Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 161 to 180 of 2775


Lisa & Family
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/03/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is perfectly situated 2 miles down a quiet road. It's remote and wonderfully quiet but there are also a few other homes near enough if you need anything. Equally, you're not too far from Roybridge and Spean Bridge if you want a meal. Entering the cottage, the cottage exceeded our expectations.... everything was thought of and provided.... from the substantial supply of wood for the log burner to the coffee maker to the dishwasher tablets, to the supply of towels and extra bedding. The cottage is well furnished, clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. And the log burner was heavenly each night. It really felt like a home away from home. The owners were easily accessible and very helpful. There's several low-level walks around the area, which were great for our 9 year old and the Jacobite Steam Engine and the famous viaduct from Harry Potter is nearby. We've got our eye on a return trip in warmer weather for some of the Munro's and the obligatory Steam Engine! Can't recommend the cottage enough!

Phillip Ingle
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 07/03/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a fantastic time staying at Cluny Croft. The cottage was absolutely perfect. It had everything we needed. It was lovely and warm when we arrived and had excellent central heating as well as a well stocked wood pile and coal bin. The place was was spotlessly clean when we arrived, we hope we left it as clean. We will definitely be back.

Jan, Tony, Iain & Bertie
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 04/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a fantastic week in February 2017. We avoided the warmer months as we have previous experience of the Scottish midges which seem to love us far more than we love them, but we also wanted to capture crisp, clear winter scenery. We had wondered whether we might be met with snowy winter scenes, but the weather did not oblige. However, the hard, biting frost, the morning mists and the many picturesque icicles more than compensated and there was a covering of snow on the top of the hills. In fact, having Bertie the cocker spaniel, it was a blessing that the weather was cold and frosty, the ground hard and no mud. It made it so much easier to keep the wilderness outside and the cottage its impeccable best We had often passed by travelling further north but had never explored Glens Affric, Urquhart and Cannich. We were not disappointed! It was a truly unique location with lots to explore and photograph, particularly the plentiful deer in Glen Cannich and the early morning visitors to the bird-table! Plodda Falls was amazing, and just a stroll away. The cottage was extremely well-equipped, comfortable and tastefully furnished. There was plentiful literature on the Estate and local history, and had the weather been foul we could quite happily have entertained ourselves in front of the very relaxing wood burner. Relaxing by the fire after a day in the Glens was wonderfully soporific. Given the outside temperatures it was not surprising that we got through quite a bit of wood, but as we are townies, unaccustomed to the rural rigors of wilderness Scotland, that's not surprising. Our only disappointment was that the biomass heating wasn't operational as this would have reached the parts the electric panel heaters didn't! There are so many positives: the magnificently comfortable beds, the care and attention to detail that has gone into renovation and refurbishment, Jenny's warm welcome and wealth of local knowledge and information, not to mention the lemon drizzle cake, fantastic location, stunning scenery and a beautiful cottage.

Steve Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 04/03/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

A dream of a house in a perfect location. We had a wonderful relaxing stay that even Storm Doris couldn't spoil. The property is in the perfect location and is the best equipped we have ever stayed in. We managed to get on the hills and had some wonderful trips further afield. The wildlife is amazing and the nightly visits from the Pine Martens made our holiday. We will definitely be back.

Kay & Adrian Starkey & Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 02/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in August 2016 for a week. Well where shall I start. What an amazing holiday we had, we had the most relaxing week we've ever had. One of the best bits about not having internet or a phone signal for this holiday is that you truly don't miss it and we enjoyed spending real quality family time together, playing games, talking and going for walks with our dog Tia. We had the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. So please don't let the loss of Internet and phone signal put you off staying at this wonderful place with beautiful gardens too. The lodge is beautiful and there's everything you could possibly need. We loved to sit in the sun room in the day and watch the weather change and the wildlife flying around. Abundant with birds, the best was the woodpeckers, something I've never seen before. On a night we loved the open fire very cosy, and if you go outside on a clear night to look at the stars, because of the remoteness of the cottage there's no light pollution and we've never seen so many stars. The location that the lodge is in is lovely for walking from your doorstep, plodda falls is a must and Glen Affric is about 15 mins away by car. Guischan Lodge is set in a Estate with the old house ruins just a short walk away, Jenny the owner told us all about the history of the Estate which was fascinating. Jenny was very friendly and we loved meeting her. There's probably so much more I could write. We loved it that much we've booked for this year. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Jones Family
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 02/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We spent our half term break staying here and it was wonderful. The setting and the location is incredible, the Croft itself is very comfortable, has a great log burner and sauna and is the perfect get away at any time of year. We would love to go back in the Summer time as it was rather wet in February but we were expecting that anyway and we were still able to get out and about regardless of the weather. This is perfect for a young family or couples looking to escape from the realities of the world for a while!

Ashley & Amy Cowx
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 01/03/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We arrived at the cottage in the dark, the directions were spot on... We got to the cottage and walked in to a lovely warm, clean and inviting place. After a little explore we settled down with a glass of wine (provided on arrival which was a nice touch) and watched the stars. The cottage is really spacious and with underfloor heating throughout stays nice a toasty, three children really enjoyed it, high chair, cot etc everything we needed was there, even the log burner was set up for us ready to light with logs provided. The woods surrounding were nice to explore and then just 25minute drive to Inverness it's an ideal location.. would definitely recommend and would revisit.. you won't be disappointed if you visit...

Anthony
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/03/2017
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

This is a wonderful part of Scotland. If you like being out of the way then this is the place to go. Beach on your back door step, the enclosed garden is also much bigger than the pictures make it seem, plenty big enough for an energetic border collie to run around in. All bedding and sofa cushions are feather so if you are allergic I would advise bringing your own bedding/ pillows. The internet is of good enough quality (about 1-2mb) for searching for local attractions/ driving routes etc. The lounge/ dining room is a brilliant size and would easily fit 8 people (we were only in a group of 4). Again the pictures do not show how large this room is. There is a huge dining table that would comfortably fit 8 and probably more. There were basic things like salt, pepper, oil, various spices left there when we arrived which was useful but I would advise doing a decent sized shop at Tesco in Ullapool on your way in, you can get most things though from the Spar in Lochinver There is a bigger beach 5 mins up the road, Clashnessie Bay, perfect for dogs to have a big run, also we saw seals here swimming around close to the shore and also laying on the rocks over to the right of the bay.

Ray Currie
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 28/02/2017
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

The cottage is set in a stunning location. The owners made us extremely welcome, with fresh baking, bread and wine, a lovely touch. Their attention to detail in the cottage is super and you won't be without, they've thought of it all! Although the cottage is a little isolated, the short drives around to villages for shops or eating places are always worth it. We had a really chilled week, ate well, drank well, exercised well and slept well (even when the weather was challenging!) You will be struggling to find better in Skye! *****

The Furnell's
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 26/02/2017
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Excellent cottage, great location, great coffee shop within 2 minutes walk from the front door. Ideal base to explore the area, only disappointment was NO snow you can't have everything. Morag the owner was very friendly and helpful. The nearest supermarket is 20 minutes away but for orders over £40. Tesco deliver for free. A god send but don't forget anything as we did. Will definitely be returning in the future. If you have a spare day go to the Ben Nevis range and go up on a gondola, great experience and views.

Samuel Bedford
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

The Shed is a beautiful building, with lovely social spaces laid out to make the most of the incredible location and views. Our friends and family all loved it, and would very much stay again. The bedrooms, although tucked away at either end, are perfectly sized, and all have easy access to a bathroom close by. Mary, the owner, was helpful prior to and during our stay. Now, if we could do something about that Scottish weather!

Helen Grice
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is the ideal getaway, fantastic location and the cottage has everything you need, The track down to the cottage is a little rugged and care is needed. We have been twice and loved every second of it. For those 4 legged friends they will love the beach , right on the doorstep. This is a secluded property so don't expect to see anyone else, Shops and cafes etc within a few miles. The local deer, squirrels and birds of prey also make a regular appearance.

Merritt
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We spent 3 nights at Seascape Cottage - a perfect 'get away from it all' cottage. The location was just what we wanted - close to the sea with terrific sea views from the living room and main bedroom. The cottage was warm, very well equipped and very comfortable. And the owners were very friendly and helpful. There's no wi-fi or mobile reception at the cottage, which is fine if you are happy to be 'off grid' - but you can get a signal just up the hill from the cottage.

David Burton
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

What a great cottage and location, all excellent facilities, very helpful stewards and friendly. We had a great holiday. P.S. The weather was good too.

Angela
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

I took my dog to Seaview Cottage on the shore of Lochcarron in Feb. It was a lovely cozy cottage. Great view from the kitchen of the Loch. I really enjoy the coal fire in the evening. Restful holiday and great base for walks

Rebecca
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Lovely house with gorgeous views. The log fire was absolutely perfect for a cosy night in! Would definitely recommend.

Michael Cracknell
Reviewed Gate House on 21/02/2017
And awarded it

Gate House

Absolutely outstanding house, beautiful surroundings and warm. We were all lucky this week as the weather was beautiful, apart from one morning, but that didn't matter. Plenty to do locally and further away, and nice and quiet at this time of the year too!

Jessica Russell
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/02/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

My husband and I came to Skye in January for a brief respite from a hectic year. We loved Moll Cottage! It is in a beautiful and tranquil location. It took us a few nights to get used to the silence and amazing darkness, but it was just what we needed! The cottage was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped. The spacious closet in the bedroom allowed us to unpack and store our suitcases under the bed (which was extremely comfortable), making the two rooms feel quite spacious. The wood-burning stove was excellent and there was plenty of fuel, although we really didn't need much as the cottage is well insulated and a small fire made the cottage very cozy! The television had excellent reception, but we only watched it once because there are fantastic views from the cottage windows. We enjoyed waking up each morning to see the water just at the edge of the lawn and seeing red deer, otters, seals, cormorants, shags, and eagles. The single-track road to the cottage seems to have been patched up and in slightly better condition coming from Broadford rather than Sconser. Moll Cottage was the perfect place to get away from it all! I am sure we will be back! Jessica Russell

Lian Boden
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/02/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had the most wonderful week at the spacious yet cosy Hill Head Croft. We felt instantly at home and we're very impressed with the excellent facilities. We also found the guest book and info shelf incredibly helpful when planning our week. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday and we're thrilled with the number of walks from our doorstep and around the loch area. Stunning scenery and colour changes during our stay which made it extra special. We'd exhausted our two springers by the end of the week which was no mean feat!We would highly recommend Hill Head Croft and would love to return in the future. A big thank you to Wilderness Cottages for their excellent customer service when we needed to change the dates of our booking.

The Ferguson Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

What an amazing cottage/house! We lucked out getting a late cancellation for Guisachan when looking for somewhere for a weeks' holiday with our daughter and our dogs. It's a beautiful, clean, comfortable and warm house with an open fire. It's full of everything you need for the week, including the best equipped holiday cottage kitchen I've experienced, lots of books, games, maps, toys, very comfortable beds and a selection of sofas ( and rooms ) to lounge around on. The garden is huge and gorgeous with a dog proof fence. The owner Jenny lives in the house next door and was the perfect host, being available to answer any questions about the house and area, but never imposing on us. We also had a lovely lemon cake waiting for us on arrival. The area is perfect for exploring with dogs, being next to the woods, Plodda falls and a short drive from Glen Affric. Made use of our bikes mainly for going to the Tomich Hotel for dinner, but could cycle for miles off road if you wanted.. We also went pony trekking nearby at Cougie and went dolphin watching on the Black Isle. We will definitely be returning.