Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 250 of 2902


Celia Short
Reviewed Fhaireag on 29/05/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is an excellent house for exploring this stunning part of Scotland. We loved the upside down aspect of the house as it enables you to really appreciate the views which are great from every window! It's well furnished and well equipped and is a comfortable base of the weather is inclement. Spotlessly clean too. We will undoubtedly return as we had a fantastic holiday.

Jeannette Fischer
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 29/05/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

The Location and the Surroundings are great - Excellent views to the beach - close to street (a lot of Motorcyclist - new Route 500...) - that would everything be o.k. - but the Lodge/Cottage/ old Schoolhouse could be much cleaner - everything was quite muddy when we arrived and not clean at all. Very old everything incl. dirty sofa's, uncomfortable beds - we are sure, with a clean, refurnished house, we would have enjoyed our stay.

David Newby
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is a lovely well equipped cottage in a great location to have a relaxing holiday. The owners are very friendly. My only concern being the lane down to the cottage. It is very uneven and rough and could do with some attention.

Watso55
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 28/05/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Excellent, well appointed cottage. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The cottage has all mod cons, plenty of crockery and cutlery, fridge, freezer and good sized cooker. There are fabulous walks straight from the cottage or a short drive away. The library upstairs is fantastic and a definite bonus. The lack of TV and internet was NOT a disadvantage. It was a pleasure to stay at The Mill at Glenlivet.

Celia Randle
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/05/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Excellent beautiful clean well kept cottage scenery stunning hope to return.

Robini
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 28/05/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had a very enjoyable stay in Tigh-na -Craobh. The house was perfect: beautiful, comfortable, very near Portree. We were lucky enough to see red deer in the field opposite the house. We highly recommend this cottage, and hope to come back !

Lynda W
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 27/05/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

The cottage was very clean and well maintained with everything in working order and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends. We also hope to return ourselves in the future as it suited our needs perfectly. The cottage is at the end of a short forest track and has no passing traffic. As a result it is very quiet. There is a dog cage provided which might be useful if you were to bring a young dog and the owners even left our dog some treats. There is plenty of space and the extras in the way of wine, milk and shortbread were much appreciated after travelling up from Cumbria. The cottage is located very near the Dava Way and there are great walks nearby at Logie Steading. There are also fantastic beaches at Culbin Forest and Findhorn Bay.

David Blackburne
Reviewed Christies on 26/05/2018
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is well equipped with cooking equipment which is not always the case in self catering cottages. The books, maps, DVDs and other items made it very homely and a pleasure to stay in,

Paul & Janet Colton
Reviewed Sixgeary on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Beautiful cosy cottage, well equipment, lovely and clean, with stunning views. Highly recommended.

The Barbers
Reviewed Charleston on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

We can highly recommend Charleston as a perfect home from home in the Highlands. Set in a delightful location, away from traffic noise, hustle and bustle. The silence is just wonderful. You could spend a whole day in the garden just watching the birds and wildlife, and the changing light on the mountains. To be able to look out of the windows and see Loch Mhor down the valley, with the clouds rising off the mountains was a privilege. The bungalow is extremely well appointed, with everything you will need for your stay. We spent two weeks here and were blessed with glorious sunny weather. Only a half hours drive down a lovely road, with spectacular views over Loch Ness, gets you to Inverness for shopping etc. Definitely love to return.

Thorsby
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Excellent cottage, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Excellent base to explore the surrounding area. The owners were very helpful and available if you needed anything.

Sarah Strutton
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 25/05/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful time in Port Elgol cottage where we stayed when we visited Skye to get married. The location of the cottage is amazing, we saw otters from the garden and sat watching the sunset over the mountains every evening. It was perfectly equipped with everything we needed and we would highly recommend. We will be back!

Steven McGovern
Reviewed Fhaireag on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

What a fantastic property! Set close to a loch the views are great yet only 30 minutes from Inverness. A herd of deer visited the garden and a pair of red kite hunted close to the house every day. More than we hoped for- book it!

Margaret Millar
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

I have stayed in self catering accommodation throughout Scotland and also within the immediate Fort Augustus area. I found Coltsfoots to be very comfortable and equipped to a very high standard, any issues we had (tuning tv) was dealt with immediately. I would highly recommend this property, and hope to return in the near future.

Chris R
Reviewed Ardbeg on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

The cottage certainly had the wow factor. It is set back from the road up a steep drive, we parked right beside the cottage (great for unloading). Inside the cottage was very tastefully decorated, quality fixtures and fittings all enhancing the fabulous balcony and views over Gairloch Bay. The owners have done a brilliant job in creating a fantastic space, we had a perfect holiday ( Spotted a Pine Martin on the drive one night ) five stars from us.

Gillian Thompson
Reviewed Sealight on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Sealight

Our second stay at sealight, a beautiful house in a lovely setting overlooking loch sunart. Regular visits from pine martens. Otters on the loch. We will return.

Jane & Ian Fletcher
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage does exactly what it says on the tin!! What a lovely spot for a complete break from real life.....no mobile signal, no WiFi just the sound of the waves & the birds. So long as you aren't afraid of driving off the beaten track it's fantastic; especially if you are accompanied by dogs. Our Westies loved it!

Tracey
Reviewed Don Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Don Cottage

A fabulous cottage. Has everything you need. Also received a great welcome gift of whiskey and shortbread. Highly recommend this cottage. Definitely want to go back. :)

Dave Graffy
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Really nice place to stay, could have done with, somewhere to hang wet coats/shoes after walking. May be a coffee table for in front of the telly? But overall really pleased with the accommodation.

Glasgow
Reviewed Station Cottage on 24/05/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We loved staying at Station Cottage. It was very comfortable and well equipped. The cottage is in an excellent location, ideal for the Speyside way and exploring Nethybridge. We would definitely hope to return in the future.

Brenda Duthie
Reviewed Station Cottage on 21/05/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Spent a lovely week in Station Cottage 21st to 28th April. The cottage is in a great location -a short walk to the local watering hole and the shop, and there is a very well stocked upmarket butchers/deli almost next door. The decor is charming and has a cosy feel - helped by the wood burning stove which contributed to the ambience. The cottage is extremely well equipped and coped well with a couple of the days when we had 6 adults and two babies. The fenced garden was great for the dog but also a boon if you have young children . It is well placed for walks and cycling direct from the cottage. We had some neighbours in the nearby bothy but things settled by about 11pm .I would definitely stay agai

Owen Davies
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Superb in every respect. Great position, fantastic facilities and friendly owners. probably the best holiday cottage we have stayed in.

Angie & Maurice
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 18/05/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage is off the beaten track in a quiet location, within minutes from the sea. A lovely outlook at breakfast. Owners near but unobtrusive - there if you need them. They welcomed us warmly. Cottage very well equipped and cosy.

Fiona Dudley
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/05/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

What a lovely house and the view is spectacular! The house is furnished and decorated to a really high standard and takes advantage of the view with huge windows. There is also a large balcony to sit or eat outside (unfortunately there were very strong winds while we were there so we only managed to site out on 2 occasions. There's also a lovely big back garden with access to the hills which was great for our dog. I can't imagine there would be anything you would need in the kitchen that wasn't supplied- don't think I've ever seen such a well supplied holiday home! The area is also lovely - Gairloch beach is beautiful and there are lovely walks in the Flowerdale estate. Really good fish and chips and Chinese takeaway as well as shops stocked with local produce. We also really liked the Tuesday market in nearby Poolewe. I'd definitely recommend Ardbeg and thanks to the owners for making it such a lovely place to stay.

Robini
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 06/05/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We had a very enjoyable stay in Tigh-na-Craobh.The house was perfect: beautiful, comfortable, very near Portree. We were lucky enough to see red deer in the field opposite the house. We highly recommend this cottage, and hope to come back!

Spencer & Katherine
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 04/05/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Absolutely perfect! Our stay at the Mill was absolutely perfect. Hosts Bill and Marjory are lovely and didn't miss one detail in creating a relaxing escape. The Mill is cozy and comfortable while still being very roomy. The setting is beautiful and a great jumping point for the many walking trails on the Glenlivet Estate. We used the Mill as home base and day-tripped for hikes or to local sites including distilleries, a dolphin preserve, Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle. Coming back to the cottage to start a fire, make diner and read some of the many books in the Mill was a delightful and relaxing way to end our days. Marjory is full of fantastic recommendations for local things-to-do and for restaurants. She has also stocked the cottage with tourism leaflets to help you make the most of your visit. We were in Scotland for two weeks and this was our favourite part of the holiday. We will stay here again!

Gill, Yuri, Ash, Geoff & Dave
Reviewed The Bothy on 03/05/2018
And awarded it

The Bothy

The Bothy was a great place to stay. Fantastic location, big enough for 4 adults and a dog and very well equipped. Loved the coal fire as it was a cold Easter and it was great to light after a day out on the hills.

John G
Reviewed Moll House on 25/04/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

This is a great holiday house with plenty of space allowing the whole family and dog to relax. Big well equipped kitchen area and separate utility very practical. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. Beautiful location by shore to watch wildlife. Well placed to explore whole of Skye. Some 3/4G signal was possible in kitchen window area if needed urgently but nice to disconnect and actually talk to your teenagers! Only gripes are the horrendous road conditions to get to Moll House, had to repair car tracking on return home!

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review and feedback, unfortunately the road that passes the property is the responsibility of the Highland Council to look after and repair, and therefore Wilderness Cottages and the owner of the property have no control over this.
Cathy T
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 22/04/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

It's all in the name and all about the location. We spent a week at Seascape Cottage and loved every minute. As soon as we saw the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the shoreline we were happy. We were warmly welcomed by Jane & Chaz, who live directly behind the cottage, but were never intrusive. The cottage had quality fixtures and fittings, comfortable sofas and beds and is warm (there is a brilliant heating system), the wonderful view out to sea changes with the weather. A major factor for us was how dog friendly the cottage is and without too many rules; throws, extra dog beds and bowls are provided. We had some wonderful walks just exploring the seashore in either direction. We saw deer and a hare from the cottage window and watched gannets diving in the sea with the binoculars provided. All in all a wonderful place for a very quiet, get away from it all, relaxing holiday.

KatieB
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 20/04/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Just spent a fantastic week at Pipers Lodge. With beautiful views of Loch Dunvegan from the hot tub and the large floor to ceiling windows, the lodge is beautifully finished and is in a great position to explore so many of the beautiful sights on Skye. Chris and Cath have thought of everything you need for a fabulous and relaxed holiday.

Michael Yuille
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 20/04/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful stay in Port Elgol Cottage which is beautifully situated on the shore at Elgol. The cottage was very cosy and comfortable with great views. It has everything you need for a good holiday.

Brian Stevenson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 18/04/2018
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had a lovely break in Fort Augustus. The cottage is ideally placed just on the edge of town, close to everything you might need. Inside there is ample room for 4, on this occasion there were only 2 of us, which made the place seem much bigger. All you need is provided in the cottage, the only thing my wife missed was Wifi, but no problems other than that. We will visit again in the future.

Mike Gill
Reviewed An Sealladh on 18/04/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

A really nice property and I would definitely recommend it. Has everything you need for a good self catering week. Views towards Suilven. Handy for the village - shop / pub etc. Great location for mountain walking ie Munros & Corbetts. Our Golden Retriever found the deer visits to the garden rather 'interesting'. Paths / parking area would benefit from some moss removal - a bit slippery when wet.

Mrs OD
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

We stayed in the Tor cottage Isle of Harris in April 2018, it became our home away from home, fresh new very clean with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. It's situated in a picturesque place within a short drive from Tarbert, very quiet. Thank you for our stay, we hope to return.

FionaP
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

This cottage has the most amazing views of Loch Ness and the surrounding countryside. The cottage itself is spacious, very comfortable, well-equipped and was spotlessly clean. There is a perfect space for relaxing in front of the log burner in the evening, another seating area in front of a window looking out across the lake, and the dining area has the best view of them all! Oh that is before you get to the main bedroom and see the seating area there! Duncan gave us a warm welcome and showed us around on arrival. It's a great location for exploring the Great Glen and Glen Affric. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

Mark, Vic & Martha
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We had a sublime time at Swallow Byre. Space, quiet and great beaches to explore. Would recommend a trip to Handa Island. Jane was helpful and around if we needed but not intrusive. Swallow Byre is well-equipped and the Rayburn kept the place warm when needed.

Pete & CaroleRowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have just booked our 3 year at the cottage which we hope speaks volumes. The cottage is homely and cosy right on the Loch with the most spectacular view. Listening to the lapping water with the silence around you, is very special. Lots of beautiful walks around, it is remote and quiet yet with a cafe and restaurant, a very short drive away and with a pub and Spa 6miles at Loch Carron. Plus seal watching from your lounge window is very special too.

Martin Ogden
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Lynne Davidson
Reviewed Grain Store on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Grain Store

We enjoyed a wonderful week in the Grain Store. The property is well equipped with amazing views. The hosts are friendly and helpful - even returning a cuddly toy to us which was left in a bedroom! The local area offers so many activities - we walked and skied and relaxed afterwards, enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Highly recommend and we'll be returning!

David Poulton
Reviewed Upper Folds on 16/04/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We spent a magical week at Upperfolds it was like stepping back in time, the area is stunning and ideal to switch off and unwind. There are plenty of walks to go on and there are also loads of things to do in the area if needs be. We will be back that's for sure.

John ONeill
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 15/04/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

A wee bit of heaven. Cath and Chris were the perfect hosts. Their new lodge is fab and is of a very high standard, the outside hot tub is great to sit back and enjoy the cracking views. I would recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a chilled relaxing break then this is the place.

Catherine Beddison
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 14/04/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

What an idyllic setting and very comfortable house. We had a super holiday, exploring the local area, skiing at the Nevis Range and cycling back and forth to Fort Augustus. Thoroughly recommended for families.

Karen Bardsley
Reviewed Balmachree on 13/04/2018
And awarded it

Balmachree

What a fantastic holiday, the house was perfect, the dogs loved the massive garden. Couldn't work out how to get to the river, but we can do that next time as we will be returning. Ideal for all of us. Just what we were looking for. Highly recommend

Mrs Pascale Jones
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 13/04/2018
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

For our first family time in Scotland, we chose the Isle of Skye and for our first visit on this island, we chose Taigh Druim. Expectations were high on all accounts and they were met a thousand times! What a fantastic property! We love the modern style of the house with those exceptional panoramic windows as well as its colourful decoration. Everything is provided for the comfort and the relaxation of the guests from the comfortable beds, the wood burner, entertainment (books, music, DVDs and board games) to the very well appointed kitchen. We even had the delight to discover a well-kept dry food cupboard. The outide deck is ideal for yoga/Pilates sessions and we could only imagine a hot tub to enjoy at the end of a hiking day. All in all, we are very impressed and we already re-booked the property for 2 weeks next year.

Mrs Miller
Reviewed Ardrannach on 13/04/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This was our second stay at Ardrannach Cottage. I have to say it was another enjoyable holiday. The cottage has everything possibly needed to make you feel at home. Will definitely stay again.

Kevin R
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 12/04/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Definitely in the wilderness, away from it all - delightful and very well appointed property. Friendly hosts and some excellent walks in pretty pristine forest on your doorstep. Great for the dog!

Deborah & Trevor Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 12/04/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is a wonderful holiday home. The location is utterly scenic and this time we experienced every type of weather imaginable making the views from the balconies even more impressive. Wildlife and birdsong abound. It is well equipped, tastefully furnished and warm.

Anne Stevenson
Reviewed Croft 41 on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

Croft 41

Croft 41 is exactly as described and is very well equipped, very contemporary and a wonderful location with delightful views. It is extremely comfortable. There are plenty of walks from the croft and a lovely area to explore.

Indira
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Beautiful, spacious, comfortable, very well-equipped cottage, in idyllic setting. On a bus-route with several buses a day for people without a car.

Karen S
Reviewed The Mill on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

The Mill

Absolutely wonderful week spent at The Mill. The cottage is immaculate and very warm- even with snow on the ground! There is everything you might need provided for you. Of course the views are out of this world and there were endless excellent walks for our 2 springer spaniels. Would highly recommend- certainly the best self catering cottage we have stayed in.