautiful birds AND, of course, the famous Pine Marten. Would recommend Pine Lodge without hesitation and would definitely book it again in the future. A wonderful stay for both of us!

Lynne Walker
Reviewed Sixgeary on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A delightful cottage with stunning views. Very well equipped. A real hideaway in a beautiful and remote part of Skye. Thoroughly recommended.

Victoria
Reviewed Log House on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Log House

Had a wonderful week long stay at the beautiful and tranquil Log House, Auchterawe. First holiday with our dog. We intend to return next year.