Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 401 to 450 of 2775


Chris & Kirsty
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 20/11/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Excellent property and location for the ultimate relaxing breaks. Breath taking views, wildlife and ever changing weather to cast your eyes upon, let alone the chance to view aurora in the night skies.

John Gibson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 18/11/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Wonderful place. Highly recommended. Unlike many cottages, the Tree House is modern, beautifully designed and finished to a very high spec throughout. It has a well stocked kitchen, an efficient log burner, a nice TV and speakers to plug your phone into, a massive couch to lounge on. It is altogether extremely comfortable. We visited in November, and it rained most days, but we were happy to be tucked up cosy and warm inside. The location on a tiny little road is also very secluded and quiet. Skye is, of course, beautiful.

Peter Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Hill Cottage is perfect if you crave isolation, utter peace and quiet, rugged scenery and nil light pollution. It's not so good if you are a TV addict and/or you cannot survive without your mobile phone. Administrative aspects faultless.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit. The cottage had been recently painted. Spotlessly clean. Great walks and wonderful weather. Perfect break for us.

BARRY
Reviewed Wildwood on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

We rented Wildwood at Fort Augustus for a week and had the best time, our holiday started on 5th November and it was very mild. The wildlife there is amazing. Deer, pine martins, badger and so many birds. We were feeding them 2 pints of seed per day not including fat balls and suet. The property was spotless and there is everything there to make your stay so comfortable. We wish we booked 2 weeks now. If you book this property you won't regret it.

Jane Fletcher
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn looks gorgeous on the website, and doesn't disappoint in real life. It is very well equipped, was spotless on arrival, and is a great base for exploring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our week,and our two Westies loved relaxing in front of the excellent wood burning stove.

Roger & Patricia Scott
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage was extremely well equipped - everything possible in the kitchen from bread maker to food processor! The cottage was very cosy! The bedding was lovely and warm! The welcome pack was a lovely touch as was leaving the fire laid and ready to light. Would readily recommend the cottage!

Mr F Townley
Reviewed Station Cottage on 15/11/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A wonderful week in the cottage, there is nothing else you need for a relaxing and peaceful time. The cottage is well appointed and cosy with the log burner. We will return again in the summer/ autumn. Highly recommended.

Susan H
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/11/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

One Week Holiday
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We very much enjoyed our holiday at Leachahan Barn. It is very clean, tidy and has all the amenities you could wish for. Fantastic views from the windows across the Loch. The Barn is ideally suited for trips to Skye (via Glen Elg in the Summer months is a real treat!), or to the nearby Lochs and Glens. Otherwise plenty of easy and interesting walks just from the front door ( ie the ruined Broch at Totaig).

Christine Entwistle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 13/11/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The cottage was delightful, well equipped and very clean. It was wonderful returning home to the warmth and cosiness, at this time of year after a bracing walk in the beautiful, stunning countryside and coastal scenery. The dogs enjoyed lying in front of the wood burning stove or the aga and just fell asleep. The beds were comfortable and at this time of year it was just what the doctor ordered. The beaches nearby were beautiful and not to be missed.

Tove & Pip Knight
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 12/11/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

My Border Collie, Pip, and I spent a few lovely days in Woodside Lodge in October. The weather was brilliant and the views spectacular. The cottage was the best appointed self catering cottage I have ever been to. It was warm, well equipped and the fenced in garden area was brilliant. We toured around the area, but next time (and there will be a next time) we will allow a bit more time to spend a bit more 'chill-out' time in the cottage. I would highly recommend it.

Sally Herbert
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

I cannot recommend Plodda Falls Lodge highly enough. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in October 2016. The lodge exceeded our expectations, which had been extremely high! It was a characterful house, extremely cosy and comfortable, set in beautiful surroundings. The double bed was divine and the wood burning stove extremely efficient. Jenny was helpful and friendly, she made us feel very welcome, told us to contact her if there was anything or any information we needed and popped to see us twice to make sure we were okay (unfortunately we missed her on both occasions!). She had made a delicious apple and blackberry cake for our arrival. There was wealth of information on what to do in the surrounding areas at the lodge, plus old photos and historical information about the lodge and estate. WiFi was excellent but there was no mobile signal, there was a landline for local calls. We enjoyed the lodge as a couple but it is perfect for families and dogs and would make an excellent Christmas/New Year retreat. The lodge is located down a long drive which needs to be taken carefully and is remote (as advised in the pre-booking information). This suited us as it was just what we were looking for but prospective hirers do need to be aware of this. Plodda Falls are a short walk through the forest which backs onto the lodge and are well worth seeing. We also explored nearby Glen Affric, which must be one of the most beautiful places in Scotland, and Loch Ness and its surrounding areas. There was a wealth of local walks detailed in the information at the lodge. All in all we had one of our best holidays at Plodda Falls Lodge and can see why people go back there time and time again.

Stephen & Susan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 11/11/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a perfect cottage, absolutely spotlessly clean, warm cozy and welcoming. It is very tastefully furnished and so comfortable, we felt relaxed and chilled out from the moment we arrived. The lovely thoughtful touches of fresh flowers, wine etc are the icing on the cake, all the bases and much more are covered here. The surroundings are stunning, when we return to the area we will look no further and definitely rebook. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Colin & Lynn
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Fabulous - House was excellent and great location. The house has everything you need and is great for relaxing with wonderful views. There's so many great things to do on Skye but make sure you get some fresh seafood like Scallops from Sconser. We'll be back.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 4th visit to Charleston, the second time this year! We absolutely love the peace and quiet, fantastic views and the home comforts the cottage has to offer. The owners have provided everything you need for your stay and the cottage itself is immaculate. When the guest book is full of people visiting for their second, third, fourth and more times that speaks for itself!! We will definitely be back, just hope we can get in as it books up fast...

Andrew & Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A lovely location and wonderful accommodation for our stay in the Highlands. A warm and friendly welcome, many thanks.

Debby & Marc
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Absolutely beautiful cottage...peaceful comfortable and has everything you need. Perfect location. we will definitely be booking again

Richie
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

An amazing place to stay and this was our fourth visit there. Tranquil, high quality accommodation that's makes you instantly relaxed. Always great service from Wilderness Cottages and we can't wait for our next stay.

Kayley Holden
Reviewed Sealight on 09/11/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

We had the most wonderful honeymoon at Sealight. We arrived at the end of October, staying for a week and unfortunately, this is the out of season period where most places are closed. However, Sealight has everything you could possibly need to have a lovely, chilled, warmly stay. From books to every kitchen utensil you can think of and even jigsaw puzzles/games, we were never bored! The log burner was our favourite part of the house and we loved having the fire burning every night whilst watching a movie! We came home very relaxed and refreshed. Exactly what we needed! We are hoping to come back for Christmas next year.

Alan & Alison
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was the perfect place for a chill and unwind. Perfect for a couple sharing, excellent facilities and very cosy - the woodburner stove was great but rarely used as the place was so warm. No phone signal and no wifi took about a day to get used to then you remember what life used to be like! Read a couple of books in the total peace of the evenings. Jane was very friendly and helpful. The Byre is well placed for walking and cycling from the door or further afield. We will be back.

Liz Twelves
Reviewed Wishing Well Cottage on 06/11/2016
And awarded it

Wishing Well Cottage

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Twelves, thank you for your feedback and review. We are pleased that you found the pre arrival information for the property easy to follow and that the house was clean and to a high standard. The beds provided in the property are brand new with good bed linen and mattresses and are surprised on the comment about these. We have passed on the information regarding the TV and DVD to the owners. They have provided a flat screen TV and satellite with over 1500 channels which guests have enjoyed using, unfortunately a DVD player is not provided. As all our properties are individually owned and it therefore depends on the owner regarding welcome packs etc. However in remote locations it is sometimes difficult to leave fresh produce and we are sorry if the lack of this detracted from your stay.
The Milner Family
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 04/11/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Wonderful cottage full of charm although the property probably is looking a little tired in places but has everything needed for a self catering accommodation. Great location and ideal for exploring the area. Great walks to be had. We would recommend

Fiona Mackenzie
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a very relaxing break at shore cottage with our two labradors, cottage was very warm and homely and the beach at the end of the garden was fabulous. The only negatives were that the tv was very old and that the bathroom is in need of upgrading but that would not stop us from returning! Oh and the bush that obscures the view on the decking needs to go!

Lea, Silke, Tim & Holger
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had booked the hotel in the second half of October, after spending a week in the highlands. The weather was unusually beautiful for this season: 14 days without rain and almost always the sun was up to 16 degrees. With the cottage we also had big luck. The bedrooms on the first floor are very comfortable, the kitchen is excellently equipped, the open fireplace in the evening exactly the right, and the winter garden is pure luxury to relax. We were always on the way during the day and were very happy to return to the cottage. The location is very quiet, from the road you get nothing. We should also mention that the lock gate is supernett and has passed on the day before the departure to say goodbye. As a starting point for hiking and exploring the area, the location of the house is also optimal. Inverness and Fort William (we did not like it) are within easy reach, the Isle of Skye is not so far away, especially as the route is beautiful. Particularly attractive is Glen Strathfarrar, even if the access by car to a certain contingent is limited (meaningful). In the immediate vicinity of the house, one can also, for example, prima migrate, e.g. On the Ben tea. Overall a great week in a very excellent holiday home!

Gary & Bernie
Reviewed Ardrannach on 01/11/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This property and location was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. The property is ideally situated for walking and is in a very peaceful location with tremendous views of Skye.

Michelle Bennett
Reviewed Giusaichean on 29/10/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Mr & Mrs Nicol
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Moll Cottage was easy to find, very warm and in an incredibly private and scenic location. Use northern access road: southern approach in bad repair (30 mins to drive 3 miles) so access from further junction takes half the time! Comfy bed but needs new pillows. Nice to have liners. Lots of local info and some DVD's. Basic condiments provided, but only a tiny prep area if cooking. One of the two ceiling lights, the cooker hood light and under unit lights not working: should have been spotted before our arrival. No spare bulbs provided - we did not want to wait around for manager to call during our stay. As others have noted - suite is really uncomfortable because, bizarrely, all its rear cushions have been removed. The property does need quite a thorough cleaning: lots of mould - on window frames and surrounds, floor and wall at end of lounge & inside the shower. Lots of greasy, dirty pots, cutlery, utensils/dirty tea towels and apron. Grubby everywhere: chair backs, bedhead and end, picture glass and even the bottom of the wardrobe mirrors and their runner recesses. Toilet brush & holder awful. No bathroom mirror or shaver point. Bins have stickers stating "collection contract expired" so were not emptied. Lovely location but quality of cleaning/lack of attention reduced rating.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr & Mrs Nicol, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Moll Cottage, we do as a small company appreciate all the reviews we receive. We are disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, we do provide in the event of any problems a contact number for the local caretaker and our office is open until 7pm during the week and until 6pm at the weekends, along with an out of hours answering service. We have checked with the caretaker and our own records and see that no problems were reported by you. Due to the location, the owner has provided a telephone in the cottage for emergency and local calls. The caretaker does live within a few miles and could easily have come and rectified any issues that you had. The first we became aware of any problems was when this review was received on the 28th October, which is late considering you stayed for the week 15th to the 22nd October. However in the circumstances we have, as a goodwill gesture made a partial refund to cover you for any inconvenience caused.
Lauren
Reviewed Timber House on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Timber House

We really enjoyed our time at Timber House. The views from every room are amazing. We loved the wood burner and waking up to sheep in the front yard. The kitchen was well equipped. Highly recommended. Future guests may want to know that mobile service in the area comes and goes, though the internet worked well. The house is in a remote area and is therefore extremely quiet, though the wind and rain can be quite loud in the main bedroom, so bring ear plugs if that will keep you awake. We hope to come again!

Steve & Jacqui Johnstone
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 28/10/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a wonderful relaxing week here in October. The resident pine martin did not disappoint and visited us every second night around 9pm. What a beautiful creature and one of the main reasons we booked. Got some great photographs. Pine lodge is compact yet comfortable and has everything you need. Wi-Fi is fantastic considering the location. The road up to the lodge is a bit steep and rough but this is quickly forgotten once you are there. Location is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to escape. The views over the loch and mountains are simply breathtaking. Would highly recommend pine lodge and hope to visit again very soon.

William Foy
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Cottage very well equiped and cosy would recommend it to friends and family!

Chris & Wendy Jennings
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely cottage hideaway.

Lorna (Skye)
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

We loved Erchless Cottage. It was cosy and spacious and an ideal base for walking and exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. Alison and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly.

Lynda James
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary Cottage is extremely well equipped and in a lovely location. It's very warm and cosy and the double bed is one of the most comfortable we've slept in. It really is away from it all and it's quite a drive back up the valley if you want to get out and about sightseeing. One piece of advice I wish we'd had is that the nearest decent shop is in Fort Augustus at the filling station and there's a butcher there too. Take bird food if you want to see a busy bird table and the Pine Marten only came during the night when we were there but we had a camera trap so got footage on that? The Stanley range cooker takes a bit of getting used to.

Shona B
Reviewed Dunollie on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

Simpson's
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We stayed at Beach Lodge for a week from 15th to 22nd October. It was perfect! A beautiful house tucked away in the bay with a huge expanse of sandy beach and not a soul in sight. We had a lovely sunny break taking in the sights of the Rhins and on the one day of rain were happy to sit indoors relaxing and only venturing as far as the beach for a walk with the dogs. A lovely restful week in a lovely location!

Carole Binns
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a fabulous stay at Shore Cottage. It has an amazing location the garden and beach were perfect for our Staffy. The cottage was lovely and warm on arrival and very clean. We loved the conservatory with the log burner although the weather was exceptional and we even sat out on the decking and read in the sunshine! We have stayed in three Wilderness cottages so far and have never been disappointed, but I think this is our favourite. A big bonus was the lovely clean beach. Many thanks to whoever has cleaned it because we have stayed nearby before and the beach was littered with rubbish but this time it was lovely. Had a great time many thanks.

Julian Marriner
Reviewed Wildwood on 27/10/2016
And awarded it

Wildwood

Excellent, fantastic, superb !!! A wonderful stay in a lovely property in the 'Wilderness', well almost. A short walk (1.5M) to Fort Augustus, beautiful surroundings and so many sights to go and see. Will definitely be returning again. The property is lovely and cozy with the wood burner, wildlife on the doorstep. An Excellent stay - Many Thanks A1++++

Anthony & Elizabeth
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Best place we have ever stayed at! Warm, clean, cosy, well equipped with an enormous comfortable bed. Best of all, great views across Loch Kishorn towards the Cullin of Skye.

Peter Sumpter
Reviewed Rhundunan on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Excellent property that is well equipped. Very highly recommended.

Ian Wilson
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 23/10/2016
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

Absolutely fantastic cottage plenty of room with views to kill for, Dog loved it and collapsed every night on her bed. I will be definitely be coming back, 1 slight negative I had to change bedding on arrival other than that 10/10.

Catriona & John
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

The cottage was really lovely: very clean and very well-equipped. We really appreciated the little extras, like the shortbread,butter, milk, teabags and jam on arrival, and the washing up liquid, hand soap and toilet roll! It is well-located with lovely views over the loch and within an easy walk of the excellent local Spar shop. We had a lovely 3 nights there and just wish it could have been longer.

NBLucas
Reviewed The Mill on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

The Mill

A lovely stay. What a spectacular view! The Mill was a very easy place to stay with our 19 month old. She loved seeing the cows right outside the window. We thought the location was great and the amenities at the property made it a real home away from home. The wifi was patchy, but the setting made it worth it. I liked the additional touches like the shortbread biscuits and Tomintoul whiskey that was left for us to try. There were a few dog hairs around from the previous guest, but otherwise the property was left clean and tidy.

Mark Alexander
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 20/10/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Sheila Grant
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside cottage was well equipped and met all our needs ,,, the tray ready prepared with a cup of tea was welcoming ,,, as was the vase of flowers Apple cross is a wonderful peaceful location .. thank you for a wonderful week ,,, not forgetting the coal fire at night was a treat .... x

Brian Welsh
Reviewed Charleston on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent spacious accommodation, idyllic quite location, good walks along general wade road in both directions local Loch Ness good walk round about 12 miles. Dogs love the spacious grounds kitchen and conservatory hard flooring suitable for pets.Welcome pack a great touch. All round excellent holiday

Ella & Mark
Reviewed River Cottage on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

We stayed at River Cottage for a week and thought it was the perfect base for us to explore places in the Highlands of Scotland. We could not have asked for more - location, comfort, warmth, amenities, facilities - all perfect.

Jennifer
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 19/10/2016
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Great little cottage away from it all with good facilities and beautiful views to Raasay. Be aware that the single track road to the cottage is poorly maintained by the local council. Perfect place for couples looking for relaxation and quiet alongside access to the many walks and sites across Skye.

William O'Brien
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

If you are looking for the perfect cosy log cabin in a stunning completely secluded location equipped to the highest standards, look no further!

Will Jeffels
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 18/10/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What a fabulous Island Skye is! Katie's cottage was just perfect. Great location, with wonderful views of Glendale valley. The cottage was very well equipped, very clean, and very cosy. It has a very good kitchen for a small cottage. The log burner works well and the underfloor heating keep it it comfortably warm. The mattresses are good quality which contributes to a very restful stay. Will look to go back soon if possible.