Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 250 of 2902


Toogoolawa
Reviewed Sixgeary on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

It was a joy to stay at Sixgeary. The design and layout was perfect; It was immaculately maintained, extremely well equipped and in a great position. The wifi was very good and a bonus was being able to watch Netflix. Fiona, the Housekeeper made us very welcome. Geary is a small community with no facilities but we didn't have any problems using Sixgeary as a base to explore Northern Skye. We have used Wilderness Cottages on several occasions to stay in different parts of Skye and have been very happy with each of the cottages in which we've stayed and service provided by the Company.

Sue Sutton
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous location- we were fortunate to see otters from the cottage window. The views are spectacular, the cottage, comfortable and very well equipped. We had a great holiday, and will definitely return!

Rosand
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely, quiet cottage with very helpful hosts. Perfect for a relaxing break.

Caroline
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

A beautiful cottage that has been renovated to a very high standard. It has everything you need plus more and is very spacious. We also found the location very good to explore the area. Jeff and Jacqui are very knowledgeable on places to visit which was very helpful as this was our first visit to Scotland. We would definitely recommend Arrivain Cottage and hope to return.

Anne Price
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Beautiful location and cottage. Views are amazing but we were up in the cloud for two days! Saw sea eagles on the last day - better sighting than the ones from the sea eagle boat trip that morning! Cottage is very well equipped with everything you need including maps, books on local area etc. Would recommend to those who don't mind being in a quite isolated location and single track roads to get to it!

Shirley Rose
Reviewed Charleston on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Unfortunately I was unable to go on my much anticipated holiday as I was in hospital. However my brother his partner and Bertie the dog had a wonderful time. They told me that the cottage was amazing, especially the garden room where they spent many hours watching the wild life and enjoying the views. Bertie had a wonderful time with all the space to run in and explore. They said that everything you could think of was provided, the peace and quiet and the outlook were perfect. I'm so upset that I couldn't go, but we hope to go again next year. Thank you so much to the owners for allowing us the use of their property.

Kate Pickett & Richard Wilkinson
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a magical week in the Timber House - it is so serenely beautiful and we loved watching the seals in the loch. The house is really special, very calming and very comfortable.

Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

if you're looking for a totally relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting in first class accommodation Pooltiel House fits the description.The cottage is a pleasure to stay in with all the features and home comforts you could ask for,clean and spacious and an amazing sea view.

Veronica & John Cook Plus Czar & Woody Cook
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutely fabulous. 2nd time we've been and there will be a 3rd and 4th. The cabin is superb and it's the best sleep that we've ever had. You want for nothing. If you want hustle and bustle this is not for you. It's the most relaxing holiday ever, and the dogs came home for a rest!!!!! GREAT TIME WAS HAD BY ALL

Jane Collins & Nick Gardner
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This is a fabulous place. A gem of a cottage with a fantastic view. We were welcomed with a tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge. The kitchen is well stocked but make sure you buy fresh food for the weekend in Inverness or nearest big town. However there are also great places to eat out including a lively and very friendly pub. Fantastic walks around the area in fine weather but also a lovely open fire to laze in front of if it gets a bit chilly. Amazing sunsets over Rasaay and Skye. We would highly recommend the cottage to friends and family - in fact we already have!

Anne & Adrian
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Absolutely amazing place.. location, cottage and weather all great. Loved being able to walk from the door to the beach and woods... 7 red deer passed through the garden most evenings.. otter and seals swimming just yards away and the stunning mountains of Skye as a background... wonderful

Peter Hellsten
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have had the most wonderful time at Plodda Falls Lodge and could not have dreamed of a better place to stay. It surpassed our expectations as it felt more than a real home than a holiday cottage. The kitchen is very well equipped, both living rooms are super cosy, homely and decorated beautifully. We loved all the art work and Jenny, the owner, has gone to great lengths to ensure this historic building retained its character and charm. The surroundings are just breathtaking and we enjoyed stunning woodland walks, the waterfall and gorgeous Glen Afric. This place is a secret gem and we definitely want to return to spend some more relaxing holidays there. Thanks Jenny for making us feel so very welcome. :-)

Ellen Saunders
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

Truly superb accommodation with stunning views of the loch. Highly recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone who appreciates style, quality and an appreciation of nature.

L.Kesselaar
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Very nice comfortable house. Surroundings are beautiful!!

Greig Craig
Reviewed River Cottage on 29/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed here for a week in July 2016. The booking process was easy and Wilderness Cottages were a pleasure to deal with. River cottages itself is immaculate and is an excellent base to explore the surrounding area with Inverness being only 1/2 an hour away. The cottage is equipped with everything you need. Our one and only gripe - please replace the couch. We would've rebooked this year but unfortunately it was unavailable on our dates. so we have booked elsewhere with Wilderness Cottages.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Craig, Thak you for your feedack, the owner has confirmed that the original couch which was a bed settee, was removed and replaced with a comfortable standard sofa.
DORSET
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 23/05/2017
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at Shepherd's Cottage - great views, very quiet location, well furnished and comfortable house. We particularly liked sitting in the garden watching the local birds. A good base for exploring the area - not far to Lochcarron. Only odd thing was to have two single quilts on the main bed but I expect that is because I had requested non feather duvets.

Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second visit to this lovely cottage and we weren't disappointed, still as beautiful as last year. We stayed for 2 weeks and we had amazing changeable weather sun, rain and snow. It was amazing to see in April. We did lots and lots of walking/hiking covered quite a few miles to see out of the world sites. We saw the Pine marten on the first night and loads of deer and some wonderful stags. We thought we wouldn't see the lovely pine marten again, but as we were leaving early on the last day, we saw him again. So thanks again for a brilliant holiday. Hope we can return one day soon.

Steven McGovern
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

This property has a marvellous view of the loch and the ocean. If you enjoy spotting wildlife from an armchair then expect to see golden eagles, red deer, seals, wheatears and we heard cuckoos every day. For dog owners the enclosed garden is great though it does have a tiny brook running through it so you may need to dry your canine off several times a day! Several good walks close to the property including an hour walk from the door which will take you close to a seal colony which has attracted killer whales previously! A slight negative would be the oven control labels have been erased and the key safe to enter the property is so worn it took 15 minutes for me to recover the key on arrival. Both easily rectified- apart from that very good.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr McGovern, Thank you for your review and feedback, just to confirm a new key box has now been installed at the property.
Linda Porter
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Excellent cottage, in a perfect location. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Lou & Andrew
Reviewed Jura on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Jura

What a fantastic week we had. Wall to wall sunshine all week. The view from the cottage is just fantastic. The sunroom is such an asset . Also a fabulous place for our dog with the hill behind the cottage. The neighbours were so friendly and helpful....we will definitely book Jura again.

Keith S
Reviewed Ardrannach on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a fabulous week on Skye thanks to the well nigh perfect weather. The cottage proved a comfortable and well-located base. Although, as some previous reviewers have noted, the cottage is a bit dated, it has everything required for a holiday.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A truly outstanding location with stunning scenery and views. The cottage has everything you need and plan ahead for meals before you come and do a shop or noticed Asda deliveries passing, you should then only need to stock up for basics, garage in Fort Augustus is well stocked. The walks for dogs around this area are brilliant and Murphy had a ball exploring everywhere although I did get blisters but well worth it. The weather has been exceptional sun from dawn till dusk every day (coming from East Scotland, maybe it's true, always sunny in the West!!) The walk to Loch Loyne was well worth it (bear left at red phone box if coming from cottage) and Murphy even swan which is a change from his jumping in the water. Bring bird food as the bird table is mesmerising.

Maggie Pickering
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely well equipped cottage in the most glorious location, we suspect we will never be totally happy at any other cottage we ever book as it would be very hard to beat.

Lesley Healy
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a superb cottage with great views. Was extremely clean on arrival and felt very homely. Would definitely recommend staying and we will definitely return.

J Nicholls
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 08/05/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a quiet remote area, It was set out lovely all on one level and light and airy, beautiful scenery all round with lots of walks around the cottage and not far to 3 beaches. Stoer lighthouse was only 2 miles away and worth visiting I didn't get to see any whales or dolphins but lovely views down to Skye and Hebrides. Jane was close by and very helpful and it is some where I would definitely stay again.

S Allan
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tigh Nighean Bhan, a beautiful crofters cottage combining stylish elegance of its interior design with thoughtful period details balanced with modern comforts - plentiful heating and hot water and nice touches - books and maps to help you decide what you would like to do in your time on the Isle of Skye. Thank You.

Marlon & Tracy Sayle
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic property and location. Very comfortable and warm cottage even when it's snowing outside. Abundance of wildlife around the cottage and on the east ridge behind the cottage (we were lucky enough to watch 2 immature golden eagles catching the thermals early one morning while sitting on the plateau). Would we return?.....Absolutely.

David Ball
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 03/05/2017
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Fabulous location to get away from it all. The property its self was 10/10 we felt at home straight away and had everything we needed and more. The only slight complaint i would of had is the cleanness of the property could of had a bit more attention to detail i.e. hovering and dusting in all places and wiping down things in the bathroom that looked stained in places,,,, but the bedding etc was fresh and comfy. The owner Andrew was around on arrival and was great such a friendly guy but never once did he bother us!! Due to our car breaking down we had to extend our stay where Andrew and the team made it possible for us to stay an extra 3 days at a cost price which was very kind of them. All in all a great place and location where i hope to return with my partner again one day.

Lily & AB
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

It is with the greatest of pleasure that we write this review for Plodda Falls Cottage! From the moment of our arrival at this beautiful location, we feel at home. Jenny's warm welcome is always so looked forward too and, appreciated. The cottage, nestled amongst the trees, is a delight, so very comfortable. The wildlife is wonderful and, on this visit, we were blessed with a sighting of two Pine Matins. The birdsong and the nearby river, are the only sounds to be heard. It would be remiss of me not to mention ..... THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED imaginable, promoting many a good nights sleep! The Great Spotted Woodpecker 'alarm' in the morning always makes us smile. Plodda, a truly magical place. Until the next time......

A, D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 29/04/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

The cottage is outstanding. It is so well designed and built in an amazing location. You can walk straight out the door and start climbing a 780 metre hill (Corryhabbie). There is so much to see and do in the area but the house is so comfortable, warm and provides such scenic views that staying in is always an option. We had snow flurries and bright sun within minutes of each other which added to the enjoyment. The drive in adds in to the experience. We're booking again. The owners have done an excellent job with their vision for the perfect holiday cottage. Many thanks.

Helena Bell
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 27/04/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was the first time that we had taken our 10 months puppy on holiday, so we were apprehensive. We were thrilled with the facilities provided at Katie's Cottage which made it so easy to keep the little fellow happy while at the same time keeping the cottage clean and tidy. The cottage was a wonderful 'home' for our week and we cannot praise it too highly. We were sad to leave.

Rene.carrons@btinternet .com
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Loved the cottage and the view was stunning.Also the deer and the ladies being the sheep who came by the cottage.Enjoyed the peace and quiet.We found the oeople very friendly. We woukd reccomend this cottage to our friends.

Philip Symons
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 26/04/2017
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Very clean and comfortable accommodation. Despite being a few minutes walk from the shops, the cottage was very quiet. We had planned to stay in Aviemore, but are very glad that we found this cottage in our online search as Grantown was far more attractive and had everything we needed (plus an interesting museum). A visit to Craig Bar is a must (the Landlord is very entertaining!). Fantastic walk from the cottage through Anagach woods and along the River Spey. The cottage was an ideal base to tour the area. We visited Balmoral Castle (the drive along the Highland Tourist route is simply stunning), Inverness (dolphin and seal watching from Chanonry Point and Findhorn), Culloden and the RSPB Osprey Hide. Lovely walks on the Glenlivet Estate, up Cairngorm Mountain and around Loch Morlich. We hope to visit the area again very soon and would very happily book this cottage.

Tomkins Family
Reviewed The Orchids on 25/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

Excellent property in beautiful area of Skye. Spacious, clean, warm and comfortable and very well equipped. Great for all the family, including baby. Highly recommended.

Carole Rowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/04/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our stay at the cottage was perfect, its beautifully situated right on the loch with the sound of the waves crashing, it has everything you need from a lovely home very welcoming feeling. We are already booking for next year....

Karen F
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 21/04/2017
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

A lovely cottage in a fabulous location. It was tastefully decorated and just the right size to accommodate our party of 6 adults and one child. The reading area was a gem and given more time I would happily have spent quite some time ploughing my way through the books on offer. The hosts Bill and Marjory were great and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend staying here, it feels nice and remote but is still within a reasonable distance for the excellent sites that Scotland has to offer in the area.

Dan & Anne & Bailey(springer Spaniel)
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Our stay at Seascape cottage was what we wanted, isolated but within reach (15 min approx) from Stranraer, the owners Chas & Jane have catered for just about everything you'll need. From the cottage to the shore line you have a 2 or 3 minute down hill walk which on the way back you have a slight rise to climb. There are good walks along the shore (bring walking boots). The cottage has no wifi and you need to a short distance by car for a signal, but that's part of the attraction to get away from it all and chill out! Perfect.

Mark Boyd
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This place is stunning. Cosy wee cottage surrounded by stunning scenery. Lots to do in this part of the world, or just kick back and relax in the cottage's conservatory and let the hours drift by. Loved it!

Ann Hadland
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage was a great base for our holiday. It was well equipped, warm, comfortable and immaculately clean. The enclosed garden was brilliant for the dogs and there are lovely walks right from the door. The red squirrels and birds visiting the garden were a real treat.

Gareth Carrol
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. Applecross is an absolute treat to visit, and staying in Bayside made for a wonderful experience. The cottage is superbly positioned - literally a few doors down from the Applecross Inn (also lovely!) and a 30 minute or so walk (or 5 minute drive) the other way to the local shop. Everything inside the cottage made us feel so welcome, from the tea and biscuits on the table when we arrived, to the selection of games to the open fire that we enjoyed on more than one night. Amazing blackout curtains in the bedrooms also meant that we slept as well as we've ever done. The decking out the front was a delight and we enjoyed breakfast and late night drinks on there (in our coats!) and marvelled at the view. Genuinely one of the nicest places I've ever visited, and the entire booking process was so straightforward. Just be aware of drive into Applecross - stunning but not for the faint-hearted!

Andrew Howes
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Stayed at Mathesons Croft House in Nostie. Amazing cottage great location total isolation. 5 *

Michael & Jeff
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage has been thoughtfully renovated to a high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and have no hesitation in recommending it. The location is great - in the wilderness - yet suitable for exploring nearby lochs, castles, distilleries, and for climbing munros!

Sarah White
Reviewed Ardrannach on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This is a comfortable, cosy cottage in a spectacular location with incredible views from windows. Warm and has everything needed and owners welcoming and helpful. Fantastic walks from the front door and easy access to all the places on Skye you want to visit. Not modern or glamorous but everything you need is there and makes for a home from home. Dogs loved it but would have been able to get out of garden at livestock on farm if we hadn't kept them on lead (not a problem though). Thank you for a brilliant, relaxing week in a lovely cottage.

Caroline Mcconnell
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 20/04/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

We were all really disappointed to find out on our arrival that the swimming pool was closed even though in your confirmation letter to us, stated that the pool was now open to all guests. The pool was a big attraction to us as we have an 8 and 9 year old. Although it wasn't a huge problem to us we did feel that there were a few things in the cottage that did need some attention. The IPod docking station did not work, the children wanted a bath one night after deciding to paddle in Loch ness but unfortunately the water wasn't hot enough even though there was plenty of hot water from the sinks. The main shower when adjusting the height the attachment was very loose and we were concerned that it could come off at anytime. The cottage itself was lovely and the surroundings are beautiful and we would recommend the cottage to friends and family and also consider coming back if the pool was open again.

Rebecca Hill
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 17/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was a perfect peaceful rural retreat. We loved that it was away from it all. Beautifully located on the edge of a beautiful forest with great walks from your doorstep. Amazing wildlife & no people to be seen or heard. Bliss

Craig D
Reviewed Gracie's Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Gracie's Cottage

We enjoyed a relaxing weeks holiday at Gracie's Cottage, the cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed having breakfast with the the view over Loch Kishorn and exploring the local area where there are lots of lovely walks and places to explore. We wanted a relaxing break and Gracie's cottage didn't disappoint, we will definitely return.

Matthew
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Excellent property in a lovely location, lots of wildlife around and plenty of activities to do locally.

Cerys1
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

The Beech Lodge was amazing! There are only positive comments to make about it. The lodge was well kept with lots of amenities and was very clean. It contained everything you needed and is situated in a great location with wonderful views. I will definitely be going back.

Deborah Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 16/04/2017
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Lovely house with amazing views. Ideal location for a get away from it all holiday. Wilderness Holiday staff very friendly and helpful.

Julia.b
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 14/04/2017
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This is such a lovely, well appointed house in the perfect location for some of the most incredible walks and scenery. From booking it to the morning we left, everything went smoothly. We had a fantastic family holiday and can't recommend it enough!