Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 121 to 140 of 2775


Caroline Mcconnell
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

We were all really disappointed to find out on our arrival that the swimming pool was closed even though in your confirmation letter to us, stated that the pool was now open to all guests. The pool was a big attraction to us as we have an 8 and 9 year old. Although it wasn't a huge problem to us we did feel that there were a few things in the cottage that did need some attention. The IPod docking station did not work, the children wanted a bath one night after deciding to paddle in Loch ness but unfortunately the water wasn't hot enough even though there was plenty of hot water from the sinks. The main shower when adjusting the height the attachment was very loose and we were concerned that it could come off at anytime. The cottage itself was lovely and the surroundings are beautiful and we would recommend the cottage to friends and family and also consider coming back if the pool was open again.

Rebecca Hill
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 17/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect peaceful rural retreat. We loved that it was away from it all. Beautifully located on the edge of a beautiful forest with great walks from your doorstep. Amazing wildlife & no people to be seen or heard. Bliss

Craig D
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

We enjoyed a relaxing weeks holiday at Gracie's Cottage, the cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed having breakfast with the the view over Loch Kishorn and exploring the local area where there are lots of lovely walks and places to explore. We wanted a relaxing break and Gracie's cottage didn't disappoint, we will definitely return.

Matthew
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Excellent property in a lovely location, lots of wildlife around and plenty of activities to do locally.

Cerys1
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

The Beech Lodge was amazing! There are only positive comments to make about it. The lodge was well kept with lots of amenities and was very clean. It contained everything you needed and is situated in a great location with wonderful views. I will definitely be going back.

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Lovely house with amazing views. Ideal location for a get away from it all holiday. Wilderness Holiday staff very friendly and helpful.

Julia.b
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 14/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This is such a lovely, well appointed house in the perfect location for some of the most incredible walks and scenery. From booking it to the morning we left, everything went smoothly. We had a fantastic family holiday and can't recommend it enough!

Debbie & Paul
Reviewed The Granary on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary is a beautiful cottage in a stunning setting. We immediately felt at home and we were both very impressed with the cleanliness and the attention to detail. Kirsty, the owner, had thought of everything and the cottage was really well equipped. Kirsty even left us some beautiful roses and a bottle of wine. It's in an ideal location for Drumnadrochit village, just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants, and is also perfect for touring the Highlands by car, as there are many stunning places to see, such as Urquhart Castle, Fort Augustus, Eilean Donan castle, Fort George to spot the dolphins (we did!) and Plockton, to name a few. We really enjoyed our stay at the Granary and we loved waking up to the sound of the wee burn at the side of the cottage. It's a lovely , very comfortable place to relax and unwind in, as everything you need is there.

Claire Murdy
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean, good furniture, amazing position, perfect location for visiting distilleries. Friendly landlords, welcome pack, wine and flowers very much appreciated, we're sure to return.

Graham Stokes
Reviewed Wee Dram on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Wee Dram is a lovely little cottage, offering peace and quiet with great views over the valley. We had a great time touring around the area and staying in the cottage with its log fire. Would highly recommend it.

Marian Lister
Reviewed Christies on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Lovely old cottage, very cosy too. Beautiful situation overlooking the bay, the dog absolutely loved it! Plumbing noise in the bathroom was a bit strange, but we got used to it. Neighbour very nice and helpful too. We will go back, once we have explored some of your other lovely properties.

Santha -- Oxford
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This is a spacious, comfortable, warm and beautifully equipped cottage. The owners could not do more to ensure one's enjoyment! The cottage is in a truly breathtaking, undisturbed setting, with wonderful views of the mountains and sea, with the Outer Hebrides visible on the horizon. The cottage is also conveniently situated for getting around to other parts Skye, and a bus-service passes the gate. This is my third visit to this cottage. Highly recommended.

Laura B
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had truly a phenomenal stay at White-Tail Croft. The croft itself is to the highest standard, with stunning views; we saw many birds of prey hunting outside the croft, and with deer and rabbits making use of the fields surrounding us. Absolutely loved our time here, and are aiming to come back in the future!

Chris & Sharon
Reviewed Aros Beag on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Excellent cottage tempted to keep it a secret, very quiet and peaceful with nice walks in the area . cottage is very well appointed and owners are welcoming

Neil Cooper
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

Our break at South Lodge was excellent, we arrived to find freshly baked shortbread waiting for us. The Lodge itself was very clean and very comfortable, the kitchen and living area were perfect and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a lovely surprise. The remote position of the Lodge was one of the reasons we chose it, with a great woodland walk within 200 metres. On the first morning i made a coffee and sat outside on the bench, i noticed some movement at the edge of the Loch which turned out to be two Otters feeding, we also saw many Common Seals within a few miles of the Lodge. The whole area was perfect for a nice 'chilled out' break, and the local people were very friendly indeed, everyone waved to us as we drove into Tarbert. Leaving to return home was the only downside of this break, we are definitely going to return here, as it was one of the best breaks i have had in over 40 years. our dogs absolutely loved it too. I wish i could put some of my photos on this review.

The Gray's
Reviewed Sealight on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

We had a fabulous time at Sealight, the weather was very good, apart from the last 2 days, but did not stop us going out walking/ climbing. The house is amazing...everything you could need and cosy, we would defiantly stay again... lots to do if you like the outdoors. Don't know why we had to phone the caretakers as we did twice, but no answer on both occasions!

Elen Sentier
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Such a beautiful place! The cottage is deep in the woods and with no immediate neighbours but still part of the community of Tomich. It's very well appointed, the furnishings are attractive and the two main rooms are large. The window seats are a grerat place to stretch out with a cuppa after a walk and watch the birds who flock around the house. There are several excellent walks directly from the house, indeed we only took the car out one day to go to Glen Affric, and to shop in the local town of Beauly. Beauly has an excellent deli/cafe next door to a very good old fashioned greengrocer - his veg are super - and across the road from a good butcher. There's a Co-Op for basics too, and a bakery. The kitchen is well appointed, lots of useful pots and pans, a good oven and hob, and really good washing machine (Bosch) which is such an advantage for walkers like ourselves. We - Fiona and me - went at the end of March and the one thing we found is that the cottage is cold, we needed the heating! You really noticed when you went out into the corridor as we kept the heating on in the rooms we used. The wood-burner was vital for comfort but the cold meant we didn't use the other very attractive front room. Also the wifi is close to nonexistent. Never mind about not being able to stream videos - we had to split an email with 3 small attachments into 3 separate emails and it still too half an hour to go! As we're both writers with contract deadlines to complete this was something of a blow! But overall we had a delightful week of walking and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed it too :-). It's a wonderful hideaway, peace, quiet and beuty all around you.

Cazamaranda
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Three old friends and one dog for a week - peace and relaxation in a cosy home with uninterrupted views of the sea. The location couldn't have been more perfect, and being right on the beach was a dream come true for us. The cottage itself was well-equipped and spotlessly clean with beautifully laundered bedding and towels (whoever does the cleaning does an excellent job!). We did intend travelling around the area, but ended up spending almost the whole week in the cottage - it was such a lovely place to be. The wood burner in the conservatory was such a fantastic idea and we spent most of the week in there when the weather was wet, staying cosy whilst feeling surrounded by the outdoors. We're already planning our next stay and can't recommend it highly enough.

Ray & Jennifer
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A charming cottage in a pleasant location . The high standard of decoration, available equipment and garden made for an outstanding week .

Sarah, James & JRTs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Cottage was lovely - clean, everything you need for your stay. All mod cons. Spacious and very cosy. Log burner was great, didn't need the heating at all. Jacuzzi bath was an fantastic after long walks. Big porch for all your outdoor gear and loved the decking for watching the wildlife. Garden is dog proof (even for small terriers) - our dogs loved it! Owners were very helpful. And the location - well.....we loved it! Munroes on your doorstep combined with loads of low level walks. Could easily walk each day from cottage and not have to drive anywhere. Great mountain biking too. 15 mins to Spean Bridge - nearest supermarket. 30 mins to Fort William. Loads to do in the area for outdoor enthusiasts, families and elderly parents. In-laws came with us and loved it! Recommend - Glen Roy and the parallel roads; gondola trip and mountain bike trails at Nevis range and the coffee shop in Roy Bridge - Darwin's Rest, awesome home baking, friendly staff ???? Would we book again - def yes!